Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Nov 10, 2019
Very large site, great little steam to fish, and the people were very friendly.
Nov 10, 2019
Everything was GREAT except our site was littered with candy wrappers (probably left over from Halloween celebrating). Will definitely return.
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
Great facilities, clean very nice area. Staff in store/check in was so helpful.
Nov 10, 2019
We loved it
Nov 10, 2019
Loved it! Beautiful location. Well maintained and super friendly!
Nov 10, 2019
Nov 10, 2019
We came for my sons 11th birthday and we couldn't have asked for a better stay! The cabin was perfect size. The spacious porch overlooking the water was perfect for the birthday party. The staff was friendly. The bathrooms were so clean! Thank you all so much!!
Nov 10, 2019
The location of this campground is very good. Nice to be able to fish in the ponds. The campground and bathrooms we clean . They could manage the leaves better. The site pad was clear but the area around the site and grill were thick with leaves. I had to use our broom to clear a buffer around the grill before I could start a fire. The site they gave us was not very good so we moved
Nov 10, 2019
Great time with the family and lots of things for the kids to do
Nov 10, 2019
Clean, warm, friendly! Can’t wait to come back!
Nov 10, 2019
The largest campground we’ve ever stayed at! The site we rented for 2 days was right on the river, but like many campgrounds it was a bit small for our 28’ trailer. Overall had a pleasant experience.
Nov 10, 2019
Although we were there "off" season, the staff and campground were excellent, clean and accommodating.
Nov 10, 2019
very nice park and very helpful and friendly staff.
Nov 10, 2019
Rob was very rude to me. He gave us a camp site that was already taken and it was dark by the time we got another so we didn't even hook up to your water. We spent the night and left early the next morning. We will never stay there again.
Nov 08, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Very helpful and friendly.
Nov 05, 2019
BEDBUGS!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Our key opened multiple cabins and due to a misunderstanding, we stayed in the wrong cabin, #363. The 2nd morning we awoke to beds full of bedbugs and multiple bites on all of us. We've had to throw away our things and go to the doctor multiple times. See other KOA reviews & Trip Advisor reviews. Management knows they have a problem and they won't return my emails.
Nov 05, 2019
The cabin we were in did not have a direct parking spot that led to the cabin we had to walk through other sites or park further away to access a sidewalk that did go to the cabin. Cable TV got fuzzy the night before we left.
Nov 04, 2019
Very much enjoyed our Halloween stay at Cherokee KOA.
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
Beautiful Koa. Great staff. I was disappointed that there was nothing for Halloween night. And that I was charged a higher fee, when the park was empty. I look forward to staying there in the future.
Nov 04, 2019
The hostess were very friendly and willing to help you if need :):):)
Nov 04, 2019
Extremely nice pull through.
Nov 04, 2019
��� �������� �� ύ �� .���� ���� �ύ ���� ���� �ύ�� ��ύ��. ������ � �������.
Nov 04, 2019
Other than mother nature trying to get us to go home. Rained for three out of five days. It was great. Beautiful streams, and fall foliage.
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 01, 2019
We always have a blast at this KOA. The only thing I would do different would be to go back to the old way of doing the costume contest and trick or treating for Halloween. There should be more than 2 age groups and it was better to have the contest before the trick or treating. Otherwise, a great time. Great staff!! Joanne is the best! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Great for kids! Our fav!
Nov 01, 2019
This is our second year camping here and we love all the decorations and activities themed for Fall and Halloween The pancake breakfast was nice and a great idea!
Nov 01, 2019
cabin was nice but in quite zone not ok with that. plenty of activities even in rain. people serving food for activities need to read flyer before serving we got shorted at both cook out. loved seeing kids in costumes for Halloween
Nov 01, 2019
We have stayed in this lovely campground several times. This visit in October we had prime real estate! Cabin 252 has a beautiful deck, but the parking his horrible. Neighbors took our parking so it was very inconvenient. Also, there were bedbugs! 3 in our party brought them home to 3 locations. My son's college dorm room had to be treated. Called to inform, but manager never returned my call.
Nov 01, 2019
Beautiful campground, friendly people, great amenities. Said my cabin had cable TV. Cable there, but no TV. Window open. Big hole in screen, lots of bugs inside. Asked for cabin on the water (obviously meaning river), was told it yes. "Water" was little creek behind the cabin that I couldn't see. No idea if any of the rustic cabins are on river. Loved the campground, but disappointed with cabin.
Oct 31, 2019
Oct 31, 2019
Great place to camp. Been coming there for 5 years. If you want to complain stay home. Camping is about being in the outdoors and nothing is going to be perfect.
Oct 31, 2019
Staff was rude
Oct 31, 2019
It's our home base for camping and koa
Oct 31, 2019
Very, very disappointed in our stay and probably will not be staying again. Cherokee KOA has a problem with their housekeeping/maintenance team. On our first night, after hours we discovered the shower clip to hold shower head was broken, therefore we had to hold shower head to take a shower. Clearly the housekeeping knew it was broken, yet just left it handing upon our arrival. Aggravating!
Oct 31, 2019
We always love staying at the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA and would never choose to stay anywhere else in the area. We do hope that you will someday improve the WiFi signals as we have a hard time connecting and staying on the internet (which is important as I often have to complete and deliver work while on vacation). Thanks for another great stay!
Oct 31, 2019
We were very lucky to get a last minute cabin. Just wish it wasn't right next to the glaring bathroom lights. Kind of killed the charm of having a cozy fire at night. Facilities were clean and the staff very accommodating. Had no idea we were walking into their gigantic annual Halloween extravaganza, kids EVERYWHERE, but it was fun. Next time hopefully get a more secluded cabin.
Oct 30, 2019
We loved the Cherokee KOA! Booked our next stay before we left!
Oct 29, 2019
Perfect. Staff was super and we enjoyed renting a cabin immensely. The rest of our crew had RVs, we have gone here the past 9 or 10 years!
Oct 29, 2019
Everything we needed assistance on was taken care of immediately. Very clean. Just need to give a different address to use for GPS. Very difficult to locate.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was clean, staff polite and plenty to do. Stayed in cabin (k68). Camp sites and cabins were way too close to each other and parking extremely tight. Lines were always long and slow at the camp checkin/store/grill.
Oct 29, 2019
Campground was full of children and campfire SMOKE! Campfires are part of the camping experience, but all day and night? With the planned Halloween activities, it should have been controlled. No child or adult, should have been exposed to that much smoke, it’s a health hazard! The SMOKE FOG caused severe medical issues, making our stay, MISERABLE! Management was dismissive of our concerns!
Oct 29, 2019
Our site was not first rate. It was rated as pull-through; however, it necessitated us to take our trailer over a curb. The waste connection was above the height of most waste outlets. However, even with 24 hours of torrential rain, the staff did an amazing job of keeping all of the children who were excited about Halloween entertained. The Cherokee museum is well worthwhile.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Beautiful, clean, full of smiles... thank you For the hospitality and great memories!
Oct 29, 2019
Was great!
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.