Coloma / St. Joseph KOA Reviews

Check out our Themed Weekends, Perfect for your 2020 Family Camping Memories

Learn More

Campground Reviews

Oct 09, 2018
Loved the campground and the owners were wonderful. It is so clean and the trees are beautiful. Lots of activities and things to do. We will be back! The weather was horrible, but not your fault, lol.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you and your family had a great time, despite the weather. Although we always pray for beautiful weather for our guests, we have no more control over it than you do at your home. :-) Thanks for your understanding.
Oct 09, 2018
Just a few problems with the cable TV service provided.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the inconvenience with the cable, but due to a recent power outage and subsequent surge, some of our equipment was damaged and is now scheduled for repair. Unfortunately, sometimes things beyond our control occur. However, we're glad you were still able to enjoy your time with us.
Oct 08, 2018
We enjoy staying here its quiet and close to places we like to visit
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
I met the owner at a local camper store and he went out of his way to find me in the park to welcome myself and my family later that evening. This park is very clean, quiet and close to many local attractions. The owners have made many updates to the campground and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. We are looking forward to returning next year.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Unfortunately it rained most of the weekend but the campground was clean, friendly and was in a nice tree filled area. People at the desk were wonderful, helpfu; and friendly. Will definitely go back.
Oct 08, 2018
Cabin was clean, nice lot and fire pit. The floor of the cabin did lean towards the front porch. Good distance from the bathrooms for a campground.
Oct 08, 2018
An overnight to have a campfire with our grandaughter. She loved the barrel ride!
Oct 08, 2018
Had a great time this past weekend. Beautiful full grown trees. Loved the dog park and owners are super friendly. Will definitely be back
Oct 08, 2018
Great location, easy on/off Highway access. Great layout of campground and fantastic friendly helpful staff. Will return if back in area again.
Oct 08, 2018
We camped here as part of a family reunion and had an extraordinary time! The entire staff was attentive to details throughout the park and their customer service far exceeded most campgrounds we have ever experienced. It was also nice to be so close to the beaches, downtown St. Joseph, and even just a hop skip up to South Haven. This is the BEST campground in southwest Michigan!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Great staff indeed make the difference! In fact, if you enjoyed our guest service this year, you'll be pleased to know that the majority of our team is returning to work for us again next year! The benefit to you is that you can expect consistency that will continue to meet and exceed expectations. We're glad to know you had an extraordinary time with your family and hope to see you again!
Oct 08, 2018
It’s a beautiful campground, but we had friends that stayed in a cabin. First there was no propane for the furnace then there was not enough hot water for two showers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're glad you enjoyed time with your friends. As we approach the end of the season, it is not uncommon that the cabin propane tank might become empty due to the usage throughout the year. As soon as it was brought to our attention, we got another tank and had them up and running within less than 30 minutes. As for the shower, conservation is the answer; it is not equal to a home water heater.
Oct 08, 2018
Primarily a wet weekend, but we over all enjoyed our stay at your facility. We paid an extra $15 to stay past noon on our check out day (Sunday of Columbus Day weekend). We were still out by 2pm. I'm not sure the charge was necessary, considering two others in our party didn't pay the fee and you didn't press it. I could see it if it were in the heart of summer and you had other reservations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your honesty of paying the Late Check out fee. We offer it as a convenience to our guests and believe the nominal charge enables you to enjoy our our park and perhaps the area attractions a little longer. While we have greater flexibility outside of our peak, summer season, all guests wishing to stay beyond the check-out time should notify the office and make the proper arrangements.
Oct 08, 2018
Except for the lack of cable and wifi which they lost in a power surge, it was a great place......family friendly also.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It feels like Gremlins are attacking us right at the end of the season, as a recent community-wide power outage and subsequent surge has effected some of our cable equipment. However, we are on it and our repair technicians have been called to hopefully get it back up and running for our final days of the season. Thanks for your understanding.
Oct 07, 2018
Nice amenities and great staff.
Oct 07, 2018
Spoiled us for other campgrounds

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We feel sorry for all those other sub-par campgrounds, ;-) but look forward to seeing you again next season!
Oct 06, 2018
After staying only 1 night while passing through, everyone there were friendly, made me feel at home, very welcome and extremely helpful. If there had been time, the stay would have been extended! Looking forward to coming back and staying here in the spring for a whole week!!
Oct 06, 2018
Quiet, clean campground with amenities for the grandkids. Somewhat disappointed that the sites did not have bar-b-ques, especially at nearly $50 per nite. I stayed last year at the Covert KOA about 10 miles north for less than $40 per night and had a nice stainless steel grill at my site. As an end of season camper, the St. Joseph KOA was nearly deserted, maybe 8-10 other campers, so it was quiet.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your mid-week stay was indeed a little quieter as families fill up the park on the weekends during this time of year. We offer gas grills at our Deluxe Cabins and are considering adding it to other sites as well. While we appreciate you have choices, keep in mind that our "Full Access" rates provide guests with the use of all our amenities without a "resort fee" added to the site cost.
Oct 05, 2018
What a sweet find while traveling thru. This place has new owners and they are fixing it up beautifully! Very helpful and generous staff and owners!! Will be looking forward to a return visit! Thank you for your hospitality!!
Oct 05, 2018
Oct 04, 2018
My wife, our dog and I stayed here for tow nights, Very nice park and have a wonderful staff. Our dog really enjoying walking around your park. Thank you and enjoy your off season. Steve Rentz

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks also for the well wishes for our off-season as we try to enjoy some R&R ourselves. But there won't be too much rest for the weary as we have more projects on the docket which we plan to tackle in the months ahead. "Like" us on FaceBook to stay connected with us and stay up to date on our continued renovation work!
Oct 03, 2018
We had a great time staying here. The set up is great. The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will go back for sure.
Oct 02, 2018
Nice campground! This is the second time we stayed here this year. Everyone is so friendly. Will come back again.
Oct 02, 2018
Off season stay was nice and roomy. Clean and well attended campground.
Oct 02, 2018
Clean site, washrooms and friendly staff. The only issue was cable did not work, ok as we were only in fit thr one night.
Oct 01, 2018
We already have recommended you to few people. Greatest surprise was the pizza and wings. We got set up and didn't have to cook and it was wonderful. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Thank you so much
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Love this KOA. They went out of their way to put us in a spot next to my family. The new owners are fantastic!!!
Oct 01, 2018
Very well maintained campground. Close to the highway and train tracks as KOA's tend to be, however the noise was not too bad. Made a nice weekend spot to explore the area. If you plan to cook over a wood fire, bring a grill to place over the fire ring as one is not included.
Oct 01, 2018
Four days in a wonderful location. Love all the trees. Certainly not a parking lot.
Oct 01, 2018
Very nice place and people where super friendly.
Oct 01, 2018
I felt the rates were quite high for the fall season since you are not able to swim or use some of the other amenities. However, the staff is pleasant and attentive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our fall rates are discounted from our peak-season (summer) rates. While it might not as inexpensive as other campgrounds, guests still have access to all of our amenities (other than the pool and hot tub). We are also one of the best locations to explore beaches along Lake Michigan, local orchards and award winning vineyards. All great places to make memories on an autumn day!
Sep 30, 2018
My wife and I had never been to Michigan with our 5th wheel, the Coloma. St. Joseph campground was very nice! The pull thru sites were very big and easily accessible. The staff was very kind and accommodating. We liked the layout of the park and the cleanliness. We loved all the mature trees, not only for shade but it made the park very appealing to the eye! We will be back and recommend it highly
Sep 30, 2018
Sep 29, 2018
I spent four months at the campground this summer. Family atmosphere, staff and owners very friendly and helpful. Lots of updates and lots of plans for updates this coming season. I plan on spending my summer next year at this KOA campground.
Sep 29, 2018
We had an awesome stay. The facilities were nice & clean. Only downfall was the amount of mosquitoes.
Sep 29, 2018
The people were very professional and helpful
Sep 29, 2018
Sep 28, 2018
Specifically picked this KOA for the pool and spa, only to find out it was closed for the year. This was not noted on the amenities. Blew out 2 tires and the full wiring harness for the cabin of the RV. Called to see if I could get a refund or credit. No one called me back. No customer service. Not willing to credit me for 1 day, why would I go back. Not concerned for a new customer .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had different expectations, however, our website clearly states that our pool and hot tub are only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Additionally, while it's unfortunate your motorhome ran into issues while you were out-and-about during your second day, you notified us later in the day that you would not be returning, and you were in fact told no refund would be issued.
Sep 28, 2018
After staying in many KOA campgrounds during the past month this is by far the best KOA RV park we stayed at. The people who run the park are very helpful and courteous. The park is clean, easy access to the sites.
Sep 28, 2018
We had the4 best time we have ever had. The people at the campground were so helpful with everything. the campground is very nice and we plan on going back for a stay. all I can say is keep up the wonderful work you are doing. I don't know of anywhere else where people take care of there coustomers like yo have taken care of us. we thank you so much for all the help and have a wonderful hollidays

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your kind words. We are very genuine in our efforts to meet and exceed guest expectations. See you next year!
Sep 26, 2018
Very clean campground, friendly staff. Incredibly well run and maintained
Sep 26, 2018
People were all great! access road and sites a little tight
Sep 26, 2018
Very nice campground and extremely friend staff! Loved our stay and would recommend it and come back if possible.
Sep 26, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
Our cabin was clean and everything was in working order. The grounds are really nice and clean. Friendly staff. We hope to visit again next year!
Sep 25, 2018
We enjoyed our stay! The campground was clean and well-cared for, and the hosts were delightful. The camp store was nicely stocked and firewood was delivered to our site.
Sep 25, 2018
Had a very nice time! Loved the store and layout of the campground! Granddaughter loved the bounce pad and park ! We will be back next year!
Sep 25, 2018
Very nice place
Nov 10, 2019
Fantastic place for camping. Conveniently located between St Joseph and South Haven, two of Southwestern Michigan's best tourist destinations. Plenty of on-site things to do at the campground, too!
- Greg Parrett on Google
Oct 19, 2019
Loved it
- Michal Scigalski on Google
Oct 14, 2019
We had a great time. Many positive improvements since we last stayed here five years ago. The new owners are doing a terrific job. Their entire staff were wonderful. We would definitely stay again.
- Scott Meade on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.