Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2017
Everyone was polite and helpful
Jul 30, 2017
Beautiful campsites with tree coverage. Walking distance to some shops, lovely bathhouses and very friendly staff. Can't wait to book for next summer too!
Jul 29, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the facilities we're very clean and well-kept. The kids loved the pool and bounce pillow. We would definitely recommend this site.
Jul 29, 2017
We have been staying at this campground for 15 years Koa took over last year they replaced all the bathhouses with beautiful modernist new ones and added some new cottages all well done however I do not think these improvements justify the huge increase in the rates from 50/55 to 75/85 per night and we were told the rates will go up again next year with the addition of the water parks .To bad !
Jul 29, 2017
The patio sites are misrepresented in the picture we saw when we made our reservation. The fire pit had debris in it. We were traveling with another camper and reserved adjacent sites but we were not given adjacent sites and one of the sites was a sand pit with rutts and holes. The toilet/shower rooms were clean.
Jul 29, 2017
The stay was ok but disappointed that we didn't get the area we wanted. Apparently you put a cabin in that bumped us out of our spot.😣
Jul 29, 2017
Clean bathhouses, great location, plenty of room
Jul 29, 2017
you got great staff,one thing I think The Island need to do is Make a map Of the Island of where other business are, and things to see we got lost a lot and trying find the dry good store to buy food was a trip other than that! we didn,t have enough time see everything I guess we have to come back lol and that a good thing!Steve
Jul 29, 2017
We thought everything was very clean and well cared for, lots of activities and a great location, too!
Jul 29, 2017
People were great. However, Site 304 should be plowed under and turned into a garden. This back in site was guarded by two trees which made it almost impossible to back into. Once in, the hookups required 50' of water hose and 30'+ of sewer hose. The water hose had to be routed under my travel trailer which meant we had to risk tripping over it. All this "luxury" cost $80.00 per night! Never again
Jul 29, 2017
Spent 2 very pleasant nights at a tent site. Very well kept campground. Campsite was very well laid out and the hosts were very courteous and helpful.
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
clean, new spacious bath houses, friendly staff. we came for pony swim. some things within walking distance but there is a trolley that will pick up & drop off. a lot of underage drivers on golf carts.
Jul 29, 2017
everyone was very helpful and very friendly during our entire stay. We had a wonderful time.
Jul 29, 2017
The front desk staff really needs work. Communication is also key between all staff. Also bought a grate from the store that didn't fit our ring. Please check your rings before ordering more. The kayak launch was horrible. It could be a lot better. Also there was no. Fishing pier.
Jul 29, 2017
Bathrooms were clean.
Jul 29, 2017
Need to change the mosquito spray time, truck came around during the tume when most were outside cooking on grills and open fires
Jul 29, 2017
The cabin was clean, looked to be new, full kitchen, and the A/C really pumped out the cool air. The grounds were clean and neat and the pool was nice. I would definitely consider going back to this location.
Jul 29, 2017
Our stay was amazing. We were first time tent campers and thrilled with everything (especially the scout master that helped w the tent)! Also the trolley service and kind helpful drivers, the KOA food truck for breakfast, the pool. We will be back, hopefully for next year's pony penning! Looking forward to the 2018 new water park! Everyone on Chincoteague Island made our dream vacation perfect !
Jul 28, 2017
Chincoteague KOA is without a doubt the prettiest, most well run campground we have ever stayed in. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. David was a great guy we loved joking with. We definitely will refer this campground and hope to return as soon as we can.
Jul 28, 2017
When we checked in the front desk put us in the wrong site and wasn't very helpful until we spoke to someone else at the desk who was. The bathrooms need to be service more regularly. In one place along three toilets were not in working order. They was sanitary pads on the floors, sand and dirty floors. Very unfriendly neighbors who chain smoked and stayed up all night talking.
Jul 28, 2017
Friendliest people of any campground i have ever stayed in Camp sight was large with new table and burning pit Enjoyed the stay and would recommend this campground
Jul 28, 2017
Expensive.Bathroom are excellent. Perimeter tent sites have no available water or electric. Need neutral water source within a reasonable walking distance
Jul 28, 2017
I was very pleased with my stay although I did have a negative experience with the Kids Kare program.
Jul 28, 2017
Was a little skeptical after hearing it had been sold.However the improvements were great and the staff was friendly..It would be a lot more convenient if the bath houses were cleaned on a regular basis and the times posted. Got shut out twice in the same day.Great location and the free shuttle was a big plus as we did not bring a car.
Jul 28, 2017
Jul 28, 2017
Way to overpriced.
Jul 28, 2017
Very lovely campground. Just wish all the deluxe pull ins had the pretty tables, glider and chimineas.
Jul 28, 2017
Would have given it 5 stars except for the garbage truck emptying the dumpsters at the hotel next door! Ridiculously loud
Jul 28, 2017
This was the friendliest, cleanest, most amazing place I have ever been too! My boyfriend and I lost our car keys (possibly threw them away) so the staff helped us. One of them even gave us some rubber gloves so we could look through the trash. They were so polite and friendly, all of them, and seemed to honestly enjoy their jobs and it showed. I loved this place and plan on coming back!!!!
Jul 28, 2017
Bob was a great first impression! The girl who escorted me to my site though could not tell me where my boundaries were and had me park on top of my sewer.. leaving my neighbors sewer next to my rigs outdoor kitchen. There were 2 extreme bullying issues at the jumping pillows where 8/9 year olds got pushed down and cussed out. employees were informed. 10 years camping... worst behavior ever!
Jul 28, 2017
Very nice
Jul 28, 2017
Staff is always great, have stayed multiple times and will continue to come back. Friendly and kind staff and clean campground and facilities. Always a wonderful stay.
Jul 27, 2017
It was a good stay. However, two times I needed to use the restroom at 8:00-8:30 am and was told to go somewhere else because they were cleaning. When asked what I should do, the lady shrugged and said, "I don't know." She didn't offer up where the other bath houses were. We stayed in primitive camping and I never found a place to clean my dishes. I had to use unused RV spots to clean them.
Jul 27, 2017
very nice quiet place shower house was the best I have ever been in
Jul 27, 2017
Very friendly staff. All very helpful. Grounds are very nice. The front gate was always manned, providing a safe feeling. The store was well stocked and priced fairly. A "game room" or "arcade" would help on rainy days. Still under "construction" the pool and playground will be updated soon. No worries, plenty of fun on the jumping pillow!
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice facilities and conveniently located. Sites are small and fire rings do not have ability to cook on them which was terribly inconvenient. There was a lot of stuff for the kids to do which was nice!
Jul 27, 2017
We had a great stay. Close to Assateague and bike riding. Only complaint is the trolley schedule should be published and more clear.
Jul 27, 2017
I enjoyed my stay a lot. The store had everything you needed in case you forgot and the prices for fire wood was really good. There was also a good amount of activities and nearby attractions to keep me occupied.
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
Well maintained, consider adding a ramp or steps to the kayak dock for easier access at lower water levels.
Jul 26, 2017
Had a great time and very pleased with the cleanness of everything.
Jul 26, 2017
Great campground, however I think the primitive sites are a little overpriced. ($60+ for a random spot on the ground) Some of the "tenants" were rude, especially the kids. Other than that it was a great campground.
Jul 26, 2017
We had a shady spot. CG was quiet, clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff. Convenient to beach parking. Bike and walking paths. Walked to diner. We will be back.
Jul 25, 2017
i have been staying here for years before it became a KOA this year. The place is very nice but seems a little on the expensive side considering that just down the road it is $20 cheaper and you have sound side docks.
Jul 25, 2017
We loved this campground! Well kept, friendly and great facilities! Close to everything we needed! We will go back!
Jul 25, 2017
We had a wonderful time!
Jul 25, 2017
Love this KOA.
Jul 25, 2017
We loved it! This was our first time. The campground was pretty and we enjoyed using the kayak launch. Everyone we encountered was pleasant.
Jul 25, 2017
Except that we did not have a sewer hook up everything was great. Filtering & picnic tables made for great fun. We loved the pool, we'll be back!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals