Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
This KOA was very misleading on the website. We thought the KOA was oceanfront, there was too many mosquitoes, the fog truck ruined our dinner twice, and much more. We loved our campsite under a pine tree. Lots of shade. Really disliked how we had to go to a beach an hour away. Website was very misleading..
Jul 09, 2017
Hands down the best campground in the area! Convenient to town and easy to go to the Island and the beach. Wish we could have stayed long. Office staff and all staff manning the ground and fate were helpful with suggestions to restaurants and directions around the island.
Jul 09, 2017
The space was clean and fairly level, but WAY OVER PRICED.
Jul 09, 2017
Was not a relaxing stay at all. People Always walking through site evem under our awning at times. Loud music early in the morning or people installing fence, which should have beem done before season. The pool was never clean, even though the pool cleaner closed it on the hottest day from 12 to noon and didnt get much accomplished. Kids diving abd jumping in pool on top of other kids. I can go on
Jul 08, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were very nice. Extremely clean.
Jul 08, 2017
Since KOA has taken over the campground is really getting spruced-up...Grand-kids where disappointed the water park was not ready for this year...
Jul 08, 2017
Lots of camp sites available. Walking distance to shopping. They spray for bugs and mosquitoes because they are pretty bad.
Jul 08, 2017
Enjoyed Wednesday eve trolley ride. It rained Thursday Sign said ran each day on hour till 8 pm .Rain stopped so 5pm went to trolley and told not running due to rain earlier Disappointed. So we walked .5 of us If raining all the more reason to run it
Jul 08, 2017
Location is Awesome! Amenities were good. Activity center was great! All showers and bathrooms were clean and new! Staff was pleasent very responsive. Loved that they ran the fogger every night.
Jul 08, 2017
Real friendly adult staff. Campground and amenities as described. I would recommend occasionally dampening the pThe common areas (bathrooms) could've used a little more cleanliness and the kids working there some more energy. Found it strange that the kampground sprayed for mosquitos with all guests and kids, nonetheless very effective. Would recommend dampening the roads to keep the dust down.
Jul 08, 2017
The staff was friendly; picnic tables were in short supply,requiring the campers to chase staff around to plead for a table; facility is newly renovated so all bathrooms nice but wasteful to air condition them--we are camping--how about 78 instead of 70 to be eco-friendly. Love the air pillow! Pool closed from 1-3....why? the hottest part of day! A bit pricey for primitive tent camping sites
Jul 08, 2017
The KOA staff were very curtious, friendly, and helpful. Very nice location.
Jul 07, 2017
Very close to state park and the center of town. Never seen such clean bath houses, please keep that up. Tiny pool for size of park, overcrowded with rude, unsupervised children, please fix that! Activities were fairly organized and always had KOA personnel gathering participants. Stop allowing animals! Witnessed a German Sheppard snap out a young teen, and owner said "he's just being a dog"
Jul 07, 2017
Awesome experience great campground!!!
Jul 07, 2017
Staying in 4th of july weekend was crowded and not being able to choose our site was a pain but all in all a good time. Courteous staff and maintained facilities made it easy and comfortable. I don't particularly like camping but this trip was very enjoyable. Would recommend anyone to give it a try.
Jul 07, 2017
Not much info on activities. Bathroom floors were always wet thus always dirty
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Great place to camp with myfamily. Bathroom well maintain.planning to come again.Staff very nice.
Jul 07, 2017
Dirty sanitary, lots of noise, even after 11pm and before 7am.
Jul 06, 2017
The property was great and the cabins were a blast.
Jul 06, 2017
We really love Chincoteague KOA ,however the scooters that ride through all night is very annoying, and the roads are not paved! Very dusty and dirty ! Lots of amenities for the kids , jump pillow, pool and playground .
Jul 06, 2017
Great stay - took a great campground and made it better without spoiling what was good. Fingers crossed the "waterpark" for next year isn't overwhelming.
Jul 06, 2017
Although you made more changes I will not recommend this KOA. !st sites are too close. 2nd speed rules are not enforced or posted and employees speed just as much as customers. 3rd people walk thru sites from tent areas to go to restrooms. Need restroom in tent section.4th bathrooms and showers are not clean as at 4 pm toilet paper was still on floor.5th Run out of space for anymore comments.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
This was a great way to start a journey. The site was clean and the people were friendly and helpful. Recent renovations made everything look fresh and new. Location is great for beaches. So glad we brought our bikes.
Jul 06, 2017
Just an average experience. Looking forward to the water park in 2018!!
Jul 06, 2017
Very enjoyable.
Jul 06, 2017
Our stay was great. We were really impressed with the friendly staff. Especially Ben from camp maintenance who was a big help with an issue we had with our camper. We will be back!
Jul 06, 2017
Very nice campground and the bath houses were extremely clean and my wife used them lol that says a lot
Jul 06, 2017
The campground is located in a great location and very clean. The staff were very friendly and professional. Once they get their new waterpark open for the kids that will help alleviate the current over crowding the pool experiences during high weekends. If we were to visit Chincoteague again, this would be our "go to" spot!
Jul 06, 2017
to tight to get in sites
Jul 06, 2017
friendly staff loved the transportation
Jul 06, 2017
Friendly staff. Great amenities. wifi work great during the week days.
Jul 06, 2017
Great location, clean, helpful and friendly staff. This was our first trip in our new RV and the staff helped us set up the campsite.
Jul 06, 2017
My biggest complaint is that I was given a site with no trees I was with a full sun all they my site was 176 there were other sites full of trees and never were used I was told that you were booked and the entire time I was there those sites were empty I requested to move but I was denied other than that it was very nice thank you
Jul 06, 2017
It was wonderful! Outstanding customer service!!! Cleanliness of the campground was out of this world!!!
Jul 05, 2017
Great! Wondering people!
Jul 05, 2017
Very dirty campground site. we have a RV and tent camping was right across from us and our site was the path for all to get to bath house. There was so many tent campers we were over taken over.
Jul 05, 2017
The campground is conveniently located a 10 min bike ride to the beach and there are lots of shops and restaurants within a 5-15 min walk. The staff are very friendly and the amenities are nice. However, the bathrooms were not up to KOA cleanliness standards. The floors were consistently muddy and paper was everywhere. They need to be cleaned better and more frequently.
Jul 05, 2017
Really great campground, probably the best of the KOA we have stayed at. Only complaint is how dusty/Sandy some of the sites were, would be great to gravel these spots like at other camps. We were trailing in a lot of dirt to the RV even with the mat outside. Otherwise - great. Lack of bugs a big plus!
Jul 05, 2017
The campground is very nice and clean. However, the advertising of a kayak launch is a bit misleading, there is a launch but it is definitely controlled by the tide, it was unusable for us, so we trailered our kayaks and were unable to use them. We also noticed that the younger staff spent their time riding around in golf carts, too fast and not working unlike the "mature" adult staff.
Jul 05, 2017
Loved the dock! Pool was small for capacity of a sold out weekend, lots of unsupervised children - we only stayed in a half hour, however they are building a water park for next year. Also for the first time had people walking right through the middle of our site to access the bath house. Possibly make paths to bathrooms in addition to main roads?
Jul 05, 2017
Make sure to pack bug spray. Big place and plenty of activities to do. Clean pool. Close to the beach. Site we we at was a little tight for space being close to your neighbor's. But what do you expect being close to the beach
Jul 05, 2017
First I wat to say how friendly the staff was and welcome we felt. However we did have a few issues. The first was how often the bathrooms were closed during the mornings. Also many toilets were not in working order. The second was that strangers were constantly walking through our campsite. I think this was because there were no cut thrus. We had about 15 people come into our site.
Jul 05, 2017
Arrived at 2:30 AM on 1 July 17, got robbed at 0400. Woken up by campers from tent side filling 5 gallon buckets with water from my spigot. These tent campers proceeded to cut through our camp site, blast Spanish music, and trash the bath houses. I caught one trying to steal my Yeti at 0300 Sunday morning. I left st 1300 02 July. No camp etiquette. Campground is beautiful, staff is great.
Jul 05, 2017
Great location ! Shuttle bus to the beach. The cleanest bath houses you will find in a campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that it is very difficult to get a satellite signal.
Jul 05, 2017
Site only had a 50amp hookup when we arrived. Staff was very responsive and attempted to add a 30amp hookup for us. When that didn't work, they provided an adapter for us to use. Staff was very friendly. Only given 4 stars due to electrical issues.
Jul 05, 2017
staff was incredible. friendly helpful and knowledgeable. Bathrooms were very clean and comfortably air conditioned.
Jul 05, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals