Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 06, 2017
All Team Members were very pleasant and this campsite is very safe for our families! Ryan Newbrough is awesome to work with and he made the group reservation seamless! We look forward to coming back next fall! Thank you to all the Team Members at KOA in Cherokee NC for making it a very enjoyable weekend for our families! BTW the cabins were very clean! Stan Tz.
Nov 06, 2017
Good stay, would be nice if the game room was still there, and the indoor pool area stayed open till 10 instead of 8.
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Deluxe cabins and workers were fine However I took my wife there to catch trout. Second time I have stayed there and this was no comparison. Everywhere it says the lakes are stocked twice a week and the river they are not It was stocked the Friday before we came and we stayed Sunday night until Friday morning and they stocked the Friday morning we left. nobody caught any all week - truly
Nov 06, 2017
A bed slat broke under the full bed on Friday night, very uncomfortable. When we mentioned it at the front desk Saturday morning, they were confused as to why we wanted it fixed. We stopped back Saturday afternoon so they could come fix the bed, and again confusion as to why we wanted it fixed. We also asked for a small discount for the discomfort, and it kept being pushed off on other people.
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
The weather was beautiful, staff was helpful and friendly. However, we were disappointed with the upkeep of the grounds. There were several RV’s that were more like permanent homes, which would be okay if they had been maintained. And the facilities near the back need a GOOD cleaning. Tile in shower stall doesn’t go to the floor. Also, lots of bees!
Nov 06, 2017
It was wonderful, everyone was nice and very accommodating.
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Great place for a nice weekend away. Beautiful setting with a nice creek/river flowing next to the camp ground with some cabins located on river's edge.
Nov 06, 2017
Very clean and they had people riding around all the time to make sure things were great. Had a great time. Would come again.
Nov 06, 2017
Wonderful campground. Friendly staff. Will come back.
Nov 06, 2017
Very clean, mattress needs replaced. Beautiful location, great staff...no amazing staff!
Nov 06, 2017
Bought our camper in Asheville, drove straight to campground. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had a great weekend getting to know the new features on camper!
Nov 05, 2017
I would like for corporate to retrain management at this site. Your GM is going to hurt your business. This would be a 5* without her. You can contact me for further information. The GM here has me wanting to cancel my KOA membership. People deserve to be treated better. Our bed was disgusting and had not been cleaned. Had to have sheets changed at 10pm and that's not even the biggest issue.
Nov 05, 2017
We are in love with the Cherokee KOA. I would recommend two things. First, installing a few dim lights for safety around the cabin areas and especially to the paths leading to the bathrooms. Secondly, hooks. The cabins need hooks or a rod to hang items and towels. Other than that, we had a fabulous trip. Your staff was wonderful and we can't wait to come back!
Nov 04, 2017
Had to reschedule my original stay and was told that they had to move my site. I assumed they would give me another site with a 50 amp hookup, this did not happen. We were put on a site with only 30 amps, which kept cutting off. The site was also muddy and the cable was fuzzy. This was our third stay at your campground, the first two stays were excellent unfortunately this stay was not.
Nov 04, 2017
People were very friendly and helpful any problems they were right there to correct. Would definitely go back
Nov 04, 2017
We enjoyed the activities such as the jumping pillow, pool, giant checkers, and halloween festivities. The Wi-Fi update was much needed and very appreciated.
Nov 03, 2017
Great stay at Cherokee KOA!
Nov 03, 2017
Had tree fall on camper. New management not pleasant at all. I have had my camper there for 5 years and up till this new folks took over it was great. But at this time I will not be back and the rates are extremely tooooo high. Camping center up the road is 1/2 price . That is where I will be.
Nov 03, 2017
We got in late (after6:00pm) Laura welcomes us, took us to our campsite, arrange a bus for the next day all after her day was over. Bo meets us for the drive into Bryson City & made arrangements to pick us up. This was greatly appreciate as we didn't bring a toad. Although the wifi was down when we got there, Laura made a special trip to our site the next day to tell us it was back up.
Nov 03, 2017
We were there for almost a week. We had reserved a spot for a 30 foot trailer, but the spot they had for us was too short. However, the front desk help was great and found us a longer spot. Our only downside to the facility was that the sites are way too close to each other - at least in the area we were.
Nov 03, 2017
it was good but we didn't realize the cabin we got didn't have heat or that the portable heating devices were provided until I asked the next night. We got sick from that.
Nov 03, 2017
Third time staying, third time tv didn't work and didn't have internet most of the trip (was being "upgraded" and we got internet the last night around 7) Most of the office staff are impersonal to the point of being rude, but the maintance people running around for the most part couldn't be nicer. Far as the camp ground goes, awesome, bit pricey compared to the others but nice.
Nov 03, 2017
We had a nice time the cabin was clean and plenty of hot water .This was my first time in a cabin I will do it again.no complaints at all..
Nov 02, 2017
cable needs upgrading, only snow for a picture- and it wasn't our equipment as it worked perfectly at other campgrounds; roads have uneven pavement and many potholes which aren't good for kids riding bikes or walking at night; wi-fi is sporadic at best, needs upgrading; 2 of the 4 showers in ladies washhouse were inoperable the entire week we were there. Probably not returning.
Nov 02, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
We have been coming here for years with a large group of our friends. I was very disappointed that we could not book the site for next year when we left. So, unfortunately we will be going somewhere else. I just didn't understand the changes. Believe me you will loose alot of people that have been coming here for years!
Nov 01, 2017
The snow and campfire was the most amazing thing.
Nov 01, 2017
We enjoy renting cabins at KOA but the prices have increased so much this will be our last trip. The 3 night stay averaged out to 200 a night. That price is too much for the cabin quality.
Nov 01, 2017
Everyone on the staff was always very helpful and friendly. Bath houses were very nice and well kept. Our site was clean and pleasant.
Nov 01, 2017
Really great camping experience Staff was friendly and helpful. Big change from last year. So glad to see the problem from last year corrected as we love to camp at KOA Cherokee.
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Everyone was absolutely wonderful and helpful. The bathhouses were clean, the campground was neat and quiet.. the kids had a great time riding their bikes. The indoor pool was a tad cold, but, the kids didn't mind at all!! We will be back!!
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
We arrived at 12:30 am and someone was knocking on our door at 10:00 am to come to the front office to checkin. Weâve been coming there for 28 years and it was demoralizing. Then, the front staff was extremely rude and unhelpful upon checkin. Something has changed between this year and last year. Very disappointed in the current staff/management style. Contemplating not returning next year.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
My stay was to short, wished i had planned better and stayed longer.
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Staff on golf carts were arguing in lot when we arrived. We were given site w/uncovered table despite tons of spots open w/covered 1s. Heated indoor pool just barely heated, hottub jets broken. Pool only bathroom out of TP told front desk took 40mins for 2staff 2bring 1roll. Rented 5bikes & had 2spend 15mins of hr rental unchaining ours while staffer sat on golf cart watching. movie sound was bad.
Oct 31, 2017
Iâve loved KOA since I was a kid, and this location is hands down the best Iâve been to!
Oct 30, 2017
For more than 20 years my large family (50+) has camped at your Cherokee campground during the last weekend of Oct. We are so disappointed with the way you are ignoring our loyalty by changing your reservation policy. Loyal customers should have the opportunity to reserve the same sites from year to year. Instead you have decided to punish everyone over the actions of a few. That is wrong.
Oct 30, 2017
We had a great time as usual! The cabin was great and had everything we needed. Can't wait to do it again next year.
Oct 30, 2017
Oct 30, 2017
stayed last year at same time, and booked this year @ checkout, b/c we were told we could get our same spot. When we arrived, it was not the same spot we had last year, which was closer to the river. Very disappointing! More amenities at this campground, but their supervision is lacking. indoor pool/hotub area overly crowded & children throwing football from one end to other. For price u expect
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award