Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Very clean campground; Loved the amenities; Was our first time visiting and plan to come back at least annually.
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Loved the new shower houses!!! We rented camping lot 174 with electric and water. The lots need to be more clearly marked, People seem to be unsure of where their lot starts and ends.In order to use the water/electric for our site we had to walk through the other campers site as they had their camper parked right next to the electric and water. The grass also needed to be cut where our tent was!
Sep 05, 2017
First trip with our new camper (ever) and it was perfect. Despite being a very busy holiday weekend, out site was roomy, staff was overall friendly and helpful, and the grounds were clean. Only suggestion would be for the activities center staff...they could be a little more engaging with the kids.
Sep 05, 2017
Too crowded and too many children running all over the place. Not for us
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Just finding out that all rates were different. Had to pay an extra $24 for bringing another kid with me (and they didn't even get to jump on the pillow on Saturday). Some tent campers were rude and walked through "our yard" all weekend and they let little kids drive the golf carts. They almost hit my truck at one point. Scooters shouldn't be allowed inside campground.
Sep 05, 2017
I had a blast!!
Sep 05, 2017
Nice campground facilities and grounds but staff and entertainment needs a lot of work also a lot of safety and wildlife protection that needs work. Crabs being caught not legally and the gate guard is also supposed to be the bounce pillow monitor also my first site got taken up by half a walk up reservation RV.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
we stayed in the new cabins over the long weekend. It was great, it had a kitchen, bathroom, comfortable beds, table, fire pit screened in porch which came in handy when the mosquitos came out. We usually camp in tents but this time my son wanted to check out the cabins, thank goodness because it poured Friday night and setting a tent up in the rain stinks.
Sep 05, 2017
big mix up with surrounding lots as to not having 50 amp electric. site was all mud no grass. put a huge group of hispanics adjacent to our site that ran a generator until 11pm every night. bathrooms were constantly dirty. plenty of open spots to spread campers out.
Sep 05, 2017
Great stay. Lots of rain and lots of standing water on a lot of campsites nowhere for it to drain..... But a awesome stay. Camp store had everything you needed if you forgot anything. Wasn't ready to go home!
Sep 05, 2017
Love the camp site! Very family friendly! Will come back and recommend to my friends.
Sep 05, 2017
Upon arrival we were placed in a 30 amp spot, although, we needed & paid for 50 amp. The guy who helped us was so nice and although it was raining and cold he took the time and moved us for just the night. In the morning we had to move again but they worked with us & we began enjoying our weekend away! Everyone was very nice!
Sep 05, 2017
Great KOA with lots of stuff to do.
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was great! You guys thought of everything. We had everything we needed, the facilities were clean and easily accessible and everyone was super friendly. Thanks for a great stay!
Sep 05, 2017
Everything was kept up very nice. The bathrooms were immaculate. We were really impressed.
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was very helpful!
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Staff were friendly and quick at check in. Facilities are nice and new. Disappointed in the site. Was muddy with no gravel. Maybe I missed it, but I don't recall the description saying it was a dirt site. Other campers were loud riding around blaring music on golf carts and carrying on late into the night. Does not seem like there is much enforcement of rules.
Sep 04, 2017
Pleasant staff, relaxing environment, renovations are great
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
We loved the campground. Everyone was so nice, professional, and helpful. The bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen. We had a great time in town and on the island. We will definitely come back again and have recommended this KOA campground to our friends.
Sep 02, 2017
We had a wonderful time! Campsite was great! Definitely will recommend!
Sep 02, 2017
We came in on Monday it rained on Tuesday it was an experience for my family with the weather. All in all we had a great vacation. The staff was great. And bathrooms were very clean. We will be back again. The Anglemyers
Sep 02, 2017
Wish it had been a more peaceful camping trip. It was very loud all night long. Staff didn't seem to care about anything- at all. It was our second stay there and it's not a place we will go back to.
Sep 02, 2017
Everything was Great. I will be back
Sep 01, 2017
Clean facility , staff friendly and knowledgeable . Tropical depression came thru left the campgrounds under water.
Aug 31, 2017
Out of the 5 campgrounds we stayed at this summer this is hands down our favorite. Beautiful tall pine trees create a nice canopy to shield the sun. All the picnic tables are brand new. New fire rings. The bathrooms and shower houses are the cleanest I've seen at any campground. And very friendly staff. This is the first time we ever booked a camping trip back to the same place a year in advance.
Aug 31, 2017
The KOA was very nice and the staff was friendly. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean and the kids loved the playground, bounce pad, and pool. Location is also great being close to the National Park. Would definitely return.
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
Pop-up camper, two adults, two teenage sons. We really enjoyed the activities and the Activity Director was especially nice and fun. The camp sites themselves were a little tight together, but other than that, we are considering a week long stay next year at this KOA.
Aug 31, 2017
always a nice stay. Campground flooded on Tues but of course the campground can't control the weather! Could of had more activities for kids but all in all a great stay!
Aug 30, 2017
Staff is very friendly but be more knowledgeable about amenities such as as when the shuttle runs and notify the campers about mosquitoe spraying details. Campground is well maintained. Bath houses are very clean. Already booked our next stay.
Aug 30, 2017
Campground is awesome, bathhouses clean. Could make a horseshoe pit. Overall very good with exception did say on site included cable but wasn't ready or available in my pull thru site.......
Aug 30, 2017
Two night stay. Large W&E site with great shade and view of the lighthouse. Dump site was accessible. Friendly staff, quiet stay. We will return for a longer stay.
Aug 29, 2017
All the staff was so helpful. They have a host with a golf cart that escorts you to your site, showed you where all your hook ups are. If you need assistance getting into your site they are there to help. Bath houses are super clean. They are checked multiple times a day.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a deluxe site and was worth the extra money. Bathrooms were clean. The kayaking ramp can't be used. No way to return in low tide. I would recommend management place a sign warning kyakers no way to return in low tide. During my stay there were people who couldn't return not knowing couldn't return during low tide. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
Aug 29, 2017
We rented a deluxe tent site. The bathrooms were always clean. Look forward to our next stay.
Aug 29, 2017
It was a lot of fun! The pool is great. Can't wait for the water park next year.
Aug 29, 2017
We had a very very pleasant stay. The staff was professional and the camp was very well maintained. The bath houses were exceptionally clean. We are already making arrangements to turn.
Aug 29, 2017
If I may suggest consider creating a designated area for older adults with no children and a few upscale amenities, including shade and a hedge boundary.
Aug 28, 2017
Had a great time. Facilities - nice; however would love to see Cable TV and modified gravel at every full hook-up site. Especially given the price increases for 2018. We did have one bad experience with a "front desk" employee who was rather unpleasant at two different occasions to my wife and I. I am worried about the quaint / quiet atmosphere for 2018 with public waterpark going in.
Aug 28, 2017
It was wonderful, the campground had been asleep for years. It was so nice to have activities and all new changes were so nice, especially the bathrooms and laundry room and the dock!
Aug 28, 2017
Love this place. Ive been camping most of my life (i'm 47) and this is now my favorite place I've ever been to. Absolute paradise. Clean, not buggy, friendly, perfect location, BEAUTIFUL!!! I can't say enough good things.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals