Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2018
Second visit in two weeks. This campsite was better than last. Still no room to move easily. Fire ring was burned in middle of pull through. Was full of charred wood. Not sure I will use KOA any more. Other campsites in the area.
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
The camp ground was nice and clean. There is a diock you can crab from! But the mosquitos are bad sometimes and occasionally a west wind blows and it smells like fecal matter. A lot of people let their dogs out with no leashes and not tied up. The island itself is wonderful, with great places to eat. The National Park and beach are a treasure! The water park next door is great.
Sep 02, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
Relaxing, enjoyable. Great updates to facilities. Friendly, helpful, accommodating staff.
Sep 01, 2018
À mon avis pour le prix que nous avons payer pour un site deluxe avec patio, le terrain était malpropre avec des bours de plastique et mégots de cigarette sur le gazon, l'entretien devrait être plus minutieux.
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
This is our favorite campground. We hope to be back in october.
Sep 01, 2018
Great quiet stay. Sleepy little town, but very nice and family friendly. Can do improvements to the dock for kayakers. Hard to get in and out on f even at high tide. If you get stuck at low tide you are sucked into the mud....not fun getting out. Especially when you have things biting you the whole time. Campground was clean and quiet,
Sep 01, 2018
It was a beautiful place! Enjoyed island living.
Sep 01, 2018
Interior campground roads are extremely bumpy, full of potholes, etc. very uncomfortable riding in and out for someone with lower back problems! Otherwise it was quiet and peaceful at our site.
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
Nice campground plenty of space between sites friendly atmosphere water pressure fluctuated greatly at times. Down side was our site 261 could have used fill to make it not a pond when it rained
Sep 01, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
Very disappointed with customer service this year we were placed in a site that had a sewer on it and there wasnt enough room for r slides to pull out without going into the other sites area. When we stated this site wasn’t acceptable they told us they were full we finally got to move. The site we originally was put at never did have a camper placed On it bathrooms were not very clean
Aug 31, 2018
Wish for activities throughout the week, not just weekends. Stay was great, we'll be back!!
Aug 31, 2018
Had a great time! This was our second trip there this summer and the staff was helpful and very friendly, as always. We love going to the waterpark and used the KOA pool as well. Campsites can be pricy, but was able to grabl one of KOA's awesome deals to save on money. Will be back next year!
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 31, 2018
your camp ground was nice but the prices at the water park were to expensive. At jelly stone the water park comes with the stay and only the outside public is charged for the park. will stay again but will not go to water park.
Aug 31, 2018
We love it at this KOA and hopefully will be back in about 3 weeks
Aug 31, 2018
Charming, laid back, friendly place. Bicycles or walked to the pool and ocean beach. We will return.
Aug 31, 2018
Had a great time with my children plenty to do
Aug 30, 2018
The site too small for motor home no parking, stones where the carpet goes, no other camp charges for a car that comes with motorhome. Tall grass on our site, for the price you charge we expected better, we had to move our vehicle so a motorhome could get by and we were not on the road way.
Aug 30, 2018
The staff and the site was absolutely wonderful. The camp was kept clean but moswuitos were terrible! Also the pool could have been left open longer. My kids wanted to swim after wwe got back from exploring but they close the pool by 7 pm every night, which left no time for kids to swim. Daylight lasts longer in summer so even if extended till 9 would be appreciated.
Aug 30, 2018
We have a great time, it was relaxing; the Campground was maintained (a lot of recent renovations); we are starting to plan our next trip to this location
Aug 30, 2018
Been going for 20 years now and will keep going
Aug 30, 2018
price was great especially with the discount. Cabin was brand newish and clean, pool was clean. activity center was a ghost town. The campground should have some activities, or the waterpark should be included at the very least. The 2nd bedroom had no TV so kids banged on the wall half the night out of boredom; and no air vents at all in 2nd bedroom. was a sauna in there !
Aug 30, 2018
Amazing!
Aug 29, 2018
It was okay, lake is a joke, not sure why there are no water front spaces for RV's
Aug 29, 2018
Muy bonito lugar para estar con la Familia . Lo único es que el baño comunitario siempre está demasiado Frío . De todo lo demás muy bien, el personal muy bueno . Espero volver pronto
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 29, 2018
we came with my daughter and her family. we all enjoyed our stay. my granddaughters never got bored. awesome scenery we took great pictures of the views
Aug 29, 2018
We stayed in a cottage for our anniversary for a weekend the staff were very friendly and helpful the atmosphere was very relaxing and peaceful the cottage was perfect for our anniversary getaway the canpgrpund was well maintained and clean we definitely will be staying again.
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 29, 2018
Over all good stay. I would recommend small refrigerators and a small wall mirror in the bungalows. The light sensor went off and I was in the pitch black will I was in the shower around midnight, it was very eary. I was the only one in the restroom. Maybe additional light sensors would help this problem. The water park was good, the discount KOA gives is good. I would recommend this campground.
Aug 29, 2018
WOur stay was wonderful!!! We will be back again soon!!
Aug 29, 2018
Wonderful campground and staff!! This was my first experience camping at KOA. I'll definitely be back!
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Nice campground, my only criticism would be we weren’t given a list of activities that were going on during our stay. We had no idea of the the movie and craft events, etc.
Aug 28, 2018
The flies were horrible, thousands of them. The water park (which I think is owned separately than the KOA) was closed on a day in which it could have been open.
Aug 28, 2018
Love the location, well-organized campsite, nice amenities. On the negative side: I wasn't told until we arrived that there was a per person as well as site fee for the campsite I rented, which added about 30% to my cost and was an unpleasant surprise. The bathrooms had some issues: stalls that wouldn't lock, showers out of order, sink drains that didn't work.
Aug 28, 2018
Wonderful job at refurbing the old Maddox campground into a KOA! Well return again had a wonderful time. Staff is very helpful and a joy to be around.
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
The Island Bungalow was a great option with young children. The proximity to the restrooms and other amenities was great. My only complaint was the cleanliness of the restrooms as the day progressed. I went in around 10PM and it was absolutely disgusting. It appeared the restrooms are cleaned around 9:00AM but I would suggest a second cleaning around 7:00PM.
Aug 28, 2018
I love Chincoteague. I have always camped at Tom's Cove, but this stay, because we had 3 children, 10, 9, and 8, we stayed at the KOA. The price reduction on the water park was great. I thought the tent sites were a little too cozy. We had a family come in Saturday for 1 night and I found them to be noisy, past quiet time. I thought the tent site was too pricey, compared to Tom's Cove.
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Fun, friendly, clean, great Island!
Aug 28, 2018
need to CUT GRASS!!!!!! also kids activities need to be better advertised...
Aug 28, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals