Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
The campground was very nice and we liked everything that it had to offer. We only have one thing to complain about and that was the music being played on Saturday night at the recreation outpost. Our camp site was directly across from the recreation outpost and the music was so loud that I could not even sit outside and enjoy the evening by my campfire.
Aug 22, 2017
The only problem we had with our visit was we couldn't stay longer! So much to do, so little time! Friendliest, most helpful staff on the planet! Everything spotless clean. As your code says, quiet from 8pm till 8am. Well-stocked store. Campfire pits. Lots of safe fun for the entire family! Hoping to get back up for the Fall season! Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend!
Aug 22, 2017
Had a great time. A lot of kids, but it seemed they were having a great time. Staff was awesome.
Aug 22, 2017
Need better wifi. Was disappointed to have to go into town for a cell signal and the campground wifi was very week. Otherwise the stay, facilities and staff were great.
Aug 22, 2017
very clean and secure campground,I had a restful stay,campground staff were very nice to me. Please bring back steak night for the weekends at the cafe it was real good food.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Showers could be better. Food was slow for breakfast. Confusion when arriving late. Didn't have paperwork on board outside. General manager had to go to office and find records. Very nice location
Aug 22, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. The only problem. Could not get online to check my emails. Great site and loved the friendly setting and particularly the children playing around us. Plan to revisit this accommodating site
Aug 22, 2017
We loved it. Most definitely will come back.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Nice place. We've been back 4 times. The game-changer for us though for long term and for return visits will be the unavailability of WIFI and Internet. We own a medium-sized real estate and property management company and have to be accessible when we need to be. The unavailability issue will cause us to stay at other places where we can get access for our business. Thanks again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey, Thanks for your feedback. I wanted to let you know our WI-FI is being upgraded. The project should be fully completed by October 2017. Thank you again for your feedback it helps us server our guest better.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Ants in cabin, but other than that it was a wonderful time.
Aug 21, 2017
The camp ground was great. I am not impressed with Cherokee, If you don't go to the casino, there is not much to do. We had 2 small children with us, and had it not been for the activities in the campground, they would have been very bored. Will stay again due to the campground alone.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
It was a great, clean campground. However the wifi never worked.
Aug 21, 2017
Facility is nice, many activities available for the kids. Some of the employees weren't the friendliest, most notable one lady at the front desk and one security guard. Probably will stay here again regardless, but a bit disappointing.
Aug 21, 2017
This is my second stay this year. Very clean and beautiful place. The staff is great and very helpful. We will definitely be going back!
Aug 21, 2017
The only thing I didn't like was there was 4 showers in the bath house, but 2 of them were broke. Other than that it was awesome. Staff was friendly and there was plenty of stuff for the kids to do!
Aug 21, 2017
Second time we have stayed with you. This time we came in for 4 nights. We had cabin 369. Felt very isolated. Requested different cabin. Women tile is their was nothing they could do. They were booked over weekend. I watched cabins around us fill up for a night or two then empty. Customer service from front desk sucked. Very dismissive and not willing to find alternative when most of cabins were e
Aug 21, 2017
We love staying but they really need to work on the bathrooms.There was only one shower working in the ladies an they need to put a small table or shelf to put your clothes an towel on so they donot get wet.
Aug 21, 2017
First time visiting and has a wonderful time. I think they need to explain the tubing a little. Its definitely not for beginners.
Aug 21, 2017
Checked in late. Next morning the outside was flooded mess from a water leak at our outside faucet. We alerted front desk. Maintenance came and couldn't fix right away. Staff luckily had cabin near us that came empty that morning. They cleaned it promptly and put us in it. Staff really handled best possible way they could. Had a great short weekend.
Aug 21, 2017
Lovely campground, we had a horrible site though. We were on 334, across from dumpster, smells bad and so many insects, spraying did not help and we did NOT sit outside. We should have asked to move to another site or ask for refund. Did neither. NO Cell coverage, overall, bathrooms clean, facilities clean, people nice. I should have complained !!
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
It's a nicer-than-average KOA. Lots to keep the kids busy. Nice activities, bathrooms, pools etc. if you are looking for something quiet and natural, this isn't it. It was the worst dump station I've ever used. The pipe is above ground level with nowhere for the runoff to drain. So, your hose sits in it, then you have to lift it off the ground. Then the water hose didn't work. Just gross.
Aug 21, 2017
NICE CG, WIFI SELDOM WORKED, CABLE WAS GOOD, NICE SIZE SPOTS, VERY OVER PRICED
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
I was completely dissatisfied with the fact of not having cable just about the whole time I was there bathrooms and showers we're nasty and I would not recommend this KOA Campground to anyone under the circumstances also bathrooms need to be upgraded and I'm not satisfied with the fact that the rates have gone up over the last year and nothing has been updated and is taken care of poorly
Aug 20, 2017
Monica was great! The cabin was perfect and the site was clean and picturesque.
Aug 20, 2017
Loved the camp ground. The site...not so much. There were muddy ruts that took up a good bit of the site that we had to walk around. When it rained the site turned into a river and ankle deep water flowed over the pad. But the camp ground itself is nice. The amenities are great. The people who work there are friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful.
Aug 20, 2017
great place to stay , we have not been in there in about 5 years , but have been coming there for about 25 years , we miss the outside grill STEAKS and the all you can eat breakfast , we had to cook or go out and eat , you really need to bring that back , and they had no game room for the kids , But staff was really friendly and helpful. great place for the family vacation
Aug 20, 2017
Yes, we're enjoyed our stay. We'll be back next year. Thanks
Aug 20, 2017
KOA employee riding around on golf carts didn't seem very friendly. Didn't speak or wave. Also, Im sure they wasn't obeying the speed limit. Other than that its a very nice and clean camp ground.
Aug 20, 2017
My family enjoys the campground very much. This was my second stay in the same Deluxe Cabin. This time it was extremely dirty. The floors were filthy. One of the pillow cases on my bed had not been changed. It had drool marks on it. The baseboards in the bathroom are filthy. It is a very nice cabin but is going downhill fast. No soaps in dispensers- completely empty.
Aug 20, 2017
Very good. Excellent camp site.
Aug 20, 2017
My only disappointment during this stay is that the bathroom light was not working and the shower had no hot water. We only stayed one night so upon checkout I told the front desk and the simply wrote it down and didn't even offer some sort of discount for the inconvenience. We paid $200/night so I was a bit upset I had to bath all 3 kids in the sink.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Great
Aug 19, 2017
We've been going to the Cherokee KOA for 26 years now. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Had everything we needed for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Grounds are clean and safe. Only complaint is our stay was too short! We recommend this KOA to all our friends.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
We love your campground. It's one of our favorite places to be. We look forward to future visits.
Aug 18, 2017
We had a great time Nice campground
Aug 18, 2017
When making my reservation I was told that I could no longer pick my site. Only a specific area. I have been doing this for the last 13 years and all of a sudden I cant pick a favorite site. New management decision. I will be vacationing at other campgrounds now. Cherokee is one of my favorite places to visit and we go at least twice a year and always stay at the KOA, no longer.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Standard site was muddy and unlevel. No water at the pump out site. Trash scattered through creek area.
Aug 18, 2017
Great visit!! Easy setup on level site, great shuttle service! We were able to arrange excursions right at the campground, and they provided transportation. The only drawbacks: it's so close to the national park but they don't provide service to the park! And the wifi was terrible! Some would say you're on vacation and don't need it but I still have to do work even when I'm away but couldn't.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award