Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2018
It is a nice KOA and I would love to stay there again.
Aug 27, 2018
Very good location.
Aug 27, 2018
They gave us the wrong cabin and we had to go out and buy a air cushion for someone to sleep on. I booked a cabin that slept 7 people and they gave us on that was for 6 people that was for a handicap person. The manage Neil said that I must have booked the wrong cabin online. We found the papers that show what I booked and we went to the office and showed him and said that he was not very nice.
Aug 27, 2018
We loved our premium site here at the Chincoteague KOA! They really delivered. Everything and everyone we came in contact with was top notch! It was the little things that impressed us as well. Beautiful plant on our concrete pad with a working chimnea and the awesome furniture. We also had a killer view of the Assateague Light. The weather was PERFECT! KOA you really delivered! Thanks!
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
This was our first time visiting this KOA and it was amazing. We will definitely be coming back. Only thing we didn't like was that on our day of checking out there was no hot water to shower or wash the dishes.
Aug 27, 2018
Loved the water park and the beach
Aug 27, 2018
Enjoyed our stay, it was easy to set up. Only thing I would like to see is a Channel guide for TV channels. Also the roads other than the main road were hard for my grandchildren to ride their bikes with training wheels on. Will definitely come back.
Aug 27, 2018
Can't recommend this KOA enough. We spent four nights in a bungalow. Everything here is very new including the water park. Great place to relax after a day at the beach. Bathrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Walking distance to great seafood too. The store has basics and ice cream which my kids appreciated.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Enjoyed
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Very enjoyable... Staff very friendly and campground well maintained! Lots of activities for the young and older individuals!! Would definitely recommend this to everyone as a wonderful vacation spot!!!
Aug 27, 2018
It was a great, relaxing time! We stayed in an island bungalow, and the only thing I would change is adding a curtain to the front door so getting changed is easier. Everything else was awesome!
Aug 27, 2018
Very grateful that we were able to get a spot the very last minute. Some of the bathroom were not clean. Our fire pit was not clean when we arrived. Other then that we did have a great time. Staff was very helpful and nice to us.
Aug 27, 2018
Great place
Aug 27, 2018
The campground was great, good location and amenities! But the island itself was kinda run down
Aug 27, 2018
We had a great time, friendly staff, sites were a little small and crowded, lots of stuff to do for the kids, water park was great,my only issue was that quiet time needs to be better enforced (very noisy) after hours....
Aug 27, 2018
The stay was awesome the staff was great the campground was beautiful loved everything especially the water park see you again soon
Aug 27, 2018
Chincoteague KOA is not a RESORT...it is at best a Holiday in a resort town. Site was $130.00 / night. No pad, old picnic table and just dirt and pine needles with a ton of cigarette butts mixed in. Many seasonal campers leading to a sloppy look throughout the campground. Maui Jacks was extra, but what I didn't like is that KOA's featured this on their web page like it was included. 45' MH.
Aug 27, 2018
Very friendly staff and beautiful campground. Will stay here again.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
The bathhouses were not clean and crowded. 2 out of 4 showers down in one and 1 out of 4 down in the other. The restrooms were not clean at all. I called the number on the inside of the restroom and was told they were aware and housekeeping would get them in the morning. It would be nice if someone worked after hours to check out the scene. I have stayed at other KOA's that had 12 stalls so 4 was
Aug 27, 2018
We weren't sure whether or not to go... Is expensive for a piece of grass to set our own tent on with no hookups... But we had a blast... And was a very enjoyable weekend
Aug 26, 2018
Great amenities, friendly staff, and the location on the island is perfect.
Aug 26, 2018
We had a wonderful time! Our 6 year old asked if we could stay for 100 days :)
Aug 26, 2018
We have a seasonal site there,it's our first year there and it has continued to improve,however Kim Wooten is awesome,she does her job very well and I hope she is compensated for it to,Great help is very hard to find and she made us feel more than welcome and getting us situated.She really was a big help to my wife and I.
Aug 26, 2018
Very clean nice cabin. Good activities for the kids
Aug 26, 2018
I wish the security was more closely monitored. I also wish that quiet hours were more strictly enforced. The group that came at the end of the week had a ton of people and had zero regard for rules. Loud conversations outside until 12:15 and some were out making noise starting at 5:30. Ridiculous. And the bathrooms by where we checked in were always filthy.
Aug 26, 2018
When I checked in I was promptly informed that there would be a $15.00 early arrival fee but it was waived. I was taken aback by this as there is nothing that I saw regarding this policy. Can assure you I won't arrive before 2 pm. Also site 254 is not big enough for a truck and 26 ft trailer. Had to park behind my rig and out of sight. Roads are horrible with holes. For the price ....
Aug 26, 2018
Aug 26, 2018
This was a girls getaway and we had an amazing 3 days! Our safari tent was so much more than we could have imagined, plenty of room and everything we needed. We enjoyed the water park and pool was really nice too! I do have to comment on the bathrooms though, they were pretty gross. But the campground was full and the one we used was by a very large tent group. Overall, we have no complaints!
Aug 26, 2018
Most of the amenities were wonderful. There could have been more activities for multiple rainy days. My son was disappointed that there was no good fishing on the campground. He was pleased with the toads and crabs:). The water park was a nice addition. Just big enough for the younger kids. Loved the bouncy pillow as well. Cabin nice and clean. Thank you.
Aug 26, 2018
We had a great time at both the island and the campground-so much that we are more likely to stay at KOA than a hotel next time we visit the island (we spent half our time at KOA and half at the hotel this time). One concern was that we were charged $15 to check in at 12:30 pm based on the fact that we are paying for "longer time" at the site. An hour and a half? This policy is not fair to camper.
Aug 26, 2018
Great location! Off season would probably have been more enjoyable. Sites are too close together. The site next to us was empty - thank goodness- as there was not enough space as it was. The sewer line at that empty space was seeping raw sewage. I became ill the day we left. The women's bathroom was very nice and clean. The men's had no hot water for the two days we were there.
Aug 25, 2018
We have been coming to Maddox for 25 years. We stayed at KOA last year when you took it over. We were pleased with the new bathrooms and the rates. We were shocked this year when with the KOA discount we paid around $115 a night. We are seniors on fixed incomes and camp to save money. Unfortunately we will need to camp somewhere else next year with cheaper prices unless you change your rates.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 25, 2018
The people that work at the campground couldn’t be nicer and are vey helpfull
Aug 25, 2018
Online it said BRING LINENS. But no blankets were provided. Your employee said linens means blankets and pillows. THAT IS NOT ACCURATE. Linens are: cloth woven from flax. garments or other household articles such as sheets made, or originally made, of linen. For 150$ per night, and in this case the customer was right.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 24, 2018
don' like radio playing 24 hrs in bathroom. I camp to get away from constant media. don’t need it in bathrooms. It Should turn off 11p-7a. Air conditioning was to cold in the shower area! Now I know why the price is so high. The water park is rediculously out of place and was barely used . In a beach town, do you really NEED a water park? Ruined the beauty of the view! To expensive for camping.
Aug 24, 2018
Not supper happy with campground. Too crowed, huge pot holes in roads, grass not mowed, water lines on top of ground. Prices way to high for the condition of camp ground. Only good thing is location, and that is what their counting on. I blame KOA for not up holding higher standers of their campgrounds, this is the fourth KOA this year we've stayed at that sucked. KOA is letting us down.
Aug 24, 2018
We loved our stay at your camp ground. The kids stayed busy and the shower house was nice! We stayed in one of the small cottages, only thing I would change is adding a dorm fridge and getting rid of cable tv. We have stayed at many basic cabins but they still had a small fridge included. I was hard to keep food cold and kids away from tv. Thanks
Aug 24, 2018
Only thing that we did not like and would probably keeps us from coming back is the very low water pressure.
Aug 24, 2018
This KOA is a fantastic location to explore Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. We pretty much can ride our bikes anywhere on the island for shopping, dinner or just exploring. The staff was fabulous! Kudos to Bob and Jay for helping us out the first night when our son locked us out of our camper. They went above and beyond to help us out. Maui Jacks was an added bonus too! Definitely coming back
Aug 24, 2018
I used the discounted 30 % off in August, love the price was not happy with the camp site. Pull through had a packed sandy surface and when it rain it was horrible. Area had large puddles in both areas front and back and side of RV . I stayed here in April 2018 and the site was beautiful. Had a shell surface site, the kicker is it was only 5 or 6 sites up in the same row I was in this time.
Aug 23, 2018
We were miss informed about the water park. We were under the impression that it would be included in the cost of staying at the resort. Highly disappointed when we found out it wasn’t. Upon arrival the grass wasn’t cut and wasn’t cut until the 3rd day of staying with you. Upon arrival the bathhouse near us went several days without being cleaned. After a day of rain many sites were under wa
Aug 23, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
STAFF WAS AWESOME, VERY CLEAN
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals