Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful campground! Beautiful, clean, and great staff! Our only suggestion would be to add some gravel to the sites.
Aug 28, 2017
Fabulous, most relaxing vacation ever! Our 3rd stay in the deluxe cabins and we loved them! Can't wait for our 4th stay
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful stay. Beautiful campground, convenient location, beautiful bath house. Loved it!
Aug 28, 2017
The stay for the most part was great. The only thing that was disappointing was the amount of people and stuff that is allowed on sites. We had a huge large family with spotlights right across the road. But the new bath houses are awesome. We will be back
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was nicely formatted, the bathrooms relatively clean. The spraying of mosquitoes was done without warning and during our stay quite unnecessary(quite windy).
Aug 28, 2017
Very clean and nicely updated.
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for your helping us on lifting up our travel trailer that fell off it's block. Regarding that, we would have appreciate to be located on a much more even site, as it was almost empty when we arrived. Appreciated to be offered another site though. Would have loved the pool to be open later too. The installations were very clean. Beware of the mosquitos!!!
Aug 28, 2017
Always a pleasure to take the family to KOA Chincoteague! We have family members from 70 years old down to 8 months and the staff always goes above and beyond with activities for all ages and hospitality second to none! We are always impressed how clean and organized the campground is even during the busiest days of summer. The friendly and helpful staff keep us coming back!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Camping with family, appreciated we could be have close sites and allowed to park adjacent and conveniently to take advantage of the shade of the trees! Friendly gentleman that parked us. Extra time in pool with grandchildren along with other guests also a bonus. All in all friendly staff.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
We are local to the area just needed a weekend of camping. We were there for only two nights and didn't use the amenities. KOA staff was excellent, extremely friendly and helpful. Location to Restaurants etc., is ideal. We were in a 37 foot class A.
Aug 28, 2017
Everything was perfect! Wish quiet time was later or a section where quiet time was later. But everything is always perfect.
Aug 28, 2017
This is one of the best campgrounds i have ever stayed,
Aug 28, 2017
The campgrounds are a bit expensive and it's not as secluded as I would have liked. $25 for checking in early seems expensive and I would prefer pricing to be by number of campsites rather than number of people -- just a standard 6 person price and if you have more than 6 then buy a second site.
Aug 28, 2017
We love this campground, great site, great staff!
Aug 27, 2017
Great vacation we've been coming for some years now and I must say the improvements are amazing I can see as they continue this will be a first class place can't wait for next year
Aug 27, 2017
Very clean. Only issue was not a great deal of information was provided at check in including bathroom closures as well as "people leave trash near the road" subsequently I laid our cargo carrier out to dry and it was taken away and discarded making the return trip very difficult to pack up. When I called at night noone offered to check the dumpster or provide a credit or anything for inconvenienc
Aug 27, 2017
Our cabin was beautiful and very easy as our home away from home. Everyone was super friendly. We loved the screened porch. Crabbing off the pier, playing on the beach, pirate and pontoon tours;It was a really nice stay and I could/will easily do it all over again exactly the same way.
Aug 27, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful. View was awesome. Sits were roomy. Bathhouse was very clean and showers big and comfortable. Everything you needed was nearby
Aug 27, 2017
loved the new bath houses.
Aug 27, 2017
I was very disappointed that you did not have basic recycling. When I asked about this at the front desk, they looked at me like I was crazy. You should rovide for and promote basic recycling. I
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay...the kids favorite part was swimming in the pool and the jumper....The only negative was the mosquitos and flies.
Aug 26, 2017
You offered a midweek special which was book three nights and get the third night free. when I called to make my reservation the girl knew nothing about the special and said I could get it taken care of when I checked in. When I checked in , I got a discount but not what was offered. I was told I would need to speak to a supervisor . When I checked out, I asked again about the special and was tol
Aug 26, 2017
Great place to stay to explore Chincoteague Island! (Just bring bug spray!)
Aug 26, 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful but there are some other issues. Sewer connection is about 8 inches above ground level so be sure to carry blocks etc. to get an angle for drainage. Way too many tents for the available space; the camper next to us had 3. They sprayed regularly but mosquitos were still a problem.
Aug 26, 2017
At first, I did not enjoy the campground. There wasn't any place to grill and they charged us extra for arriving at noon. But it was so close to the park that it was worth it.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Bathrooms near my tent site were out of order is the only issue I had. The maintenance guy on the first night was my HERO with helping get a tarp over my tent before the storm hit. THANK YOU I'm sorry that I didn't get your name (Mike/Dave?)
Aug 25, 2017
Very enjoyable. Much to do, depending of activity preferences.
Aug 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We will definitely come back "glamping" again. Thanks for making our stay relaxing.
Aug 25, 2017
This was our first time staying here since it switched from Maddox to KOA and we were not disappointed!! The new bathhouses were very nice and always clean. Staff were very friendly and very knowledgeable about the events going on in the area. (We stayed during the eclipse.) Only complaint is it was not clear on the website or in my confirmation email about what time check-in was.
Aug 24, 2017
Very nice location and campground. Would have no problem camping there again. Will be booking a premium site next time due to the size of my camper and the proximity of the trees. It was a little difficult maneuvering my 5th wheel out of the site when we left.
Aug 24, 2017
Staff are fantastic. Near all the cool stuff!! Grounds level! wifi good! Standing water around the campground, not fun! Mosquito bites abound!! Through my clothing, with bug spray on!!!
Aug 24, 2017
We love it here at Maddox and can't wait to use kayak launch.
Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly, helpful staff. Loved that a shuttle was available to take around town...the driver was fantastic! Bathrooms were clean and modern...loved the music. Although I stayed in an RV, the bright, colorful cabins were nice to look at. Insect spraying every evening was helpful. Will definitely come back on my next trip to Chincoteague.
Aug 24, 2017
Staff was very friendly. The bathroom near our site was not working and we were given a golf cart for the weekend that made life much easier. The sites were a nice size. The bathrooms were clean and modern. A very nice stay.
Aug 23, 2017
Very clean and the staff was very friendly. The closest bathroom was closed the majority of the time so I had to ride my bike to the next bathroom which was kind of inconvenient. But otherwise the campground seem very well run and the kids had a great time!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Nice improvements our only concern is that next year with the water park going in, it will be a zoo.
Aug 23, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, beautiful views. Our only complaint would be that the kayak launch is only usable at peak high tide so plan a short paddle or one long enough to return on next peak high tide. My wife suggest a better launch platform from the dock.
Aug 23, 2017
Muy lindos dias pasamos en Chincotague volveremos.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was perfect bathrooms were exceptional and staff was friendly and excellent. Highly recommend this KOA it rocks!
Aug 23, 2017
The bathroom area near our site, pad 73, was twice locked out due to sewage overload. While they looked well maintained and clean inside, the sewage overload was surprising. Also, the site had a LOT of standing water, before, and after the rain. As a mosquito haven, this was a tad worrying. The pool and playgrounds are terrific, and the staff are very nice!
Aug 23, 2017
We had to clean up the site before we could make camp because there was trash everywhere and a large smelly bag of trash just sitting there when we arrived. I told a koa worker but no one ever came take care of it so we did it ourselves. Told lady at the desk and she said I wish you'd have told us, umm I did so... also no quiet hour enforcement (dog barking and loud generator running all night).
Aug 22, 2017
Park is still under construction, but a lot of really nice things have already been done. Kamping Cabins are really nice and bath houses are very luxurious! Each site still needs cable TV and concrete pads.
Aug 22, 2017
Relaxing and enjoyable. Nice Koa.
Aug 22, 2017
We overall had a great stay, but the mosquitoes were awful. You could not have breakfast, lunch or dinner outside without getting bit by tons of them. I understand that is outside of the koa's ability, but I would not go back this time of the year again. Also cleaning of bathhouses should be done prior to the morning and not during the morning rush hour (9-10ish).
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals