Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2017
Deluxe patio sites are nothing like the picture shown and there is no charcoal grill. The patios are nice but quite a bit smaller, use your own pictures. Great to spray for bugs, but let people know in advance! Everything else was 5 star. Beautiful location, great bathrooms, friendly staff. If you are traveling with your dog, know that the beach 2 miles from the campground is not dog friendly.
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff!! Clean pool and area. The only negative is the mosquitos, but no fault of KOA. There was a spraying truck that came through the park. If you come bring lots of spray. There is a little restaurant close by that has an excellent menu and free delivery to your site. Ask at check in and you will receive a menu. Nice area to walk and overlook the marsh.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Wonderful facilities, Very courteous staff, well-planned activities. Good Lord Willing we will be be back next year. Keep up the good work.
Sep 14, 2017
Loved the tiki band on Saturday night. Campground very clean. Staff very helpful. Went kayaking 3 days and bicycling one day. We'll be back ! Thank you.
Sep 14, 2017
Love the campground. Don't like both times we stayed there cable did not work. We did not complain the first visit in June. This last visit we told office staff, they sent an employee on a golf cart who never got off his golf cart to look at the cable. He stated "yep, some camp sites are having problems with their cable, we will put this site on the list to have checked".
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
The cottages are so lovely ~ It was our home away from home. Hope to come back again next year.
Sep 13, 2017
Campground was nice however I hope you create more deluxe sites. Mosquitos were bad. Wayne and Bob were very friendly. The two who rode a golf cart together were not friendly at all and did nothing that I could see. Waste of $$. Bob knows who I mean. Overall a 7 out of 10. 9/11 program was very nice.
Sep 13, 2017
The campground is basically ok but the grounds people didn't spend a lot of time working. Lack of cable (it's the 21st century, get with it) put a damper on things mainly because the bugs were so bad you couldn't sit outside.
Sep 13, 2017
Had a great time keep making improvements
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Friendly staff. Modern, sparkling clean restroom facilities. Excellent location, close to Assateague, downtown. We used our bicycles almost exclusively including to the beach.
Sep 13, 2017
Restrooms were very clean and numerous. Showers had more room than other campgrounds. Campground is in an ideal place next to islands and shore. Enjoyed our stay here very much, best place we have camped!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
spend 5 nights there was grate
Sep 12, 2017
Site 7 swamped during a rainstorm, I had a feeling that this koa new this site flooded when it rained, just totally dissatisfied with them, what a disappointment!!!
Sep 11, 2017
aside from the puddles after the rain, we had a lovely time. Really enjoy the new dock, especially for morning coffee. Bath houses are so nice and comfortable, showers plenty of hot water. Could use a little shelf next to utility sinks outside where we do dishes.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
First visit to Chincoteague Island, my husband and I can't wait to come back! Cabins and bathhouse were amazingly clean. Only one negative was that we had to rent linens, however I understand that is changing for the 2018 season. We loved the KOA, good location, great people and fun activities.
Sep 11, 2017
We have been coming to this campground for over 20 years. It is really nice to see all of the changes make to make it a KOA
Sep 11, 2017
I'd heard good things about the Maddox Family Campground, but I believe that KOA has made several major improvements. The bathhouses were very clean and well-equipped. Our request for a site close to one due to a medical issue was graciously fulfilled. Suggestions: dim bathhouse outdoor lights overnight; bathhouse music was loud; extend quiet hours from 10PM-8AM. We plan to return! Thanks!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a great weekend the weather was great. As always the Campground was clean and all the help was very helpful and the Tiki Bar Band was really great. We will be back before the end of this year.
Sep 11, 2017
The campground was flooded when a rain storm came in overnight. The staff Didn't make any attempts to clean up or help campers that were in flooded sites. We arrived in the afternoon of Labor Day and all we heard about from staff is how busy they were and how tired they were. It was our first time to the island so I guess we were disappointed but the lack of enthusiasm.
Sep 11, 2017
We had a blast camping for the first time. The bathrooms were fabulous!! Everything was very neat and clean with very friendly staff. We are definitely planning to go back :)
Sep 11, 2017
Ben in maintence was amazing and caring person , a outstanding employee , he went out of his way to help us when our converter failed us and helped us find someone to help us replace it . Please make sure to recognize him for his caring .
Sep 11, 2017
This was a very clean campground. Nice bathrooms.
Sep 11, 2017
Very nicely renovated.
Sep 11, 2017
We stayed in one of your cabins to celebrate our daughter's 13th birthday and enjoyed our weekend immensely. We especially appreciated the thoughtful birthday gift bucket you all gave her and the beautiful cabin you put us in. It was truly a memorable visit and I'm sure we'll be back. Thanks!âºï¸
Sep 11, 2017
We love this campground and going to Chincoteague. Can't wait for the new water park to open next year!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a wonderful time, facilities were excellent, and the staff was more than accommodating. Thanks.
Sep 10, 2017
Cabin #1 was terrific! Very clean and included a full kitchen. Also, of all the cabins, it looked like had the best location - plenty of space around it and with a great view of the light house. Also, the camp ground sponsored a Sunday service as well as a Tuesday night Bible study and Thursday family movie night - nice extra surprise that was enjoyed by the whole family.
Sep 10, 2017
only thing we did not like were the mosquitos
Sep 10, 2017
except for downpour leaving puddles everywhere specifically outside of the rv door it was good
Sep 10, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 09, 2017
This is one of our favorite camping resorts. Highly recommend.
Sep 09, 2017
We camped on a permanent site for 7 summers w the Maddox family. We like the upgrades! The bath houses are fantastic! Just a few suggestions: fix pot holes, ladder or lower level on pier to ease into kayak, side walks on main entrance into property to keep people from impeding 2 way traffic. We will be back! Thanks!
Sep 09, 2017
Beware! This KOA is fairly typical... children friendly, pet friendly and friendly people. However, they may try to put you at a site where the utilities are on the front side of your unit rather than the back side. Also, several sites flood when it rains. Our site had 5 inches of water all around us at one point. They did put us on a dry spot the next night and credited us one night.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
3 families stayed on our annual outing. All families enjoyed the stay and activities available. Staff was helpful throughout the process from reservation to departure. Restroom are among the BEST at sites which we have stayed over the past 4 years. We will be making a return trip, to much to do and see in the area for only 1 stay!!!
Sep 07, 2017
All the spanish people are thrown in together in one area. This is why they do not assign spots until you get there.
Sep 06, 2017
You need to post your rates, not charge everyone different rates for the same sites. Septic was backing up and out on the ground.Tent campers need not to set up so close to the play area. You need to be better prepared for the activities.
Sep 06, 2017
Clean campground, friendly staff, comfortable surroundings. Communicating about activities needs some improvement. While they provide a schedule there is lack of direction. Selling hot dogs while having a food truck is fine, but not many people saw the hot dog table by the pool. Understanding this is a new KOA many improvements have been made, will be nice to see what they do next. We will be ba
Sep 06, 2017
Very nice campground; only one complaint (minor) and that is we wished the pool would have had more umbrellas. It only had 3. Everyone seemed to abide by the common sense rules and the sites were level and nice. The roads could of used a little attention but not too bad. Had a great time.
Sep 06, 2017
Beautiful Island, Nice campground lots of rain made for much mud (poor drainage). did not like the playgrounds location, actually outside the park entrance gatehouse. pool did not seem to be heated.
Sep 06, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, bath houses were always clean. Staff was friendly, courteous always helpful. Will be back soon!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Overall, the stay was great! It was a bit iffy at first as they tried to put us in a site that was way too small. Had we tried to get into the site they wanted us in, our slides would have been touching the neighbor's awning, and over their fire pit. Luckily they were able to move us to a better site. The location of this KOA is perfect! Very close to the main street, AND beach! :-)
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals