Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 03, 2018
Apr 03, 2018
Pros:Very clean with one exception. Great WiFi. Excellent Bath/Shower facilities! Cons: Gates to trout ponds locked due to some feud with the Cherokee tribe when fishing can begin first thing in the morning. Campground wide movie noise past 9 p.m.? Fish cleaning station not maintained and disgusting. Extremely rude staff member. Advice: Hire Southern hospitality & the welcoming Cherokee.
Apr 03, 2018
A little bit of heaven!
Apr 03, 2018
This was a great time with my daughters- The facility had great amenities as well as being clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Apr 03, 2018
The campground is very dark at night so I would recommend a few street lights or require children to attach some kind of lighting to their bicycles so that they are more visible at night. Otherwise we had a great stay very clean and everyone was friendly
Apr 03, 2018
Everyone was very helpful. Loved that they enforce the quite time rule. Will go back again. Susan
Apr 03, 2018
It was very busy when we checked, but the staff did a great job staying organized and courteous. Everything was well taken care of in the campground, couldn’t ask for a better place.
Apr 02, 2018
We throughly enjoyed ourselves. Will be back again
Apr 02, 2018
Pricey!!!
Apr 02, 2018
Horrible stay. When making reservations,told one price and paid deposit,but when we arrived was told a different amount and had to pay more.have been staying at koa every year for 20+ years and this stay was the worst.had the gates to the ponds locked so campers couldn't access the ponds unless the went through the front of the campground. Horrible way to treat guests
Apr 02, 2018
We have stayed at this KOA multiple times. This time there were numerous issues with our entire group. The rates have increased significantly. The fishermen in our group were told they would not be allowed to participate in the fishing tournament.(One reason we were there). Multiple problems with the reservations and charges, long waits checking in and in the store(nobody else in line).
Apr 02, 2018
WON'T BE BACK, Management lacks professionalism!!!!
Apr 02, 2018
Mis handled reservations. Over charged. Harrassed by staff. Express check in (joke) took 45minutes to leave office on arrival. Charged for creek side cabin (didn't stay near a creek). ALL soap dispensers in ALL restrooms were empty. NO signage on roads stating One Way.. Harrassed about travel directions within park. Cabin doors not accessible by children.(wouldn't open). Rats under cabin, photos!
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
My only complaint was that they had activities planned and when I asked about them no one knew what the activity was or where it was going to be.
Apr 02, 2018
Besides the surprise fishing tournament right behind us it was clean,the staff was friendly(Cindy was super nice),and there was plenty to do.Would go again.
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
I was overcharged they would not give me my military discount I was charge for other charges that I was not aware of did not get the camping spot that I paid for I was supposed to be in on the river nearly $200 for two nights day not happy
Apr 02, 2018
We were double booked, we could not get theough the fence at the pond till after 8:15, which means I had to walk all the way around the camp ground to get to the pond. Also we were unable to make a reservation for next year which we have done for the last 12 years. We will not be back next year.
Apr 02, 2018
Always love staying here but site we were assigned was not a good fit for a 40 ft. Motor home. Table and fire ring were at the end of the site and we could not open our awning due to a tree. Pad is usually were the tree was. Site number was 182. Other than that it was great.
Apr 02, 2018
Electric keep cutting off at night it was cold I was up all night making sure our heat didnt cut off Which it did 5 times. The kids at the camp was out of control no adult Supervision at all. Bikes ride all over one kid almost run into my car and the other kid cut right in front of my car. if you're looking for a quiet place/peaceful and privacy this is not the place.. Definitely no privacy
Apr 01, 2018
Staff rude, not very accommodating. Impossible to get anything you need after 6 pm. Fridge in cabin not clean upon arrival. Floors in spots and sink/counter in desperate need of replacement due to rotting from being wet. Issue with ants. Linens clean, but can only get new towels every 2 days. Pretty location. Lot of room for improvement especially with as busy of campground it is.
Apr 01, 2018
Cherokee's KOA is a great place to go camping. I've camped there with a rv and in there cabins. The grounds are very clean. The bath houses are very clean . The staff there work hard to keep the grounds up and are friendly and willing to help you with anything you need. We love the pool and other playground activities for the kids, and the location if you are a fisherman is a paradise.
Mar 28, 2018
Loved It. So pretty being surrounded by the mountains and the Dogwood trees were in bloom. We had a campsite on the River loved the sound of the rushing water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
Mar 28, 2018
It was GREAT! Already recommended to friends and family. Will definitely be returning again.
Mar 27, 2018
Loved it your staff was extremely helpful . The campground was one of the best KOA ever hope to return again.
Mar 27, 2018
Second time staying. Bathrooms where spotless staff helpful Curtis and kind thanks for the stay
Mar 27, 2018
Beautiful park, beautiful location. Is the park perfect, no.. but are any parks perfect?. Friendly folks working, and keeping busy. Has everything that is needed for the young and old. Made reservations, and check in was quick and easy. Was shown to our location and parked by an attendant. Look forward to staying here again, (when it warms up) .
Mar 26, 2018
Mar 26, 2018
Great only thing was it was not busy and they put us right next to another camper. It was not bring used but the site was small because of Thai
Mar 26, 2018
Great service and facilities
Mar 25, 2018
Had a great stay in Cherokee celebrated husbands birthday. It was chilly but KOA already had heater going for us. Will definitely be back with family
Mar 25, 2018
Mar 24, 2018
The staff was very nice and helpful. Whenever they saw us, they would ask how things were and if they could help with anything. The restrooms and shower area was clean, and I noticed throughout the day someone would be checking it and cleaning. Overall good stay, except for the weather.
Mar 23, 2018
Mar 22, 2018
It was clean, organized, and enjoyable.
Mar 21, 2018
Mar 20, 2018
Friendly staff and great facilities. My family enjoyed the pool and bounce pillow
Mar 20, 2018
Awesome
Mar 20, 2018
We had a great time. Everyone was very pleasant and the facilities were very clean. On our list to do again.
Mar 19, 2018
It was amazing. We've been last year and this year. My only concern was the price went up on our site as well as the reserve tax. They were just going to charge us the difference without explaining. I pulled up my email to show our quoted price. They honoured it but I found the fact that they weren't going to tell us very bad business practise.
Mar 19, 2018
We almost left because one of the employees was very hateful on 2 different occasions. Thankfully the manager was a nice guy
Mar 19, 2018
This is by far our favorite KOA that we have been to!
Mar 19, 2018
The cabin on the river was very nice and clean. I would suggest adding some serving bowls in the kitchen and extra soap to wash dishes along with an actual scrubber for those really dirty ones! We had a great time and will be back.
Mar 19, 2018
Outstanding!!!! Cabin super clean you guys had all the details covered! Love KOA Big Cove Staff was great
Mar 19, 2018
Mar 18, 2018
I had the best time as usual!!!! Especially my experience with the staff. They are the the best and the biggest reason I continue to return. KOA in Cherokee is my happy place. I absolutely love being there and really do not like to leave. ��
Mar 17, 2018
Nice park, clean. Enjoyed the obstacles in the dog park. Convenient access to the National Park. Very quiet. Enjoyed having a site at the river. Great general store. Nice staff. Loaned us tools to complete a small repair on our motorhome.
Mar 17, 2018
We have a wonderful time each and every time we go to Cherokee KOA. Our Cabin was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. We love the Cherokee KOA!!
Mar 13, 2018
Everyone was so friendly!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award