Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2017
People were great very nice and quick with any problem. Cabin was not all that clean when we arrived but a. Dry nice place to stay
Oct 16, 2017
Awesome as always we love it here
Oct 16, 2017
Great cabin at a family friendly campground with tons to see and do all around the area!
Oct 16, 2017
The bathrooms were very nice with clean floors, stalls, and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was large, quiet at night. My only complaint is when it rained, there was drainage. Nowhere for the rain to goâlots of puddles & mud, so even after the rain we couldn't enjoy our firepit area.
Oct 16, 2017
I have stayed here many times and for the first time I didnât feel welcomed. Nobody really said hello, they all seemed to be in a hurry to go somewhere in their golf carts. When we waited for an escort, he took of and left us. With a 5mph speed zone we couldnât keep up. Luckily I knew where the site was. WiFi is non existent, shouldnât advertise as having it or charging for it.
Oct 16, 2017
We spent this past weekend at your campgrounds and it was AMAZING!!! We had the best time. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the showers and bathrooms are spotless clean. We can't wait to get back to the mountains and to your campgrounds. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time plan on coming back again We really enjoy going to KOA us and we will add this one on our return list most definitely.. Everything was clean and everyone was very friendly definitely five star
Oct 16, 2017
Everything was amazing!
Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful weekend at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! The camping cabin that we rented was quaint but perfect for what we needed. The bathrooms were the nicest of any campground I've ever stayed at by far. And although the campground was packed, we still felt as if we had plenty of space and it was quiet at night. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!
Oct 16, 2017
We came up to fish the KOA trout tournament and advised the tournament would be held Friday, Came up Thursday night and upon the Office opening on Friday I went in to pay entry fee and was told tournament was Saturday. Several others at counter were misadvised, but all 3 Employees denied misinforming. Provided a Rules sheet-whole thing was aweful-start time, fish overfeed prior to stocking.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Our first time and we loved it. Our cabin was perfect. The bathrooms were clean. Only a few things to note: One family several cabins down from us left tons of food outside 24/7, including overnight. Ya'll should not let that happen. Gross & attracts critters. Pool & sauna water looked a bit green. Quiet hours aren't very quiet but it's OK: everyone's having fun. We really enjoyed our stay.
Oct 16, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay, there was plenty to keep the kids busy. The showers and bathrooms are kept very clean. The campground was very clean with mutiple dumpster sites to take trash to so it doesn't stay at your site. We will definitely stay again.
Oct 16, 2017
This was our first experience at a KOA campground. And we were beyond satisfied! There was plenty for the kids to do and the space and campsites were very well maintained. The showers were a little dirty, but overall ok. Can't wait to come back!
Oct 16, 2017
Wife took a real bad fall off the step coming out of the cabin...hit my head on the over hang outside of the cabin 3 times..other wise great stay
Oct 16, 2017
The Cherokee KOA has long been a favorite but this stay was not up to par. The bathhouses were low or out of soap and dirty most of our stay. A shower was stuck on full blast and running hot which made the building a sauna. A remodeled bathhouse was nicer but still unkept. I'm hopeful though, there were renovations being done on the office/store so hopefully the campground was in mid upgrade.
Oct 16, 2017
My wife and I had a really great time there. The camping cabin was nice, bathrooms were always clean, and the campgrounds and trees were beautiful. The only drawback to the entire weekend was that my wife got quite a few bed bug bites the last day we were there. Although that happened, we still will return, maybe with a bug bomb next time.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
First site had water on the ground, second site was almost muddy. Should have an adults only hot tub hour or actually stop kids without parents present from being in it. Quite hours not enforced. Tons of noise at 6:45am, like kids on bikes and yelling and people packing campers up. Shower house was nice but the fan made a bunch of noise. Not one of my favorite KOA's, not my least favorite either.
Oct 16, 2017
It was great, my boys had a great time, lots to do! Cabin was clean and bathrooms and showers were nice. Staff was very helpful!
Oct 16, 2017
The wifi needs to be addressed it is very bad service , with no excuses it could be much better , there was water pressure problems with friends site etc. Becarefull camping under Walnut trees my camper took a beating and vehicle , the staff was friendly and very professional and very helpful
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Very nice leveled concrete site. Location adjacent to many attractions.
