Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We will definitely come back "glamping" again. Thanks for making our stay relaxing.
Aug 25, 2017
This was our first time staying here since it switched from Maddox to KOA and we were not disappointed!! The new bathhouses were very nice and always clean. Staff were very friendly and very knowledgeable about the events going on in the area. (We stayed during the eclipse.) Only complaint is it was not clear on the website or in my confirmation email about what time check-in was.
Aug 24, 2017
Very nice location and campground. Would have no problem camping there again. Will be booking a premium site next time due to the size of my camper and the proximity of the trees. It was a little difficult maneuvering my 5th wheel out of the site when we left.
Aug 24, 2017
Staff are fantastic. Near all the cool stuff!! Grounds level! wifi good! Standing water around the campground, not fun! Mosquito bites abound!! Through my clothing, with bug spray on!!!
Aug 24, 2017
We love it here at Maddox and can't wait to use kayak launch.
Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly, helpful staff. Loved that a shuttle was available to take around town...the driver was fantastic! Bathrooms were clean and modern...loved the music. Although I stayed in an RV, the bright, colorful cabins were nice to look at. Insect spraying every evening was helpful. Will definitely come back on my next trip to Chincoteague.
Aug 24, 2017
Staff was very friendly. The bathroom near our site was not working and we were given a golf cart for the weekend that made life much easier. The sites were a nice size. The bathrooms were clean and modern. A very nice stay.
Aug 23, 2017
Very clean and the staff was very friendly. The closest bathroom was closed the majority of the time so I had to ride my bike to the next bathroom which was kind of inconvenient. But otherwise the campground seem very well run and the kids had a great time!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Nice improvements our only concern is that next year with the water park going in, it will be a zoo.
Aug 23, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, beautiful views. Our only complaint would be that the kayak launch is only usable at peak high tide so plan a short paddle or one long enough to return on next peak high tide. My wife suggest a better launch platform from the dock.
Aug 23, 2017
Muy lindos dias pasamos en Chincotague volveremos.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was perfect bathrooms were exceptional and staff was friendly and excellent. Highly recommend this KOA it rocks!
Aug 23, 2017
The bathroom area near our site, pad 73, was twice locked out due to sewage overload. While they looked well maintained and clean inside, the sewage overload was surprising. Also, the site had a LOT of standing water, before, and after the rain. As a mosquito haven, this was a tad worrying. The pool and playgrounds are terrific, and the staff are very nice!
Aug 23, 2017
We had to clean up the site before we could make camp because there was trash everywhere and a large smelly bag of trash just sitting there when we arrived. I told a koa worker but no one ever came take care of it so we did it ourselves. Told lady at the desk and she said I wish you'd have told us, umm I did so... also no quiet hour enforcement (dog barking and loud generator running all night).
Aug 22, 2017
Park is still under construction, but a lot of really nice things have already been done. Kamping Cabins are really nice and bath houses are very luxurious! Each site still needs cable TV and concrete pads.
Aug 22, 2017
Relaxing and enjoyable. Nice Koa.
Aug 22, 2017
We overall had a great stay, but the mosquitoes were awful. You could not have breakfast, lunch or dinner outside without getting bit by tons of them. I understand that is outside of the koa's ability, but I would not go back this time of the year again. Also cleaning of bathhouses should be done prior to the morning and not during the morning rush hour (9-10ish).
Aug 22, 2017
Very nice campground. Clean restrooms and a great campstore. We did have a issue with the water pressure and the circuit breaker is underrated. All the staff we came across were very pleasant. We will be back.
Aug 22, 2017
I am not happy at all. Very disappointed because the key wasn't available when I checked in. The cabin is not what I expected to be. Very expensive and not even letting me stay even just for another hour. They want me to check out on the dot whereas I arrived late night already and everything wasn't prepared. Very unorganized.
Aug 22, 2017
The only downside is the mosquitoes. Other than that had a good time.
Aug 22, 2017
The camping site was good. Accessible to the stores, to the beach, and to the churches. The bathrooms were new and clean. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating.
Aug 22, 2017
The bathroom closet to my camper was closed for 2 day. I thought it was a little pricey to stay here compared to other campgrounds close to the ocean that I have stayed.
Aug 22, 2017
We loved Chincoteague Island and the campground staff was professional and helpful. The site was clean and the location to town was a bonus. The negative thing that happened was with other campers and the loud music and karaoke machine was too much.
Aug 22, 2017
Decent stay. The staff was great and cheerful (always appreciated personally).As many others have stated the sites are SMALL and very CLOSE TOGETHER. Bathrooms were great, clean and new. Pool was small and kinda old TBH.The mosquitoes were awful just like everyone said, but I came into it knowing that and sprayed often, so it was somewhat bearable. Hope to be back after the water park gets built!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Very nice, great weather and the staff were all great, very friendly! We will be back.
