Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 08, 2018
This KOA has such great potential. Located on a beautiful river in a great area. We had been coming here for years and actually stopped 3 or 4 years ago when the owners changed due to poor service and rude staff. This past week we decided to give it another chance to see if this had improved. No change still rude and if there is an issue the GM makes it your fault and takes no ownership at all.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
Lots of fun for kids and families. Great location, close to lots of mountain towns and activities. Campsite was well maintained and clean. Helpful and friendly staff.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
Loved the cabin on the rushing river. Very beautiful. Cabin was very nice and clean.
Apr 07, 2018
A little pricey but with kids is a great place to stay.
Apr 07, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
We enjoyed the campsite. Especially when it stormed - the sand helped drain the site well. The only downsides we saw to our stay were related to the age of some of the amenities that need to be updated and that we did not know our campsite number and arrived later than expected then had to move our camp after setup. Recommend sending site number with confirmation email.
Apr 07, 2018
Something has changed for the worst in last 2 years. We come few times every year and stay. But this may be our last time. Something in management has changed for the worst.
Apr 07, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
Had a water leak inside camper the first thing after hooking up. Management was very helpful in steering me to someone to get it fixed. On the second day a breaker kept tripping on the power box outside. Management was very quick to fix the problem. Looking forward to our next trip to this KOA.
Apr 07, 2018
The only issue was the chlorine level in the indoor pool. It was so strong that it burned my child’s skin and caused a rash that lasted two days. Everything else was wonderful!
Apr 07, 2018
Lots of amenities, good RV sites, friendly staff
Apr 06, 2018
Our home away from home, The Bakers Port Charlotte Florida
Apr 06, 2018
The campground is in a great place. I love the Smokies and the Cherokee area. The window in our cabin would not shut completely and the post on the porch was completely unsecured. No screws or nails in it at all. It fell one time and almost hit my truck. We put it back and notified camp officials at the office multiple times. As of our departure it had still not been fixed. Thats my only complaint
Apr 06, 2018
Happy
Apr 06, 2018
Apr 06, 2018
Repeat customers. Loved all the improvements. Great customer service. Our cabin was clean and well-stocked. Grounds and indoor pool were well cared for. Beds were comfy, towels were fluffy, & the only thing that could use improvement is the wifi. Just not enough signal to stay connected without frustration. We will be back & would definitely recommend this KOA to our family & friends.
Apr 05, 2018
The campground is very well layed out. The property is clean & well kept. The staff & maintenance personnel are very friendly, helpful, & courteous. The only, & terribly gross, problem is the fact that the staff doesn't enforce their rule that states that campers must clean up after their dogs. So if you don't mind walking in dog feces, it's a great place to camp.
Apr 05, 2018
Apr 05, 2018
Great stay. Good staff this year!!
Apr 05, 2018
My original campsite that I was assigned to was way too small to accommodate me but they corrected it went well above beyond what they needed to do to make me comfortable
Apr 05, 2018
Apr 05, 2018
We had a wonderful stay! Looking forward to coming back!
Apr 04, 2018
We added another night to our stay and the rate jumped from $150 that we paid for Fri, Sat, Sun night to $239 per night for a Monday night WOW it looks like KOA would work with people that stays with them frequently. Also for a place of that price, we came back to find ants, the kitchen and bathroom walls were covered in them. We like staying with KOA but the customer service & pricing needs help!
Apr 04, 2018
I was contacted 2 wks before arrival to preregister. Was told I owed $307 more. The total originally quoted was $294 of which I had paid $147. 3 phone calls later it was fixed. Upon arrival was told we were in Cabin 308. Found out there is no Cabin 308.We were in Cabin 382. There are a group of us that go every year, never had any problems before. Several others in our group had problems also..
Apr 04, 2018
Apr 04, 2018
We really enjoyed our site. It was a challenge to get into since our escort took us in backwards, but we managed to get it turned around and set up. Thanks to all the staff they assisted us in many ways. With providing a power adapter (put us on a 50amp site we only had 30amp) to delivering firewood and assisting us with extra tools when our electric step refused to retract upon our departure.
Apr 04, 2018
Everything was nice we just had a little ant problem that no one could help but we battled ants in our bags the whole trip. Cabin was nice and we would stay there again and we appreciated the dog bowls provided. It made everyone of our members feel special!
Apr 03, 2018
Cherokee KOA is one of our favorite (maybe our favorite) camps within the KOA family. This is a friendly site with many amenities, not just for kids, but adults alike.
Apr 03, 2018
At check in the boy running the desk tried to over charge me $100 for our four night stay, I brought up my reservation on my phone and he said Oh, ok, I guess I can honor that." Strange! Bathrooms were super nice and clean. Mountains surrounding where beautiful. Fished on Sunday but we didn't catch anything.Don't book a site by the ponds, you will hear the noise from the street ALL night long
Apr 03, 2018
Apr 03, 2018
Pros:Very clean with one exception. Great WiFi. Excellent Bath/Shower facilities! Cons: Gates to trout ponds locked due to some feud with the Cherokee tribe when fishing can begin first thing in the morning. Campground wide movie noise past 9 p.m.? Fish cleaning station not maintained and disgusting. Extremely rude staff member. Advice: Hire Southern hospitality & the welcoming Cherokee.
Apr 03, 2018
A little bit of heaven!
Apr 03, 2018
This was a great time with my daughters- The facility had great amenities as well as being clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.
Apr 03, 2018
The campground is very dark at night so I would recommend a few street lights or require children to attach some kind of lighting to their bicycles so that they are more visible at night. Otherwise we had a great stay very clean and everyone was friendly
Apr 03, 2018
Everyone was very helpful. Loved that they enforce the quite time rule. Will go back again. Susan
Apr 03, 2018
It was very busy when we checked, but the staff did a great job staying organized and courteous. Everything was well taken care of in the campground, couldn’t ask for a better place.
Apr 02, 2018
We throughly enjoyed ourselves. Will be back again
Apr 02, 2018
Pricey!!!
Apr 02, 2018
Horrible stay. When making reservations,told one price and paid deposit,but when we arrived was told a different amount and had to pay more.have been staying at koa every year for 20+ years and this stay was the worst.had the gates to the ponds locked so campers couldn't access the ponds unless the went through the front of the campground. Horrible way to treat guests
Apr 02, 2018
We have stayed at this KOA multiple times. This time there were numerous issues with our entire group. The rates have increased significantly. The fishermen in our group were told they would not be allowed to participate in the fishing tournament.(One reason we were there). Multiple problems with the reservations and charges, long waits checking in and in the store(nobody else in line).
Apr 02, 2018
WON'T BE BACK, Management lacks professionalism!!!!
Apr 02, 2018
Mis handled reservations. Over charged. Harrassed by staff. Express check in (joke) took 45minutes to leave office on arrival. Charged for creek side cabin (didn't stay near a creek). ALL soap dispensers in ALL restrooms were empty. NO signage on roads stating One Way.. Harrassed about travel directions within park. Cabin doors not accessible by children.(wouldn't open). Rats under cabin, photos!
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
My only complaint was that they had activities planned and when I asked about them no one knew what the activity was or where it was going to be.
Apr 02, 2018
Besides the surprise fishing tournament right behind us it was clean,the staff was friendly(Cindy was super nice),and there was plenty to do.Would go again.
Apr 02, 2018
Apr 02, 2018
I was overcharged they would not give me my military discount I was charge for other charges that I was not aware of did not get the camping spot that I paid for I was supposed to be in on the river nearly $200 for two nights day not happy
Apr 02, 2018
We were double booked, we could not get theough the fence at the pond till after 8:15, which means I had to walk all the way around the camp ground to get to the pond. Also we were unable to make a reservation for next year which we have done for the last 12 years. We will not be back next year.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award