Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 19, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA before, and really enjoyed it. Not so this time. The hot tub was under repair (NO warning, still listed as an amenity) and the heated pool was freezing (not so the time before!). These were the only reasons we came to Cherokee KOA. ALSO, and this MUST be addressed, the six person cabin we stayed in has NO HEAT OR AC OR CURTAINS. Not listed as such. Unacceptable!!!
Mar 19, 2019
No hot water in 2 of the bath houses. No Ice machines. No TV, bedding , or coffee maker in small cabins.
Mar 18, 2019
Great Staff, very friendly and accommodating!
Mar 18, 2019
Another great time. Grandkids had a blast. Hot tub not working. My loss. Pool was perfect. Thanks.
Mar 18, 2019
Everyone went out of their way to be accommodating and always spoke when out and about. Area was clean and well kept. Already booked again for July!
Mar 18, 2019
Very well laid out. Clean bath houses.
Mar 18, 2019
Mar 18, 2019
Had a wonderful time. Staff was great ! Friendly, helpful, and quick to respond to our every need.
Mar 18, 2019
Awesome mini getaway
Mar 17, 2019
This was the third or fourth time that I have stayed at this KOA and one of my favorites. My kids and I enjoyed the deluxe cabin, our surroundings and the heated pool. When we come back to the Smokies, this is going to be our place to stay.
Mar 16, 2019
The indoor pool and jump bag were awesome. However, the playground needs to be replaced as it has broken slides and no longer seems safe. Also, be prepared for a noisy road right by the tent sites.
Mar 15, 2019
I've been staying at this facility for over fifteen years During this stay I paid for a full hook up site and my electric hook up wasn't working properly Maint pers came and looked at it but didn't fix it told Supv would come look at it but didn't Was offered another site but with weather raining ran off generator 1 night. Mngmt didn't seem concerned didn't hear from them Hot tub not working
Mar 14, 2019
We were given a hard time about changing our payment method. We were moved to a smaller cabin then what we reserved. The staff was rude. The coffee pot had black mold floating in the reservoir. Pet fees were not disclosed. After we paid we were told we had to pay an additional 30 dollars but not what for.
Mar 12, 2019
Always a 5 star stay everytime. We always stay at koa/Cherokee, when we visit and that is 3 to 4 times a year.
Mar 12, 2019
A little early season, new management. Very friendly and accommodating.
Mar 12, 2019
Sites are nice and large and the location is great. Unfortunately, the new management still has a ways to go in getting the campground running smoothly. Was told at check in that the indoor pool was not working. They didn't get it working until our last day there. The hot tub had no water. The bathhouses had no hot water for a day or more. At $70 per night I expected more.
Mar 12, 2019
Friendly staff and beautiful campgrounds. The men’s bathroom (toilets specifically) were a little dirty; however, it beats the alternative of using the bathroom in the woods!
Mar 11, 2019
The cabin was really clean. We had no issues and will be back again.
Mar 11, 2019
Mar 10, 2019
We had a great time!!!
Mar 06, 2019
My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the KOA in Cherokee. We were greeted by smiling faces, escorted to our cabin, and given a hearty fair well. I would definitely recommend staying at any KOA if you are looking for an adventure in the great outdoors.
Mar 06, 2019
We had a very enjoyable stay for 3 nights. The staff is friendly and helpful (especially Joanne) and Rachel and spouse are doing great things as the new management team. We've got two more visits planned this year.
Mar 06, 2019
Cabin was nice staff was welcoming and friendly but staff could have checked on us to see if we needed more towels ect...
Mar 06, 2019
Wonderful room was so clean I would love to own this cottage to live in!!!
Mar 06, 2019
Enjoyed a one night stay. The cabin was very clean and located perfectly by the river. Only suggestion would be maybe have the indoor pool heated.
Mar 01, 2019
Feb 27, 2019
good overall, but a few minor issues 1. Making reservation, I asked for a specific cabin, confirmation email did not show this, I called back to ask for confirmation, clerk said "oh I didn't lock it in" second email did not show the specific cabin either. I had to call back again to be sure I had the cabin I wanted 2. Cabin was clean but smelled like puke 3. I would prefer an earlier check in
Feb 26, 2019
My stay was great and the staff was prefect. Everything was great. My only suggestion would be to make the pool a heated pool and update the hot tub. I will for sure be coming back though.
Feb 25, 2019
We had a fantastic stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating! We could not have had a better stay. Thanks for making our trip great! Rachel the GM was extremely helpful!
Feb 25, 2019
It rained the whole time but it was still beautiful. The pocket door in our cabin kept going off track. Other than that everything was great. This was our third time staying there. We love the area.
Feb 25, 2019
Gathered with friends for our annual mens father & son fellowship weekend. It has been an annual event since the early 90's. It is always an "off season" event, so we expect the staff to be in prep mode for the spring. We had terrible weather, river flooding that made fishing impossible, continuous rain. Still we found upgraded cabins and a helpful staff that made our trip a blast! Always fun!
Feb 25, 2019
The group I bring has been staying at this KOA for 28-30 years now. The office staff were not on the same page during the booking process, getting the cabins booked was difficult at best. The bath house sewage backed up in the floor early Sunday morning. I would like to see consistent booking process and have one person book cabins for our group. Price is becoming a concern. All else was great.
Feb 25, 2019
Stayed and a deluxe cabin very nice well-equipped but did have some small maintenance issues like the stove only one burner worked in the shower very temperamental on getting the hot water adjusted in the shower.
Feb 25, 2019
The cabin was not what showed on pictures I was told the indoor pool was heated and it wasn’t
Feb 25, 2019
Everything was perfect except the camp store being under construction. Other than that we had a great time
Feb 25, 2019
The staff was pleasant but yet did not give me my winter in the Smokies discount on my bill. When I put this reservation online for a 4-night stay it stated that I would receive the discount on the day of arrival and check-in. I know this is New Management not informing their employees. My group rents out 12 to 14 cabins every February on the third weekend there. None of us received that discount.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I have tried to contact you in regards to the discount. I would also like to discuss doing your reservations in a "Group" this would assure there is no confusion and discounts to be provided accordingly. The front staff is well trained and are aware of all discounts. Next time, please make me (Management) or front desk aware and they would be more than happy to apply any discount available.
Feb 24, 2019
Feb 22, 2019
Feb 21, 2019
We were very pleased with the campground. Very clean.
Feb 21, 2019
Stay was good but older gentleman that checked us in wasn’t nice at all
Feb 21, 2019
Feb 20, 2019
My cabin had bed bugs! But the staff and managers were on it they sprayed the cabin, washed all our clothing, and gave us a full refund! Just hope I didn’t bring them home!
Feb 19, 2019
We love this KOA! All of the staff are super friendly here and welcoming. The trout fishing is great too! We always have a nice trout dinner there. Their amenities in the deluxe cabin are wonderful. Everything is there for you! We love the fire pit and patio with the streams right by the cabin. We will be going back!
Feb 19, 2019
Very peaceful..husband loves to fish
Feb 19, 2019
Had a great time with family! Highly Recommend. Had one issue that was fixed promptly and professionally. The kids enjoyed the pool and adults enjoyed the hot tub. Loved the deluxe cabin by the river. Will be back!
Feb 19, 2019
I'm quickly becoming a regular visitor. Can't wait to see the remodeled central office up and running. I hope it will include more food options in the future.
Feb 18, 2019
This place is well maintained and the staff was very friendly. They went above and beyond for my family. Thank You! The campsite was very clean and with plenty space between Rv’s. Very quiet and the river that runs behind the campsite was the cherry on top. I wish I had spent more days at this location, will definitely go back and stay longer next time.
Feb 18, 2019
The new owners are doing a lot of improvements. In time, this will be one of the best KOAs.
Feb 18, 2019
Feb 17, 2019
We spent a night in one of the deluxe cabins, and were blown away by the impeccable state of the cabin. The staff was very friendly and helpful, going out of their to ensure we had a great weekend.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals