Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2019
MOTHER NATURE RAIN AND THUNDERSTORMS LIGHTING STRUCK THE WIFI TOWER, NO WIFI FOR A FEW DAYS TREE FEEL DOWN SNAPPING THE POWER LINES, NO POWER FOR THE MORNING WAKEUP. I JUST WISH THAT THE STAFF WAS BETTER INFORMED AS TO WHAT IS GOING ON AND INFORM THE CAMPGROUND NO ONE SEEMED TO KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON???? WE ARE GUESTS NOT THE LOCALS AND NEED TO BE INFORMED IN A TIMELY MANNER.
Jul 27, 2019
It was our first stay here and happy to say it’s my husband’s and my new favorite campground! The trout fishing is like no other! Only negative was the grass was not mowed at our campsite all week, but in all fairness there were heavy rains a couple nights early on in our stay but once it dried, then the mower broke we were told! The other way outweighs this issue and we’ll definitely be bac
Jul 27, 2019
We always enjoy our camping trips to Cherokee! We especially liked the last site we had on the river. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Jul 27, 2019
Every year since like it get worse
Jul 27, 2019
By far the cleanest facility we have ever stayed at. The bath house and restrooms were immaculate.
Jul 27, 2019
Stayed the week and had a wonderful time with the grandson and dog. Lots to do in the neighborhood and great Elk viewing in the morning just down the road. We will be back!
Jul 27, 2019
They wanted us to stay in a flooded area and we complained and move to a different spot. No wifi. The last time we stayed, (this is the first time we stayed here) they told us the same thing, that they were working on fixing the wifi, however, the wifi worked in their office. Our spot was night next to a table where they clean fish. It was so nasty. We will NOT use this KOA again.
Jul 27, 2019
Jul 27, 2019
Stayed one night in a truck camper on water and elect only. We have occasionally stayed there for many years (decades). Great campground, but the pricing has gotten ridiculous. $70 for one night elect and water only? We will look around before making another reservation there next time.
Jul 26, 2019
We had a good stay except for lots of rain. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our Kamping Kabin was certainly satisfactory, but not as modern as the last KOA we stayed in.
Jul 26, 2019
Outstanding visit. Beautiful RV site. Staff were great.
Jul 26, 2019
great time polite and helpful staff. have been coming up once or twice a year for the last 4 or 5 years. this was best stay yet! Thanks
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
During check in we asked if there was a shuttle into town to the Casino. They said yes, they proved one to and from for small fee. We paid, filled out paperwork was taken and dropped off, told we would be picked up the same place we were left. At our pickup time, we waited nearly a hour, found and paid a casino shuttle and they took us back Shuttle driver said it happens ALOT! My husband is 76
Jul 25, 2019
Our stay was great , however my sister in law (whom I recommend this year ) reservations got messed up not once but twice .. and what’s really sad is nothing was done about it . With this being said , I did book for next year .... I would suggest your front end people/front desk would listen a little more carefully so this doesn’t continue to occur.
Jul 24, 2019
We really enjoyed our week long stay at Cherokee KOA. It is a big campground with plenty of room to move around, and the kids enjoyed being able to ride their bikes on the streets without worrying about traffic too much. The office is very busy, and the wait for even buying a drink was a little long. Also when you call you cannot get in touch with anyone. Otherwise this is a very good campground.
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
We did not stay our whole time. We did not fully get to experience all that Cherokee KOA had to offer.
Jul 24, 2019
Check In was slow. One person working at front desk and the phone ringing with no one to answer it. Explains why I had a difficult time getting thru to anyone. Bathrooms were cleaned frequently but still smelled badly and didn’t appear clean. Campsite was on the trout pond and very tight. Definitely not up to par with other KOAs I have visited.
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Lots for my granddaughter to do she loved it.Way to many speeders for the amount of young unsupervised children ridding through on bikes. Also lots of rough housing unsupervised teens at pool.Fishing was disappointing trout not stocked to match the hype for the area.But all in all it would take longer to mention all the good things about our stay.Just wanted to let you know about some of the bad.
Jul 24, 2019
Super camp!!!
Jul 24, 2019
The last 2 times we stayed there was no Wi-Fi . it rained a lot and my autistic grandson who lives with me could have really used it to calm down while it stormed.
Jul 24, 2019
The tubing transportation was gone, it was our reason for the trip.Attendant only said we could transport our tubes to an remote place off the property, only to find out as we were leaving, you had a put in place on site. I prepaid the site via internet in full. Upon check-in more money was requested for a RESORT Fee. Dirty Bathhouse every visit. Extra Fees for kids activities. Cafe prices up.
Jul 23, 2019
My family loves going to the KOA Cherokee. My daughters loved being able to go tubbing and swim all day while we sat back and I enjoyed the sounds of the river and the beautiful mountains around us.
Jul 22, 2019
Beautiful KOA! Kids had a blast at the pools inside and out. Rained alot on our trip but still had plenty to do. Sites were large compared to some other KOA's we have been to. The only issue we had was our site was pretty muddy and took days to dry. Would highly recommend this KOA! The area is beautiful.
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Dirty cabin.
Jul 21, 2019
Absolutely wonderful. Stayed for 5 nights friendly staff. The site was level concrete with a picnic table and fire ring. The bathhouse was clean and well stocked. The pool and hot tub area was clean the kids loved swimming. There is a snack bar with Hunt brothers pizza. they also had tubing with tube rentals. They had kids activity planned for almost every day. Just perfect Thank you
Jul 21, 2019
Very helpful and friendly staff. Can see work to improve Campground.
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Was disappointed that they did not have a dance party, i had to tell staff about a problem with the out door pool ladder sever times still dont know if they fixed it or blocked it off
Jul 20, 2019
Love this KOA!
Jul 20, 2019
Great place for kids and campers looking for a friendly environment. The staff is great as well. Suggestions: the men's bathroom was way too cold two days, but seemed to be corrected later. While that bathroom is clean and well built, I would recommend some sort of an exhaust system as there is most always a smell and the floors are wet and never seem to dry. Thanks for your great hospitality
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Streets and campsites had huge mud holes with lots of water and mud. Drainage problems. Men’s bathroom smelled terrible around toilets and showers. Floor was always wet and muddy. Not enough times during day did they clean it. Shower walls were also mildewed and stained.
Jul 20, 2019
The campground and the cabin we stayed in was beautiful. EVERYTHING we asked the staff about times, locations, directions, procedures was incorrect and contradictory. There’s one staff member who checked us in who was rude any time we needed to speak with her. When we asked a staff member to speak to the owner, we were told (at 1000 am) that “she’s still sleeping” and that we couldn’t.
Jul 20, 2019
Had a great week.plenty of things to do and staff was helpful and nice.will definitely be back.thank you.Kevin Turner.
Jul 20, 2019
False Advertising- No free shuttle as advertised in the KOA catalog, no game room or jumping pad even though they are pictured on their map. Showers and bathrooms were dirty with lots of cobwebs and bugs. Indoor pool was also dirty. The woman that checked us in asked my name & if I wanted to use the credit card on file. No welcome, no description of park or activities. Restaurant only open til 5.
Jul 20, 2019
Nice place to stay. Feel it is expensive for me because I don’t use the amenities here. However, if I had a young family I would definitely stay here. My RV site was awesome! Perfect for me. Plenty of room and I didn’t feel like I was in a can of sardines. Thanks KOA for the space. It is greatly appreciated.
Jul 20, 2019
Dirty bathroom. Same was of hair in shower 24 hours. Same clogged sink. No TP in stall.
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
We had a great stay we love the campground and enjoyed our time there we will be back
Jul 20, 2019
The grounds were very muddy and some of the roads we could not walk on. Pour internet signal and fuzzy tv stations. Cost was way too much for such a run down campground. Will not be coming back and will not recommend it.
Jul 20, 2019
Loved the park. We see it is kid friendly, no problem with that, but if there was a way to remind parents to have their kids flush the toilet, 2 or three times if need be. Pretty gross with poop stuck in and around the commodes. Otherwise, people were very nice , park itself is very well maintained.
Jul 20, 2019
Great stay.
Jul 20, 2019
The staff were very nice and courteous. However, the campground seems to be neglected. the grass looked as if it had not been cut. some places there was no grass, but lots of mud. We were put on a site that was paved with asphalt but had grass growing in it. the place we had to put our mat was muddy. they still had Christmas decorations up. Uor fire pit had a huge hole beside it. As big and deep.
Aug 12, 2019
Had a great stay here, everyone was kind and friendly
- Garry Walsh on Google