Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2019
We always have a great time at this KOA. They are helpful and friendly. The sites are clean and well-kept. We can’t wait to come back every time we leave.
May 26, 2019
May 26, 2019
We love coming to this KOA! ! The large cement pull-thru's are fantastic! We will be back! !!!
May 26, 2019
This is the best KOA we've stayed at since using them. We're going to be sure to stay again when we've in the area. Plus I've already recommended this KOA to several friends.
May 26, 2019
With the weekend being a holiday weekend I felt the staff wasnt prepared for the season yet. Pool wasnt open until late Friday afternoon. It wasnt listed on website that it wasnt available. The grill wasnt open for lunch Friday so we went to town causing KOA to lose $ for food and ice cream. The golf cart rented wasnt in good order, it lost charge. The bath facilty wasnt clean. Staff was nice.
May 26, 2019
Good place BUT paid for shuttle service to casino & back And they never picked me up---left me stranded
May 25, 2019
Liked our stay but would have preferred to be in a more shaded place
May 24, 2019
We enjoyed our stay very much...the cabin was great! Next time we'll plan to cone a bit later in the summer so that all the campsite amenities are open. Thank you for a very enjoyable vacation!
May 24, 2019
We stayed in a deluxe cabin along the river. The beds were comfy. We grilled out and had a fire in the fire pit . The stars were beautiful as well as the show the fireflies put on in the tree tops. The fireflies looked like twinkling lights on a Christmas tree. The stars were beautiful with no light pollution from the city. The sound of the moving river . Nice friendly staff. Best trip ever!
May 24, 2019
May 23, 2019
As always - everything was just great !!! Beautiful surroundings and well maintained !!!
May 23, 2019
This a nice campground, but overpriced for 2 senior citizens. Cable channels did not match printed list; a dead tree on our site that I worried would fall on our car; need more checkin staff on a Friday night.
May 21, 2019
This place is a perfect location in the mountains. Falling asleep and waking up next to the river is perfect. The camp ground is clean, well kept and everyone is so friendly!
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
I've been coming for 30 years. Not satisfied as in years past. New management is impersonal. Cabin ceiling fan not operable. No one to provide feedback to on Saturday morning due to store not open yet. Key provided to our group for gate to pond in years past, now must drive around to fish early morning. No advantage to being close to pond if you fish early morning. Probably will stay elsewhere in
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
Beautiful mountain setting, very friendly and helpful staff, paved roads, very clean, and pet friendly. Unlike some parks, the hook ups are well placed and well maintained. A little pricey but I guess you get what you pay for. Will definitely return.
May 21, 2019
We stayed in the rustic cabin for the first time. We went to sleep listening to the stream outside the window. It is set up like a shotgun house so there was a nice breeze throughout the night. We had the ceiling fan and prepared for another so we brought another fan which turned out to not be needed at all. The cabin was clean and quaint. I will definitely stay in a cabin again great price also.
May 20, 2019
I really enjoy stating at Cherokee KOA. I love the atmosphere and that each site is very roomy. There is so much stuff for kids to do here. The only complaint I have is that the water pressure was very low to take a shower.
May 20, 2019
One of our favorite campgrounds. Hot tub is a great perk for parents. Well kept campground. Mostly good sites, some are a little close, but not too bad.
May 20, 2019
Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Our Cabin was immaculate and well stocked. We will be back.
May 20, 2019
We rented a cabin and there was no trash bag in the kitchen garbage can when we checked in also the floor was dirty and gritty. Also, I came into the lobby to buy ice and it took forever. People were allowed to break in line and make their own lines. Other than those issues our stay was great!
May 20, 2019
Great stay and time . Needs new matteries in cabin 115
May 20, 2019
Very pleasant!! Campground staff was very nice!!
May 20, 2019
It was amazing. This was the first time we have stayed at KOA. we will definitely be back. Chris was amazing. He brought our wood and ice and anything we needed he answered every question we had. We meant to give him a tip. But didn’t. Please let him know we will make up for it on our next trip. That will be very soon.
May 19, 2019
Every toilet in one building was clogged the first 2 days of our stay. The girls in the camp store were too busy taking reservations on the phone to help answer questions or help with purchases. They did eventually get to us but the wait was long. We have stayed here twice in the past and loved it.
May 19, 2019
The cabin was clean and nice, but the men's bathroom was pretty dirty.
May 19, 2019
Had a fun/safe annual fishing trip
May 19, 2019
I enjoyed it
May 19, 2019
Excellent stay, Beautiful weather, Great location not to far from everything but far enough where you dont have all the traffic and noise of everyday life.
May 19, 2019
We enjoyed our stay and thought the campground was nice but it would have been nicer if the store had longer hours. We were there off season so the grill and the outdoor pool weren't open, therefore, we could not take advantage of them.
May 19, 2019
Staff was great! Went over and above!
May 19, 2019
Great spot to bring family
May 19, 2019
It was great! The staff are very friendly and helpful! I already recommended it to other family members but the time they wanted to stay was already fully booked. Maybe next time for them!
May 18, 2019
nice campground very big we liked it alot.
May 18, 2019
Bathrooms were dirty no toilet paper standing water in camp sites hot tub not working properly & no bathrooms @ indoor pool not working.
May 18, 2019
We stayed in a deluxe cabin this time, and found it very efficient for our weekend stay.
May 18, 2019
May 18, 2019
Great staff.
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
This is great park! It is a large park with well spaced sites. The park is well equipped & staffed. We plan to return.
May 17, 2019
The campground is nice, however there is a dog across the street that never stops barking all day and night and makes it not very peaceful. Love it other than that.
May 17, 2019
It was our first visit and we had a wonderful time fishing, exploring the national park, and enjoying your indoor pool and other amenities. We plan to stay with you again!
May 17, 2019
The campground is improving but there are certain areas that need wholesale site updates, mainly elevating and leveling to where you aren't sloshing around in water puddles when it rains. They are also pretty proud of their place given the rates they charge but it is still a nice place.
May 17, 2019
Excellent
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Had a good time even though the weather didn't cooperate. Husband and son enjoyed trout fishing and I enjoyed relaxing.
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Great as always! We will be back again!
May 17, 2019
Very courteous & friendly staff. Pet friendly. Clean comfortable cabins. Grounds kept in pristine condition. Will be back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals