Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2018
All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site was not desirable. There was a large concrete block with rusty hooks sticking out of it. Very dangerous! We covered it with a bucket so we wouldn’t trip on them. The block was awkward in the position with regards to the rest of the site. Couldn’t put a rug down as we would trip on the block.
Sep 09, 2018
Your employees are amazing here! So friendly and so helpful!
Sep 09, 2018
It was a pleasant stay, met nice people, staff pleasant, and location good for getting around town. You can't do anything about the flys but thank you for spraying for mosquitoes!! Enjoyed the swimming pool.
Sep 06, 2018
Staff was very friendly, bathrooms clean but this was Labor Day weekend and the place was way over crowded for our taste. Probably should have stayed home for labor day. Just not the kind of quiet we were looking for.
Sep 06, 2018
Our family had a fantastic time at Chincoteague KOA! The Bungalows were just adorable, and so clean, with plenty of space between each one for a family to feel like there’s privacy and outside play space! The bathhouse was maintained well too. The campground activities, and the surrounding area provide so much to do! We Will be back again!
Sep 05, 2018
Overall it was great except the mosquitoes are HORRIBLE, the water pressure isn’t very good select times of the day, and some staff was very unpleasant at all to be around.
Sep 05, 2018
The campsite staff were incredible. Everyone I spoke to was very polite and asked about our stay. The trolley drive was wonderful. However, the one section of tent campers were discouraging. They were loud and made things a uncomfortable especially with kids. I'm sure you are aware as the police were called. I also heard from others that the tent campers get regular visits from the police.
Sep 05, 2018
Although my wife, son and I were disappointed with the size of the raised tent site, it was good to see clean facilities, quiet grounds, and many things for kids to do
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
It was the first time staying at the KOA and it was very clean, nice staff and over all a very nice vacation.
Sep 05, 2018
This was our 2nd time at koa this summer. Our late night, there was a domestic violence situation a few sites down from us and the police was called. I understand that this could happen anywhere and the staff here has always been amazing. I was surprise that a worker didnt came by to check on the campers. It would of been nice to know if the man had been arrested. I could have slept better knowin
Sep 05, 2018
Overall we had a very nice stay and we look forward to coming back. Pls update site map online as bath house is by cabin #2, not cabin #5. We originally booked cabin #1, were disappointed to get #2, and ultimately switched to #9 to be away from bathroom. Unfortunately we had no hot water for showers the whole wknd. Called maintenance and thought they fixed the issue, but issue still occurred.
Sep 05, 2018
VERY FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES, NICE BATH HOUSES, SITE VERY NICE. JUST ENJOYED SO MUCH, WILL RETURN!!
Sep 05, 2018
We loved it, everything looks nice and clean. the remodeling of the bathrooms looked amazing. Thank you will def be coming back soon.
Sep 05, 2018
Todos lo Que tiene esta muy bien Megusto
Sep 05, 2018
Campground is convenient and clean. Bathrooms were well-kept. Playground was great for the kids; they especially loved the "jumping pillow". Check-in process was quick and simple. Another camper had parked their vehicle in our camp spot. Called the front desk, someone was dispatched, resolving the issue fairly quickly. Campers on other side of park got in a fight at night; police were called.
Sep 05, 2018
I know it was a busy holiday weekend but the bathroom was always a disgusting mess. Also, only one shower in a bathroom to service hundreds of people was difficult at best to find an opportunity to shower
Sep 05, 2018
I enjoyed the stay - and thought that the gentlemen who was riding around on the golf cart helping everyone with the sites was great. Activities were good. There was a fight that broke out at the campsite at 10 pm - and did take the police some time to get there to address - so there was a lot of fighting and yelling that the kids got to see.
Sep 04, 2018
It should have been communicated to people that booked 30 amp sites last summer that you were changing them to 50 amp. We were not the only ones surprised and upset about this.
Sep 04, 2018
With the exception of the bathrooms needing cleaning both mornings we stayed there (toilet paper all over the floor), everything was great here. The site itself was very large and easy to pull into. The picnic table and fire ring were both in good shape. Check-in was easy, and the staff were all very friendly.
Sep 04, 2018
We had a nice stay. It would be nice to see some of the pot holes in the roads filled as some are getting pretty bad
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Would not stay again. Staff member came up and tried to “pet” my dog who was hooked on a shorter than 4 ft leash in my spot with sharp shears in hand. Both of my children were outside with the dog and staff member startled them and the dog who then allegedly bit the staff member. We were never shown the bite. We were then harassed by staff the remainder of our visit but never given a report co
Sep 04, 2018
Wonderful stay! All the amentites were well kept and clean. Lots of activities for all ages! Everything is in close proximity of the national park and the staff was very helpful with providing information on what to do and where to go.
Sep 04, 2018
Well, my family and I have been coming to the island for over 10 years. We decided to come up for the long holiday weekend. We have always been hesitant to stay here but thought after so long that we would give it a try.... needless so say we wont be back. AC wasnt working properly and we all got a weird cough. Checked the AC the vent was DISGUSTING im talking BLACK. Showed staff no response...
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
Beautiful campground.. cabins well kept.. my girls felt very safe walking around.. The staff super friendly.. I will definitely be back next year
Sep 04, 2018
Enjoyed everything except the mosquitoes. Wow, they were everywhere and we had to frequently replenish our insect repellent.
Sep 04, 2018
Had a great time .weather was to hot�
Sep 04, 2018
All the KOA associates were very kind and helpful. The cabin and porch were perfect. The bathrooms were okay, as it goes with having so many people sharing. My Mom did ask me to request handles in all the showers for stability. She slipped a few times and said a handle/railing would have been perfect. We did love our stay with KOA. We are already discussing our next trip back.
Sep 04, 2018
We had a great stay. Bathrooms were clean and kids enjoyed the waterpark. My only suggestion would be to make quiet time from 10pm-7am.
Sep 04, 2018
The only problem was how filthy the bathrooms were. There was trash and dirt on the floors. The showers were dirty and covered in hair. The bathrooms were disgusting.
Sep 04, 2018
Had a blast! A bit of rain, but loved the island and there was plenty to do. Can’t wait to get back.
Sep 04, 2018
Tent campers completely crowded our space, walked through it day and night, played loud music, unpluged our power and turned our water off numerous times. So overly crowded we had no room for outside fire or family time. Tent campers extended across multiple sites creating extremely large groups, ignoring a per site maximum of visitors/campers. 99% Deet doesn’t stop the mosquitos.
Sep 04, 2018
I have been camping at this campground since 2003. A lot has changed since KOA took over! They have renovated bathrooms/showers that are kept clean, cottages, new big tents with bedding already there and they now have a pool park on site. My only complaint would be for the campers in old fashion tents is that the bathrooms are a bit of a walk away depending on where you stay. Def will stay again!
Sep 04, 2018
La pasamos de maravilla
Sep 04, 2018
Very expensive sites with no huckups and long lines in the bathrooms.
Sep 04, 2018
Es muy relajante muy acojedor muy trankilo
Sep 04, 2018
Very good
Sep 03, 2018
Campground was very nice. Until the weekend days- then it was far too crowded! Felt like the trailers were packed in with tents squeezed everywhere. People were loud and driving golf carts erratically. Pool and bathhouses were dirty. Almost left early!
Sep 03, 2018
Bungalow was perfect for 3 of us and appreciated the airconditioning, screened in porch to due to Mosquitoes and shelter instead of tenting due to thunderstorms that rolled in each evening. Appreciated the air conditioned bathrooms! Only complaint was the area around the steps into the cabin was flooded so we had to walk through 3 inches of standing rain water.
Sep 03, 2018
Second visit in two weeks. This campsite was better than last. Still no room to move easily. Fire ring was burned in middle of pull through. Was full of charred wood. Not sure I will use KOA any more. Other campsites in the area.
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 03, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
The camp ground was nice and clean. There is a diock you can crab from! But the mosquitos are bad sometimes and occasionally a west wind blows and it smells like fecal matter. A lot of people let their dogs out with no leashes and not tied up. The island itself is wonderful, with great places to eat. The National Park and beach are a treasure! The water park next door is great.
Sep 02, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
Relaxing, enjoyable. Great updates to facilities. Friendly, helpful, accommodating staff.
Sep 01, 2018
À mon avis pour le prix que nous avons payer pour un site deluxe avec patio, le terrain était malpropre avec des bours de plastique et mégots de cigarette sur le gazon, l'entretien devrait être plus minutieux.
Sep 01, 2018
Sep 01, 2018
This is our favorite campground. We hope to be back in october.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals