Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
This was the best camp stay we have ever had. The staff was so friendly. And the bathrooms were SO clean and that is a major plus for me. Will be back!
May 14, 2018
The premium tent site was too small for our tent. Had to put the tent beside the raised bed in the gravel where you're supposed to park. It was also very expensive to stay there considering this inconvenience. Our normal campground is half the cost, with a bigger site and much more privacy. The fire ring had no grate to cook on as many other campgrounds do. Bathrooms were close. Staff was friendly
May 09, 2018
The island was beautiful the campground was okay but when we had issues and expressed them no one seemed to care. I wouldn’t go back to that KOA.
May 08, 2018
Sites are small and open- no privacy. Bathrooms and amenities are fantastic.
May 07, 2018
My only complaints were that the campsites were super close together (we felt like our neighbors were on top of us and we had very little privacy). We also felt that there needed to be quiet hours. There was a group of people on the other side of the campsite that did not go to bed until 3:30 am and we could hear their every move. We also had neighbors get in at 3 am who were setting up camp.
May 07, 2018
Clean campsite and bathroom/showers, friendly staff, and nice tent site! Great Job!
May 06, 2018
May 05, 2018
May 04, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
Wonderful, cant wait to come back.
Apr 22, 2018
Apr 22, 2018
I've been coming to this location for many years with friends and family. They've changed so many things which resulted in both good and bad opinions. They're constructing a small water park with slides for children and a lot of new cabins. However this means less space for those of us who go to camp in tents and enjoy the outdoors. The prices have extremely gone up. It feels less like a campsite.
Apr 17, 2018
This was a mother/daughter weekend. We both love horses so we came for the spring pony roundup. We also toured the light house, beach, toms cove. We got some beautiful pictures of the wildlife on the refuge. The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. The bathhouses were spotless and had hot water. We really enjoyed staying here.
Apr 16, 2018
After reading reviews. I was a little skeptical. But the site was clean. The bathroom was spotless, throughout the entire stay. Even when we got stuck in the mud due to the torrential downpour staff was quick and willing to help. We had a wonderful time at the campground and are looking forward to our next visit.
Apr 10, 2018
Great stay - thanks! We will be back
Apr 02, 2018
We love this place, been coming to this camp ground for so many years and it was not KOA. Now this is even better, very friendly staffs, very clean restroom, very convenient. Next time we will definitely try one of the cabin or bungalow.
Nov 28, 2017
Our stay was awesome!
Oct 12, 2017
This was our second time staying here, what a beautiful facility. Employees are friendly, bathrooms are always clean, the campground is clean and so peaceful all around a great place to stay, we will be back!!
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
The 5:30am trash collection was the only real unfortunate part of the stay. It's a rude awakening when you're sound asleep in a tent nearby! We wished the activity center were open after 6pm. Otherwise thanks for everything!
Oct 07, 2017
Awesome place to stay with friends and family! Staff was super friendly and helpful and the campground was amazingly clean with beautiful views and close proximity to everything you might need. Highly recommend
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
The campground was very well maintained. We especially appreciated the numerous bathrooms/shower houses and how well kept they were.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Very nice & clean place. Some people play obnoxious music. Quite expensive for a bare tent site. People walk dogs in the grass for setting up tents. They should be urged to use the specified area for letting their dogs relieve themselves. Park apparently does not enforce the camper limit. There were 4 carloads of kids camping right next to me. With the place fairly empty I didn't like that.
Sep 27, 2017
My family and I had a wonderful time camping here. The staff was professional and friendly. The bathrooms were cleaned every day. They also had a truck spray for mosquitoes. Our kids had fun at the pool and on the bounce pillow. It was relaxing and quiet in the evenings too. We will definitely come back here next year.
Sep 27, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 13 years. This was my first time staying since the new ownership. I have to say I was very disappointed in the staff. I was at the campground about 1 1/2 hours prior to check in time and was told that I would be charged 25.00 if I wanted to do this. It was off season and there were very few people staying in the primitive tent sites. Very sad
Sep 26, 2017
Relaxing family vacation. Staff was friendly and accommodating
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Clean restrooms. Would have appreciated a location to do dishes and water for primative sites. Appreciated mosquito control.
Sep 24, 2017
Only thing I would recommend would be to put some kind of natural barrier between the McDonald's and hotel, the spot lights flood the camp sites all night long. Besides that great location and loved all the activities
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
This was a very clean campground. Nice bathrooms.
Sep 06, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, bath houses were always clean. Staff was friendly, courteous always helpful. Will be back soon!!!
Sep 05, 2017
We learned this campsite was taken over by KOA a year ago, and since then overall cleanliness (including the bathrooms) has improved. We really liked our deluxe tent site and the diverse staff is very friendly. We were disappointed in the activities for children;staff ran out of materials, events started early&lasted 5 minutes & not enough organized, fun stuff for kids planned Labor Day Weekend
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great stay! Bathrooms were very clean and it was a great location.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
I had a blast!!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was great! You guys thought of everything. We had everything we needed, the facilities were clean and easily accessible and everyone was super friendly. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 02, 2017
Wish it had been a more peaceful camping trip. It was very loud all night long. Staff didn't seem to care about anything- at all. It was our second stay there and it's not a place we will go back to.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We rented a deluxe tent site. The bathrooms were always clean. Look forward to our next stay.
Aug 29, 2017
It was a lot of fun! The pool is great. Can't wait for the water park next year.
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful stay. Beautiful campground, convenient location, beautiful bath house. Loved it!
Aug 28, 2017
The campgrounds are a bit expensive and it's not as secluded as I would have liked. $25 for checking in early seems expensive and I would prefer pricing to be by number of campsites rather than number of people -- just a standard 6 person price and if you have more than 6 then buy a second site.
Aug 27, 2017
Very clean. Only issue was not a great deal of information was provided at check in including bathroom closures as well as "people leave trash near the road" subsequently I laid our cargo carrier out to dry and it was taken away and discarded making the return trip very difficult to pack up. When I called at night noone offered to check the dumpster or provide a credit or anything for inconvenienc
Aug 27, 2017
loved the new bath houses.
Aug 26, 2017
At first, I did not enjoy the campground. There wasn't any place to grill and they charged us extra for arriving at noon. But it was so close to the park that it was worth it.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals