Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2017
After spending $688 & driving almost 800 miles I feel it was petty to charge $15 because we arrived 1 1/2 hrs before check in time. It is hard to predict exact arrival time with traffic conditions & not knowing the area where were we suppose to wait? I have arrived early at many parks and have never been charged and early fee. No cable TV or movie rentals. Water at every other site & no water o
Aug 01, 2017
Awesome place to stay. The kids loved the pool and the jumping pillow. The trolley driver was very accommodating when it came to sight seeing. Hope to get back there very soon.
Aug 01, 2017
We were told inconsistent check-in/out rules between people and given different rates for the same number of people that we've had at that site for years. It led to some confusion, but mostly frustration at feeling like some staff were just looking for ways to charge us.
Aug 01, 2017
Not a lot for our family to do in that area but it is a nice campground.
Aug 01, 2017
Nice staff, clean grounds, and clean modern facilities. Convenient to all that the island has to offer. Our site was comparable to most koa's, a touch small, but livable. It appears that they do have bigger sites scattered throughout. We did enjoy the shade from the tall pine trees around our site. We will stay here again next time.
Aug 01, 2017
We had an amazing time! Everything was clean, employees were great...a truly professional operation.
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Pro: restroom and shower are clean; Nice shady camp sites; Friendly staff. Con: Camp sites are relatively small and close to each other. Our biggest complain is the loud, long lasting noises (sounds like trash truck pickup around the camp site) at close to 6 AM while I think is still quiet time there!
Aug 01, 2017
Enjoyed our stay and it was very nice. The staff was very friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
I feel the prices are a bit high especially for tent sites. Activities could be a bit more organized. The teens running the activities are not very organized or prepared.
Jul 31, 2017
We enjoyed our stay - Stephanie was awesome and helped us plan activities during Pony Penning. We understand you are working on wireless and cable, that was our only problem with the campground
Jul 31, 2017
dirty roads,mud holes to drive thru, no cable tv as can not use own satellite because of trees clean bath houses, good employees, good trash pick up
Jul 31, 2017
The updates to the campgrounds are great! Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Great place to camp!!
Jul 31, 2017
It was great. Love the improvements only suggestion is benches outside the Laundry rooms
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice campground. I will be back. Two thing I wish that there were more activities at the campground and more of a store for food and coffee.
Jul 31, 2017
The pet walk grass needed to be cut could not walk dogs there all week. Could not get internet at camp site AT ALL. Could not get 1 TV channel, not even weather or news. WAY OVER PRICED AND NO WHERE WORTH THE MONEY NEVER AGAIN
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Great camp experience! Many activities inside as well as outside the camp to keep the family busy!
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice updated bathrooms and spacious sites. We wanted to stay later on check out day but was told we had to pay 25 dollars. I think koa can do a better job accommodating their guests especially when the campground was not booked and many sites were empty.
Jul 31, 2017
We stayed 10 nights which had us there for pony penning week. Nice campground,sites are big enough to be comfortable even on busy days. Only thing I didn't like was the price for fire wood, $6 for a small bundle is a bit crazy. We will be back again, just less campfires :(
Jul 31, 2017
Had great time. Need game room for rainy days. Last day there the pool was full of bugs
Jul 31, 2017
This is a nice campground, although it was raining the entire time of our short stay, we enjoyed the facility. The employees were friendly, and accommodating when we requested to change our site due to another patrons motor home on our assigned site; as well as a problem with the tree placement. We will stay here again in the future.
Jul 31, 2017
Nice clean facility, great location for biking to Assateague. View of the lighthouse. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 31, 2017
Good clean campground with plenty of activities and convenient location. Friendly staff too!
Jul 31, 2017
This camp ground was great, only issue was they did not have my site ready when I arrived, though they quickly found me another. The staff was great, bathrooms were clean, beach was wonderful!!
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice, and nice staff. The weather was uncooperative, but you know what they say about that....
Jul 31, 2017
The staff at the office were the most generous and kindest. The restrooms were the cleanest I've ever seen in campgrounds.
Jul 31, 2017
The staff had all the tent campers next to one another when there were sites available in another section. The staff could have spread the campers out so it wasn't so cramped in one section. Also the price was outrageous. I will not stay there again.
Jul 31, 2017
Very helpful friendly staff!
Jul 30, 2017
This was our first stay at chincoteague KOA. We were very pleasantly surprised by how helpful and enthusiastic all the employees were. Bob especially made us feel welcome. He answered all our questions and was very helpful. We stayed in the primitive tent camping area, so we used the bathroom and bath house facilities which were really nice. We are already talking about a return visit.
Jul 30, 2017
Beautiful setting. Clean bathhouses. Wonderful kid activities. We can't wait to to return!
Jul 30, 2017
Our stay was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly. Only disappointment was tiki bar was not approved as advertised and promoted. Hope to see everything as advertised in the future.
Jul 30, 2017
the KOA was one of the nicest campgrounds we stayed in and the people were the most friendly .
Jul 30, 2017
Had a wonderful time. Can't wait until you get the WiFi in the entire campground and the water park
Jul 30, 2017
The amenities and location were wonderful. The staff I dealt with were very pleasant. However it was the noisiest campground (after quiet hour) that I have ever stayed in. People coming and going, partying around the campfire. It was a free for all. If this is the way all KOA campgrounds are run I will probably not stay in another one.
Jul 30, 2017
It was so friendly and inviting and quiet at night with plenty of space for our stay.
Jul 30, 2017
Loved the campground and atmosphere. Everyone there was friendly. The only problem we did have was that our camp spot was wedged between two trees and there wasn't much space to move around while other camp sites seemed to have a lot of room! Overall we had a great time!
Jul 30, 2017
It was great!!! I needed help with my trailer and people went out of their way to help me!!!! Thanks xxx
Jul 30, 2017
Over crowded and difficult to find your site. Staff wasn't very helpful. Good location, however, to get to the island.
Jul 30, 2017
Have been at campsite before it was KOA. The improvements are great. Large clean bathhouses, Light house pier for crabbing, kayaking, fishing, activity center,kids bounce bubble. The staff kind and helpful trash pick up and cleanliness of sites was outstanding.Sites listed as seasonal are large some of pull through looked tight. Great campground will be back
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
There seemed to be a great deal of disorganization among staff, with people being placed in the wrong campsites. We wound up in a back-in site that had two large pine trees directly across from it. It took a long time to get backed in. The site was very small, compared to other KOA campsites, and 4 nights in a row - in extremely hot weather, we lost power at our site. Nice pool & good location
Jul 30, 2017
The only problem I found is the campsites are not marked out. The tent sites are the worst, it's like everyone is on top of each other. The trailer sites neighbors park close in front of your trailer which limits your space. I did not have a problem but I noticed it with other sites. Otherwise it's a good camping spot.
Jul 30, 2017
Nice quiet camp ground with plenty of things for our kids to do. Extremely clean bath houses and great staff.
Jul 30, 2017
Awesome time
Jul 30, 2017
While the amenities were nice (clean bathroom, dog park, pool) the campsites themselves were way too close together and VERY noisy. Every morning between 3-5am multiple car alarms would go off, sleep was non-existent and nothing was done about it in the week we stayed.
Jul 30, 2017
Nice bathrooms and laundry. Complementary shuttle to beach and downtown! My only gripe is the sewer connections are too tall to effectively work.
Jul 30, 2017
Very nice. The bath house was clean and staff was friendly. I like the extra activities that have been added to the campground. I have already recommended to people with children.
Jul 30, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved location close to beach.
Jul 30, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals