Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2019
Very nice campground, but it was impossible to get sleep until early morning hours due to rowdy next door neighbors. This is the first campground we have ever had this problem at. Most have a quiet time that is enforced by 11 PM. Very disappointing!
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 10, 2019
Great campground right in the middle of where you want to be.
Sep 10, 2019
Spacious cabin. Would be nice to have bathrooms closer to the cabins on the far end. Loved how quiet it was! Needs more parking for that end. Your maintenance manager brought his own air compressor to fill our daughters tire! He was awesome!! He was kind and patient and quickly responded!!! When we checked out that morning the tire compressor was broken.
Sep 10, 2019
2nd time we have stayed here this year. ♥��♥��♥��♥�� Plenty to offer for the grand baby to keep him busy. Very clean campground, large sites.
Sep 10, 2019
No shade. The sewer attachment in the ground was broken. It appeared that someone tried to fix it, badly. The top of the sewer attachment is not connected to the sewer system, which means that raw sewage goes into the ground, and, there are rivers close by.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Love it every time we come
Sep 09, 2019
Overall our stay was nice and relaxing, as it always is. With the exception of neighbors across from our cabin 353, who had three dogs that barked excessively during the day at every passerby. Thankfully at night the dogs were brought inside the camper and we were able to have a good night's rest. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The grounds around our cabin and the entire campground looked great
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Great campground with lots of amenities to keep the kids busy . It’s close to town and the Smokies I rented a rustic cabin however to my surprise there was no AC. It was 87 degrees outside and hotter in the cabin . The fan just made it feel like a convection oven . It cooled off as the sun went down so the nights were fine . It explains why so many of their cabins are empty this time of
Sep 09, 2019
Our 2nd trip this year. Large level sites, friendly staff, nice camp store. Clean!
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice people overall - from check in to the daily upkeep of the camp. Any issues outside of the rules (unruly dogs, loud partying) was handled effectively by the staff. Very much appreciated. Thanks!
Sep 09, 2019
Loved it!!
Sep 09, 2019
Some of the help are kinda rude. Some are extremely nice. Since the campground has changed hands. Some employees shouldn’t have been hired or brought on.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
One problem was grill was advertised being open 8 to 8 went there to order some food and three times in that time frame was closed. Had friends that had booked a cabin right beside our campsite but when we checked in they where put in a location on other side of campground. We had planned on doing meals together. Had to rent golf cart to make this work. Everything else was good.
Sep 08, 2019
Wonderful staff. Fantastic cabin. Great campground. Best place to stay in Cherokee NC.
Sep 07, 2019
Never been the camping type but tried the KOA cabin option for a change of pace. We had a blast. We had a deluxe cabin which was small but clean and cozy. Awesome fire pit, friendly staff, cool trout stream outside the front door. It was a great way to enjoy the mountains without giving up amenities of a hotel. And we got to bring the dogs and they loved all the new smells of the outdoors.
Sep 06, 2019
Had an enjoyable time!
Sep 06, 2019
the grounds are nice, however it's to crowded to be a great place. Every square foot has a cabin or campsite.
Sep 06, 2019
The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA will always be our favorite location! They are consistent with great customer service over the years. The campground is always in impeccable condition. I grew up going with my parents. And now I have my own kids to enjoy the experience with!
Sep 05, 2019
This was a great place for kids to play and have fun!
Sep 05, 2019
Awesome place, Awesome Staff. One of the best campgrounds I have been to. We will be back for sure.
Sep 05, 2019
I had requested a site with a concrete pad, I got asphalt which was good it I recently had a knee replacement, and wanted a level lot I believe 433 was the site I had to be extremely careful walking on uneven ground other than that it was very good thank you
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
The restroom and showers were discussing. Looked like they were not cleaned all weekend. Clumps of hair all in the shower. Trash cans full. My husband who had surgery on his ankle not long ago, was told to walk to the other bathroom in the middle of the night.( 2a.m.)they had ours section locked all night. The staff at the front office was rude to my husband every time he went to ask a question.
Sep 05, 2019
I’ve been coming to Cherokee KOA for almost 20 years now. We had a great trip. The bathrooms were almost always clean. The staff was very friendly. Everything was great except for the following. The firewood is way too expensive, wet and does not burn properly. Very frustrating. On a holiday weekend there was only one person taking orders and cooking. 1 cashier inside with a long wait.
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
I love the atmosphere at Cherokee KOA. I do think they are overpriced, compared to other campgrounds and even other KOA's. They have a good amount of activities planned, but the communication in getting this info out PRIOR TO the stay would be nice, so campers can come prepared to participate.
Sep 04, 2019
We had a GREAT time, plenty to do and wonderful customer service. The only drawback was the road noise in the early morning. Not KOA's fault and nothing they could do to change this, still a great stay.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
It was a great weekend away just what we needed.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place. Clean. Good activities for the kids.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place and other campers were friendly and respectful. The staff was great. The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Sep 04, 2019
Everything was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Priscilla is amazing.
Sep 03, 2019
Even though we didn’t bring our dogs this time, I am so happy to know it’s an option when staying in your cabins. We will be back...with our dogs! We had a wonderful stay. Only wish we had more time to stay.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
Good service at the registers, but slow. The usual koa amenities were great as always.
Sep 02, 2019
We rented the Deluxe Cabin and it was filthy. The floors, walls, and bed. The bed had dog and human hairs all over the sheets. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned. The only way we would come back to stay is if we were in our own camper. The location of campground is beautiful. We paid way too much money for the filth we stayed in.
Sep 02, 2019
It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The amenities were well-kept. The only complaint is the mattress on the sleeper sofa is super uncomfortable!
Sep 02, 2019
Excellent, staff was helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome. Strongly recommended.
Sep 01, 2019
Well maintained,clean restrooms and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 31, 2019
Wonderful campground. Spacious sites and well maintained.
Aug 29, 2019
Nice campground with a great fishing pond.
Aug 29, 2019
Park was great. But air pump for tires was not maintained properly. I ended up letting more air out of tires than put in. Thank goodness a corporate person was there. He helped me fix the situation.
Aug 27, 2019
Great location ,,, Chris and Rose were the best of helpers while we stayed in park.
Aug 27, 2019
Site was level with wide sites and plenty of room! Shower houses and bathrooms were well kept and maintained. Laundry room was clean and economical! Staff was friendly and helpful! Brandon is the man!
Aug 27, 2019
Pricing yourself out of the market. Things much cleaner now and trimmed. Now work on admin. when I pay 25 dollars for a late check out and then have to explain this twice to your staff there is a problem. Here is a clue run the checkout sheet each morning go through and earmark all the late checkouts then you do not have to harass late checkouts twice In one day cause your staff have the sheet.
Aug 27, 2019
Dec 07, 2019
Awesome KOA to take the family to! Clean facilities, friendly staff, nice sites.
- Laedenia Jewell on Google
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.