Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2017
Great location! Very enjoyable, playground for the kids, very clean and we'll kept.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
We had a wonderful site. Also a very clean campground. Staff is very nice.
Sep 06, 2017
STAFF IS VERY FREINDLY AND ALWAYS ACOMMIDATING...VERY CLEAN FACILITIES, CLOSE TO ALL ATTRACTIONS AND THE BEACH,SECURE FACILITY, STAFF CHECKS CAMP SITES AT NIGHT ,,,LIKE THAT THEY DRIVE AROUND TO KEEP THINGS CLEAN AND TIDY....A MUST STAY CAMPING RESORT....
Sep 06, 2017
This was our first camping trip as a family. Our 5 year old son had a blast as well as my wife and me. The first night (Saturday) was loud after quiet time but the loud voices didn't last much past 11:20. I expected some loud voices, especially on a Saturday night. The second night, nearly everyone had left, and it was a great, quiet night. We were conveniently located between 2 bathhouses.
Sep 06, 2017
Neighbor was parked over into my space (his trailer was stored there and placed by staff). My other neighbor allowed me to move into his space a bit so I could open my awning. This left me far enough from water that I had to purcha$e a hose from the store. Had no fire ring or picnic table. Had to ask 3 times, took longer than 24 hrs - missed 2 dinners. Had to cook hot dogs inside, while camping!
Sep 06, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much, my wife even commented that this national park was just the right size for her. This was a great area, safe and quiet. It had that small town feel and just enough shops to cover what came up. Check out the Island Cremary, it was amazing!
Sep 06, 2017
We thought the campground had a excellent view of the lighthouse. Bath houses are new and kept very clean. The kids liked the dock and playground. We had a great time and we will be back
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
I've stayed with KOA a few times love you guys, really clean bathrooms/store/cabins/you name it, staff is always a pleasure to deal with but unfortunately this last visit was not like the rest, the RV spot (32) that we had was pretty small, flooded out (not your fault) and the site was full of broken glass!
Sep 05, 2017
We love this place. Very close to the beach.
Sep 05, 2017
Just a couple things, we were a group of 6 all staying in the same row same type of site and we were all charged different prices per night. I believe there should be a set price for type of site and time of year. Nobody could really tell us why that was.
Sep 05, 2017
I was leary when I made the reservation to stay. The previous KOA we stayed at in Hagerstown ( which was our first KOA experience) was not what we had expected. Chincoteague KOA was amazing. Everyone was friendly and very professional. We will be back next year for sure!
Sep 05, 2017
The campground seemed to be well maintained and the staff was extremely nice. We had a pull-thru spot near the tent area that had adequate space once we were in it. Only suggestion I would have is in regards to the motorized scooters/bikes. Some were racing up and down the rows and could have hit someone. They also had loud music on up until 1am. Better enforcement of quiet time & policies please.
Sep 05, 2017
Campground was very crowded, knowing it was a holiday weekend that's expected. Staff was great and helpful, the bathhouse were clean and very nice to have close. The only complaint I have is people walking through sites instead of around to get places. Most of them didn't speak English so they ignored you when you spoke to them. Other that that it was a great weekend and we'll be back.
Sep 05, 2017
We learned this campsite was taken over by KOA a year ago, and since then overall cleanliness (including the bathrooms) has improved. We really liked our deluxe tent site and the diverse staff is very friendly. We were disappointed in the activities for children;staff ran out of materials, events started early&lasted 5 minutes & not enough organized, fun stuff for kids planned Labor Day Weekend
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great stay! Bathrooms were very clean and it was a great location.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Very clean campground; Loved the amenities; Was our first time visiting and plan to come back at least annually.
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Loved the new shower houses!!! We rented camping lot 174 with electric and water. The lots need to be more clearly marked, People seem to be unsure of where their lot starts and ends.In order to use the water/electric for our site we had to walk through the other campers site as they had their camper parked right next to the electric and water. The grass also needed to be cut where our tent was!
Sep 05, 2017
First trip with our new camper (ever) and it was perfect. Despite being a very busy holiday weekend, out site was roomy, staff was overall friendly and helpful, and the grounds were clean. Only suggestion would be for the activities center staff...they could be a little more engaging with the kids.
Sep 05, 2017
Too crowded and too many children running all over the place. Not for us
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Just finding out that all rates were different. Had to pay an extra $24 for bringing another kid with me (and they didn't even get to jump on the pillow on Saturday). Some tent campers were rude and walked through "our yard" all weekend and they let little kids drive the golf carts. They almost hit my truck at one point. Scooters shouldn't be allowed inside campground.
Sep 05, 2017
I had a blast!!
Sep 05, 2017
Nice campground facilities and grounds but staff and entertainment needs a lot of work also a lot of safety and wildlife protection that needs work. Crabs being caught not legally and the gate guard is also supposed to be the bounce pillow monitor also my first site got taken up by half a walk up reservation RV.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
we stayed in the new cabins over the long weekend. It was great, it had a kitchen, bathroom, comfortable beds, table, fire pit screened in porch which came in handy when the mosquitos came out. We usually camp in tents but this time my son wanted to check out the cabins, thank goodness because it poured Friday night and setting a tent up in the rain stinks.
Sep 05, 2017
big mix up with surrounding lots as to not having 50 amp electric. site was all mud no grass. put a huge group of hispanics adjacent to our site that ran a generator until 11pm every night. bathrooms were constantly dirty. plenty of open spots to spread campers out.
Sep 05, 2017
Great stay. Lots of rain and lots of standing water on a lot of campsites nowhere for it to drain..... But a awesome stay. Camp store had everything you needed if you forgot anything. Wasn't ready to go home!
Sep 05, 2017
Love the camp site! Very family friendly! Will come back and recommend to my friends.
Sep 05, 2017
Upon arrival we were placed in a 30 amp spot, although, we needed & paid for 50 amp. The guy who helped us was so nice and although it was raining and cold he took the time and moved us for just the night. In the morning we had to move again but they worked with us & we began enjoying our weekend away! Everyone was very nice!
Sep 05, 2017
Great KOA with lots of stuff to do.
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was great! You guys thought of everything. We had everything we needed, the facilities were clean and easily accessible and everyone was super friendly. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was kept up very nice. The bathrooms were immaculate. We were really impressed.
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was very helpful!
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Staff were friendly and quick at check in. Facilities are nice and new. Disappointed in the site. Was muddy with no gravel. Maybe I missed it, but I don't recall the description saying it was a dirt site. Other campers were loud riding around blaring music on golf carts and carrying on late into the night. Does not seem like there is much enforcement of rules.
Sep 04, 2017
Pleasant staff, relaxing environment, renovations are great
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
We loved the campground. Everyone was so nice, professional, and helpful. The bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen. We had a great time in town and on the island. We will definitely come back again and have recommended this KOA campground to our friends.
Sep 02, 2017
We had a wonderful time! Campsite was great! Definitely will recommend!
Sep 02, 2017
We came in on Monday it rained on Tuesday it was an experience for my family with the weather. All in all we had a great vacation. The staff was great. And bathrooms were very clean. We will be back again. The Anglemyers
Sep 02, 2017
Wish it had been a more peaceful camping trip. It was very loud all night long. Staff didn't seem to care about anything- at all. It was our second stay there and it's not a place we will go back to.
Sep 02, 2017
Everything was Great. I will be back
Sep 01, 2017
Clean facility , staff friendly and knowledgeable . Tropical depression came thru left the campgrounds under water.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals