Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2019
May 30, 2019
If the check in and information office would stay open later than 7pm, it would make it a lot better.
May 29, 2019
May 29, 2019
been a lot of improvement since last time I stay there I like the changes they doing good I'll be back:):):)
May 29, 2019
The road ti this KOA is very narrow and curvy. Some of the curves are very sharp. The campground is large and a great place for kids. Many activities, pools, flat roads for kids to ride their bikes. We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and it was packed with many kids. Our site was a FHU concrete pad, pull thru. Probably will not return because of the roads to get there.
May 29, 2019
Filthy Bathrooms...Filthy Pool..No soap in bathrooms the entire lenght of our stay. Campsites never picked up after guests leave...a watermelon was left to rot out in a neighboring site two days after campers left. Staff not providing proper information...for example..we were told that the tubes were not being rented because the river was too cold and the next day people seemed to be renting the
May 29, 2019
I don't know seem to be the answer of the memorial weekend how much is firewood I don't know will the grill reopen for dinner I don't know can you ask someone I don't know seriously wish I made that all up I didn't y'all got rid of our favorite family things kiddy splash pad I have babies 1 and 3 year old they can not stand in 3 ½ ft water got rid of convenient store for little things in forget
May 29, 2019
Not happy with the site # 269 too small for my camper, and why is a site with just grass the same price as one with concrete? The gentleman who tried to show me where my site was got lost 3 times. The big problem was when we were dumping getting ready to leave, the drain was stopped up and not screwed in good in the ground and it came loose and covered my shoes and pants. please call me.
May 29, 2019
Our cabin was in full sun which made it unbearably hot. Our sisters cabin had air conditioning that did not work all weekend. The pool was very cloudy.
May 29, 2019
Lots of activities, prices on rentals seem a little steep. Love the staff.
May 29, 2019
We had a beautiful and clean cabin. The staff on duty were all very helpful and polite. Rachel was very exceptionally helpful! We were escorted to our site and everything was really nicely set up and clean. The bed in our cabin was very restful!!! Next time I will take my own gas grill. The grill was very dirty and knobs did not work properly. Definitely will become a regular KOA for us!
May 28, 2019
kt503 - missing dust pan, ac unit too loud, fan in back BR makes too much noise, back 3 windows not lockable, weber grill gas timer never timed out, no wifi in cabin. dog park needs more grass. dog poop all over camp. nice pool, hot showers, sturdy furniture, comfy bed, clean cabin, friendly staff, love the smores, great events, overall a clean campground. We will be back. campfire smoke overwhelm
May 28, 2019
This is our third year staying and always have a great time. Staff are wonderful! Location is awesome! Hoping to make this an annual family tradition.
May 28, 2019
Stay was great. We had a 2 bedroom deluxe cabin on the river. Had some problems with check in due to staff not knowing how to run credit card machine and I got charged twice. Also, Need to Reopen the kiddie pool Bc kids are using hot tubs as play pools. Need to have a 16 or older on the hot tubs. Lots of kids with no parental supervision Bring back milkshake machines. No more tubing Bc of idiots
May 28, 2019
Stayed in cabin 13 , the mens bath house next to it was dirty the 5 days i was there with same trash in the floor on last day as was the first plus more , ceiling leaking over urinal and commode .showers had cans , bottles , paper and other trash . I watched the workers on 3 occasions go in there to clean but no change , even was leaving once when she was coming in to clean and was asked if empty
May 28, 2019
While in the park I used the bathroom located at the pool area and noticed it was plugged up I told the guys working in the shop and he said you told the wrong person I’m not putting down my spatula and removing my apron to unclog a toilet I said pass it along to someone who will not a friendly bunch
May 28, 2019
We had 2 sites and a cabin and 7 children the oldest one was 12. The kids had a great time with everything there was to do in the campground. All the adults had a great time also. The kids could bide their bikes and play games have some freedom. The weather couldn't have been better. On Friday the circuit breaker got hot and tripped for the camper and they came over and replaced right away.
May 28, 2019
The only thing that was really bad was the mattress!!! For the cost !! Other than that we enjoy KOA ��
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
We had a great stay, and I would have given a 5 except for the bathrooms. They were poorly stocked and in the morning they were gross. I would suggest that as soon as the workers come in that their first job to be to check the bathrooms. If they had been clean as soon as the workers started around 8:00 it would not have been such an inconvenience. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay!
May 28, 2019
It was a last minute booking and we’re glad we did bc it was an excellent weekend
May 28, 2019
The staff is awesome at the front desk. Rachel had to fix a problem with a booking. Handled it like a pro!!!!! Thank you
May 27, 2019
Loved it there! We were on the river.....large sites, good location, quiet, good bathrooms/showers, helpful staff. Only caution - no AT&T signal & I will make sure not to reserve an RV site next to a cabin. Internet was decent.....
May 27, 2019
We always have a great time at this KOA. They are helpful and friendly. The sites are clean and well-kept. We can’t wait to come back every time we leave.
May 26, 2019
May 26, 2019
We love coming to this KOA! ! The large cement pull-thru's are fantastic! We will be back! !!!
May 26, 2019
This is the best KOA we've stayed at since using them. We're going to be sure to stay again when we've in the area. Plus I've already recommended this KOA to several friends.
May 26, 2019
With the weekend being a holiday weekend I felt the staff wasnt prepared for the season yet. Pool wasnt open until late Friday afternoon. It wasnt listed on website that it wasnt available. The grill wasnt open for lunch Friday so we went to town causing KOA to lose $ for food and ice cream. The golf cart rented wasnt in good order, it lost charge. The bath facilty wasnt clean. Staff was nice.
May 26, 2019
Good place BUT paid for shuttle service to casino & back And they never picked me up---left me stranded
May 25, 2019
Liked our stay but would have preferred to be in a more shaded place
May 24, 2019
We enjoyed our stay very much...the cabin was great! Next time we'll plan to cone a bit later in the summer so that all the campsite amenities are open. Thank you for a very enjoyable vacation!
May 24, 2019
We stayed in a deluxe cabin along the river. The beds were comfy. We grilled out and had a fire in the fire pit . The stars were beautiful as well as the show the fireflies put on in the tree tops. The fireflies looked like twinkling lights on a Christmas tree. The stars were beautiful with no light pollution from the city. The sound of the moving river . Nice friendly staff. Best trip ever!
May 24, 2019
May 23, 2019
As always - everything was just great !!! Beautiful surroundings and well maintained !!!
May 23, 2019
This a nice campground, but overpriced for 2 senior citizens. Cable channels did not match printed list; a dead tree on our site that I worried would fall on our car; need more checkin staff on a Friday night.
May 21, 2019
This place is a perfect location in the mountains. Falling asleep and waking up next to the river is perfect. The camp ground is clean, well kept and everyone is so friendly!
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
I've been coming for 30 years. Not satisfied as in years past. New management is impersonal. Cabin ceiling fan not operable. No one to provide feedback to on Saturday morning due to store not open yet. Key provided to our group for gate to pond in years past, now must drive around to fish early morning. No advantage to being close to pond if you fish early morning. Probably will stay elsewhere in
May 21, 2019
May 21, 2019
Beautiful mountain setting, very friendly and helpful staff, paved roads, very clean, and pet friendly. Unlike some parks, the hook ups are well placed and well maintained. A little pricey but I guess you get what you pay for. Will definitely return.
May 21, 2019
We stayed in the rustic cabin for the first time. We went to sleep listening to the stream outside the window. It is set up like a shotgun house so there was a nice breeze throughout the night. We had the ceiling fan and prepared for another so we brought another fan which turned out to not be needed at all. The cabin was clean and quaint. I will definitely stay in a cabin again great price also.
May 20, 2019
I really enjoy stating at Cherokee KOA. I love the atmosphere and that each site is very roomy. There is so much stuff for kids to do here. The only complaint I have is that the water pressure was very low to take a shower.
May 20, 2019
One of our favorite campgrounds. Hot tub is a great perk for parents. Well kept campground. Mostly good sites, some are a little close, but not too bad.
May 20, 2019
Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Our Cabin was immaculate and well stocked. We will be back.
May 20, 2019
We rented a cabin and there was no trash bag in the kitchen garbage can when we checked in also the floor was dirty and gritty. Also, I came into the lobby to buy ice and it took forever. People were allowed to break in line and make their own lines. Other than those issues our stay was great!
May 20, 2019
Great stay and time . Needs new matteries in cabin 115
May 20, 2019
Very pleasant!! Campground staff was very nice!!
May 20, 2019
It was amazing. This was the first time we have stayed at KOA. we will definitely be back. Chris was amazing. He brought our wood and ice and anything we needed he answered every question we had. We meant to give him a tip. But didn’t. Please let him know we will make up for it on our next trip. That will be very soon.
May 19, 2019
Every toilet in one building was clogged the first 2 days of our stay. The girls in the camp store were too busy taking reservations on the phone to help answer questions or help with purchases. They did eventually get to us but the wait was long. We have stayed here twice in the past and loved it.
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.