Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2018
The only thing wrong were the roads were very bumpy.
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Just a word of caution, if you want to see the lighthouse from your site, not all "deluxe patio sites" have a view of the light house. Even the ones that are closer are only obscured views, not "perfect". If you want the patio site pay for it, but if you want the lighthouse, get one of the other sites in the first row, 50 amp full hookup, 276-259, we were in # 1, was told "none of them can see"
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Very nice..enjoyed everything. Site was easy to get into and as advertised. Employees were very nice and helpful! Bus/trolley driver very informative and pleasant! Only issue was bathhouse looked like it wasn’t cleaned in quite a while which was a shame because it was beautifully remodeled.
Sep 24, 2018
It was just great! Everyone was so nice when we checked in and had all my pertinent info. Love it there!
Sep 24, 2018
We had a great time at Chincoteague KOA Resort! We rented a deluxe cabin and it was clean and looked very new. Came with all kitchenware too! We loved the screen enclosed porch with the double gliding chair and the outside fire pit and grill. Definitely made use of the 24 hour laundry facilities. The best part was that if you forgot something, you could always go to the store and get them!
Sep 24, 2018
Friendly staff. Great store. Thoroughly enjoyed the water park and trolley into town. Grounds were well maintained. Will definitely be visiting again!
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 23, 2018
Lovely campground, wide variety of sites...tent, rv, rv w/ patio. There were both open and tree covered sites. Our site was level and graveled. Was clean and had a fenced dog area with dog bags. Nice camp store. Mosquitoes were thick but the came around with a truck and sprayed. Campground was a quick drive to the park and ocean. Will return!
Sep 23, 2018
Our stay at Chincoteague Island, VA was the best, we enjoyed the pool, the ease of getting around the campground on our bikes. Only minutes away from Assateague Island and the beautiful light house. We will be back again it was awesome.
Sep 23, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 19, 2018
Campground was nice, and although we expected mosquitos, it was a bit over the top. Thankfully they sprayed it so it worked out. Not to blame the campground, only yourself for not preparing. The most annoying thing was all the golf karts driving around. We found that pretty annoying and would recommend to have designated roads for that. Children could get hurt. Hence a 3.
Sep 17, 2018
Delux cabins were new and beautiful! We will be back!
Sep 16, 2018
Point of interest: the restrooms were very muddy and in need of upkeep, and possible remodel.
Sep 14, 2018
We had a great time there! I was impressed with how clean the cabins and bathrooms were. Growing up I worked at a campground, so I know how challenging it is to keep everything in great shape like that. It was everything our family needed. We wished our stay was longer, but we had to evacuate due to hurricane florence. And guess what? The mosquitos really weren't too bad.
Sep 14, 2018
Staff was friendly, we were disappointed that the water park had closed, so we stayed a second day and closed again. The cost of the stay for two adults a 9 year old and a infant was too high in my opinion for just a tent campsite without hook ups. In the future we sill stay at the nearby State park.
Sep 13, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
Nice campground but way over priced. no cable most KOA's it is included. I know you spray but way too many mosquitos on the island. Didn't like the lawn mowing at dinner time. Couldn't it be done in the afternoon when most people are away?
Sep 12, 2018
Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathhouse when I had to use it to take a shower one night during my stay, went in the office to notify them and the young guy didn’t seem to care and said I am sure they got it today!
Sep 12, 2018
Our stay was cut short by an evacuation order by the governor and campground. This was our second stay this summer in Chincoteague and as always was great . We have been coming to Chincoteague for 33 years and never a disappointment. This is our respite. I don’t want to recommend it too highly so it doesn’t become overcrowded. The KOA staff is great and I will return in spring again
Sep 12, 2018
It was a great time. We were looking forward to using the water park but it rained and didn't get a chance then. The campground is very clean and well taken care of. Bathrooms very clean. Staff very friendly and the whole campground is a very nice experience.
Sep 12, 2018
I had never been to Chincoteague Island and i thought it was great. We weren’t able to use the water park due to weather but we will definitely come back
Sep 11, 2018
Was staying in a cabin--Very clean-- You just need a small table on the porch for the morning coffee.
Sep 11, 2018
made a 4 day reservation 6 months in advance and given a dirt site in the sun when there were at least 8 sites with pads and shade - tried to move site but told no that others were reserved when brochure even states that there are NO reserved sites - and then, two sites never filled
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
our first visit to the KOA but used to stay here in the 90's under the old management. We had a great site, real level with a great view. The bath house was really clean although one shower in both the mens and ladies room was out of order. We had rotten weather and missed a lot of the planned activities. The negatives are the roads in the campgrounds and it is expensive to stay.
Sep 11, 2018
Our time with friends was awesome. A perfect place for all of us to meet.
Sep 11, 2018
Weather really sucked with lots of rain so didn’t get a chance to use the waterpark or enjoy the outside that much but of course that was not KOAs fault
Sep 11, 2018
Had everything we could have wanted and so close to Assateague Island.
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Great place to stay, a lot of great inprovements I would like to see roads fixed maybe crushed stones or something like that still a great place!!!
Sep 11, 2018
Quiet weekend for my husband and I. There was a mistake on the advertising for the water park weekend. On the brochure it stated it would be open Friday - Sunday (verified by office staff). We were walking to the park on Friday (Sunny and 90) and was told the park would not be open due to an advertising mistake. Very disappointing because the rest of the weekend it rained.
Sep 10, 2018
it is fine if they can keep sites that we were informed and not have them all mixed when we get there
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
We stayed on a pad w/table & chairs. I really like that but I would have like a square table instead of a round table
Sep 10, 2018
I would think when it is raining ALL DAY they would have more activities in the activities center for kids or a least have some board games set out. I am very disappointed in this KOA this time and I have been several times this year. I don't know when I will be back after this.
Sep 10, 2018
First time this yr very impressed with water park Wish it had not rained all weekend, felt like we should get a rain check, since we were unable to use any of the facilities. Would love to return.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
We had a great stay!! We would recommend
Sep 10, 2018
We loved it, it wasn't busy as it was more of an off season, the amenities where nice and close to other stores if we had forgotten anything else. There where plenty of bathrooms which where clean and never very far away. The camp ground was extremely close to the nature preserve and really close to the rest of the town as well. perfect location.
Sep 10, 2018
Bathrooms need to be checked more often, example. Shower had long black hair all over stall. Also the dumping station was full so I could not dump my trailer. We did have a lot of rain but still think I could have been able to dump. Did have a great time at the Water park before it started to rain.
Sep 10, 2018
It was fine, however the waterpark ended up being closed on both days that we were there. It was free waterpark weekend, and that was the only reason we had booked the stay. I understand there were safety concerns with thunder, but it never opened back up after the storm had passed, and didn't open at all the following day. Very disappointing.
Sep 10, 2018
It was our first time camping at KOA Chincoteague. We had a reallly nice stay. Had really good weather & hit the beach everyday. Went to see & climb the Lighthouse Thursday. Friday night we had a really good dinner downtown at Bill’s Sea Food & Steakhouse. Downtown is really nice to walk around & browse through the shops. We will see you next year!
Sep 10, 2018
Me and my boys had a wonderful stay here, everyone of the staff members were pleasant, professional and helpful, and our safari tent was so much fun. We especially loved the waterpark passes for the weekend included in our stay and the trolly service that took us through the beach. John was so wonderful and he made a great recommendation for dinner! We will likely be back next year!! Thank you
Sep 10, 2018
staff and facilities are far above average.
Sep 10, 2018
Muy bueno.. tranquilo, limpieza, y amabilidad.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals