Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2017
This was a wonderful stay and the upgrades from the previous facility make this even more enjoyable. My family and I were already discussing our next trip. For those who enjoy an outdoor atmosphere, the biking trails are wonderful, as well as the beach which was a quick 3.6 miles away from our site, which we biked! Highly recommend it.
Jul 15, 2017
My family and I met up at this campground for a reunion of sorts. We did so 3 years ago and the improvements to the campground were wonderful. We love to bike and enjoy being in nature, especially the beach! We very much recommend a visit to this campgrounds, the staff will help make you feel comfortable and answer any questions you may have!
Jul 15, 2017
Great experience. It was very hot when we were there. Only thing I would have changed, wish the pool wasn't so warm.
Jul 15, 2017
Almost the best koa so far.
Jul 15, 2017
Great stay for us! Will come again!
Jul 15, 2017
Clean restrooms and campsites. Pool was disappointing and needs updatin and more seating and shade.
Jul 14, 2017
Your staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground in well maintained and a joy to be in. Keep up the good work
Jul 14, 2017
We had a great time! The new cabins are amazing!
Jul 14, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly. Bathrooms stayed clean. Campground was wonderful with plenty of activities.
Jul 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in the Chincoteague KOA very much. The campground was clean and quiet, and was in a great location. We did not have access to TV, but we did not miss it. We were sorry to leave this beautiful place.
Jul 14, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Location, location, location! Very convenient to everything. Used to stay here years ago and now with all the improvements, we'll be back. Great place and great time. Thank you.
Jul 14, 2017
The staff is very friendly, the bathrooms awesome! The grounds are very clean! A great destination KOA for beach lovers, history buffs, pony people and just naturalists!
Jul 14, 2017
Very pleased in all things.
Jul 13, 2017
It's clean, simple and quite. I love that!
Jul 13, 2017
satisfied with the campground. Clean and well maintained. Job well done. Thank you
Jul 12, 2017
We had stayed here in the past before it became a Koa, with the golf carts now and the scooters running all over on the weekends, and than the hugh increase in price I would doubt we will be back. We camp on a budget because of the kids and you basically priced us out of your camp ground.
Jul 12, 2017
Our stay was wonderful. However, when I wanted to amend the reservation to add 2 adults and 2 kids in the middle of the stay, staff members did not communicate well with each other and the situation was embarrassing when my guests were told to pay, and I was overcharged on the last day. This happened twice. Staff needs training on cross communication. Stay is great as long as you don't make change
Jul 12, 2017
We loved the primitive camping sites. Nice grassy spaces with great views. Very clean bathroom/shower facilities. Conveniently located near entrance to nature preserve. Staff were very nice. Quiet hours were not enforced, though, making for a noisy evening. A separate area for groups would be nice to contain the noise level. Definitely will be back but will aim for a weekday with less crowds.
Jul 12, 2017
loved it as usual :)
Jul 11, 2017
We were greeted by extremely polite personnel who wanted to ensure our stay was perfect. Our site was level and we were pleased with the amount of shade. We were not given information on the activities or the trolley and it would have been helpful to know. The bathhouses were modern and new. Our main issue were the mosquitos and flies.
Jul 11, 2017
I stayed here for 6 weeks. The facility was well kept and the staff were kind and professional from the reception desk right down to the people who clean the bathrooms. It's a great place to spend the summer. Made some new friends and I will definitely be back!
Jul 11, 2017
Staff was very helpful and checked on us regularly to make sure we had what we needed and if we were enjoying ourselves. Welcome center with gift shop and showers were recently upgraded...very nice facility. Campground is very close to Assateague Island very convenient
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Our campsite was perfect. Granddaughter did not want to let. Very friendly staff. We will definitely return.
Jul 11, 2017
Absolutely perfect staff amazing cleanest facilities I have ever stayed at.....thank you best vacation ever had... Already planning to come back 2 more times
Jul 11, 2017
Staff was great . Overall this is a first class Rv resort..
Jul 11, 2017
I would def advise your shuttle drivers to forwarn their drop offs that the bus last pick up is at 4pm we were stranded at the beach and had to call the office they advised us that the last pick up was at 4pm with that being said we were waiting for the bus at 3:45 and they never showed up. We were asked to walk to the entrance in which we refused to with the beach attire we were carrying
Jul 11, 2017
ALOT has changed for the good. Employees were super friendly and willing to help with anything. Bath houses were super clean, and alot of stuff for the kids to do..
Jul 10, 2017
Have stayed there for years, before it was a KOA. Some things in the complex have been upgraded, and are nice improvments. Wifi didnt work at all. Plenty of staff on hand. Items in the camp store were priced well. But,some friends went on KOA.com to stay a weekend while we were there, at over $100.00 a night.This place isnt worth that much for a full hookup site. This isnt the Florida Keys
Jul 10, 2017
David is very helpful and a nice person to be around. Staff in store was glad to help you.All the staff on golf carts working were always nice and helpful to us.
Jul 10, 2017
Nice campground. Spots are tight. Had problem with other people walking through our camp site.
Jul 10, 2017
This is large camp ground in a good location. New bathrooms and nice laundry facilities. Only real complaints were dusty roads and no water at our site. Make sure to say hi to Bob!
Jul 10, 2017
We loved your campground and when we had issues with the septic, you made in right instantly and without giving us hassle. It was an inconvenience to move but you made it worth it. I would recommend being a KOA member to anyone!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Bathrooms were very clean and staff was great! An ice cream truck even cane though in the evening!
Jul 10, 2017
Love the improvements! Great staff! Thank you all!
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
Camp ground was nice but very dusty due to lack of pavement. The pool was some what hot and needs cold water to cool off!
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
recent change in ownership. Nice campground & bathrooms, great new amenities/features just got & working towards. more. But, transition caused some confusion & troubles & employees still learning "ropes". In speaking with manager about issues, she addressed them satisfactorily. once they get past this season & work on some things, will be a great campground. Island is neat.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a new KOA, so there are a number of issues that the owners will need to figure out (such as availability and timing of events), but overall it's a great KOA if you have kids. If you don't have kids and do not particularly like the beach, the area has very little to offer. If you do like the beach, bring your bikes - it's a short ride on a dedicated bike path. The island is bike friendly.
Jul 10, 2017
Did not realize that "back in site" meant you will be backing your RV up against another RV. I mean literally. Our bedroom windows were up against other family's living room. $98 a night to share a site. That's just wrong!
Jul 10, 2017
I was impressed by the cleanliness of the restrooms/showers. The only downside was two separate sites there had extremely loud music playing and we couldn't enjoy our camp spot. I wish there was a max noise level campers so everyone can enjoy their stay.
Jul 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay minus the seagulls at 6am and no picnic table.
Jul 10, 2017
Had an awesome time at the campground. You guys did great improving old Maddox campground.
Jul 10, 2017
it was great! we loved it. The only recommendation is that it would be good if the restrooms were cleaned more often.
Jul 09, 2017
Very nice campground, bathrooms were new and cleaned often the only negative thing is the pool was much too small for the number of sites and the number of people that were there
Jul 09, 2017
The staff was friendly, the only issues we had were people walking right through our campsite and people parking on our campsite that we had no clue who they were. Other then that the campground was nice and definitely the staff was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2017
The renovations are great hope they continue
Jul 09, 2017
It wa a pleasant stay and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The sites do need some work by the way of pavements re gravel
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals