Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 14, 2017
Enjoyed the clean and friendly campground! We will be back!
Nov 14, 2017
When I booked the reservation, I asked about a Veterans discount and was told that no, KOA does not offer a discount. When I checked in, I saw a display stating that a 15% Veterans discount was offered. I asked for the discount and was told no because it was already processed. I asked to cancel my reservation and book a new site and was told no because then I would not be able to have a site. S
Nov 14, 2017
We are planning a club get-away for our BMW club at your campground May/June timeframe. I was the scout to check the KOA out, it was a really great experience. Thanks
Nov 13, 2017
It is always wonderful to check in and see Joann P's smiling face!!! She goes above and beyond to make us feel like family there. I'm loving the improvements that KOA is making at Cherokee.Very happy that the wi-fi has been upgraded. Can't wait to come back in January!!!
Nov 13, 2017
Grateful for lots of space between campers, didn’t feel like we were sandwiched in between other campers. My husband and son said men’s bathroom was very dirty and the lady that took us to our site was rude.
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
We had a wonderful time and will be coming back to stay. The staff were great. Very clean bathrooms and showers. The one we used was updated and very nice .
Nov 13, 2017
Enjoyed our time with our son and his family.
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
Fun!
Nov 13, 2017
It was awesome would have been a lot better if we knew there were no pillows we brought all the linen but bo pillows...
Nov 13, 2017
Enjoyed it kids had a great time on jumping pillow already making plans to return and have told other camping friend's to go also
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
I would give this a one star however the cabin was nice however they need to work on the cleanliness of the cabin especially the sheets and blankets ! We woke up to No running hot water in our cabin . The customer service their is extremely POOR zero stars in my book ! Our first night we got to our cabin that someone was already in our cabin so we had to wait till they figured out what happened .
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
Not helpful.
Nov 13, 2017
Excellent
Nov 13, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
Loved being in the small cabin! It was very clean. The bath house here was absolutely immaculate! I have never seen such a nice bathroom at a public facility. Would love to stay here again! Thank you.
Nov 12, 2017
Nov 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 12, 2017
Loved the location. Loved the trout streams nearby. Liked the camping cabin concept when one is carrying their camping gear and doesn't want to pitch the tent. Great security for one traveling by motorcycle. A couple of negatives: Cabin was dirty. Nobody cleans under beds. Lights were burned out and next door cabin exterior light on constantly. Common area bathhouse not clean.
Nov 12, 2017
Nov 12, 2017
Great place to relax. Facilities were clean and staff was friendly and helpful.
Nov 11, 2017
Wonderful. Very kind staff, clean facilities, LOVED the rock creek all around! Will be back!
Nov 10, 2017
Cabins were very comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. This property is very dogs friendly with lots of space for walking and a couple of dogs parks.
Nov 09, 2017
Had a wonderful trip to Cherokee. The campground was great as usual. It was too bad that it rained all day on Halloween but that's weather.
Nov 09, 2017
took the grand dtrs to the campground for the annual halloween campout. only complaint was that the bathrooms at the pool were stopped up, both of them! didn't get fixed for the entire afternoon despite multiple requests to the office. For the price we have to pay, working bathrooms is the very least to expect. also, no hot water at pool showers. please attend to this!
Nov 09, 2017
We stay in KOA's wherever they are available and have always been pleased.....until this visit. There were plenty of sites available but they put us on a horrible site that was just mud and tree roots, no grass. As a KOA member, I asked why such a bad site and they said it was because it was a 30 amp site and that we should have requested a 50 amp site to get a better one! Seriously?
Nov 08, 2017
Great
Nov 08, 2017
three out of the four shower stalls that I used at back of campground had issues, camp site that we were given had tree roots under pad which provided for a hard leveling of our motor home. The general appearance of the campground was a little run down.
Nov 08, 2017
You have a nice campground but seem very anti-family...we were not allowed to set a tent even on the pavement for our two boys...we had to get a tent site, an additional cost to an already expensive stay. Then nobody in our group was allowed to sleep in their eno's....the excuse was that it could pull the trees over....riiiight. The staff was very friendly, I doubt we will be back soon, thank you.
Nov 08, 2017
We had a great stay! Your night watch lady was so helpful and welcoming!
Nov 08, 2017
A bit noisy past 10 p.m.
Nov 07, 2017
Our stay would of been better is we could of made our reservations for next year. We have been coming for serval years with our daughters and with of our friends and family. We have always made plans for next year so we can be together. So now we are looking for a different place to go.
Nov 07, 2017
Weekdays had great cable and internet service, however on Friday and Saturday it was poor.
Nov 07, 2017
Love coming to this place, second trip we've made and plan on it again next year,thank you for offering veterans a discount,it is much appreciated.
Nov 07, 2017
Everything about the KOA campground was very nice, except for the bed and sofa bed in our cottage. Bed and sofa were totally worn out. It was the worst sleep I've ever had! Last year, I stayed in one of the newer cabins, and the bedding was much better. Time to replace the bedding in the cottages!
Nov 07, 2017
Nov 07, 2017
Always a wonderful experience, my favorite place to camp anytime of year. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Nov 07, 2017
I had challenges checking in after staff left for the night. I attempted to call your phone number for assistance but was unable to reach a person for help.
Nov 07, 2017
Nov 07, 2017
Very nice !
Nov 06, 2017
All Team Members were very pleasant and this campsite is very safe for our families! Ryan Newbrough is awesome to work with and he made the group reservation seamless! We look forward to coming back next fall! Thank you to all the Team Members at KOA in Cherokee NC for making it a very enjoyable weekend for our families! BTW the cabins were very clean! Stan Tz.
Nov 06, 2017
Good stay, would be nice if the game room was still there, and the indoor pool area stayed open till 10 instead of 8.
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Nov 06, 2017
Deluxe cabins and workers were fine However I took my wife there to catch trout. Second time I have stayed there and this was no comparison. Everywhere it says the lakes are stocked twice a week and the river they are not It was stocked the Friday before we came and we stayed Sunday night until Friday morning and they stocked the Friday morning we left. nobody caught any all week - truly
Nov 06, 2017
A bed slat broke under the full bed on Friday night, very uncomfortable. When we mentioned it at the front desk Saturday morning, they were confused as to why we wanted it fixed. We stopped back Saturday afternoon so they could come fix the bed, and again confusion as to why we wanted it fixed. We also asked for a small discount for the discomfort, and it kept being pushed off on other people.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award