Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2017
We loved the location and easy access to local sites for Fly Fishing! Out of Towners beware - If you want to fish for the "Big" ones you HAVE TO GET A 'TROPHY' License! Thank goodness for PD informing us of this and NOT citing us $250 fine. Megan KUDOS for rectifying our situation-we we're very upset by that situation. My husband and I will definitely return! All staff are very friendly.
Aug 06, 2017
Pools were nasty. You can no longer reserve a specific site anymore. According the staff it's a corporate decision. I contacted KOA and they E-Mailed back that this was not there decision but was Cherokee KOA's decision. So who's lying? Staff was very helpful but 2 individuals that you will have anywhere. No more future reservations until they change there reservation policy. Camping here since 01

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. This is not a change in a policy, rather a change to our process to help better serve all of our guests. All guests can still book a Site or Cabin in a specific area of the campground, and we always do our best to accommodate special requests. We do apologize if this change causes any problems, but still look forward to serving you in the future. - Cherokee KOA.
Aug 05, 2017
Everyone was helpful and friendly. Kevin went above and beyond by coming to our cabin to get AC working when it was 11:00 pm and he was about to go home.
Aug 05, 2017
Kids had a ball!!!!
Aug 05, 2017
Great stay. Plenty of things for the kids to do. Biggest complaint, its listed that the campground has wifi. On check-in, I was given the password but told that it doesn't work very well. Wifi essentially didn't work at all. I don't mind as much as it shouldn't be listed if it doesn't work.
Aug 05, 2017
Thanks to all the guys that brought wood to fixing the cable. Everyone was extremely friend. Made our to the best ever. Linda at the front desk really looked after us. Will be back every year!!! Thank you KOA Cherokee NC.
Aug 05, 2017
We had a great time.My grandkids love it,hated not having no internet.
Aug 05, 2017
Stayed at this KOA in the 1998-2001 in our pop up camper and loved it then. Finally got to come back and LOVED it even more! Stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 queen bed deluxe cabin on the river and it was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Loved the river. We will recommend you to all our camping buddies. Thanks.
Aug 05, 2017
All staff were friendly and informative. My son had an amazing time for his first camping adventure and didn't want to ever leave. Bathrooms much cleaner than I expected.
Aug 04, 2017
I had a great time here! Everything was wonderful.
Aug 04, 2017
Great time with family!
Aug 04, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there.
Aug 04, 2017
Nice campground..but too pricey...
Aug 04, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very clean campground but I am only giving it 4 stars because they have changed their policy on guaranteed sites. We have been camping there for 15 years plus and always been able to get certain sites so we can be together with other family members. This change is going to hurt them.
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
The staff was wonderful! The campground was very clean and well kept! We loved our stay!
Aug 03, 2017
I enjoyed the friendly staff and amenities although I would like to come again when it's not as crowded
Aug 03, 2017
Everyone was friendly. The only reason I gave 4 stars is that cabin needed a good clean.
Aug 03, 2017
Wi-FI faible
Aug 03, 2017
Awesome cabin. Really nice campground. Van driver to the show was great. Only bad part was wifi never worked and not one tv channel was clear. Grandkids loved the trip I love the mountains. Good to see Cherokee had been brought back to days gone by. It was nice to see more than just a casino. Unto these hills is the best drama anywhere. Thanks
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Bad KOA-campground. Not worthwhile the KOA sign. Deluxe cabin without spoons, forks, cups, plates etc. There is a coffeemachine but no cups. When asked for it i have been told i should buy some plastic in the store. Staflevel and helpfullness is beneath that of a supermarket. And...there is NO wifi connection at the whole campground (although paid for it).
Aug 02, 2017
Dirty bathrooms,No soap for 3 days in mens bathroom, coin changer not working in laundry, potholes need to be fixed Fun playground for kids, jumping pillow was great, slow speed enforced. Need name brand bread in store off-brand mashed and not good. Kiddie pool out of service (should be usable in July and August)
Aug 02, 2017
Absolutely Awesome Kampground! Clean, quiet, amenities galore, super nice employees. We will be coming back. Thanks Cherokee KOA for a wonderful relaxing weekend.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice campground for kids. Love the river. Not at all happy about not being able to pick sites anymore. We come to stay with family and don't want to pay good money for a crappy site. Half of the sites are muddy or extremely small. Pools are nasty. Surprised the health dept hasn't shut it down.
Aug 02, 2017
We enjoyed this KOA and the beautiful area! We stayed in a deluxe kabin with a loft. The grounds need alot of work, very hard to get the free night after staying a week but did get it, loved the excursions And staff. The best part for the kids was river tubing and jumping pillow, I loved no phone or wifi - We played!
Aug 02, 2017
Stayed in a camping cabin. Staff was fairly friendly. Some areas could use some TLC. Could have more activities for adults. DJ dance party was rather boring. DJ was not very interactive and the rec staff did not interact with the guests very well. Great pool areas. A great place to relax and not far from town. Can't wait to go back.
Aug 02, 2017
WIFI needs to be improved
Aug 02, 2017
We had a great stay, 5 nights. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Aug 02, 2017
Loved it will be back!
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Great location with excellent facilities and staff
Aug 01, 2017
Great family fun! Super friendly and helpful staff. Very clean :)
Aug 01, 2017
Walls of cabin were thick with dust, screens in windows were ripped & had holes, screen door did not close all the way- had to use our cooler to hold door shut, pool was murky, hot tub bottom full of sand/dirt- indoor pool/hot tub were worse. Overall experience was just ok, not aweful- would consider maybe going back for a second chance.
Aug 01, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay in Cherokee. Bathrooms were in good shape. Campsites were nice. The only thing we noticed was the staff wasn't as friendly as we have seen at other KOAs We will come back for another stay
Aug 01, 2017
This KOA at one time was the top of the line. Seems management has changed hands and I called over 2 months ago about getting info on a space and it took me actually going and staying to talk to the manager about the spot. (She was the only person that handled these spots). Isn't as organized as it use to be. Use to be full of kids activities daily and staff use to be very involved not so much now
Aug 01, 2017
First time at this KOA. Loved it.
Aug 01, 2017
Evening around the pool shuts down a little early.... would consider leaving the snack/ ice cream open later and miss the arcade and evening music under the arcade.
Aug 01, 2017
Been to this KOA 3 + times. Everyone is nice (staff) place is clean and we enjoy our visits. May only complaint was our cabin had only tea for the keurig and I'm a coffee drinker! Will come back for sure
Aug 01, 2017
great but needs more trees. also need to cut down the weeds blocking view of creek.other than that perfect.
Aug 01, 2017
KOA changed my cabin type from what I booked online without my knowledge. They changed it back when I questioned it at check in but couldn't tell me why that happened and I had to wait for repairs to be made to the cabin. It was still missing the microwave the website said it would have. WiFi didn't work. No water pressure in showers. No parking space at cabins. Won't be back.
Aug 01, 2017
Staff was helpful the day we arrived. I was without the proper adapter to hook up my power and Max tried everything he could to help. I am grateful. Overall place is clean and neat and plenty of activities for my kids. Nice-friendly atmosphere and spacious camp sites.
Aug 01, 2017
Site we stayed on was roomy. Wifi wasn't really available anywhere on camp ground. Tubing was a blast, but is not the leisurely float, so be prepared for lots of rapids!
Jul 31, 2017
We loved the amenities and the staff and the bath house was very clean. Our campsite was flooded all week and the mud smelled awful. Please put a drain in or divert the water, and perhaps some gravel in the enormous pot holes.
Jul 31, 2017
Everything was great. The only problem was the lack of wireless internet OR cell phone service. Very spotty - was never able to get longer than 5 minutes on the internet anywhere, and cell phone went in and out. As this is a billed as a resort KOA, you should either fix the wifi or remove the marking of it on your website. Otherwise, very good.
Jul 31, 2017
Nice place. Lots to do. Wifi is no good at all. My friends were staying on site 215 and the campground had major confusion on the check out date and threatened his wife with pulling the camper. After finally getting our emails pulled up and showing the confirmation they were very apologetic but not before making her cry while her husband and myself had to leave for a funeral.
Jul 31, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at Cherokee KOA. The amenities were great, the bath house was extremely clean, the staff was great (very friendly & extremely helpful), the campground was very clean, and overall our family really enjoyed it.
Jul 31, 2017
I would like to have had a printout of the daily recreation activities. Too many kids on bikes not paying attention but no problems with noise. Good stay.
Jul 31, 2017
This was our 2nd stay here! Our daughter(9) actually likes the serenity of the campground as much as we do. We had a little issue at the beginning pf our stay(location of cabin) but was resolved very quickly. The ammenities of the campsite are fantastic and we enjoy the area. We'll definitely be back soon!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award