Oct 15, 2017
We had a great time!! We love the indoor pool, the bouncy pillow, and the banana bikes. The stafff was also extremely nice. I did not like that the builders started hammering in the morning while I was still trying to sleep. I think that they should wait to make loud construction noises until at least 9:00. People go on campus my trips to relax and do not want to be awoken by hammering.
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed our trip, however several of the tent sites are too small for large tents. The site that I was assigned to had no grass at all. All it had was mud and roots. I had to put my tent on my sisterâs site which was next to us.
Oct 15, 2017
Such a treat...beautiful campground and the staff was so kind courteous and helpful
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
The only negative is we always stay in a deluxe cottage/cabin on the river and the Wi-Fi is nearly non existent so it makes it hard to work or keep up with emails. Other than that love the place.
Oct 14, 2017
KOA store closed way to early. No coffee no one know how to fix the machine. Nice clean restrooms and showers. Really friendly staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Beautiful area, peaceful campground.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 13, 2017
Arrived 5pm Tuesday with no food on board RV. Found shop shut and restaurant shut. RV too large to take into town Security recommended a take away from town but they refused to deliver to site. Toilets and hookups OK but Internet weak. No bus service as advertised. Had to take taxi at $25 each way. So a remote site with few facilities in Octobet
Oct 13, 2017
We checked in late, (10:15pm) the 2 gentlemen who checked us in were great. They took time to show us around, pointed out where everything was and made sure we were comfortable once we set up camp. Only problem we had was with someone staying in a cabin behind us, complaining we were making too much noise as we were setting up. We were done by 11:00pm.
Oct 13, 2017
The stay was as usual good. Only thing I can complain about is the walnut trees over where we parked at our cabin. Those walnuts beat or cars to death so I moved them. To keep them from damaging our cars. Cabin 243 is nice, river front. The people in the cabin next to us didn't barely give us any room to get in and out. Had to drive by them to get to our parking.
Oct 12, 2017
Oct 12, 2017
It has an indoor pool and the campground is nice
Oct 12, 2017
Extremely kind and helpful staff!
Oct 12, 2017
WiFi, cable, hot tub didnât work or kept breaking down with confrontations with employee when reporting. A problem with there system for scheduling I was told I had 15 minutes to produce a receipt or get out of the camp ground, when I had scheduled to be there,very rude! Other than the one office girl all other employee were helpful and courteous. And the ground were nice.
Oct 11, 2017
My grandchildren wanted to see the mountains and I had been to Cherokee before so I chose to take them there. They really enjoyed the trip.
Oct 11, 2017
Great Place bad WiFi. Very bad.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
The campground is nice. The bathrooms were not cleaned very well at all, it was signed out that staff was cleaning them but the same big balls of hair were in the shower the entire 6 days of our stay. Also there was construction noise from the front office until after 9 pm one evening which did not make for a relaxing time by our fire that we had planned.
Oct 11, 2017
I was thrilled about my stay until I went to check in and the lady told me someone made a mistake on my reservation.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 11, 2017
Staff super friendly, campground very clean and well kept, beautiful scenery. Bath houses clean and readily accessible. Plenty of camping supplies and groceries at the KOA store made things very convenient. Will definitely be back in the future.
Oct 11, 2017
Nice place that's VERY well hidden in the mountains. Tons of room and lots of sites / choices on where to stay. Office staff was very friendly and helpful, and support staff was great after hours. Only downside is the WiFi. It's so bad I think they should just consider getting rid of it altogether, rathe than "try' and make it work.
Oct 11, 2017
Charging for every additional person stating "for extra service", but don't have enough stuff to simply serve and clean up; toilets simply run out soup for 1,5 days. Many tries with falling nuts over and damaging the vehicles, I tried to park 5-7 feet apart to save my car and I have been advised that my car will be town away :( and who's going to pay for the damage-it's your unexpected experiences
Oct 10, 2017
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Kottage in the river had fire rings removed. My family goes to KOA for a camping experience and most of our meals are planned to be cooked on the campfire. We were told there was. "Community fire" on the patio. It was gas logs. Very disappointed in the lack of fire pits and that we weren't notified of this ahead of time.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award