Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
Very nice campground. Lots of attractions close by. WiFi works well, TV not so good
Sep 18, 2017
I would recommend this KOA with a firm warning about the terrible mosquitoes. I did see a truck spraying twice but it was not very effective. Camping is an outdoor activity but quickly became indoor activities. Several other recommendations I would make to the KOA management. Put grills on all sites, add cable TV to all sites, and enlarge your campground map. It was too small to read.
Sep 18, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. The place was clean. The mosquitoes were awful .
Sep 18, 2017
Simply a great location in general and me the KOA is pretty much in the middle of it. Very attractive campground with attentive staff.
Sep 18, 2017
Best bath houses on the island! Friendly staff.
Sep 18, 2017
New bath houses are a muchly needed improvement! Clean and beautiful. Appreciate all the improvements, too bad the prices were increased so much. Staff was friendly.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Loved the grounds and the cleanliness. Our biggest issue was the darn mosquitos! We went through two cans of bug spray and still got torn up. Our poor kids are covered in mosquito bites from head to toe! Will definitely consider this when booking location of our next trip.
Sep 18, 2017
We were unimpressed with this campground. This KOA is overpriced at ~$85/night for a full hook up RV spot. The mosquitoes were plentiful and penetrated clothing and repellant. All the employees we encountered were friendly. We could not enjoy a walk with the dogs or s'mores, or anything out of the camper because of the mosquitoes. The small park, pillow, and pool were adequate.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
This is a very clean, well run KOA, with an extremely friendly and helpful staff. There is a lot of things for kids to do here. The bathrooms/bath houses are the biggest cleanest I've ever seen. We were located in an area where we could see the Asseteague lighthouse from our site, which was really nice. The only negative (excluding mosquitos!) is some of the sites are a bit close.
Sep 16, 2017
Visited to see the wild ponies and kids' first camping trip. It was the perfect combination for them! Tent sites are very crowded, some had standing water on some of them when we got there. Restrooms were clean and working, trash pick came by often, lots to do for the kids. Trolley to the national park was convenient and also stopped at one of the top rated ice cream shops in the country.
Sep 16, 2017
Excellent clean and well maintained facilities! Pricey. Convenient to town and beach. Antenna tv is poor and there is no cable offered. Use of your satellite gear is problematic due to mature pine trees. Mosquitos as bad as Florida everglades despite multiple daily spraying. Staff was helpful and courteous.
Sep 16, 2017
Deluxe patio sites are nothing like the picture shown and there is no charcoal grill. The patios are nice but quite a bit smaller, use your own pictures. Great to spray for bugs, but let people know in advance! Everything else was 5 star. Beautiful location, great bathrooms, friendly staff. If you are traveling with your dog, know that the beach 2 miles from the campground is not dog friendly.
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff!! Clean pool and area. The only negative is the mosquitos, but no fault of KOA. There was a spraying truck that came through the park. If you come bring lots of spray. There is a little restaurant close by that has an excellent menu and free delivery to your site. Ask at check in and you will receive a menu. Nice area to walk and overlook the marsh.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Wonderful facilities, Very courteous staff, well-planned activities. Good Lord Willing we will be be back next year. Keep up the good work.
Sep 14, 2017
Loved the tiki band on Saturday night. Campground very clean. Staff very helpful. Went kayaking 3 days and bicycling one day. We'll be back ! Thank you.
Sep 14, 2017
Love the campground. Don't like both times we stayed there cable did not work. We did not complain the first visit in June. This last visit we told office staff, they sent an employee on a golf cart who never got off his golf cart to look at the cable. He stated "yep, some camp sites are having problems with their cable, we will put this site on the list to have checked".
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
The cottages are so lovely ~ It was our home away from home. Hope to come back again next year.
Sep 13, 2017
Campground was nice however I hope you create more deluxe sites. Mosquitos were bad. Wayne and Bob were very friendly. The two who rode a golf cart together were not friendly at all and did nothing that I could see. Waste of $$. Bob knows who I mean. Overall a 7 out of 10. 9/11 program was very nice.
Sep 13, 2017
The campground is basically ok but the grounds people didn't spend a lot of time working. Lack of cable (it's the 21st century, get with it) put a damper on things mainly because the bugs were so bad you couldn't sit outside.
Sep 13, 2017
Had a great time keep making improvements
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Friendly staff. Modern, sparkling clean restroom facilities. Excellent location, close to Assateague, downtown. We used our bicycles almost exclusively including to the beach.
Sep 13, 2017
Restrooms were very clean and numerous. Showers had more room than other campgrounds. Campground is in an ideal place next to islands and shore. Enjoyed our stay here very much, best place we have camped!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
spend 5 nights there was grate
Sep 12, 2017
Site 7 swamped during a rainstorm, I had a feeling that this koa new this site flooded when it rained, just totally dissatisfied with them, what a disappointment!!!
Sep 11, 2017
aside from the puddles after the rain, we had a lovely time. Really enjoy the new dock, especially for morning coffee. Bath houses are so nice and comfortable, showers plenty of hot water. Could use a little shelf next to utility sinks outside where we do dishes.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
First visit to Chincoteague Island, my husband and I can't wait to come back! Cabins and bathhouse were amazingly clean. Only one negative was that we had to rent linens, however I understand that is changing for the 2018 season. We loved the KOA, good location, great people and fun activities.
Sep 11, 2017
We have been coming to this campground for over 20 years. It is really nice to see all of the changes make to make it a KOA
Sep 11, 2017
I'd heard good things about the Maddox Family Campground, but I believe that KOA has made several major improvements. The bathhouses were very clean and well-equipped. Our request for a site close to one due to a medical issue was graciously fulfilled. Suggestions: dim bathhouse outdoor lights overnight; bathhouse music was loud; extend quiet hours from 10PM-8AM. We plan to return! Thanks!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a great weekend the weather was great. As always the Campground was clean and all the help was very helpful and the Tiki Bar Band was really great. We will be back before the end of this year.
Sep 11, 2017
The campground was flooded when a rain storm came in overnight. The staff Didn't make any attempts to clean up or help campers that were in flooded sites. We arrived in the afternoon of Labor Day and all we heard about from staff is how busy they were and how tired they were. It was our first time to the island so I guess we were disappointed but the lack of enthusiasm.
Sep 11, 2017
We had a blast camping for the first time. The bathrooms were fabulous!! Everything was very neat and clean with very friendly staff. We are definitely planning to go back :)
Sep 11, 2017
Ben in maintence was amazing and caring person , a outstanding employee , he went out of his way to help us when our converter failed us and helped us find someone to help us replace it . Please make sure to recognize him for his caring .
Sep 11, 2017
This was a very clean campground. Nice bathrooms.
Sep 11, 2017
Very nicely renovated.
Sep 11, 2017
We stayed in one of your cabins to celebrate our daughter's 13th birthday and enjoyed our weekend immensely. We especially appreciated the thoughtful birthday gift bucket you all gave her and the beautiful cabin you put us in. It was truly a memorable visit and I'm sure we'll be back. Thanks!âºï¸
Sep 11, 2017
We love this campground and going to Chincoteague. Can't wait for the new water park to open next year!
Sep 11, 2017
We had a wonderful time, facilities were excellent, and the staff was more than accommodating. Thanks.
Sep 10, 2017
Cabin #1 was terrific! Very clean and included a full kitchen. Also, of all the cabins, it looked like had the best location - plenty of space around it and with a great view of the light house. Also, the camp ground sponsored a Sunday service as well as a Tuesday night Bible study and Thursday family movie night - nice extra surprise that was enjoyed by the whole family.
Sep 10, 2017
only thing we did not like were the mosquitos
Sep 10, 2017
except for downpour leaving puddles everywhere specifically outside of the rv door it was good
Sep 10, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 09, 2017
This is one of our favorite camping resorts. Highly recommend.
Sep 09, 2017
We camped on a permanent site for 7 summers w the Maddox family. We like the upgrades! The bath houses are fantastic! Just a few suggestions: fix pot holes, ladder or lower level on pier to ease into kayak, side walks on main entrance into property to keep people from impeding 2 way traffic. We will be back! Thanks!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals