Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2018
Aug 01, 2018
We stayed in a safari tent-- it was great. The only problem was that our tent was surrounded by a lake of water after all the rain. And to get to the bathhouse everyone had to wade through 3 inches of stagnant water. Rain is not KOA's problem but the terrible grading is. Campground could really use new gravel all over the driveways/campground roads but especially leading up to the bathhouses.
Aug 01, 2018
Aug 01, 2018
unaddressed drainage problem created a bog which supported the worst mosquito infestation ever. we could not use campsite or grounds and had to leave early. boo.
Jul 31, 2018
First off our sewer would not drain. And yes we had a rubber seal. The maintenance guy was very nasty and rude. You had a very young person working in the office so nobody to talk to about complaints. Bathhouses very dirty. And you over charge for everything. It’s crazy to charge that much for an extra car???? And my neighbor said you charge 5 dollars a day if you bring your own golf cart?? CRA
Jul 31, 2018
Nice to see you have done alot of work with all the new bath houses and cabins. Only down side some of the rv sites and roads on the backside by the light house are tight to get in and out of for larger trailers. We had a descent amount of rain some rv and tent sites flooded around ours. We had some standing water but it dried up in a day. Liked the garbage pick up.
Jul 31, 2018
Store, restrooms, showers, garbage pick-up, excellent security. Grounds were well maintained including mosquito spraying. Pool area clean. Overall an excellent rating.
Jul 31, 2018
The best part about the campground was the free shuttle service. The two gentleman who drive the shuttle are so nice and very informative. I was a little disappointed in the deluxe patio sites at this KOA. By far they are the smallest and lease deluxe of any KOA (Delaware Gap & Elizabethtown) that I have stayed at previously. The campground did not have any activities for the children.
Jul 31, 2018
My family stayed at the KOA during the pony swim. The trolley left us waiting at the stop for over 1.5hrs in the rain. We called the front desk over five times asking if it would be back to pick us up, we were told over 5 times the bus was on its way. It never came. The front desk just gave a quick answer without investigating. The tents sites also got completely flooded.
Jul 31, 2018
Spots are very tight and narrow. Not enough space for our camper to pull in and they had to move us a few times to find a site that would fit without other campers or trees in the way. Need more super sites or to widen the roads between sites. The town, beach, and the water park are nice. But be aware that admission to the water park and local beach is not included and must pay extra.
Jul 31, 2018
Great vacation!
Jul 31, 2018
It was horrible! First we were put in a spot to small for our camper, we couldn't get in cuz there were to many trees including one in center of lot them we were moved to another spot that was a mud pit, making a fire or playing wasnt possible. The employees were ALL rude and no help and had no knowledge of anything including the carnival which is a big reason ppl stayed there! I could go on...
Jul 31, 2018
The location of this campground is very nice, but for $100 a night you can almost rent an cabin or home. The bathrooms were FILTHY. During our 2 night visit, they were only cleaned once. By the time we left, only 1 of 7 sinks was working and only 1 stall had toilet paper. Our neighboring campers completely ignored the quiet hours, and there wasn't an employee on site to deal with this.
Jul 31, 2018
Park is great. Love proximity to all things in Chincoteague also. Just wish front desk had answers to visitors ' questions. John the trolley driver is your BEST asset. He made our trip what it was.
Jul 31, 2018
Love this place
Jul 31, 2018
Jul 31, 2018
El área de tents es muy crowed, poco espacio y no hay mucha privacidad. La administración no hace respetar el reglamento después de las 11:00 pm en cuanto al ruido, los campers seguido al nuestro la primera noche escucharon música y bebieron hasta las 2:30 am, por supuesto ninguno pudo dormir, incluida mi bebe de 11 meses. Los baños estan muy bien, el trolly a la playa y el jumping pillow!
Jul 31, 2018
Great campground with friendly, helpful staff. Only thing I would change is extend the pool hours. Maui Jack's is great too!
Jul 31, 2018
Very clean and friendly staff!
Jul 31, 2018
We had a wonderful last minute stay in one of the brand new bungalows. Two adults and three kids, 9,8 and 3. We brought our bikes and found out how bike friendly the entire island of Chincoteague is. We rode to the beach, lighthouse and downtown. Wonderful trolley service. Clean bathrooms and super friendly staff. Daughter says she had more fun than Disney World! We will be back.
Jul 31, 2018
Very clean and family friendly location. The water park is good for kids. The pool was great.
Jul 31, 2018
It sucked at ur campground the web site is very misleading we get there and the cabins not what it showed online we spent all the vacation money on sheet,blankets a grill so it was the worst trip we have taken thanks koa campground.
Jul 31, 2018
Perfect!!!
Jul 31, 2018
They placed us in small area with 4 campers backed in right next to one another. There was only approx. 3 feet between the camper backing up to ours and camp trailer to rt was approx. 6-10 feet away. There was plenty of open spaces (vacant spots directly to the left of our camper as well as for those back up to our location. Would sug. that when spaces are available to separate camper by size.
Jul 30, 2018
Great facility. Great staff. Very clean. The gravel roads were very rough though. Amazing week overall. Thank you.
Jul 30, 2018
I had an issue with your maintenance employee Mike. The man called me a liar and told me it was people like me who ruin camping. I reported it to your office and I have yet to hear from anyone. I will not book another stay there and will not recommend your facility to anyone.
Jul 30, 2018
The campground is nice, site size is ok, bathrooms are very well kept, the shuttle is a nice perk, and the store has all the necessities you could need. My only complaint would be the nightly cost..I feel it's too high for the amenities you get...as compared to other similar campgrounds, including KOA's. If I were to visit again, I would stay here but I would shorten my stay because of this reason
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Perfect for us! had three under 6, so the playground, bounce pad and pool were the perfect outlet for them. Visited the dock to see campers catching crabs. Accommodations were perfect with two bedrooms, one with bunk beds and the other with a queen bed. Full service kitchen, our own bath and living area. It was a perfect Tiny Home, with a screened in porch.
Jul 30, 2018
Wonderful visit during the famous Pony Swim!!! Great campsite. Complimentary trolley made getting around this busy little town easy . Thanks KOA!!! We will be back!!
Jul 30, 2018
We love the cabins. All the people at the camp grounds are very friendly.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Pony run was an experience we will remember. Seeing the ponies on Assatigue Island fantastic. Great experiences all around.Friendly and helpful people.
Jul 30, 2018
Too expensive and very cramped sites.
Jul 30, 2018
My family and I have been camping in Chincoteague for 30 years and I have to say the KOA is definitely a step up. My granddaughter and family loved the water park.
Jul 30, 2018
Pleasantly surprised at change from Maddox to KOA. Upon arrival, the extremely kind gentlemen helped us hook up our new Airstream (used first time) with a fabulous unobstructed light house view. All campers wer kind & respectful. Loved the new bath houses and upgrades throughout park. � thank you so much. See you next year for pony swim 2019!
Jul 30, 2018
The Safari tent was the BEST!!! My family loved every minute of our stay, from the FUN new water park, to the Safari tent, and all the fun activities on the Island.
Jul 30, 2018
Pretty bad stay overall. Some of this was on the resort, some was not. The first night we had a very large group arrive close to us around 9:30pm. They stayed up and were extremely loud until 3am and nobody from the campground was there to make them observe quiet hours. I was actually also surprised you would allow such a large group to check in so late, you had to know how that was ending....
Jul 30, 2018
There was a stabbing at our campground - I heard about it from friends who let me know, not the campground staff. We decided to check out a day early - when I went to check out the person in the office never even asked why we decided to leave early. Very disappointing.
Jul 30, 2018
We loved how close it was to the beach and the facilities were very clean. Over all it was a excellent stay!!
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Loved it! Amenities were amazing - Trolley was a great way for us to get around and tge kids loved it! We will be making this a yearly trip.
Jul 30, 2018
Jul 30, 2018
Too pricey for an uneven site. Close to beach and town. Ok park but expensive
Jul 30, 2018
We enjoyed our stay although it was brief. The campground is neat and tidy and we had good shade. The campground is centrally located too. We will be back although next times I will book one of the premium sites. I was not aware that I needed a 50 to 30 amp converter, it would have been handy to know in advance.
Jul 29, 2018
Great stay! Convenient to all Pony week activities, beach, and restaurants. The campground was clean with plenty of restrooms; flat, pull-through RV spots; and, the staff was helpful and always available - especially Travis! Travis and the KOA trolley made sure we arrived at our destinations safely, comfortably and knowledgeable about return transportation. We will definitely return next year!
Jul 29, 2018
Jul 29, 2018
The staff was awesome, very nice. Someone took my towel and my golf cart. My tent flooded, the tent sites need to have a higher ground for tents. When I went to see the ponies cross, we were so far away that the boats and all blocked everything. I could have stayed home and watched it on tv and saw more. If I ever return, an I doubt that, I would not stay at Koa.
Jul 29, 2018
The Chincoteague Island KOA is amazing! Nice pool, right beside a water park, VERY clean and updated. Shower houses and bathrooms were clean and updated. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Jul 29, 2018
This is one of the nicest, cleanest and most we'll run campgrounds I have ever stayed at. The facilities are all modern and top notch. The laundry facilities even accept credit cards. A truly wonderful stay.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals