Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jun 23, 2020
Clean and spacey. Loved it
Jun 23, 2020
was surprised how open you were with covid-19.
Jun 23, 2020
I was placed in the wrong cabin and the front desk staff were unprofessional and rude to say the least.
Jun 23, 2020
no fish in ponds upper pond nearly dry

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The KOA Campground does not own the ponds; they are Tribal property, and upkeep on ponds are also done through the tribe.
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Had a great time relaxing and hanging out with friends,
Jun 22, 2020
I would have given 5 stars However we paid for a site on the river and we were placed at a site where you couldn't even see the river it really sucked as we where there for seven nites and had planed this trip for months in advance with previous phone conversation on site location importance. Other than paying for a site on the river and not getting it we had no issues.
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Very nice sites, clean and roomy. Planning our trip for next year and will be staying longer...
Jun 22, 2020
We had an awesome time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.
Jun 22, 2020
Wounderful family time they handled the covid thing so well...
Jun 22, 2020
I was very disappointed in this Koa , We have stayed at others and they have been clean this one was not . During this Covid outbreak and all the extra cleaning supposedly going on I would hate to know what its like at other times . the bathrooms were just plain nasty , with feces on toilets , trash in floor . The grounds of the campground are not well kept either .Very Disappointing !!!!!!!!
Jun 22, 2020
Enjoyed our stay, facilities were nice, however the restrooms could have been cleaned more frequently. Often the toilet tissue dispensers were low or empty. Chris was a fantastic staff member, very helpful and friendly. He is a true asset to the KOA. Vast majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of Craig, he was the one memorable negative of the trip.
Jun 22, 2020
Everything went without a hitch. Very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 22, 2020
The staff was very friendly and helpful getting checked in and parked. The park was very quiet and peaceful for as busy as it was. We will definitely be back.
Jun 22, 2020
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Jun 22, 2020
This was our first time staying here and we loved it! The staff there were super friendly and helped in any way. So much to do especially for the kids! We will definitely be back!!
Jun 22, 2020
Getting the camper in the spot was a little rough as the guy who took me to the spot took me the wrong direction and it took about 45 minutes to get my 35-foot camper in the spot. After I was set up it was a delightful experience and we loved the KOA we will be back. But next time I'm going to scope out the spot before I drive to it to find out my angle.
Jun 22, 2020
I love the campground. Wonderful place and very friendly staff.
Jun 22, 2020
Cabin was nice and clean-Bathhouse was exceptionally clean...The fishing was lousy...I'm not sure if they are stocking, or it is the crowd over fishing, but there was very few fish caught by anyone that I saw or talked with.
Jun 21, 2020
Friendly, helpful staff. Installing new playground equipment while we were there. Campground filled up as the week progressed. As always, it is a great campground in the Smokies!
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
After 30 years this unfortunately will be my last!! Tent site with just roots and mud. No grass at all!! My confirmation said 20 × 25 grassy tent pad!! Couldn't even put a 10×12 tent up that wasn't on a root! Water over our ankles every time it rained. Bathroom went over 2 days with no cleaning! Rudest and most inconsiderate staff I have ever met. Do yourself a favor stay at River Valley!
Jun 21, 2020
My family and I have been camping at this KOA for about 35 years now. Seen a lot of changes, some good and some not so good but that's the way it goes. For the most part this park is clean and the staff members I encountered were friendly. The park was trying to do everything they could considering the COVID restrictions so it was different. I gave 5 stars for their effort in safety management
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 21, 2020
Jun 20, 2020
Had a wonderful time!
Jun 20, 2020
Jun 20, 2020
We had a great time. Cabin was perfect. Staff were awesome. Hoping to go back in a yr or so.
Jun 20, 2020
My family and me have been staying at the Cherokee KOA for over 30 years. We love the camp ground, trails, shops ,fishing,etc. It hurts me to say anything negative but the grounds, pools , and cabins need some major maintenance and upgrades. The staff is nice and polite but they seem to be untrained and overworked. I hope the KOA is updated before its to late. Worst fishing in 30 yrs. 6-16-2020
Jun 20, 2020
Pros- clean restrooms, friendly staff, as well as very helpful ( vehicle battery died while they and they came to our rescue 6/18/20) cons- firewood and campsites with water and electric a little pricey. We definitely enjoyed our stay though and will be back. Loved the Bear boxes. ( didn’t have one last time we stayed there)
Jun 20, 2020
Best campground in Cherokee! Clean and beautiful. Has everything! We'll be back!
Jun 20, 2020
The cabin needed a good cleaning and the bathrooms were not clean enough thur the day.
Jun 20, 2020
We enjoyed our “first time” visit at the Cherokee KOA! Actually, this was our first visit to any KOA. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very clean and comfortable. The fact that we were able to have our 2 dogs with us was great and the dog walk and nearby dog park was very convenient. Our grandson enjoyed the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, there was definitely a lot to do there!
Jun 20, 2020
There were tons of things to do I just wish that there wasn't the coronavirus or we would have allowed our kids to take advantage of everything
Jun 20, 2020
We loved it! I have no complaints at all! The staff went above and beyond with any request we had!
Jun 20, 2020
I would definitely return in post coronavirus times. The cabin was clean the staff was very helpful there was a lot to do. However beyond 50% occupancy & a lot if signs no one read, there were no safety precautions for covid 19. No one, including staff, were wearing masks. No one at the amenities was social distancing. Occupancy restrictions at the pool or store were not enforced or maintained.
Jun 20, 2020
In cabin: Dish soap, a few more trash bags. RECYCLING facilities somewhere!! It’s 2020!! These would make the stay perfect!!
Jun 19, 2020
I booked a cabin and paid extra to be on the river. The River has been dammed up and had been for awhile. . We had a view of a bunch of rocks. The staff were very rude and said they could not control the dam. But they can control how they advertise those cabins and the price. We also had ants all in the cabin.
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
We came to fish with our grandsons for the last 2 years and enjoyed the campground but very disappointed in that for 2 years not catching a single fish. I know that the campground has no control of the ponds however I think that you should have communications with the Cherokee fishier as far as when they are stocking the ponds. I could not get any info from the staff as to when they stock.
Jun 18, 2020
We absolutely loved staying here! The cabins and campgrounds were clean and efficient. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Theres so much to do and explore on the campgrounds you dont even really have to leave to find adventure and fun. We are definitely making this place our favorite annual vacation spot.
Jun 18, 2020
Just a great KOA.
Jun 18, 2020
We had a great time. It’s a quite campground with lots of activities to do. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Jun 18, 2020
Jun 18, 2020
First timer: It started with Dottie doing a wonderful job with reservations. Check in was smooth, followed by terrific Rick who led us to our cabin. The cabin was beautiful and very clean. We are very happy with our stay. Every time we went to an activity or main entrance, we were welcomed. Great activities for the kids. Tubing, fishing, ,crafts and karts were super. Thanks for the memories!
Jun 18, 2020
Very friendly and relaxing place to stay!
Jul 05, 2020
Rachel, the manager, made my stay wonderful!!! I didn't realize that the cabin I reserved did not have A/C and I was dying from heat. She graciously arranged for me to switch cabins. Her kindness went above and beyond and I so appreciated it! The campground has tons of amenities - the store had a great selection of supplies and loved the fact they served Hershey's ice cream. I will return one day!
- Mrs Bigglesworth on Google
Jul 04, 2020
Very nice place to stay and awesome for kids
- Sonya Napoli on Google