Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

Nov 11, 2019
Very nice park. Great scenery, level pull throughs, I thought it was a little pricey for what you get.
Nov 11, 2019
I’ve stayed at better KOAs (Thousand Islands area, Canada). Friends stayed here during their Honeymoon. Years past, I’ve stayed here. You are the highest priced campground that we have ever stayed at. (USA & Canada). I will not stay here again, due to cost alone. Very Sad and Ironic, a Company owned KOA tarnishing the Company own image. We travel 3 months a year. KOA is now “only a last reso
Nov 10, 2019
The pool/hot tub was nice, though it could have been cleaner,and wi-fi and cable tv was good. The staff was very friendly. I would rate this KOA a 5, but the bath house closest to us was not cleaned for over two days, even after I told the clerk it needed attention and the dryers did not work (I was not offered a refund). KOA is the most expensive campground and I expect a lot when I pay top $.
Nov 10, 2019
Very nice stay. Great dog park and the river views were awesome. BL
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Campground is wonderful. The staff is great. Would recommend anyone especially if they have kids to stay at the KOA in Cherokee
Nov 10, 2019
Very large site, great little steam to fish, and the people were very friendly.
Nov 10, 2019
Everything was GREAT except our site was littered with candy wrappers (probably left over from Halloween celebrating). Will definitely return.
Nov 10, 2019
Great facilities, clean very nice area. Staff in store/check in was so helpful.
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
The location of this campground is very good. Nice to be able to fish in the ponds. The campground and bathrooms we clean . They could manage the leaves better. The site pad was clear but the area around the site and grill were thick with leaves. I had to use our broom to clear a buffer around the grill before I could start a fire. The site they gave us was not very good so we moved
Nov 10, 2019
Great time with the family and lots of things for the kids to do
Nov 10, 2019
The largest campground we’ve ever stayed at! The site we rented for 2 days was right on the river, but like many campgrounds it was a bit small for our 28’ trailer. Overall had a pleasant experience.
Nov 10, 2019
Although we were there "off" season, the staff and campground were excellent, clean and accommodating.
Nov 10, 2019
very nice park and very helpful and friendly staff.
Nov 10, 2019
Rob was very rude to me. He gave us a camp site that was already taken and it was dark by the time we got another so we didn't even hook up to your water. We spent the night and left early the next morning. We will never stay there again.
Nov 08, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Very helpful and friendly.
Nov 04, 2019
Very much enjoyed our Halloween stay at Cherokee KOA.
Nov 04, 2019
Beautiful Koa. Great staff. I was disappointed that there was nothing for Halloween night. And that I was charged a higher fee, when the park was empty. I look forward to staying there in the future.
Nov 04, 2019
The hostess were very friendly and willing to help you if need :):):)
Nov 04, 2019
Extremely nice pull through.
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 01, 2019
We always have a blast at this KOA. The only thing I would do different would be to go back to the old way of doing the costume contest and trick or treating for Halloween. There should be more than 2 age groups and it was better to have the contest before the trick or treating. Otherwise, a great time. Great staff!! Joanne is the best! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great for kids! Our fav!
Nov 01, 2019
This is our second year camping here and we love all the decorations and activities themed for Fall and Halloween The pancake breakfast was nice and a great idea!
Oct 31, 2019
Oct 31, 2019
Great place to camp. Been coming there for 5 years. If you want to complain stay home. Camping is about being in the outdoors and nothing is going to be perfect.
Oct 31, 2019
Staff was rude
Oct 29, 2019
Everything we needed assistance on was taken care of immediately. Very clean. Just need to give a different address to use for GPS. Very difficult to locate.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was full of children and campfire SMOKE! Campfires are part of the camping experience, but all day and night? With the planned Halloween activities, it should have been controlled. No child or adult, should have been exposed to that much smoke, it’s a health hazard! The SMOKE FOG caused severe medical issues, making our stay, MISERABLE! Management was dismissive of our concerns!
Oct 29, 2019
Our site was not first rate. It was rated as pull-through; however, it necessitated us to take our trailer over a curb. The waste connection was above the height of most waste outlets. However, even with 24 hours of torrential rain, the staff did an amazing job of keeping all of the children who were excited about Halloween entertained. The Cherokee museum is well worthwhile.
Oct 29, 2019
great spot
Oct 29, 2019
Great place for the family to camp! We have four year old twins (boy & girl) and there are plenty of things to keep them busy! The indoor pool is great for colder weather. All the roads in the campground are paved plus a lot of the campsites are completely concrete as well. Google Maps did not bring us in the correct way so you may need to verify the directions. We loved it and will be back!!!!!!!
Oct 28, 2019
Our visit was as expected. Cool fall weather. Bathhouse showers nice & hot. Only complaint was cable TV hookup had grainy picture. Stayed at site before and never experienced this issue. Minor complaint since we don't go camping to watch TV.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great time as always for halloween festivities after we got all reservations straightened out. The one thing we did not like was the trick or treating at 3. We were still carving pumpkins. Did not seem to have as many trick or treaters this year?
Oct 28, 2019
The new management at the Cherokee KOA is obvious as soon as you walk in. Very welcoming and the changes to the camp ground ( trash pick up, organization, info delivery) is great
Oct 28, 2019
This weekend by far was the best Halloween event camping yet at KOA Cherokee. New management has done a fantastic job of getting the campground top notch this year. We had a great time! Campground was in great shape.
Oct 28, 2019
Can’t wait to come back! We love it!
Oct 28, 2019
Overall it was a good stay. Billy was particularly helpful with anything we needed. However, was a little disappointed at the lack of upkeep in a few spots (massive puddles on the back road, checkers pieces falling apart, had to try several dino bikes before one worked, etc.). I think it's a great location with lots of potential, would like to see a bit more attention to upkeep.
Oct 28, 2019
We had an unpleasant incident involving another camper occur. The management reacted promptly and sent Billy Peterson to handle the issue. Billy did a wonderful job settling the situation. He performed well above his pay grade! We subsequently enjoyed our stay.
Oct 28, 2019
First trip in our new travel trailer and we had an amazing time. Kids really enjoyed the amenities (pool, trampoline, etc.). The community of people staying there were very friendly as well. The amount of decorations for the trick or treating was over the top, we will definitely be coming back again. Thanks for a great weekend!
Oct 28, 2019
The campground was great! The only issue we had was the haunted island. It was a 2 hour wait to get through it... it’s difficult to wait that long at night with littles; however, we had a great stay!
Oct 28, 2019
Love the stay there. Close to everything. The campground is clean and the people are very pleasant
Oct 28, 2019
Great place for kids but rather expensive
Oct 28, 2019
Couldn't ask for a better more friendly staff, store and grounds were both good. We have a self contained so we didnt need the use of the restrooms nor the clothes washing area. Thank you for a great stay.
Oct 27, 2019
Someone was in our site when we arrived. Shower backed up.
Oct 26, 2019
Clean camping spot. Great location.
Oct 26, 2019
Mar 12, 2020
Noce warm pool,people are very nice
- Colin Davis on Google
Mar 02, 2020
Great fishing
- Gary Williamson on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.