Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2017
Very nice campground. Clean restrooms and a great campstore. We did have a issue with the water pressure and the circuit breaker is underrated. All the staff we came across were very pleasant. We will be back.
Aug 22, 2017
I am not happy at all. Very disappointed because the key wasn't available when I checked in. The cabin is not what I expected to be. Very expensive and not even letting me stay even just for another hour. They want me to check out on the dot whereas I arrived late night already and everything wasn't prepared. Very unorganized.
Aug 22, 2017
The only downside is the mosquitoes. Other than that had a good time.
Aug 22, 2017
The camping site was good. Accessible to the stores, to the beach, and to the churches. The bathrooms were new and clean. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating.
Aug 22, 2017
The bathroom closet to my camper was closed for 2 day. I thought it was a little pricey to stay here compared to other campgrounds close to the ocean that I have stayed.
Aug 22, 2017
We loved Chincoteague Island and the campground staff was professional and helpful. The site was clean and the location to town was a bonus. The negative thing that happened was with other campers and the loud music and karaoke machine was too much.
Aug 22, 2017
Decent stay. The staff was great and cheerful (always appreciated personally).As many others have stated the sites are SMALL and very CLOSE TOGETHER. Bathrooms were great, clean and new. Pool was small and kinda old TBH.The mosquitoes were awful just like everyone said, but I came into it knowing that and sprayed often, so it was somewhat bearable. Hope to be back after the water park gets built!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Very nice, great weather and the staff were all great, very friendly! We will be back.
Aug 22, 2017
Everything was perfect except for last night when group of youngsters did not respect quiet hours and partied loudly till 1:30 AM. No reaction from camp management.
Aug 22, 2017
Loved the campground andies. Friendly staff. Clean bathrooms! Weren't too happy about neighbors showing up at 12:30 am and setting up camp until 2 am without regard for anyone else (noisy). It was alarming to see a bug sprayer driving through the campground during breakfast. We would have left the campground for a while if we'd had warning. Overall, we enjoyed our experience.
Aug 21, 2017
Too many people in tents multiple sites had 6 tents on it need to check car tags better.Losing money on these sites.Need more activities for kids.Food cart needs to be open longer.Map showed tiki bar when asked abt it was told not open until 2018.Deck for kayaking needs to be extended with more steps or ramp to unload.Should offer breakfast on certain days and ice cream.Need schedule for trolley
Aug 21, 2017
LOVED our stay at KOA Chincoteague, we stayed here years ago when it was Maddox Family campground. the bath houses are so clean and well maintained - except the one closest to our site being closed on and off through out the 18th and 19th which was annoying - notifying campers of the issue would make it less so! pool is so nice except needs larger deck area. LOVE the dock area also.
Aug 21, 2017
When we booked we were given a site number, however when we arrived that was completely different. We started setting up our camp site and we had no electric. They were unable to fix it so we had to be moved to a different site. Never asked me if I had a preference just told me what site to move to. We ended up across from several tent sites. Not our first choice for sure.Mosquitoes were terrible.
Aug 21, 2017
The staff were great. Has a great time. But the magueiteos were very bad causing us to leave a day early.
Aug 21, 2017
Great. Should have mosquito sprayed more. Need better activities that are fun for early teenagers
Aug 21, 2017
The campground needs a road for each site. That means gravel for your car or truck and a pad for your trailer. It is a muddy mess when it rains..SOME OF THE SITES UNDER WATER.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
First let me say that the campsite and the pool were very nice. I feel you could use more umbrellas I was not happy with our neighbors loud music being played at 6:00 in the morning or during our family time. We try to respect the other campers and to follow the rules of any campground that we stay at. Maybe the rules should be told to campers as they check in. Bathrooms could be cleaned more.
Aug 21, 2017
The staff was very professional and quick to resolve any issues that you may have had. This KOA had more tent sites then most. They were very limited to A class motor coaches. The only real concern we had was the speed in which vehicles were traveling thru the camp sites. The were a lot of small children riding bikes and moving around. On the positive side, very family friendly.
Aug 21, 2017
I've stayed at a couple other KOAs and we've always enjoyed our stay. This KOA was set up poorly in my opinion. There was almost no distinction between the different tent sites, to the point that our tent was literally almost on top of the tent for the site behind us. Plus, there were only 3 bath houses and one was out of order the entire weekend meaning the other 2 were crowded and dirty.
Aug 21, 2017
a guy directed us to our site, fine. The hookups were easy, yep. But the management was poor. One of the bathhouses crashed out, not so bad, stuff happens but where they fell really short was servicing the over used other bathrooms, filthy, out of paper products, slow to responds. Wouldn't it be nice to have a person riding around just asking how people were, if they needed anything etc.
Aug 21, 2017
My husband and I had a quiet stay in the back in RV sites. Everything was clean and tidy. Love the new kayak pier for access right from the campground. Only issue was bath houses were quite full over the weekend with all the tent campers. May want to consider another one!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Your campground is good but our trip was kinda ruined as you camp host guided us into our camping site #525 - Camp host showed us to our site on a golf cart. He had turn wide around a tree which I did and the R/rear of my class A scraped a tree on the passenger side. Had the camp host got off his (_ ss) golf cart to guide us into our site he would have seen that we were going to scrape the tree.
Aug 21, 2017
Love the shuttle and games for children
Aug 21, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. We haven't been happy at previous KOAs where we have stayed, but this one was great.
Aug 21, 2017
It is always great. It is nice that put up Tent only signs in primitive camping. The shower I used was clogged and full of hair but that is to be expected sometimes. Still our favorite place to stay. Mosquitoes and all...LOL
Aug 20, 2017
Wish we had more time to take advantage of ceverything. We've been going to Chincoteague for 45 years and have stayed many places. Everyone loved the bath houses! The new deluxe cabin was a fun stay with comfy beds.
Aug 20, 2017
The only bad thing was the mosquitoes
Aug 20, 2017
Great friendly and helpful staff, special mention for Bob who guided us to our site. Pool a bit small for size of campground and lacked shade except for two umbrellas, temperature however was refreshing.
Aug 19, 2017
We loved this KOAs, except for the bugs. Even with them spraying, it didn't help. The lady who checked us in didn't speak English very well and failed to communicate that trash could be picked up at our site daily. The cost of rentals, like golf carts, was very high. No cable at RV sites was disappointing. Our cousins had a cabin and they had cable. The bath houses were awesome & brand new.
Aug 19, 2017
Fantastic place Enjoyed every minute of my stay. Will definitely return
Aug 19, 2017
The campground was clean and the staff was very accommodating ! We went there primarily for the beautiful beach and never even looked at the pool Not sure why they have the need for a new waterpark I'm sure that's just going to raise the price The bath house and laundry were very convenient and nicely updated Will definitely return if prices stay down
Aug 19, 2017
Great stay Aug 13-18. A "happy to please" type of staff. Campground well taken care of. Bathrooms were very clean at all times of the day. Looking forward to going back.
Aug 19, 2017
Excellent, staff is very friendly. Our Deluxe Cabin was ready when we arrived around 1:00pm. It was very clean. we loved our stay. I have one important comment, we were eaten alive by mosquitoes, and I myself was stung by a wasp.We are still fighting the huge red spots throughout our bodies. We put tons of OFF for mosquitoes but it did not help. You need to work on that. Best
Aug 19, 2017
After being directed to our site and shown hookups, we couldn't get cable tv to work. Thinking it was our equipment, I tried different cables and checked wiring in trailer. Finally called office who said our site did not have cable tv, even though we asked for it and was told it had it when reserving. The next morning I discovered a long cable wire coming from a big box by the road. It worked
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Campground was nice and staff were friendly. Unfortunately, the mosquitoes were awful and made it difficult to stay outside. Obviously, the campground can't control nature. Another issue unrelated to the campground was the new pricing policy at the USFWS National Seashore. They no longer offer daily passes, which means you have to pay $20 for a weekly pass or $40 for an annual pass.
Aug 19, 2017
Great family location for beach fun...
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly and helpful. From the time we arrived at the gate, we were treated like welcome guest. The campground itself was a mixture of old and new. The bath houses are brand new. The sites themselves were paved with crushed shells and level. The lighthouse view site overlook the marsh. Nice The only bad thing was the fire ring in our site was not cleaned up when we arrived.
Aug 18, 2017
I had a okay time at the KOA camp ground , but I think it was over priced for what you get in comparison to other camp grounds in the area
Aug 18, 2017
It was good, however the distance to the beach was much longer than anticipated. The KOA really is in the town. It was quite bright at night due to the lights from the streetlights and the town. Due to the proximity to the marsh there were many mosquitos even before dusk. The wood that we bought was soaking wet and never did light properly. this is due to the wood not being kept in a shelter.
Aug 18, 2017
A lot if mosquitos. A nice KOA with friendly staff.
Aug 17, 2017
Once the campground is completed it may be better. When we arrived we did not have electric. Then we had no cable. We rigged it to our neighbors so we would have TV. Then the water was shut off. When we were leaving our neighbors had not had cable and hooked to the neighbor and their electric went out during the night. I will not return until they get it fixed. The bath houses are terrific.
Aug 17, 2017
We loved how nice the staff was. The bathrooms are very new, clean and well stocked. We loved how centrally located the campground is to town. There are some family activities on the weekends. The views from the back of the campground is lovely with the lighthouse within view. You will be seeing us there again next year!!!
Aug 17, 2017
Muy bien
Aug 16, 2017
The communication at the front desk was horrible. They told me the campground had an up and running Tiki bar, we were going to go to it for my daughters birthday! PS they forgot to say they don't have a liquor license! They also said they have a trolley but forgot that it does not run when the driver is tired and decides to go home- we will never go back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals