Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
We had a wonderful stay in Chincoteague. We will definitely be coming back. We got engaged in Chincoteague and it will be in our hearts forever. Wish we were still on island time.
Aug 14, 2017
Have been coming to the campground for approx. 20 years. It was so nice to experience the updated facilities, particularly the bath houses! Excellent weekend.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a nice relaxing time.
Aug 14, 2017
We lived the campground! Very relaxing!
Aug 14, 2017
We had a great time staying there! Nice campground and looks like a lot of improvements planned for the future! Staff was excellent!!! Thank you all and look forward to seeing you again real soon!!
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
This was the best KOA we have ever stayed at! It was brand new and kept incredibly clean. The employees were friendly and nice. I wanted a concrete space and saw several open during the week...we would have paid the additional money without hesitation. Overall, we would still give these folks an A+. Susie & Steve
Aug 13, 2017
Spaces too small. Water out for over half a day and no reimbursement offered.
Aug 13, 2017
Prime location! Much improved restrooms! BUT... Same dirty, low, wet campsites for more money! Electric and water hookups on the wrong side for trailers on many sites. Please fix campground roads and site drainage issues...long overdue from decades of use...not fair to promote a premium campground and park people in ankle deep water after every rain!
Aug 12, 2017
1. Roads around our site bumpy and dusty. Speed limit for both campers and employees not enforced. 2. Advertised Shuttle not in service because driver quit. ( no backup plan?) 3. Food truck to be open Thursday thru Sunday. Open only 1 day 4. Deluxe patio site is not as pictured on line. Site not paved and no grill. 5. Must have a credit card to operate washer and dryer in the laundry.
Aug 12, 2017
I was not very happy to find out that sites were moved around without reflecting it on the campground map. I specifically picked a site near the bath house only to find out that there were sites put in blocking access to the bath house. The biggest issue that I have is the rates for what I got. We love the island and its tranquility but it definitely won't be worth paying $100 + a night.
Aug 12, 2017
The campground and surrounding area was nice. The only big problem was the mosquitos. They were quite frisky.
Aug 12, 2017
We were not given any info on the campground regarding where or when there would be trash pickup. Didn't know that there was no cable TV except in the deluxe campsites which we were told were booked. Several of those sites remained vacant the entire extent of our stay. Campsites were very primitive and the access roads in and out of the campground were in terrible condition. Too expensive!!
Aug 12, 2017
One of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed in! Lots of nice, shady sites, beautiful facilities, friendly staff! We are already looking forward to camping there again next year!
Aug 12, 2017
Check in quick and friendly. new buildings and bathrooms are nice, Kept mostly clean. Bugs just as bad as I remember 20 yrs ago that's not KOA fault just come with Off. Take showers just before bed. Camp store only somewhat stocked. Wood was wet and hard to keep burning, bring some from outside. hard rain all night resulted in flooded sites come prepared if you are tent camping.
Aug 12, 2017
Close to home. Enjoyed our stay. Patio furniture was really nice. The site was a bit pricey. The view of lighthouse was nice but not stunning as advertised. Especially since another site between us and the view and people parked their truck blocking our view. Overall very nice though. Would definately go again.
Aug 11, 2017
Very nice, hope fix roads and keep prices reasonable.
Aug 11, 2017
It is a nice campground, but floods when it rains, we had Lake Chincoteague under our camper and it was hard to get out the door. The mosquitoes were very bad. The campground is very clean.
Aug 11, 2017
There is nothing bad to say if you come prepared. Mosquitoes are bad so make sure you have the repellents
Aug 11, 2017
Seems like a lot of improvement this year... but still a long way to go. Lots of things that were advertised were not open. Some minor glitches in the cabin. Not sure... but pretty sure we were overcharged. Not bad enough that I won't try again next year as it seems like you have already made progress and a lot of issues were weather related.
Aug 11, 2017
Had a great time in spite of the rainy weather
Aug 11, 2017
Although the KOA had the cleanest bathrooms and laundry rooms I have seen, the KOA did not give us the campsites we reserved and they gave my son a hard time when he arrived late on Sunday. On Monday night, terrible storms came through dumping inches of rain and knocking out branches all over the campground. Too many dead limbs in the trees and most of the campsites around us were flooded.
Aug 11, 2017
Great campground, but I wish they get the cable tv working soon.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Only complaint I have is the mosquitos, but nothing the camp ground can do about that!
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Too expensive. Water on site. No shade for site 308 although others were available. I will not stay there again. Roger Larson
Aug 10, 2017
Bathrooms very clean. Personnel not very happy or helpful.
Aug 10, 2017
It was very nice . Not much to do for the older crowed . The snack truck wasn't open when we were looking to eat around lunch. But they gave us other great options and it rained when we stayed . They were very nice and helpful . I look forward to staying there next year with more of my friends .
Aug 10, 2017
They deliberately lied about the amenities several times. The pesticide spraying was done without any warning or notice.. it was not a good visit
Aug 10, 2017
6 nights Great staff Clean bathrooms Very nice pull through site.
Aug 10, 2017
Enjoyed the campground & tthebstaff was very friendly!! Had a great weekend...other than the serious rain:)
Aug 10, 2017
It was fantastic...facilities were clean,staff was great,crab feast was excellent....we will definitely be back!
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
It was a nice place, but we picked a bad weekend. Lot of rain so we could not enjoy to much of campground. Would stay again as it is in a great location.
Aug 09, 2017
First time to Chincoteague in a long time the KOA was very nice lack of cable TV was kind of disappointing but other than that all amenities will very good will be back with family and friends
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
The setting was beautiful with shade trees, the bathrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 09, 2017
very nice
Aug 09, 2017
As with all the KOAs we have stayed at things were clean and neat with a friendly helpful staff. The campground is a little old and our first site was not capable of accomadating our TT. We were moved with no troubles to a pull-thru that just did fit. Basic 50-30 amp full hookup with no cable at almost $95 a night, yikes! Truthfully, non-chain camps are available for less.
Aug 09, 2017
Not too crowded. Bathrooms were closed often. Lots of mosquitos (which is no ones fault). Food truck was awesome. Great service. Better prices on bikes to the beach--fun on wheels was $8 for bikes per day. When you stay at a hotel or resort and pay money, you usually get complimentary breakfast or ice or something but many of the KOA prices were more expensive then the stores nearby.
Aug 09, 2017
Loved our stay, can't wait until next year, water park also will be there which will make it great. See you all then.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Love the new updates. The staff was very nice. Some of the younger staff was not knowledgeable.
Aug 08, 2017
Helpful friendly staff. Wonderful crab fest. Manager was at crab fest and made a point to chat with every guest.
Aug 08, 2017
Rules of the campground need to be enforced, cars driving much to fast through campground and numerous children driving golf carts. Sites are very tight, not many activities available.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
I have to give it 5 out of 5 because the park is truly awesome with great amenities. Bath houses are clean and newly renovated. Reasonably price and friendly staff. Just to make everyone aware bring every mosquito deterrent known to man. Also make sure to have a 50-30 Amp adapter because with out it electric can be tricky.
Aug 08, 2017
I had a wonderful stay at your campsite.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals