Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2018
Jul 04, 2018
We've been coming since the early 1990's and haven't missed a year. We do love it. Many improvements have been made by KOA, but one area of improvement is the outside sinks attached to the restrooms. They are pathetic and too small. We wash our dishes there, and there is no place to set the dishes. And the sides of the sinks have sheet metal attached, and you can't fit a pan in there to wash.
Jul 04, 2018
This is a great campground, beautiful place, very nice people, well maintained. Local food was great. Only drawback is the mosquitos and horse flies, with bug spray and deet we still got lots! of bug bites.
Jul 04, 2018
Great inprovement with the campground, but the bathrooms needed more supervision. Since they weren’t very clean, every time we went.
Jul 04, 2018
No recycling available, Bathrooms very dirty.
Jul 04, 2018
The ladies room was dirty and had no toilet paper for 24hrs.When this was brought to the attn of thgentleman at the office he replied well you are camping.I mean $70 per night for a tent site I would expect there at least to be toilet paper in the restroom.Otherwise I felt the men's room was clean and always had toilet paper.The rest of the park was great and I really liked it and would stay here
Jul 04, 2018
Did not like the site it just wasn't comfortable, site to small, campers all on top of each other!!
Jul 04, 2018
We loved it here. We are definitely coming back! Sincerely, The Thomas family
Jul 04, 2018
Loved koa, was hot, but took the kids to water park. All employees were too nice, stayed at sunset beach koa, most were rude in store and office, two thumbs up to Chincoteague
Jul 03, 2018
You have a beautiful place and everyone was very helpful. Thank you for everything.
Jul 03, 2018
Very friendly employees. Very clean bathrooms. Nice and quiet at night.
Jul 03, 2018
Very nice compared to when this property was the Maddox Family Campground. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the entire campground. Very happy to see the Maui Jacks as we pulled in!
Jul 03, 2018
It was awesome, all our expeditions were fulfill. Clean, clean, clean.
Jul 03, 2018
This KOA wasn't quite as nice as many of the others I have stayed at, it was an average campground but more expensive than many. Our first day there the bathrooms were super clean but by the evening of day 2 they were trashed. There was a lot of loud partying in the campground and even disco lights through the trees. I understand that it was very crowded but I feel there should be more monitoring.
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Campsites are extremely close together. Bathhouse number 1 was not cleaned for at least 12-24 hours. Office staff blew me off when I complained. There was no toilet paper in any stall. Floors, bathroom stalls, and shower stalls were absolutely filthy. I have pictures. For the amount of money that we’re paid for a campsite per night, we could’ve stayed in a hotel. This is unacceptable.
Jul 03, 2018
We used to camp for more than 15 years there. Our children grown and since 2015 we came back. Spaces are smaller an bathrooms were dirty, no toilet paper, there were very nice but..
Jul 03, 2018
Todo muy limpio
Jul 03, 2018
Stayed June 29 - July 2, 2018 Accomadations & employees were nice. However, the campground reeked of sewage and toilets in the bathhouse (connected to the check in building) would not flush. Nasty!! Every morning around 6:00 only 1or 2 toilet stalls (5-6 total) had toilet paper? Kids woke around 7:00am, and the bathhouses were closed for cleaning?? Why not clean late/earlybefore people wake up?
Jul 03, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
Just pissed off first of all the place is completely crowded with enough space to park a bicycle the bathrooms are disgusting never cleaned and I wouldn't recommend my dog to use them the people that work there are friendly I feel the park should be designed so that people are not sleeping on top of each other my next door neighbor was snoring so loud that he kept me up all night the price of a on
Jul 02, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. The campground was clean, the staff was always helpful. We had a problem with our campsite flooding. They did come and pump out our site and gave us pallets to use. Campsites need to be tended to for flooding issues. It was still a great stay and we will definitely return..
Jul 02, 2018
Bath-house was immaculate! Staff was friendly, polite, and very helpful with my many questions. Loved that you had trash pickup each morning. Located a block from bridge to Assauteague....VERY convenient! Downside- the campsites are on top of each other. Being in a non-airconditioned pop up with all our windows open, the all night lights and talking until 3 AM made sleeping difficult.
Jul 02, 2018
They charge you based on when you make reservations. For instance we paid $105/night and our friends paid $145 for a site right next to us. The sites are short and narrow. Wouldn’t recommend it.
Jul 02, 2018
I had a great time until all the tent sites came in. We had numerous people walk through our sites. The same people were also noisy after quiet hours.
Jul 02, 2018
Our pull-through site was well shaded and pleasant. The people were very nice and efficient.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Fair campground, but very expensive, $114/night. Did not rain while we were there, but you could see if it had we would have step into mud puddle to get in and out of trailer. Other sites had a similar situation.
Jul 02, 2018
Had a lovely time. Mosquitoes were bad but at least not at its worst. Shuttle to beach super convenient and driver on Saturday was super friendly and accommodating to my family and me. We all had a ball in the pool and at the new nearby water park! All the workers arc KOA including kids activities folks were super friendly. We will be back again next year!!!
Jul 02, 2018
The overall campground was nice. The bathrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I was quite bothered by the fact that quiet hours weren't enforced. I'm not concerned with people being loud or enjoying themselves, I'm more upset that a travel trailer was allowed to enter and set up immediately adjacent to my site at 11:30pm waking everyone up. They weren't done setting up until about 12:45am.
Jul 02, 2018
Prices varied greatly. Seemed to charge whatever they wanted. Site was dirty.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
My stay was great. The only problem is having to pay extra for checking in a couple hours early. The check in time should be 12 noon not 2 pm. I don’t get a refund because I leave at 7AM. That is the only complaint that I have. Thank you Jim griffin
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
We like the campground, but we rent 2 pull thru lots side by side and they put us on separate lots, with a lots lot available
Jul 02, 2018
Low lying areas were flooded after heavy rain. A/C in men's restroom near office kept near 60 degrees, was told by the staff that it couldn't be fixed. WiFi slow. Beautiful, clean restrooms. All the staff very, very friendly and helpful.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
The first night was fun but the 2nd evening and we come back from the beach our camper was surrounded by tens and actually have one right up against our slide on our camper we were told that there wouldn't be any tense around us because they were all camper Lots and that didn't happen we then had to pack our camper up and move to a different lot because someone let the tent people rent the camper
Jul 01, 2018
Great stay for 2nd year in a row. Would like to see a basketball court @ campground. Also would be nice if pool was bigger and possibly further away from water park. Deluxe site with concrete pad was amazing. Wish we had a fire ring instead of a chimineya because we do a lot of cooking.
Jul 01, 2018
The only thing disappointing was the kayak dock. Very unusable. Would be useable if you had a floating platform with a ladder. Otherwise, the accommodations were fantastic. Very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 01, 2018
We booked 5 days. It was Wonderful! We showed up early and was allowed to check in early. Which was nice. We had a great time and enjoyed every min of it. The only down fall was the mosquitoes . But that comes from being right by the water! My Sister and her family came to. I was happy to be placed side by side. Thank you for doing that!!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
my view of the campsite was awesome and amazing and it made my stay even better, my family enjoyed it very much.we will be coming back very soon.
Jul 01, 2018
It was just my husband and I. It's gotten too expensive for us considering we don't use most if the amenities.
Jul 01, 2018
Great stay. Staff are very nice and friendly
Jul 01, 2018
Loved the stay. Very friendly people. The restrooms and the whole facility was very clean. Already made reservations for another stay.
Jul 01, 2018
The campground is lovely, and the bathrooms are the cleanest and most comfortable campground bathrooms I have ever seen. We camped in a tent, in a basic tent site on the edge of the campground. Our neighbors did not honor the quiet time rule, however, and kept us up until at least 1:30am. I would suggest that the quiet time curfew be more strictly enforced.
Jun 30, 2018
We enjoyed our stay even though it was kind of wet. I would like to see maybe more gravel down to cut down on the muddy roads and pot holes. That would be my only complaint.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals