Chincoteague Island KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now

Tent Reviews

Oct 14, 2019
Nice site, clean campground, friendly staff, clean facilities the only one thing was a street light directly over our site (181) causing our tent to be very bright when it came time to sleep. Maybe turning that light away or relocating closer to road intersection from the tent platform toward the street would help reduce the amount of light. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will return again.
Oct 14, 2019
I've tent camped for 25yrs, that was my first and last time at a koa. The bathrooms are very clean which is nice. The sites are packed together so tightly it's ridiculous, there were pieces of trash all over. Why is there no group site? There was a HUGE group of people together who set up multiple fire rings and a karaoke complete with spotlight and microphones blaring caterwauling singing���
Oct 14, 2019
The “security” is is joke. If there is anyone at the guardhouse, and there rarely was, it was a 12 year old. Why are large camper vans allowed to show up and park at midnight?
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Very comfortable, fun, and lots of amenities! Parking is available right next to the tent sites which was nice. We weren't ready to leave, but we're anxious to come back in the near future!
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 21, 2019
Beautiful campground. Excellent location. Having a kayak launch site on the premises was an unexpected plus.
Sep 03, 2019
Bathrooms were dirty no matter when I went. Once even I went to take a shower just right after cleaning and there was hair. The first night we were there it was very noisy until 1 am. We talked with the security few times about it. It got better the following nights. Comparing to other KOA campgrounds- I was not happy with the stay.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
very disappointed! Few toilets with shower in the same space. the pool a disaster. charge for extra parking. the water park is within the property most likely to be theirs. It's the only fun for kids and has to pay a lot. beautiful went to see the wild horses. Impossible to swim on the beach. we were 3 families and the first KOA we won't be back�. Sorry!
Aug 26, 2019
We booked 8/23 8/24 left on 8/25 the evening we arrived, it had rained on / off throughout the day , once checked in and located our tent camper site we were unhappy with the location, puddles everywhere on this site , we went back to the office and without any trouble at all the moved our tent site to a better location, dry location! Great campground for family with children, very busy , clean !
Aug 25, 2019
Love the location. Very noisy after quiet hours. Some of the employees (mostly the youngest kids!) were not very friendly or polite. Front desk people were wonderful. Nice camp store-well shocked. Glad the bathrooms were air conditioned.
Aug 22, 2019
The sites are very close together. There is very little privacy. There was a septic problem while we were there and it was a stinky situation. Otherwise loved the bathrooms, the staff was helpful!
Aug 19, 2019
Our group had a total of 7 camp sites and we had a blast. The children participated in the KOA activities, the moms in the group attended the Sip and Paint, stayed 5 hours at Maui Jack's, walked to the donut truck one morning from the camp site. The bathrooms were much cleaner than last year. You can ask for a tour of the RVs and we may try them next year.
Aug 19, 2019
I love the resort... I would love for them to get a hot tub... The bathrooms need to be cleaned around 9 or so they get really nasty... The water park is nice and clean... We loved it.... And the size of the camp area is sufficient...
Aug 19, 2019
I stayed with a group of friends and family from a Friday through Sunday. The bathrooms were very clean (with the occasional muddy foot traffic) and the activities were engaging and fun. I don’t recall the campgrounds spraying for mosquitoes like they did in 2018, but we all had bug spray. I’d recommend this campground to other family and friends as it was a very enjoyable stay. I tent camp
Aug 19, 2019
We stayed in the primitive tent camping from Mon-Friday August 12-16 The campground was very Peaceful until Friday evening. The quiet hours need to be enforced a little more as we had several groups around us very loud until around 2 in the morning. The grounds were well maintained. The restrooms were clean the majority of the time although there were a few instances where we pushed unhappy face
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 15, 2019
While overall we enjoyed the campground, there was a few things that were bothersome. There were NO private bathrooms at all. I have never experienced that before at a campground and I was not a fan of not having that option. Each campsite has to share a breaker with another campsite. Everyone was reliant on others to not flip the breaker. Which happened a lot anyway. It’s also not safe.
Aug 15, 2019
Very nice campground, bathrooms are located close to everything and are very clean, my kids had a blast. One of the best parts is the trolley that takes you to the beach and other points of interest, the driver Mr John was the nicest and gave us lots of information about the park.
Aug 13, 2019
Very friendly front desk and store staff. I appreciated the camping location assignment and staff consistently cleaning bathrooms to make sure clean. We will be back next month!
Aug 12, 2019
We had such a great time. The campground is very clean with lots of activities for kids. We stayed in a tent/trailer site and cottage for my daughter and her children. The cottage was really nice. My only complaint would be on the last night we stayed, people were playing music and really loud around 12:30 pm. But it didn't last too long. All and all, had an excellent time.
Aug 12, 2019
To much noise after 11pm others don’t respect the 11pm quiet time �� and the slot are nasty, restroom nasty and bad smell in site 077-078, could be to close restroom
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 11, 2019
Overall, we had a wonderful time .Our only complaint is when other campers arrived after quiet hours. The campground staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyone around us was very friendly and kind. Yes, the mosquitoes were a pain, but we knew going into our vacation they would be bad. The general store had plenty of wood, bug spray, ice, and water. We will definitely be back.
Aug 11, 2019
Nice staff. Lots of activities. Not as clean campsites as used to from a KOA
Aug 10, 2019
Like the pool, playground, restroom - clean, good maintain. Don’t like the camp ground site for tent. Should have mark clearer for each site. People kept walking pass our campsite even our tents.
Aug 10, 2019
To much noise of others camp sites clients. My spot have not Water we share water and electricity with others ��
Jul 30, 2019
I Just love it ..
Jul 29, 2019
La señal WiFi no es tan fuerte yo estuve en el lugar 156 y no me llegaba la señal nesecitan mejorar eso. A ser la fumigación como la hacían antes .. por lo demás todo está bien el personal muy amable y caluroso
Jul 29, 2019
We stayed one night in a tent it was very hot and we asked if we could stay upgrade to a cabin with A/C for one night. They said only if I stay for 2 nights. I had reservations the next night in Virginia Beach so I couldn’t. They was no one in the cabins that night they should have let us stay in one we were miserable and the birds are very loud early in the morning.
Jul 16, 2019
this year wasn’t as good as I expected stuff didn’t validate my points from last year even though I renewed my membership need to call to 800 number other I had a coupon clearly say for July campers but they said no valid for members so what the deal to be a member then!!! And now that I checked the deal say for members also!!! Last year I can enjoy a activity room now it’s close for every
Jul 16, 2019
Everything was just perfect...clean bathrooms...very clean campground area/resort...we enjoyed it very much..
Jul 15, 2019
We stay every year and it’s always a great experience. Everything is always clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The only downside is some of the campers tend to be very noisy.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 14, 2019
Really great customer service. Brian really helped us with the sites we needed. My only complaint is that the bathrooms really could use a good deep clean. They are surface cleaned on a regular basis but really the corners of the showers are pretty gross.
Jul 13, 2019
The bathrooms were clean and air conditioned. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was too commercialized. Roads to narrow for two way traffic and need enforcement of speed limits. Our motorhome was clipped by fifth wheel trying to maneuver around a golf cart parked in road. There were to many golf carts and they were driven by minors.
Jul 10, 2019
The bathrooms need to be cleaned better and more often - other than that our stay was wonderful.
Jul 06, 2019
The site was large and mostly shaded.However,there was trash that we had to ask to have removed, also there were lights from the hotel shining on our site all night. Kids loved the jump dome. Water pressure too low in the showers. Floors got gross when park got busy. would have appreciated announcements when activities were starting. no gate supervision so anyone could come into the park.
Jul 05, 2019
Really liked the open tent area.
Jul 03, 2019
Excellent facilities and amenities. Everything was well maintained and clean
Jul 01, 2019
Jul 01, 2019
Jun 27, 2019
Jun 25, 2019
Thank you for allowing pets. Love that it is pet friendly. However, the camp spots are really close together. Our neighbors were rude and loud. One of the kids even came over to our site and sat down in the middle of the night. Also the flies are out of control. Besides these 2 items, it was nice.
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 21, 2019
We stayed in the platform at tent sites. The KOA amenities were great. The bathhouses especially were clean and lovely. The one problem was the second night a large light was somehow turned on over the platform tent sites. It was so bright it illuminated the tents all night as if it were daytime. It took several conversations over 24-hours with the office to get it turned off. I expected more.
Oct 16, 2019
The only problem - bus to the beach has no schedule. And it very hard to catch it.
- Linda Mock on Google
Oct 12, 2019
Great location & wonderful staff
- katt grove on Google
Oct 12, 2019
Everyone is very helpful and pleasant. Restrooms and showers are plentiful and very well maintained. We are here Columbus Day Weekend. Lots of fun activities for the kids. Our second time here but certainly not our last. Quiet hours start at 11pm. I don’t remember hearing a thing after 11:10pm. Slept like a log!
- manserr2019 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.