Chincoteague Island KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
We had a wonderful time in the safari tent @ the Chincoteague KOA! The room was comfortable & cozy. We had rain one night but there was no leaking! I will say we had our seafood festival trays stollen from our picnic table which was disappointing but otherwise we felt safe. We kept our valuables locked in our car since there was no way to lock the tent when we were away. Will definitely stay again
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
First time at this koa and we enjoyed the stay very much.
Oct 15, 2019
We loved our time there. Minus the coastal flooding.
Oct 15, 2019
Our family stayed in a Safire tent and loved every minute of our stay!
Oct 15, 2019
We had a bungalow which was in a mud hole! We should have gotten a discount. We had a hard time parking and walking around.
Oct 15, 2019
My wife and I stayed at this KOA for the first time last week (10/06/2019) for 5 days. We stayed in one of their deluxe cabins. The cabin was spotless and were very comfortable and will sleep 6. The staff is extremely helpful and if you need anything, just ask. We are already figuring out our reservations for next year!! This KOA is TOP NOTCH, you won't be disappointed!!!
Oct 15, 2019
We had a great time all staff were friendly and helpfully. Cant wait to come back.
Oct 15, 2019
We love this location. It has a stunning vista of Assateague and fun amenities like the bouncing pillow, hammocks, and safari tents. We were there during Halloween, and the programs were delightful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The one disappointment for us was that there's little management can or will do against very noisy groups before 11pm. Please adjust quiet hours or set noise limits.
Oct 14, 2019
This is the third time renting a cabin at KOA. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. It is nice to see new additions to the campground each time we come. My only concerns this time was the lack of hot water. We washed dishes and ended up with cold showers. This was not ideal. The second is the location of the new swings. I will request a cabin away from these next time. :)
Oct 14, 2019
Great camp ground. Cabin was clean and well equipped.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
You’re the Hyatt of KOA’s I’ve stayed in. I’d trade the tv for a frig through.
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
Fantastic place for families of all ages
Oct 13, 2019
Very enjoyable, employees were great.
Oct 10, 2019
Just a quick stay in a Deluxe Cabin. Everything in great condition, and the location on the island was super.
Oct 09, 2019
We loved our deluxe cabin. The staff was excellent.
Oct 08, 2019
The Staff is amazing I couldn’t have asked for me. However, we accidentally moved from the Safari tent we booked in July to a cabin with out our consent or prior knowledge before arriving. The cabins are sufficient for many it is not the experience we were expected nor paid for. The standard bed in the cabin is uncomfortable and difficult for my 6’5 husband. Not the anniversary we planned for.
Oct 08, 2019
The staff were wonderful and the accommodations were great! So many things to do on the camp ground itself and the surrounding area! Absolutely loved our time there!
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
We had a great time. Everything was clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Couldn’t ask for a better visit to the island. We would get here again and again.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
This is my absolute favorite place to stay on vacation. I will be back for sure!
Oct 07, 2019
Our family of four had a great stay in Chincoteague. The campground was great, with plenty for the kids to do. Plus, there was so much to do in and around the campground. Great food and great adventures.
Oct 04, 2019
My husband and I stayed in the accessible deluxe cabin with my 96-year-old mother, and it was just perfect! She used the ramp with her walker and took her shower in the bathroom with its extra wide door, lots of handrails, a slight ramp, shower wand and fold down bathing bench. We rented a golf cart so she could ride around and see the rest of the campground. We all loved the screened in porch!
Oct 02, 2019
Brian was wonderful showing us the RV and helping navigate the KOA. Loved the trolley tour and the driver! The only reason I marked a star down the mattresses in the RV were horrible. It was like sleeping on a rock. I had a spare mattress pad which helped but for the price I wish the mattresses were better. The bathrooms and showers at the facility were so nice a clean. I had a great time!
Oct 01, 2019
Oct 01, 2019
Staff very friendly and helpful Campground was clean and easy to get around. First night was a very loud after quiet time. Second night much better appreciated the more peaceful atmosphere.
Oct 01, 2019
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Only drawback that we experienced was that the water taps servicing the safari tents were not functioning. Result was having to use taps at a vacant site to fill water jugs. Inconvenient considering distance / height of hookups.
Sep 21, 2019
I had a lovely stay in a small bungalow. Very comfortable. Enjoyed my stay. Staff very nice, helpful and friendly. Loved the clean restrooms.
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
And the freezer had long ice hanging and would not shut on #5 and #6.When moved to #6 we had to break the ice to get the door shut.We were told Brian woud be there at 8AM Sunday morning.Then Neil told us when checking out he would not be there till 2;00PMand he would get back with us yesterday.Never happened.We lost lots of our food by moving from #5 to #6 rlslacum19973@gmail.com Bad ending!!
Sep 16, 2019
The staff are completely awesome and go out of their way to assure an enjoyable stay.
Sep 16, 2019
Bathroom not as clean as past stays. Disappointed to not get requested ST sites. Site in front of us had 8-10 tents, multiple cars and scooters and loud music which we were not happy about due to our small children playing and our hope for a quiet/relaxing weekend. Great activities, great trolley ride, great water park. We love Chincoteague KOA but just a little disappointed in this stay.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our time there. The Safari Tents are such an awesome place to stay in, they even provided bath towels, that was a surprise. My only complaint was the coffee maker, super excited it was there and they provided bottled water for it but the cord was so short I had to sit it on the floor to plug it in to make coffee, but that wouldn't stop me from staying in the Safari Tent again.
Sep 15, 2019
The camp bungalows need blinds on the door
Sep 08, 2019
Had a great time. Friendly staff. Lots of amenities and it is close to beach and restaurants. Can walk to Maui Jim’s.
Sep 06, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
We rented one of the new RVs, which was great for the four of us (2 kids + 2 adults). The accommodations were very clean, the campground was clean, the staff were helpful and hospitable. We are already talking about another trip next year!
Sep 03, 2019
Our stay was wonderful!! I cannot even begin to say enough nice things about it! The staff was phenomenal and the campground itself is Beautiful!!
Sep 03, 2019
Over all our stay was okay. However, we were not told that our Safari tent was directly across from group camping. Very noisy with loud music. Two, there was no water at the facets between the safari tents. Having no water access other than at the bathrooms was not very convenient nor accessible for buckets for washing dishes. and three, the pool could have been cleaner.
Aug 31, 2019
We stayed in one of the new Safari Tents. Very nice! The staff was excellent. The water park next door was perfect. Will definitely be back!
Aug 31, 2019
everyone was very nice and very helpful, we LOVE the glamping tents. I requested one near the bathroom and I got it. This is very helpful for my many trips during the night.The pool is difficult to get in and out of as there are no steps. I have a hard time with the ladder, And there is always rough-housing going on in the pool. otherwise, we love it and we'll be back.
Oct 19, 2019
Beautiful site for RVs and tent camping. Friendly employees and so much fun for the kids. Jumping pillow and water park in season. Halloween activities and trick or treat in October! So glad we can with our scout troop!
- CeCi Stephens on Google
Oct 16, 2019
The only problem - bus to the beach has no schedule. And it very hard to catch it.
- Linda Mock on Google
Oct 12, 2019
Everyone is very helpful and pleasant. Restrooms and showers are plentiful and very well maintained. We are here Columbus Day Weekend. Lots of fun activities for the kids. Our second time here but certainly not our last. Quiet hours start at 11pm. I don’t remember hearing a thing after 11:10pm. Slept like a log!
- manserr2019 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.