Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2019
Bed bugs, bathrooms dirty. Campsites muddy.. maintenance staff was very nice
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Been staying in KOA in Cherokee for a while.there has been upgrades to the campground which is great but it has also caused the rates to go up.sorry to say that we want be staying as much as we use to.
Jul 06, 2019
Very clean facilities.. views are amazing and no matter how big your rig is they have a spot for you! We took advantage of the 5.00 shuttle to town to shop and was glad we did t have to try and navigate our RV in the shopping center!!!
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Friendly staff. Good activities. Very clean. Pool showing it's age.
Jul 05, 2019
We love the KOA camp ground. It's so kid friendly and pet friendly. We had a ball tubing!! We brought bikes and it gave our kids a way to travel all over the camp ground!! Loved that there was a dog park. My dogs were able to run and play while getting to see the kids play on the pillow trampoline!! We will definitely be back next summer!!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
The campground was great, unfortunately it rained the first two days we were there making the ground kind of muddy at the campsite. We made the best of bad weather and gave us a good mini-vacation. Thanks for being there. Dale
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
We had a great time and will be looking forward to our next trip to Cherokee!
Jul 05, 2019
Great as always!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground. Lots of activities. However the campstore closed at 6PM which was too early considering it takes 15m to go into town for anything. We never had usable cable for entire 8 days and the wifi signal is very poor. The indoor pool water needs a much better filtering and chlorination system. Gotta pick up game on the amenities to charge these prices.
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground with tons to do. My only complaint is RV 36’ towing (they usually add 10’ for tow) was placed in site 229 which at MAX can have 38” backed as far as the stops. Too tight at $90 a night. (I did complain multiple times but too full to move). Next sites 230-234 are really large and nice.
Jul 04, 2019
A lot of work going on. Outdoor pool was closed for half our stay. No internet. Office/store closing at 6 during the summer is just silly.
Jul 04, 2019
We stayed for 5 nights. We had a perfect spot on the river. Thank you to Rachel for upgrading us there!!! Only down fall at this KOA, the cabin did not have AC. If we didn’t bring our dogs it wouldn’t have bothered us since it cools down at night. Beautiful area, nice to see the Elk. Our girls liked this KOA a lot and request to visit again next year, same time since they’ve made camp friend
Jul 04, 2019
I was shocked to be charged an extra $3.50 per night for resort fees that were not indicated on the web site when I booked my reservation. I believe I should have been told when I booked. I know it's not much extra , it the principal.
Jul 04, 2019
Had a great time. The staff was all very nice and our dogs loved it so much one of them took off on a walkabout and we had to hunt him down.
Jul 04, 2019
We loved staying in the deluxe cabins. Brought our dog. It was true family fun. Fishing great. Need to supply the cabins with a large bowl for cooking and serving, and a pitcher for tea. Very clean campground.Thanks
Jul 04, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. After we left we missed it so much we tried to change our plans just to go back and stay longer!
Jul 04, 2019
Loved the campgrounds. The pool needs to be supervised! Lots of kids with no parents. Also it was very hard to find. My phone,iPad or on star wouldn’t work in the mountains. I finally got through to the campground and she gave me the wrong directions. It took us 2 extra hours to find you once we got in Cherokee.
Jul 03, 2019
A fine 4-day stay. Only downside was poor cell service (AT&T) and no real other option but to drive several miles into the village to call and wait for a return call. Medical issue.
Jul 03, 2019
Tried calling several times. They did t return messages. The spots are muddy. There is a fence around the ponds. Very misleading.
Jun 30, 2019
I think we just happened to get the worse site on the campground. The website is a little deceptive in explaining when you choose your site. The pond sites back up to an ugly, broken Chain linked fence with barbed wire running in top, but at the same time , the gate was left open allowing access to the campground from the highway. The table on site was coated with slime, needed cleaning.
Jun 29, 2019
very clean public areas,... and friendly staff... nice camping spots always enjoy my stay at Cherokee KOA
Jun 28, 2019
Cabin très sympa mais manque : - de siège à balanc sous le porche et cruellement de tablette pour poser les affaires ... - absence totale d’un lieu ou faire la vaisselle - par votre sanitaires et douches excellents et très propres Enfin gentillesse du personnel ! Merci
Jun 28, 2019
Terrible site(s93) broken unlevel pad, huge deep puddle in road in front of site. Site s93 should not be used in bad weather. I would never stay there again even if it was free.
Jun 28, 2019
Great campground and staff was super friendly. Will return soon for another stay.
Jun 28, 2019
Pretty nice campground in a nice location. Lots of activities for the kids. Would benefit with a life guard on staff at the outdoor pool, kids were a little rowdy in the slide area. If you don’t pay for one of the really nice sites or a pull through you are really gambling because there are some pretty tiny and terrible back in sites. We did not use the on site bathhouses so I cannot comment
Jun 28, 2019
Park was cleaned up from our last stay. They had removed almost all of the permanent sites .Looked much better.
Jun 28, 2019
It would have been nice to know about activities planned on the site ahead of time because we didn't get in until 2am Saturday June 22nd. Maybe if there is a schedule for activities, sending that information in an email or placing it in reservation paperwork would have been great. Other than that, the ministry volunteers on site were amazing and so helpful. The front desk lady was the sweetest!
Jun 28, 2019
We stayed 2 nights. Very quiet. Loved watching all the kids play. Clean and orderly.
Jun 27, 2019
The facilities were clean and well kept. We were disappointed to find out that tubing (transportation up the river) to be dropped off or pick up was not available anymore. This is one reason we choose the campground. We were quickly taken to our spot but we were never offered a handout on camping activities. Deborah (employee) was very helpful and attentive. I give her five stars.
Jun 27, 2019
It was nice but the pool bathrooms were gross and the sliding doors for the indoor pool didn’t all open. The tubing was hard with young kids since there was no way to know when or where to exit. There should be signs or an exit point. The activities at night were loud and past quiet time for the movie without notice. The fire wood is expensive and didn’t burn good. The store closed early one n
Jun 27, 2019
Beautiful stream. Convenient to national park. Fun for fishing.
Jun 27, 2019
Jun 26, 2019
The staff up front was definitely not hospitable. The a/c in the master room of our cabin wouldn’t cool. The maintenance couldn’t fix it, said it’s broken and there is nothing they could do about it. Summer and lI paid extra for a cabin w a/c. My family has been coming to the Cherokee KOA since the early 80’s, 40 to 50 family members at a time. The campground has definitely not what it use
Jun 26, 2019
Jun 26, 2019
This was our first time at this campground. We had a site next to the trout ponds in site 58. There was several other sites available that we would have loved cause this one was covered in poison oak. But we were only there for 3 nights so we tried to make the best of it. The staff were all very friendly and the grounds were kept clean.
Jun 26, 2019
Loved every minute of it. Already scheduled next visit.
Jun 25, 2019
Horrible. We have stayed here for 5-6 years, and more than once on two occasions. We will NOT be back. Were placed on a muddy/unkempt (PREMIUM) site, it was covered with tree mess and mud, Camper was too long for the site so had to park our truck in the mud at the side of the road. No WIFI or internet from Sat on - we left early - on Sunday, unresponsive staff sealed the deal. Poor example of KOA.
Jun 25, 2019
This campground has declined. WiFi ceased to work, cable went out on several occasions and channels were not correct as in the guide. The cable channels would skip. The store was poorly stocked and poorly arranged with check in at the entrance which made it difficult for customers to go in and out. Grounds need a lot of maintenance. This being our third trip here, we were disappointed.
Jun 25, 2019
Stayed in a deluxe cabin, while other family members stayed in a camper. Had a wonderful time - even in the rain, we were able to tube, swim and watch movies under the stars. Our cabin fit our needs to the 4 nights we were there. It was clean & everything was in working order. As we were leaving, my great nephews asked if we could do this again. Definitely! (wish ice cream shop was open later)
Jun 25, 2019
Good, but the bathrooms by the pool were filthy when we arrived. Would have liked the option of AC in the cabins.
Jun 25, 2019
Asked to be moved fro. The cabin we had. It was musty smelling and it bothered my allergies. They took hours to tell us nothing was available
Jun 25, 2019
We had a premier RV pull thru site. We have a 40 ft motor home. The site was very small. The patio, fire pit and picnic table were located toward the back if the site- nowhere near the awning or door to out RV. When we put put chairs put under the awning we had to navigate around tree roots. The ground was in legal. We paid for a better site but as we walked around we had the worse site in the par
Jun 25, 2019
Everything was wonderful except the WiFi and Cable went out, which my husband needs for work. We still had a blast! It was our first time in our new RV and the staff were extremely helpful. We will definitely be back!
Jun 24, 2019
The location is great with access to Mingo Falls trail, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and the town of Cherokee. The patio spaces are fabulous - lots of room between campers. The only suggestions I would make are that the ice cream shop be open later than 5/6pm during the summer and the outdoor pool looked green, but it has rained so much not sure that that is possible to keep clean.