Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2018
Everything was well with the exception of no wifi signal at camper. The team attempted to resolve with provider to no avail. This prevented me from completing the work I needed. This was not a real facility issue.
Aug 20, 2018
Great location, clean campground with friendly staff.
Aug 20, 2018
We were put in a site that was know by employees to have drainage issues!! The front of our site looked like a pond with ankle deep water!! Spoke with employees and was told welcome to koa Cherokee and was told it was a ongoing problem.. our worst stay at a campground ever!!
Aug 20, 2018
Staff not friendly and acted like they didn't wont to be work.
Aug 20, 2018
The cabin was lovely and clean. The bed was comfortable, the ac worked really, really well and the staff was just super friendly but there is no enforced quiet time, so having small or any children or adult not being able to sleep because you have literal neighbors next door vibrating your cabin bed and walls with techno and 4am drunken swears and WOOOOOOO really kills the family vacation feel.
Aug 20, 2018
Whoever deals with booking here is a HATEFUL girl who is very rude when she returns calls. The manager has their "minions" return calls instead of calling themselves. The outdoor pool is stained and reeks of urine. The site had a concrete bar across it that didn't allow our sewer pipe to drop like it should. Hard poplar buds and limbs fell from the trees all night. It was loud until 1AM.
Aug 20, 2018
We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks!
Aug 20, 2018
Our cabin was nice but got one with a tv so we could watch it at night or when it was raining. Tv did not work, went to the front desk and ask if someone could look at it. No body ever came. Lights above the bed didn’t work. Very disappointed in our stay this time.
Aug 20, 2018
We have been coming to this campground for about 20 yrs. We missed the last Four because of circumstances in our family and was excited about coming back this year. But, how disappointed we were. The manager is very rude and things have changed for the worse not better. The grill was closed from Tuesday until Friday at 12 because of employee issues and its no wonder with the manager. Wont be back
Aug 20, 2018
We loved this place but the last bath house at the back was terrible, no hot water for showers.
Aug 20, 2018
Fun things for kids to do. Few things I disliked was the pool and hot tub were very dirty especially the inside ones. The cable was very fuzzy kept cutting in and out. The pizza was great except took 30 minutes to get order and it got cold before they let it get cold.
Aug 20, 2018
Worst trip ever. No cable, campsite was run down, muddy. Sewer drains were full and running over when we tried to drain our holding tanks, sewage ran out all over the ground and my feet �� When I tried to speak to the manager they told me she was unavailable and would call me back. I have not received a call back yet. This campground is in bad shape, poor management!
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
It's been a family tradition. Wanted to show it to my granddaughter for the first time. She was just tickled to sleep in a bunk bed in a cabin.
Aug 19, 2018
Great camp with wonderful and helpful staff.
Aug 19, 2018
Very nice. Great service
Aug 19, 2018
We had an excellent time! There was so much to do within the campground and the views were awesome! We will definitely be returning.
Aug 19, 2018
Aug 18, 2018
8th year staying at Cherokee KOA Not as great as previous years. No cable!! Spoke with three employees with no luck. KOA can do better than that. Several campers really noisy, The worst were the campers that arrived very late at night around 2 pm. Will stay at Cherokee KOA again but hope for a better experience.
Aug 18, 2018
The bath house closest to the cabin was never thoroughly cleaned. The same clump of hair remained on the 2nd shower floor from Sunday- Thursday. Friday morning I arrived immediately after the cleaning. There was still toothpaste in the sink and more hair on the shower floors. The grounds were very well kept and all employees were friendly.
Aug 18, 2018
We had difficulties with our hitch when we were leaving and the maintenance crew were very helpful! We always enjoy are stay here:)
Aug 18, 2018
We hooked up our trailer at the site given us (95). I noticed a smell. The previous camper had emptied their sewer on the concrete pad. There was white debris all over the pad. Someone should check these sites before it is assigned to a camper. This KOA has people riding all over in golf carts but no one checked this site. There were also ants and bees at this site. I was stung by a bee.
Aug 18, 2018
Great place to stay but cable was not available the entire time I was there.
Aug 17, 2018
It is a nice place to camp, However, some of the staff were a little rude to some of my family. The playground equipment is in need of repair, the slides have cracks from top to bottom, or are broken from the supports. I did notice that some work has been done on the bath house, the showers are very nice.
Aug 17, 2018
Loved our premium deluxe cabin along the river! Having an indoor & outdoor pool was a luxury. However the pool water never looked like it was cleaned or treated the 5 days we were there. Trusted the river water more than the pools. The pond was awesome for fishing which was just restocked with trout. Some good catches for sure. You can get better firewood off sight.
Aug 17, 2018
I became sick and could not go out but still enjoyed looking out of windows to see all. Planning to go back soon. The grounds were clean and all employees so kind. I highly recommend this location to anyone who loves the mountains.
Aug 17, 2018
The only thing I wasn't happy with was our site location. We were way away from the other tents at site 361 by the pond gates and everyone kept parking their golf carts in our tent site. It wasn't that bad though. The rest was absolutely amazing. The kids had so much fun. The water slide was a big hit for them. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Cherokee
Aug 17, 2018
Paid for river accesd but could not access river Cable service did not work Bath house to small, could never get in to use facilities Bath house hot. Had new ac unit but never was on Pool and hot tub was dirty and we was afraid to get in Employee that come to fix cable was rude and not interested that our tv would not work, he only insisted that it should and rode off.
Aug 17, 2018
power kept going off took three times for them to fix breaker box next day no cable over priced did have a nice concrete pad
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Check-in/ check-out was very easy. My grandchildren loved camping by and being in the river. TV service in cabin worked great. Dishes, pots and pans were like new. Having a fire pit on the patio outside our cabin was wonderful. We made s'mores both nights we were there. Even though the cabins were close together, they were angled in a way that made you feel like you had your own private space.
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Misleading info on camp site , pond site but chain link fence between site and pond ,fish cleaning station next site using same water takeoff no pressure on site and next to dumpster. This was a " Premium back in site #96" Next time some place else! Ps person in office was no help said it was "cement pad so it was premium" also cleaning station was open to anyone thru the open gate. Safe ?
Aug 16, 2018
Had a wonderful stay. Very cozy and rekindled childhood memories. Could use more showers however.
Aug 16, 2018
bathrooms were gross, need to be cleaned every 2 hours with the amt of traffic; no soap ever in bathrooms; no maintenance upkeep on the grounds, bathroom, coin laundry, pool, or slide
Aug 15, 2018
For the cost of the deluxe patio site I was disappointed with the Cable TV quality (snowy picture). The fire pit on the patio was dug to deep so after rainfall it would fill with 3 inches of water rendering it unusable. Teens were permitted to repeatedly cruise the campground roads on golf carts playing music for the sole purpose of entertainment. Unnecessary risk for a congested campground.
Aug 15, 2018
We’ve stayed at this camp ground every year for 5 years and have always had a great experience. However, this time we felt things had changed. It was not kept up as well as in the past. The laundry area was dirty, the vending machines were empty, including the change machine. Overall our experience was a disappointment and we likely won’t be back.
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Cabin was nice, great view, far from bath house. Bath house was newly renovated, not too messy, (usual daily mess). Showers could use more shelving or hooks. Tubing was fun, cold, and a little dangerous (some shallow spots could cause visitors to slip and fall). My biggest issue was waiting in line at the counter at the office and getting someone to answer the phones when I had a question.
Aug 15, 2018
One of the most beautiful, relaxing places we have ever stayed. The staff is incredible! Everyone is so friendly and they pay great attention to detail. I would highly recommend this little gem! We have already reserved a cabin for next year!
Aug 15, 2018
Our site was perfect. It had enough room to grill and enjoy the fresh air
Aug 15, 2018
Most of the staff was rude and unprofessional. There were only a select few that were great. The grounds need to be cleaned properly. The showers were freezing cold. We will not be staying there again.
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
We enjoyed out stay very much. Staff working the grounds were friendly and made you feel welcome and wanted to make sure your needs were taken care of. Can't say that for the people working the check-in area. I would not recommend sites 94 and back because of the dumpster and fish cleaning being located 3 or 4 sites below, very unpleasant to smell. Beautiful location/kept clean. First visit
Aug 15, 2018
This is a great facility, in general. We stayed in a deluxe cabin with loft, since we don’t have an RV. There was some pre-existing floor damage near the bathroom/kitchen, presumably related to water from either the shower or the sink. Otherwise the cabin was a nice accommodation. The outside pool was great, but the indoor pool was frankly gross. Lots of activity options for kids.
Aug 15, 2018
Pool was nasty not well maintain the whirlpool had kids playing in it and brown stuff bubbling on surface not well kept will not stay there again.
Aug 15, 2018
I have been staying here for 25 years and always find the people very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would like to see is when trying to make a reservation I have left messages and it takes 2 or 3 times before I can get a call back. It would be nice if you could speak with someone during business hours.
Aug 14, 2018
a million kids running around on bikes in and out of traffic. Staging area tight for larger trailers. Not motorcycle friendly. Golf carts running around faster than us on motorcycles but they kept nagging us about going too fast. Not sure I would come back to this KOA again.
Aug 14, 2018
When we arrived at the campground it was very busy with children unsupervised, riding bikes and running in the road, not watching for cars. Felt very unsafe driving a vehicle through the park. Our site itself was nice, concrete pad was level and easy access. The grounds were clean and well maintained. Did not feel they appreciated us having motorcycles on site. Most of the staff was pleasant.
Aug 14, 2018
TV cable. Was not. Good. Very. Disappointed
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals