Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Start Planning Your Summer Getaway!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

Sep 04, 2019
extremely disappointing with cleanliness of bathrooms. Clogged showers with water all over the floor making it unhealthy and unsafe. They are not being kept like the past years. Trash from 2 days sitting around in bathrooms. Please get it back the way it used to be, KOA at Chesapeake Bay is such a pleasant place to be left unattended.
Sep 03, 2019
Amazing!!!
Sep 03, 2019
Relaxing ! Staff was excellent staying two more times this year !
Sep 03, 2019
Excellent resort. Well maintained and friendly staff.
Sep 03, 2019
A surprise resort fee of $3 a day totaling $22 was annoying. While I don't understand the extra fee or why it's not just added to the nightly cost, I'd be ok w/ it if I was aware of the charge prior to arrival. The landscapers mowing wet grass created such a mess. We stayed here last year & loved it. This year, there were so many annoying new things that we probably won't come back next year.
Sep 03, 2019
Like the beach and the sunsets staff very friendly nice campsites always had a good stay
Sep 03, 2019
Wonderful staff and great activities! Loved the pool - everything was so clean! Loved that the staff was so friendly, and the lady that worked in the store in the morning was amazing with my 9 yr old (who wanted to go to the store alone like a big kid :-) ) She really helped her and was very patient! Thank you for an amazing weekend!
Sep 03, 2019
It was absolutely beautiful there! This was our first time there but have previoused the VB KOA which we also love, so we wanted to give this one a chance since it had a private beach that was dog friendly and I am so so glad we did. My dog loved it as much as we did. The only thing lacking was the KOA activities, they never seemed to be quite what they had advertised on their activities sheet.
Sep 02, 2019
Sep 01, 2019
The only issue we had were the prices / sur charges at the Jack spot & Kids with golf carts.........Every Thing else was Great Thank You
Aug 31, 2019
Friendly staff. Nice pool and beach. Large dog park. Overall, a really nice campground.
Aug 31, 2019
I think the grounds where very clean alog with the bath and shower rooms.pool area very nice.and a very nice dog park. Have no complaints about anything.if you like riding bikes go across the street and there are paved bike paths.will definitely will be back.
Aug 30, 2019
People working there are great. Onsite restaurant Jackspot has remarkably good (though not inexpensive) food. Only reason this KOA does not get five stars is due to lack of maintenance on lots of things: rental bikes poorly maintained; out of 6 dryers, 4 not working; 15-amp outlet on site was plugged up, same with next site over; half the already poor selection in game arcade were broken.
Aug 30, 2019
Our RV site was large and well done. Utilities were functional and setup was quick. Jackspot, pool, and camp store were very nice and Cape Charles was only about 8 miles away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Aug 29, 2019
Fun and friendly
Aug 29, 2019
The grass was not mowed or even weed sacked when we arrived at our site. We were told on the phone that all sites were the same size... that clearly was not true. The sites feel very crammed. We were hoping for more standard KOA facilities which are usually very nice. It wasn’t quite up to par with what we were expecting. Sunset Beach is a great spot though, so hopefully the KOA will improv
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
This is so far the most dog friendly place we have ever been with our fur babies. Thank you so much I have told my friends with fur babies to check you all out.
Aug 29, 2019
A beautiful setting! Views of the bay are awesome. Loved letting my pups swim in the bay too!! Even extended my stay it was so nice.
Aug 28, 2019
We love this campground and all of the friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean and updated, great camp store and the campground is kept clean. Never a bad experience when we stay here.
Aug 28, 2019
Very nice and clean. Loved the doggy beach.
Aug 28, 2019
The campgrounds is very well maintained and offers so many activities. We totally enjoy camping at your campgrounds. The only negative is the amount of golf carts flying around. Seriously flying, there needs to be some sort of speed control. It also appeared to be drivers of the golf carts that were not old enough to be licensed drivers. Seems to be safety issue. Maybe speed bumps would help.
Aug 27, 2019
Short stay but wonderful. Had a great time with the dogs and met other great people. Staff were friendly and the place was clean and fun, plenty to do.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
Great location, great service and staff with a great view. Beach make it great for kayaking, fishing or just enjoying the water. The restaurant Jack Spot makes a good destination when you don't want to leave, but still want to go out. Definitely recommend this KOA.
Aug 27, 2019
First off, living on the other side of the tunnel in Virginia Beach, I felt this KOA some what over priced. Adding on the two trip across the bridge tunnel didn’t help. Great campground with well payed out sites. Beach on the bay was great as well. Only other turn off was some staff. Either excellent or down right rude. Mary, at Jackspot, was one of rudest waitresses I have ever met. Won’t re
Aug 27, 2019
The bathrooms were terrible. Very dirty and at one point not a single stall had toilet paper. Very disappointed on my last trip.
Aug 27, 2019
Just love this place!
Aug 26, 2019
It was a nice stay but I called to pay in full prior to arriving and then my husband was notified when he got there that they collect the Resort fees when you check in. So that was another charge.
Aug 25, 2019
We try and visit KOAs and have a little fun eating the campgrounds against each other this was an experience all on its own with no comparisons to others we’ve been to. Since we like to travel around we like to grab stickers from the campgrounds we visit, but there weren’t any stickers in the store. �� Not much we would change though! Pretty amazing place that we’ll visit again in the fut
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
We were met by a very helpful staff member who showed us to our site. Very convenient location and friendly people. Pool was nice. Store was well stocked. Thanks!
Aug 24, 2019
The ladies handicapped shower was always filthy otherwise it was a nice place.
Aug 23, 2019
Very friendly staff and helpful
Aug 23, 2019
Great beach vacation
Aug 23, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Too short!!
Aug 23, 2019
Always enjoy your campground. Can't wait to return. .
Aug 22, 2019
We stopped on our way to Virginia Beach for vacation.
Aug 22, 2019
We enjoyed our short stay there. The sites are very nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The pools were perfect for the hot weather while we were there. And the Jackspot restaurant was awesome! The food is fabulous. We will be back!
Aug 21, 2019
We enjoyed the beach. There were a lot of loud campers late into the night. The food at the restaurant was not good and not what was on the menu.
Aug 21, 2019
Exceeded our expectations! Can’t wait to go back. Helpful happy staff, outstanding beach especially low tide- can walk out forever!!!
Aug 21, 2019
Great campground. Friendly staff Plenty to do beach nice
Aug 21, 2019
I had a great stay, the Deloreans were awesome. All of the staff are always very helpful & friendly. I always enjoy my stay at Sunset KOA.
Aug 21, 2019
Aug 20, 2019
My husband I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary and it was wonderful! The concert series and The Jackspot are awesome! The staff and food was both equally exceptional! We can’t wait to return again and again!
Aug 20, 2019
Had bikes stolen out of my campsite with help from lance they were found at parking lot
Aug 20, 2019
The only complaint I have is regarding the music at the pool. It is way too loud. We hated taking the kids there. There was no place to sit that was not near a speaker. Our campsite was 3 sites away from the pool and I could hear it at my site. I appreciate having music but it should not be so loud we cannot sit at a table and have a conversation. It is a safety issue when you can’t hear the kid
Aug 20, 2019
Check in was great didn't even have to get out of my motorhome escorted us to our site and helped us back in site was nice pool was great and the beach was awesome store was big with a lot of clothes and gifts to buy open 24 7 music was great and the fish tacos were off the chart
Aug 20, 2019
GREAT PLACE GREAT STAFF
Jan 23, 2020
Nice
- Akiya Upshur on Google
Jan 03, 2020
Great place to relax.
- Christopher Buckeye on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.