Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.
Nov 18, 2019
Very accommodating to changing schedules.
Nov 18, 2019
Awesome facility, my family had a great time. I cant wait to go next year
Nov 18, 2019
Me and friends stayed here for my birthday! Had a great time!! Will definitely be back. Only complaint I have is that our room did not come with a heater in it, like other locations I’ve been to!
Nov 18, 2019
Staff was friendly and the campground was clean, but the cabins are not accurately advertised. I booked a cabin on the river and got a cabin at the pond runoff stream.
Nov 18, 2019
Super clean cabin and I indoor pool area. Intelligent and friendly staff!
Nov 14, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. The cabin was just perfect with our two dogs. Thank you so much for accommodating large dogs.
Nov 12, 2019
Very friendly staff, helped us with all of our needs.
Nov 12, 2019
Very nice facility. My only issue was that the cabin we stayed in shared power with another cabin so it kept popping the breaker when we turned up the heater. Other than that it was satisfactory.
Nov 11, 2019
my stay was fine. However I was in office in line and another couple was there c/o that they still had no heat and didn't plan on staying another night without heat. Person said they would do what they could but all heaters were being used. I would suggest operating like Disney: I would have said, I am sorry , let us help move you to another cabin that has heat already. would have made hap
Nov 11, 2019
We had such a great stay in the cabin on the river and loved the gas fireplace. We saw an otter in the river from our deck, lots of elk in the smoky mountains, wild turkeys and 2 groundhogs at the smoky mountains farm location. Everyone at the KOA was super friendly & helpful. Dottie and the rest of the team in the store were informative and all the housekeepers were kind&helpful.100%Recommend!
Nov 11, 2019
Tried to cancel to get my refund but every time I called it was busy and I called daily. Even up to the day before hand, but I always got the busy signal noise. Never got a refund. I would still stay here in the future but they need to fix their communication outlets.
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
We came for a quick family getaway and it was perfect.
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
We loved it
Nov 10, 2019
Loved it! Beautiful location. Well maintained and super friendly!
Nov 10, 2019
We came for my sons 11th birthday and we couldn't have asked for a better stay! The cabin was perfect size. The spacious porch overlooking the water was perfect for the birthday party. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms were so clean! Thank you all so much!!
Nov 10, 2019
Clean, warm, friendly! Can’t wait to come back!
Nov 05, 2019
BEDBUGS!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Our key opened multiple cabins and due to a misunderstanding, we stayed in the wrong cabin, #363. The 2nd morning we awoke to beds full of bedbugs and multiple bites on all of us. We've had to throw away our things and go to the doctor multiple times. See other KOA reviews & Trip Advisor reviews. Management knows they have a problem and they won't return my emails.
Nov 05, 2019
The cabin we were in did not have a direct parking spot that led to the cabin we had to walk through other sites or park further away to access a sidewalk that did go to the cabin. Cable TV got fuzzy the night before we left.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
��� �������� �� ύ �� .���� ���� �ύ ���� ���� �ύ�� ��ύ��. ������ � �������.
Nov 01, 2019
cabin was nice but in quite zone not ok with that. plenty of activities even in rain. people serving food for activities need to read flyer before serving we got shorted at both cook out. loved seeing kids in costumes for Halloween
Nov 01, 2019
We have stayed in this lovely campground several times. This visit in October we had prime real estate! Cabin 252 has a beautiful deck, but the parking his horrible. Neighbors took our parking so it was very inconvenient. Also, there were bedbugs! 3 in our party brought them home to 3 locations. My son's college dorm room had to be treated. Called to inform, but manager never returned my call.
Nov 01, 2019
Beautiful campground, friendly people, great amenities. Said my cabin had cable TV. Cable there, but no TV. Window open. Big hole in screen, lots of bugs inside. Asked for cabin on the water (obviously meaning river), was told it yes. "Water" was little creek behind the cabin that I couldn't see. No idea if any of the rustic cabins are on river. Loved the campground, but disappointed with cabin.
Oct 31, 2019
It's our home base for camping and koa
Oct 31, 2019
Very, very disappointed in our stay and probably will not be staying again. Cherokee KOA has a problem with their housekeeping/maintenance team. On our first night, after hours we discovered the shower clip to hold shower head was broken, therefore we had to hold shower head to take a shower. Clearly the housekeeping knew it was broken, yet just left it handing upon our arrival. Aggravating!
Oct 31, 2019
We always love staying at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA and would never choose to stay anywhere else in the area. We do hope that you will someday improve the WiFi signals as we have a hard time connecting and staying on the internet (which is important as I often have to complete and deliver work while on vacation). Thanks for another great stay!
Oct 31, 2019
We were very lucky to get a last minute cabin. Just wish it wasn't right next to the glaring bathroom lights. Kind of killed the charm of having a cozy fire at night. Facilities were clean and the staff very accommodating. Had no idea we were walking into their gigantic annual Halloween extravaganza, kids EVERYWHERE, but it was fun. Next time hopefully get a more secluded cabin.
Oct 30, 2019
We loved the Cherokee KOA! Booked our next stay before we left!
Oct 29, 2019
Perfect. Staff was super and we enjoyed renting a cabin immensely. The rest of our crew had RVs, we have gone here the past 9 or 10 years!
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was clean, staff polite and plenty to do. Stayed in cabin (k68). Camp sites and cabins were way too close to each other and parking extremely tight. Lines were always long and slow at the camp checkin/store/grill.
Oct 29, 2019
Was great!
Oct 29, 2019
There was everything I loved about my stay great price , get location right on the river , great view, great cabin , great bed , great fire place , great deck , OMG had such an amazing week with the colors changing right before my eyes. There was nothing that I can complain about. Can't wait to come back..
Oct 29, 2019
It was ok considering when we arrived at 6pm, our cabin was NOT cleaned. Staff was hurrying to get it cleaned while we waited in the cold. Billy was very apologtic and comp us some firewood.
Oct 29, 2019
Very enjoyable we had an amazing time especially with the Halloween festivities going on my little boy had a blast !
Oct 29, 2019
Friendly staff, beautiful location! We loved the deluxe cabin.
Oct 28, 2019
Loved the addition of the activity tent and DJ this year, the kids loved it!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
We came and camped at the Cherokee KOA for Halloween and LOVED it. There’s a ton for the kids to do. Indoor pool with hot tub, outdoor pool with water slide (seasonal) , a very nice camp store, activities, VERY nice bath houses with private showers accessible from the outside, the big river runs through it, they have a grill, life size checkers, a big jumping pillow...will return ASAP!!
Oct 28, 2019
We moved from a tent site to a basic cabin due to expected rain. We were told it would be afternoon (3:00) before we could move in so the cabin could be cleaned for us. We stopped one of your employees to ask about parking. He was able to get us into the cabin in a very short time, as he was cleaning the cabins at that time. Great employee by the name of Mo Mo. Parking was an issue at #65.
Oct 28, 2019
It's always lovely. They've forgotten my reservation twice now when we arrived late, but it was rectified. Beautiful area with lots of activities.
Oct 28, 2019
We had a great weekend in the North Carolina mountains. The Cherokee KOA was very nice. We had a one bedroom Cabin right on the Stream. Our Cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to make our trip Great!!!
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 28, 2019
Me and my 3 children had a wonderful stay, the place was clean and the staff was very helpful and kind. We will be going back to KOA Cherokee , again and agian!!
Oct 27, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Even though it rained we had a great time. Cabin was very clean!
Oct 26, 2019
Not my idea of camping. Crammed in shoulder to shoulder with other campers. 4 to 5 steps between cabins and campsites. Sitting in the front of a campfire on the very edge of the road with cars passing closely by, listening to 5 other campsite conversations around you. KOA packs them in for the money. I will think twice about reserving a KOA campsite next time.
Oct 25, 2019
Had a wonderful time. The cabin was outstanding. I enjoyed the trick treating but it was unfortunate we had all the rain to put a damper on it. I will be back next year.
Oct 25, 2019
Mar 12, 2020
Noce warm pool,people are very nice
- Colin Davis on Google
Mar 02, 2020
Great fishing
- Gary Williamson on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.