Chincoteague Island KOA Reviews

Book your fall escape today!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2020
This campground does have a lot of amenities and location is great but their prices $$$$$ are much too high compared to nearby campgrounds. It's actually cheaper to stay at some of the nearby hotels. If money is no object I recommend staying here.
Aug 31, 2020
The staff is great! The 2 sites assignés to le were muddy,talked to The staff moved us to 2 other sites! Which were much better! My only complaint is that the roads and sites need to be up graded,alot of pot holes,maybe put down some paving on roads, and paved pad sites for the rv's, the roads are rouge on golf carte! But still à very Nice place ! Including surrounding Areas outsider of campgrou
Aug 31, 2020
The only good thing about this place is the location. The KOA should not be considered a “resort” at all. On top of the ridiculous nightly rate, you pay $5/day resort fee-for what? Then you pay $5/per person per day for the water park. The lazy river was the only thing open which doesn’t make any sense-they funnel everyone in/out of the same area and it was so congested. Pick A different p
Aug 31, 2020
great staff, great fun, ONLY problem during stay - rented RV, bathroom unable to use bc of the horrible smell, BR was pumped & a liquid cleaner was dropped off, however it did not work, did not use or even want to open the BR door in order to avoid the entire RV smelling like sewage. Should have just rented a cabin without a BR for much less if had to use public RR anyways
Aug 31, 2020
It was a nice time. We had rain so it did make the camp site muddy for a while but all in all it was nice to just get away.
Aug 31, 2020
The people there were so friendly. The bugs were unbearable. No bug spray helped. We were then when it rained and the whole camp ground was flooded for like 3 days. It was so hard to pack up. The sewer pump behind us was left open by last guest and when it rained there was sewage all the way to the top. Bathrooms were clean. Pool was clean. lazy river was fun. Wish the lazy river stayed open late
Aug 31, 2020
I was disappointed when i went to the front desk on 8/28 around 3 pm with an emergency. My little girl had cut her finger and I asked if there was a first aid box I could use. The staff told me they had first aid, but it wasnt for guests ( my girl was bleeding badly). They said go to family dollar, which had no first aid supplies. I returned to the front desk and pleaded with the staff. WTF?
Aug 31, 2020
really need to improve drainage on the property and water pressure was very low and the cable signal needs to improve was disappointed that this campground has not improve the property and roads and campsites for it's size.
Aug 31, 2020
Aug 31, 2020
Considering we are in a global pandemic and this was our first time in RV we had a pleasant experience. Staff/maintenance was awesome and helpful as they could have been. Only a couple complaints. The bathrooms became messy by the afternoon. People are disgusting - not sure why they can't clean up after themselves or courtesy flush. So it's not the resort's fault unless they have someone come
Aug 31, 2020
Aug 30, 2020
Great time grandkids loved it,
Aug 30, 2020
Aug 30, 2020
We booked to stay with you for over a week and we’re so looking forward to it. Then we had a bad storm come thru causing flooding our tent was underwater and olbliously there was not power so we had to cancel the rest of our week stay and find a hotel
Aug 30, 2020
Employees were very nice & helpful, bathrooms overall clean & well maintained but need foot washing stations outside bathroom/showers, as floors were covered in sand. Tent sites need cleaned/raked between patrons, as there was trash EVERYWHERE, including beer cans, dirty socks, broken glass & firepit trash at our site. Our site was not alone in this. VERY disappointing & disgusting, honestly.
Aug 30, 2020
The staff was super friendly and the bath houses were very clean. We had a GREAT trip!
Aug 30, 2020
Aug 30, 2020
Aug 30, 2020
We enjoyed our visit.
Aug 30, 2020
Great week!!
Aug 30, 2020
Everyone and I mean everyone from the front desk folks to the maintenance guys, to the housekeepers were awesome! I shall be returning in the future for sure! Thank You, Sincerely, Kellie Klein
Aug 29, 2020
Enjoyed our stay again. This was our 2nd time at your location. Staff was pleasant. Amenities and grounds were nice. We look forward to coming back soon.
Aug 29, 2020
Awesome staff
Aug 28, 2020
COVIDE RESTRICTIONS IN THE AREA PREVENTED US FROM DOING EVERYTHING WE WANTED. THE BUGS WERE PRETTY BAD. WE ARE THINKING OF COMING BACK AT A DIFFERENT TIME OF YEAR.
Aug 28, 2020
I asked for a screen door repair to fix/tape the part that was flapping around letting bugs in, but it never got fixed. Other than that, we enjoyed the atmosphere, and it was such a relief that the bathrooms and showers were clean!!! Oh-one other thing - the Waterpark sprays the rafts down, but they were not wiping down lawn chairs!
Aug 28, 2020
My daughter and I had a wonderful time staying at the Chincoteague KOA. The staff was all very friendly and helpful and there were a lot of social distancing and masking reminders. The water park was great (the part that was able to be open during the pandemic). We're already planning a return trip!
Aug 28, 2020
Exceptional stay. Enjoyed Maybe next time we would be put somewhere not next to the sever that was cleaned every day. We were inside of a fenced in area, there were plenty of spots elsewhere that were open. But otherwise, an exceptional stay. Thank you.
Aug 28, 2020
Always friendly and helpful staff. Clean, campground close to everything with many amenities.
Aug 27, 2020
This was our first time at a KOA and overall enjoyed our experience but we were disappointed when we showed up to our campsite and it was littered with trash. We had to spend some time before setting up our camp picking up trash from the campers before us.
Aug 27, 2020
WONDERFUL!
Aug 27, 2020
The safari tent was nasty. Bedding and futon smelled of mold. Eaten alive by mosquitoes. The bathing facilities were not well maintained. Will not come again.
Aug 26, 2020
very enjoyable visit. we were worried the rain was going to spoil the crab and music fest, but fortunately it did not. My hats off to all the staff for hanging in there and making a successful event. The food was great, the bands were great, the staff is great, and from my point of view, a great time was had by all. Thank you for a bit of normalcy during these trying times.
Aug 26, 2020
Aug 26, 2020
Aug 26, 2020
Pricing for primitive tenting is crazy--$90/night?! We upgraded to the safari tent and felt like it was a better value. The bathhouses were pretty dirty--especially on the weekends. The toilet paper was so thin that it shredded when you tried to unwind it; for the price we paid, I would have expected better quality. The staff was friendly, though, as were the other campers. The pool was nice.
Aug 26, 2020
Aug 25, 2020
The bugs were terrible!!!!! Our group of 3 were supposed to be on 3 shaded sights in a row, which I verified 2 days before arrival, we were moved when we arrived. The site I was moved to, which was close to my group, was occupied. I was moved again away from my group. My given site them became available so I unhooked and moved. The bugs were TERRIBLE!!! Apparently no bug spraying was performed.
Aug 25, 2020
Loved our stay! Staff was great. Campground was clean and quiet! Will be back! Bring mosquito repellent. The entire area was bad even at the beach at times.
Aug 25, 2020
You worked with me and my family to get our sites together which was much appreciated. Everyone who worked at campground extremely friendly and helpful. Very clean campground.
Aug 25, 2020
Need to fill pot holes in road. When walking day or night, it is easy to step in a hole and stumble or fall. Way too many old broken branches lying around camp sites - they should clean them up once in a while. Mosquitoes and biting flies are terrible. Prices are high and sites are way to close to each other but that is the KOA way..
Aug 25, 2020
KOA 8.21-23.20 the check in was good& campground has many amenities. Areas of concern & improvements 1. I am confused why I was charged a resort fee of $5 bucks yet the water park was an additional fee of $5 per person per day. All three days the WP seemed very empty? 2. Mosquito control- KOA needs to better control program for bugs 3. The camp roads & camp site had a lots of ditches & U
Aug 25, 2020
The mosquito we’re very bad but we managed
Aug 25, 2020
We stay for a week every year, this was our first time in a cabin and it was awesome. We’ll be back next year and for years to come.
Aug 25, 2020
I thought your campground was well run and maintained. All staff was friendly and accommodating. I particularly liked the easy advance check in. The RV we rented was clean and well stocked. That being said I thought it was awfully expensive. Three nights with golf cart rental and tickets to the crab/music festival was near $1000.
Aug 25, 2020
Great location, lots of shade, very nice Waterpark, awesome place for bicycle riding, friendly staff and nice local restaurants and shops! The only thing that was a negative was the mosquitoes.
Aug 25, 2020
The stay was wonderful and the staff was excellent. The only bad part was the mosquitos.
Aug 25, 2020
Aug 25, 2020
Great facility. Great showers. It's a little tight, but all in all really nice.
Aug 25, 2020
Always such a great time. Friendly staff and community that uses this KOA. You do a great job o keeping the place clean too.
Aug 24, 2020
Sep 13, 2020
You see alot of complaints about mosquitoes but it's an island with alot of marshy areas so bugs are to be expected. We got there Friday at 2 and around 4 a pick up truck with a fogger was making rounds...very little problem after that. We stayed in one of the RVs you can rent...loved the deck, tables and chairs that was there. We were happy to have A/C which pumped out enough cold air. Only downside of RV was the beds. They felt like a piece of plywood covered with a sheet. It's a shame cause when we stayed last year in the safari tent it was one of the best beds ever, we wished we could get one for home it was so nice. Staff was amazing, housekeeping was prompt to fix a small problem in the bathroom. One of the maintenance men was nice enough to fill a could of holes so I wouldn't fall. Recreation was awesome and we had a great time at the Guns and Hoses event.
- Lisa tiggerrrt on Google
Sep 21, 2020
This is our third fall coming here. Stayed in a patio site each time. Very clean. Attentive staff, they changed all of the sites to 50 amp, we have 30, so they loaned us a dog bone and said they where changing it back. Hope they also put the 120 plug back too. We use it to cook with since our RV doesn't let you use more then one thing at a time. Loved the view of the lighthouse and the sound!
- Kimberly Naumann on Google
Sep 13, 2020
This campground was clean and the waterpark (what was open, pandemic and all) was a lot of fun. The burgers at the waterpark's concession stand were bad, but the fries were delicious.
- Valerie Woo on Google