Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.
Sep 27, 2019
Great except the floors were dirty in the cabin
Sep 27, 2019
A great place to stay! I have stayed there many times and will continue to go back! Very family friendly! And the staff is always courteous and very helpful!
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Our family of three and two Chows had a fantastic time at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We thoroughly enjoyed our deluxe cabin, wonderful time with friends, the beautiful campground and scenic view of the mountains. The KOA staff was very courteous and helpful during our four day stay. Kudos to Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We will be back next year!!!!
Sep 24, 2019
We were dissatisfied with our cabin. I walked on the floor with white socks and they turned black. Had to go out and get a mop to clean the floor. WiFi didn't work most of our visit. Bed is worn out and uncomfortable. TV stations didn't always come in. No stopper in tub so couldn't use the tub. There was no sidewalk to our cabin so had to park elsewhere so we didn't have to walk on the damp ground
Sep 22, 2019
Good stay as always...However I had requested a riverside cabin near the end of the campground (Now, after the fact, I know it’s #K-251) and was given the same old cabin that we always get (K-247)...There was no one even staying up at K-251.
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
The stay was great overall. My only concern were all the hairs in the bedding. They were medium length dark brown/black. The hairs gave me the impression that the bedding had not been properly cleaned.
Sep 19, 2019
we enjoy our stay we feel very welcome great staff
Sep 18, 2019
We had a wonderful time. Cabin was awesome! Staff was friendly and helpful. Fishing in the ponds this year was terrible though. Was as if they had been fed. We were there for 4 days, and never even got a bite, neither did any of the other campers. You could see them swimming around, 100s of them..was disappointing. Otherwise, had a great time �
Sep 18, 2019
Awesome everyone on staff was very helpful Beautiful campground. My family really enjoys staying at KOA. Really enjoy activities for children. Maybe you can start having bingo for everyone. That would be great for all ages
Sep 18, 2019
Great stay. Friendly staff. Great location. Loved the large camp store. This was by far the most camping cabins available at any KOA we have stayed at. Was shocked that you offer fishing on-site as most places don't. Would highly recommend this campground.
Sep 17, 2019
i sty in cabin 505 and the wall behind bathroom door was very dusty,, bad,,,, i told them at front check out when i left i have dust allergies, keep coughing then when i shut bathroom door and turned on light i seen dust,,,,, i been coming to this koa for 32 years,,,,,, they do need to clean walls at lease wipe them down with a duster,, and it hasnt been done in a while,,,,,,,,,,
Sep 17, 2019
Nice Campground. Very clean and staff was so very helpful. Suggestion - Add a baby changing area somewhere near the pool.
Sep 17, 2019
We had a very relaxing and peaceful weekend.
Sep 17, 2019
Well For A Family Weekend It Wasn't Very Organized For Families No Activities Planned Pool and Hot Tub Were Very Very Nasty Cabins Were Very Spider Webby And The Saturday Am Lady Was Very Rude Our Cabin Had Sluggs Up The Walls We Were Compensated And Moved No Problem (Ryn) Is The Best We Will Be Back But We're Going To Explore Other KOA Sites Thanks
Sep 16, 2019
Super experience right from the start with a quick friendly check-in, clean cabin and grounds, a great location! One of my top go to places and favorite campgrounds - - right on a calm river, in the mountains, amongst forest, away from civilization, near a Nat'l Park, etc...! My sons enjoyed fishing and we all enjoyed the site & sound of the water... We'll be back - - hopefully sooner than late
Sep 16, 2019
Great little efficiency cabin by the creek, we enjoyed our stay. The only issue we encountered was, we splashed a little water on the floor & when we used a paper towel to clean it up, we were appalled at how dirty the floors were! Needs to be mopped!
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Enjoyed a wonderful weekend with our two grandkids who are eight and four the cabin was amazing rustic and clean. The pools were refreshing and the bounce pad was a blast! Cherokee KOA has been one of our favorites to date
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Fun
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
no internet-- the resort fee should have been waived!
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 15, 2019
Everything was perfect! thank you for making our vacation well worth it. We cannot wait for our trip next year back.
Sep 14, 2019
Our cabin was very nice located on a beautiful little river. The whole campground was very clean and up kept and the staff was courteous and helpful!
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
Spacious cabin. Would be nice to have bathrooms closer to the cabins on the far end. Loved how quiet it was! Needs more parking for that end. Your maintenance manager brought his own air compressor to fill our daughters tire! He was awesome!! He was kind and patient and quickly responded!!! When we checked out that morning the tire compressor was broken.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Love it every time we come
Sep 09, 2019
Overall our stay was nice and relaxing, as it always is. With the exception of neighbors across from our cabin 353, who had three dogs that barked excessively during the day at every passerby. Thankfully at night the dogs were brought inside the camper and we were able to have a good night's rest. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The grounds around our cabin and the entire campground looked great
Sep 09, 2019
Great campground with lots of amenities to keep the kids busy . It’s close to town and the Smokies I rented a rustic cabin however to my surprise there was no AC. It was 87 degrees outside and hotter in the cabin . The fan just made it feel like a convection oven . It cooled off as the sun went down so the nights were fine . It explains why so many of their cabins are empty this time of
Sep 09, 2019
Loved it!!
Sep 09, 2019
Some of the help are kinda rude. Some are extremely nice. Since the campground has changed hands. Some employees shouldn’t have been hired or brought on.
Sep 08, 2019
Wonderful staff. Fantastic cabin. Great campground. Best place to stay in Cherokee NC.
Sep 07, 2019
Never been the camping type but tried the KOA cabin option for a change of pace. We had a blast. We had a deluxe cabin which was small but clean and cozy. Awesome fire pit, friendly staff, cool trout stream outside the front door. It was a great way to enjoy the mountains without giving up amenities of a hotel. And we got to bring the dogs and they loved all the new smells of the outdoors.
Sep 06, 2019
the grounds are nice, however it's to crowded to be a great place. Every square foot has a cabin or campsite.
Sep 06, 2019
The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA will always be our favorite location! They are consistent with great customer service over the years. The campground is always in impeccable condition. I grew up going with my parents. And now I have my own kids to enjoy the experience with!
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
I’ve been coming to Cherokee KOA for almost 20 years now. We had a great trip. The bathrooms were almost always clean. The staff was very friendly. Everything was great except for the following. The firewood is way too expensive, wet and does not burn properly. Very frustrating. On a holiday weekend there was only one person taking orders and cooking. 1 cashier inside with a long wait.
Sep 04, 2019
I love the atmosphere at Cherokee KOA. I do think they are overpriced, compared to other campgrounds and even other KOA's. They have a good amount of activities planned, but the communication in getting this info out PRIOR TO the stay would be nice, so campers can come prepared to participate.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place and other campers were friendly and respectful. The staff was great. The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Sep 04, 2019
Everything was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Priscilla is amazing.
Sep 03, 2019
Even though we didn’t bring our dogs this time, I am so happy to know it’s an option when staying in your cabins. We will be back...with our dogs! We had a wonderful stay. Only wish we had more time to stay.
Sep 02, 2019
We rented the Deluxe Cabin and it was filthy. The floors, walls, and bed. The bed had dog and human hairs all over the sheets. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned. The only way we would come back to stay is if we were in our own camper. The location of campground is beautiful. We paid way too much money for the filth we stayed in.
Sep 02, 2019
It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The amenities were well-kept. The only complaint is the mattress on the sleeper sofa is super uncomfortable!
Aug 26, 2019
Lot so to do but service was poor. Asked for towels for our deluxe cabin on multiple times and they did not arrive. Had a calendar of events for kids but every time we went over to the schedule event no one was there. Asked a question to the woman at the registration counter and got a very rude response, my wife got very upset. Overall the service was the worst of any KOA we have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2019
Very pleased with the check in process and the politeness and assistance with the staff. The cabin was very clean upon our arrival. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during our entire stay!!! �
Aug 25, 2019
Another pleasant and relaxing stay. Love Cherokee KOA.
Mar 12, 2020
Noce warm pool,people are very nice
- Colin Davis on Google
Mar 02, 2020
Great fishing
- Gary Williamson on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.