Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2018
Cada vez lo disfrutamos, los niños, nunca se quiere ir. A casa . Una sugerencia , un baño cerca de el area de no agua , no electricidad , , todo lo demas , muy hermoso
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
Our stay was wonderful.
May 30, 2018
This was my first time at a KOA but for the price it was VERY crowded and the pool was small. I would have liked to have felt that I was more at one with nature. Otherwise the facilities were clean and the staff polite.
May 30, 2018
Awesome camp ground. Check in was only 5 mins. It’s clean and the bathroom is everywhere. Also the bathroom is super clean and have AC too
May 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much but were surprised not to have easy access to a water supply for our stay. Like many tent campers ( and there were LOTS, which was great to see) we do lots of cooking & at the absolute minimum could have done with a sink so we could wash dishes etc. There was also no table at our site, which is generally a ‘given’ at KOA campsites. Regardless, we had a great time
May 29, 2018
Very disappointed in our stay. The lots were too small. The price was very high and we didn't even have cable hookup. People kept walking through our site to get to the bathhouse and then would get angry with us because our dogs were out on their leads on our lot! I will never return
May 29, 2018
This was our second stay at this KOA. The staff is always so friendly and both times we have stayed here it has been amazing. Great sites and nice neighbors and kids friendly. I highly recommend this KOA! Cant wait to go back next year!
May 29, 2018
We were on site 242, there is a 4 inch raised, approximately 5 x 6 concrete sewer holding tank on that site.It was quite a hindrance to our outdoor set. It was a bit challenging in positioning our camper with our slides as well as having room for our truck. That site should not be booked at all!!! Our grass had not been cut either! Not impressed considering the nightly expense! We won’t return.
May 29, 2018
Nice campground, great bathrooms, perfect location
May 29, 2018
Yes it was a holiday weekend, yes they were about 95% full, and it did thunder storm 2 nights out of the 4 that we stayed, but for some reason they couldn't keep the bathroons clean. Our site was next to 1 of the 4 bath/shower buildings and I watched the people spend only about 10 minutes when they went in to clean. This was the first time at this KOA, but I have stayed at other KOA's
May 29, 2018
The rates for the weekend were high. The grass could have been cut and they should have sprayed for mosquitoes due to all the rain.
May 29, 2018
I have been to this campground for the past 10 years. But the worse experience I had has been since KOA purchases. They put us in sites that they knew that the water accumulate it rain both nights we stay. So you can imagine what happened. I asked for sites close to the restroom as we were bringing 15 kids under 14 but they put us the far they could. ������������
May 29, 2018
We had rude neighbors next to us and behind us they were kicking our tent with soccer ball I didnt want to say anything because i didnt want my stuff messed with. But other then that we had fun
May 29, 2018
The site was odd in size/shape. The employees (while there seemed to be a lot) were all driving around in their golf carts, or were busy chatting with one another they didn’t seem very friendly or helpful. The store was nice and had a lot of things to offer campers. The free pool was nice, albeit freezing. Didn’t have the fun camp feel that we’ve come to love. We might try it again in the
May 29, 2018
Your $145 per night charge is way to high. For the site we were on, and the grass not being cut - your rate per night should only be about 60.00!! Your check in process is terrible and no one knew what was going on. I don't have kids, but a pool is something we look forward to and yours is small. The new one would be good but I am not paying to sit by a pool all day. We wont be back.
May 29, 2018
It was fine except the crowded campsite which takes away some enjoyment.
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
Very disappointed. This campground was overcrowded. We were all on top of one another. I felt like I was in a tent city. Of all the KOA campgrounds I've been to, this is the only time I've ever felt the need to complain. I'm 39 years old, I've grown up camping at KOA and now traveling with my own child. This the first time I've been disappointed by my experience with KOA.
May 29, 2018
There should be a larger shelf in each shower area to set your shower products on. Also, the shower houses should be cleaned more often.
May 29, 2018
You need more marked paths so that people in tents can more easily walk to the bathroom without walking through RV campsites (some of these people are very territorial)
May 28, 2018
Rained, but got to see rocket launch and park. We stayed in RV, but relatives stayed in cabin. Cabins are very comfortable.
May 28, 2018
I paid $25 for early check in but I had no idea there was a check in time and a few for checking in early. I was very upset that no one ever told me about this when I made a reservation. I was also told, during my reservation, that one car only per site was policy and that was a huge inconvenience for us. When I arrived I was told that was not true and I can have 2 cars. I was pissed.
May 28, 2018
Very expensive
May 28, 2018
May 27, 2018
May 26, 2018
The campground is amazing with new amenities and super friendly staff. We look forward to many more weekend getaways in the future. Thank you for a wonderful Mother's Day weekend!
May 25, 2018
Campground was nice. Was very quiet when we were there.
May 25, 2018
Although the staff was friendly the site was not as described. A plus is the escort provided after dark and after arriving at the site I had a concern as to the firmness of the site. The escort assured the ground was stable and would support my 45' motor home leveling system even after a weeks worth of rain - it didn't. The camp ground was pretty much under water from al the rain. NO activities
May 24, 2018
Staff was very friendly and accommodating, Bob even helped us set up our campsite. Campgrounds were well maintained and restrooms spotless!
May 24, 2018
May 24, 2018
loved the area....was very clean, spacious , and Very Beautiful. Loved biking to the beach and other areas near by. Was really neat to see the wildlife including seeing the horses, and going to the wildlife refuge and being be able to pick up horseshoe crabs and other sea animals. This was our first time there Thank- you for the Awsome stay. :) take care
May 24, 2018
Very dissatisfied and disappointed. The pools were closed, the sites were literally flooded, our car almost got damaged underneath because of a very deep hole at the exit side of the road, staff were unfriendly, no one offered a ride on their golf carts when they saw my wife can’t even walk towards our site, their website didn’t anything about renovation nor closed pools or flooded sites!
May 23, 2018
Beautiful spot for the campground, friendly and helpful people, great bathhouses and cabins. We'll definitely be back. Many thanks!
May 23, 2018
We didntngetbtonsee much of the island burnt out campground was very nice.
May 23, 2018
Except for the extremely wet conditions, everything and everyone was great.
May 23, 2018
We love coming here. Came down to watch Wallops Island launch, and even though the weather was less than ideal, it's always a relaxing getaway. Great staff, great facilites ... can't wait to come back!
May 22, 2018
We were in site 244 a Deluxe site and it was very nice. We will always stay in this type of site at this campground as heavy rains do not affect the site. We could use the patio at all times! Our friends stayed in a Deluxe cabin, also excellent!
May 22, 2018
We love this KOA, staff is always friendly and helpful and the grounds are always clean.
May 22, 2018
We LOVED it ! Can't wait to go back when the swim park is up and running .
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
Many of the sites had standing water, and all were very muddy, due to the record seek of rain. That reduced our stay to one night only.
May 22, 2018
Watched a rocket launch right from my camp sight. Everything was perfect and the staff were very friendly and always available.
May 21, 2018
Had a great stay despite the weather but the staff went out of their way to find us dry sites!! Loved the patio sites. Normally we don't get them but they worked real well for us this time!
May 21, 2018
very nice campground, clean, quiet, and I liked that we could walk places. The start of the driveway going in was bad with holes, but I think they are going to be fixing it shortly.
May 21, 2018
It rained ! � staff was very polite �
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals