Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2018
Great stay! Convenient to all Pony week activities, beach, and restaurants. The campground was clean with plenty of restrooms; flat, pull-through RV spots; and, the staff was helpful and always available - especially Travis! Travis and the KOA trolley made sure we arrived at our destinations safely, comfortably and knowledgeable about return transportation. We will definitely return next year!
Jul 29, 2018
Jul 29, 2018
The staff was awesome, very nice. Someone took my towel and my golf cart. My tent flooded, the tent sites need to have a higher ground for tents. When I went to see the ponies cross, we were so far away that the boats and all blocked everything. I could have stayed home and watched it on tv and saw more. If I ever return, an I doubt that, I would not stay at Koa.
Jul 29, 2018
The Chincoteague Island KOA is amazing! Nice pool, right beside a water park, VERY clean and updated. Shower houses and bathrooms were clean and updated. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Jul 29, 2018
This is one of the nicest, cleanest and most we'll run campgrounds I have ever stayed at. The facilities are all modern and top notch. The laundry facilities even accept credit cards. A truly wonderful stay.
Jul 29, 2018
We stayed here for Pony week and had a great time. KOA is close to the refuge and the pony pen area in town. The campground itself is clean and quite, has lots of trees for shade, good bath houses, close to restaurants, a water park and a well stocked store.
Jul 29, 2018
Our second year at Chincoteague KOA and we had a great week considering the weather (rain) at least our granddaughters did get three days in the waterpark! The staff is friendly and helpful, we will probably come back again...
Jul 29, 2018
Love the island and visit every year for the Pony Swim. Still very disappointed with KOA and their bathroom management. Only cleaned once daily, men employees are often found in the woman’s bathroom with no sign or come in when woman are in the showers. Tent areas need to be higher off the ground my neighbors found themselves in several inches of standing water after it rained.
Jul 29, 2018
We had a wonderful time. Though the bathrooms were a bit crowded and needed to be cleaned more than once. The trolley driver Travis was a great local guide. Everyone was very friendly.
Jul 29, 2018
Friendly, helpful staff that gave great information when we needed things go do when it poured all day. Awesome campground, love all the renovations. Conveniently located to all the attractions, especially Maui Jack's. the discount was great. Looking forward to coming back again soon!
Jul 29, 2018
It was an amazing campground! We had so many picnic tables, Shade, and comfort while at this KOA. One day the hot water went out and by the next morning, it was back on. We will be staying there again next summer!
Jul 29, 2018
It was overall very relaxing. The one issue was a 3 hour serenade from a poor dog zipped in a tent and left unattended. Not knowing the laws in Virginia regarding dogs, we only reported the issue. If we were in Massachusetts I would have unzipped the tent......
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 28, 2018
Great place lots of stuff to do. The outhouses should be swept and cleaned AM and PM. Near beach, need to keep sand and mud and toilet paper off floor as much as possible.
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 28, 2018
The campground is the best option for Chincoteague Island, yet the staff leaves a lot to be desired. They are all about milking the most $ off of their customers. Rates change on a whim, as do the stories that their desk staff gives their customers. They don’t care whether you stay 1 night or 100; you’re just another dollar to them. Unfortunately there is only one other camp on the island. :(
Jul 28, 2018
Your kayak launch is a joke and shouldn't even be advertised...impossible and very UNSAFE to launch. My boyfriend rescued several people from the "muck" at the launch; people sinking up to their knees in sucky, yucky mud attempting to launch. Others, trying to use the platform on your dock as a launch, discovered that the platform is about 4 feet above the water at low tide...what a joke!
Jul 28, 2018
We had an outstanding site, the last one in a row with shade, #278. The bathhouse we used was always clean and every single staff member we encounterd was always very professional and friendly.
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 28, 2018
Updates since we were there in 2014 were very nice. Baths were a great improvement. Very rainy visit. Puddles everywhere. Potholes everywhere. Drives were TERRIBLE. Standing water all over RV site.
Jul 28, 2018
Great location. Easy to Assateague and wildlife refuge or downtown Chincoteague. Great for kids with huge new Waterpark next door. Sites are not awning to awning. Utilities all worked well. Wi Fi better than average but not what we all want. Cable was good. Staff all helpful and courteous, without exception. Somewhat pricy but this was Pony Swim and carnival week. Stayed in 26' motorhome.
Jul 28, 2018
Very enjoyable! Bungalow was great. Facilities were clean, staff was excellent. If I had to find a fault the bathrooms were freezing cold, and the A/C unit in our bungalow was really loud. Overall it was a great stay.
Jul 28, 2018
AWESOME! Best KOA I have EVER stayed at. Loved rhe free KOA Trolley service. Only a couple things to change...1 being most important is the time they clean the restrooms. It should be at after 9am and again at 10 pm. 2. We stayed in a cabin and wish the lights had switches. They are really bright. Already booked for next year.
Jul 28, 2018
It was short but wonderful! KOA is awesome!
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 28, 2018
Jul 27, 2018
Great time! Appreciated the quiet atmosphere, clean and cool bathhouses, and safe environment for our kids.
Jul 27, 2018
Out very first ever trip to a campground in our new camper was here to KOA Chincoteague... The first night we were there, there was a stabbing right in the campground! I’m not sure it’s the family friendly environment they claim it to be and it’s not what I want my 5 and 6 year old girls to be around. I really hope this was a rare occurrence
Jul 27, 2018
Probably the nicest campground we have ever stayed at. Everything was clean especially the bathrooms though a bit cool. There was someone flying a drone over the campsites which was a little off putting.We want to come back next year and stay longer. One question why credit card for washer & dry lots of little charges on my card for every individual load so didn't use them.Will bring more clothes
Jul 27, 2018
The forecast for our vacation was hot, humid, and stormy. Most of the time was still beautiful. Maui Jack’s was a refreshing place to be. We enjoyed crabbing on the dock, and we were extremely happy to have a campsite high enough off the ground during the rain storm the morning that we left.
Jul 27, 2018
Very nice safari tent, no hot water for showers 2 out of 3 days.
Jul 26, 2018
I absolutely love this campground, but like everyone else I have minor things I do not necessarily like. I would have to say the prices' are not bad but I feel are a little to expensive. I love how clean the campground is and how well staffed and very very polite employees. I would come back for sure. The traffic in and out of the campground should be changed for safety reasons. Overall loved it!!
Jul 26, 2018
We had a wonderful time. The waterpark is great for kids and the location is accessible to all C.I. amenities / attractions.
Jul 26, 2018
We had to cut our trip short by a day, because there was so much rain, and our whole campsite flooded in above ankle deep rain water. My daughter left crying because instead of watching the pony activities on the 25th, we had to use the time to save our belongings and check out a day early. I feel the campground needs to haul in sand and build up the low lying tent areas that are under the pines
Jul 26, 2018
The staff at this KOA were great - very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. However, we were disappointed in the campgrounds. The sites were very close together with no trees or shrubs to set them apart. Even the pool was small for the size of the park. Consider the fee per night, we expected better.
Jul 26, 2018
It was good but they don’t take care of the bathrooms like they did last year
Jul 25, 2018
We didnt have the best stay :( We constantly had issues with the sewer (too long to write in here). the laundry wasnt working one day. the trolley didnt work one day. it just really was a difficult stay.
Jul 25, 2018
We’ve stayed at many KOAs. This one is very overpriced for included amenities and activities. Would not stay again. Other nice, inexpensive campgrounds on the island.
Jul 25, 2018
Quick overnight stay here but the tent area was clean and spacious. Really liked that we could pick our spot as it is an open area. the new water park Maui Jack's offers fun too-Tiki bar, friendly bar staff and great entertainment sure made the evening fly. Definitely would recommend to friends. thank you.
Jul 25, 2018
The Good- great location, good clean park. sites are very roomy and well maintained. The not so good- Very pricey, not happy about required 4 night minimum (we had only three days but paid for four). The trolley was not very regular or timely.
Jul 25, 2018
Enjoyed the beautiful seashore, marshlands,ponies and the campground. Beautiful marsh view from our site at 256. Perhaps the nicest bath house we’ve ever seen in a campground!
Jul 25, 2018
Enjoy just being in the park and meeting new people.
Jul 25, 2018
Small muddy campsite, for a lot of money.
Jul 25, 2018
My only issue during my stay was the condition of the bathroom. It was horrible the whole time. I never saw it being cleaned. Constant dirt and mud. Bad smells. I suggest having a bathroom attendant during your busy time. I loved the Safari tent but having to use that bathroom would keep me from staying in one again.
Jul 25, 2018
Great time!!! Fun and relaxing!!! Doing it again, SOON
Jul 24, 2018
Never would I stay there again. The waterpark is not even included In the price of our stay. The electric box kept trip in our camper breaker. It always smell like sewage. Bathrooms were dirty. Charged in the price of our stay. The electric box kept trip in our camper breaker. It always smell like sewage. Bathrooms were dirty. There are a lot more complaints that I have
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
Jul 24, 2018
Great time at this campground! We had a day with lots of rain and our kids still had the best time!
Jul 24, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals