Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
We are regulars to the island, but this was our first time camping. It was a great experience, and everyone was so friendly and nice! We felt well cared for, and when I had an electrical issue someone was out there to help me within five minutes! We loved the experience, and we would definitely plan on coming back again, as well as recommending you to other people! Thank you so much.
Aug 15, 2018
Bathrooms constantly dirty.
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Great location and close to the beach! Plenty of activities. However, the bathrooms were not kept very well. Mud and toilet paper covered the floor at times. Only two showers worked the whole time and there was always a wait.
Aug 14, 2018
Bathrooms were horrible! Dirty, no toilet paper, multiple stalls and showers were out of order. Multiple campers had complained but nothing was being done.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Bathrooms were often dirty, but I'm intrigued by some of the new amenities. Prices are quite high compared to just a couple of years ago.
Aug 13, 2018
Our stay was great! The staff was very good and accomodating. The campsite was perfect. My kids loved the pool and jumping pillow. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars was due to the men’s bathroom. I think there needs to be more attention to keeping it clean. The floors were covered in dirt and sand. One suggestion would be to have an outdoor rinsing area before people enter the bathroom
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
A little crowded, Clean facilities, Kids friendly campground, and excellent guest service.
Aug 13, 2018
Quiet hours not enforced. Campers didn't quiet down until 1:30 am. Tent campsites packed together too close/no privacy. Super crowded. Nice location for going to the beach.
Aug 12, 2018
We loved our stay! The only thing we didn't like is the campground became full on the weekends and we had to wait in long lines to use the bathroom or shower in the bath houses. Perhaps the number of bathhouses should be increased to avoid this. Also, in two of the three bath houses one shower in each bath house was "out of order" so that cut down on the ability for all of us to shower!
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Excellent
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
We really enjoyed the location of the campground. Many choices for meals and deserts. The bath house was typically full of sand and dirt. One of the soap dispensers was broke the whole time we were there. Other than that there was lots of activities for the kids and we would stay here again.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Spectacular campground. Love the crafts in the activities room. Love the info screen in the restrooms/showers. Really enjoyed the ice cream truck and jump pad. Minor irritations: pool could use some more shade umbrellas, quiet hours don’t seem to be enforced, and the credit card washer/ dryers were a pain. We will be back!
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Great stay, only bad part was the bathrooms on saturday needed more cleaning than threw the week obviously as there was more people. by sunday morning they were disgusting
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
I came specifically for the blue crab festival. I was disappointed to find out that what I would get for the cost was more expensive then buying it in town. Your offer should have been so attractive, that I couldn't find anyone to beat it. Instead, EVERYONE IN TOWN could beat it. I'll give you one more chance to NOT let me down.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
This was our second year staying here. Hands down the best campground we've ever been to. The facilities are nice and the staff is great. Looking forward to many more trips to the Chincoteague KOA. Thank you to all the staff for doing such a wonderful job. See you next year.
Aug 06, 2018
Aug 06, 2018
KOA Chincoteague is a great camping resort. The only issue is that the bathrooms got very dirty by the end of the day each day. It may be good to have someone clean the bathrooms in the afternoon to help keep them from getting too dirty.
Aug 05, 2018
Très belle endroit, la plage est à couper le souffle le parc pour si rendre aussi, les gens sont très accueillant. Le seul point négatif est le manque de place pour se changer pour la douche
Aug 05, 2018
sindau morning the ladies room had no toilet paper ,,,,, but on Monday w all the rain the staff was considerate and concerned ,, and checked w us if we where ok !
Aug 05, 2018
Mosquitos were AWFUL, no one sprayed until the last night of our stay. Ladies room was a huge mess every time we used it, wet mud all over the floor, mud on the toilets, showers filthy. When I called the front office, the woman wasn’t very nice about answering my questions. The Last night, we had very loud neighbors after quiet hours and the Cops showed up.
Aug 05, 2018
All of the staff at the Chincoteague KOA were very kind and welcoming. The front desk clerks changed our site immediately after we drove by and saw that our neighbors had taken up too much room. Bathrooms were clean and the campsite was spacious!
Aug 04, 2018
Once they moved our campsite from the flooded site they had originally assigned, our stay went well. Bathrooms and showers were clean at all times. Trash was picked up from site multiple times each day. Overall, a good stay.
Aug 03, 2018
the staff was fantastic~ however.... the campsites were tight, right on top of each other and there is apparently no limit to the number of tents equipment or people on each. WAY to crowded.
Aug 02, 2018
This was our third stay at this campground but the first time since KOA. It was nice but I feel it was too expensive for a tent site. If the Waterpark was included then maybe the price could be justified. And there was a lack of hot water in the nearest bathhouse. Unless the prices are adjusted we will probably have to stay elsewhere on our next visit.
Aug 02, 2018
it was a busy crowded weekend at the KOA over priced for the services we recieved security was great. bugs where not bad at all waterpark should be discounted more for campers
Aug 02, 2018
I’ve been coming to chincoteague since I was a child. I have brought my children down a couple times with my wife. We are divorcing and I decided I wanted to reclaim the island for me and my children. I haven’t been camping in 15 years different name same campground but my children and I had a blast. It rained the whole first day we were there incredibly sunny and warm the second day.kidsloved
Aug 01, 2018
Arrived on Sunday 7-29-18. On Monday the 30th, it began raining at 6 am and stopped around 21 hours later. I was tent camping in the upgraded tent area. My tent held back the water just fine, because of the elevated platform provided. However, all other tent campers in the regular tent camping areas were dealing with more than 6 inches of rain water surrounding and swamping their tents.Fix this
Aug 01, 2018
Well I’m not going to complain about the rain itself. After nearly three inches of rain our site had six inches of standing water. I went to the office and the red haired guy rudely said it “part of the experience”. I laughed at him. I’ve camped all over. Respectful grounds don’t rent sites prone to flooding without notice. Fancy looking bath houses are horrible and stink. Place is a dum
Aug 01, 2018
Aug 01, 2018
unaddressed drainage problem created a bog which supported the worst mosquito infestation ever. we could not use campsite or grounds and had to leave early. boo.
Jul 31, 2018
My family stayed at the KOA during the pony swim. The trolley left us waiting at the stop for over 1.5hrs in the rain. We called the front desk over five times asking if it would be back to pick us up, we were told over 5 times the bus was on its way. It never came. The front desk just gave a quick answer without investigating. The tents sites also got completely flooded.
Jul 31, 2018
The location of this campground is very nice, but for $100 a night you can almost rent an cabin or home. The bathrooms were FILTHY. During our 2 night visit, they were only cleaned once. By the time we left, only 1 of 7 sinks was working and only 1 stall had toilet paper. Our neighboring campers completely ignored the quiet hours, and there wasn't an employee on site to deal with this.
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
El área de tents es muy crowed, poco espacio y no hay mucha privacidad. La administración no hace respetar el reglamento después de las 11:00 pm en cuanto al ruido, los campers seguido al nuestro la primera noche escucharon música y bebieron hasta las 2:30 am, por supuesto ninguno pudo dormir, incluida mi bebe de 11 meses. Los baños estan muy bien, el trolly a la playa y el jumping pillow!
Jul 31, 2018
Very clean and family friendly location. The water park is good for kids. The pool was great.
Jul 31, 2018
Perfect!!!
Jul 30, 2018
Pony run was an experience we will remember. Seeing the ponies on Assatigue Island fantastic. Great experiences all around.Friendly and helpful people.
Jul 30, 2018
Pretty bad stay overall. Some of this was on the resort, some was not. The first night we had a very large group arrive close to us around 9:30pm. They stayed up and were extremely loud until 3am and nobody from the campground was there to make them observe quiet hours. I was actually also surprised you would allow such a large group to check in so late, you had to know how that was ending....
Jul 30, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals