Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 29, 2017
Great location. Clean new shower houses. Friendly helpful staff.
Oct 28, 2017
VERY EXPENSIVE for a regular campground site ....$77 for a marsh view. Kids playground was taped off and not usable. Was put at a campsite that didnât have30 amp hookup after telling them I needed it at checkout. Will not stay there again unless they do something about the money I paid and the lack of amenities they offered.
Oct 27, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
The campgrounds have been transformed into a beautiful KOA destination with all new amenities and proximity to the national sea shore. Amazingly clean, friendly staff and great restrooms made our stay a pleasure. We will be back!
Oct 26, 2017
To many dogs barking for us
Oct 25, 2017
Enjoyed walking around town and through the nation reserve. Loved AJs for a dinner out. Only disappointment was that the campground shuttle only runs on Saturday in the off season.
Oct 25, 2017
Very good clean campground.
Oct 25, 2017
Oct 25, 2017
Very nice Campground. Check-in was very easy!! Can't wait to see the water park. Thank you for providing the church service with coffee and cookies. We sure liked the preacher and his wife!!
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
The grounds and facilities were very well maintained. Every staff member we encountered was extremely nice, always had a smile on their face. Only suggestion I could make would be signing the camp site like the camp map and defining campsite boundaries a little more.
Oct 24, 2017
We LOVED our stay! Bathrooms are awesome, very clean and new. The wifi had great reception. Everyone of the staff was courteous, polite and very helpful.
Oct 24, 2017
Very nice camp ground. Very nice staff. A little too expensive @ $75 especially off season, October.
Oct 24, 2017
Great weather, great location, friendly staff. Costs a little more, but worth it.
Oct 24, 2017
Facilities were good. Clean and new in appearance. Staff friendly and helpful. Price was high for camper with only water and electric hook-up. Literally about the same price as hotels I have stayed in. Sorry to say, camping should NEVER EVER cost the same as a cheap hotel. It should be LESS. This could impact our desire to stay at KOA's in the future. Otherwise, nice facility and friendly staff.
Oct 23, 2017
Bathhouses and grounds are clean and well matintained. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Weâll be back!
Oct 23, 2017
Loved our stay! Campground was clean, everyone was nice! Can't wait for our next trip there!
Oct 23, 2017
one real problem was I reserved a 30 amp site and got a 50 amp site. My electrical hookup was 30 amp and no where on site 118 was there an outlet for 30 amp service. I brought this to the attention to the staff and their response was we sell a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter. So I had to spend an additional $25.00 that I did not plan to buy. I should of been put in a different location.
Oct 23, 2017
Our lot was in the loop closet to the water. More than happy with lot size (width) and that fire rings and picnic tables were movable to accommodate different set ups. Walking distance to town or the trolley is helpful. Great location close to area attractions. Bath houses are large and clean.
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Nice roomy well situated campground. Didn't like that they don't have recycle facilities. Had to carry all our recyclables along with us. I will not put them in regular trash. Also, the site charge was too high for a late season stay. Probably why the campground was so empty. Some very nice campgrounds in the area charge about half the amount, especially late in the season.
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Wonderful in so many ways! One opportunity that was very frustrating-we had a late check-in (11:30ish), I called ahead and advised, was told packet woukd be in guard shack. Guard did not appear to be with KOA, couldnt tell me how to get to site and had me fill out personal info including credit card that was all on my online reservation. Scary.
Oct 23, 2017
Super convenient to National Wildlife refuge and beaches. Very clean and nice bathrooms/showers. Friendly people. Sites were very muddy and, typical of KOA, close together and lacking in privacy. All things considered we'd stay again. They are making improvements. Hopefully one of the is to put some gravel or something down on the sites.
Oct 22, 2017
Conveniently located, clean, & friendly.
Oct 21, 2017
Nice place, but overpriced.
Oct 21, 2017
You need to become more "pet friendly". The majority of RV owners have pets. Maybe that's why we have RVs.
Oct 20, 2017
Very nice place. Friendly helpful staff. Great location
Oct 19, 2017
Enjoyed Cork and canvas
Oct 18, 2017
We stayed in our travel trailer for 4 nights. The campground is very nice. Sites are nice, a little tight for tow vehicle. Sites are a pretty good size! Bathrooms were very clean! Cabins look cute too.Staff were very nice!! We will be back!
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
With a Troop of 21 Scouts we were pleased with our experience. The campground is very clean & the staff extremely pleasant. Bathrooms were sanitary. Store is well stocked and priced reasonably. Because of rain the sites were soaked, soupy, and sloppy. I would suggest some more grading of the tent sites. Overall, everything was great. We will certainly be staying again.
Oct 17, 2017
very clean facilities, close to activities, close to park
Oct 17, 2017
Only thing wrong was the rain.....loved the campground...the convenience of everything being close by...
Oct 17, 2017
Great campaite
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay the campground was very nice and the facility's were wonderful and clean. All the staff was very friendly and always saying Hello or waving when they drove by. Our only complaint is that our site flooded bad! We were nailing it out with buckets ourselves when they would just drive by and no assistance to help us. The next day they offered for us to move but we declined.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We enjoyed the stay and the weekend. My only negative comment was the admission price for the Cork and Canvas festival.It was way too high for what was at the festival. The wineries were not well represented, with each on only bringing two of their wines. We still had a good time, and will probably come back in the summer and visit. We loved the deluxe cabin.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
My stay was very enjoyable, the staff was friendly & very helpful.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Nice Campground. streets need to be repaved/ stoned,very muddy. Otherwise clean restrooms and bathhouses. Staff very friendly and helpful will be back next year.
Oct 16, 2017
Everything very clean, especially the restrooms, staff very helpful!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
We were in site 240. Heavy rains left us surrounded by several inches of water for half of our weeklong stay. We had hoped it would dry up faster, in retrospect,we should have moved to higher ground. We were disappointed that no one saw our situation and offered us that option. The camp was fairly empty,seems like they had the personnel. Lovely surroundings but not sure husband would return.
Oct 12, 2017
Everything was perfect!!! ... until it wasnât. Am so sorry that the property floods the way it does during a heavy rain. Honestly, this aspect of your KOA will be a consideration for future stays. The wonderful kind and attentive Staff, gorgeous bathhouses, and fantastic location were all TENS!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals