Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 20, 2017
Perfect!!
Oct 20, 2017
Awesome. WiFi could use some improvement. Otherwise, thank you.
Oct 20, 2017
Staff eager to please, excellent cabin,will be back
Oct 19, 2017
Check in was easy. Staff was wonderful. Campground was top notch. Amenities for children was great. Couldn't ask for a better experience. Looking forward for our March visit!
Oct 18, 2017
Had a great time with your staff,fun fishing tournament.
Oct 18, 2017
Absolutely loved the camp ground and all the facilities! The cabin we had was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. We especially liked Cheryl who was very nice and helpful! We plan to visit some other campgrounds now that we know what to expect.
Oct 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA Cherokee. The front line person Josh was so knowledgeable about his job and he offered stellar service while checking in. I had read bad reviews on line, but when we arrived until we left we had an amazing restful stay. Thank you so much for the survey. We will try our best to go back and stay again.
Oct 17, 2017
Great as usual! This is our favorite vacation of the year. Our cabin did have ants, but we didn't mention it. It was K300.
Oct 17, 2017
The KOA is a beautiful place, unfortunately it was a busy weekend and we ended up behind a rowdy crowd. The cabin we stayed at you can hear the street noise in front and the crowd behind us, not to forget the basketball hoop. I went up to the mountains to get away from the everyday noise and relax and that was a down fall, but it was not the KOA's fault . Everyone there was nice and helpful.
Oct 17, 2017
We stayed in a one room cabin. It was in good shape. The staff was friendly and helped us find our cabin when we arrived. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly, however the staff had trouble keeping up, as it was a busy weekend. There were halloween devocation up, which were cool for kids.
Oct 17, 2017
The staff and cabin was nice. Unfortunately, the WIFI was terrible. Since we had no cell service, we were dependent on wifi to keep in contact with our family. I know this may seem like a small thing, but the website lists wifi as being part of the package. Our cabin was on the "water" but next to the entrance and faced the street. Wish I would have known that ahead of time esp for the $$
Oct 17, 2017
Too many barking dogs. 5 mile per speed limit is crazy because no one obeys it but yet we got stopped because we were going 8 mph. Crazy to charge extra $10 for a reservation. Cabins need wiped down for bugs and spider webs. Too much trash left around area we had to clean up when we got there.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
I actually love this campground, we've been numerous times. This time I made my reservation online and asked for a cabin by the bathhouse I've got cabin k369. That cabin doesn't have running water, has the worst fire pit/grill area that I've ever seen, we almost fell in it several times. It's settings so low to the ground, with the roots around it. With repairs this could be the ideal location.
Oct 17, 2017
The cabin we stayed in wasn't really clean. We had to ask that the shower curtain be replaced because it smelled very sour. The floors were dirty, the sofa bed was like sleeping on springs with no cushion whatsoever. The site itself was beautiful, the campground was pretty clean and the girls had fun. its just that the cabin could have been cleaner and the sofa bed mattress a lot better.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in a cabin on the river and other families joined us in RV's. Parents relaxed and kids were totally happy with plenty of fun things to keep them busy from 8am-11pm. Staff super helpful and friendly. SO TOTALLY KID FRIENDLY that we never even went into town!
Oct 16, 2017
As always, everything was clean and neat. They were doing some remodeling on the office (which is looking really nice), but we still had easy access in and out. The staff was pleasant, courteous and helpful. It is always a treat staying at this KOA.
Oct 16, 2017
Great
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
People were great very nice and quick with any problem. Cabin was not all that clean when we arrived but a. Dry nice place to stay
Oct 16, 2017
Great cabin at a family friendly campground with tons to see and do all around the area!
Oct 16, 2017
The bathrooms were very nice with clean floors, stalls, and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was large, quiet at night. My only complaint is when it rained, there was drainage. Nowhere for the rain to goĆ¢lots of puddles & mud, so even after the rain we couldn't enjoy our firepit area.
Oct 16, 2017
We spent this past weekend at your campgrounds and it was AMAZING!!! We had the best time. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the showers and bathrooms are spotless clean. We can't wait to get back to the mountains and to your campgrounds. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend.
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time plan on coming back again We really enjoy going to KOA us and we will add this one on our return list most definitely.. Everything was clean and everyone was very friendly definitely five star
Oct 16, 2017
Everything was amazing!
Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful weekend at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! The camping cabin that we rented was quaint but perfect for what we needed. The bathrooms were the nicest of any campground I've ever stayed at by far. And although the campground was packed, we still felt as if we had plenty of space and it was quiet at night. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Our first time and we loved it. Our cabin was perfect. The bathrooms were clean. Only a few things to note: One family several cabins down from us left tons of food outside 24/7, including overnight. Ya'll should not let that happen. Gross & attracts critters. Pool & sauna water looked a bit green. Quiet hours aren't very quiet but it's OK: everyone's having fun. We really enjoyed our stay.
Oct 16, 2017
My wife and I had a really great time there. The camping cabin was nice, bathrooms were always clean, and the campgrounds and trees were beautiful. The only drawback to the entire weekend was that my wife got quite a few bed bug bites the last day we were there. Although that happened, we still will return, maybe with a bug bomb next time.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
It was great, my boys had a great time, lots to do! Cabin was clean and bathrooms and showers were nice. Staff was very helpful!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
The only negative is we always stay in a deluxe cottage/cabin on the river and the Wi-Fi is nearly non existent so it makes it hard to work or keep up with emails. Other than that love the place.
Oct 14, 2017
KOA store closed way to early. No coffee no one know how to fix the machine. Nice clean restrooms and showers. Really friendly staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Beautiful area, peaceful campground.
Oct 13, 2017
The stay was as usual good. Only thing I can complain about is the walnut trees over where we parked at our cabin. Those walnuts beat or cars to death so I moved them. To keep them from damaging our cars. Cabin 243 is nice, river front. The people in the cabin next to us didn't barely give us any room to get in and out. Had to drive by them to get to our parking.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 12, 2017
Extremely kind and helpful staff!
Oct 11, 2017
My grandchildren wanted to see the mountains and I had been to Cherokee before so I chose to take them there. They really enjoyed the trip.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
I was thrilled about my stay until I went to check in and the lady told me someone made a mistake on my reservation.
Oct 11, 2017
Staff super friendly, campground very clean and well kept, beautiful scenery. Bath houses clean and readily accessible. Plenty of camping supplies and groceries at the KOA store made things very convenient. Will definitely be back in the future.
Oct 11, 2017
Charging for every additional person stating "for extra service", but don't have enough stuff to simply serve and clean up; toilets simply run out soup for 1,5 days. Many tries with falling nuts over and damaging the vehicles, I tried to park 5-7 feet apart to save my car and I have been advised that my car will be town away :( and who's going to pay for the damage-it's your unexpected experiences
Oct 10, 2017
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Kottage in the river had fire rings removed. My family goes to KOA for a camping experience and most of our meals are planned to be cooked on the campfire. We were told there was. "Community fire" on the patio. It was gas logs. Very disappointed in the lack of fire pits and that we weren't notified of this ahead of time.
Oct 10, 2017
My family has come to Cherokee KOA many times. We consider it our "home KOA" This time we were disappointed to find out we could not have a campfire at the cottages we were in. They had removed the fire rings! What's camping without a fire? All the other sites had fire rings. Also the campfire grill closed early and without notice. Not my best experience. Not sure if we will be back.
Oct 10, 2017
We did have one rough day with a neighboring campers dog that continuously barked and were a little disappointed that all of the info said there was a mini golf and there wasn't but everyone was super friendly and we still loved it!
Oct 10, 2017
My truck has dents all over it from the walnut trees that I had to park under at my cabin. They need to be cut down before they cause more damage to another vehicle.
Oct 10, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award