Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2017
Fantastic place Enjoyed every minute of my stay. Will definitely return
Aug 19, 2017
The campground was clean and the staff was very accommodating ! We went there primarily for the beautiful beach and never even looked at the pool Not sure why they have the need for a new waterpark I'm sure that's just going to raise the price The bath house and laundry were very convenient and nicely updated Will definitely return if prices stay down
Aug 19, 2017
Great stay Aug 13-18. A "happy to please" type of staff. Campground well taken care of. Bathrooms were very clean at all times of the day. Looking forward to going back.
Aug 19, 2017
Excellent, staff is very friendly. Our Deluxe Cabin was ready when we arrived around 1:00pm. It was very clean. we loved our stay. I have one important comment, we were eaten alive by mosquitoes, and I myself was stung by a wasp.We are still fighting the huge red spots throughout our bodies. We put tons of OFF for mosquitoes but it did not help. You need to work on that. Best
Aug 19, 2017
After being directed to our site and shown hookups, we couldn't get cable tv to work. Thinking it was our equipment, I tried different cables and checked wiring in trailer. Finally called office who said our site did not have cable tv, even though we asked for it and was told it had it when reserving. The next morning I discovered a long cable wire coming from a big box by the road. It worked
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Campground was nice and staff were friendly. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes were awful and made it difficult to stay outside. Obviously, the campground can't control nature. Another issue unrelated to the campground was the new pricing policy at the USFWS National Seashore. They no longer offer daily passes, which means you have to pay $20 for a weekly pass or $40 for an annual pass.
Aug 19, 2017
Great family location for beach fun...
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly and helpful. From the time we arrived at the gate, we were treated like welcome guest. The campground itself was a mixture of old and new. The bath houses are brand new. The sites themselves were paved with crushed shells and level. The lighthouse view site overlook the marsh. Nice The only bad thing was the fire ring in our site was not cleaned up when we arrived.
Aug 18, 2017
I had a okay time at the KOA camp ground , but I think it was over priced for what you get in comparison to other camp grounds in the area
Aug 18, 2017
It was good, however the distance to the beach was much longer than anticipated. The KOA really is in the town. It was quite bright at night due to the lights from the streetlights and the town. Due to the proximity to the marsh there were many mosquitos even before dusk. The wood that we bought was soaking wet and never did light properly. this is due to the wood not being kept in a shelter.
Aug 18, 2017
A lot if mosquitos. A nice KOA with friendly staff.
Aug 17, 2017
Once the campground is completed it may be better. When we arrived we did not have electric. Then we had no cable. We rigged it to our neighbors so we would have TV. Then the water was shut off. When we were leaving our neighbors had not had cable and hooked to the neighbor and their electric went out during the night. I will not return until they get it fixed. The bath houses are terrific.
Aug 17, 2017
We loved how nice the staff was. The bathrooms are very new, clean and well stocked. We loved how centrally located the campground is to town. There are some family activities on the weekends. The views from the back of the campground is lovely with the lighthouse within view. You will be seeing us there again next year!!!
Aug 17, 2017
Muy bien
Aug 16, 2017
The communication at the front desk was horrible. They told me the campground had an up and running Tiki bar, we were going to go to it for my daughters birthday! PS they forgot to say they don't have a liquor license! They also said they have a trolley but forgot that it does not run when the driver is tired and decides to go home- we will never go back.
Aug 16, 2017
Clean restrooms, great, helpful staff, and terrific location.
Aug 16, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. I cannot say enough about the staff; they were always helpful and friendly. The bathhouses were cleaned regularly and there were more than ample facilities. My husband and I enjoyed a kayak rental one afternoon and the kids loved bouncing and swimming in the pool. The close proximity to the wildlife refuge and national seashore was a bonus as well.
Aug 16, 2017
Not as advertised in photos on KOA website. Nice bathrooms. Staff friendly.
Aug 16, 2017
Nice facilities. Kept very clean despite huge rainfall. Bathiuses clean and new.
Aug 16, 2017
put in site 107 (reserved 121) not mowed, rain - flood -lake 6-8" -under trailer and surrounding vacant sites 3+ days - management blamed on bikes on curb?? - rest of campground few puddles - made to move our cars off dry - not happy with change to KOA - camped Maddox for 40 years, yes rain -but much cheaper! Expected better!
Aug 16, 2017
Good stay. Staff was friendly. RV campsite was decent, but a bit cramped. Our campsite also included access to a septic tank, which was not properly sealed. That resulted in a noticeable constant sewage odor. We covered it with a plastic bag and outdoor rug, which helped with the odor. But the cement block needs to be reseated at site 242 ASAP. Large puddles also need to be addressed.
Aug 16, 2017
The advertised tiki bar isn't there, the food truck is only there on certain days and not open in the evenings and the advertised shuttle only runs on the weekends. The price is outrageous as I know friends who were down at the exact same time and paid the same as us and they were beachfront in OC. Sprayed for mosquitoes without warning and people with pets aren't separated from those without.
Aug 16, 2017
Staff was great, friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2017
We had problems with water, as in it went out for a period of time without explanation. Bugs were bad, spraying occurred during dinner. Bathrooms were being cleaned in the morning when bathrooms are needed the most.
Aug 16, 2017
We always have a great time camping at this campground. We have been camping there for years. Love the improvements and the staff was really friendly and helpful. It seems like every time we camp there we get a lot of rain. And we always end up in campsite that all the water drains to. We were in site #7 this past trip. But no worries we will still be visiting and have a great time.
Aug 16, 2017
We enjoyed the stay however we were told there were stairs into the pool and there were only ladders. I had called twice to be sure the pool was accessible. We made it work but that was a concern. The cottage was charming and met our needs very well.
Aug 15, 2017
Several amenities offered that were not available..shuttle to beach is a joke,when it was available the hours were ridiculous and driver quit on our 2nd day..deluxe patio sites are a joke..just a paved cement pad with some furniture with chimnea instead of fire pit and no grill...our deluxe site smelled of septic all week...positives were the view of the lighthouse and also a few ponies in the dis
Aug 15, 2017
Everything was awesome would have given highest rating possible but we were on lot 260 we have problems with the sewer. I tried to dump my tanks during the week and it overflowed on the ground,yesterday when leaving it overflowed again. I know you are busy with improvements and I'm sure you will correct this problem. The troubling thing is I mentioned it to someone but no one came
Aug 15, 2017
IT was AWFUL when we were just getting ready to eat our grilled dinner outside and the mosquito sprayer came around. luckily we had a spare table cloth at hand to throw over the table before running inside. AND - WHAT'S WITH ALL THE CAMPSITES WITH 4 INCH DEEP, 5 FT DIAMATER PUDDLES ? ! ? ! ? ! Milk choices in the store were very limited. No whole milk one day and no half+half another.
Aug 15, 2017
Sites were too close together. Our picnic table inches away from next RVs slide. When it rained, no gravel or patio to help with water--made the site under water. On the positive side, nice personnel, quiet campground.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campsite! Enjoyed the deluxe campsite and the moon bounce.
Aug 15, 2017
My camp site did not have enough sand and fill on it because when it rained , I had a huge pool of water all around and under my trailer. I had to step in water to get into my camper. Also the my camp site was covered with broken glass an roofing materials, it had not been cleaned up. The hole grounds needs to be better landscaped. Also the fee was to expensive for what I got.
Aug 15, 2017
Campsite was well groomed. Restrooms were clean and attractive. pleasant stay.
Aug 15, 2017
Everyone was very friendly. It rained very hard so we were floated and I went to the office and got changed to another site without any problem. Great place to camp!!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Price is getting too high. WiFi was out for 2 days. Cable T V not installed on all sights. The new bathrooms were very nice.
Aug 14, 2017
mosquitos are still a downfall of this area. More pesticides
Aug 14, 2017
Just about every campsite I could see was under water. This campground could really use some recommendations on water drainage. The bays back up to the campground on 3 sides, but the roads appeared to prevent the water from getting there.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a great time, We would love to come back. But we really liked that KOA is quiet and relaxing. I understand you are going to have a water park there next year and it will be quite loud and busy. If we had young kids, that would be good, but it is just me and my husband. Your place is clean and beautiful and you were very helpful, when you switched our site to a shady one.
Aug 14, 2017
So disappointed. 1st night there, the KOA staff member who parked us came back later & ask us to pay for wood from the night before? Terrible Mosquitos, ponding of water doesn't help. Maybe fill dirt to help mitigate the problem. Dog run grass needed mowed. Not much change since we stayed years ago, we even left a day early. When registered we were told u had cable, not limited to a few sites
Aug 14, 2017
The cabin was wonderful! Bath houses were clean and so nice inside! Great place to stay!
Aug 14, 2017
The staff were very accommodating, kind, and friendly, making our stay very enjoyable.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Our campsite was located conveniently to the bathhouse, camp store and pool. One night/morning brought significant rainfall, our site remained fairly dry, others had water ponding on the site. The main bathhouse was always well stocked and cleaned. Only draw backs-no laundry facility and bathhouse closed times not posted or mentioned during checkin.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
So great! It was my husband and my kids first time camping and they loved it! So clean!! So many kids activities! Bug control was great!!
Aug 14, 2017
The Chincoteague KOA was very clean and very family friendly. Everyone was friendly. We would definitely camp here again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals