Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 05, 2019
Jun 04, 2019
The friendliness of the staff was what I first noticed. A host to escort you to your site and assist with pulling in was really nice. The concrete pads offer a good, clean site. The bathhouses were clean and well kept. Plenty of room at the pool and quite large. It was a nice, relaxing weekend.
Jun 04, 2019
Had a great time. Grand babies loved staying here and we are already book for 4th of July and cant wait to come back.
Jun 03, 2019
We always love it there and are planning our return
Jun 03, 2019
We stayed in a pull-through site. The site was very large and had a great table and fire pit. The grounds were well maintained and all the staff was friendly and courteous. Definitely would stay again if in the area.
Jun 03, 2019
Friendly staff, clean facilities and lots of activities.
Jun 03, 2019
I made a reservation online, which I will never do again. When I made the reservation the picture that was next to the one I chose had a nice little patio next to the paved pull thru area. When we arrived we found our spot at the very back of the campground. We just barely were able to fit in the spot between two trees and the hook ups. There were plenty of other sites available in the campground
Jun 03, 2019
Jun 02, 2019
Well maintained the staff was very friendly and professional
Jun 02, 2019
Exceptional campground in a great area. Campground was full and clean.
Jun 02, 2019
Very nice facilities. Clean and plenty of things to do.
Jun 01, 2019
Fun campground. Would love to see a kitty pool or some splash toys for toddlers. Campsites were very nice, only complaint was the picnic table needed to be replaced (chips of wood gone from the top, not convenient for sitting stuff on).
Jun 01, 2019
Beautiful place and great people
May 31, 2019
Very nice place to stay. Very friendly.
May 30, 2019
e have been to Cherokee several times and had a great experience each time. I would have given a 5 star rating but on our departure day the ladies rest room was horrible and I had to stand outside and let my wife and daughter use the men's. Hopefully this was just a timing issue.
May 30, 2019
amazing holiday weekend. Love this place!
May 30, 2019
Very nice campground but the staff was very unorganized and could not answer any questions!
May 30, 2019
Great kids had a ball
May 30, 2019
One of our favorite KOA’s!
May 30, 2019
May 30, 2019
A previous employee booked my stay in a 20ft site when I requested a 38ft 5th wheel. Was accommodated in another site the workers behind were very nice people and helpful they are good for your koa brand. We will stay again this year nice place and they are doing things to make it even better
May 30, 2019
We always enjoy staying at the Cherokee KOA. The staff is very kind and willing to help in any way. If you enjoy fishing then this is the place to stay! We will return!!
May 30, 2019
The staff was super friendly and had a great time
May 30, 2019
Worst camping experience imaginable. Site 96, memorial weekend The only site in the house where you are directly next to a dumpster, fish cleaning station, and porta potty. And because that's not enough, the fish cleaning station water supply is out so people felt free to disconnect our water house to tap into our water. Complained, never heard back from anyone. No one cared. Stay away.
May 30, 2019
This is a large park and has enough space to handle everyone. We stayed for Memorial Day weekend and didn't feel overwhelmed.
May 30, 2019
Great experience, as always.
May 30, 2019
May 30, 2019
If the check in and information office would stay open later than 7pm, it would make it a lot better.
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
been a lot of improvement since last time I stay there I like the changes they doing good I'll be back:):):)
May 29, 2019
The road ti this KOA is very narrow and curvy. Some of the curves are very sharp. The campground is large and a great place for kids. Many activities, pools, flat roads for kids to ride their bikes. We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and it was packed with many kids. Our site was a FHU concrete pad, pull thru. Probably will not return because of the roads to get there.
May 29, 2019
Filthy Bathrooms...Filthy Pool..No soap in bathrooms the entire lenght of our stay. Campsites never picked up after guests leave...a watermelon was left to rot out in a neighboring site two days after campers left. Staff not providing proper information...for example..we were told that the tubes were not being rented because the river was too cold and the next day people seemed to be renting the
May 29, 2019
I don't know seem to be the answer of the memorial weekend how much is firewood I don't know will the grill reopen for dinner I don't know can you ask someone I don't know seriously wish I made that all up I didn't y'all got rid of our favorite family things kiddy splash pad I have babies 1 and 3 year old they can not stand in 3 ½ ft water got rid of convenient store for little things in forget
May 29, 2019
Not happy with the site # 269 too small for my camper, and why is a site with just grass the same price as one with concrete? The gentleman who tried to show me where my site was got lost 3 times. The big problem was when we were dumping getting ready to leave, the drain was stopped up and not screwed in good in the ground and it came loose and covered my shoes and pants. please call me.
May 29, 2019
Our cabin was in full sun which made it unbearably hot. Our sisters cabin had air conditioning that did not work all weekend. The pool was very cloudy.
May 29, 2019
Lots of activities, prices on rentals seem a little steep. Love the staff.
May 29, 2019
We had a beautiful and clean cabin. The staff on duty were all very helpful and polite. Rachel was very exceptionally helpful! We were escorted to our site and everything was really nicely set up and clean. The bed in our cabin was very restful!!! Next time I will take my own gas grill. The grill was very dirty and knobs did not work properly. Definitely will become a regular KOA for us!
May 28, 2019
kt503 - missing dust pan, ac unit too loud, fan in back BR makes too much noise, back 3 windows not lockable, weber grill gas timer never timed out, no wifi in cabin. dog park needs more grass. dog poop all over camp. nice pool, hot showers, sturdy furniture, comfy bed, clean cabin, friendly staff, love the smores, great events, overall a clean campground. We will be back. campfire smoke overwhelm
May 28, 2019
This is our third year staying and always have a great time. Staff are wonderful! Location is awesome! Hoping to make this an annual family tradition.
May 28, 2019
Stay was great. We had a 2 bedroom deluxe cabin on the river. Had some problems with check in due to staff not knowing how to run credit card machine and I got charged twice. Also, Need to Reopen the kiddie pool Bc kids are using hot tubs as play pools. Need to have a 16 or older on the hot tubs. Lots of kids with no parental supervision Bring back milkshake machines. No more tubing Bc of idiots
May 28, 2019
Stayed in cabin 13 , the mens bath house next to it was dirty the 5 days i was there with same trash in the floor on last day as was the first plus more , ceiling leaking over urinal and commode .showers had cans , bottles , paper and other trash . I watched the workers on 3 occasions go in there to clean but no change , even was leaving once when she was coming in to clean and was asked if empty
May 28, 2019
While in the park I used the bathroom located at the pool area and noticed it was plugged up I told the guys working in the shop and he said you told the wrong person I’m not putting down my spatula and removing my apron to unclog a toilet I said pass it along to someone who will not a friendly bunch
May 28, 2019
We had 2 sites and a cabin and 7 children the oldest one was 12. The kids had a great time with everything there was to do in the campground. All the adults had a great time also. The kids could bide their bikes and play games have some freedom. The weather couldn't have been better. On Friday the circuit breaker got hot and tripped for the camper and they came over and replaced right away.
May 28, 2019
The only thing that was really bad was the mattress!!! For the cost !! Other than that we enjoy KOA ��
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
We had a great stay, and I would have given a 5 except for the bathrooms. They were poorly stocked and in the morning they were gross. I would suggest that as soon as the workers come in that their first job to be to check the bathrooms. If they had been clean as soon as the workers started around 8:00 it would not have been such an inconvenience. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay!
May 28, 2019
It was a last minute booking and we’re glad we did bc it was an excellent weekend
May 28, 2019
The staff is awesome at the front desk. Rachel had to fix a problem with a booking. Handled it like a pro!!!!! Thank you
May 27, 2019
Loved it there! We were on the river.....large sites, good location, quiet, good bathrooms/showers, helpful staff. Only caution - no AT&T signal & I will make sure not to reserve an RV site next to a cabin. Internet was decent.....
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals