Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2018
don' like radio playing 24 hrs in bathroom. I camp to get away from constant media. don’t need it in bathrooms. It Should turn off 11p-7a. Air conditioning was to cold in the shower area! Now I know why the price is so high. The water park is rediculously out of place and was barely used . In a beach town, do you really NEED a water park? Ruined the beauty of the view! To expensive for camping.
Aug 24, 2018
Not supper happy with campground. Too crowed, huge pot holes in roads, grass not mowed, water lines on top of ground. Prices way to high for the condition of camp ground. Only good thing is location, and that is what their counting on. I blame KOA for not up holding higher standers of their campgrounds, this is the fourth KOA this year we've stayed at that sucked. KOA is letting us down.
Aug 24, 2018
We loved our stay at your camp ground. The kids stayed busy and the shower house was nice! We stayed in one of the small cottages, only thing I would change is adding a dorm fridge and getting rid of cable tv. We have stayed at many basic cabins but they still had a small fridge included. I was hard to keep food cold and kids away from tv. Thanks
Aug 24, 2018
Only thing that we did not like and would probably keeps us from coming back is the very low water pressure.
Aug 24, 2018
This KOA is a fantastic location to explore Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. We pretty much can ride our bikes anywhere on the island for shopping, dinner or just exploring. The staff was fabulous! Kudos to Bob and Jay for helping us out the first night when our son locked us out of our camper. They went above and beyond to help us out. Maui Jacks was an added bonus too! Definitely coming back
Aug 24, 2018
I used the discounted 30 % off in August, love the price was not happy with the camp site. Pull through had a packed sandy surface and when it rain it was horrible. Area had large puddles in both areas front and back and side of RV . I stayed here in April 2018 and the site was beautiful. Had a shell surface site, the kicker is it was only 5 or 6 sites up in the same row I was in this time.
Aug 23, 2018
We were miss informed about the water park. We were under the impression that it would be included in the cost of staying at the resort. Highly disappointed when we found out it wasn’t. Upon arrival the grass wasn’t cut and wasn’t cut until the 3rd day of staying with you. Upon arrival the bathhouse near us went several days without being cleaned. After a day of rain many sites were under wa
Aug 23, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
STAFF WAS AWESOME, VERY CLEAN
Aug 23, 2018
It was nice to see that KOA kept the charm of the old Maddox campground. However, I will note pros and cons about it. Pros: the bathroom upgrades were nice. Wifi works. The upgraded convenience store and laundry rooms are nice. Cons: Bathrooms were discusting (CLEAN THOSE BATHROOMS MORE OFTEN PLEASE). Only one faucet for 4 campsites, really! $20/25 price jump per campsite isn't worth it. T
Aug 23, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
First time staying at the campground since its a KOA. We camped there many years when it was Maddox. Bath houses are a big improvement except that about half the showers were out of order, seemed like not enough showers for the amount of people in the campground. The price seems quite high too, but I guess that's the way it is for the location .
Aug 22, 2018
Loved everything but the sites were soooo close to one another.
Aug 22, 2018
Nice level spots, full hookups.nice laundry facilities. Activities were fun. Pool is very small. Not much to do except pay for the water park. Staff at checkin seem confused.
Aug 22, 2018
Was my first time there and I felt very welcomed the campsites were nice the only thing I can say is the bathrooms could be a little cleaner other than that excellent I will definitely be back
Aug 22, 2018
Second time camping there but the last time the bathroom was so dirty specially the showers most of the showers out of service and too many mosquitos I would like to come back so I hope you tried to fix some issues
Aug 22, 2018
Very friendly staff, beautiful location. We had a fantastic time. .
Aug 22, 2018
I was a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms. I've been going to this campsite for eighteen years. I know you've only owned it for three of those eighteen, but I feel with ALL the staff you have, it shouldn't be in the condition I found it during our entire stay. Having said that, We are enjoying the UPGRADES to the campground, especially the ssfari tents and the Waterpark.
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
First time campers. KOA was very accommodating and well kept.
Aug 22, 2018
“I wish we could stay here all summer,” said our six year-old daughter on our second to last day. Agree with her. Great shaded sites. Nice pool. Fantastic water park. Close to beautiful beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms could use more regular attention. Would return tomorrow if we could.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
It was great that some of our family who don't have campers could stay near our campsite in the cabins. We also liked the updated bath houses.
Aug 21, 2018
Camp ground and water park was great. If there was any complaint it is that some of the potholes in the park roads could use some attention. The rocking is rough on people with bad backs.
Aug 21, 2018
We reserved a deluxe patio site w/a view of the lighthouse. Our reservation stated we have a 40 foot 5th wheel w/slides. We barely got into the site we were given due to narrow site and trees. We had no view of the lighthouse because there was another row of campers blocking the view. My parents on next site had a large septic tank cover just outside their door. Will stay again but not those sites
Aug 21, 2018
Overall stay was great. Air conditioner cold and efficient. A focus on housekeeping needs to be a priority. Bathroom was spotless, and overall appearance was clean. Unfortunately blankets had dog hair on them and several dishes were not clean.
Aug 21, 2018
The campground was very clean and well organized. New bathroom’s are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe there. It was great to have Maui Jack Waterpark right next door. The discount admission was appreciated too. We will definitely be back again.
Aug 21, 2018
First night was great..neighbors in the campground extremely rude in terms of respect for orthers and noise control.
Aug 21, 2018
We had a great time even though there was a little rain. The water park was a lot of fun and wandering around Chincoteague was really relaxing. I really appreciate the bus driver who gave us a wonderful tour and described a lot of the local history as he drove out to the beach and then around town. We are planning another trip for next year, a little earlier in the summer, (without the rain).
Aug 21, 2018
We loved the fact that this KOA was so close to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only reason we are giving this campsite a 4 and we would stress this fact to anyone who asked, IT WAS VERY OVER CROWDED, very little space between RV's. We had to park one side of our Travel Trailer on our patio in order to be able to extend our slide outs.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Our Safari tent was fun and comfortable for our three day weekend. It was pricey, but we were splurging. Campground was clean, bathrooms modern. My only complaint was that there were four shower stalls in the lady's bathhouse, but two of them were "out of order" leading to long lines at peak times, and making it nearly impossible to keep them clean.
Aug 21, 2018
The location is fantastic and staff was friendly! Our rv site was so small we could barely fit anything other than our rv on it. The showers were filthy. I had to scoop the cat sized hairball out of the one of the two working showers so we could use it. The pool was packed. We left when one of the 50 kids announced they just peed in it. The water park should have been complimentary for rv sites.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Wonderful Job KOA ...... the bathrooms were Very clean..... the campsites are darling with the table and chairs down to the flower pot..... just loved that your taken to your campground..... exspecally when you arrive at night.
Aug 21, 2018
Campground was nice and bathroom was clean when it was. I wish that there was more cleaning service during the day because there were a lot of people on the campground and it doesn’t take long for the restrooms to get dirty again. My kids enjoyed the “clean” bathroom as well. They also enjoyed the Wi-Fi. The downside for me was that our neighbors were too close.
Aug 20, 2018
Need to have traffic directed in only certain directions (i.e., one-way), meeting a small car when trying to leave with a camper sucks. Need to fix the potholes...you have heavy equipment, how long would that take to spread some gravel? Overall, an alright stay....
Aug 20, 2018
We had a great week at this campground. One of the best I have ever stayed at. Really close to the wild horses and we bicycled every day to the horse and the town. Thanks for keeping the ground so clean and the atmosphere great.
Aug 20, 2018
Campground was convenient and close to the ocean, Bathroom out of order showers, caused wait times in the bathrooms
Aug 20, 2018
Campground was great bathroom did not have all showers working ... a bit pricy and too many extra charges for cars and tents etc
Aug 20, 2018
We have stayed at this campground, formerly Maddox, and KOA has greatly improved the conditions of the campground! We were pleasantly pleased! AC addition in the bathroom/bathhouses was amazing! Made showering better. TV's with weather was a great help to plan our day! My only concern was that the handicapped showers weren't available for those who might have needed it. Great stay!
Aug 20, 2018
We had a terrific time, we all loved Maui Jacks. My only concern is no recycling dumpster.
Aug 20, 2018
We had a great time- campground was very clean and the staff was helpful. Enjoyed the pool and water park!!!
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
The bathrooms were awful all weekend!!! I understand you are unstaffed as we were informed at check-in but the bathrooms should be top priority. And the number of showers out of order in EVERY bath house was ridiculous!!! Very disappointed!!! Other than that we moved the Safari tent!
Aug 20, 2018
Clean campground but our site was very tight! Hard to get in and out of - almost impossible. Enjoyed the water park but wish that it was included in the stay for the price we paid.
Aug 20, 2018
The Cabin was great. The bathhouse was filthy most of the time I was there. The location is very convenient to the area and the Waterpark is a lot of fun.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals