Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 25, 2020
We were sold on a “Premium river site” and paid $109 a night plus a “site guarantee fee” and add. child fee (we only had 2 adults and 2 children). We weren’t informed of these extra fees. We were highly disappointed with our site and it’s layout. We also couldn’t see the river, only a retaining wall. There were no chairs or patio as advertised, just concrete pad and old table.
May 21, 2020
May 21, 2020
It was a nice cabin wifi needs to be better at the back of campground. Helpful employees also!
May 21, 2020
I have stayed here since I was a boy and I can tell you the staff here is the best I can remember. Thank you to all of them that help us have a peaceful clean stay during these trying times. We will keep coming back T Palmer
May 21, 2020
great location, very nice site..wonderful view
May 20, 2020
Very clean. Staff was very polite. Was disappointed that we paid extra to be on river an Was on a gully with rocks an hardly no Water. AND there was open campsites on the river.
May 20, 2020
May 20, 2020
Staff appeared to be very organized and disciplined around all the covid-19 measures. It was good to get back to the campground to get some sense of normal back, even if just for a little bit. Great job.
May 20, 2020
We enjoyed it so much will be back
May 20, 2020
We loved it. Just hoping all the amenities will be open next time. Also, please do something about a 7 person family. We have 7 total in our family. We should be able to enjoy camping. I'd freely pay extra for the 7th person. Thanks ��
Mar 27, 2020
When we arrived we found that the cabin we were assigned was not ideal for our family so the staff made every effort to find a suitable replacement. The cabin we ultimately stayed in was wonderful! The location is very peaceful and secluded but is conveniently located near many points of interest.
Mar 25, 2020
Enjoyed the short stay good to get away,waiting for the playground andthe gameroom to open so we can bring our grandkids back.
Mar 23, 2020
We came the middle of March to Cherokee KOA and had the best time! The staff was so friendly and the place was wonderful. We can not wait to come back!
Mar 23, 2020
The site was nice, Close to stores. Maintenance personal were great, The front desk personnel need some brushing up in customer service. The group we met were not friendly, I asked one person if they give Military discount, he hesitated in answering, then asked me, let me see your card , didn't think i served this country, retired Police, return card, no thanks for serving,
Mar 21, 2020
Everything about this campground is top notch! We love camping here. The location, staff and facilities are the best!
Mar 21, 2020
The indoor pool was great! A little disappointing that there was no playground. From my understanding the campground is going through renovations. Staff was super friendly and helpful.
Mar 21, 2020
Mar 21, 2020
Friendly service and great customer service
Mar 21, 2020
When we made reservations I entered the light of my camper. But when we arrived the site they took us to was way to small. They tried to move us to another site. But it was a strange L shaped site that would not allow me to put out my awning. So I told them to just upgrade me to a delux pull thru site and I would pay the diff. Plus no playgrounds for my kids to play either.
Mar 21, 2020
The bathrooms were clean when we arrived, but were NEVER cleaned during the week we were there. Our campsite was supposed to have a asphalt pad, but it was just gravel. On a positive note, the staff at the campground were helpful and courteous.
Mar 21, 2020
The staff was very friendly. We had a small issue with the toilet while we were there and they came and fixed it immediately. The cabin and grounds were very clean.
Mar 19, 2020
Website talks about the trout fishing but failed to mention anything about it being closed the week of our stay.
Mar 19, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
it was comphy . the road behind us was bissy all knight . thy wouldnt lett us fish 4 some reason . but the walk to the falls was good . its steep but plesnet
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 16, 2020
The employees were great with the kids during the activities that they had offered. The cabin we stayed it was awesome had every thing we needed!!
Mar 16, 2020
Mar 12, 2020
We stayed for two day early in March so there wasn’t a lot of things to do other than walk around what shops were open; the museum’s were all closed. The staff was great, very helpful. The campground was clean and well kept. Off season you can always trout fish right outside their gate. We would definitely stay were again.
Mar 12, 2020
This is only 8th time staying here!!! Our family absolutely love this place. Our kiddos can’t wait to see the new playground. The employees are great people. See you soon. Memphis TN area.
Mar 11, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 10, 2020
Mar 09, 2020
Mar 09, 2020
Clean and friendly staff but the sites are extremely overpriced. After tax and fees $101 a night is ridiculous
Mar 09, 2020
Just a one night stay this time & stayed in a studio cabin. It was very clean with everything we needed for one night. Looks like they are doing a lot of improvements to the campground so I hope the potholes in the road are on the list!
Mar 08, 2020
Staff are very helpful. Wonderful setting. Our spot was a bit sloppy, however it is spring.
Mar 08, 2020
The campground is kept immaculate! We enjoyed a site on the river that was absolutely beautiful. We caught our limit in fish, daily. The jacuzzi was as hot as one would hope for, as well as clean. Every single staff member was very friendly, and each went above and beyond to assist us. We will be back, often. We highly recommend this KOA.
Mar 08, 2020
Mar 02, 2020
We checked in after hours on Tuesday, had a minor glitch with our cabin. On Wednesday Judi, Rachel and JoAnn P made everything right with us and made sure that we were moved and comfortable. We've been coming here for over 16 years, and cannot imagine going anywhere else to camp!!! The entire staff is welcoming and treats the guests like family...but the good side of the family!!!
Mar 01, 2020
We had an absolutely amazing stay at the Cherokee KOA! All of the employees were extremely friendly and welcoming, the camp was gorgeous and we'll kept. Our cabin was cozy and nestled right on the river. Our two dogs were able to come with us with no problem and loved the dog park and the bowls provided for them on the cabin. We will be back!
Mar 01, 2020
This KOA in NC was great. They have an amazing water/creek view.. Their staff was very pleasant and helpful. Loved it there.
Feb 28, 2020
Everyone was so friendly. Nice clean campground. Would definitely come back again.
Feb 24, 2020
Feb 24, 2020
Awesome
Feb 24, 2020
My Men's fellowship group has held our annual Father&Son weekend at Cherokee/ Great Smokey Mountains for over 25 years. The location is magic. We have always enjoyed the time we spend there. This year the staff was very helpful and accommodating. It is an organization feat to keep our trip going. KOA were excellent hosts. Thank you all.
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at ho
Feb 24, 2020
We started in a basic cabin which I like but my husband couldn't handle. Okay, so it was 27 degrees that night and the bathrooms were a bit far off, I enjoyed the quaintness and the space heaters did a great job! Next day I gave in and we asked to move to a more "equipped" cabin. The staff was awesome at getting us moved to a deluxe cabin and hubby was thrilled and pampered. Put chairs in basic!
Feb 21, 2020
Feb 19, 2020
It was great we love it
Jul 05, 2020
Rachel, the manager, made my stay wonderful!!! I didn't realize that the cabin I reserved did not have A/C and I was dying from heat. She graciously arranged for me to switch cabins. Her kindness went above and beyond and I so appreciated it! The campground has tons of amenities - the store had a great selection of supplies and loved the fact they served Hershey's ice cream. I will return one day!
- Mrs Bigglesworth on Google
Jul 04, 2020
Very nice place to stay and awesome for kids
- Sonya Napoli on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.