Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
There are WAY too many tent sites with not enough bathrooms and paths to bathrooms! Speeding through campground. Loud music. No enforcement of rules. Nice employees, but that's not enough.
Aug 13, 2018
We have stayed at several KOA campgrounds in the last 10 years of camping. This was the worst KOA we have stayed at. The women's bathroom was closed for one hour on Saturday morning. Other campers were constantly cutting across our campsite which was located at Site 01 and near the camp store. The office staff was told about this and did nothing. The only nice thing was the water park.
Aug 13, 2018
Wish you would have more activities. Didn’t receive info at check in about weekend events. Only knew due to Facebook.
Aug 13, 2018
The women's bathroom needs to be serviced a few times a day, especially with the showers being in there. We found it to be messy during our visits, with tissue paper on the floors and the floors themselves being quite wet. Laundry room needs to be coin operated. Had many issues w the machines accepting valid credit cards.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
You cannot control bugs, the weather, or the tides. That being said, we had a great stay at Chincoteague and never had the issues outlined in the other reviews. The employees were always friendly, the sites were not on top of each other like most said. The bathrooms were as clean as they could be in a beach/campground environment. Yes - they are a bit pricey, but that's my only complaint.
Aug 13, 2018
Very relaxing
Aug 13, 2018
Lots of fun. Much to do here. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2018
Bathrooms were often dirty, but I'm intrigued by some of the new amenities. Prices are quite high compared to just a couple of years ago.
Aug 13, 2018
Went with a group of 5 families. Were able to camp in close proximity. Kids enjoyed The watermark. Was able to ride bike to see Local entertainment. Great memories.
Aug 13, 2018
Closest campground to the beach! Nice welcome center, clean restrooms and full hook ups were great. Some of the sites are super narrow though and crowded. Campground is "dated" and could use a little facelift with paved sites or at least gravel in all sites. I would however stay here again!
Aug 13, 2018
Our recent stay was real good. Love the patio sites. Just had one issue; with some tent campers walking thru your site, even while you are eating dinner. But a good clothes line took care of that. (I would have used police tape if i had any). Will stay again in offseason. The water park is great for children. Thanks again.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
The staff are wonderful, the campground is clean and very nice - love the island.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Luckily the rate was discounted during our stay because I don't believe this KOA is worth their normal rate. Also the Water Park being a separate charge from the camping fee does not seem right.
Aug 13, 2018
Security unavailable to deal with late night issue. Cabin floor was sticky and filthy. “Spectacular view” was the back of someone’s RV. Very disappointed with this KOA. Will not return.
Aug 13, 2018
We very much enjoyed ourselves. Did have some delays in showing as a result of people taking extremely long showers. I think one time I waited 20 minutes. Not sure what one person can do in a shower that long but not a KOA issue but an inconsideration of others issue. I solved this issue by moving my shower up in the day.
Aug 13, 2018
Nice campground. Under staffed, bathrooms were very dirty, not attended too and many tented campers were unruly after hours. The Safari tent was wonderful, unfortunately the overall experience was not. If the staff was more attentive, the stay would have been MUCH better.
Aug 13, 2018
Our stay was great! The staff was very good and accomodating. The campsite was perfect. My kids loved the pool and jumping pillow. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars was due to the men’s bathroom. I think there needs to be more attention to keeping it clean. The floors were covered in dirt and sand. One suggestion would be to have an outdoor rinsing area before people enter the bathroom
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
A little crowded, Clean facilities, Kids friendly campground, and excellent guest service.
Aug 13, 2018
Quiet hours not enforced. Campers didn't quiet down until 1:30 am. Tent campsites packed together too close/no privacy. Super crowded. Nice location for going to the beach.
Aug 12, 2018
Campground nice having been going there when Maddox there and now Koa. Will come back next year. Friendly staff, sites great, quiet at bedtone
Aug 12, 2018
Very expensive with different rate charges for same site for 27 nights even with extended stay rate. Asked for pull-thru site in March for a 37' plus tow car and were given 2 sites which were back-ins. Employees making reservations need more knowledge about length of sites for motor homes. Very dusty and lots of pot holes in the dirt roads. Grass was not mowed on site whole time we were there
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 12, 2018
Staff was friendly. Bathrooms/showers were clean and kept. Site was pretty level. Pool area was nice. Very nice campground. I would definitely stay and recommend staying here again.
Aug 12, 2018
Really enjoyed the campground. Friendly staff. Clean. Only complaint is the price. For what you are charging the water park should be included.
Aug 12, 2018
Campsites are low ground so that rainfall floods most sites. Most tent sites were under water. Road and yards for cabins on the island area were flooded. So many mosquitos there it was almost unbearable--city flew planes over campground at night spraying & truck fogged daily. The bathrooms were clean, but one at office ran out of toilet paper in all but 2 stalls Thursday. Staff were all fantastic!
Aug 12, 2018
Really enjoyed our stay. Only two comments...screen door on our bungalow was ripped. We couldn’t use the front porch because we couldn’t keep the mosquitoes out. Also...it would be nice if you posted bathroom cleaning schedule so guests would know ahead if time what restrooms are available. Not good walking to a restroom only to find that it was closed for cleaning. The water park was awe
Aug 12, 2018
Site only had 50 amp hook up but was loaned an adapter since I was not aware of this when reserving. That was appreciated.
Aug 12, 2018
Upon arrival we were given a site near the entrance, with no shade and our AC not working, the staff moved us to another site, much better. All the staff was very friendly, the host on duty very helpful with our move, even saw him picking up trash on the ground. Clean facilities. Looking forward to going back. Thanks for a great week. Glad y’all spray for mosquitoes...
Aug 12, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. We had a well maintained site and found the bathhouses to be mostly clean. We would recommend some additional umbrellas in the pool for shade. The check-in staff needs MORE TRAINING on how to accept payments/gift cards. If your chip-card readers don't work, please put a sign on them. This was our 2nd stay and we had issues with BOTH check-ins...SUPER FRUSTRATING.
Aug 12, 2018
We loved our stay! The only thing we didn't like is the campground became full on the weekends and we had to wait in long lines to use the bathroom or shower in the bath houses. Perhaps the number of bathhouses should be increased to avoid this. Also, in two of the three bath houses one shower in each bath house was "out of order" so that cut down on the ability for all of us to shower!
Aug 12, 2018
Great location. KOA's could make your stay much better with the option of choosing a site. We requested a new site upon arrival. Our assigned site had a concrete sewage slab in the middle of it. The staff was very helpful in locating a new site, but what if that was only site available?????
Aug 12, 2018
arrived 1 1/2 hours early to pay 15dollar early check fee. Arrived at the deluxe cabin to learn there was no screen door for to the porch. Went back to the checkin to discuss why, was not told at check in. Kid behind the desk very rude as he didn’t understand why I was complaining about not having the door. 300.00 a night you expect to have what your paying for. Talked with Mgr. Got all straight
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Had a problem with the sewer hookup and we were provided with another site. This meant we had to pack up and move. A little inconvenience during our stay. Overall a great vacation. May want to think about upgrading the sewer lines.
Aug 11, 2018
Excellent
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
I think safety measures should be increased. First aid and a paramedic should be available on site. A shuttle should run all week not only on certain days.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
We have a good time,Thank you.
Aug 11, 2018
I was very happy about the safari tents, the staff was very welcoming and accommodating but the bathrooms were not maintained well. They were only cleaned once a day and at the beach that is not enough. Two of the shower stalls were broken for my entire stay.
Aug 10, 2018
Nice for families but have a problem charging $5 a day to have extra car on large lot not taking space from anyone. Came to $15 for 3 days just to sit there. Seems like taking advantage of people when already charging top price for campsite. We are a retired couple always staying there for years and think the car charge is going too far when have lot big enough to accommodate it
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals