Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2017
Extremely unhappy that we were not able to pick our sites as in the past. We travel with friends, and that helps enhance the experience. Unhappy that we were unable to book our sites next year as we have been able to do in the past. It's one of top reasons that keeps us coming back year after year.
Sep 06, 2017
Has went down hill we have stayed many years and this one was the worse
Sep 06, 2017
Beautiful setting, great staff
Sep 06, 2017
The site (25) was OK but the parking area and the power pedestal both need to be regraded because thre is just too much standing water after a rain. The bath house nearest our site is nice. Please do something about the outfit that handles the grill/restaurant. My brother-in-law ordered a simple breakfast sandwich and after 20 minutes of waiting he learned that it had not even been started.
Sep 06, 2017
The stay was great, campground was awesome, but the lack of cell service and wifi was disappointing, and prevents a perfect rating.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Employees were AMAZING and POLITE. Amenities were clean and nice. One of our favorite places.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
The best campground we visited in the last 8 years. Cherokee will from now on be the only campground we will be camping at. Thank you for helping us make great family memories.
Sep 06, 2017
so much for the kids to do! great place to stay. Will be back!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Congratulations! Your camp is so beautiful. The staff is so helpful and friendly!! I loved all the activities you offered. I cannot wait to comeback!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Clean, friendly, and plenty to do while in camp. Will, certainly, return but maybe not on a holiday weekend. 5 stars overall.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Our only complaint is that it took over 45 minutes for my breakfast order to be ready at the onsite grill, that's a long time when it's raining. Otherwise the campground, the check-in staff and the other amenities were top notch. We'll be staying again this season but we'll be looking elsewhere for breakfast.
Sep 06, 2017
Great place to stay.Camp site we had needs more rock it was wet.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
The camp staff did a great job over Labor Day weekend with the camp filled up to the max capacity.
Sep 06, 2017
We camp here several times a year and used to really enjoy this campground. However, with each visit, the campground seems to get worse. The activities were very poor for a busy Labor day weekend. Workers looked burnt out, maybe from the busy summer months, but my kids were disappointed. After camping here atleast 5 times in the past, we will be looking elsewhere for our next trip to this area.
Sep 06, 2017
Our stay was WONDERFUL. It was so wonderful that we have already made reservations to come back for Memorial weekend 2018! I only have 1 complaint about the park, the WiFi isn't strong enough for the capacity of the park. I go to school online and need WiFi to be able to have an internet connection. I have a MiFi in the camper, but the park's WiFi blocks it. The park is VERY kid friendly!
Sep 05, 2017
Very clean campground with clean facilities. We had a studio cabin and it was wonderful. Very clean and had all the items stocked as promised. It even had a gas grill on the deck we were not expecting and it was great. The staff was so wonderful and helpful! We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Great place for our family get together. We all had a wonderful time!
Sep 05, 2017
This is a wonderful campground with great staff. We were there probably one of the busiest weekends and they were amazing in their efficiency. The one thing that I think should be noted to those booking is that because this is in the beautiful valley of the mountains, cell phone connectivity is extremely limited and the wi-fi while available can be overwhelmed so you should not count on reception.
Sep 05, 2017
A little too family friendly, I would stay again off season! Also, could not use internet or cell data there, I could not work. The wifi cannot handle the amount of devices there when you are full, a bit disappointing it understandable.
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
The Women's bathhouse was out of toilet paper two mornings in a row. The men's bathhouse was trashed by I hope kids the night of the 3rd. I went into the bathhouse at 8 am on the 4th and found it trashed. The WIFI did not work . On Friday there were plenty of happy and friendly staff. The dump station is difficult to maneuver into due to it's tight location. This one is not on my return list.
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great time. We look forward to coming back! There were a lot of activities for us to enjoy. The bathrooms got very dirty and ran out of toilet paper on Sunday. We went to the main office and they sent someone to clean and bring toilet paper. The neighboring campsites also had multiple cars and were very loud after quiet hours. Those are our big complaints.
Sep 05, 2017
We were placed in a pop up site that had huge mud ruts. We were unable to park our car at the site. There was no sewer at the site. The staff were unfriendly. We ordered breakfast from the snack bar and waited over an hour for service. The breakfast we got was a joke.
Sep 05, 2017
Kind of a last minute decision to camp in a cabin. We were well pleased and will definitely consider other KOA sites as well as this one again. We were glad the young lady that works with recreation was willing to pull together an informal church/devotional service Sunday morning. I suggest that you keep up the church service option even after the camping season starts to wind down. Thank yo
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was good other than the site we were on had over grown grass. The sites are very close to each other. We had a good time and we will maybe go back at a less popular time.
Sep 05, 2017
My family and I really enjoy coming to KOA Cherokee. There is so much for our kids to do, my wife and I can just sit back and relax.
Sep 05, 2017
We reserved a premium site, paid a premium rate, but did not receive a premium site.The abandoned wood shed took up a large portion of our site preventing us from using our awning and fully enjoying the site.The shed faced towards our camper so we had to look into the decay each time we wanted to sit on the picnic table or around the fire ring.The pad was muddy with pallet imprint upon arrival.#56
Sep 04, 2017
We love the KOA at Cherokee and have been coming back for several years. However, the rates have gone up considerably even though the amenities are the same. I didn't realize we were staying at a Deluxe site and paid $100+ per night. The actual site was very nice, but we were unable to sit outside most of the day because of the hot sun and our awning didn't help. Another site perhaps?
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
We love the KOA in Cherokee,we will be back . Misty Myrtle Beach , SC
Sep 04, 2017
The grounds are infested with carpenter ants, fleas, and ticks. The Internet is pretty much non-existent, and the cable didn't work on my site. Service was not good. I asked for a spot on the river and was told, we don't allow travel trailers on the river. There were several travel trailers on the river and open spots all week...the campground has tons of potential, just needs better management...
Sep 03, 2017
Excellent customer service
Sep 03, 2017
My husband and I took my father on a trout fishing trip needless too say he did not want to leave.We can not wait to come back.
Sep 02, 2017
Incredible cabin vacation with our furbaby. Stayed in cabin #385 midweek. We decided to go grocery shopping so we could stay on site for 2 days without having to leave. The cabin was new and relaxing. Sitting outside, cooking, and watching the dog play in the creek was a great midweek getaway. Staff was at site within 5 minutes when we needed help with grill. Thanks Cherokee KoA, we'll be back!
Sep 02, 2017
Loved it! The amenities were great! Everything was very nice and clean!
Sep 02, 2017
Sep 01, 2017
It seemed that the pool area needed some deep cleaning and power spraying, so did the play ground. Those things are in the public's eye and is a reflection of KOA. We enjoyed the stay.
Sep 01, 2017
We stayed for the eclipse and everything was fabulous.
Sep 01, 2017
Outstanding, everyone was friendly, helpful, and courteous. If there was anything you needed they were there to help. A special thank you to "Rhino" (I think that was his nick name) for showing us some of the cabins we hope to stay in on our next trip !!!!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award