Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 18, 2018
Great Amenities, Great Fishing, Great Campground!! Spacious Camp Sites.
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Great time. We loved movie night. Everyone was so friendly.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
definitely the worst experience from 10 KOA’s so far. The indoor pool was ‘open’ but looked very dirty and insight you could barely breath because the vents weren’t turned on. They told us the snackbar would be opem until 8PM but closed already at 4, leaving us with 3 hungry children... Also, after several hours our RV site was more like a swamp due to leaking water (from under the grou
Apr 15, 2018
Apr 15, 2018
Apr 12, 2018
Great place to stay
Apr 11, 2018
Beautiful clean park. Friendly staff. Very accommodating when it came to extending our stay. Would definitely stay there again.
Apr 11, 2018
The environment was great and I like the parking space. However, I did not have wifi except the first day. It was very disappointed. I was obliged to go to the town to get wifi.
Apr 09, 2018
We stay here a couple times a year & have never had any problems. Pros: Bathroom upgrades, wifi signal improved, friendly staff & the new storefront looks great. Cons: Indoor pool now closes at 8 (used to be 9), no age restriction on small hot tub so kids are jumping all over the place, many sites stayed flooded after rain, cost is ridiculous (literally more than beachfront camping).
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
We were only scheduled to stay 5 days and extended 2 more. The staff was friendly and helpful, the site was clean, along with the restrooms. The indoor pool and hot tub were great on rainy days. The kids had fun riding their bikes and playing at the nice playground. Sites in the front have a little more traffic but we were towards the back and had minimal noise. Love this place, will be back!!
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
We enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms were clean and good. Kids enjoyed inflatable. Dog park was nice. Good stay. We will go again.
Apr 08, 2018
We love the Cherokee KOA! Very nice campground & staff!
Apr 08, 2018
We had a great time at the Cherokee KOA. Very dog friendly. Bathrooms were very clean. Kids loved the jumping pillow. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I
Apr 08, 2018
This was our 3rd stay with the family. Honestly had no complaints at all. The weather was not the best (cloudy cool rainy) and curtailed some activities, but we still had a pretty good time. Had several interactions with staff. They were helpful, happy & smiling. They were checking bath houses & actively doing things all around. Honestly I was impressed. We will be back! Looking forward to it!
Apr 08, 2018
clean... Friendly and helpful staff... Sites in the small side but nice.
Apr 08, 2018
This KOA has such great potential. Located on a beautiful river in a great area. We had been coming here for years and actually stopped 3 or 4 years ago when the owners changed due to poor service and rude staff. This past week we decided to give it another chance to see if this had improved. No change still rude and if there is an issue the GM makes it your fault and takes no ownership at all.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
Lots of fun for kids and families. Great location, close to lots of mountain towns and activities. Campsite was well maintained and clean. Helpful and friendly staff.
Apr 07, 2018
A little pricey but with kids is a great place to stay.
Apr 07, 2018
Something has changed for the worst in last 2 years. We come few times every year and stay. But this may be our last time. Something in management has changed for the worst.
Apr 07, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
Had a water leak inside camper the first thing after hooking up. Management was very helpful in steering me to someone to get it fixed. On the second day a breaker kept tripping on the power box outside. Management was very quick to fix the problem. Looking forward to our next trip to this KOA.
Apr 07, 2018
Lots of amenities, good RV sites, friendly staff
Apr 05, 2018
The campground is very well layed out. The property is clean & well kept. The staff & maintenance personnel are very friendly, helpful, & courteous. The only, & terribly gross, problem is the fact that the staff doesn't enforce their rule that states that campers must clean up after their dogs. So if you don't mind walking in dog feces, it's a great place to camp.
Apr 05, 2018
Apr 05, 2018
My original campsite that I was assigned to was way too small to accommodate me but they corrected it went well above beyond what they needed to do to make me comfortable
Apr 04, 2018
Apr 04, 2018
We really enjoyed our site. It was a challenge to get into since our escort took us in backwards, but we managed to get it turned around and set up. Thanks to all the staff they assisted us in many ways. With providing a power adapter (put us on a 50amp site we only had 30amp) to delivering firewood and assisting us with extra tools when our electric step refused to retract upon our departure.
Apr 03, 2018
Cherokee KOA is one of our favorite (maybe our favorite) camps within the KOA family. This is a friendly site with many amenities, not just for kids, but adults alike.
Apr 03, 2018
At check in the boy running the desk tried to over charge me $100 for our four night stay, I brought up my reservation on my phone and he said Oh, ok, I guess I can honor that." Strange! Bathrooms were super nice and clean. Mountains surrounding where beautiful. Fished on Sunday but we didn't catch anything.Don't book a site by the ponds, you will hear the noise from the street ALL night long
Apr 03, 2018
This was a great time with my daughters- The facility had great amenities as well as being clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Apr 03, 2018
The campground is very dark at night so I would recommend a few street lights or require children to attach some kind of lighting to their bicycles so that they are more visible at night. Otherwise we had a great stay very clean and everyone was friendly
Apr 03, 2018
Everyone was very helpful. Loved that they enforce the quite time rule. Will go back again. Susan
Apr 03, 2018
It was very busy when we checked, but the staff did a great job staying organized and courteous. Everything was well taken care of in the campground, couldn’t ask for a better place.
Apr 02, 2018
We have stayed at this KOA multiple times. This time there were numerous issues with our entire group. The rates have increased significantly. The fishermen in our group were told they would not be allowed to participate in the fishing tournament.(One reason we were there). Multiple problems with the reservations and charges, long waits checking in and in the store(nobody else in line).
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
My only complaint was that they had activities planned and when I asked about them no one knew what the activity was or where it was going to be.
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
I was overcharged they would not give me my military discount I was charge for other charges that I was not aware of did not get the camping spot that I paid for I was supposed to be in on the river nearly $200 for two nights day not happy
Apr 02, 2018
We were double booked, we could not get theough the fence at the pond till after 8:15, which means I had to walk all the way around the camp ground to get to the pond. Also we were unable to make a reservation for next year which we have done for the last 12 years. We will not be back next year.
Apr 02, 2018
Always love staying here but site we were assigned was not a good fit for a 40 ft. Motor home. Table and fire ring were at the end of the site and we could not open our awning due to a tree. Pad is usually were the tree was. Site number was 182. Other than that it was great.
Apr 02, 2018
Electric keep cutting off at night it was cold I was up all night making sure our heat didnt cut off Which it did 5 times. The kids at the camp was out of control no adult Supervision at all. Bikes ride all over one kid almost run into my car and the other kid cut right in front of my car. if you're looking for a quiet place/peaceful and privacy this is not the place.. Definitely no privacy
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award