Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 02, 2017
Stayed on one of the deluxe sites. Loved the rock patio attached to the cement parking pad and the fire pit with chairs!
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
had to ask for wifi password but it only worked at the office at the other side of the campground (same router name0) kept saying wrong password. We got put in the wrong type of cabin than reserved.
Oct 02, 2017
Great stay great place
Oct 02, 2017
We stay here several times every year. I have been coming to this campground for 30 years and every year it is better and better!
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
This was a disaster of a vacation first of all we get there and they try to charge us double what we were totally pay online then having to argue and him going in the back for 45 minutes before we could get her into our cabin. And he finally agreed to let us have it at the price we booked it for online! No apology or anything! our cabin had no parking we had to walk!
Oct 02, 2017
Our stay was very pleasant. My grand children enjoyed the bounce pillow. I wish there was a easier access to the creek though. The koa staff treated us very nice. And don't forget the fellow campers, they was very kind also. Great surroundings at the koa in Cherokee.
Oct 02, 2017
We have camped here over the past twenty some years. Always enjoy it. We have tent camped, motorhome, and rented the cabins often, and never had an issue. Plan on coming back in three weeks to enjoy the Autumn weather and the season turning of the leaves.
Oct 02, 2017
The showers and bathrooms were dirty on the floors. The grass needed to be cut around many of the cabins. Our fire ring was too deep. It needed sand or more dirt. It took forever to grill. The cabin was clean. Loved the pretty curtains. Comfy mattress. Friendly staff. Great amenities for kids and families. Beautiful property. Plenty to do here. Very close to Cherokee and shopping. Will b back
Oct 02, 2017
We had a great time. We had a tire blow out and the staff at KOA stepped up. Got a ride to our vehicle, got a discount for our troubles, and because my wife didn't have any money for her while I was getting the tire changed, KOA allowed up to use a picture of our debit card to get some food for everyone. We always have a great time, but KOA went above and beyond! Thanks!
Oct 01, 2017
We've been camping here for over 30 years and always enjoy coming to Cherokee. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. We like the views and enjoy some of the hiking trails. We enjoy the trout fishing and watching the elk at different locations. My family and I are already making plans for next years visit.
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
It was a great time. Hope to come next time when all activities are going on and out door pool is open.
Oct 01, 2017
We had a wonderful time the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Oct 01, 2017
Too many employees doing maintenance , to much noise from construction on office/store entrance , not quiet and relaxing , would not recommend staying there until it's finished . Employees cutting grass while we were gone fishing hit my power cord and disconnected power , my refrigerator was off when I got back , fishing in trout ponds is a joke ripoff , do not recommend this KOA
Sep 30, 2017
Everyone at your facility had the most friendly people ever ! First time we stayed there in a cabin and we will be making out reservation for next year in November!!! I wish your facility offered a weekly rate on the cabins. I will be reserving 2 next year. Thank you for a wonderful stay !!
Sep 30, 2017
1st site near entrance & office under renovation. Requested different site, site 2 sewer line broken off and electrical not working,site 3 electrical breaker bad, replaced still not working, after we completely set up, moved to 50 amp site which finally worked, then tried to charge us the difference. Finally waived difference. Staff need educated that 50 amp units CAN use 30 amp safely. Fix sites.
Sep 30, 2017
Potable water smells and tastes bad even after using a extra filter. Unable to use park sewer dump facility due to cars parked around it. Hope that changes. On the plus side employees were very helpful and park well maintained. We will be back.Jim & Vera Slocum
Sep 30, 2017
Foam on bed in cabin was horrible. Will never go back.
Sep 29, 2017
Been visiting this KOA for 30+ years,never disappointed
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Cherokee KOA was great! Staff was very nice and helpful. We stayed in a creekside cabin. The cabin was clean and everything was as expected. It was very nice sitting on the porch out by the creek. Even saw a family of otters playing around. There is no verizon cell signal there, but that has nothing to do with the campground. Overall though, we enjoyed the experience. Will go back .
Sep 29, 2017
Overall a good stay. Bathrooms were clean but there was room for improvement. Hair in shower floor for two days (GROSS), back of toilets not clean. Saw no security after hours-- not happy with that. It appeared that anyone could enter the campground unnoticed. Staff for the most part were friendly but several needed a lesson on smiling and customer service.
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
Management is lackluster at best. Selling license to fish without supplying the literature on the rules even though it's under the counter. Shelves missing products when the stock is in back. Complaints of no hot water met with replies of " we haven't had any complaints ". Grass needed cut. Showers in men's bathhouse left I cleaned for 2 days- same soap and cobwebs present for 2 days.
Sep 28, 2017
very nice and clean employees friendly and very helpful
Sep 27, 2017
Overall very positive experience! Bathrooms were cleaner than any campground bathroom I've ever seen. Staff was friendly. Would be great if sites and concrete pads/patios weren't covered with grass clippings and if yardwaste weren't dumped in full view along riverside sites.
Sep 27, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic, clean, and perfect. The campsite itself seemed as though there were a lot of permanent trailers, and was quite full of clutter. The internet also didn't work. I would 100% recommend the deluxe cabin, but I probably wouldn't recommend the rest of the facility.
Sep 27, 2017
Great location, nice cabins, accomodating staff and reasonably priced. Cabins and campsites are very close together. Too close together in my opinion. Visitors should be encouraged to supervise their children much more closely. Many times during our stay children were running around or riding bikes/trikes in the roadways of the campground and not moving out of the way of motorists.
Sep 27, 2017
Very clean. Nice size campsites. But pool needs some maintenance and wifi sucks!
Sep 27, 2017
Great place for a relaxing vacation. My family loves it!
Sep 27, 2017
Great! Excellent service and very nice campground and facilities
Sep 27, 2017
Had a great time.....very nice campground.....only problem was there wifi is very poor....
Sep 27, 2017
Love your camp! Wish I had some grandkids to enjoy it. Location is convenient to what we wanted to visit. My back-in location was a little tight for my 5th wheel. I'll look for a pull thru next time. My wife noted that the restrooms could use a little extra work on cleanliness. Hope the fish is biting next time also.
Sep 26, 2017
It was me and my boyfriend's first time visiting KOA Campground and my first time visiting Cherokee, NC and the mountains. And I have to say it was the most relaxing, stress-free vacation ever!!! We got this cute little cottage that looks over the river (KT 236, to be exact) and it was perfect for the two of us. Very nice staff, very polite and friendly. I will be coming back again next year!!
Sep 26, 2017
We have camped all over Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina and by far and away our stay in a KOA deluxe cabin was the best trip we have ever had. The staff was friendly and helpful and the cabin was adorable and immaculate. There was so much to just at the campground and plenty to do nearby. We LOVED it. Will return soon
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Always enjoy the KOA in Cherokee. Some of the management changes have been a little disappointing, but hope to see them come together and work better as a new team.
Sep 26, 2017
Wonderful campground and exceptional employees. Donnie and Cory were most helpful.
Sep 26, 2017
We evacuated Florida. 2 of our kids left earlier than we did and made it on Thurs night but we didn't. A wonderful worker there provided them, for free, wood and food. I offered to pay her but she said no. She is such a beautiful spirit.
Sep 26, 2017
It was fabulous. The campground exceeded our expectations. Pool and hot tub was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and very well maintained. Our kids wanted to go tent camping for some odd reason, they are 2 girls age 6 and 9. They have never been tent camping in the past so we wanted to make their first trip,a special memorable trip. We chose KOA and have ZERO regrets.
Sep 26, 2017
The ceiling fan was noisy and only worked on one speed. The light switch didn't always work. I think the cabin should have heat/air for the price.
Sep 25, 2017
No cell service, bad internet, when checking in the lady was very rude because I was 30 minutes early for check in. Camp site was great.
Sep 25, 2017
Beautiful area! Nice campgrounds! Employees could be a little more friendly! North Carolina is famous for hospitality and making people feel welcome, didn't really get that feeling from the employees at this KOA. :(
Sep 25, 2017
There was so much to do at the campground. I only regret not discovering this place when my children were much younger!!!!
Sep 25, 2017
Very nice, clean campground with plenty of things for the kids to do. It was amazing that at 10 pm it was very quiet, will be going back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award