Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2017
Very nice stay. Staff very nice. Only tip would be to provide more shade at pool. Will return soon.
Jul 25, 2017
the campground was clean. the staff very friendly and welcoming. Awesome location!
Jul 24, 2017
I love the improvements that koa is making to this facility
Jul 24, 2017
Very nice campground
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
The staff,amenities and location are great.Looking forward to the improvements that are coming and are return next year.
Jul 24, 2017
The Kampground was very nice. Enjoyed the cement patio site with the furniture. Nice shaded campground, however, the pool area needs a major upgrade.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice campground, new bathrooms and some nice amenities, sites are way to close together. But it's close to everything and the trolley saves alot of hassle
Jul 24, 2017
Campgrounds itself was fine. My complaint is with the swimming pool. The chemicals used are harsh on skin and eyes. The chemicals stains my husbands' bathing suit yellow (other people at pool expressed the same) and also stained my prescription sunglasses.
Jul 24, 2017
very clean, great shade, friendly staff
Jul 24, 2017
The recent upgrades are very appealing. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Only downside is the sites are very small.
Jul 24, 2017
Great site, clean facilities, location, and staff.
Jul 24, 2017
Great location next to the National Wildlife Refuge! Easy biking distance. I highly recommend this KOA and will return soon!
Jul 24, 2017
Very frustrating stay. Far from relaxing. Would not recommend, would not stay again if I was paid to.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Very clean. Front staff very nice. Really fun place to camp.
Jul 24, 2017
We had a great stay, the place was nice & clean. The bathrooms close to "tent city" got very dirty right after they were cleaned but that wasn't due to the staff, it was due to the amount of people along with the dirt & pine trees so there was no way the bath houses could stay clean.
Jul 24, 2017
Great time awesome place.. The price is the so high that you can rent a house for the week for just a couple hundred more. After fuel cost it may even be cheaper.
Jul 24, 2017
Great time. Tent areas with electric and water were a little tight with other campers. Great new bath houses.
Jul 24, 2017
It was a good first camping experience for our family! Clean facilities were a real bonus!
Jul 24, 2017
Everything was good, the only problem is the way you have to make your connections to the RV, they are located in the wrong side as they use a very extrange 4 port connection system, very odd!!!
Jul 24, 2017
A great experience for my first time camping! Very friendly and most helpful staff, clean park clean bath houses. I felt very safe. I can't think of one negative thing to say except I wish I had stayed longer!
Jul 24, 2017
The renovations to the campground are amazing. The bath house is awesome! Its even airconditioned. Staff was super friendly. Loved it
Jul 24, 2017
Kampground was great. Located in center of town. Staff was friendly. Our site was a little confusing due to nature (trees!) and need extensions for sewer/water/power. Facilities are nice/new. I thought price per night was high.
Jul 24, 2017
Great staff and good facilities. Center area very packed and glad we were on outskirts near the office, was much quieter!
Jul 24, 2017
I've traveled Route 66 two summers ago and discovered KOA then...finding that it was a much better stay compared to just motels. So when I found one in Chincoteague, I had to reserve a stay! I was very pleased and happy to say that this was by far my best experience with KOA! Every staff member was so welcoming, fun, and accommodating! Thank you so much!! I really need to buy a membership. :)
Jul 24, 2017
very clean with a helpful staff
Jul 24, 2017
This KOA was the best!!! Star was super friendly! Our camp site was so nice;we had a view of the lighthouse! everything was very clean! We will be back!
Jul 24, 2017
Was not given a warning that the town comes in twice a day to spray for mosquitoes and while you are eating outside and BBQ the fog and chemicals go onto your food. Notice would be great!!! Campground should have displayed this and warned us!!! Also site was very un-level and tight. the sewage hookup was impossible to use.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Wonderful upgrade to an older run down campground. We look forward to returning!
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
The campground was very clean with excellent facilities. The employees were very friendly and would often great my dog by name as we walked. My only objection was the golf cart rentals were not usable off the campground. I will be back.
Jul 23, 2017
I totally enjoyed our stay, the only problem I had was there were so many campfires and the smoke even with our air conditioner came inside of our camper and the smoke really bothers me.
Jul 23, 2017
Pretty pricey with no planned activities for kids. The food wagon and beach shuttle only ran on the weekend and we were there during peak season. The showers and restrooms were nice and clean (the last day the showers were dirty). Staff was friendly.
Jul 23, 2017
Great campground, extremely clean and close to all the chincoteague attractions.
Jul 23, 2017
This was my first KOA experience, and I loved it! The facility is well-maintained the atmosphere was friendly, the staff were all really nice, and it was a good price!
Jul 23, 2017
Nice campground. Clean bathrooms. But on the weekend the site filled up an at least 4 sites were playing there music like everyone everyone else in in the campground wanted to hear their music. We listened to 4 styles of music at the same time. I like music also. But that was too much.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Over priced. Too crowded. No one showed me to my spot. Faucet at my site leaked - wasting water
Jul 22, 2017
First visit here (5 nights) & will not hesitate to return! Staff friendly & helpful. Large campground - spacious sites. Bathrooms exceptionally clean! Lots to see & do!
Jul 22, 2017
Great job renovating a. Beautiful but run down campground! First rate job! The pier is wonderful..so many people used it. Suggestions: walk-off mats at restrooms, bigger sinks for dishwashing, less a/c in the restrooms..much too cold. Kudos to staff! Everyone e well trained and helpful!
Jul 22, 2017
Loved the cabins! They have everything you need!
Jul 22, 2017
This was the first time that we stayed at a KOA, and we had a wonderful stay at your campground. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, amazing, clean bathrooms and great activities. Pool is a plus only wish it had lines painted on the bottom at the foot drop levels since it is small for a rope divider-for my 5 year old grandson (minor-safety conscious grandma)Close to the beach +++++ We will be back!!!
Jul 22, 2017
What a huge improvement from last year! The staff is excellent. Been going for years now and it's only getting better. Thank you for the improvements.
Jul 21, 2017
Enjoyed convenience via trolley and well maintained facilities. We also enjoyed the pool.
Jul 20, 2017
Great location near the wildlife refuge and along the marshland. However, in some sections of the vast campground RVs are packed together like sardines. Very well run campground though.
Jul 20, 2017
Great staff and awesome activities and amenities just a little too packed (sites too close together than what I am used to)
Jul 19, 2017
I appreciate the extra "patrols" for trash pickups and having the ability to flag down a staff member with any needs. As an improvement suggestion I tried to use the ice delivery service but nobody was available to answer the phone.
Jul 19, 2017
Was a bit upset when we got to our site. There were a lot of little poop piles all over the site. Soon realized it was from the geese in the area. Had to clean up the piles so we didn't track into our RV. That was not fun!!! Overall we had a great weekend and would definitely come back again!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals