Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 12, 2017
This was our second time staying here, what a beautiful facility. Employees are friendly, bathrooms are always clean, the campground is clean and so peaceful all around a great place to stay, we will be back!!
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
The 5:30am trash collection was the only real unfortunate part of the stay. It's a rude awakening when you're sound asleep in a tent nearby! We wished the activity center were open after 6pm. Otherwise thanks for everything!
Oct 07, 2017
Awesome place to stay with friends and family! Staff was super friendly and helpful and the campground was amazingly clean with beautiful views and close proximity to everything you might need. Highly recommend
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
The campground was very well maintained. We especially appreciated the numerous bathrooms/shower houses and how well kept they were.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Very nice & clean place. Some people play obnoxious music. Quite expensive for a bare tent site. People walk dogs in the grass for setting up tents. They should be urged to use the specified area for letting their dogs relieve themselves. Park apparently does not enforce the camper limit. There were 4 carloads of kids camping right next to me. With the place fairly empty I didn't like that.
Sep 27, 2017
My family and I had a wonderful time camping here. The staff was professional and friendly. The bathrooms were cleaned every day. They also had a truck spray for mosquitoes. Our kids had fun at the pool and on the bounce pillow. It was relaxing and quiet in the evenings too. We will definitely come back here next year.
Sep 27, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 13 years. This was my first time staying since the new ownership. I have to say I was very disappointed in the staff. I was at the campground about 1 1/2 hours prior to check in time and was told that I would be charged 25.00 if I wanted to do this. It was off season and there were very few people staying in the primitive tent sites. Very sad
Sep 26, 2017
Relaxing family vacation. Staff was friendly and accommodating
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Clean restrooms. Would have appreciated a location to do dishes and water for primative sites. Appreciated mosquito control.
Sep 24, 2017
Only thing I would recommend would be to put some kind of natural barrier between the McDonald's and hotel, the spot lights flood the camp sites all night long. Besides that great location and loved all the activities
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
This was a very clean campground. Nice bathrooms.
Sep 06, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, bath houses were always clean. Staff was friendly, courteous always helpful. Will be back soon!!!
Sep 05, 2017
We learned this campsite was taken over by KOA a year ago, and since then overall cleanliness (including the bathrooms) has improved. We really liked our deluxe tent site and the diverse staff is very friendly. We were disappointed in the activities for children;staff ran out of materials, events started early&lasted 5 minutes & not enough organized, fun stuff for kids planned Labor Day Weekend
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great stay! Bathrooms were very clean and it was a great location.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
I had a blast!!
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was great! You guys thought of everything. We had everything we needed, the facilities were clean and easily accessible and everyone was super friendly. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 02, 2017
Wish it had been a more peaceful camping trip. It was very loud all night long. Staff didn't seem to care about anything- at all. It was our second stay there and it's not a place we will go back to.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We rented a deluxe tent site. The bathrooms were always clean. Look forward to our next stay.
Aug 29, 2017
It was a lot of fun! The pool is great. Can't wait for the water park next year.
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful stay. Beautiful campground, convenient location, beautiful bath house. Loved it!
Aug 28, 2017
The campgrounds are a bit expensive and it's not as secluded as I would have liked. $25 for checking in early seems expensive and I would prefer pricing to be by number of campsites rather than number of people -- just a standard 6 person price and if you have more than 6 then buy a second site.
Aug 27, 2017
Very clean. Only issue was not a great deal of information was provided at check in including bathroom closures as well as "people leave trash near the road" subsequently I laid our cargo carrier out to dry and it was taken away and discarded making the return trip very difficult to pack up. When I called at night noone offered to check the dumpster or provide a credit or anything for inconvenienc
Aug 27, 2017
loved the new bath houses.
Aug 26, 2017
At first, I did not enjoy the campground. There wasn't any place to grill and they charged us extra for arriving at noon. But it was so close to the park that it was worth it.
Aug 22, 2017
Everything was perfect except for last night when group of youngsters did not respect quiet hours and partied loudly till 1:30 AM. No reaction from camp management.
Aug 21, 2017
LOVED our stay at KOA Chincoteague, we stayed here years ago when it was Maddox Family campground. the bath houses are so clean and well maintained - except the one closest to our site being closed on and off through out the 18th and 19th which was annoying - notifying campers of the issue would make it less so! pool is so nice except needs larger deck area. LOVE the dock area also.
Aug 21, 2017
It is always great. It is nice that put up Tent only signs in primitive camping. The shower I used was clogged and full of hair but that is to be expected sometimes. Still our favorite place to stay. Mosquitoes and all...LOL
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Clean restrooms, great, helpful staff, and terrific location.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campsite! Enjoyed the deluxe campsite and the moon bounce.
Aug 14, 2017
The Chincoteague KOA was very clean and very family friendly. Everyone was friendly. We would definitely camp here again!
Aug 11, 2017
Only complaint I have is the mosquitos, but nothing the camp ground can do about that!
Aug 09, 2017
Not too crowded. Bathrooms were closed often. Lots of mosquitos (which is no ones fault). Food truck was awesome. Great service. Better prices on bikes to the beach--fun on wheels was $8 for bikes per day. When you stay at a hotel or resort and pay money, you usually get complimentary breakfast or ice or something but many of the KOA prices were more expensive then the stores nearby.
Aug 09, 2017
Loved our stay, can't wait until next year, water park also will be there which will make it great. See you all then.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful, the campground is clean and easy to navigate, and the renovated bathhouses are absolutely beautiful. We tent-camped in the open area with lighthouse views - the location was perfect. The bounce "speed-bump", pool and playground were well appreciated by all the children and very well-maintained. We're looking forward to returning soon!
Aug 07, 2017
Like the very clean restrooms and the improvements. Kids had great time on bounce.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
It was very clean, staff always busy doing something but not too busy to talk/assist when needed. They appeared to enjoy their job. To me a campground is made by the staff after that everything else falls in line.
Aug 01, 2017
We had an amazing time! Everything was clean, employees were great...a truly professional operation.
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice campground. I will be back. Two thing I wish that there were more activities at the campground and more of a store for food and coffee.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals