Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2018
my view of the campsite was awesome and amazing and it made my stay even better, my family enjoyed it very much.we will be coming back very soon.
Jul 01, 2018
It was just my husband and I. It's gotten too expensive for us considering we don't use most if the amenities.
Jul 01, 2018
Great stay. Staff are very nice and friendly
Jul 01, 2018
Loved the stay. Very friendly people. The restrooms and the whole facility was very clean. Already made reservations for another stay.
Jul 01, 2018
The campground is lovely, and the bathrooms are the cleanest and most comfortable campground bathrooms I have ever seen. We camped in a tent, in a basic tent site on the edge of the campground. Our neighbors did not honor the quiet time rule, however, and kept us up until at least 1:30am. I would suggest that the quiet time curfew be more strictly enforced.
Jun 30, 2018
We enjoyed our stay even though it was kind of wet. I would like to see maybe more gravel down to cut down on the muddy roads and pot holes. That would be my only complaint.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Near our #9 pull through the shower house was updated, clean and well maintained during our weeks stay. At check-out we used the shower/restroom there at the office building and were disappointed that they were not maintained at the same level of cleanliness. The Maui Jack water park was fun and a nice alternative to the beach. They were not accepting credit cards so take cash.
Jun 30, 2018
Friendly staff and very clean.
Jun 30, 2018
Appreciated The spraying to decrease the mosquitoes! Next year we’ll request being in a site with two trees! Great quiet at night and days full of fun.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Beautiful campground in a great location. Staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful. Campgrounds and bathrooms/showers were so clean!! Have told all my friends.
Jun 30, 2018
Sites were nice, bathrooms were great. Staff was super nice. The area was very interesting with lots to do! The mosquitos were awful but that has nothing to do with the campground. The dog run area was a little too small but that was the only complaint
Jun 30, 2018
We loved the safari tents so much we upgraded our next tent camping trip with the kids to the safari tent instead!! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The koa is a fabulous addition to our favorite place, Chincoteague!!
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
We thought the cabin was very nice and the camp ground was very clean. I gave 3 stars because I thought the price was way too high. I expected the “resort” to be an upgrade from other koa sites we’ve stayed at. For the extra price we payed (more than double from other places) it should have include use of kayaks or the water park. Instead those things were extra. Not sure why the cost was so
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful and well maintained. Had a few minor problems with the sewer hook-up and the team was VERY responsive. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and enjoyed by our entire group (12 of us). Jumping pillow was fun for all the kids, and the playscape was good for our youngest (4 years). BRING LOTS OF BUG SPRAY! The camp sprayed daily for mosquitos, but it didn't seem to help much.
Jun 29, 2018
Loved it
Jun 29, 2018
Our group loved it! We had children with us from 8-18 and they were ALL happy!
Jun 29, 2018
We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back. We have couple of suggestions: Men’s bathroom was kept too cold, jummping pillow got too hot for jummping under the sun, and the fire ring can use a grill top.
Jun 29, 2018
Loved our stay! The staff was friendly and helpful and went the extra mile!! Really enjoyed the amentinies like the trolly bus to bench and town, dock in back to go fishing and nice showers and restrooms. The camp store had great selection and water park and slides were fun for kids and us adults! Very adorable also. Can’t wait to come back! Thanks-The Elders!
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 28, 2018
This was our first trip to Chincoteague Island and the KOA campground did not disappoint. The bayside location with a great view of the Assateague lighthouse and dock for fishing or crabbing was perfect. Every day of our stay, a truck came through and sprayed for mosquitos- we had no problems. Just about everything you need in this lovely little beach town is within walking distance from the KOA
Jun 28, 2018
We had a great vacation staying here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was that work around the campground started rather early, a little noisy when trying to sleep in a few days while we were on vacation but this is better than not making improvements. Maybe if worker with heavy equipment started at 9 AM instead of 8 AM, or let campers know in advance...just a idea!
Jun 28, 2018
We loved the southern hospitality! Our family just spend 4 wonderful days at your campground and had a great time! We will definitely recommend you to our camping friends!
Jun 28, 2018
wet muddy sites, poor drainage, limited dump capability. nice pool.
Jun 28, 2018
We had an amazing time here! KC at the front desk offered hands down the best customer service we have ever had. There was a very complicated mistake that was made on our reservation which also involved us being charged two deposits. KC effortlessly took care of the problem with in the first 10 minutes of our stay. The camp ground was SO clean and the staff was so helpful and friendly.
Jun 28, 2018
The staff is incredible! The campground is neat and teverything was immaculate.
Jun 28, 2018
Jun 28, 2018
Terrain dans la boue. Et terrain très tassé,on est tous collé les uns sur les autres. Et le coût du camping très élevé. En plus le tuyau d’égout sur notre terrain était pratiquement bouché.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
It’s was a great campground! Very clean bathhouses and 24 hour laundry! The themed weekends/activities were cancelled last minute so that was a bummer for my girl. But hey we went to the waterproof which was awesome!
Jun 27, 2018
Wonderful time. Grandkids were with us. They loved the waterpark,pool ,and bouncy thing. Flies were really bad at the beach one of the attendance at the desk suggested something that she had heard and it worked. Thanks so much for our stay
Jun 27, 2018
We had a great visit. The campground bathrooms were nice and clean. We enjoyed the seagulls in the campground. However a lot of the campground was flooded when we were there. I called and asked to switch our site due to flooding and the staff allowed us to. Luckily there was empty sites available during our visit.
Jun 27, 2018
I only give 4 stars and not 5 because the site we had was in extreme need of gravel grading. We were at #253 and it was at the end of a row. There was rain and the site totally flooded leaving our RV an island and after drainage a muddy mess. If the owners address the need to grade this particular site with gravel to mitigate the water problem it would be one of the best sites in the park.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
Most horrible camping trip ever. You got your money for my rented mud hole. Also site 347 sewer hook up is offset from other utilities.. This makes the site 5 foot smaller width wide. SHAME ON YOU! Please use this in your advertisements.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
It was like camping in a swamp. We couldn't even dump our tanks. We stayed an extra hour because they said they needed to fix the pump for tht dump station since our site was full. When that was fixed we couldn't dump there either as it didn't drain at all. We had to leave with two full gray tanks and one go black tank. The campsite smelled like sewage. Many of the tent campers had to leave.
Jun 26, 2018
Helpful Staff, great location!
Jun 26, 2018
Too many potholes, on all the gravel roads, hard to bike. We were located on the only asphalt road in there, and we had to drive through and walk around a 20 x 4 ft area of water the entire time. No fun. We had a week booked for August, I went down to the office to ask what my site # was for that week, so I could check it out, he said we don't reveal sites until day of arrival. I cancelled it!
Jun 26, 2018
Very clean bath houses and helpful staff. We will return!
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Our area was pretty much under water the whole time there. We asked to move but the campsites offered were as much under water or worse. We ended up leaving a day earlier than our reservation was for. Was also very disappointed to see the pedal cars were gone. Our family had such a great time last year and didn’t want to leave! This year the kids were begging to leave! Mosquitos were really bad
Jun 26, 2018
Chincoteague has lots to offer and I enjoyed our visit. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this KOA. This campground has them all packed in. Almost no room for your car. Sites are gravel or sand and because of the weather many were full of water. This was the worst facility I have stayed at within the KOA family. I cannot see myself using this campground again. I rate this KOA a solid 3!
Jun 26, 2018
We loved it. The only problem we had, was all the rain. It puddled at certain spots and made it difficult to undo all our hookups. Will definitively come again.
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
The roads within the campground are in very bad condition. The campsites are un-level and tight. The staff at the front desk were very friendly! Activities were cancelled for Harry Potter weekend on Saturday due to a wedding, very disappointing for the kids! (Reason for coming that specific weekend) The only reason to come back is the location.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals