Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 02, 2019
Always a great time! We had a cabin right in the river. It was very clean and peaceful. We saw elk on our way to the KOA and had 4 geese visit every evening right across the river. Being at the KOA in Cherokee, NC is one of our favorite places to be. We were also lucky enough to catch some trout. We will be back next year!
May 01, 2019
Had a studio cabin but it lacked coffee cups or glasses. A comfortable chair in the room would be great to have. People were very pleasant and the site was lovely on the river. Better designation of the different cabins and their locations would have been much more helpful. It all worked out well though
May 01, 2019
May 01, 2019
The bathrooms werd very dirty and the same urine stench was notes everyday and I doubt that they werd cleaned zuring muur Stay. Staff was friendly
Apr 30, 2019
1. was put on wrong lot, had to move camper next day 2. bathrooms at pool dirty/septic coming up through shower at pool 3. rude staff at check in desk 4. bathrooms were flooded causing fiancé to fall(likely due to kids stopping up the shower and turning on showers) 5. store was not well stocked 6.prices to high on necessities at store 7.jacuzzi jets were not working campground needs improv
Apr 30, 2019
The cabin we rented smelled like dog poop the entire time. Seemed like they did not clean the place. Toilet paper was low had to go ask for more. Paper towel had like five sheets left. Service was nice, but house keeping did not do a good job cleaning. Grill didn’t work. They should’ve checked it before renting the place to us. The heater in the living room didn’t even work.
Apr 29, 2019
Apr 29, 2019
The cabin was very nice and we found everything we needed. The gas grill on the deck was very welcomed and we used it every evening. Everyone associated with KOA we interacted with were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 29, 2019
Everyone who works here was super nice! The kind of people you want to be around on vacation.
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
I arrived to Cherokee KOA on 4-23-2019 for a get away with my grandchildren. We arrived about 1:00pm and were told that we couldn't check in until after 3:00pm because STAFF was cleaning cabins. OKAY that understandable!!! The cabin was NASTY toilet didn't flush dishes were dirty hair in tub I had to clean before I could give baths we have stayed here for years and wanted our Grandchildren to have
Apr 28, 2019
Was ready to check in at 3p but waited 2 hrs for our cabin to be ready. Cabin was in terrible location with views of the entrance into KOA and drain pipe. Not on the river like it says. Wouldn’t recommend deluxe cabin 513.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
Camp ground and cabin were very clean. Will stay here again.
Apr 27, 2019
cabin 243, Your site had a promo $114 per night but the woman said she didn’t know about it. I had to pay $149. Got in after 3 and I was not happy with the cleanliness. Food was under the drawers in refrigerator,grease on stove top,floor not sweep well, food on headboard, none of bathroom dispensers filled until Wed. Hot & cold reversed throughout cabin, hair in shower, a/c filters not cleaned .
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
We did not have a reservation but upon arrival we requested a cabin that we liked..(k251).it was occupied so we asked for the one next door (k252). We got k250. No TV or fridge or large deck. We had k251 reserved last summer but it was being upgraded. No one called to tell us ahead of arrival. We do not plan to return to koa Cherokee.
Apr 26, 2019
Loved the deluxe cabin on the river. Staff members were very helpful. Only problem we had was with the gas grill. It had a lot of build up and the whole inside caught on fire during preheat. Turned it off and shut the lid to put out the fire. Could use more lighting/shelves in bathroom. Mirrow placement/lighting is not good for shaving and makeup. We hope to return soon.
Apr 26, 2019
Not thrilled about new management. Pool had way to much chlorine and no bathrooms were open inside. What’s that tell ya.? Three boys playing football on the bouncy and kept playing after we complained.they were knocking over the little ones. Men’s bathroom had no hot water and soap was never filled in dispensers. Usually KOA can deliver wood ice after hours. It was a ghost town. Last time her
Apr 26, 2019
Camp Ground is great well maintained. Frustrated that we got there at 11:30 we knew check in was at 3:00pm. We purchased our fishing license then..came back at 3:00pm sharp house cleaning still had not gotten to our cabin. We were told 15 more minutes came back at 3:15 house keeping again said 15 or 20 more minutes. We came back at 3:30 cabin still not ready. We finally checked in around 3:45.
Apr 26, 2019
Under new management, again. Grass was high, bathrooms needed attention and a simple request was not granted due to being "sold out" which was not at all true. We normally love, love, love our stay here, but I guess something is being lost in the transition. Our cabin was nice, as always I had to plug holes in the screens with tissues, but the view of the river was breathtaking.
Apr 26, 2019
We had a great time. The staff was very friendly and quick to help. Love the location and all of the activities to do on site.
Apr 25, 2019
GREAT PLACE TO STAY. RESERVATIONS MADE ON LINE BUT WHEN GOT TO THE KOA THE CABIN BOOKED ONLINE WAS DIFFERENT. MOST OF FRONT DESK STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMADATING. ONLY ONE YOUNG GIRL UP AT FRONT DESK WAS VERY RUDE WHEN ASKED TO CHANGE TO ORIGINAL CABIN BOOKED ON RIVER. KIDS LOVE IT.
Apr 23, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Another great trip. The indoor pool is always a hit with our grandkids. The site was spacious. The staff was great. Highly recommend this KOA .
Apr 22, 2019
Apr 22, 2019
Enjoy it very much
Apr 22, 2019
Heavy rain, was not able to see much of the area. Very accommodating to move us from a rather undesirable site. No table, no fire pit and muddy site even before the rain. But as I said very accommodating after dissatisfaction with the first site.
Apr 22, 2019
We arrived in thr middle of terrible weather - flooding and high winds - after hours and there was still someone there to show us to our cabin. Awesome service!
Apr 22, 2019
Other than the rain we had an awesome time fishing in the pond was a real success & the cabins was very clean & cozy we will be going back soon
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
only complaint is hot tub was only barely warm and not functioning, and pool closed early 2 nights we were there of the 4 nights we stayed.
Apr 21, 2019
Stayed Monday through Friday. Found bathrooms lacked cleanliness and floors always had standing water around urinals and toilets. Toilet paper was not kept in dispensers. Staff concentrated on maintenance of premium sites but did nothing to non-premium. Roads need maintenance.
Apr 21, 2019
Your bathrooms were filthy, no toilet paper for 2 days, no arcade as advertised, the campsite assigned to us has the picnic table and fire ring on the back side of the camper, I expected more for the price I paid.
Apr 21, 2019
The surroundings of the campsite are stunning. The website explicitly says that there's a linen rental available that includes blankets and pillows. This was not true and management did nothing to help, even though we have three little girls and the nights we're very cold. Other campers helped us out! Bathhouse was not thoroughly cleaned during 5 night stay!! Clogged toilets during whole stay.
Apr 21, 2019
very friendly and helpful check in staff. restrooms in general were clean. the only thing I would recommend is they need a place to tie your dog while using the bathroom or having business at the office.
Apr 21, 2019
Loved the campground and the town!
Apr 21, 2019
Apr 21, 2019
Laundry area was a mess and area around the building was lacking care, in ten years it the worst we’ve seen it. WIFI still stinks, MG people install some transmitters. Cable channels bad (not clear) and didn’t match guide given by front desk. disappointing we love staying in the MNTS here.
Apr 21, 2019
Roads in the campground need a lot of work. Huge potholes & mud
Apr 21, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 21, 2019
Very nice campground. Would stay here again.
Apr 21, 2019
Had to wait for about 30 minutes for the cabin to be “cleaned”. Which it wasn’t very clean, the floor was nasty and gritty, the cabinet tops were sticky and had crumbs on them. I don’t think I will be returning.
Apr 20, 2019
The grass needed mowing and the campground was muddy. Most sites didn't have adequate room to park so people had to park on the grass.
Apr 20, 2019
Once again we enjoyed our stay at Cherokee KOA. Look forward to when the store in completed.
Apr 20, 2019
Bath hose and showers could be cleaner; news more than once a day. Thought the golf cart rates were excessive and kept me from renting one. Otherwise, it is a good campground and I will stay again.
Apr 20, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. The staff could have been a little more friendly and welcoming. The restrooms also needed some maintenance. 3 of the 4 stalls in the restroom nearest to us were out of order all 3 days of our stay. We loved the campground and the many activities for our children! The cabin we stayed in was great!
Apr 20, 2019
Great time as always! My grandkids love it.
Jun 22, 2019
The camp ground is very well taken care of. It's a long drive to a real grocery store though so plan ahead. They also cant sell beer on the Indian Reservation so...plan ahead for that too. The staff changes from time to time because of the live in camper/managers but Sarah and Mel were Awesome!! We were only in for one night and on our motorcycle, Sarah brought us a bundle of firewood and talked to us for a long time! It was so great! We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin which was awesome. It would be pretty small for more than two people, but having a bathroom to use in the unit was fantastic!
- Ted Pilny on Google
Jun 20, 2019
- henry ross on Google
Jun 18, 2019
- Chelsea Richardson on Google