Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2017
The Island was very nice!! The mosquitos not so much!! Never knew it was so bad!! Doubt we ever go back because of it! The KOA was nice and clean.
Sep 25, 2017
Bathrooms are new and spotless. Sites are a little close to each other but it's still quiet at night. Staff is very friendly. We will certainly come back.
Sep 25, 2017
We only stayed for a long weekend but the campground was neat and clean, a lot of fun amenities and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect, simple but in great condition. We were very happy and will definitely come back.
Sep 25, 2017
Great campground and a great town. Will definitely be back.
Sep 25, 2017
very nice, had a patio site wish i knew it was not in the trees, the sites were 10-15 degrees cooler under the trees. But besides that everything was great. If they can put some patio sites in the tree area that would be great.
Sep 25, 2017
Beautiful campground! Sites were a little small and close together but luckily we were on an end site and there wasnât anyone next to us. We will definitely be staying here again!
Sep 25, 2017
very nice facility. People bending over backwards to be helpful. Enjoyed the stay. Weather was perfect too (I know KOA cant control that).....but stay was great!!!
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Great stay and people so nice! Thank your for spreading out the tent people in the power section. My boys had so much fun. Love all the improvements to the campground.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Clean restrooms. Would have appreciated a location to do dishes and water for primative sites. Appreciated mosquito control.
Sep 25, 2017
Had a really nice site. It was very relaxing and peaceful this weekend.
Sep 25, 2017
Very nice. It was quiet without alot of golf cart traffic, which we like! The bath houses were exceptionally clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The only negative was our pull through site was narrow. If the trailer next to us had not been positioned as far over as it was, we would have had to build our campfire just outside our door. We will be returning in a week for a longer stay!
Sep 24, 2017
Only thing I would recommend would be to put some kind of natural barrier between the McDonald's and hotel, the spot lights flood the camp sites all night long. Besides that great location and loved all the activities
Sep 23, 2017
We were late arrival and the staff was polite and helpful in getting us to our site and settled. So friendly and kind.
Sep 22, 2017
Well managed site with great hookups. But, the bugs are swarming and drove us to the inside. Check on bug swarms before you go.
Sep 22, 2017
We've been coming to that campground for more than 10 years. The improvements are excellent, the staff courteous and willing to help/answer questions and the cleanliness is second to none. Keep up the good work!! We will see you next year!!
Sep 22, 2017
Enjoyed our time there. Really appreciated the staff helping us to move to another site because the one we had was flooded. The maintenance staff does a great job.
Sep 21, 2017
Was recommended by friends. Very nice campground, great location, friendly staff, nice view of lighthouse. Mosquitos really bad!!! We saw the truck spraying in the campground.....guess there's nothing else that can be done about it. Please recycle!!
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
I would have to say.... we had a great time. It would have been nice to know in advance about the nuisance mosquitoes so I would've been better prepared. The bath houses are modern and clean the campsite is beautiful and the staffing is friendly and courteous. I would recommend this site but I would inform people about the mosquitoes.I think it's an amazing island.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
Very nice clean campground with trees in almost all sites. Very nice and helpful staff
Sep 20, 2017
We had a wonderful stay and vary enjoyable time.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
We had a very nice site with the view of the lighthouse. The employees were very courteous and helpful. Very clean. We enjoyed the potluck dinner supplied by the staff Saturday night. Food and entertainment was fantastic. Location is close to all activities and shopping, riding a bikes a plus. The con to the whole camping stay were the mosquitos. Bring plenty of bug spray.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
This was my first time camping with horses. What a great experience. You could not ask for anything better, friendly staff the cleanest and best bath houses, well maintained KOA. Great job staff!
Sep 19, 2017
Very clean and well maintained. Next year the family and I are staying for a week.
Sep 19, 2017
The hike into the wildlife refuge was very nice but it cost a lot of blood. The first night was very noisy since the person who makes reservations placed a lot of people in the surrounding sites, the kids were until 1:30 am; the adults partied until 3 am. They packed and left that day. I need to stay several days to get in more attractions of the area.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Everything was all first class thank you for a great weekend
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Loved the cabin, very enjoyable stay. will definitely be back
Sep 18, 2017
Very nice campground. Lots of attractions close by. WiFi works well, TV not so good
Sep 18, 2017
I would recommend this KOA with a firm warning about the terrible mosquitoes. I did see a truck spraying twice but it was not very effective. Camping is an outdoor activity but quickly became indoor activities. Several other recommendations I would make to the KOA management. Put grills on all sites, add cable TV to all sites, and enlarge your campground map. It was too small to read.
Sep 18, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was clean. The mosquitoes were awful .
Sep 18, 2017
Simply a great location in general and me the KOA is pretty much in the middle of it. Very attractive campground with attentive staff.
Sep 18, 2017
Best bath houses on the island! Friendly staff.
Sep 18, 2017
New bath houses are a muchly needed improvement! Clean and beautiful. Appreciate all the improvements, too bad the prices were increased so much. Staff was friendly.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Loved the grounds and the cleanliness. Our biggest issue was the darn mosquitos! We went through two cans of bug spray and still got torn up. Our poor kids are covered in mosquito bites from head to toe! Will definitely consider this when booking location of our next trip.
Sep 18, 2017
We were unimpressed with this campground. This KOA is overpriced at ~$85/night for a full hook up RV spot. The mosquitoes were plentiful and penetrated clothing and repellant. All the employees we encountered were friendly. We could not enjoy a walk with the dogs or s'mores, or anything out of the camper because of the mosquitoes. The small park, pillow, and pool were adequate.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
This is a very clean, well run KOA, with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. There is a lot of things for kids to do here. The bathrooms/bath houses are the biggest cleanest I've ever seen. We were located in an area where we could see the Asseteague lighthouse from our site, which was really nice. The only negative (excluding mosquitos!) is some of the sites are a bit close.
Sep 16, 2017
Visited to see the wild ponies and kids' first camping trip. It was the perfect combination for them! Tent sites are very crowded, some had standing water on some of them when we got there. Restrooms were clean and working, trash pick came by often, lots to do for the kids. Trolley to the national park was convenient and also stopped at one of the top rated ice cream shops in the country.
Sep 16, 2017
Excellent clean and well maintained facilities! Pricey. Convenient to town and beach. Antenna tv is poor and there is no cable offered. Use of your satellite gear is problematic due to mature pine trees. Mosquitos as bad as Florida everglades despite multiple daily spraying. Staff was helpful and courteous.
Sep 16, 2017
Deluxe patio sites are nothing like the picture shown and there is no charcoal grill. The patios are nice but quite a bit smaller, use your own pictures. Great to spray for bugs, but let people know in advance! Everything else was 5 star. Beautiful location, great bathrooms, friendly staff. If you are traveling with your dog, know that the beach 2 miles from the campground is not dog friendly.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals