Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

We are open and taking reservations!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2019
Love it every time we come
Sep 09, 2019
Overall our stay was nice and relaxing, as it always is. With the exception of neighbors across from our cabin 353, who had three dogs that barked excessively during the day at every passerby. Thankfully at night the dogs were brought inside the camper and we were able to have a good night's rest. Bathrooms and showers were clean. The grounds around our cabin and the entire campground looked great
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Great campground with lots of amenities to keep the kids busy . It’s close to town and the Smokies I rented a rustic cabin however to my surprise there was no AC. It was 87 degrees outside and hotter in the cabin . The fan just made it feel like a convection oven . It cooled off as the sun went down so the nights were fine . It explains why so many of their cabins are empty this time of
Sep 09, 2019
Our 2nd trip this year. Large level sites, friendly staff, nice camp store. Clean!
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice people overall - from check in to the daily upkeep of the camp. Any issues outside of the rules (unruly dogs, loud partying) was handled effectively by the staff. Very much appreciated. Thanks!
Sep 09, 2019
Loved it!!
Sep 09, 2019
Some of the help are kinda rude. Some are extremely nice. Since the campground has changed hands. Some employees shouldn’t have been hired or brought on.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
One problem was grill was advertised being open 8 to 8 went there to order some food and three times in that time frame was closed. Had friends that had booked a cabin right beside our campsite but when we checked in they where put in a location on other side of campground. We had planned on doing meals together. Had to rent golf cart to make this work. Everything else was good.
Sep 08, 2019
Wonderful staff. Fantastic cabin. Great campground. Best place to stay in Cherokee NC.
Sep 07, 2019
Never been the camping type but tried the KOA cabin option for a change of pace. We had a blast. We had a deluxe cabin which was small but clean and cozy. Awesome fire pit, friendly staff, cool trout stream outside the front door. It was a great way to enjoy the mountains without giving up amenities of a hotel. And we got to bring the dogs and they loved all the new smells of the outdoors.
Sep 06, 2019
Had an enjoyable time!
Sep 06, 2019
the grounds are nice, however it's to crowded to be a great place. Every square foot has a cabin or campsite.
Sep 06, 2019
The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA will always be our favorite location! They are consistent with great customer service over the years. The campground is always in impeccable condition. I grew up going with my parents. And now I have my own kids to enjoy the experience with!
Sep 05, 2019
This was a great place for kids to play and have fun!
Sep 05, 2019
Awesome place, Awesome Staff. One of the best campgrounds I have been to. We will be back for sure.
Sep 05, 2019
I had requested a site with a concrete pad, I got asphalt which was good it I recently had a knee replacement, and wanted a level lot I believe 433 was the site I had to be extremely careful walking on uneven ground other than that it was very good thank you
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 05, 2019
The restroom and showers were discussing. Looked like they were not cleaned all weekend. Clumps of hair all in the shower. Trash cans full. My husband who had surgery on his ankle not long ago, was told to walk to the other bathroom in the middle of the night.( 2a.m.)they had ours section locked all night. The staff at the front office was rude to my husband every time he went to ask a question.
Sep 05, 2019
I’ve been coming to Cherokee KOA for almost 20 years now. We had a great trip. The bathrooms were almost always clean. The staff was very friendly. Everything was great except for the following. The firewood is way too expensive, wet and does not burn properly. Very frustrating. On a holiday weekend there was only one person taking orders and cooking. 1 cashier inside with a long wait.
Sep 05, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
I love the atmosphere at Cherokee KOA. I do think they are overpriced, compared to other campgrounds and even other KOA's. They have a good amount of activities planned, but the communication in getting this info out PRIOR TO the stay would be nice, so campers can come prepared to participate.
Sep 04, 2019
We had a GREAT time, plenty to do and wonderful customer service. The only drawback was the road noise in the early morning. Not KOA's fault and nothing they could do to change this, still a great stay.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
It was a great weekend away just what we needed.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place. Clean. Good activities for the kids.
Sep 04, 2019
Nice place and other campers were friendly and respectful. The staff was great. The campground was very clean and well maintained.
Sep 04, 2019
Everything was wonderful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Priscilla is amazing.
Sep 03, 2019
Even though we didn’t bring our dogs this time, I am so happy to know it’s an option when staying in your cabins. We will be back...with our dogs! We had a wonderful stay. Only wish we had more time to stay.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
Good service at the registers, but slow. The usual koa amenities were great as always.
Sep 02, 2019
We rented the Deluxe Cabin and it was filthy. The floors, walls, and bed. The bed had dog and human hairs all over the sheets. The coffee maker looked like it had never been cleaned. The only way we would come back to stay is if we were in our own camper. The location of campground is beautiful. We paid way too much money for the filth we stayed in.
Sep 02, 2019
It was wonderful. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The amenities were well-kept. The only complaint is the mattress on the sleeper sofa is super uncomfortable!
Sep 02, 2019
Excellent, staff was helpful and friendly. We felt very welcome. Strongly recommended.
Sep 01, 2019
Well maintained,clean restrooms and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 31, 2019
Wonderful campground. Spacious sites and well maintained.
Aug 29, 2019
Nice campground with a great fishing pond.
Aug 29, 2019
Park was great. But air pump for tires was not maintained properly. I ended up letting more air out of tires than put in. Thank goodness a corporate person was there. He helped me fix the situation.
Aug 27, 2019
Great location ,,, Chris and Rose were the best of helpers while we stayed in park.
Aug 27, 2019
Site was level with wide sites and plenty of room! Shower houses and bathrooms were well kept and maintained. Laundry room was clean and economical! Staff was friendly and helpful! Brandon is the man!
Aug 27, 2019
Pricing yourself out of the market. Things much cleaner now and trimmed. Now work on admin. when I pay 25 dollars for a late check out and then have to explain this twice to your staff there is a problem. Here is a clue run the checkout sheet each morning go through and earmark all the late checkouts then you do not have to harass late checkouts twice In one day cause your staff have the sheet.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
It was peaceful and very relaxing. Thank you. Looking forward to visiting again.
Aug 26, 2019
Lot so to do but service was poor. Asked for towels for our deluxe cabin on multiple times and they did not arrive. Had a calendar of events for kids but every time we went over to the schedule event no one was there. Asked a question to the woman at the registration counter and got a very rude response, my wife got very upset. Overall the service was the worst of any KOA we have stayed at.
Aug 26, 2019
It amazes me that you pay over $90 for a spot on the river and the spot is in dire need of weed eating. The grass on the level area above the rocks was at least a foot high and the power box and water connection area were in dire need of a weed eating also. The bath house showers were scalding hot one minute and freezing cold the next. We took several freezing cold showers.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Was there last October and decided I would not return.. campground was terrible, nasty, awful. Some friends were there this past summer and told us campground under new ownership and great improvements had been made. Decided to give it a try this past weekend and we were impressed. We will be back this October for a Halloween weekend.
Aug 26, 2019
Very pleased with the check in process and the politeness and assistance with the staff. The cabin was very clean upon our arrival. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during our entire stay!!! �
Aug 26, 2019
As always great place and time. Thanks
Jul 05, 2020
Rachel, the manager, made my stay wonderful!!! I didn't realize that the cabin I reserved did not have A/C and I was dying from heat. She graciously arranged for me to switch cabins. Her kindness went above and beyond and I so appreciated it! The campground has tons of amenities - the store had a great selection of supplies and loved the fact they served Hershey's ice cream. I will return one day!
- Mrs Bigglesworth on Google
Jul 04, 2020
Very nice place to stay and awesome for kids
- Sonya Napoli on Google