Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
First visit to Chincoteague Island, my husband and I can't wait to come back! Cabins and bathhouse were amazingly clean. Only one negative was that we had to rent linens, however I understand that is changing for the 2018 season. We loved the KOA, good location, great people and fun activities.
Sep 11, 2017
We have been coming to this campground for over 20 years. It is really nice to see all of the changes make to make it a KOA
Sep 11, 2017
I'd heard good things about the Maddox Family Campground, but I believe that KOA has made several major improvements. The bathhouses were very clean and well-equipped. Our request for a site close to one due to a medical issue was graciously fulfilled. Suggestions: dim bathhouse outdoor lights overnight; bathhouse music was loud; extend quiet hours from 10PM-8AM. We plan to return! Thanks!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a great weekend the weather was great. As always the Campground was clean and all the help was very helpful and the Tiki Bar Band was really great. We will be back before the end of this year.
Sep 11, 2017
The campground was flooded when a rain storm came in overnight. The staff Didn't make any attempts to clean up or help campers that were in flooded sites. We arrived in the afternoon of Labor Day and all we heard about from staff is how busy they were and how tired they were. It was our first time to the island so I guess we were disappointed but the lack of enthusiasm.
Sep 11, 2017
We had a blast camping for the first time. The bathrooms were fabulous!! Everything was very neat and clean with very friendly staff. We are definitely planning to go back :)
Sep 11, 2017
Ben in maintence was amazing and caring person , a outstanding employee , he went out of his way to help us when our converter failed us and helped us find someone to help us replace it . Please make sure to recognize him for his caring .
Sep 11, 2017
This was a very clean campground. Nice bathrooms.
Sep 11, 2017
Very nicely renovated.
Sep 11, 2017
We stayed in one of your cabins to celebrate our daughter's 13th birthday and enjoyed our weekend immensely. We especially appreciated the thoughtful birthday gift bucket you all gave her and the beautiful cabin you put us in. It was truly a memorable visit and I'm sure we'll be back. Thanks!âºï¸
Sep 11, 2017
We love this campground and going to Chincoteague. Can't wait for the new water park to open next year!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a wonderful time, facilities were excellent, and the staff was more than accommodating. Thanks.
Sep 10, 2017
Cabin #1 was terrific! Very clean and included a full kitchen. Also, of all the cabins, it looked like had the best location - plenty of space around it and with a great view of the light house. Also, the camp ground sponsored a Sunday service as well as a Tuesday night Bible study and Thursday family movie night - nice extra surprise that was enjoyed by the whole family.
Sep 10, 2017
only thing we did not like were the mosquitos
Sep 10, 2017
except for downpour leaving puddles everywhere specifically outside of the rv door it was good
Sep 10, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 09, 2017
This is one of our favorite camping resorts. Highly recommend.
Sep 09, 2017
We camped on a permanent site for 7 summers w the Maddox family. We like the upgrades! The bath houses are fantastic! Just a few suggestions: fix pot holes, ladder or lower level on pier to ease into kayak, side walks on main entrance into property to keep people from impeding 2 way traffic. We will be back! Thanks!
Sep 09, 2017
Beware! This KOA is fairly typical... children friendly, pet friendly and friendly people. However, they may try to put you at a site where the utilities are on the front side of your unit rather than the back side. Also, several sites flood when it rains. Our site had 5 inches of water all around us at one point. They did put us on a dry spot the next night and credited us one night.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
3 families stayed on our annual outing. All families enjoyed the stay and activities available. Staff was helpful throughout the process from reservation to departure. Restroom are among the BEST at sites which we have stayed over the past 4 years. We will be making a return trip, to much to do and see in the area for only 1 stay!!!
Sep 07, 2017
All the spanish people are thrown in together in one area. This is why they do not assign spots until you get there.
Sep 06, 2017
You need to post your rates, not charge everyone different rates for the same sites. Septic was backing up and out on the ground.Tent campers need not to set up so close to the play area. You need to be better prepared for the activities.
Sep 06, 2017
Clean campground, friendly staff, comfortable surroundings. Communicating about activities needs some improvement. While they provide a schedule there is lack of direction. Selling hot dogs while having a food truck is fine, but not many people saw the hot dog table by the pool. Understanding this is a new KOA many improvements have been made, will be nice to see what they do next. We will be ba
Sep 06, 2017
Very nice campground; only one complaint (minor) and that is we wished the pool would have had more umbrellas. It only had 3. Everyone seemed to abide by the common sense rules and the sites were level and nice. The roads could of used a little attention but not too bad. Had a great time.
Sep 06, 2017
Beautiful Island, Nice campground lots of rain made for much mud (poor drainage). did not like the playgrounds location, actually outside the park entrance gatehouse. pool did not seem to be heated.
Sep 06, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised. Very clean, bath houses were always clean. Staff was friendly, courteous always helpful. Will be back soon!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Overall, the stay was great! It was a bit iffy at first as they tried to put us in a site that was way too small. Had we tried to get into the site they wanted us in, our slides would have been touching the neighbor's awning, and over their fire pit. Luckily they were able to move us to a better site. The location of this KOA is perfect! Very close to the main street, AND beach! :-)
Sep 06, 2017
Great location! Very enjoyable, playground for the kids, very clean and we'll kept.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
We had a wonderful site. Also a very clean campground. Staff is very nice.
Sep 06, 2017
STAFF IS VERY FREINDLY AND ALWAYS ACOMMIDATING...VERY CLEAN FACILITIES, CLOSE TO ALL ATTRACTIONS AND THE BEACH,SECURE FACILITY, STAFF CHECKS CAMP SITES AT NIGHT ,,,LIKE THAT THEY DRIVE AROUND TO KEEP THINGS CLEAN AND TIDY....A MUST STAY CAMPING RESORT....
Sep 06, 2017
This was our first camping trip as a family. Our 5 year old son had a blast as well as my wife and me. The first night (Saturday) was loud after quiet time but the loud voices didn't last much past 11:20. I expected some loud voices, especially on a Saturday night. The second night, nearly everyone had left, and it was a great, quiet night. We were conveniently located between 2 bathhouses.
Sep 06, 2017
Neighbor was parked over into my space (his trailer was stored there and placed by staff). My other neighbor allowed me to move into his space a bit so I could open my awning. This left me far enough from water that I had to purcha$e a hose from the store. Had no fire ring or picnic table. Had to ask 3 times, took longer than 24 hrs - missed 2 dinners. Had to cook hot dogs inside, while camping!
Sep 06, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much, my wife even commented that this national park was just the right size for her. This was a great area, safe and quiet. It had that small town feel and just enough shops to cover what came up. Check out the Island Cremary, it was amazing!
Sep 06, 2017
We thought the campground had a excellent view of the lighthouse. Bath houses are new and kept very clean. The kids liked the dock and playground. We had a great time and we will be back
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
I've stayed with KOA a few times love you guys, really clean bathrooms/store/cabins/you name it, staff is always a pleasure to deal with but unfortunately this last visit was not like the rest, the RV spot (32) that we had was pretty small, flooded out (not your fault) and the site was full of broken glass!
Sep 05, 2017
We love this place. Very close to the beach.
Sep 05, 2017
Just a couple things, we were a group of 6 all staying in the same row same type of site and we were all charged different prices per night. I believe there should be a set price for type of site and time of year. Nobody could really tell us why that was.
Sep 05, 2017
I was leary when I made the reservation to stay. The previous KOA we stayed at in Hagerstown ( which was our first KOA experience) was not what we had expected. Chincoteague KOA was amazing. Everyone was friendly and very professional. We will be back next year for sure!
Sep 05, 2017
The campground seemed to be well maintained and the staff was extremely nice. We had a pull-thru spot near the tent area that had adequate space once we were in it. Only suggestion I would have is in regards to the motorized scooters/bikes. Some were racing up and down the rows and could have hit someone. They also had loud music on up until 1am. Better enforcement of quiet time & policies please.
Sep 05, 2017
Campground was very crowded, knowing it was a holiday weekend that's expected. Staff was great and helpful, the bathhouse were clean and very nice to have close. The only complaint I have is people walking through sites instead of around to get places. Most of them didn't speak English so they ignored you when you spoke to them. Other that that it was a great weekend and we'll be back.
Sep 05, 2017
We learned this campsite was taken over by KOA a year ago, and since then overall cleanliness (including the bathrooms) has improved. We really liked our deluxe tent site and the diverse staff is very friendly. We were disappointed in the activities for children;staff ran out of materials, events started early&lasted 5 minutes & not enough organized, fun stuff for kids planned Labor Day Weekend
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great stay! Bathrooms were very clean and it was a great location.
Sep 05, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals