Chincoteague Island KOA

Open March 30 - November 1

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Reserve: 800-562-7730

Info: 757-336-3111

Info: 757-336-3111

Email This Campground

6742 Maddox Boulevard

Chincoteague Island, VA 23336

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 20, 2018
Sep 19, 2018
Campground was nice, and although we expected mosquitos, it was a bit over the top. Thankfully they sprayed it so it worked out. Not to blame the campground, only yourself for not preparing. The most annoying thing was all the golf karts driving around. We found that pretty annoying and would recommend to have designated roads for that. Children could get hurt. Hence a 3.
Sep 17, 2018
Delux cabins were new and beautiful! We will be back!
Sep 16, 2018
Point of interest: the restrooms were very muddy and in need of upkeep, and possible remodel.
Sep 14, 2018
We had a great time there! I was impressed with how clean the cabins and bathrooms were. Growing up I worked at a campground, so I know how challenging it is to keep everything in great shape like that. It was everything our family needed. We wished our stay was longer, but we had to evacuate due to hurricane florence. And guess what? The mosquitos really weren't too bad.
Sep 14, 2018
Staff was friendly, we were disappointed that the water park had closed, so we stayed a second day and closed again. The cost of the stay for two adults a 9 year old and a infant was too high in my opinion for just a tent campsite without hook ups. In the future we sill stay at the nearby State park.
Sep 13, 2018
Sep 13, 2018
Nice campground but way over priced. no cable most KOA's it is included. I know you spray but way too many mosquitos on the island. Didn't like the lawn mowing at dinner time. Couldn't it be done in the afternoon when most people are away?
Sep 12, 2018
Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathhouse when I had to use it to take a shower one night during my stay, went in the office to notify them and the young guy didn’t seem to care and said I am sure they got it today!
Sep 12, 2018
Our stay was cut short by an evacuation order by the governor and campground. This was our second stay this summer in Chincoteague and as always was great . We have been coming to Chincoteague for 33 years and never a disappointment. This is our respite. I don’t want to recommend it too highly so it doesn’t become overcrowded. The KOA staff is great and I will return in spring again
Sep 12, 2018
It was a great time. We were looking forward to using the water park but it rained and didn't get a chance then. The campground is very clean and well taken care of. Bathrooms very clean. Staff very friendly and the whole campground is a very nice experience.
Sep 12, 2018
I had never been to Chincoteague Island and i thought it was great. We weren’t able to use the water park due to weather but we will definitely come back
Sep 11, 2018
Was staying in a cabin--Very clean-- You just need a small table on the porch for the morning coffee.
Sep 11, 2018
made a 4 day reservation 6 months in advance and given a dirt site in the sun when there were at least 8 sites with pads and shade - tried to move site but told no that others were reserved when brochure even states that there are NO reserved sites - and then, two sites never filled
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
our first visit to the KOA but used to stay here in the 90's under the old management. We had a great site, real level with a great view. The bath house was really clean although one shower in both the mens and ladies room was out of order. We had rotten weather and missed a lot of the planned activities. The negatives are the roads in the campgrounds and it is expensive to stay.
Sep 11, 2018
Our time with friends was awesome. A perfect place for all of us to meet.
Sep 11, 2018
Weather really sucked with lots of rain so didn’t get a chance to use the waterpark or enjoy the outside that much but of course that was not KOAs fault
Sep 11, 2018
Had everything we could have wanted and so close to Assateague Island.
Sep 11, 2018
Sep 11, 2018
Great place to stay, a lot of great inprovements I would like to see roads fixed maybe crushed stones or something like that still a great place!!!
Sep 11, 2018
Quiet weekend for my husband and I. There was a mistake on the advertising for the water park weekend. On the brochure it stated it would be open Friday - Sunday (verified by office staff). We were walking to the park on Friday (Sunny and 90) and was told the park would not be open due to an advertising mistake. Very disappointing because the rest of the weekend it rained.
Sep 10, 2018
it is fine if they can keep sites that we were informed and not have them all mixed when we get there
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
We stayed on a pad w/table & chairs. I really like that but I would have like a square table instead of a round table
Sep 10, 2018
I would think when it is raining ALL DAY they would have more activities in the activities center for kids or a least have some board games set out. I am very disappointed in this KOA this time and I have been several times this year. I don't know when I will be back after this.
Sep 10, 2018
First time this yr very impressed with water park Wish it had not rained all weekend, felt like we should get a rain check, since we were unable to use any of the facilities. Would love to return.
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
We had a great stay!! We would recommend
Sep 10, 2018
We loved it, it wasn't busy as it was more of an off season, the amenities where nice and close to other stores if we had forgotten anything else. There where plenty of bathrooms which where clean and never very far away. The camp ground was extremely close to the nature preserve and really close to the rest of the town as well. perfect location.
Sep 10, 2018
Bathrooms need to be checked more often, example. Shower had long black hair all over stall. Also the dumping station was full so I could not dump my trailer. We did have a lot of rain but still think I could have been able to dump. Did have a great time at the Water park before it started to rain.
Sep 10, 2018
It was fine, however the waterpark ended up being closed on both days that we were there. It was free waterpark weekend, and that was the only reason we had booked the stay. I understand there were safety concerns with thunder, but it never opened back up after the storm had passed, and didn't open at all the following day. Very disappointing.
Sep 10, 2018
It was our first time camping at KOA Chincoteague. We had a reallly nice stay. Had really good weather & hit the beach everyday. Went to see & climb the Lighthouse Thursday. Friday night we had a really good dinner downtown at Bill’s Sea Food & Steakhouse. Downtown is really nice to walk around & browse through the shops. We will see you next year!
Sep 10, 2018
Me and my boys had a wonderful stay here, everyone of the staff members were pleasant, professional and helpful, and our safari tent was so much fun. We especially loved the waterpark passes for the weekend included in our stay and the trolly service that took us through the beach. John was so wonderful and he made a great recommendation for dinner! We will likely be back next year!! Thank you
Sep 10, 2018
staff and facilities are far above average.
Sep 10, 2018
Muy bueno.. tranquilo, limpieza, y amabilidad.
Sep 10, 2018
All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site was not desirable. There was a large concrete block with rusty hooks sticking out of it. Very dangerous! We covered it with a bucket so we wouldn’t trip on them. The block was awkward in the position with regards to the rest of the site. Couldn’t put a rug down as we would trip on the block.
Sep 09, 2018
Your employees are amazing here! So friendly and so helpful!
Sep 09, 2018
It was a pleasant stay, met nice people, staff pleasant, and location good for getting around town. You can't do anything about the flys but thank you for spraying for mosquitoes!! Enjoyed the swimming pool.
Sep 06, 2018
Staff was very friendly, bathrooms clean but this was Labor Day weekend and the place was way over crowded for our taste. Probably should have stayed home for labor day. Just not the kind of quiet we were looking for.
Sep 06, 2018
Our family had a fantastic time at Chincoteague KOA! The Bungalows were just adorable, and so clean, with plenty of space between each one for a family to feel like there’s privacy and outside play space! The bathhouse was maintained well too. The campground activities, and the surrounding area provide so much to do! We Will be back again!
Sep 05, 2018
Overall it was great except the mosquitoes are HORRIBLE, the water pressure isn’t very good select times of the day, and some staff was very unpleasant at all to be around.
Sep 05, 2018
The campsite staff were incredible. Everyone I spoke to was very polite and asked about our stay. The trolley drive was wonderful. However, the one section of tent campers were discouraging. They were loud and made things a uncomfortable especially with kids. I'm sure you are aware as the police were called. I also heard from others that the tent campers get regular visits from the police.
Sep 05, 2018
Although my wife, son and I were disappointed with the size of the raised tent site, it was good to see clean facilities, quiet grounds, and many things for kids to do
Sep 05, 2018
Sep 05, 2018
It was the first time staying at the KOA and it was very clean, nice staff and over all a very nice vacation.
Sep 05, 2018
This was our 2nd time at koa this summer. Our late night, there was a domestic violence situation a few sites down from us and the police was called. I understand that this could happen anywhere and the staff here has always been amazing. I was surprise that a worker didnt came by to check on the campers. It would of been nice to know if the man had been arrested. I could have slept better knowin
Sep 05, 2018
Overall we had a very nice stay and we look forward to coming back. Pls update site map online as bath house is by cabin #2, not cabin #5. We originally booked cabin #1, were disappointed to get #2, and ultimately switched to #9 to be away from bathroom. Unfortunately we had no hot water for showers the whole wknd. Called maintenance and thought they fixed the issue, but issue still occurred.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals