Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 26, 2017
Nov 26, 2017
Nov 26, 2017
The grounds were well taken care of, everything was clean (according to my husband the bathrooms rivaled Disney for niceness). We opted for the pond view out of the rear window instead of the more spacious interior sites, so we were in a site (48) that was little tight for our 36' 5th wheel w/ slides out. The site was easy to set up in though, and our stay was pleasant. Convenient location as well
Nov 26, 2017
Nov 26, 2017
Nov 26, 2017
The area was beautiful, however our first 2 nights we had issues getting our electric to work - we had to use an extension cord onto another site. And the 3rd night our sewer wouldn't drain, and had to dump on a neighbor's site - which was messy! This took away from the overall experience of the trip.
Nov 26, 2017
Had a great time and had wonderful service!
Nov 26, 2017
The stay was fine. Nothing went above and beyond average. One lady was exceptionally rude numerous times throughout our stay. The morning staff was helpful and the showers were hot. Had better staff interaction, shower experiences and more to do at other locations.
Nov 25, 2017
Light & exhaust vent in bathroom not working. We reported on first day but never repaired. Very limited pots & cooking utensils. Not the same as other “deluxe cabins”. No key available until 2nd day.
Nov 25, 2017
My wife and I stayed five nights in a travel trailer in November of 2017. The KOA is a very well kept campground & very friendly staff. We loved it & will be back. Cherokee is well located for seeing the Smokies. We went to Bryson City & road the Smoky Mountain Railroad, drove over to Pigeon Forge, ate in Cherokee & road the Blue Ridge Prkwy. Oct. & Nov. is a great time to visit the Smokies.
Nov 25, 2017
Room wasn't ready when we arrived, hadn't even started cleaning and it was already passed check in time. Couldn't even get a key to go to the room later because housekeeping had it. Waited over an hour to get in the room. Ruined all of our plans with family and friends and made us late to ride the Polar Express so kids missed getting pics taken with Santa. No apology, no effort made to fix it
Nov 25, 2017
Nov 25, 2017
Nov 25, 2017
We stayed in a primitive 2 room cabin on the river ,the 1st heater they gave us didn't work,some outlets didn't work.The big window next to our bed was broken,we reported it and was told someone would be right up to fix it but they never came.This wait caused us to miss seeing Elk that evening but other than that it's a lovely campground .
Nov 23, 2017
We have been coming to the Cherokee KOA for over thirty years. This time, we had car trouble on the way and were unable to make it our first night. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, and we were able to get our first night's deposit returned. Through the years, we moved from a tent to a basic cabin, but now we enjoying staying in one of the deluxe cabins. It is always a pleasure.
Nov 23, 2017
This was our third stay at this KOA location. We have stayed in a tent once and in cabin number 235 twice. We love the layout and available activities for kids. We have not yet stayed during the warmer months but think we might come back this summer.
Nov 22, 2017
Nov 22, 2017
Nov 22, 2017
THE FIRST NIGHT WAS BEAUTIFUL, THE SECOND DAY MY GUEST LEFT AND I WAS ALONE , A MAN THAT WORKED FOR YOUR COMPANY JUST PUT HIS KEY INTO MY DOOR WITHOUT SAYING HELLO, I HAD TO HOLLAR AND SAY WHOA HOLD ON, I WAS VERY UPSET THE WHOLE DAY AND I COULD NOT GO TO SLEEP AT ALL. I DID NOTIFY THE LADY WHEN I CHECKED OUT. I STAY HERE ALL THE TIME AND INVITE PEOPLE TO KOA CAMPSITES ALL THE TIME. IT WAS MY BDAY
Nov 22, 2017
The staff was very very friendly and helpful! It was a wonderful stay and we will definitely be coming back!! And the doggy playground was a hit! A big plus for us!!! One of my favorite places to come!
Nov 21, 2017
Nov 21, 2017
It was wonderful,all the staf was realy friendly everithing was clean ,the view was breath taking worth every single penny ������������������������������������
Nov 21, 2017
We loved everything about the campground! The location is fabulous, the staff are great and the cabins were well designed!
