Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2018
Wonderful stay as usual, and staff was friendly. However the grill service was terrible. It took 10-15 minutes to get noticed to take my order and then it took 45 minutes to get our order. everyone who came up to order had the same problem. Would have been different if they were swamped but only a few people were ordering. Food was good but serviced not good at the grill.
Oct 23, 2018
Events are very organized. Staff is wonderful.
Oct 23, 2018
Only real complaint I had was my daughters and I tried to park our bikes up by office for just a minute and while I can appreciate that there is a bike rack about 150 ft away or so, it was full of bikes. Our bikes combined cost is about $3000 so didn’t feel comfortable leaving them anywhere but by office. Had a KOA employee tell me very rudely in my opinion that we needed to park them elsewhere.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
the restaurant and store has the slowest service that I have ever experienced.
Oct 23, 2018
Enjoyed the stay wish we could of rented a golf cart but at 100$ per 24 hrs seemed Ridiculous
Oct 22, 2018
After multiple complaints to the staff by us and others regarding the restrooms, nothing was done about it. Also asked for someone to fix power at our campsite pole which was out, no one ever came after three days. The restrooms we not cleaned, 3 seats I tried to use were broken. Both the mens and womens restrooms smelled of urine. Watched several people walk in and out of bathrooms saying no way
Oct 22, 2018
This is most likely our last year at this campground. The grill and store closed at least one hour before posted hours. The food at the grill was edible but that’s about the most positive comment I can make . Changing trick or treating to only last an hour may have been a mistake , not allowing campers to reserve the same spot before checking out last year was positively a mistake!
Oct 22, 2018
We love staying at this KOA at this time of the year and will definitely return. We did have a couple issues, it took a little over 30 minutes to check, our cabin had a few problems, the bathroom tub needed to be a little cleaner and heater stopped working the last night. Staff was super nice tho. But all in all a great time was had by our family.
Oct 22, 2018
We stay 7-10 nights every April and October and always enjoy our stay. No issues with the hot tub or TV cable this visit and the Wi-Fi was much better this time. Always enjoy dealing with Joann, who works behind the check-in desk, she makes you feel welcome and always has a smile while she helps you with any issue. We'll be making reservations for 2019 very soon.
Oct 22, 2018
This is by far our favorite campground!
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
I got there at 11:00 am told check in wasn't until 3 pm, I rented a cabin. No problem, I had about 9 groups of friends staying in the campground I could visit but I was told for $25 I could check in early? I didn't. I came back at 2:45 pm, was told my cabin wouldn't be ready for another 30 minutes because it was not cleaned. At 3:45 pm... I checked in?? Cabin was beautiful!
Oct 22, 2018
KOA is trying to be something it's not. The real camping experience is gone trying to be "RESORT" oriented. It's a camp ground not a corporation. Prices increase to cover the expense sites "NOT" everyone can afford. Bath houses not clean(ed) like they used too. Not completely organized. If y'all continue on the path you are on it will hurt you. JoAnne the lead is the most caring person there
Oct 22, 2018
We’ve been coming here for 7 years & as of this past year, If you book a stay with a group of people, you’ll have no idea if you’re near one another or not prior to your dates. And.... no matter what time of day, the older bath house toilet smell was unbareable! As for location, views & attractions.... wonderful!
Oct 22, 2018
Enjoyed the stay overall, but disappointed compared to 3 years ago. Indoor swimming pool area was more run down and unkempt. Very bad sewer smell in indoor pool area all week long. Indoor hot tub was cold (as cold as pool) one day. Shower water was often cold to luke warm. Rec room was permanently closed (due to vandalism we were told). Nice campground, but could be better.
Oct 22, 2018
While I did not nave any problem checking in my cousin had a problem with his reservations. He had conformations papers on the cabins he had rented for 10/18/18 through 10/24/18 they had massed up his reservations some how. As for me and my wife we had a grate stay as always for the past years.Thanks B.J.
Oct 22, 2018
Staff and facilities were amazing.
Oct 22, 2018
maintenance is improved since Aug. Still needs to improve, leaks at sites still there. Customer serv. is a little better, store is not staffed, have to wait in check in line.No campground maps, had unreadable copies. said they were out of toner. Also not given C.G. activities, so didn't know kids were trick or treating. Had no candy.
Oct 22, 2018
Everything was as promised except wifi. Could not get it in cabin. Had to go out on porch and try or walk out to road.
Oct 22, 2018
Brought my younger adult sister on a bucket list trip. She has cancer and wanted at least one more trip out of Ohio. The campground and cabin did not disappoint us. Staff was friendly and cabin was clean. Our location on the trout pond was beautiful. We plan on coming back in summer 2019.
Oct 22, 2018
Very disapointed cabin and it's location was not as described in the reservation process. We were unaware the cabin did not have heat therefore we almost froze! It was also suppose to be near the playground and rest room IT WAS NOT. Beware cabins in picture may or maynot be the cabin you get. We also did not have a place to park. We had to park across the street next to the dumptsters.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Beautiful campground!
Oct 22, 2018
check-in and check-out was easy and fast.
Oct 22, 2018
We loved our visit! Great location! Great customer service. My only complain would be the lack of bathroom cleaning. We have stayed at other KOAs where the close bathrooms/showers at least twice a day. The bath house was not cleaned the whole time we were there. Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Otherwise, a great trip!
Oct 22, 2018
Loved the Halloween theme! Met a few of the helpers and they were all friendly and helpful.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 21, 2018
The tent site was alright, but the placement of them really sucked. All the sites are against the fence facing the ponds and road so we had to constantly listen to people shouting and cars pass. I thought it was a little off putting that RVs or Cabins weren’t put there instead since with those you could actually get away from the loud noises.
Oct 21, 2018
Good location and great amenities. WiFi didn’t reach to our cabin, and we had poor cell service. But we wanted to take a break from being connected. Slow check in and no one answered the phone when I called, but all that helped us were very nice and we loved the location.
Oct 20, 2018
KOA staff are courteous, helpful, not far away if we need something. We will be back again.
Oct 20, 2018
Everything was great with the exception of the staffing in the office. Either you were ignored when you entered or it seemed like they were training new associates. The only issue with the training became how long it took to complete any transaction. So you gotta have some patience if you are in the store.
Oct 20, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Stayed 10 days. Will be back next fall. Loved your park.
Oct 19, 2018
We stayed for 11 days. The campground is very clean, in a beautiful setting. We just wish we could have picked our spot!
Oct 19, 2018
We stayed 6 nights and everything was really great. We arrived very late, but the night crew was waiting for us and guided us to our site and after that was just setting up the popup. The campground is very close to the main gate to the park. We will definitely come back.
Oct 19, 2018
We loved the place. Only draw back were the bathroom shower wasn’t very clean and the hot water cane and went making you shower in cold water. On the plus side the location was nice and the staff was friendly. I liked this KOA better than the Gatlinburg one. The sites were nice and the view was awesome.
Oct 19, 2018
Didn’t get a timely return call from you. I left a message early evening on one day, didn’t get a return call till the next. Not positive it was you that returned my call the next day. A message was not left. So, never got resolution to a non-functioning gas grill so therefore couldn’t use it.
Oct 19, 2018
Always have a great time.
Oct 19, 2018
Wifi weak compared to other campgrounds. Cable TV unusable -old analog system. Very good level sites, good power and water.
Oct 19, 2018
We really enjoyed our week at the KOA Cherokee. We were disappointed in the lack of evening lights! Can't understand why there aren't more street lights. Also, the lack of change for the washers and dryers. Coin machines were empty and it was hard getting change from the office. We will be back!!
Oct 19, 2018
Oct 19, 2018
Tons of stuff for everyone to do. Loved this campground. We Will be back, Bob and Mary. Melbourne, fl
Oct 19, 2018
There was multiple problems with the electric. Was told we had to stay till Tuesday while other campers got to check out early.
Oct 19, 2018
Nice and quite, after we got in our spot. Had to wait for several hours and multiple trips to the office to get in our spot. Staff not very accommodating.
Oct 19, 2018
friendly staff and much quieter than most KOAs
Oct 18, 2018
Staff was wonderful but cable hookup is terrible due to campers hitting them. Don't say you have cable when many sites do not. Staff tried to repair but most were beyond repair. Holloween decorations were wonderful.
Oct 18, 2018
Very beautiful campground. Quiet. Scenic. Spacious sites. Well Maintained! Just one thing... bring your own quarters. Will definitely go back!
Aug 12, 2019
Had a great stay here, everyone was kind and friendly
- Garry Walsh on Google