Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2020
Pros- clean restrooms, friendly staff, as well as very helpful ( vehicle battery died while they and they came to our rescue 6/18/20) cons- firewood and campsites with water and electric a little pricey. We definitely enjoyed our stay though and will be back. Loved the Bear boxes. ( didn’t have one last time we stayed there)
Jun 20, 2020
Best campground in Cherokee! Clean and beautiful. Has everything! We'll be back!
Jun 20, 2020
The cabin needed a good cleaning and the bathrooms were not clean enough thur the day.
Jun 20, 2020
We enjoyed our “first time” visit at the Cherokee KOA! Actually, this was our first visit to any KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very clean and comfortable. The fact that we were able to have our 2 dogs with us was great and the dog walk and nearby dog park was very convenient. Our grandson enjoyed the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, there was definitely a lot to do there!
Jun 20, 2020
There were tons of things to do I just wish that there wasn't the coronavirus or we would have allowed our kids to take advantage of everything
Jun 20, 2020
We loved it! I have no complaints at all! The staff went above and beyond with any request we had!
Jun 20, 2020
I would definitely return in post coronavirus times. The cabin was clean the staff was very helpful there was a lot to do. However beyond 50% occupancy & a lot if signs no one read, there were no safety precautions for covid 19. No one, including staff, were wearing masks. No one at the amenities was social distancing. Occupancy restrictions at the pool or store were not enforced or maintained.
Jun 20, 2020
In cabin: Dish soap, a few more trash bags. RECYCLING facilities somewhere!! It’s 2020!! These would make the stay perfect!!
Jun 19, 2020
I booked a cabin and paid extra to be on the river. The River has been dammed up and had been for awhile. . We had a view of a bunch of rocks. The staff were very rude and said they could not control the dam. But they can control how they advertise those cabins and the price. We also had ants all in the cabin.
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
We came to fish with our grandsons for the last 2 years and enjoyed the campground but very disappointed in that for 2 years not catching a single fish. I know that the campground has no control of the ponds however I think that you should have communications with the Cherokee fishier as far as when they are stocking the ponds. I could not get any info from the staff as to when they stock.
Jun 18, 2020
We absolutely loved staying here! The cabins and campgrounds were clean and efficient. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Theres so much to do and explore on the campgrounds you dont even really have to leave to find adventure and fun. We are definitely making this place our favorite annual vacation spot.
Jun 18, 2020
Just a great KOA.
Jun 18, 2020
We had a great time. It’s a quite campground with lots of activities to do. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Jun 18, 2020
Jun 18, 2020
First timer: It started with Dottie doing a wonderful job with reservations. Check in was smooth, followed by terrific Rick who led us to our cabin. The cabin was beautiful and very clean. We are very happy with our stay. Every time we went to an activity or main entrance, we were welcomed. Great activities for the kids. Tubing, fishing, ,crafts and karts were super. Thanks for the memories!
Jun 18, 2020
Very friendly and relaxing place to stay!
Jun 18, 2020
Great 4 day experience! All aspects of the time spent there was pleasant. Cabin was clean and all features functional as was the nearby comfort facilities. Staff members Priscilla and Darren were helpful, accommodating and friendly. We are planning now for another visit later this year.
Jun 18, 2020
Clean cabin. Grill lighter was broken, but grill still worked once we used the lighter. One of the Adirondacks had a broken arm rest. Staff were mostly friendly. But everything else was great!
Jun 18, 2020
It was fantastic from start to finish. The cabin was beautiful, it had everything we needed. The grounds were impressive. The indoor and outdoor pool is great and activities for just about everybody. We will be back!
Jun 18, 2020
Had an excellent time. Going back in July again. Beautiful, clean, great place!
Jun 18, 2020
Facilities well maintained, a little muddy because of rain. Staff helpful and friendly.
Jun 17, 2020
One of the handicap toilets didn't work the whole time we were there. The odor was horrible. The phone number given didn't let us call the office. We were not given a key and the cabin was locked. I had go back to the office to get one. The office/store was VERY understaffed and caused lines from 6 to 8 people and a long wait. All was over the posted safe limit of 6. This camp has been better.
Jun 17, 2020
Cabin advertised as being on Raven Fork River absolutely WASNT, mattress on pull-out couch was awful, cabin was very close to neighboring cabin, Grille was supposed to open for breakfast at 9 am on Saturday morning but as of 9:30 still wasn't open everyone waiting left campground, blowup waterslide was told would be ready for children by 1 pm & as of 3 pm still wasn't ready. Very unorganized.
Jun 17, 2020
We had such a wonderful time! Friendly staff and great properties. The only 'issue' was inside the registration/camp store. There was hardly ever enough people working at the desk and often there was a long line of back-up. I don't know if another area could be open to help folks buying things in the store so they didn't have to wait behind registration people. I would leave often.
Jun 17, 2020
Front desk staff not friendly at all. No kuerig in our deluxe cabin, was a brought dusty regular pot. Website should have included that no amenities were open besides pool. 1 thing of toilet paper for a family of 5? Our cabin between a family and they continually were walking on our patio the whole time! The older gentleman who helps with the bicycles was EXCEPTIONALLY caring and helpful!
Jun 17, 2020
We loved our stay and can't wait to come back.
Jun 17, 2020
The general store needs to be more efficient. There should be a separate cashier window from the reservation windows to accept customers who make purchases from the general store. The lines was so long and customers who just needed to purchase an item(s) had to wait 30 mins for clients who are checking in or making reservations.
Jun 17, 2020
We had a great time
Jun 17, 2020
This KOA was great.. Even with all of the chaos going on, the staff was still super friendly and helpful!!
Jun 17, 2020
Jun 17, 2020
Upgraded sites not all the same. Some have very large grass areas as shown in the photos but some only have 2-3 feet from the spot next to you making it impossible to use the fire pit without melting the camper next to you. No room to sit outside on the concrete pad. Staff never got back to me regarding my concerns as they said they would. Definitely better campgrounds available nearby.
Jun 17, 2020
Had a good time. Staff was courteous. Grounds were nice but could use some additional maintenance and clean-up. Roads had significant amount of mud puddles and fence along roadside pond is broken down with lots of weed and vine growth on it.
Jun 17, 2020
Camp ground was really nice and all the staff was very friendly. We will be back for sure
Jun 17, 2020
The cabin was nice but parking was an issue. Our car was blocked in by another and we had to knock on doors to find the person. The cabins are too close together. I’d like to be more secluded. Being on the river was nice. Campground did not seem to be at 50% capacity for covid 19. All cabins around us were occupied.
Jun 17, 2020
Ultra friendly, clean, and beautiful.
Jun 17, 2020
Upon checking into the deluxe cabin, we had to request that the screen door be repaired because it would not close. Could not get the grill to work and had to have two maintenance people to come before the correct valve was opened. Cabin was equipped with a Kureg coffee maker with two coffee pods. When we requested more pods the first time we were told that housekeeping would bring some. More..
Jun 17, 2020
Worse time we have ever had and this made the fourth year. We rented the full cabin and wasn't anything like we expected..very much smaller then the pictures were and the fully furnished kitchen and linens wasnt enough for 2 people more less 6 like stated. $190 a night for that was definitely not worth it.
Jun 17, 2020
Very nice staff and very clean campground. Excellent place!
Jun 17, 2020
Booked cabin for Friday and Saturday night for my sons 10th birthday. Had a great time as always
Jun 17, 2020
Clean. Organized. Fun. Beautiful campground in the foothills of gorgeous country!
Jun 17, 2020
Jun 17, 2020
Jun 16, 2020
Very disappointed. Placed at back of campground in what looked like an unkept building site when other comparable sites available. Scrufy looking with weeds in firepit, long grass etc. And close to others. Not what I expect from KOA.
Jun 16, 2020
Enjoyed our trip was great spending time with my family,was disappointed their was not much for the kids to do.
Jun 16, 2020
Great campsite! There were lots of families with kids, it was a great environment. The camp store was very handy and there were plenty of activities to do at the camp. The bathrooms and showers were very nice. We had WiFi the whole time we were at the campsite. It was a great trip!!
Jun 16, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
We love the area and feel comfortable at the KOA. My son is 10 and enjoys alk the ammenities for the kids! Bathrooms are nice and cleaned regularly. Only downside was lavk of hot water at 11am in the showers.
Jun 15, 2020
Jun 15, 2020
Few maintenance things, but beautiful setting!
Jul 11, 2020
Very clean cabins. Very nice people.lots of things for the kids to do..just all around a great place to stay
- roger mcabee on Google
Jul 10, 2020
GREAT fishing
- ikonik652 epip games on Google
Jul 13, 2020
My family really enjoyed this campground for a weekend getaway not too far from home. Very kid friendly. And doing a very good job mitigating this covid 19 mess while remaining open. The only area for improvement i saw was some flood puddles and mud in certain sites and on some roads after heavy rains . But wasnt a huge deal. Thought they could gravel a few places better. Only reason I didn't give this campground 5 stars. 2 pools! For kids. With a neat jumping bubble and a playground helped to keep the kids occupied. Can't wait to return later this fall.
- barry neal on Google