Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2019
We had a great time and we will be making this our annual vacation spot for sure! Centrally located and truly have no complaints.
Jul 08, 2019
Had a great time! Staff is much better than years past!
Jul 08, 2019
We stayed at this KOA for 15 night & were satisfied with our stay. The campground had many planned activities for children, as well as many children amenities. If we should vacation in the area again, we would definitely return to this campground.
Jul 08, 2019
Stay was ok place not very clean and I tried to make reservations for next Memorial Day weekend end I was told I had to make a 4 night reservations and had to be Thursday through Monday even though there was no way I could come on that day I am very disappointed in Koa if this is a corporate decision which is what I was told not sure I’ll be back
Jul 08, 2019
It was not as relaxing as some KOA's we are used to. This one had many, many more cabins, which seemed to change the clientele. We encountered several, not so friendly guests that just made the family feel uncomfortable. The pool/waterslide was also closed for 2 of the 3 days we were there due to maintenance issues. I know this is unforeseen, but it was a disappointment for the kids.
Jul 08, 2019
Campground and bath houses were clean
Jul 08, 2019
Very clean and family friendly campground. Large sites and lots of activities to keep us entertained.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
We came in Tues afternoon and was able to set up camp right away. The staff were all very nice (especially Joanne) . We only had one incident that required a little attention, and as soon as I mentioned it, it was dealt with. I will say the bathrooms were always freezing, so make sure you dress for it. This KOA is very nice and very clean. Love it there, didn’t want to leave.
Jul 07, 2019
AWESOME!! Sites were clean, Restrooms/Showers were clean ONLY COMPLAINT - Internet is MUCH BETTER than previous years, but wish it could be even better. Couldn't watch Netflix or Prime at night, buffering too much. And we even have a KING WiFi booster.
Jul 07, 2019
came up to see unto these Hills. We have known of This KOA from previous trips to the area. Visited once. but never stayed. We're glad we did this time
Jul 06, 2019
The staff is wonderful! The cabin had some problems, but the staff repaired them immediately. This KOA has a perfect location, wonderful staff, and great accommodations. Thank you!
Jul 06, 2019
Bed bugs, bathrooms dirty. Campsites muddy.. maintenance staff was very nice
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Been staying in KOA in Cherokee for a while.there has been upgrades to the campground which is great but it has also caused the rates to go up.sorry to say that we want be staying as much as we use to.
Jul 06, 2019
Very clean facilities.. views are amazing and no matter how big your rig is they have a spot for you! We took advantage of the 5.00 shuttle to town to shop and was glad we did t have to try and navigate our RV in the shopping center!!!
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Friendly staff. Good activities. Very clean. Pool showing it's age.
Jul 05, 2019
We love the KOA camp ground. It's so kid friendly and pet friendly. We had a ball tubing!! We brought bikes and it gave our kids a way to travel all over the camp ground!! Loved that there was a dog park. My dogs were able to run and play while getting to see the kids play on the pillow trampoline!! We will definitely be back next summer!!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
The campground was great, unfortunately it rained the first two days we were there making the ground kind of muddy at the campsite. We made the best of bad weather and gave us a good mini-vacation. Thanks for being there. Dale
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
We had a great time and will be looking forward to our next trip to Cherokee!
Jul 05, 2019
Great as always!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground. Lots of activities. However the campstore closed at 6PM which was too early considering it takes 15m to go into town for anything. We never had usable cable for entire 8 days and the wifi signal is very poor. The indoor pool water needs a much better filtering and chlorination system. Gotta pick up game on the amenities to charge these prices.
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground with tons to do. My only complaint is RV 36’ towing (they usually add 10’ for tow) was placed in site 229 which at MAX can have 38” backed as far as the stops. Too tight at $90 a night. (I did complain multiple times but too full to move). Next sites 230-234 are really large and nice.
Jul 04, 2019
A lot of work going on. Outdoor pool was closed for half our stay. No internet. Office/store closing at 6 during the summer is just silly.
Jul 04, 2019
We stayed for 5 nights. We had a perfect spot on the river. Thank you to Rachel for upgrading us there!!! Only down fall at this KOA, the cabin did not have AC. If we didn’t bring our dogs it wouldn’t have bothered us since it cools down at night. Beautiful area, nice to see the Elk. Our girls liked this KOA a lot and request to visit again next year, same time since they’ve made camp friend
Jul 04, 2019
I was shocked to be charged an extra $3.50 per night for resort fees that were not indicated on the web site when I booked my reservation. I believe I should have been told when I booked. I know it's not much extra , it the principal.
Jul 04, 2019
Had a great time. The staff was all very nice and our dogs loved it so much one of them took off on a walkabout and we had to hunt him down.
Jul 04, 2019
We loved staying in the deluxe cabins. Brought our dog. It was true family fun. Fishing great. Need to supply the cabins with a large bowl for cooking and serving, and a pitcher for tea. Very clean campground.Thanks
Jul 04, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. After we left we missed it so much we tried to change our plans just to go back and stay longer!
Jul 04, 2019
Loved the campgrounds. The pool needs to be supervised! Lots of kids with no parents. Also it was very hard to find. My phone,iPad or on star wouldn’t work in the mountains. I finally got through to the campground and she gave me the wrong directions. It took us 2 extra hours to find you once we got in Cherokee.
Jul 03, 2019
A fine 4-day stay. Only downside was poor cell service (AT&T) and no real other option but to drive several miles into the village to call and wait for a return call. Medical issue.
Jul 03, 2019
Tried calling several times. They did t return messages. The spots are muddy. There is a fence around the ponds. Very misleading.
Jun 30, 2019
I think we just happened to get the worse site on the campground. The website is a little deceptive in explaining when you choose your site. The pond sites back up to an ugly, broken Chain linked fence with barbed wire running in top, but at the same time , the gate was left open allowing access to the campground from the highway. The table on site was coated with slime, needed cleaning.
Jun 29, 2019
very clean public areas,... and friendly staff... nice camping spots always enjoy my stay at Cherokee KOA
Jun 28, 2019
Cabin très sympa mais manque : - de siège à balanc sous le porche et cruellement de tablette pour poser les affaires ... - absence totale d’un lieu ou faire la vaisselle - par votre sanitaires et douches excellents et très propres Enfin gentillesse du personnel ! Merci
Jun 28, 2019
Terrible site(s93) broken unlevel pad, huge deep puddle in road in front of site. Site s93 should not be used in bad weather. I would never stay there again even if it was free.
Jun 28, 2019
Great campground and staff was super friendly. Will return soon for another stay.
Jun 28, 2019
Pretty nice campground in a nice location. Lots of activities for the kids. Would benefit with a life guard on staff at the outdoor pool, kids were a little rowdy in the slide area. If you don’t pay for one of the really nice sites or a pull through you are really gambling because there are some pretty tiny and terrible back in sites. We did not use the on site bathhouses so I cannot comment
Jun 28, 2019
Park was cleaned up from our last stay. They had removed almost all of the permanent sites .Looked much better.
Jun 28, 2019
It would have been nice to know about activities planned on the site ahead of time because we didn't get in until 2am Saturday June 22nd. Maybe if there is a schedule for activities, sending that information in an email or placing it in reservation paperwork would have been great. Other than that, the ministry volunteers on site were amazing and so helpful. The front desk lady was the sweetest!
Jun 28, 2019
We stayed 2 nights. Very quiet. Loved watching all the kids play. Clean and orderly.
Jun 27, 2019
The facilities were clean and well kept. We were disappointed to find out that tubing (transportation up the river) to be dropped off or pick up was not available anymore. This is one reason we choose the campground. We were quickly taken to our spot but we were never offered a handout on camping activities. Deborah (employee) was very helpful and attentive. I give her five stars.
Jun 27, 2019
It was nice but the pool bathrooms were gross and the sliding doors for the indoor pool didn’t all open. The tubing was hard with young kids since there was no way to know when or where to exit. There should be signs or an exit point. The activities at night were loud and past quiet time for the movie without notice. The fire wood is expensive and didn’t burn good. The store closed early one n
Jun 27, 2019
Beautiful stream. Convenient to national park. Fun for fishing.
Jun 27, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google