Chincoteague Island KOA Reviews

Book Your Escape

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Tent Reviews

Jun 30, 2020
As an infection control nurse who worked with COVID patients the bathrooms were scary. Floors were very dirty, wet and with hair. Sinks soaked. In this time of COVID, especially with increasing rates in neighboring states, they should be cleaned multiple times a day. We were also charged a $4.95 resort fee/night with no pool and minimal activities. This should be put towards more cleaning.
Jun 30, 2020
Great time
Jun 30, 2020
Had a great time. Nice campgrounds and staff.
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Enjoyed the KOA. Personable and friendly staff that was helpful and attentive. Must do hourly restroom and shower cleaning and checks for men’s and women’s bath houses. Some guests were disrespectful in leaving bathrooms dirty at times.
Jun 30, 2020
It was very loud / noisy on Saturday night. Also, the bathrooms were very dirty
Jun 30, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
We have stayed here before and truly love it. This go around we did the primitive camping. Very relaxing for the most part minus the neighbors dog barking ALL night long. Very clean campground and friendly staff!
Jun 29, 2020
Omg it's such a great experience for my whole family that we're booking now for the next 3 years if possible we just love the staff Connie is awesome great person and she knows her job well done Mrs Connie and guards where on point safety first the housekeeping staff wonderful thanks so the Wise family
Jun 29, 2020
It was great. The only negatives were that half the showers in one bathhouse were closed. Therefore We used a bathhouse that was father away from our site.
Jun 29, 2020
Two nights in the tent area and it was wonderfully peaceful, clean, insect free and very worthwhile. Beach is amazing and food choices superb. Highly recommended
Jun 29, 2020
We had a wonderful stay at KOA, Chincoteague! This was a much needed getaway after months of “Stay-at-home” order due to COVID-19. The staff was friendly and helpful, the sites were just what we’d hoped for. What a beautiful place you have! Thank you for making our first outing, such a pleasant one.
Jun 29, 2020
Check-in was very easy, ALL of the staff was super friendly, bath houses were clean, and so were the grounds! Only thing that is barring me from giving 5 stars is the fact that late Friday/early Saturday there was a group of people doing donuts in a golf cart for over 2hrs and rummaging through campsites. Tried to call the after-hours line but there was no answer. Not sure where security was.
Jun 29, 2020
Esta muy bueno y relax la recomiendo Para pasar tiempo con amigos y familia
Jun 29, 2020
Great time, awesome experience as usual.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
We did have to call security at almost 2am because of a massive group in the primitive tent area. Large groups like this should be engaged in some way to inform them of camp group rules. Their kids were riding bikes through RV sites, they had visitors until almost 2am, loud music, car horns, screaming, etc. We ended up moving at 6:30am the morning after because of them.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Not enough golf carts or refrigerated foods to put on the grill in the camp store. Beautiful campground, clean facilities, pets had a great time and we will visit again!!
Jun 28, 2020
love this campground, our26th yr. Very disappointed lack of compliance to protocol covid-19 VA law. Called before arriving to be assured and I was told ALL public areas require masks and extra cleaning. Well except for front desk......NO SIGNS!!Bathhouses,coming and going...no mask. Tent bathhouse showers not cleaned 3 days straight. left a bar of soap on shower floor to test if it was being clean
Jun 28, 2020
The bathhouse I was by was constantly closed for maintenance or cleaning. I had asked to be close to a bathhouse due to having a 4 year old with me and I ended up being further from a working bathhouse. Also, I expected my own water hook up. Over all the campground was clean and the staff was friendly.
Jun 28, 2020
Everything was great! The staff was friendly, the campground and restrooms were extraordinarily clean, and the location was perfect. We had only planned to spend a few nights there but we were so impressed with everything that we ended up staying for a week!
Jun 28, 2020
No one was enforcing the mask rule in the bathrooms. There were no reminder signs there either. The water pressure in the showers was very weak.
Jun 28, 2020
Only thing I have to say is we’re coming back in august!!
Jun 28, 2020
I stay at a lot of KOA. The bathroom near my site was not maintained often enough and the all the toilets were backed up in the morning. Yuck! I had to then walk with stomach pain to the next nearest bathroom and then that toilet clogged and I had to wait so I could flush is 2 more times. All the campers around my site warned and discussed this issue. Shower pressure was very weak too. Not happy
Jun 27, 2020
Bathhouses were very clean as was the whole campground. Everyone working there was very helpful. We were on site 179 and the only complaint we had was the light on the road by our site was incredibly bright overnight. We did wish that dimmed some during quiet hours.
Jun 27, 2020
It was lovely. I stayed in the primitive tent area. The sites are well maintained and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 26, 2020
I was told over the phone 2 tents per sight and when I got there they said 1 tent per sight. Also for 1 1/2 there was no fire wood available. The water spout did not work. And no grate for the fire. Had to purchase that separately. Besides that the spot was beautiful and the safe was friendly. It was my first time staying there so maybe I didn’t know what to expect.
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
This camp site was so far off from the photos and what I expected that I cried as soon as we pulled in. We could hear and see a busy road from the primitive site, which sits behind a McDonald's. We left almost immediately and booked another campsite on the island.
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
While the campsite itself was nice (although very noisy late night) the Covid-19 practices were not enforced at all. Social distancing was not practiced or enforced, sites had multiple tents on them which led to crowding. This would be bad at a normal time, but was dangerous during a pandemic. Staff was very friendly, but masks were not worn outside, when close to us talking. Disappointed.
Jun 22, 2020
The staff was very friendly and willing to help us all the time. The only thing I didn’t liked íes that I wasn’t aware that I needed extra rope to set up my tent given the way the high camping sites are done and the fact that there wasn’t a grill and we needed to buy one. It would have been nice to know that in advance.
Jun 22, 2020
It was awesome and can't wait to come back. Staff was accommodating and friendly.
Jun 22, 2020
Overall good stay. The bathrooms were very dirty near my site 144. Tissue all over the floor and large amounts of hair and dirt in the showers during my stay. The site was large, but not very private. Electric and water location not in the best spot and was shared by 4 sites which made it difficult to get to because other campers blocked off the water with their tent setup
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
It was an overall great stay and wonderful island to visit!
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Bathrooms were clean and site was amazing!!
Jun 22, 2020
One of the long-term residents at Chincoteague Island KOA has erected flagpole waving a large confederate flag. I will not continue to support a privately owned campground that permits this hate symbol.
Jun 21, 2020
Overall, we like this campground. Staff is very nice and location is great. The only reason it isn't 5 stars is for the weekend noise. Not really the campground's fault, but wish the quiet hours could be enforced. Friday night there were loud air matress pumps going after midnight and adults being loud and screaming kids until after 1:30 am. We got no sleep. Glad we weren't there the rest of the w
Jun 20, 2020
We really enjoyed the clean bathrooms and amenities that the campground offered. The large light in the deluxe tent sites was very bothersome. The first night our tent was right under it, but thankfully they worked with us and moved our site. We wish that quiet hours were enforced. During our stay, our neighbors would yell and get in arguments at 12-2 in the morning.
Jun 17, 2020
Amazing place! Staff were very pleasant and helpful. My family and I had a great time. Coming back very soon!!! Thank you for this wonderful experience.
Jun 17, 2020
The area was nice and the place was great the only negative was they only clean the bathroom once a day and that was in the morning. By the evening the bathroom was filthy and hair people loose hair on the ground and mud all over the floor. There was tissue all around the towels. I think they can do better with the cleaning schedule it’s to mine guest to just clean one a day.
Jun 17, 2020
the birds were really annoying
Jun 17, 2020
Was very windy during our stay and of course we were in a tent. We do plan on visiting again but will be bringing our camper. The staff that I had contact with were extremely nice and very helpful. Look forward to our next visit which not sure when that will be but it will be longer than one night.
Jun 16, 2020
We love chincotegue and the KOA, although we were a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the noice after 10 pm Sunday night. We will definitely come back.
Jun 16, 2020
Great! Dirty Bathroom though.
Jun 15, 2020
Very impressed from the beginning to end! Had an outlet that didn’t work, and right away, an electrician came and fixed it. Your staff is excellent!
Jul 03, 2020
Chincoteague Island is a beautiful place to visit .
- Letty Oflynn on Google
Jul 03, 2020
I used to come here as a kid and I came back and it was great. I like it better than camping at some campgrounds with the gravelly pad sites, you just pick your own spot (if you are “primitive” camping, so get their earlyish to snag a good one). We had pretty good privacy even though there’s not a thick forest or anything, just some distance from neighbors. Nice fairly clean bathroom facilities. A dock and you can see the lighthouse. Fun things for kids to do, like a jumping spot, and pool although it was closed due to covid. Overall beautiful spot. Lots of mosquitoes!
- Gabriela Mills on Google
Jun 30, 2020
Staff and park amenities were wonderful!! Loved our stay 😁🌅 ❤️ so close to the ocean!!
- Liz Fraser on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.