Coloma / St. Joseph KOA Reviews

Check out our Themed Weekends, Perfect for your 2020 Family Camping Memories

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2018
Very clean. Nice friendly staff.
Sep 25, 2018
We love the KOA and the owners. Karla and Mark are so hospitable and helpful. Their focus is customer service at its best. We like them and the St. Joe KOA so much, we have signed on to be work campers there next season.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad to reflect a genuine hospitality, so much so that we've inspired you to join us. We look forward to having you be a part of our 2019 team.
Sep 24, 2018
Everything was great. The owners are super friendly and always there with a smile and a hello
Sep 24, 2018
We had a great time! There was tons for the kids to do. They loved the jump pillow. The staff was great; always around when you needed them for firewood, trash pickup, or simple questions. We stayed in a Cozy Cabin that was perfect. It was very clean and had a heater which we needed at night. All around, a perfect retreat from the city.
Sep 24, 2018
Very good experience. Terrific campsite, clean bathrooms, friendly staff. Looking forward to our next camping trip.
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
We pulled in after dark and were just looking for a place to spend the night. The owners of the campground were very gracious and made it as easy as possible to find and get into a spot. They knew we were tired and told us that we could stop in the morning to pay. The campground was beautiful. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Sep 24, 2018
Great service prior to our arrival. We arrived late and everything was ready. Thank you. Friendly awesome staff. If there was anything less than perfect it would be the back restroom/showers Thank you We will be back if we are up that way again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Considering that we are already working on making needed improvement to our restrooms, we look forward to earning a perfect 10 rating from you during your next stay with us.
Sep 24, 2018
Great little campground outside St. Joe MI. Bathrooms were very clean and showers had hot water. Spoke with owner for a bit and enjoyed his story of how he became the park owner! So interesting! For those of you who write negative reviews, just remember what it would be like to have a ton of guests constantly that you had to make happy all the time. Nobody's perfect and neither are the guests

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the reflection and for your sense of humor. We appreciate all our guests feedback, positive and constructive criticism alike. But harsh or downright meanspirited comments at times are discouraging. Running a campground is like having guests over your house for six months non-stop. Fortunately, the overwhelming majoring of our guests are wonderful and we can't wait to see them again.
Sep 23, 2018
Love, love, love this campground! It is clean, quiet and shaded. One of our favorite campgrounds!! The staff is very friendly and will help you any way you need. Close to several vineyards. If you read reviews from before 2016...many changes have been made by the new owners. The campground has been updated and is in great shape now!!
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 22, 2018
Very clean. Friendly staff. Good laundry equipment. Site was clean and level. WiFi and cable worked fine.
Sep 22, 2018
Wonderful campground thanks for the memories!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was an honor to be part of helping you create lasting memories with your family! We'll keep working hard this "off-season" as we prepare to help you build more memories next year!
Sep 22, 2018
The power went out and we left early

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

A power outage is news to us, as we were never made aware of any power issues that affect your site or any other guests. What ever issues might have occurred, it couldn't have been long. However, we are sorry for whatever inconvenience it may have caused you.
Sep 22, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. The only complaint we had was that the bathrooms in the back away from the office were not monitored and dirty quickly . They are big bathrooms, people took their dogs in with them when they showered and used the bathroom and not lock the door. My husband opened an unlocked door to a naked man and dogs escaping one morning. The bathrooms next to the office were clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yikes! Not sure what to say about the naked guy with his dog, except that it's good he didn't leave it unattended at the site. :-) On a more serious note, the bathrooms at times can be a challenge, especially if they are misused. We regularly clean them, but if ever there are issues, we appreciate it when guests bring them to our attention so we can address them in real-time.
Sep 21, 2018
wonderful,
Sep 20, 2018
This is still my favorite KOA!
Sep 20, 2018
Great place to stay close to four beaches very nice campground with mature trees cable TV needs to be addressed very fuzzy and very friendly staff
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 20, 2018
bathrooms at this KOA were the the worst we have ever experienced. moldy ceilings, dirty floors and walls and showers. alfull.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were so disappointed with our restrooms. We have high standards and aim to provide all our guests with a clean and inviting space. We find it interesting that most of our guests provide feedback that reinforces how nice of a job we're doing, while a small handful are highly critical. While we know we can't please everyone, we will certainly still keep trying.
Sep 19, 2018
One night stay on our way to Route 66. Had a delicious pizza for dinner. Owner was very friendly.
Sep 19, 2018
Clean park.. Trailer site was level and hookups were convenient with no extra hoses or cables needed. Very friendly staff. We had a great time.
Sep 19, 2018
Had a Great Time. Noticed some nice changes to the area since last September. Loved Pizza � delivery after we set up our Tent. Everyone was Friendly!
Sep 19, 2018
Très beau et très propre!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Merci beaucoup.
Sep 18, 2018
Their new deluxe patio FHU sites are awesome! Staff is always very friendly! Campground is well maintained and clean. We always enjoy our stay there.
Sep 18, 2018
Spent 1 night. Staff very helpful and professional. Campground is convenient, about 10 minutes into St. Joe. Facilities were excellent
Sep 18, 2018
Friendly staff, shady / good sized site, and short drive to Saint Joseph / Silver Beach.
Sep 18, 2018
Enjoyed our stay . Staff was very nice .
Sep 18, 2018
We had a wonderful weekend. This beautiful campground has a lot of mature trees making nice shady sites. My kids loved all the activities. The new owners and staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed it so much we stayed for late checkout on Sunday. The owners said they have many plans for more improvements, the bathrooms are next. It is within minutes of many nice beaches.
Sep 18, 2018
Level site, WiFi was good, awesome patio seating area with fire ring. Nice, clean, quiet campground was perfect for us.
Sep 18, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Great getaway. So close to Lake Michigan and shops. Pizza kitchen was an unexpected surprise and made our arrival awesome. With delivery to our campsite we were just in place and leveled when it arrived and didn’t have to worry about what to feed the troops. Definitely will stay again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad to know our on-site specialty, made-to-order, Hunt Brother's pizza was a big hit with your troop, especially as you arrived here for your first night. If you were anywhere else, you really would be "roughing it!" :-)
Sep 18, 2018
We spent a great weekend. The grounds were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be to clean the handicapped bath house more often.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your constructive feedback. In addition to our rigorous cleaning schedule, we are currently in the process of making repairs/modifications to the flooring to improve the drainage of excess water that will go a long way towards helping them stay cleaner in the process.
Sep 17, 2018
Very nice campground!!! We will be back.
Sep 17, 2018
I love it here. The kids have fun and everyone is super friendly.We had a deluxe patio site this time. Definitely the way to go!
Sep 17, 2018
The staff was sooooo friendly and extremely knowledgeable of the area and about kid friendly activities. The campground was clean and well taken care of.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
The people were very nice & they even deliver pizza to your campsite.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
Owners, people who work there are friendly and helpful. Clean sites, washroom/showers. Great place to stay
Sep 17, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Me and my 2 highschool teenagers had a great time on the inflatable trampoline, riding the trike-bikes, playing giant Jenga, and eating ice cream and donuts from the camp store.
Sep 17, 2018
Stayed in site 86. Could not extend awning because it hit tree. Showers and bathrooms were dirty. Spider webs everywhere. Dirt in corners and on baseboards. Cracks in floor. Typical of most KOA’s we have visited lately. Too many cheaper and nicer private campgrounds to stay in KOA anymore

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our tress provide wonderful character and cool shade in our park. Considering that no other guests on that site this season reported having trouble opening their awnings, we're uncertain whether there really is an issue that we can address. Please know we are committed to clean facilities and are in the process of making repairs to the flooring for the benefit of all our future guests.
Sep 17, 2018
Another great weekend for my son and I at Coloma KOA! Mark and Karla are doing a fantastic job upgrading the campground and providing age appropriate activities to make the visits fun. See you again next Spring!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your kind words and encouragement. It's nice to know all our hard work is appreciated and it brings us great joy to be one of your family traditions!
Sep 17, 2018
Very unhappy with the site. The fire pit was nearly in the wooded area so unable to light one due to how close it was to the wooded area and the mosquitoes were so bad. Shaded most of the day with no sunlight and no grassy area whatsoever. Had to go buy another extension cord so we could hook up to the electric because it was more than 100 foot away.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our wooded sites have been extremely popular this season. While we take measures to reduce the mosquitoes, we cannot take blame for the recent rain and warm temperatures that caused a resurgence of the pests this year. Most campers carry an extra chord, so we are glad you now have one in your supply of gear. However, to provide some assistance, we would have been happy to let you borrow one.
Sep 17, 2018
It was clean and well kept, easy in and out close to highway. The down sides when I made reservations I was told that there was only 4 sites left for 9-14-18 thru 9-16-18 I get it! Upon getting there late Friday night the place was half full and was 3/4 full for our stay was forced to take a '40 deep lot for a '32 RV dump station are lacking also very small no room to pass for RV's one lane.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would never misrepresent our availability. During your stay ALL of our RV sites were booked and the empty sites you saw were our premium water/electric tent sites (20amp). Please know, we were pleased we could accommodate your late reservation and that you found our location to be convenient. However, to secure full hook-up sites we would encourage you to make more advance plans.
Sep 16, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. Very friendly staff.
Sep 16, 2018
Great campground. Only wish the hot tub was open after labor day.
Nov 10, 2019
Fantastic place for camping. Conveniently located between St Joseph and South Haven, two of Southwestern Michigan's best tourist destinations. Plenty of on-site things to do at the campground, too!
- Greg Parrett on Google
Oct 19, 2019
Loved it
- Michal Scigalski on Google
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great time. Many positive improvements since we last stayed here five years ago. The new owners are doing a terrific job. Their entire staff were wonderful. We would definitely stay again.
- Scott Meade on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.