Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2018
I enjoyed the campground and island bungalow. The only complaint we have is that upon check in on the day of arrival at 3:20pm, I asked for a view that faced the forest and the receptionist said that they were booked. The bungalow that were of interest to us were vacant during our stay, we are upset that the lady incorrectly handled at our request. Next time I hope to get the spot we want!
Aug 17, 2018
day before I call to comfirm resev and I was told I can chk in at 2, when I arrive 5 min to 2, I been told I cant chk until 3, my two kids and I had to wait one hour hot humid day, i was so upset think about going to another camp site your staff should have told me i need to chk in at 3 when i made call day before
Aug 17, 2018
Reservation was handled smoothly and we were led to our site by KOA personnel. Site was the Deluxe Patio and we enjoyed the layout and furniture. Weather was perfect and we had a very good stay. We are seniors and so we didn't take advantage of the water park but it looked very impressive.
Aug 17, 2018
Been camping at this site for 25 yrs. Excited to see some needed improvements. Bathhouses nicely maintained. However temperature of the bathhouses painfully cold. Understand you are doing it to prevent mold but it felt a bit extreme.Knowing that the KOA owned the water park I was disappointed that we only got a 40% discount. Great start on the water park. Hope for more slides,bored after 2 hrs.
Aug 17, 2018
Staff generally helpful. When had trouble with dryer on weekend and could reach company dryer my son’s sleeping bag Over the two weekends we were there the bathrooms and showers were not in good shape, toilet paper all over floor and none in stalls. Mid week two showers were broken and not fixed before we left. Contacted office about lack of toilet paper Sat. evening not fixed till next day
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
Roads need paving. Asked to if we could move next to our friends and was told site was booked but nobody was there on the night we requested. Do not stay in any sites near bath houses. Major foot traffic route thru your campsite. No respect to your area. If I ever come back I will be bringing a portable fence!
Aug 17, 2018
Great stay.
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back!
Aug 16, 2018
The campground is nice but they need to control the golf carts My truck was hit and damaged by one driven by an under age driver now I'm trying to get my vehicle repaired .Hopefully the responsible party will pay for damage.
Aug 16, 2018
Cute little town. Nothing huge but some very good restaurants as well as very good food trucks. Nice water park right at the KOA and very reasonably priced for those staying at the KOA. Again, nothing huge but a good way to spend a day or so. Great bike trails through Assateague island and the lighthouse was very nice. My only negative comment would be the water pressure at the campground.
Aug 16, 2018
No curtain on the front door of the island bungalow seems so odd. Also there are screws sticking out of the front porch stairs on the railing. The reason I know is, I hit one And it scratched me. Not good since they are level with my 3 year olds head and they are super sharp. Over all our experience was great.
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
We had a great time with our four little children. We stayed at the safari tent which is a great experience for the kids. The campsite is clean and beautiful. Will come back soon!
Aug 16, 2018
We are regulars to the island, but this was our first time camping. It was a great experience, and everyone was so friendly and nice! We felt well cared for, and when I had an electrical issue someone was out there to help me within five minutes! We loved the experience, and we would definitely plan on coming back again, as well as recommending you to other people! Thank you so much.
Aug 15, 2018
Had a wonderful time!! We will be back soon!!
Aug 15, 2018
Very clean and lots of amenities. My only complaint was the internet was really slow at our seasonal site. We had to upgrade our phone data plan to have reasonable speeds. Other than that it was great.
Aug 15, 2018
All was perfect. Restroom clean. Pool clean. Beautiful campground. Thank you :)
Aug 15, 2018
Our stay was great, cabin was clean and comfortable. wish the pool was a little bigger!! And the guy on the golf cart was very annoying constantly following us around. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly and always were there to help if you needed anything. My sons wish there were a basketball court and the only down fall was the washers and dryers didn’t take cash.
Aug 15, 2018
Bathrooms constantly dirty.
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Loved it!! The mosquitos were a little overwhelming but all in all it was a great trip! We stayed in the safari tents and that was so adventurous if you dont want that full camping experience but want to be outdoors I highly recommend the safari tents
Aug 15, 2018
was very und happed there were nothing there for kid but the water park no play ground the tent people walk thourght out campsite while you are eating they go up and down the road like it speed way and i know that four orther camper felt the same way so good luck
Aug 15, 2018
We stayed here last year and enjoyed stay so returned. This year I was very disappointed in the bathrooms. Each and every time I went in they were dirty. I would not take a shower. We were near the bathroom near tent sites, maybe that played a part. Also last year a better job was done with grass at sites, definitely needed work. See KOA of Luray, so much better groomed.
Aug 15, 2018
Loved the new safari tents!!
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Not all pull through sites are level, needs either more stone on roads or to be paved. Waterpark was nice as well as staff.
Aug 14, 2018
Bathrooms weren't always clean and ran out of toilet paper. It would be nice if the laundry would have another payment option other than credit cards as I had to try 4 different cards to get them to work any time of day.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
We had a Deluxe Patio Pull thru site. The only draw back was they had mowed the grass and covered the concrete pad with debris. Easy to sweep but would have been nice to show up to a clean pad also found the dog run area very small. Would be nice to have some sort of coffee shop or ice cream shop on the premises. Also had tons of people walking through our site to get to the bathhouse.
Aug 14, 2018
A campground for us is S/W/E, washer/dryers a plus. Everything else is frills to us that we don't use. This makes camping at Chincoteague KOA VERY expensive for services not used. VERY commercial operation! We honestly are going to stay elsewhere giving us more funds for dining and other local pleasures. All staff were courteous but we did not require their services.
Aug 14, 2018
Everything was great. Staff was very nice.
Aug 14, 2018
Well located (close to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge). We rented an Island Bungalow and were disappointed by the lack of privacy (i.e. bungalows are very close to one another). A few suggestions: 1. blind/drapes on the front door window - at night, everybody could see inside the bungalow, 2. a small mirror in the bungalow, 3. recycling bins on the campground would be essential.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Bathrooms need cleaned at least twice a day. They were a mess starting in the afternoon all the way until the next morning when they were cleaned. Otherwise, no complaints. We had a great time.
Aug 14, 2018
When we first arrived we were given a crappy, cramped site.. I requested to be moved,which they did. We felt that no one was monitoring the speed of the vehicles coming in , which were moving way to fast with all the children around. The water rides were very nice for those that use them. But other than that there was nothing else to do. No shuffle board, no miniature golf,etc. Grass needed mowing
Aug 14, 2018
Great location and close to the beach! Plenty of activities. However, the bathrooms were not kept very well. Mud and toilet paper covered the floor at times. Only two showers worked the whole time and there was always a wait.
Aug 14, 2018
Loved the safari tent. Bathroom needed a little attention but overall pretty clean for such a busy weekend.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
It was a nice CG in a very interesting area. My son and his wife and children stayed with me and the only issue reported to me was that someone really messed up the bath house near me and it appears that no one from the staff did anything about it. I asked if they reported it so you could address the problem and was told that they did not.
Aug 14, 2018
Loved having the trolley to the beach.
Aug 14, 2018
Bathrooms were horrible! Dirty, no toilet paper, multiple stalls and showers were out of order. Multiple campers had complained but nothing was being done.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
There are WAY too many tent sites with not enough bathrooms and paths to bathrooms! Speeding through campground. Loud music. No enforcement of rules. Nice employees, but that's not enough.
Aug 13, 2018
We have stayed at several KOA campgrounds in the last 10 years of camping. This was the worst KOA we have stayed at. The women's bathroom was closed for one hour on Saturday morning. Other campers were constantly cutting across our campsite which was located at Site 01 and near the camp store. The office staff was told about this and did nothing. The only nice thing was the water park.
Aug 13, 2018
Wish you would have more activities. Didn’t receive info at check in about weekend events. Only knew due to Facebook.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals