Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2018
Apr 22, 2018
Apr 22, 2018
I've been coming to this location for many years with friends and family. They've changed so many things which resulted in both good and bad opinions. They're constructing a small water park with slides for children and a lot of new cabins. However this means less space for those of us who go to camp in tents and enjoy the outdoors. The prices have extremely gone up. It feels less like a campsite.
Apr 22, 2018
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. But, we wanted s cabin. It’s off-season. We only wanted one night. There is a two night minimum policy, so we tented. Stupid policy in the off-season, that can only come from corporate. Also, wouldn’t want to be there in season as the sites are congested. It’s the camping equivalent of Manhattan. Will try to avoid in future.
Apr 21, 2018
We arrived to early in the year, many places were not open. The man driving the KOA trolley though was absolutely excellent!!
Apr 21, 2018
Apr 20, 2018
While this has always been a lovely campground, the owners are pouring a lot of money into it and raising prices so much that we would not stay there again. A site that cost $55 last year is now $142 which we find to be outrageous for camping. We will be staying at Tom's Cove from now on though we do like the location of the KOA better but they are pricing themselves out of the market.
Apr 19, 2018
Clean and great service. A great place to stay.
Apr 18, 2018
Great! We will return often.
Apr 18, 2018
Campground wasn't quite ready yet, but all the new improvements will make it an awesome vacation spot. We loved the super site with the mix-and-match colored adirondack furniture.
Apr 17, 2018
Vac rest time to get away
Apr 17, 2018
Biggest disappointment. Our sites were changed without ever contacting us. We found out when we arrived. Maintenance people do nothing but ride around on golf carts & tractor. Wi-Fi was worst ever. Poorly managed & unsupervised. I saw scores of issues that needed attention but nothing being done. Bath houses are the only plus. This group of 4 RV's will not be returning any time soon.
Apr 17, 2018
We like the KOA Campground very much,all the employees are polite & courteous and looking forward to another visit soon.We appreciate all the hard work and expense that has gone into the recent changes that has occurred, But, we are looking forward to having cable tv at our lot,our reception is not so great as we speak,but with the KOAS New look that is coming,Water Park & Etc,it Will be Nice.�
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
This was a mother/daughter weekend. We both love horses so we came for the spring pony roundup. We also toured the light house, beach, toms cove. We got some beautiful pictures of the wildlife on the refuge. The campground was clean and the staff was very friendly. The bathhouses were spotless and had hot water. We really enjoyed staying here.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! There is still a lot of work being done to the campground. We stayed during one of their 1/2 off specials. Would definitely return if there was another sale/discount, not sure if it is worth the full price though.
Apr 16, 2018
Campground will look beautiful when water park opens, but for now the entrance and parts of campground are an unappealing construction zone. WiFi was not reliable.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
After reading reviews. I was a little skeptical. But the site was clean. The bathroom was spotless, throughout the entire stay. Even when we got stuck in the mud due to the torrential downpour staff was quick and willing to help. We had a wonderful time at the campground and are looking forward to our next visit.
Apr 12, 2018
We had a great time! Can’t wait for the water park to be finished we will definitely be back
Apr 10, 2018
Great stay - thanks! We will be back
Apr 09, 2018
Although the weather didn't cooperate, we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and the bathrooms are always clean. Thanks for another great time!
Apr 09, 2018
weekend weather wasnt good. campground was not very busy. Sunday was a pleasent day so i inquired to do a late check out. For $25 i could stay on site till 2pm. Check out is 11 am. The former maddox campground's check out time was at one time 4 pm, then it changed to 2 pm. I thought 25 was a bit much for 3 hours, being there was not another reservation on that site. But they want repeat business
Apr 09, 2018
Loved the cleanthiness if campground. Staff was professional. Even with construction, noise was at a minimum. Wish you could book specific sites if available at time of reservation. Thanks for special rates for military and first responders.
Apr 09, 2018
Pet friendly deluxe cabin was phenomenal and convenient. Newly renovated and clean! My family stayed with 4 adults, 3 children and 3 dogs.
Apr 09, 2018
Wanted to do a late check out as the weather finally cooperated on Sunday but they wanted to charge $25 to stay a couple more hours. Other campgrounds only charge $10. The campground wasn't very busy either. If you prorated the site cost it is only $ 2.00 per hr.
Apr 08, 2018
My recent stay was not the relaxing stay that I would have expected. Site had no picnic table or fire ring when I arrived. Every day there was a constant parade of noisy backhoes, skid steers, excavators, and other construction vehicles passing my campsite every 5 min. One day this began at 7 am! Should have put guests at other sites without making them pay more since you were almost empty.
Apr 08, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much. The deluxe cabin was just the right size. Allot of construction for the new water park. No basket ball court, needs a better play ground for kids. We would return again.
Apr 07, 2018
Beautiful campground with what seemed like lots of new amenities. Lots of new concrete pads for sites, new tent sites being built, the cabins are only two years old. Even though is was cool, we still saw lots of interesting birds and waterfowl. The lighthouse light was beautiful at night and when we went over to Assageague, we saw a wild herd of ponies. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Apr 07, 2018
Very much a work in progress. New bathhouse/laundry. Nice camp store/office. Entrance was not well marked and was difficult to get through with construction happening. Trees make navigating and setting up difficult. Paid extra for a site with cable that NEVER worked, AND no one came to check on it after we complained. Site not matched to length of rig. I have definitely stayed at nicer for less $.
Apr 07, 2018
Stay was great! Only complaint or questionable situation... the row I was in was almost completely empty for this time of year and they placed a trailer right next to us. Again 10 spots to either side were open. Would have been a much nicer stay given the availability of many, many other sites to give us a little more room.
Apr 06, 2018
The construction currently was horrible during the stay. When reservations were made the specs of our rig was noted....we were taken to a sight that was very very difficult to get to only to be too short...we hung out in the road....had to be moved to the front of the campground..more maneuvers. No activities at all,the activity center was closed during our stay. More to say but no space..
Apr 06, 2018
Lovely place! Only issue was they are undergoing construction we wish we had known about beforehand. A bit noisy at times.
Apr 06, 2018
Extraordinary campground! We loved the improvements that are being done and can't wait to return to see the progress. The staff was stellar! So kind and helpful. The grounds were maintained with care and detail. We were absolutely impressed with everything! Thanks for a lovely stay! See you soon!
Apr 06, 2018
great visit to chincoteague. New facilities were very nice .
Apr 06, 2018
The camping was OK. Everything was clean but it did not stand out as much as other KOA's I have stayed in. Compared to other camping on the Island this was one of the best but still just OK. You need to make sure your staff is oriented about the destination. I asked questions regarding Assateauge and both the people at the desk knew very little. I was surprised.
Apr 05, 2018
The island was nice but unfortunately we couldn’t try a lot because businesses were closed since we traveled the first weekend in April.
Apr 05, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay and the WiFi was great. The campgrounds were probably at 25% capacity for the weekend. I look forward to another stay to see all the improvements that were being done completed.
Apr 04, 2018
Good for the most part. No picnic tables upon arrival then delivered but then given to someone else. Roads throughout campground had piles of debris. Awkward camp store layout getting in & out. Kids requested to office staff for bounce pillow to be inflated then an hour later it still was not started. Otherwise staff was friendly & bath/laundry was clean.
Apr 03, 2018
Campground was nice, enjoyed our time. The turn to get down to the deluxe sites was tight, they need to cut down 2 trees on either side of the road. That would make life a lot easier.
Apr 02, 2018
Well were do I start. First of all when someone comes up for second time to the office and ASK to see a MANAGER and they hide in office and let staff handle it is WRONG. site 264 was to tight couldnt open up awning. We returned to have neighbor parked almost on top of our table in our site, No cable.wifi was in and out. You need to inform camper you only have 50amp. We left a day early.
Apr 02, 2018
We stayed in a cabin during opening weekend. Although the campground was still in various stages of opening up, the staff was exceptional and our family had a blast. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the location is perfect for exploring both Chincoteague and Assateague. We will definitely return to check out the campground in its full glory.
Apr 02, 2018
Really had a great experience. Stayed in the new cabins. Would stay again! WHat a great way to "camp". Cabin was super clean and well maintained.
Apr 02, 2018
Patio site was nice but chiminea was not as useful as a fire ring would have been. Also there was no cable tv, a big deal when the final four was on. Might try here again in the future.
Apr 02, 2018
We love this place, been coming to this camp ground for so many years and it was not KOA. Now this is even better, very friendly staffs, very clean restroom, very convenient. Next time we will definitely try one of the cabin or bungalow.
Apr 02, 2018
Very helpful. We checked in during the evening after the office and store was closed. But we needed a power adapter from the store. Without charging us, the staff left one at the gate in the packet for us to use. Top notch service! They were very friendly and the facilities were clean and safe. Definitely will stay again!
Dec 28, 2017
lots of work going into a bigger and better resort
Nov 28, 2017
Our stay was awesome!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals