Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 29, 2018
Quite. Clean
Oct 24, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
Friendly staff. Clean campground. Safari tents are amazing and are in such great condition.
Oct 19, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Very clean. Staff was amazing!! Nice sized camp site. Will definitely be back.
Oct 15, 2018
Love it!!!!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
A absolute gem of a camp ground!
Oct 10, 2018
I felt comfortable with my family during the stay. The costumer servicie were very friendly The bathroom and sawer were clean
Oct 09, 2018
Had a great time. The bathhouse was clean and comfortable (love the climate control). My tent site was great. Plenty of trees for a hammock and large enough that I did not feel crowded.
Oct 09, 2018
Was given wrong information by staff when we went to rent kayaks. There was no apology given, and no one bothered to acknowledge the mistake printed on the fliers.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Women's bathhouse did not get cleaned every day across from office. Toilet and floors dirty. People do not observe quiet hours being louid and allow dogs to bark. There is no one to report this annoying activity to at the time. Been staying here while Maddox owned and first time since KOA purchase. Impressed with improvements and cleanllness otherwise. Waterpark should be free to guests.
Oct 04, 2018
It was my first stay at Koa campground and I was very impressed. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Location is awesome. Very close by bike to Assateague Island or Maddox street. I will come back.
Oct 01, 2018
The campground was very clean and very well put together. I liked where it was located and the setup and the sites themselves. Everything was very clean. The staff was very friendly and very welcoming and very accommodating. Our pole light at our tent site never worked but maintenance tried to fix it and was just unable to. Other than that, it was a very pleasant weekend.
Sep 26, 2018
Water/Electric tent sites are too small/close together. Luckily, our visit was off season, so it no crowds. Bathroom was clean, but handicapped shower 2nd showerhead wouldn't work, and one of the toilet stall's door wouldn't latch. Kids enjoyed the playground and bounce pillow. Mobile bug-spraying truck was loud and surprising, but seemed effective. Overall, it was a pleasant stay
Sep 26, 2018
Stepped in dog poop twice, maybe start getting on pet owners more about cleaning up after their dogs.
Sep 25, 2018
We stayed at one of the no-hookup tent sites and it was great! Usually I don't like staying at big RV campgrounds, but because the tent sites were on the edge we could set up with our backs to the RVs and it was like being alone! The atmosphere was nice, other campers friendly, bathrooms spotless, staff very welcoming. I would stay again and already recommended to another camping friend.
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
Point of interest: the restrooms were very muddy and in need of upkeep, and possible remodel.
Sep 14, 2018
Staff was friendly, we were disappointed that the water park had closed, so we stayed a second day and closed again. The cost of the stay for two adults a 9 year old and a infant was too high in my opinion for just a tent campsite without hook ups. In the future we sill stay at the nearby State park.
Sep 10, 2018
We loved it, it wasn't busy as it was more of an off season, the amenities where nice and close to other stores if we had forgotten anything else. There where plenty of bathrooms which where clean and never very far away. The camp ground was extremely close to the nature preserve and really close to the rest of the town as well. perfect location.
Sep 10, 2018
It was fine, however the waterpark ended up being closed on both days that we were there. It was free waterpark weekend, and that was the only reason we had booked the stay. I understand there were safety concerns with thunder, but it never opened back up after the storm had passed, and didn't open at all the following day. Very disappointing.
Sep 05, 2018
Although my wife, son and I were disappointed with the size of the raised tent site, it was good to see clean facilities, quiet grounds, and many things for kids to do
Sep 05, 2018
This was our 2nd time at koa this summer. Our late night, there was a domestic violence situation a few sites down from us and the police was called. I understand that this could happen anywhere and the staff here has always been amazing. I was surprise that a worker didnt came by to check on the campers. It would of been nice to know if the man had been arrested. I could have slept better knowin
Sep 05, 2018
We loved it, everything looks nice and clean. the remodeling of the bathrooms looked amazing. Thank you will def be coming back soon.
Sep 05, 2018
Campground is convenient and clean. Bathrooms were well-kept. Playground was great for the kids; they especially loved the "jumping pillow". Check-in process was quick and simple. Another camper had parked their vehicle in our camp spot. Called the front desk, someone was dispatched, resolving the issue fairly quickly. Campers on other side of park got in a fight at night; police were called.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
We had a great stay. Bathrooms were clean and kids enjoyed the waterpark. My only suggestion would be to make quiet time from 10pm-7am.
Sep 04, 2018
The only problem was how filthy the bathrooms were. There was trash and dirt on the floors. The showers were dirty and covered in hair. The bathrooms were disgusting.
Sep 04, 2018
I have been camping at this campground since 2003. A lot has changed since KOA took over! They have renovated bathrooms/showers that are kept clean, cottages, new big tents with bedding already there and they now have a pool park on site. My only complaint would be for the campers in old fashion tents is that the bathrooms are a bit of a walk away depending on where you stay. Def will stay again!
Sep 04, 2018
La pasamos de maravilla
Sep 04, 2018
Very expensive sites with no huckups and long lines in the bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2018
Es muy relajante muy acojedor muy trankilo
Sep 04, 2018
Very good
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
Had a great time with my children plenty to do
Aug 28, 2018
Love the location, well-organized campsite, nice amenities. On the negative side: I wasn't told until we arrived that there was a per person as well as site fee for the campsite I rented, which added about 30% to my cost and was an unpleasant surprise. The bathrooms had some issues: stalls that wouldn't lock, showers out of order, sink drains that didn't work.
Aug 28, 2018
I love Chincoteague. I have always camped at Tom's Cove, but this stay, because we had 3 children, 10, 9, and 8, we stayed at the KOA. The price reduction on the water park was great. I thought the tent sites were a little too cozy. We had a family come in Saturday for 1 night and I found them to be noisy, past quiet time. I thought the tent site was too pricey, compared to Tom's Cove.
Aug 28, 2018
The women’s bathrooms Could have been a little cleaner.
Aug 27, 2018
It was very noisy where we were. There was an entire party of people that violated the quiet hours. Also, our campground was littered with cigarette butts. The staff was helpful and nice, and the children enjoyed the play area.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
We had a great time, friendly staff, sites were a little small and crowded, lots of stuff to do for the kids, water park was great,my only issue was that quiet time needs to be better enforced (very noisy) after hours....
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
The bathhouses were not clean and crowded. 2 out of 4 showers down in one and 1 out of 4 down in the other. The restrooms were not clean at all. I called the number on the inside of the restroom and was told they were aware and housekeeping would get them in the morning. It would be nice if someone worked after hours to check out the scene. I have stayed at other KOA's that had 12 stalls so 4 was
Aug 27, 2018
We weren't sure whether or not to go... Is expensive for a piece of grass to set our own tent on with no hookups... But we had a blast... And was a very enjoyable weekend
Aug 26, 2018
I wish the security was more closely monitored. I also wish that quiet hours were more strictly enforced. The group that came at the end of the week had a ton of people and had zero regard for rules. Loud conversations outside until 12:15 and some were out making noise starting at 5:30. Ridiculous. And the bathrooms by where we checked in were always filthy.
Aug 26, 2018
We had a great time at both the island and the campground-so much that we are more likely to stay at KOA than a hotel next time we visit the island (we spent half our time at KOA and half at the hotel this time). One concern was that we were charged $15 to check in at 12:30 pm based on the fact that we are paying for "longer time" at the site. An hour and a half? This policy is not fair to camper.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals