Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
The sewer hook ups are too high making it difficult to drain the tanks. Please fix this.
Jul 05, 2017
We had a great time! My only complaint is that I had to ask 3 times to get our electric for our site fixed. They did eventually get it fixed on out second night, but I had to ask 3 times. Other than that it was a lot of fun. Nice place for a family. Lots of things to do! We will be back!
Jul 05, 2017
It is quite place, a lot of fun times, kids could do a lot of activities. Swimming pool, bouncing pillow, ride , near the beach and amusement park. It is a good place to spent time for families with the kids.
Jul 04, 2017
The grounds were great and clean the only problem was some sites have trees and electrical boxes and the site assignments do do take all your registration info into account I had such a narrow site I could not open my awning and had problems fitting my 35' travel trailer with a slide out also very tight parking you truck on site.
Jul 04, 2017
Staff very personal and polite; facilities were extremely clean and air conditioned.
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
We enjoyed our stay Great location. unfortunately, we had a stream of campers walking through our site.we did report this, but it didn't stop.i understand that this was a busy time and the staff cannot always control rude campers. We will definitely be back at quieter time .
Jul 04, 2017
The 1st night we got there and set up our tent right @ 8:30pm. @ 10:15pm 6 cars w/ 18 ppl show up & set up 7 tents right on top of us(10-15 feet). They start 2 fires blowing smoke directly into our tent and their 3 dogs barked till 3 am.I told the front desk they said there was nothing they could do because it was an open tenting area. There was 80 yrds of open space on both sides. We had to move
Jul 04, 2017
Awesome staff! Perfect location
Jul 04, 2017
We were disappointed and discussed with the bathrooms. 3 toilets were unusable in the ladies and 1 in the men's bathroom while we were there. They were not well attended to on a regular basis. The floors should have been squeegee'd so no falls.Also the bathrooms at both locations were closed, at the same time, on monday morning at 8:45 am....very inconvenient!
Jul 04, 2017
The actual property is very nice except bathrooms were always dirty. No grills at site. The front desk staff lack kindness, poor customer service skills. There was no enforcement of quiet hours - my neighbors partied all night. My neighbors created a sea of tents with 5-6 tents per site or more-waited until later in the evening to put a lot of them up and took them down first thing in the morning
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
nice people and good facility
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
We stayed on a holiday weekend and it was packed. But it was great. Staff was great. The bathrooms were messy at times but the staff tried to keep up with it all. But over all we had a great stay.
Jul 04, 2017
Wi-Fi was very slow. Dusty -- need to spray water on roads to control dust. Lack of dumpsters for use after 10a.m. pickup service.
Jul 04, 2017
It was great
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Great location, but way too expensive for a basic tent site.
Jul 04, 2017
I had to wait in line to get back in to my campsite because new campers were arriving and the gate guard was checking them in. The large RV's blocked access to the store, wood, ice, etc. when checking in. Once the campground filled up, the bath houses were continuously messy - wet and dirty floors and toilet paper on the floor.
Jul 03, 2017
We were disappointed in the space between campsites, it was very pAcked and right on top of each other. Most of the staff was friendly. We unfortunately chose a weekend that was overwhelmed with tent people who were rude and allowed their children to drive golf carts wreckless and cut through our campsite (literally by our door) because they were too lazy to walk 5 feet up. We will not be going!!
Jul 03, 2017
We were in the last row and had a beautiful view of Assateague. Only problem was the Wifi.
Jul 03, 2017
Loved the campground, can't wait til next year when the water park opens. Wish some of the pull thru sites were bigger for larger trailers.
Jul 03, 2017
Our stay was great we had 6 kids and they had fun with all the things going on at koa we will defiantly be back
Jul 03, 2017
Our first night was great -peaceful with a beautiful view. The second night - completely different. The place was so overcrowded that it was so loud all day and night that we couldnt wait to leave. The staff were great but they couldn't keep up with the restroom/shower facilities due to the over-crowding. They were filthy. I also had to wait in a long line for a shower or to use the restroom.
Jul 03, 2017
Very much improved since it became a KOA. Keep up the great work.
Jul 03, 2017
Staff was great! Other campers didn't really follow all the rules and made it difficult to enjoy the whole stay! Would be nice if staff monitored the whole campsite into the evening/night hours as that is when campers didn't seem to follow posted rules about quiet times, sparklers, and fire burning. Tried to contact camp ground with concern but received no response.
Jul 03, 2017
We all had a good time in are weekend stay
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
This is a new KOA and it shows! Beautiful sites with shade, lots of room and friendly staff. There are plenty of shower houses (4) and all are very clean. Wish they had more washer and dryers, they will be putting more in soon.
Jul 03, 2017
Need better access to dump station
Jul 03, 2017
VERY NICE, EMPLOYEES NICE, ONE SUGGESTION THEY NEED A FENCE BY THE BOUNCE AREA. TOO CLOSE TO ROAD WITH CHILDREN THERE. THANK YOU
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. It's the first time we have stayed at your camp site, we have stayed at other camp sites at chincoteague before and I have to say yours was the best. The staff was friendly and helpful, everything was clean and accommodating. The only complaints/suggestion I have is my daughters complain about the woman's bathroom was dirty mainly the shower had a lot of hair in it f
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
Clean, friendly, fabulous!
Jul 03, 2017
The staff was super friendly and very helpful, when we had a problem with our site they corrected it immediately. Some of the sites were not clearly defined, and the female bathroom tended to be dirty, but considering it was,an extremely busy 4rth of July weekend, I think the staff was doing what they could. We saw them cleaning, it just didn't last as there were so many campers. Very convenien
Jul 02, 2017
Tons of updates to this campground including new bath houses. Not too crowded but always people coming in and out. The pull thru sites are a little small. Staff is very friendly! We will stay here again!
Jul 02, 2017
Staff very helpful had a wonderful time the only thing I would suggest is to post 5 mph signs along lanes I know it is in the handbook bit hardly anyone observes speed limit we will come back again
Jul 02, 2017
Outstanding!! The cabin far surpassed my expectations; the whole campground was so clean and well maintained; everyone was so helpful and friendly; I've told everyone since our stay there: Chincoteague KOA is the place to go!!
Jul 02, 2017
The cleanest bath facilities I have ever seen. Staff is outstanding. Bring bug spray! More K9 area would be great.
Jul 02, 2017
Great campground, very clean and friendly staff
Jul 02, 2017
Excellant facilities and activities. Too crowded, felt like sardines. Super clean restrooms but a little too cold after exiting showers.
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Vast improvements under the new owners. Very quiet during the whole stay. Would stay again
Jul 01, 2017
The staff was friendly, and the facility was clean and well-maintained.
Jul 01, 2017
Great place to stay new improvement with every visit
Jul 01, 2017
Very clean park with friendly helpful hosts. Some shady sites and some open which suited me fine so my satellite dish would work. Within walking distance of Chincoteague and if your feeling energetic, the beach. The only negative thing for me was narrow roads and some tight turns, but it's an island and land is at a premium. Didn't use the pool, wifi was good. Electric and water good.
Jul 01, 2017
The KOA was supposed to have waterfront sites, kayak ramp, and Tiki Bar. Sounded great, but it had none of those. We were celebrating our 47th anniversary, and had to make the best of it. We were placed in a field with know one around expecting the camp to fill up for the 4th - didn't. We remained in the field for the entire 5 days. At checkout I was told "Oh you could have moved"
Jul 01, 2017
It was nice that I could choose where to put up my tent and had a large area to spread out in. Other campgrounds designate small plots often uncomfortably close to neighboring campers. Area was clean, pool hours extensive.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals