Chincoteague Island KOA Reviews

Book a Stay During Our Halloween Weekends...If You Dare!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 22, 2019
Great campground. Very clean . If the mosquitoes could disappear it would be a perfect world!
Sep 22, 2019
nice size sites, wifi and cable great, .Shuttle service Golf cart rental reasonable.. Would stay again!
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 21, 2019
I had a lovely stay in a small bungalow. Very comfortable. Enjoyed my stay. Staff very nice, helpful and friendly. Loved the clean restrooms.
Sep 21, 2019
Beautiful campground. Excellent location. Having a kayak launch site on the premises was an unexpected plus.
Sep 21, 2019
Great location. The improvements made to this campground really are making the difference! We stayed in a lovely patio site. Can’t wait to see what the next year brings. This time of year is lovely (late-September) in Chincoteague.
Sep 21, 2019
Nicely designed campground with mostly trees sites. Bath/Shower houses only a short walk from campsites Location was fantastic on Chincoteague- close to eateries, shops and tourist sites- especially the Ponies. Park/beach (great) is sooo close. Bike & Kayak rentals everywhere including the resort. The staff were professionals in the hospitality aspect of this KOA. A wonderful KOA to stay at
Sep 20, 2019
Only downside was the campsite was grass with a lot of barren areas especially around the door entry area. However, site was level. Great location close to restaurants all accessible by bicycle. Bike lanes to the lighthouse and beach and there is no charge for cyclists as opposed to $20 for cars. CG facilities were good. Laundry was good. $2.75 a load and machines only take credit cards.
Sep 18, 2019
Very clean staff was great will go back
Sep 18, 2019
One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Grounds are beautiful, washrooms and laundry are air-conditioned and clean, the staff is very accommodating and friendly. The weekend that we were there, there was a barbecue and band and we had a terrific time. Plus, the water park was free for the weekend. We recommend this campground to all. Thank you thank you Chincategue KOA.
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
After having a bad experiences at the Campground and swearing I would never return.... I gave them one more chance. I am glad I did, our site was wonderful and the staff was friendly and did everything they could to accommodate any of our requests. I even extended our stay for several days.
Sep 18, 2019
Clean, nice. Great location.
Sep 18, 2019
We have been over 5000 miles on this trip and this was the cleanest, nicest campground we have stayed in to date! They are doing things the way they should be done. The only issue we had was the mosquitos that nearly ate us up, so if there is a way to spray for them, that would help!
Sep 17, 2019
Very nice weather, free access to the water park was nice.
Sep 17, 2019
Awesome location to explore Chincoteague and Assateague Islands. Nice long sites with patio. Good wifi.
Sep 17, 2019
The male manager that was on duty Sunday night is the best by far. He goes above and beyond for everyone.The only bad thing is they are changing staff all the time. That needs to stop.
Sep 17, 2019
Just AWESOME!!!!!!! Quiet time was really quiet, so rare at other campgrounds. Convenience and closeness to all the wonderful restaurants and the most beautiful beaches and sunsets. We liked the clean neat appearance of the campground. Last, but not least, your staff was most helpful, friendly and so very competent. Can't wait to come back. To be perfect, would love for it to be open all year.
Sep 17, 2019
Too many mosquitoes, you’d think the campground would at least spray. Unlikely to return.
Sep 17, 2019
Great staff just getting away for weekend. Nice time
Sep 17, 2019
stayed 4 nights, park got very crowded over the weekend. On Sunday the bathhouse was very dirty all day both the men's and lady's. The people working there are very friendly and helpful. its a great place to stay and we will return.
Sep 17, 2019
good site and great staff. The trolley driver on Sunday the 15th was great.
Sep 17, 2019
Staff was awesome!
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Great VKR member appreciation weekend. Waterpark was free to guests. Awesome waterpark that is even better when it’s free! Well kept campground. Friendly staff. This is our third stay at CI KOA this year.
Sep 16, 2019
Great stay! Nice park, very clean with very friendly and helpful staff!
Sep 16, 2019
And the freezer had long ice hanging and would not shut on #5 and #6.When moved to #6 we had to break the ice to get the door shut.We were told Brian woud be there at 8AM Sunday morning.Then Neil told us when checking out he would not be there till 2;00PMand he would get back with us yesterday.Never happened.We lost lots of our food by moving from #5 to #6 rlslacum19973@gmail.com Bad ending!!
Sep 16, 2019
Clean park with lots to do.
Sep 16, 2019
The staff are completely awesome and go out of their way to assure an enjoyable stay.
Sep 16, 2019
Bathroom not as clean as past stays. Disappointed to not get requested ST sites. Site in front of us had 8-10 tents, multiple cars and scooters and loud music which we were not happy about due to our small children playing and our hope for a quiet/relaxing weekend. Great activities, great trolley ride, great water park. We love Chincoteague KOA but just a little disappointed in this stay.
Sep 16, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
We really enjoyed our time there. The Safari Tents are such an awesome place to stay in, they even provided bath towels, that was a surprise. My only complaint was the coffee maker, super excited it was there and they provided bottled water for it but the cord was so short I had to sit it on the floor to plug it in to make coffee, but that wouldn't stop me from staying in the Safari Tent again.
Sep 16, 2019
We like the place but we could not bear the mosquitoes or nats. We both received a lot of bites. They were all in the rv even after setting out bowls of apple cider vinegar. It was very annoying.
Sep 16, 2019
great stay. The staff were wonderful. the shuttle bus RULES
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice campground. Office staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 16, 2019
We enjoyed the activities the band and barbecue were great Everyone’s always so helpful there keep up the good work
Sep 16, 2019
Our first time camping at this location. We loved it! Our family had a great weekend. We will be coming to camp again for sure!!! Thank you!
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice campground, clean, well laid out, staff was awesome. Stayed on site #269, long enough for a 40' 5th wheel and plenty wide, not cramped, wooded but branches cut high so no concerns, interior roads seem narrow but had no problems navigating. Great location for the Chincoteague area beaches, beach a 5 minute drive, 15 minutes by bicycle, parking at the dunes. We'll be back for sure.
Sep 15, 2019
The camp bungalows need blinds on the door
Sep 15, 2019
Great location, friendly staff. Level, sand , treeless site Dog and goose mess around our site. Asked for pull through, got back in. Quiet on Thursday, but Friday very crowded, noisy children and adults behind of us up well after 11:00 quiet time. Definitely a family place. Lots of activity for children. Pool was open, but needed refurbishing.
Sep 14, 2019
Told them i had a 40ft fifth wheel with slides when I made res. They tried to put me in a spot not long enough so i left a day early just so i could get a spot big enough. Low water pressure. Staff very nice and helpful
Sep 13, 2019
Had a nice stay. Campground and people were very pleasant. We have been camping in this campground off and on for over 44 years. KOA has done a nice job of improving the campground.
Sep 11, 2019
We will definitely be back..!
Sep 10, 2019
The campground is nice, but the staff is very disorganized. I reserved a campsite months before our trip, when I arrived that campsite was not available so they gave me another one. When I arrived at the campsite there was a camper there, this happened twice before I was put in a spot that I did not enjoy and was not promised (or requested) from the beginning.
Sep 09, 2019
I love the place, especially the scenery at the end of the campground. Service is always top notch, AAA+++. Would love to see an improvement with external sinks for dishes on the bathrooms. We need a bigger sink for dishes.
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice and well maintained campground. The facilities and public areas were clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Had a great time. Friendly staff. Lots of amenities and it is close to beach and restaurants. Can walk to Maui Jim’s.
Sep 06, 2019
Oct 20, 2019
Had a wonderful weekend the Halloween events the kids loved. Go fall camping visit.
- Barbara Wezensky on Google
Oct 19, 2019
Beautiful site for RVs and tent camping. Friendly employees and so much fun for the kids. Jumping pillow and water park in season. Halloween activities and trick or treat in October! So glad we can with our scout troop!
- CeCi Stephens on Google
Oct 16, 2019
The only problem - bus to the beach has no schedule. And it very hard to catch it.
- Linda Mock on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.