Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2017
Extremely organized and well run. Our site had plenty of space and shade, the surrounding mountains are beautiful, as is the river running on the edge of the campground. Bathrooms were exceptionally clean for spaces used by so many people. Personally I would ban campfires - this KOA is in a valley and as the night cools, it traps all the smoke in, making it uncomfortable to breath.
Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff. Nest and clean park.
Aug 24, 2017
Beautiful as always. 1st night was a tent, then the next night was a cabin with a loft. My only complaint would be that there were a few pieces of trash in front of the cabin on the way down to the river.
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time. In fact, we stayed an extra night just because we didn't want to leave! We brought some first timers to KOA with us, & they enjoyed it too.
Aug 24, 2017
The cabin was comfortable and the campground was clean. I had encounters with KOA workers and the were good. However, first impressions mean a lot. I drove 14 hours through the night and arrived around 10am. My kids had slept in the car and wanted to play before check in at 3. The woman at the front desk could not have been less receptive or less accommodating. I doubt I will stay with KOA again
Aug 24, 2017
Awesome! Everyone so friendly!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Nice stay, few small things. We had a bike stolen and everyone helped, but what no one offered was to call the police. We stayed in a cabin I think you should offer to clean the cabin at least once for a few day stay. I would have been willing to pay. Need a better list of items in cabin, I was told we had a full size fridge to find out is was a mini fridge.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The area is beautiful, the campground was great with clean bathrooms, tons to do right from the campground and a friendly, helpful staff.
Aug 23, 2017
We went up and down the east coast for our summer adventure and stayed at KOA's along the way. The Cherokee/Great Smokies was the most awesome experience of them all. The kids loved the outdoor and indoor pools. The water slide was great. The jumping pad was huge. We had a cabin that slept up to 6. All the linens were provided. I could have lived in this cabin on the river! Gas grill on the deck!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice staff and nice park
Aug 23, 2017
Nice and clean. Great 2 rm cabin
Aug 23, 2017
Great activities, wonderful campground. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a great time!
Aug 23, 2017
Great KOA. Very clean and great spaces with lots to do.
Aug 23, 2017
pool and hot tub were a little cleaner but can still use a little work.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
WiFi didn't work. Not enough staff had to wait in long lines to get fishing license and if you wanted anything from the store you had to wait in the check in and out line. They had a check out in store but nobody there to run it won't be back
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
We rented a Kottage w/Bath, Kitchen, Queen bed. Very pleased with accommodations. Only 1 problem: when our friends came to eat dinner with us, they had to pay $12.00 to park. Too much. Other than that....good week end. Thanks
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
This place was amazing! The campsite was clean, the pool was cool and refreshing, and the staff was incredibly friendly. I will definitely be back!!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
The campground was very nice and we liked everything that it had to offer. We only have one thing to complain about and that was the music being played on Saturday night at the recreation outpost. Our camp site was directly across from the recreation outpost and the music was so loud that I could not even sit outside and enjoy the evening by my campfire.
Aug 22, 2017
The only problem we had with our visit was we couldn't stay longer! So much to do, so little time! Friendliest, most helpful staff on the planet! Everything spotless clean. As your code says, quiet from 8pm till 8am. Well-stocked store. Campfire pits. Lots of safe fun for the entire family! Hoping to get back up for the Fall season! Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 22, 2017
Had a great time. A lot of kids, but it seemed they were having a great time. Staff was awesome.
Aug 22, 2017
Need better wifi. Was disappointed to have to go into town for a cell signal and the campground wifi was very week. Otherwise the stay, facilities and staff were great.
Aug 22, 2017
very clean and secure campground,I had a restful stay,campground staff were very nice to me. Please bring back steak night for the weekends at the cafe it was real good food.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Showers could be better. Food was slow for breakfast. Confusion when arriving late. Didn't have paperwork on board outside. General manager had to go to office and find records. Very nice location
Aug 22, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. The only problem. Could not get online to check my emails. Great site and loved the friendly setting and particularly the children playing around us. Plan to revisit this accommodating site
Aug 22, 2017
We loved it. Most definitely will come back.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Nice place. We've been back 4 times. The game-changer for us though for long term and for return visits will be the unavailability of WIFI and Internet. We own a medium-sized real estate and property management company and have to be accessible when we need to be. The unavailability issue will cause us to stay at other places where we can get access for our business. Thanks again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey, Thanks for your feedback. I wanted to let you know our WI-FI is being upgraded. The project should be fully completed by October 2017. Thank you again for your feedback it helps us server our guest better.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Ants in cabin, but other than that it was a wonderful time.
Aug 21, 2017
The camp ground was great. I am not impressed with Cherokee, If you don't go to the casino, there is not much to do. We had 2 small children with us, and had it not been for the activities in the campground, they would have been very bored. Will stay again due to the campground alone.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
It was a great, clean campground. However the wifi never worked.
Aug 21, 2017
Facility is nice, many activities available for the kids. Some of the employees weren't the friendliest, most notable one lady at the front desk and one security guard. Probably will stay here again regardless, but a bit disappointing.
Aug 21, 2017
This is my second stay this year. Very clean and beautiful place. The staff is great and very helpful. We will definitely be going back!
Aug 21, 2017
The only thing I didn't like was there was 4 showers in the bath house, but 2 of them were broke. Other than that it was awesome. Staff was friendly and there was plenty of stuff for the kids to do!
Aug 21, 2017
Second time we have stayed with you. This time we came in for 4 nights. We had cabin 369. Felt very isolated. Requested different cabin. Women tile is their was nothing they could do. They were booked over weekend. I watched cabins around us fill up for a night or two then empty. Customer service from front desk sucked. Very dismissive and not willing to find alternative when most of cabins were e
Aug 21, 2017
We love staying but they really need to work on the bathrooms.There was only one shower working in the ladies an they need to put a small table or shelf to put your clothes an towel on so they donot get wet.
Aug 21, 2017
First time visiting and has a wonderful time. I think they need to explain the tubing a little. Its definitely not for beginners.
Aug 21, 2017
Checked in late. Next morning the outside was flooded mess from a water leak at our outside faucet. We alerted front desk. Maintenance came and couldn't fix right away. Staff luckily had cabin near us that came empty that morning. They cleaned it promptly and put us in it. Staff really handled best possible way they could. Had a great short weekend.
Aug 21, 2017
Lovely campground, we had a horrible site though. We were on 334, across from dumpster, smells bad and so many insects, spraying did not help and we did NOT sit outside. We should have asked to move to another site or ask for refund. Did neither. NO Cell coverage, overall, bathrooms clean, facilities clean, people nice. I should have complained !!
Aug 21, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award