Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Oct 08, 2019
Nice campgrounds in season, unfortunately we went off season. Close to smokey mountain national park, nice campers and employees
Oct 08, 2019
Great sites on river. Loved the deluxe cabin!
Oct 08, 2019
Great place nice and quiet they have everything you need.
Oct 08, 2019
Great layout lots of room. The location is perfect to get away from it all.
Oct 07, 2019
This "Rustic cabin" trip was actually the first time in over 15 years that we've even thought about camping and we had a blast. The campgrounds provided all the comforts of home, but still allowed you to know that you were camping. Cooking on the wood fire was great.The cabin was great and the restrooms were well maintained. All the workers and other campers were all very friendly and helpful.
Oct 05, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Oct 04, 2019
Booked this for a friend. He was very impressed. Will visit again!
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 03, 2019
The stay was great - the area is good, I did hear a dog bark on the other side of the river well into midnight overnight we stayed there. The barking did not trigger my dog to bark but it did trigger other dogs in my vicinity to bark and woke us up a couple times.
Oct 03, 2019
Clean and nice people
Oct 03, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Very relaxing, cabin was clean and staff were very nice
Oct 02, 2019
Very nice site, clean environment and pleasant employees. We will return.
Oct 02, 2019
Wonderful week with the daughter and grandchild. Lots of swimming, playground time and bounce time. Went to see Titanic Museum in Pigeon Forge as well. Great stay again. Been here before several times and we will certainly be coming back to this lovely area for many years to come. Thanks KOA
Oct 02, 2019
Quite a variety of sites, many, many really good sites for larger RVs. Some of the best tent sites we've seen. Great location for the NP and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Staff was very helpful and the facilities were well kept. The only negative would be the cost.
Oct 02, 2019
Need additional lighting at the steps of the cabin! The sofa sleeper was terrible and needs to be replaced! The gas grill only worked on one side! The cabin was nice and clean, but was too small for 4 adults and two kids! It should be listed for 2 adults and possibly 4 kids!
Sep 29, 2019
very relaxing, great campsite.
Sep 27, 2019
Sep 27, 2019
Great campground,spacious sites. The cabins looked fine, we were in an rv. Helpful staff, shout out to MoMo, Priscilla and her husband. The D&M chow group will be back in 2020.
Sep 27, 2019
Great except the floors were dirty in the cabin
Sep 27, 2019
A great place to stay! I have stayed there many times and will continue to go back! Very family friendly! And the staff is always courteous and very helpful!
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 26, 2019
Relaxing time
Sep 26, 2019
I had an awesome time at the Cherokee KOA. We have camped here a total of 3 times, and every time has been awesome! I have no complaints about the campground. It has met all of my expectations. I do however, have a recommendation.
Sep 26, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Our family of three and two Chows had a fantastic time at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We thoroughly enjoyed our deluxe cabin, wonderful time with friends, the beautiful campground and scenic view of the mountains. The KOA staff was very courteous and helpful during our four day stay. Kudos to Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. We will be back next year!!!!
Sep 24, 2019
We were dissatisfied with our cabin. I walked on the floor with white socks and they turned black. Had to go out and get a mop to clean the floor. WiFi didn't work most of our visit. Bed is worn out and uncomfortable. TV stations didn't always come in. No stopper in tub so couldn't use the tub. There was no sidewalk to our cabin so had to park elsewhere so we didn't have to walk on the damp ground
Sep 24, 2019
Made reservations on KOA web site. Upon arrival was not given the premium site I reserved. Was told not to use the KOA website but to call the park for specific reservations. Why have on line reservations if they are not honored????
Sep 23, 2019
We have been camping at the Cherokee KOA for at least 30 years. There have been changes along the way, some good, some not so good, but that's life. We enjoy the site seeing, nice temperatures and enjoy the trout fishing. I, however, would like for you to show your appreciation to loyal patrons by not charging the $10 reservation fee to guarantee a site. 30 years should count for something.
Sep 23, 2019
very clean nice staff and easy in and out
Sep 23, 2019
Enjoyed our week stay..Will return..Only improvement would be the WiFi..It was sporadic..Had to get close to office to receive signal.. FYI...Cell phone service is poor..NOT KOA's fault..
Sep 23, 2019
We love it there. I hate to come home. My favorite place ever. Everyone is fantastic. Better then last year when we were there. Can't wait to come back.
Sep 23, 2019
The staff was top notch!
Sep 22, 2019
Good stay as always...However I had requested a riverside cabin near the end of the campground (Now, after the fact, I know it’s #K-251) and was given the same old cabin that we always get (K-247)...There was no one even staying up at K-251.
Sep 22, 2019
This was our second time at Cherokee KOA and it was great. Clean Restrooms, level parking area, friendly office, etc. I highly recommend.
Sep 20, 2019
We loved it here...don't want to leave!!
Sep 20, 2019
The wifi was out for the entire 5 day stay. This was our second visit.
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
Easy in Easy out. Level camp spots. Lovely Quiet campground with ponds and streams. Fishing great. Alot for families and kids to enjoy. Easy day trips to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Maggie Valley, Biltmore, Bryson City, Blue Ridge. Staff friendly and accommodating. We will return!
Sep 19, 2019
The stay was great overall. My only concern were all the hairs in the bedding. They were medium length dark brown/black. The hairs gave me the impression that the bedding had not been properly cleaned.
Sep 19, 2019
Everything was great except 2 things 1 we could not get a WiFi signal anywhere and the water pressure got really low then when in the shower Monday night got worse then no water at all but we had water Tuesday before we left other than that it was so nice relaxing
Sep 19, 2019
we enjoy our stay we feel very welcome great staff
Sep 18, 2019
We had a wonderful time. Cabin was awesome! Staff was friendly and helpful. Fishing in the ponds this year was terrible though. Was as if they had been fed. We were there for 4 days, and never even got a bite, neither did any of the other campers. You could see them swimming around, 100s of them..was disappointing. Otherwise, had a great time �
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Nice campground but wifi doesn’t work. WiFi only works at the office. An employee told me it’s been out for awhile and no fix date. Because of the location of the campground no phone service with most carriers. The campsite website advertises wifi. The campground should identify no wifi on the website.
Sep 18, 2019
I love my stay it was very good I will be back
Sep 18, 2019
Awesome everyone on staff was very helpful Beautiful campground. My family really enjoys staying at KOA. Really enjoy activities for children. Maybe you can start having bingo for everyone. That would be great for all ages
Sep 18, 2019
Great stay. Friendly staff. Great location. Loved the large camp store. This was by far the most camping cabins available at any KOA we have stayed at. Was shocked that you offer fishing on-site as most places don't. Would highly recommend this campground.
Sep 17, 2019
i sty in cabin 505 and the wall behind bathroom door was very dusty,, bad,,,, i told them at front check out when i left i have dust allergies, keep coughing then when i shut bathroom door and turned on light i seen dust,,,,, i been coming to this koa for 32 years,,,,,, they do need to clean walls at lease wipe them down with a duster,, and it hasnt been done in a while,,,,,,,,,,
Sep 17, 2019
Nice Campground. Very clean and staff was so very helpful. Suggestion - Add a baby changing area somewhere near the pool.
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at home. Her husband is also awesome with getting you set up and filling propane! We had a slight issue with a cab service to shuttle us to Harrah’s. (No Uber/Lyft Available) Rachel happened to be around while we found a second plan for transportation. After she found out what was going on, she offered to shuttle us to the Casino with no questions asked. We truly couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be returning very soon and I hope you visit KOA of Cherokee!
- JJ Smith on Google
Feb 18, 2020
Great campground. Friendly staff. Lots to do even in the off season. We will be back.
- Stacey Niedentohl on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.