Aug 22, 2017
Everything was perfect except for last night when group of youngsters did not respect quiet hours and partied loudly till 1:30 AM. No reaction from camp management.
Aug 22, 2017
Loved the campground andies. Friendly staff. Clean bathrooms! Weren't too happy about neighbors showing up at 12:30 am and setting up camp until 2 am without regard for anyone else (noisy). It was alarming to see a bug sprayer driving through the campground during breakfast. We would have left the campground for a while if we'd had warning. Overall, we enjoyed our experience.
Aug 21, 2017
Too many people in tents multiple sites had 6 tents on it need to check car tags better.Losing money on these sites.Need more activities for kids.Food cart needs to be open longer.Map showed tiki bar when asked abt it was told not open until 2018.Deck for kayaking needs to be extended with more steps or ramp to unload.Should offer breakfast on certain days and ice cream.Need schedule for trolley
Aug 21, 2017
LOVED our stay at KOA Chincoteague, we stayed here years ago when it was Maddox Family campground. the bath houses are so clean and well maintained - except the one closest to our site being closed on and off through out the 18th and 19th which was annoying - notifying campers of the issue would make it less so! pool is so nice except needs larger deck area. LOVE the dock area also.
Aug 21, 2017
When we booked we were given a site number, however when we arrived that was completely different. We started setting up our camp site and we had no electric. They were unable to fix it so we had to be moved to a different site. Never asked me if I had a preference just told me what site to move to. We ended up across from several tent sites. Not our first choice for sure.Mosquitoes were terrible.
Aug 21, 2017
The staff were great. Has a great time. But the magueiteos were very bad causing us to leave a day early.
Aug 21, 2017
Great. Should have mosquito sprayed more. Need better activities that are fun for early teenagers
Aug 21, 2017
The campground needs a road for each site. That means gravel for your car or truck and a pad for your trailer. It is a muddy mess when it rains..SOME OF THE SITES UNDER WATER.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
First let me say that the campsite and the pool were very nice. I feel you could use more umbrellas I was not happy with our neighbors loud music being played at 6:00 in the morning or during our family time. We try to respect the other campers and to follow the rules of any campground that we stay at. Maybe the rules should be told to campers as they check in. Bathrooms could be cleaned more.
Aug 21, 2017
The staff was very professional and quick to resolve any issues that you may have had. This KOA had more tent sites then most. They were very limited to A class motor coaches. The only real concern we had was the speed in which vehicles were traveling thru the camp sites. The were a lot of small children riding bikes and moving around. On the positive side, very family friendly.
Aug 21, 2017
I've stayed at a couple other KOAs and we've always enjoyed our stay. This KOA was set up poorly in my opinion. There was almost no distinction between the different tent sites, to the point that our tent was literally almost on top of the tent for the site behind us. Plus, there were only 3 bath houses and one was out of order the entire weekend meaning the other 2 were crowded and dirty.
Aug 21, 2017
a guy directed us to our site, fine. The hookups were easy, yep. But the management was poor. One of the bathhouses crashed out, not so bad, stuff happens but where they fell really short was servicing the over used other bathrooms, filthy, out of paper products, slow to responds. Wouldn't it be nice to have a person riding around just asking how people were, if they needed anything etc.
Aug 21, 2017
My husband and I had a quiet stay in the back in RV sites. Everything was clean and tidy. Love the new kayak pier for access right from the campground. Only issue was bath houses were quite full over the weekend with all the tent campers. May want to consider another one!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Your campground is good but our trip was kinda ruined as you camp host guided us into our camping site #525 - Camp host showed us to our site on a golf cart. He had turn wide around a tree which I did and the R/rear of my class A scraped a tree on the passenger side. Had the camp host got off his (_ ss) golf cart to guide us into our site he would have seen that we were going to scrape the tree.
Aug 21, 2017
Love the shuttle and games for children
Aug 21, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. We haven't been happy at previous KOAs where we have stayed, but this one was great.
Aug 21, 2017
It is always great. It is nice that put up Tent only signs in primitive camping. The shower I used was clogged and full of hair but that is to be expected sometimes. Still our favorite place to stay. Mosquitoes and all...LOL
Aug 20, 2017
Wish we had more time to take advantage of ceverything. We've been going to Chincoteague for 45 years and have stayed many places. Everyone loved the bath houses! The new deluxe cabin was a fun stay with comfy beds.
Aug 20, 2017
The only bad thing was the mosquitoes
Aug 20, 2017
Great friendly and helpful staff, special mention for Bob who guided us to our site. Pool a bit small for size of campground and lacked shade except for two umbrellas, temperature however was refreshing.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals