Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! There is still a lot of work being done to the campground. We stayed during one of their 1/2 off specials. Would definitely return if there was another sale/discount, not sure if it is worth the full price though.
Apr 16, 2018
Campground will look beautiful when water park opens, but for now the entrance and parts of campground are an unappealing construction zone. WiFi was not reliable.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 12, 2018
We had a great time! Can’t wait for the water park to be finished we will definitely be back
Apr 09, 2018
Although the weather didn't cooperate, we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and the bathrooms are always clean. Thanks for another great time!
Apr 09, 2018
weekend weather wasnt good. campground was not very busy. Sunday was a pleasent day so i inquired to do a late check out. For $25 i could stay on site till 2pm. Check out is 11 am. The former maddox campground's check out time was at one time 4 pm, then it changed to 2 pm. I thought 25 was a bit much for 3 hours, being there was not another reservation on that site. But they want repeat business
Apr 09, 2018
Loved the cleanthiness if campground. Staff was professional. Even with construction, noise was at a minimum. Wish you could book specific sites if available at time of reservation. Thanks for special rates for military and first responders.
Apr 09, 2018
Wanted to do a late check out as the weather finally cooperated on Sunday but they wanted to charge $25 to stay a couple more hours. Other campgrounds only charge $10. The campground wasn't very busy either. If you prorated the site cost it is only $ 2.00 per hr.
Apr 08, 2018
My recent stay was not the relaxing stay that I would have expected. Site had no picnic table or fire ring when I arrived. Every day there was a constant parade of noisy backhoes, skid steers, excavators, and other construction vehicles passing my campsite every 5 min. One day this began at 7 am! Should have put guests at other sites without making them pay more since you were almost empty.
Apr 07, 2018
Very much a work in progress. New bathhouse/laundry. Nice camp store/office. Entrance was not well marked and was difficult to get through with construction happening. Trees make navigating and setting up difficult. Paid extra for a site with cable that NEVER worked, AND no one came to check on it after we complained. Site not matched to length of rig. I have definitely stayed at nicer for less $.
Apr 07, 2018
Stay was great! Only complaint or questionable situation... the row I was in was almost completely empty for this time of year and they placed a trailer right next to us. Again 10 spots to either side were open. Would have been a much nicer stay given the availability of many, many other sites to give us a little more room.
Apr 06, 2018
The construction currently was horrible during the stay. When reservations were made the specs of our rig was noted....we were taken to a sight that was very very difficult to get to only to be too short...we hung out in the road....had to be moved to the front of the campground..more maneuvers. No activities at all,the activity center was closed during our stay. More to say but no space..
Apr 06, 2018
Lovely place! Only issue was they are undergoing construction we wish we had known about beforehand. A bit noisy at times.
Apr 06, 2018
Extraordinary campground! We loved the improvements that are being done and can't wait to return to see the progress. The staff was stellar! So kind and helpful. The grounds were maintained with care and detail. We were absolutely impressed with everything! Thanks for a lovely stay! See you soon!
Apr 06, 2018
great visit to chincoteague. New facilities were very nice .
Apr 06, 2018
The camping was OK. Everything was clean but it did not stand out as much as other KOA's I have stayed in. Compared to other camping on the Island this was one of the best but still just OK. You need to make sure your staff is oriented about the destination. I asked questions regarding Assateauge and both the people at the desk knew very little. I was surprised.
Apr 05, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay and the WiFi was great. The campgrounds were probably at 25% capacity for the weekend. I look forward to another stay to see all the improvements that were being done completed.
Apr 04, 2018
Good for the most part. No picnic tables upon arrival then delivered but then given to someone else. Roads throughout campground had piles of debris. Awkward camp store layout getting in & out. Kids requested to office staff for bounce pillow to be inflated then an hour later it still was not started. Otherwise staff was friendly & bath/laundry was clean.
Apr 03, 2018
Campground was nice, enjoyed our time. The turn to get down to the deluxe sites was tight, they need to cut down 2 trees on either side of the road. That would make life a lot easier.
Apr 02, 2018
Well were do I start. First of all when someone comes up for second time to the office and ASK to see a MANAGER and they hide in office and let staff handle it is WRONG. site 264 was to tight couldnt open up awning. We returned to have neighbor parked almost on top of our table in our site, No cable.wifi was in and out. You need to inform camper you only have 50amp. We left a day early.
Apr 02, 2018
Patio site was nice but chiminea was not as useful as a fire ring would have been. Also there was no cable tv, a big deal when the final four was on. Might try here again in the future.
Apr 02, 2018
Very helpful. We checked in during the evening after the office and store was closed. But we needed a power adapter from the store. Without charging us, the staff left one at the gate in the packet for us to use. Top notch service! They were very friendly and the facilities were clean and safe. Definitely will stay again!
Dec 28, 2017
lots of work going into a bigger and better resort
Nov 20, 2017
Nov 16, 2017
We had such an amazing time in Chincoteague and we will be back to this KOA. The staff was friendly and overall great. The spot we had was spacious and the kids loved the bouncing pillow. We cannot wait for camping season next year so we can come back.
Nov 14, 2017
Stayed for 1 of the Halloween weekends and love that the kids get to trick or treat as it starts to get dark. It makes it more fun for us that decorate our sites, makes it a little more spooky. Thanks will be back next year.
Nov 09, 2017
I feel like I got ripped off , the facilities were new and clean and the employees were nice , but I paid almost 4K for my site to be underwater or mushy everytime it rained, so we really couldn’t enjoy our site half the time ( wish I could get half my money back) so because of that we were embarrassed to invite friends and family to visit us and that was the main reason we got the site,disheart
Nov 05, 2017
Nov 04, 2017
The campground is nice,just needs to address some low areas where water stands,have new tv cable to all sites,especially the seasonal,repair the roads,install cement pads to seasonal sites.On the upside,New bath houses,welcome center,and all the workers are great,With the changes scheduled during this off season,We are looking forward to a Great 2018,The addition to the all new Water Park is Great
Nov 04, 2017
We liked the spotless bathrooms. We noticed that some of the sites flooded when the area had rain. The staff were courteous and well informed of local restaurants and points of interest. Our major concern was that some of the sites flooded with at least 3" of water when it rained.
Nov 03, 2017
Nov 03, 2017
We are seasonal campers and we will return as long as the campground is well maintained.
Nov 02, 2017
We stayed at the end of the season, unaware that we would be trick or treated (it was not October 31st), which was embarrassing. The site is lovely and very quiet after 10.00pm. We would come back.
Nov 01, 2017
Love the improvements to the campground. We enjoyed our stay very much. I would have given the first question a 10 but the price for a night is rather steep and it will make it impossible for some people to camp here.
Nov 01, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
The campground is beautiful. The staff was welcoming and friendly.
Oct 30, 2017
Excellent camping. Quiet and relaxing. Lots to do. Great Halloween fun.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
The campground is in the best shape in the 40+ years that we have been camping there. The staff is very helpful and attentive to your needs and request.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
Loved the bounce pad, bathrooms were impeccably clean, and the Halloween festivities were wonderful for the kids. It was like Halloweentown. We can't wait to come back next year!
Oct 30, 2017
Everyone was friendly. Area was beautiful. Bath houses immaculate. Need a bigger dog pen area so dogs can run (Massey's has a good size one for reference). Halloween trick or treating was awesome! Had a blast. We will be back for sure next year.
Oct 29, 2017
Staff was so helpful to this newbie. I really appreciated each kindness. The bathrooms were spectacularly clean.
Oct 29, 2017
Great stay, great site. Please consider opening earlier in the season and staying open later.
Oct 29, 2017
Called and made reservation for full hook up.....got a site with no cable TV......HHHHMMMM KOA book shows cable.....OH you have to have a patio site .... ????? Not 100 % Happy......
Oct 29, 2017
Great Staff and great facility! Very clean and beautiful bathrooms.
Oct 29, 2017
Construction noise.....Both am and pm......Garbage truck emptying dumpsters very very early am......waking up to slamming of containers.....wonderful.....Yea I know late in season but we didn't get any price reduction...Not the best KOA experience...... Store is OK yet stocking of some inexpensive local gifts and jewelry.....would be an addition......which I am sure would be welcome...
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals