Cape Charles / Chesapeake Bay KOA Reviews

Start Planning Your Summer Getaway!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

Sep 27, 2019
Fantastic place to stay. Clean beaches even with puppies running around. Great large K9 dog area. The staff was very helpful and the shuttle to Cape Charles was a perk. I can't wait to go back. Only have 2 suggestions...nigh lights for the large dog park and recycle products even if they just had a central location.
Sep 27, 2019
Clean comfortable camp..Thanks
Sep 26, 2019
Two different women’s showers were filthy both times she tried to shower. Are they ever cleaned? Would not stay again based on the condition of the showers
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 25, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Beautiful campground resort. Would recommend this campground to my friends and family.
Sep 24, 2019
VERY NICE. GREAT BAND . MULLIN SISTERS. CLEAN BATHROOMS
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Not happy about having to pay a silly resort fee. If you want to charge that fee, the pool should be heated at least. Bathrooms were not kept clean. I complained to the manager after the one bath house not being cleaned for over 2 days. Items were laying in the 2 showers. Loud music being played by guests at 11:00 at night. No one from the campground going around at night keeping folks in check.
Sep 23, 2019
Absolutely wonderful
Sep 23, 2019
Sunset is perfect on the beach
Sep 22, 2019
Enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful
Sep 22, 2019
BEAUTIFUL!!! Private beach, wonderful food at restaurant, nice size sites, wifi and cable great. Golf cart rental reasonable. They even had a pet beach! Huge pool ( we didn't use there in fall) Staff wonderful! Would stay again!
Sep 21, 2019
The staff was very accommodating, courteous and helpful. We were given the site we requested. Very clean and well maintained. Beautiful sunsets and amenities. Looking forward to going again and staying longer.
Sep 17, 2019
The camping areas,pool and bathrooms were well kept. The staff was very friendly. I hope you will be able to restore the beach sand soon. I realize that the storm that was in the area caused debris to be deposited in the bay, however, you need to check and clean the area more often. My husband tripped over a 24" long log that was in the water. Also need to enforce the age rule for golf carts.
Sep 17, 2019
Very nice campground, however, you are overpriced.
Sep 17, 2019
A great fall weekend of camping. Appreciated you having a Pride celebration.
Sep 17, 2019
Nice campground
Sep 16, 2019
I had a wonderful time, the staff was wonderful.
Sep 16, 2019
Disappointed by the lack of effort put forth by the front desk staff and manager who was sitting with them when we asked if they ant killer/treatment. The staff member looked to the manager for an answer and his response was merely a shake of the head with no other suggestion. There was no bug spray in the market either, not even for applying to the skin. Damp weather made mosquitoes very bad.
Sep 16, 2019
Great campground. Outstanding pool and beach. Easy access.
Sep 16, 2019
It’s a nice campground with breathtaking views. For the cost I would expect a hot tub and the WiFi to work well enough to steam a movie.
Sep 16, 2019
We enjoyed our stay! Beautiful well maintained campground. Very clean and very safe place. Every employee was helpful and kind.
Sep 16, 2019
charges to use the pool plus entertainment which we onlyhad the pool after labor dayand only stayed til the weekend. said the Jackspot wouldn't be open til Friday well they opened it Thursday but was not really prepared. Went to order a frozen drink and they didn't have any made also heard the food was not so great. Didn't try any food we walked out after could not get the drink we wanted.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
nice campground
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice Camp ground staff was very pleasant and helpful. All the aminities were nice.
Sep 16, 2019
Place is very nice, but we would have preferred knowing what the weekend was about before agreeing to stay. In your defense, it was not "in your face." Thank you for that. Willy was very helpful.
Sep 14, 2019
Wonderful campground with a nice beach for our young grandchildren. The KOA employees were very helpful and friendly.
Sep 14, 2019
Not truthfully represented in brochure. Staff extremely helpful. Jackspot opened on thursday Sept 12. Plenty of dead bugs on window sills. Lucky they had some beer, the frozen drink department had alot to be desired. Barely had any fruit to work with. At 92° that day, turning on ac early would haven been nice. A perfect spot for an episode of Undercover Boss. They would be as disappointed as me
Sep 14, 2019
We stayed during the week since weekends are usually busy. It’s a very nice site with river, large multi-level pool, terrific store and lots of helpful people. You only need to ask and help is right there!
Sep 14, 2019
Very nice. Staff extremely friendly and very helpful. The hosts are constantly driving around insuring alls well. Always saying hello and waving. The sites are really nice well kept. Having a great time as I'm still here.
Sep 11, 2019
Very nice place. Very helpful staff. Lance was especially helpful. Enjoyed the sunsets on the beach decks. Great drinks. Planning to return.
Sep 08, 2019
Hurricane Dorian was on our heels. Wind gusts to 75mph were issued. Looking at the weather map, the cape Charles area was in red; indicating storm warning. Explained to office that dangerous conditions were due in a few hours and we need to leave. Francine was nice and put a request into “new” GM Jeff to please issue a refund or credit for a future date. We haven’t heard a word. Disappointin
Sep 06, 2019
Campground offered little to nothing for children. The pool was cool but other than that the whole experience was a little blah. We left early due to inclement weather (no refund given of course) and I was happy to see it go.
Sep 06, 2019
No refund even in a state of emergency. You just have to take your chances.
Sep 06, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Manager not a people person.Site was small, 32 ft. motorhome when backed front was right on the edge of street, no room to move. Next site OK, problem with 50 amp service, plugged in site behind us, never got ours fixed. No shuttle, restaurant closed, no water in dog park. Due to hurricane, we tried to cancel, told no deposit refund. Went for restaurant; shuttle, did not have either. Not happy.
Sep 06, 2019
We enjoyed our stay there! Had to pack up & leave due to high winds we feel we should get a small refund as we were paid till Monday & left thurs! Hurricane Dorian was just getting too close & with our pop up we could not take any chances for our safety! Loved the beach sunsets & pool! Dad that The Jackspot was closed!
Sep 06, 2019
Disappointed that we weren’t told that restaurant was closing day after Labor Day. We didn’t go food shopping because we thought we could eat there. Instead we had to pay 28 bucks and drive 45 mins to Va Beach fo groceries. Lights over dog park would be a good idea Other than that great property and we will be back again
Sep 05, 2019
Love this campground!
Sep 05, 2019
I probably would have given this KOA a five star if the person at the front desk had not been so unfriendly, unpleasant and just plain rude. We had the same experience last year but figured we couldn’t get rudeness twice, wrong! We will not be returning to this KOA.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
We loved our Labor Day weekend stay at the Cape Charles/Chesapeake Bay KOA! It felt like we were on a tropical island, the view was beautiful, and the sunsets were picturesque. The campground staff was friendly and extremely helpful when we got locked out of our RV. The campground was extremely clean. We enjoyed being able to have our dogs on the beach with us as well. Will come back!
Sep 04, 2019
Wonderful! We arrived late, got an escort to our site, cant say enough how wonderful a place it is.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
This campsite is wonderful, but the bathrooms need to use chlorox to get rid of the shower and mold
Sep 04, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this KOA. The site we had was right along the tree line so we got good shade during the heat of the day. We absolutely love the beach and the dog beach as well. I recommend renting a golf cart during your stay as this campground is HUGE. The staff were EXCELLENT and the store is the best KOA store I have ever seen. We will be back!
Sep 04, 2019
Great
Jan 23, 2020
Nice
- Akiya Upshur on Google
Jan 03, 2020
Great place to relax.
- Christopher Buckeye on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.