Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jan 16, 2018
I stayed with a large group and we had several cabins in a row. A few cabins did not have hot water or heat and the temperatures dipped in the teens. There was also a TV that was not working and they charged the cabin individual $100 because they reported the problem after they had checked in. The TV was not turned on until they realized the problem. The cabins themselves are not very clean.
Jan 16, 2018
Great stay. As always, courteous and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable facilities.
Jan 15, 2018
We had a very nice time. Cabin was super clean. Staff was very friendly.
Jan 08, 2018
Pipes froze, cable and internet were out...
Jan 08, 2018
I made reservations for 4 adults and one child. I was told what the stay would cost and paid when I made the reservation. Upon arrival I was charged an additional $10 for 2 of the adults. The fine print says I would be charged $20 for each pet, upon arrival we were charged $25 for each pet. Very poor way to do business and we will not be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I do apologize for the misunderstanding it was glitch in our system and i would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention. I have addressed the issue in an email to you. Thank you again.
Jan 06, 2018
Jan 05, 2018
Jan 03, 2018
it. Never stayed at a Camp ground in the winter time. The atmosphere was great
Jan 03, 2018
Absolutely incredible!!! will definitely be back. Great Staff great people and beautiful surroundings!!!
Jan 03, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
We had a great time at this KOA. The site was clean, bath houses were clean and regularly maintained, and the staff were very friendly. Our only complaint was the heater in the cabin was not quite enough to keep it warm in the 20 degree nights. Not a deal a deal breaker we just might come a little more prepared next time. Stayed five nights and loved every minute of it.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
the stay was great!!!
Jan 02, 2018
We had a very enjoyable stay. Staff were very friendly and professional. They also were very good at maintaining speed limit rules in the park. I was very impressed by this with small children riding their bikes riding around.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The campground was beautiful, clean and had tons of admentities. Can’t wait to come back!!!
Jan 02, 2018
It was really cold! But not the campgrounds fault. The only thing I can say is when you have the room spread the campers out. There was obviously alot of the basic cabins open, but we always had someone 15 feet away for one night and we were there three nights. Been more enjoyable if you would spread out some when you can.
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 02, 2018
The staff including Cody were so helpful and friendly. It was dark when we arrived and we had no idea where our cabin was. Laura was awesome there at the security hut and took us straight to the cabin and made sure we knew the path to take and that we got there safely. The cabin was beautiful, spotless, nice and toasty. The whole campground was clean and orderly. The store had great coffee too!
Jan 02, 2018
Jan 01, 2018
Jan 01, 2018
We loved it here! Our cabin was perfect! We loved having the river right out our front door. Staff was super friendly and helpful. And our dogs loved the dog park! Campsite is super close to Mingo Falls and a short drive to everything in Cherokee!
Dec 31, 2017
Honestly, my stay was great. The staff was friendly & my site was clean and ready when I arrived. I gave it a lower rating was because upon checking out early, I had to deal with the manager. I did express that I was frustrated & because of that she refused to talk to me with any dignity. For any part of her frustration I caused I apologize - however an apology would have diffused my frustration.
Dec 30, 2017
Cabins are cute and comfy, although a little dusty. Nice patio with grill, fire pit, and patio furniture. Beautiful views on the river sites. It's not fancy and the wifi is sketchy. But we weren't there for the electronics. If you want a good family vacation that is focused on outdoor activities and quality family time, you will enjoy the Cherokee KOA.
Dec 30, 2017
Friendly staff, amazing views, cozy cabins!! We love it!
Dec 30, 2017
Dec 29, 2017
Great time with family and great customer service.
Dec 29, 2017
Dec 28, 2017
No closet, No bathroom sink. I fell into the fire pit on the side of the cabin at night due to no lighting (no, I am not a drinker). Toaster was broken. Not enough silver ware or cups for 6 people. Could have been a little cleaner. There are 5 windows on the side that face the creek, only 3 have shades. People across the way could look right into the cabin.
Dec 28, 2017
We tried to find a cabin last minute in the smokies for Christmas. Seen KOA had some little cabins and we booked one. Didnt realize how nice they would be and all rhe accommodations! We will DEFINITELY be back there soon!!!
Dec 27, 2017
I absolutely adored the cabin we stayed in! Right on the river, plenty of space, full kitchen, heater and a/c! It was great! The weather wasn't great, so we definitely will be returning over the summer to enjoy warmth and be able to enjoy everything this campground offers!
Dec 27, 2017
Comfortable, beautiful cabin, the staff was friendly, no issues at all.
Dec 26, 2017
Our cabin was very nice and clean. Everything we needed was in the cabin (i.e. a mini fridge, microwave, and keurig with k-cups). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The laundry facility was easily accessible. There are plenty of things for the kids to do. And our cabin had an amazing view of the creek!
Dec 20, 2017
We went to Cherokee for a fishing trip. We had a great time and caught plenty of fish. Cabins are always wonderful to stay in. Nice and warm and cozy in the Winter.
Dec 19, 2017
Everyone was very awesome! this was our second time staying at the KOA. Cody and his team was very sweet and awesome! very clean and we will definitely going back! We cant wait to go during the summer this time. Our kids enjoyed it very much.
Dec 16, 2017
Dec 15, 2017
The staff was incredibly friendly and made us feel like family
Dec 12, 2017
Dec 11, 2017
The cabin that I rented did not match the website. I thought I was getting a cabin with a cooktop, toaster, utensils etc. It was disappointing because I had to go buy all of those things. The cabin, however, was very clean and comfortable.
Dec 07, 2017
no internet, pool was closed. Wasn't told during check-in. would have been nice to know before booking stay.
Dec 07, 2017
Myself, husband, daughter and grandson stayed Dec 2-4 and had a wonderful time. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Close to Great Smoky National Park. Our grandson was able to see Elk, Deer, Turkeys and a Bear, in their natural habitat. The Super Moon was a Bonus.
Dec 06, 2017
We had an amazing time! I came here as a kid and I brought my two girls! Lots of memories made!
Dec 04, 2017
Dec 04, 2017
We were traveling with our handicapped dog. Stayed in a cottage on the river. Pictures online look like two secluded little cabins attached. Well they are not secluded but 5 feet away from another set of cabins. Photos were very misleading. However, it was very the cottage was nice and roomy overlooking the river. We would love to go back again. The group campfire and hot tub was very NICE!
Dec 01, 2017
Great Stay
Nov 30, 2017
This was our 17th year staying at Smoky Mountain KOA , it is always a great experience . I recommend this KOA to everyone .
Nov 28, 2017
We came in on Thanksgiving Day and wanted to check in at 1:00. They told us the office was closed till 3:00, we had called earlier and they did not tell us the office would be closed. If they had said that we would have done early check-in. We had to kill time with a full car load of stuff - not fun. The communication could have been better.
Nov 28, 2017
We had a great time! Staff was Excellent ! A+++
Nov 28, 2017
No heat in cabin, wish we had know about that we would of prepared, 41 degrees in cabin. We called several numbers to let them know we would be late but no one returned our call. Maybe if they had we could of purchased a heater and thicker blankets. Our last stay same type cabin came with heater. Updated showers good.Cabin was nice and nice location. Parking very tight.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award