Chincoteague Island KOA

Open May 12 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 800-562-7730

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 20, 2017
Very nice place. Friendly helpful staff. Great location
Oct 19, 2017
Enjoyed Cork and canvas
Oct 18, 2017
We stayed in our travel trailer for 4 nights. The campground is very nice. Sites are nice, a little tight for tow vehicle. Sites are a pretty good size! Bathrooms were very clean! Cabins look cute too.Staff were very nice!! We will be back!
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
With a Troop of 21 Scouts we were pleased with our experience. The campground is very clean & the staff extremely pleasant. Bathrooms were sanitary. Store is well stocked and priced reasonably. Because of rain the sites were soaked, soupy, and sloppy. I would suggest some more grading of the tent sites. Overall, everything was great. We will certainly be staying again.
Oct 17, 2017
very clean facilities, close to activities, close to park
Oct 17, 2017
Only thing wrong was the rain.....loved the campground...the convenience of everything being close by...
Oct 17, 2017
Great campaite
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay the campground was very nice and the facility's were wonderful and clean. All the staff was very friendly and always saying Hello or waving when they drove by. Our only complaint is that our site flooded bad! We were nailing it out with buckets ourselves when they would just drive by and no assistance to help us. The next day they offered for us to move but we declined.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We enjoyed the stay and the weekend. My only negative comment was the admission price for the Cork and Canvas festival.It was way too high for what was at the festival. The wineries were not well represented, with each on only bringing two of their wines. We still had a good time, and will probably come back in the summer and visit. We loved the deluxe cabin.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
My stay was very enjoyable, the staff was friendly & very helpful.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Nice Campground. streets need to be repaved/ stoned,very muddy. Otherwise clean restrooms and bathhouses. Staff very friendly and helpful will be back next year.
Oct 16, 2017
Everything very clean, especially the restrooms, staff very helpful!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
We were in site 240. Heavy rains left us surrounded by several inches of water for half of our weeklong stay. We had hoped it would dry up faster, in retrospect,we should have moved to higher ground. We were disappointed that no one saw our situation and offered us that option. The camp was fairly empty,seems like they had the personnel. Lovely surroundings but not sure husband would return.
Oct 12, 2017
Everything was perfect!!! ... until it wasnât. Am so sorry that the property floods the way it does during a heavy rain. Honestly, this aspect of your KOA will be a consideration for future stays. The wonderful kind and attentive Staff, gorgeous bathhouses, and fantastic location were all TENS!!!
Oct 12, 2017
This was our second time staying here, what a beautiful facility. Employees are friendly, bathrooms are always clean, the campground is clean and so peaceful all around a great place to stay, we will be back!!
Oct 12, 2017
Enjoyed immensely the weekend get-away and look forward to more in the future. There have been some great updates since our last visit HOWEVER, we would appreciate the inclusion of a cable hookup.
Oct 12, 2017
We arrived late for our first night, the site was not what we had hoped for, we went to the office first thing in the am. We were greeted quickly, provided available sites and soon we were all settled. The entire staff was more than accommodating. We were greeted by everyone, from security, office staff, maintenance and attendants at the store. Fabulous stay minus the sand fleas and mosquitos:)
Oct 11, 2017
I was very pleased with my KOA cabin. It was clean and the basics supplied were very adequate. There was more than enough room for me and my daughter. The outside porch and patio with the colorful furniture added to the outdoor experience. It was definitely easier than towing my trailer!
Oct 11, 2017
I think they could communicate events more effectively. I wish I had known about the cooking demonstration before it was over. The girls hosting it must have known what they were doing because the oysters were delicious. Also, I hope to see the kayak and SUP launch finished before next year. Right now it's a muddy mess. Serviceable, but messy.
Oct 11, 2017
Beautiful campground and sites. Loved it!
Oct 11, 2017
It was Great, nice people.
Oct 11, 2017
Restroom thermostat set to 67 deg F WAY too COLD for October Better description of services on emails and at site would help. Was uncertain on where to dump gray-water and trash.
Oct 11, 2017
We stayed for Columbus Weekend staying Saturday and Sunday Night. Surprisingly the place was less than a quarter full. The Chincoteague Island area is nice but I don't think it warrants the rates they charged. As most of the KOA's are they had more help than necessary and offered many things that many people without young families need or use. Otherwise it was a nice place.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
We stayed in one of the "cabins" and had a very enjoyable stay. In total, our extended family rented 7 cabins for the weekend. The employees were very friendly and accommodating. The units are clean, we'll-equipped and situated in a nice location in the campground. Already making reservations for next year.
Oct 10, 2017
The only negative issue that occurred was proper instruction was not given in terms of hooking up to the sewer
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Very nice location,very clean bath houses, staff very helpful
Oct 10, 2017
Love what you have done to the place since taking it over.
Oct 10, 2017
The rates are way high for what one gets. The bath houses where nice but to cold the rec room store and office where nice.
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Was able to upgrade to full hook up for 3 night stay. Sites are good space, nice picnic tables and fire rings for each site. Shower houses are very nice and clean. We stayed here when it was Maddox Family Campground and this is a nice update from the previous grounds. Clean and great staff.
Oct 10, 2017
The 5:30am trash collection was the only real unfortunate part of the stay. It's a rude awakening when you're sound asleep in a tent nearby! We wished the activity center were open after 6pm. Otherwise thanks for everything!
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Wonderful visit! Beautiful weather, super staff and even a KOA anniversary card. Thanks for a great weekend!
Oct 10, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
Very nice facility but feel your rates are high
Oct 09, 2017
This is been our 18th year at the Maddox now KOA Campground. We really like the improvements especially the bathrooms. One thing I did want to make mention is the sink attached to each bathroom should have shelves on each side of it for the tenters who need to wash their dishes there. We can't wait to come back next year at the same time. How much of a price increase over the $50 and $55 price
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Love what you have done with the former Maddox
Oct 09, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay...nice and peaceful
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals