Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 19, 2018
It is a nice place, with nice people ! Clean
Jun 19, 2018
Awesome
Jun 19, 2018
Well we pay almost twice as much to Camp there since water park but yet we do not get any discount to go in water park which I don't feel is very right plus I paid for somebody else's site because my name was on the reservation and for some reason instead of when they swipe their card it went on mine which shouldn't happen either
Jun 19, 2018
We are tent campers and enjoy the tent area on the Assateague channel. In the daytime the view is great. However we were disappointed that the lights from the MacDonalds restaurant adjacent to the campsites pollutes the marsh grasses after dark. It would seem that MacDonalds could tone down and redirect the lights so that the marsh view is not spoiled, yet serves their purposes.
Jun 19, 2018
One of our favorite campgrounds! This was our second stay in your campground and it will become an annual summer event for us. Everyone was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our deluxe site was very nice, campground was very clean and we saw lots of great new amenities since our stay last summer. Thanks for a very pleasant stay!
Jun 19, 2018
One thing I loved about this past trip is that there were very few golf carts in the campground this trip! The bathhouses are always spotless and the sites are all very clean. I can not say enough about how friendly the staff was.
Jun 19, 2018
Had a good time with my family here. I also said some extended family members staying the same weekend. Staff made sure to keep us all as close together as they could. It worked out great. The water park was very nice, however the smaller kids section wasn't complete yet. Bummer for my 3 year old. That certainly didn't ruin our weekend though. Overall it was nice and wasn't very crowded.
Jun 19, 2018
It was excellent! Cover in shaded trees was great..you had a little sun but not too much. Not far at all to beach. Bath houses were clean. Staff was polite. Would like to stay again maybe just longer this time!
Jun 19, 2018
Beautiful laid back place
Jun 19, 2018
Nice and clean, very nice staff. The site was a little small.
Jun 19, 2018
We really enjoyed the water park. Always have a good.time
Jun 19, 2018
Campsite 180 was great with two exceptions: the electrical tent thing had a big hole in the plexiglass and there is a mercury vapor light overhead which was kind of annoying until it was turned off around 1030pm. The tent site also could use some leveling. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and plan to come back! We were really impressed with the mosquito spraying--it kept the bugs down. Impressive!!!
Jun 19, 2018
Went with my 3 and 6 year old. We had a great time. They even adopted the couple in the next campsite as another set of grand parents. Alot of work has been done and still is being done to improve the campground from its previous state. Facilities are all upgraded .
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Fantastic! I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the staff was very friendly!
Jun 18, 2018
We enjoyed our stay BUT the prices have risen significantly since last year. I was shocked that it was almost $120 a night! We have been to many great places for half the price of this site.
Jun 18, 2018
There was a lot of rain during our stay and our site like many others were in low areas and didn't drain properly. The site was all sand with no gravel which made for a mess. Water pooled up on our site for 3 days. To the credit of the staff we were issued a partial refund for our troubles. The only resources maintenance could provide were pallets for a deck (safety concern). Friendly staff!
Jun 18, 2018
Our family loved our stay at the Chincoteague KOA! Great atmosphere and convenient location.
Jun 18, 2018
We had a very great time. We have stayed at this campground for 25 years (prior to KOA it was Maddox family campground) and the only issues I have is the constant extra charges for additional people and vehicles. We were there a total of 9 days...very costly considering we have 4 kids and now find out with this trip a max of 6/campsite. Great that they have updated bathrooms and office.
Jun 18, 2018
Accommodating. Responsive. Top campground we have stayed at. Impressed with the bug sprayer truck going around to minimize bugs. Bathrooms were extremely clean with many locations. Great location to Asseteque Island.
Jun 18, 2018
Stayed at this location for many years,including your first one as owners.The upgrades to the main building and bath houses were needed and done nicely.I also like the cabins, but think the fancy tents are too much.You should have worked on the roads before sinking money into those.The laundry rooms are awful with those wifi cc card readers.Don't go too commercial and loose the family feel.
Jun 18, 2018
Contruction during our stay during the second week in June was not what I would expect. Trenching for cable in our site during our stay was unacceptable. That and safari tent construction should have been an off season project. Laundry equipment wouldn't accept credit cards and was told to contact vendor also not the customer service we expect. 12 years of visiting and not sure we will go back.
Jun 18, 2018
Great time, enjoyed the beach. Water park was pricey for not being completed
Jun 18, 2018
even though our space was changed due to excessive water we were still in a muddy soggy lot and there were many empty spaces. other wise it was okay.but did nt feel it was a value even with a coupon. your web page states alot different price maybe you should update
Jun 18, 2018
We stayed in a Deluxe Cabin for the 3rd time. The cabin was great - the linen package provided was new to us and a great addition. Our only complaint was the men's bath house was not clean and that was extremely disappointing because it has always been very clean. We will definitely stay again!
Jun 18, 2018
The campground was great. Friendly atmosphere. The bathrooms got a major upgrade since the previous years. I believe the bathrooms made a huge improvement to the camp grounds
Jun 18, 2018
We only stayed one night but found the staff very helpful. The campsite was very clean and we enjoyed our brief stay at your facility.
Jun 18, 2018
Enjoyed the campground although we were very busy sightseeing and never got to the pool. Water park looked great. We didn’t get a chance to visit. I asked if it was available to camper free. First they said yes. I wanted to make sure when we left and then try said it changed and you would have to pay. I was wondering if those who stayed at the campground got a discount
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
The bathroom were so clean and nice. Also, would be nice to put out a recycle bin for plastic, cans, cardboards and glass for people that recycle stuff. Also, thank for rescue our dogs when they decided to run off after pulling the lease and we didn't know. Our dogs love the campground as well. will be back next year for sure. Another option for pool: could have like one hours adult swim
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Wonderful campground. Super clean. Excellent bathrooms. Amazing water park. We loved it!!!
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Fantastic restroom showers. Site was less than expected
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
We had a fantastic time at Chicoteague Island! The staff were polite and genuinely happy and positive to help us. We will be coming back very soon!
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Beautiful campground, clean sites and restrooms with super friendly staff.The tour trolly was great, very friendly knowlegable driver.. nice to include in our stay Looking forward to our next stay!
Jun 18, 2018
Nice campground, I thought the shuttle was awesome. Good facilities.
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 15, 2018
We never saw the ponies out on Assateague but the KOA itself was quite wonderful and convenient to move around the island and get to everything. Already planning a return!
Jun 15, 2018
Jun 15, 2018
Really liked the campground. Staff was friendly. Bathhouses were clean. The one issue we had was security did not enforce quiet time. The first night we called security two times but he did not quiet things down. We only got 3 hours of sleep. The second night had to call security again but this time he did get things quiet. Would have been nice if they would enforce it before someone complained.
Jun 14, 2018
I find my new little piece of heaven
Jun 14, 2018
Great campground. Loved the location. Sites spacious and level. Free trolley was a bonus and the driver was fantastic. Gave us a great tour around the islands. Water park was fun and a great way to cool off.
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
This was our first experience at a campground and we are pleased to say it was very positive. We hope to come back again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals