Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 01, 2017
Aug 31, 2017
This was our 2nd stay at this KOA and it's one of our favorites. Love to see all the children having a blast. So many activities. We were there during the eclipse and it was great. Wish you could solve the cell phone coverage issues but wifi was better than last year. Need a few updates in the bathhouses like soap and paper towels. The dryers are not effective. Still the best KOA
Aug 30, 2017
was great and relaxing
Aug 30, 2017
Well usually it is quite nice, however this experience wasn't so great! The bar b q grill didn't work.we Los water completely one morning. Only 2 chairs for 3 adults, no internet service that was advertised, doors didn't close properly, flies& spider webs in inside windows, I could go on. But really unhappy this birthday visit & embarrassed for my guests. All said kinda sad!
Aug 30, 2017
We have stayed here several times in the last 20 years. We love the trout ponds & always enjoy fresh fish cooked over the campfire. On our last stay, we brought our 15 month old grandson & there really wasn't anything in the campground for a little guy to do. He was too young for the playground & jumping areas & there wasn't a swing to be found!!! Please add some swings for his age group to enjoy!
Aug 30, 2017
This campground has well exceeded any other campground we have visited. We love it because of the great back-in sites next to the river, the activities and play sites for kids, the friendliness of staff, and the CLEAN bathhouses! We have made this trip an annual one for three years now!!
Aug 30, 2017
Very nice campground. clean pools, friendly service, nice sites.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
It was wonderful with the exception of the clogged showers. The restroom needed better cleaning but other than that, the staff members and location were awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
I found this to be one of the nicest campgrounds I've stayed in. Perfect location, clean, friendly staff. So many activities to keep everyone busy; fishing, indoor & outdoor pools, bicycle rentals and tubing. Loved the location, just outside of Great Smokies National Park. Many tourist activities in Cherokee & a casino. Stayed in a Kottage on the river, beautiful! We will definitely return!
Aug 29, 2017
We had a fun time, the amenities were good. Kids had a good time in the pool, on the river, tubing, riding the banana bikes, and especially on the inflated jumping pad. Dog park was good fun for the furry one. Campground was a little noisy, close to the road. The overall place needs some maintenance, and the spots were crammed together. Poor communication regarding amenities scheduling.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Everyone so so nice and helpful! And the amenities were awesome!
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
On my arrival the first thing was the bathroom in cabin . The door locked us in. But yes it was fixed quickly. Then come time to cook the grill didn't work. A lot of aggravation as soon as we arrived. Getting help at front desk is a joke. Wait for 10 mins just to buy something cause the lady stayed on the phone. My family as went there for years . It has gone down hill fast
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We loved our stay and really enjoyed the KOA campground.
Aug 29, 2017
We went tubing while there water was way to low and rocks dangerous would bot have done it if i had known
Aug 28, 2017
Campground was clean, facilities well maintained, employees friendly, quiet for the most part even though we were camped right by the entrance. The WiFi was pretty much a no-go until our last two days due to so many people in the campground. Wouldn't have been such a problem, but we didn't have cell signal to check the weather or check in with family members. Would consider staying again, though
Aug 28, 2017
We had a great stay. The campground is great.
Aug 28, 2017
This is our favorite campground so far. Had a lot of different activities for the kids and the bike rentals was a big plus!!!!
Aug 28, 2017
Very clean camp. Excellent staff. Great facility.
Aug 28, 2017
I love the new cabins with the built in bathroom including small stocked kitchen. The outdoor patio with grill and enclosed fire pit in front of the river was pure divine! There is so much offered by the campground as far as shuttle services to go zip-lining and whitewater rafting that my teenagers didnt want to leave. The one downside is there is no wifi coverage!! Good excuse to leave all behind
Aug 28, 2017
We love staying here. We have stayed here at least 6 times. The only issue we had was we wanted to rent banana bikes 2 hours at a time but the lady would only do it 1 hour at time. My wife just had knee replacement surgery and it was hard to come up to rent every hour. She wouldn't do it so we spoke to the manager Ryan and he was very helpful and let us do it. Thanks Ryan!
Aug 28, 2017
The facilities were very nice compared to other KOA's but there were a few issues. We stayed Friday night and there was a movie playing until 10:30 PM. The problem is that it was BOOMING and we couldn't sleep. We wanted to get up early to leave. Secondly, our tent site was VERY close to another and privacy/quietness was virtually impossible. I did not like the layout of the campgrounds.
Aug 28, 2017
It was great time there. So many things to enjoy for kids! My 9years old son told me "never bored every seconds!!" Generally it was great place, would love to visit again!! But just a few tips for improvement, for the camp site, it should be covered by grass. The dust makes mess on the foot and inside of the tent. For tubing, you MUST put some exact sign at the ending point to guide to the office.
Aug 28, 2017
This was our first trip ever with our new camper. Wonderful campground, beautiful area. This has set the standards high for our future reservations.
Aug 28, 2017
Amenities were excellent. Some of our customer service experience throughout our stays at other KOAs has been superior. Surprised by early closing of store was a surprise. Would definitely return.
Aug 28, 2017
Beautiful setting!! Facilities are clean! Love the shower setup! I will love to come back here again!!!
Aug 28, 2017
I didn't like that our site was near a busy road because it was loud with traffic but other than that the facility was great! The bathrooms were very nice and clean too.
Aug 28, 2017
bad experience! A guy was mowing grass on our site and got grass all over our stuff and also came by and blowed dirt all over our stuff with the blower. We wanted to rent a tube for the day, but there were no tubes available. The campground was dead there should have been enough available. Breakfast Sunday morning took an hour to make pancakes and bacon. Then we pack up with no water at our site!
Aug 28, 2017
Very disappointed, I've been staying at the koa for the past 30 years, this year the staff was rude, the bathrooms were nasty, I even told a staff member about the bathrooms she just rolled her eyes, hottub not working for 1/2 my stay, took 45 min to get 2 ssndwiches from their resturant, forget the wifi unless you sit in the nasty bathroom, inside pool nasty, will never return, staying else where
Aug 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. It did seem that the bathrooms were not as clean this time, shower curtains in bath house #1 were in dire need of changing, they were very moldy.
Aug 28, 2017
I needed to get away for health reasons and found the cabin and stream what i need. I felt great while i was there but when i got back home it all came back in hours. I find I need to make changes? I had a lot of fun doing very little, something I have a hard time doing.
Aug 28, 2017
Great time, Great Hosts!! Only problem that we had was the water shut off while we were Packing to leave. I understand it was not under the control of the campground, but it delayed our departure for about an hour. Overall Great time and we have reservations for 09-15-17 to return.
Aug 28, 2017
Disappointed. Site was a mud hole. No good place to set up. Terrible odor of dead animal. Sad to see it so commercialized and crowded.
Aug 28, 2017
We requested a site on the creek near the K9 Kamp, and we received one. Loved having 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Loved the access to the creek, river and the island. Years ago we were given information regarding tours and side trips that left right from the campground. We did not get that this time and missed it. Only complaint was that we did not know about the $25 resort fee when we reserved.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will come back again! Visit our Recreation Outpost for info on activities, shuttles, tours, etc. Our resort fee is only $3.50 per night & is a tribal levy tax. Feel free to contact us for further explanation of charges. Thanks for staying with us!
Aug 27, 2017
Our cabin had an air conditioning problem the wasn't fixed. It took my recommendation to move to another cabin, before we were moved. It appeared that the interest of the staff to hold the children events dropped off significantly after most of the campers left - post eclipse. The outside hot tub was closed the indoor pools were not clean. Overall, not impressed by the camp.
Aug 27, 2017
We had a wonderful time
Aug 27, 2017
I love the campground however the staff was not very friendly or accomodating. We had stayed there last year and the staff were so friendly. Not so this year. I called before to ask some questions before arrival, left message for call back twice and never received call back. Also my bill was over $100 more than what my online booking total was
Aug 27, 2017
Our stay was fantastic. We came to Cherokee to watch the Solar Eclipse. We were able to watch it right from our campsite. This CG is maintained to the highest standards. It is impossible to find a piece of trash anywhere. The landscaping is maintained daily, the dumpsters emptied daily. Restrooms were spotless. Employees were cheerful and friendly. We will definitely be back in the future.
Aug 27, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice pools. Clean facilities. Beautiful surroundings.
Aug 27, 2017
We came for the solar eclipse and had a great time! The facilities were spotless and everyone was wonderful. We would absolutely go back!
Aug 27, 2017
We enjoyed the completely level parking pad. And the kids loved walking in the creek
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Warmly greeted by Laura promptly upon check-in. Had a mechanical emergency with car plug bracket coming loose & Jonathan provided nuts & lock washers to me. I was able to safely secure it before pulling out of the campground early the next morning. Visited before several times & I can count on a safe, friendly home on the road. Thank you!
Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful setting, bath/toilets could have been better maintained, although eclipse/summer crowds were heavy!! Terrible service at the restaurant- grossly understaffed. We checked-in late, and security didn't have keys to our cabin; we never got one, so didn't have any key to surrender at check-out. Bet the place is nicer in the spring or fall
Aug 26, 2017
Our first campsite was narrow and the neighbor's slide-out stuck out over our fire pit so we could not use it for the first 2 days. Then mgmnt moved us and gave us an upgrade and we were then very happy with the rest of our stay. We really enjoyed the tubing down the river.
Aug 26, 2017
Only had one issue: camp site was nothing but red clay, little to no grass. Only one like it in the campground. Normally red clay would not bother us, but it rained for 2 straight days. We were covered from head to toe in red clay and the site was actually dangerous because it was so slippery. I fell twice and it permanently stained all of our camping gear. Other than that, best KOA and staff!
Aug 26, 2017
This is the best KOA we've ever been to. The staff make you feel like you are at home and are part of the family. There are so many things for the children and adults to do. We didn't leave the campground except to visit Cherokee for a few hours and hike to a waterfall close by. The cabin we stayed in was picture perfect and one that we hope to reserve again soon. We will be back!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award