Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2017
Was a bit upset when we got to our site. There were a lot of little poop piles all over the site. Soon realized it was from the geese in the area. Had to clean up the piles so we didn't track into our RV. That was not fun!!! Overall we had a great weekend and would definitely come back again!
Jul 19, 2017
Very kid-friendly with activities for them and safe bike/scooter riding. There are no real private sites so it's not somewhere to go to "get away from it all". The staff was helpful and friendly, facilities were clean, and the price was right.
Jul 19, 2017
New bathrooms, nice people
Jul 19, 2017
We have a great altimeter and great service. Can't wait to go back next year!
Jul 19, 2017
We stayed in a primitive campsite with a view of the Assateague lighthouse. There was no one near us, but it was a weekday. The mosquitos were only bad in the evening. One night they sprayed the campground for mosquitos, that grossed me out a bit. Everyone was eating and our tent windows were open. The campground itself is very clean and everyone was friendly.
Jul 19, 2017
Very busy place. Very large
Jul 18, 2017
We were very happy with the improvements.
Jul 18, 2017
There were more negatives than positives. The sites are small and WAY too close together (more were added since KOA bought it). They are also not delineated well. Upgraded bathhouses were better but water pressure was terrible. More direct routes to bathhouses are necessary. Quiet hours were not enforced. The addition of the bounce was a positive. Pool is also good but needs more umbrellas/shade.
Jul 18, 2017
Campground was very clean. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Looking forward to going back again!
Jul 18, 2017
BEST KOA we have stayed at EVER!!! ( we have have stayed at 20+ KOA's over 10 yrs) IT's a new KOA but they have made so many improvements to an old campground. Great job guys! Way to show how a real KOA can be transformed into a world class facility.
Jul 18, 2017
The staff were very friendly had to get them to trim limbs for awning. The campsite and pool were poor. The campsite was very small in width and our picnic table was only feet from next site sewer hole. Even moving table was still not satisfactory. Was unable to set up cornhole boards. Pool had 2 tables with umbrellas.
Jul 18, 2017
The campground is just as nice as the area including all the employees at this KOA. Very clean, helpful staff, knowledgeable, great dog park and site where just the right size. We could not ask for anything more.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
It would be great if you add some kind of counter or stainless steel shelf with holes next to wash sink on the exterior wall of the bath house, to be able to wash and rinse multiple items with ease.
Jul 18, 2017
This campsite is great. We had a perfect time.
Jul 18, 2017
Had a great visit! I was pleasantly surprised to see how lovely the campground was and all of the great improvements you've made on the property.I had plenty of space staying in the primitive area, bathrooms were very nice and usually clean.I HIGHLY suggest is that you improve drainage in primitive areas lighthouse side. Too much sitting water after it rains.
Jul 18, 2017
Chincoteague Island KOA team ensured we had a great stay. We would like to say they are the best! Special shout out to the Front desk & store staff on the Disney weekend spirit. The Security,Camp host & Maintenance crew were very friendly at all times. The guys in the food trailer made us some really good food also. Thanks to all the Main office staff for a great weekend.
Jul 18, 2017
The service is great but had issues with site. First electrical hookup kept throwing breaker but was fixed within couple hours. Main complaint was my 25 ft hose was to short to reach the water hookups you need at least 40 ft to reach so was unable to use water. The facility and amenities are good Did not like the extra cost 25 dollars to check in early seems kind of high for site already reserved
Jul 18, 2017
Nice park
Jul 18, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here! Appreciated the nice clean restrooms and bathhouse! But the cabins right behind the office were quite noisy far into the night.
Jul 17, 2017
Can't wait to go back!!! Everyone was wonderful especially Andrea the trolley driver!!!!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Very good. Bathrooms were clean which was a plus.
Jul 17, 2017
Beautiful, well-maintained campground. Spotless bathhouses. Suitable for any type of camping, from tents to RVs. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 17, 2017
So enjoyed our stay. Love the bathroom and shower area and like that they collected the trash each day. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Will be back next month!
Jul 17, 2017
We had a great stay. Only negative was the trolley-we were counting on it to get to the beach but it was late Friday and then we waited a long time to be picked up from beach because of a miscommunication between the drivers. Saturday it started a few hours late because no driver. We appreciate the trolley but hard when that's your only means of transportation and its not reliable!
Jul 17, 2017
The campground was very clean and well staffed.
Jul 17, 2017
This site is very family friendly and so nice and clean. We had a fabulous time! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2017
I really liked the camp, its nicely laid out and I like that there are many Accomodations. One of the bathrooms was super clean, another a little less but they were good overall. I don't understand why there is no recycling options. Also seems like too many sites tight together.
Jul 17, 2017
The campsite and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We took our two young kids (ages 3 and 5) for their first camping trip and they had so much fun. We definitely plan to go again.
Jul 17, 2017
The campground was great. I would suggest posting or adding something for the pool regarding appropriate attire. We stayed here because it's a family campground. I took my daughter to the pool on Saturday morning and 2 girls came in thong bathing suits. My daughter is only 10, so we left. The same thing also happened the same day when the pool was crowded, same girls.
Jul 17, 2017
Loved the location and amenities. I recommend the cabins!
Jul 17, 2017
Wonderful!!!
Jul 17, 2017
When making our reservation we booked w/ another group who was going & requested to be next to each other. The gentlemen who I spoke with (Neil) indicated if we booked pull through sites he could guarantee this. When we checked in we were not next to the party we requested and were told there was nothing could be done. However the lot next to them remained empty until late the next day.
Jul 17, 2017
We really like this campground. Its clean and the camp employees are a lot of help. We will be back again. This stay was our third time there this season with several more scheduled for this summer and fall. You cant go wrong staying at KOA Chincoteague. We stay at another Campground on the Island and no changes has been made there in years
Jul 17, 2017
clean campgrounds/fairly new upgrades. bath house is great. good location
Jul 17, 2017
We camped in the tenting area. Friendly staff, great amenities. Very clean and inviting. Thank you!
Jul 17, 2017
Wonderful, relaxing, clean, great staff
Jul 17, 2017
Wonderful first camping experience to get us hooked on the camp life for good!
Jul 17, 2017
KOA did an amazing job on Chincoteague's campground, it was beyond expectations. Absolutely clean pool (very very small though), great shower houses, everything is pristine and shiny everywhere else. Looking forward to the bigger pool and more activities next year.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice but very crowded no real complaints.
Jul 16, 2017
Had a great stay, nice facilities, staff was awesome; already planning our next visit.
Jul 16, 2017
I was disappointed with the kayak launch. The tide went out so much that you would have to trough thru the mud to reach the water. Also no tiki bar as advertised.
Jul 16, 2017
We had a great time, and KOA has made a lot of improvements since taking over the campground. The campground and facilities are kept very clean. For improvement, the outdoor sink on the bath house, which is primarily used for washing dishes by tenters and those who do not have full hook-ups, needs to be larger and should have a table to set dishes on.
Jul 16, 2017
We have been going to campground for years and we were nervous with new ownership. The bath houses were fantastic. My wife is someone who needs handicapped accessible showers, the new bath houses were great. When making our reservations the staff was able to make sure our campsite was close to bath house for her convience.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice place cant wait to see the water park. Nice and clean. Staff was very helpful
Jul 16, 2017
Love the campground, clean, friendly staff and secure. The cottages were perfect and cleanest bath houses I've ever been to.
Jul 16, 2017
Very friendly staff, Restrooms and showers were kept very clean. The whole facility was very well maintained
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals