Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 15, 2018
This stay was better than our last there.Pros- large campground with scenery that’s second to none.Multiple bath houses.Great camp store.2pools.2hot tubs.Fun,friendly activities for the kids.stocked trout ponds.peaceful river. Cons-Campground doesn’t have the welcoming,caring feel like a non corporate ran KOA.hard to get anyone to answer the phone or help if you have an issue.
Jun 15, 2018
Showers are just dirty! For three days I used the same shower and saw the same hair balls on the walls and floor of the shower! So gross!
Jun 15, 2018
Unfriendly staff. Staff ignored dogs that were not on leashes. Large groups, over the limit, on sites. Trashy full timer’s sites. Bob, very unfriendly, escorted us to a site, which we did not like for 3 days Lots of empty sites around us. Bob, the escort, said to back to office and just drove off, leaving us to maneuver our way through the park and then figure out a place to Park our rig.
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
Out door hot not functioning and tubing in the river not available. These were the main activities that I went there for.
Jun 12, 2018
The site was lovely, but the wifi left a lot to be desired!
Jun 12, 2018
Beautiful and well kept up park! Lot's to do. Easy to get around. Staff is amazing.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
I haven’t Been in 6 years but before that my family went every summer for 12 years in a row. I know you have rules but the old guy driving around in the golf cart acted like his job was to find something wrong and be irritated. I felt like I was at my grandmas house having to watch everything I do instead of being able to relax with my family. We dropped $1200 or more this week. Never again.
Jun 11, 2018
It has the benefit of a great location for fishing and local activities but it's in need of upgrades to the "older" parts of the campground. The bath house we used also needs to be upgraded too but overall we will keep coming back for the fishing.
Jun 11, 2018
We had a bit of bad luck on our way there. Our truck broke down.With the help of some good samaritans,we made it to the camp ground with our camper.The next day the staff there were very helpful with local directions and asistance.We were able to rent a car and enjoy our stay.I am a veteran and I met many other veterans,I enjoyed our conversations.I have nothing but praise for the help we recieved
Jun 11, 2018
Magnificent setting with a very friendly staff. Many great sites for all kinds of campers. Good activities for the kids. The only thing that keeps KOA Cherokee from 5 starts is the poor infrastructure and the woefully inept maintenance staff. Many sites had standing water around the pump and electric box. We couldn't run more than one air conditioner even though we paid for a premium site.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Such a great time!!! The park has made massive improvements over the past few years! All of the workers were so friendly, grounds were clean and had tons of fun activities! Delivering firewood to your site was such a nice touch! Only complaint was the fuzzy cable which was kind of a bummer during the NBA playoffs. Overall we Absolutely loved our stay!
Jun 11, 2018
Best stay at any RV resort so far, except Sat night, kids were out of control riding their bikes around the campground. Not watching for cars. Very dangerous.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Awesome
Jun 10, 2018
It was one of the best places ever,clean, safe, and great for disabled people,had a wonderful time
Jun 10, 2018
Beautiful place, definitely coming back real soon
Jun 06, 2018
Its was great the pool hours could of been longer and grass could of been cut.
Jun 04, 2018
no activities through out week days / out door pool was closed the entire visit , jump pads were closed first day , cable was not working first day then not coming in clear rest of visit, due to weather tubing was closed and island
Jun 02, 2018
Excellent place to stay for long vacations!
Jun 01, 2018
my grandkids had a ball! there was so much for them to do. Will definitely go back!
May 31, 2018
I would rate it a five but they had a sign up stating the recreation/game area was permanently closed due to vandalism. I don't use it but it seems this is a management issue. Many of the roads need repair inside the resort. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I like this KOA due to it's location away from the crowds.
May 31, 2018
We were there for Memorial Day weekend which is always a busy weekend. My complaints are minor. I think that we should get a sheet with the weekend events listed so we knew what was going on. The only other complaint was hooking up the cable. It is difficult where the connection is. As for the help, most were very friendly but I did hear about a couple of times where help was a little rude.
May 31, 2018
This KOA is about 3 hours from home. My family has been comming here for many years. I can fish in the river, or the ponds. The kids,and now grandkids, can enjoy the pool, and all of the other activities.
May 31, 2018
May 30, 2018
Memorial Day weekend pool opens at 12 noon with dirty water no slide.Kiddie pool is now a $50 blow up slide Grill/concession closed game room closed and cable is absolutely terrible
May 30, 2018
The pool was not open the 1st couple of days. When it was open lightning struck the pump (I do understand that) The pool slide was never opened. Cable was not working. The jumping units was closed part of the time. My family comes here every Memorial and Labor Day. They all have 3 children each. It made it very hard to entertain them, so there was never any relaxation.
May 30, 2018
from the minute arrived to leaving the campground we were welcomed with a friendly attitude , thank you for making our stay comfortable despite of rainy weather . Wished to make a reservation for next year - can not do that anymore only 6 months ahead ..we've been enjoying our memorial weekends in the same spot for years ..
May 30, 2018
The staff (everyone) was very nice. The campground was well kept. It’s just bigger and more crowded than I’m use to but overall it was a good experience.
May 30, 2018
As always everything is great. Very friendly staff.
May 30, 2018
We were very disappointed. We made a reservation in January for the week before memorial day and requested one of the riverside sites further up in the campground. Instead we were stuck next to a creek and one site over from the bounce pad. Not at all what we wanted , this was our honeymoon and I was told there was nothing that could be done. There were other river sites that sat open most of the
May 30, 2018
Where did the kiddie pool go? Where did the arcade go? Why was the island shut down? Where were the plethora of banana bikes? All things we were looking forward to. Too many changes, none good.
May 30, 2018
I usually have a pretty good stay but this the campsite was awful to small and couldn’t even level the camper asfault was so bad pool was nasty , hot tub wasn’t working
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
May 30, 2018
Pool filter and hot tub filter not working. Dirty water. Otherwise good.
May 30, 2018
Everything was great.the weather was the only bad part
May 30, 2018
The prices are high not only for the campsite but everything else there is expensive from the camp store to the bike rentals. We had campsite #19 it was a muddy swamp. there had been a lot of raining that weekend but our site was literally nothing but o large water puddle and mud. We walking through the campground and all if the other sites we better the water had drained away from the other site.
May 30, 2018
We had great time during our stay,I feel like the indoor pool needs a life guard on duty to keep bigger kids from doing flips ect, pretty much all the rules for the pool were broken while we were there.
May 30, 2018
We loved it! Great stay for our 23rd Anniversary.
May 30, 2018
May 28, 2018
This stay was terrible. First of all, the outdoor pool was closed the majority of the weekend. The slide was not open even when the pool was. The kiddie pool is now closed. The hot tub was freezing. The indoor pool was over crowded because everything else was closed. The cable did not work as well. The campground is way over priced for what is offered.
May 27, 2018
Great place, could be even better if more care on landscaping. I would recommend professionals to do grass. Staff spend more time off of golf carts, too much riding around. Loved not having a phone service. Fishing was great. We will return!
May 27, 2018
May 25, 2018
I have never encountered such rude people at a KOA campground. if all KOA campgrounds were run the way this one is we would never stay at a KOA. I have just returned returned from our stay in Cherokee NC and have not have time to get on the internet but I do plan on putting my reviews on every site I can. The manager of this place should NEVER work with the public. She was as rude as the worker.
May 24, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award