Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2017
I will never stay again. It was a wonderful campground. However, it was hard to get to, there was NO cellphone service (AT&T), very limited and slow Wi-Fi and the Wi-Fi lacked internet most of the time.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in a cabin on the river and other families joined us in RV's. Parents relaxed and kids were totally happy with plenty of fun things to keep them busy from 8am-11pm. Staff super helpful and friendly. SO TOTALLY KID FRIENDLY that we never even went into town!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
My husband and I always love coming to the KOA in Cherokee, NC. This was our 3rd anniversary trip. We never have a issue when we come. I will say that this trip we asked for the deluxe tent site with the sand bed and bear box but got the one with just water and electric hookup. We did not pay for the delux tent site but were slightly disappointed when we realized we did not get what we asked for
Oct 16, 2017
As always, everything was clean and neat. They were doing some remodeling on the office (which is looking really nice), but we still had easy access in and out. The staff was pleasant, courteous and helpful. It is always a treat staying at this KOA.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Beautiful campground! Would definitely return. Only request is that they put more hooks in the showers or a bench in the ladies showers. Really inconvenient trying to find place to put all your stuff.
Oct 16, 2017
The campground is nice. The workers in the office could be a lot nicer.... The workers driving around in the golf carts were very friendly. The WiFi is an absolute joke which wouldn't be an issue except it is an amenity listed. The wifi didn't even work 90% of the time. The bath houses were clean. We would return.
Oct 16, 2017
We always love coming up for the Trout Tournament. Winning was a nice bonus! The renovations were also nice. My wife loves how the restrooms are ALWAYS clean! lol
Oct 16, 2017
We love to stay here and have made this an annual fall break destination. The only problem I have is with the wifi. We couldn't get a signal with any of our 3 phones or tablets and moved all around the campground tryIng to get a signal. This was frustrating, but won't stop us from coming back. See you again next year.
Oct 16, 2017
This was a long weekend trip for me and my son. Crowded, but otherwise incredible as always!! So very happy to see that JoAnn P. is still in the front office!! She has always gone above and beyond to make our stay awesome!! She is an asset for KOA!
Oct 16, 2017
the campground is great with the exception of the internet and cable TV. I sometimes need consistent internet service to use for my profession and it is unreliable. Also, for the price of $75 per night, I would think the quality of those services would be far geater than what they currently are.
Oct 16, 2017
We have been staying with you guys for 17 years... I those years not much has changed. Still canât make phone calls or text/internet. I now have children that I need to check on. With todayâs technology, it shouldnât be that way. Also, we always get a back spot near the creek. Its always black back there at night. There are NON WORKING street lights and that is a safety hazard.
Oct 16, 2017
Great
Oct 16, 2017
Great!!!!!!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
People were great very nice and quick with any problem. Cabin was not all that clean when we arrived but a. Dry nice place to stay
Oct 16, 2017
Awesome as always we love it here
Oct 16, 2017
Great cabin at a family friendly campground with tons to see and do all around the area!
Oct 16, 2017
The bathrooms were very nice with clean floors, stalls, and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was large, quiet at night. My only complaint is when it rained, there was drainage. Nowhere for the rain to goâlots of puddles & mud, so even after the rain we couldn't enjoy our firepit area.
Oct 16, 2017
I have stayed here many times and for the first time I didnât feel welcomed. Nobody really said hello, they all seemed to be in a hurry to go somewhere in their golf carts. When we waited for an escort, he took of and left us. With a 5mph speed zone we couldnât keep up. Luckily I knew where the site was. WiFi is non existent, shouldnât advertise as having it or charging for it.
Oct 16, 2017
We spent this past weekend at your campgrounds and it was AMAZING!!! We had the best time. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the showers and bathrooms are spotless clean. We can't wait to get back to the mountains and to your campgrounds. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time plan on coming back again We really enjoy going to KOA us and we will add this one on our return list most definitely.. Everything was clean and everyone was very friendly definitely five star
Oct 16, 2017
Everything was amazing!
Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful weekend at Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA! The camping cabin that we rented was quaint but perfect for what we needed. The bathrooms were the nicest of any campground I've ever stayed at by far. And although the campground was packed, we still felt as if we had plenty of space and it was quiet at night. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!
Oct 16, 2017
We came up to fish the KOA trout tournament and advised the tournament would be held Friday, Came up Thursday night and upon the Office opening on Friday I went in to pay entry fee and was told tournament was Saturday. Several others at counter were misadvised, but all 3 Employees denied misinforming. Provided a Rules sheet-whole thing was aweful-start time, fish overfeed prior to stocking.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Our first time and we loved it. Our cabin was perfect. The bathrooms were clean. Only a few things to note: One family several cabins down from us left tons of food outside 24/7, including overnight. Ya'll should not let that happen. Gross & attracts critters. Pool & sauna water looked a bit green. Quiet hours aren't very quiet but it's OK: everyone's having fun. We really enjoyed our stay.
Oct 16, 2017
Our family enjoyed our stay, there was plenty to keep the kids busy. The showers and bathrooms are kept very clean. The campground was very clean with mutiple dumpster sites to take trash to so it doesn't stay at your site. We will definitely stay again.
Oct 16, 2017
This was our first experience at a KOA campground. And we were beyond satisfied! There was plenty for the kids to do and the space and campsites were very well maintained. The showers were a little dirty, but overall ok. Can't wait to come back!
Oct 16, 2017
Wife took a real bad fall off the step coming out of the cabin...hit my head on the over hang outside of the cabin 3 times..other wise great stay
Oct 16, 2017
The Cherokee KOA has long been a favorite but this stay was not up to par. The bathhouses were low or out of soap and dirty most of our stay. A shower was stuck on full blast and running hot which made the building a sauna. A remodeled bathhouse was nicer but still unkept. I'm hopeful though, there were renovations being done on the office/store so hopefully the campground was in mid upgrade.
Oct 16, 2017
My wife and I had a really great time there. The camping cabin was nice, bathrooms were always clean, and the campgrounds and trees were beautiful. The only drawback to the entire weekend was that my wife got quite a few bed bug bites the last day we were there. Although that happened, we still will return, maybe with a bug bomb next time.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
First site had water on the ground, second site was almost muddy. Should have an adults only hot tub hour or actually stop kids without parents present from being in it. Quite hours not enforced. Tons of noise at 6:45am, like kids on bikes and yelling and people packing campers up. Shower house was nice but the fan made a bunch of noise. Not one of my favorite KOA's, not my least favorite either.
Oct 16, 2017
It was great, my boys had a great time, lots to do! Cabin was clean and bathrooms and showers were nice. Staff was very helpful!
Oct 16, 2017
The wifi needs to be addressed it is very bad service , with no excuses it could be much better , there was water pressure problems with friends site etc. Becarefull camping under Walnut trees my camper took a beating and vehicle , the staff was friendly and very professional and very helpful
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Very nice leveled concrete site. Location adjacent to many attractions.
Oct 15, 2017
We had a great time!! We love the indoor pool, the bouncy pillow, and the banana bikes. The stafff was also extremely nice. I did not like that the builders started hammering in the morning while I was still trying to sleep. I think that they should wait to make loud construction noises until at least 9:00. People go on campus my trips to relax and do not want to be awoken by hammering.
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed our trip, however several of the tent sites are too small for large tents. The site that I was assigned to had no grass at all. All it had was mud and roots. I had to put my tent on my sisterâs site which was next to us.
Oct 15, 2017
Such a treat...beautiful campground and the staff was so kind courteous and helpful
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
The only negative is we always stay in a deluxe cottage/cabin on the river and the Wi-Fi is nearly non existent so it makes it hard to work or keep up with emails. Other than that love the place.
Oct 14, 2017
KOA store closed way to early. No coffee no one know how to fix the machine. Nice clean restrooms and showers. Really friendly staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Beautiful area, peaceful campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award