Nov 21, 2017
Nov 21, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
Our stay was fantastic! The cabin was very nice. It definitely exceeded our expectations!
Nov 20, 2017
We stayed three nights. We started out a little rocky on the first night with the fireplace in our cabin working only sporadically. Maintenance made several attempts to make it work but ultimately we did not want to chance another cold night. The staff upgraded us to another cabin for our final two days and it was wonderful. Will book the upgraded cabin to begin with on next trip. Thank you
Nov 20, 2017
I came to fish but most people were not ding well. Cabin was better than I thought. A few problems but nothing to turn mr off of my next visit. Employees were all accommodating.
Nov 20, 2017
Nice view and relaxing area will come back soon
Nov 20, 2017
We've stayed at the Cherokee KOA twice during the colder months and have loved it! The indoor pool and hot tub are wonderful especially with little ones! The campground staff are so helpful and friendly! We are definitely going to be planning a trip to come during the summer.
Nov 20, 2017
Cabin was perfect!
Nov 20, 2017
Nice park. Staff was friendly and accommodating. One of the better KOA's we've stayed at.
Nov 20, 2017
It was great. The staff are amazing. I have visited this KOA before. I live in Pigeon Forge so it's an easy drive.
Nov 20, 2017
Beautiful surroundings. The campgrounds and bathrooms/showers were super clean. Only thing not much heat in bathrooms. Other then that plenty for the kids to do . Staff were friendly.
Nov 19, 2017
Pleasant stay.well kept grounds. Would like bigger dog run.
Nov 19, 2017
Very friendly and very nice campground. We will make this a vacation destination to come back to.
Nov 19, 2017
Nov 18, 2017
The cabins were great. However, the bath house (men's) were the worst my group ( which has been coming up there for over ten years) had ever seen. The men's bath room did not have adequate soap the entire stay and actually ran out of toilet paper in every stall by the second day my group was there. We do plan to return again next year and hope these problems will not reoccur.
Nov 18, 2017
Was greeted and escorted to the site. Everyone was very friendly and bathrooms were lovely and clean. Thank you for such a nice place to stay��.
Nov 17, 2017
We were only there for a couple day. It was very nice and the staff was great. We will definitely be back before the spring crowds arrive!
Nov 16, 2017
Nice campground. Worked with me on a reservation error that I made. The checkin line was too long. The manager was interrupting to yell at everyone and was slowing us down. Very uncomfortable checkin. After that, everything was great.
Nov 16, 2017
The riverfront spots were beautiful, the campground was very quiet since it was the second weekend in November. We liked that it was close enough to town but far enough to feel like you were away from the crowds. The check in was easy and they had an escort to show us to the sight and assist us if needed. The camp store had anything you needed if forgotten. It was close to the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 14, 2017
Maintenance is sorely needed on our deluxe cabin. The bathroom fan didn't work, the bedroom lamp was broken and hanging by a wire, doorknobs were coming off, among other things...For the price of a 3 bedroom cabin in Blue Ridge, I think they could maintain these units better.
Nov 14, 2017
Place seemed nice once I got there, but I talked to a pretty rude person on the phone before arriving that just kinda rubbed me the wrong way for my entire stay here. Terrible/no wifi, even if you are sitting right next to the router, and no cell service (at&t).
Nov 14, 2017
Love staying here, campground is nice and clean! Trout fishing is excellent!
Nov 14, 2017
Only thing wrong with our stay was how short it was, already planning our return!
Nov 14, 2017
Great fishing, lots of fun and great staff.
Nov 14, 2017
Enjoyed the clean and friendly campground! We will be back!
Nov 14, 2017
When I booked the reservation, I asked about a Veterans discount and was told that no, KOA does not offer a discount. When I checked in, I saw a display stating that a 15% Veterans discount was offered. I asked for the discount and was told no because it was already processed. I asked to cancel my reservation and book a new site and was told no because then I would not be able to have a site. S
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award