Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 10, 2017
Very nice facility but feel your rates are high
Oct 09, 2017
This is been our 18th year at the Maddox now KOA Campground. We really like the improvements especially the bathrooms. One thing I did want to make mention is the sink attached to each bathroom should have shelves on each side of it for the tenters who need to wash their dishes there. We can't wait to come back next year at the same time. How much of a price increase over the $50 and $55 price
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Love what you have done with the former Maddox
Oct 09, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay...nice and peaceful
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Wonderful campground! Always exceptionally clean and quiet! Our group did a scavenger hunt and everyone complained that they could not find some of the items because it was so clean!! Only negative is #263, the sewer pipe is too high. Hoping to return again before closing, if not, see you next summer!
Oct 09, 2017
Nice campground with every nice facilities. However our first night was a nightmare because of never ending last coming and very noisy campers. We had to ask several time for quiet time at 1am. I was expecting that KOA campground staff would have been a bit more attentive of what was going on and would have taken an action themselves. The second night was way more peaceful.
Oct 09, 2017
I loved the events like Bingo. Met a lot of nice people. The staff was friendly and helpful. Love, love the climate controlled bathhouses. CAUTION: I noticed a tree that seemed to be cracked about half way up looking as if the top could fall. Just to the left of the Women's entrance to bathhouse number 1. You might want to check it out.
Oct 09, 2017
We stayed here to go to Assateague. We loved our time at the campground - all the facilities were beautiful and well-maintained, it was located in a fantastic site well-situated to the town and parks, and the staff were fantastic.
Oct 08, 2017
nicest koa on the east coast
Oct 08, 2017
The only thing I didn't like was the bug sprayer in the evening with no warning. If it kills insects do you think it's good for humans? I don't!! HARE KRSNA my friend
Oct 08, 2017
Great place to visit. Nice, clean campground and AWESOME new cabins... have everything! Can't wait for the water park in 2018! We'll be back!
Oct 07, 2017
Very nice and peaceful
Oct 07, 2017
Awesome place to stay with friends and family! Staff was super friendly and helpful and the campground was amazingly clean with beautiful views and close proximity to everything you might need. Highly recommend
Oct 06, 2017
We had a wonderful time Kayaking and Biking. Campground clean and everyone was very helpful and nice. We will be returning :)
Oct 05, 2017
Very nice campground. Clean bathrooms and showers & good wi-fi. Close to local attractions. The only issue I had was the lack of cable at campsites. Cable only at delux patio sites and in cabines.
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Nice renovations Very quiet
Oct 03, 2017
The cleanest most organized campsite I've ever been to.
Oct 03, 2017
Pleasant staff; clean facility; wonderful area. So pleased since it was our first time camping.
Oct 03, 2017
We loved the new upgrade from the old Maddock. However we did not appreciate being around our camp fire when your truck sprayed (insects) the area unannounced. We also heard about a water park being added and am against it. We really enjoy the peace and quiet.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
This was our first stay here. Everything was wonderful. The staff was all extremely friendly. They even had a small gift for my daughter as I had mentioned upon booking that it was my daughters birthday and she had chosen to camp for her celebration. In comparison to other campgrounds in the area, this was our favorite. Thank you for a great stay!!!
Oct 03, 2017
We stayed in the deluxe cabin and had a phenomenal time. The staff were wonderful, the views were amazing, and the campgrounds were clean and organized. We're definitely going back!
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
OMG we had a blast ! Your KOA wa so clean that is a BIG + We are in the begging stages of organizing a family get together for 2018. We will be back for sure. We loved it and will definitely spread the word ð
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
The campground was very well maintained. We especially appreciated the numerous bathrooms/shower houses and how well kept they were.
Oct 02, 2017
Enjoyed our stay and the facility. Great location.
Oct 02, 2017
Staff at the Chincoteague KOA were very helpful everyone from the front desk clerk at checkin, the gentleman that followed us to our site to assist in getting my Travel trailer situated on the site, the people providing security rounds and the staff at the camp store! We will definitely be returning. The only improvement would be to shield the NE campsites from McDonalds intense bright lights.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Very nice & clean place. Some people play obnoxious music. Quite expensive for a bare tent site. People walk dogs in the grass for setting up tents. They should be urged to use the specified area for letting their dogs relieve themselves. Park apparently does not enforce the camper limit. There were 4 carloads of kids camping right next to me. With the place fairly empty I didn't like that.
Oct 01, 2017
Stayed only one night for driving break. Will definitely come back. Only five hours from New Jersey Shore area. Camp ground was beautiful, peaceful and very clean. Bathrooms, showers and structures were brand new. We also appreciated the security guard at gate enterance.
Sep 29, 2017
The weather was beautiful, and we enjoyed the pool.. We were so glad we could launch our kayaks right at the campground instead of finding a launch farther from Assateague. We saw many other campers crabbing from the new pier. We loved watching the lighthouse at night from our campfire. My husband even was able to fly his kite in the field by the bay. Nice new laundry facilities and bathhouse!
Sep 28, 2017
The mosquitos on Assateague were a disaster, but other than that, we very much enjoyed our stay. Beautiful place!
Sep 28, 2017
One of the best we have stayed in. Great little town as well with lots to see & do. Staff was constantly available and working to keep things neat and clean. A+
Sep 27, 2017
Very nice place!
Sep 27, 2017
Clear and well taken care of and the sites were large with plenty of room to park tow vehicle.
Sep 27, 2017
My family and I had a wonderful time camping here. The staff was professional and friendly. The bathrooms were cleaned every day. They also had a truck spray for mosquitoes. Our kids had fun at the pool and on the bounce pillow. It was relaxing and quiet in the evenings too. We will definitely come back here next year.
Sep 27, 2017
I have been staying at this campground for 13 years. This was my first time staying since the new ownership. I have to say I was very disappointed in the staff. I was at the campground about 1 1/2 hours prior to check in time and was told that I would be charged 25.00 if I wanted to do this. It was off season and there were very few people staying in the primitive tent sites. Very sad
Sep 26, 2017
Had an awesome time!
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Site and restrooms very clean. Staff very helpfully. Enjoyed Wi-Fi and pool. Only problem was TV reception. Really need cable through Campground.
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Relaxing family vacation. Staff was friendly and accommodating
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
The beach and natural preserve are wonderful. The mosquitoes on the other hand are unbearable (we're still scratching). This KOA is more of a stand out with respect to service. I was pleased with the security guard & cleanlines. The pool needs updating (chipping & peeling floor). The convenience store could use some variety. Frozen section looked aged. Overall very nice campground!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals