Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2017
Great stay lots to do for kids and family. My only complaint was they had pumpkin painting for little kids to do and when judging time came grown ups where in it and kids pumpkin didn't have a chance to win. Lots of really small children and parents where upset. They should have age group judging. For god sake they would be happy with an ice cream cone for winning. Sorry it stunk for kids.
Oct 23, 2017
Our check in this year was horrible. For the last 3 years it was fine. This year it was very confusing for the lady who checked us in, & yet the 2 double sites where the same as the years before. We just could not get her to understand. If the rumor is true about a $10 reservation fee plus the deposit, my guess we won't be back.
Oct 23, 2017
Love Halloween weekend lots of things to do with family we will be back next year hope they have e pumpkin carving contest next year kids Had fun with that last year
Oct 23, 2017
One night there was a huge rainstorm, and since we don't have a rainfly for our tent, we used a tarp. Worked great, and left it up after because of the heavy dew in the mornings. Maintenance then came to inform us that we had to remove it, but couldn't give a good reason. We complied, and asked about it at checkout. Manager on duty still unable to give a reason, or show me a guideline. Bad busines
Oct 23, 2017
Great staff, friendly and helpful.
Oct 23, 2017
The stay was very nice and relaxing. Two things I do not like about the campground is there is little to no cell phone reception which may not be the fault of the campground. The second is the fact that we are unable to choose where we stay within the campground. We had a group of 4 sites and we were all very far apart.
Oct 23, 2017
We love this place. Friendly staff, great location, great facilities, and lots of fun. Great for families with small children.
Oct 23, 2017
Told me I couldn't ride UTV after I ask before I brought it. No different from golf cart plus I have full coverage insurance. Employee's came around as we were packing up and cleaning up firepit and got ash all over and in my camper. Wi fi is junk.
Oct 23, 2017
I love staying at this KOA. There are plenty of lodging options in a great setting.
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Love this KOA, great people, friendly park... but with no cell signal, would love full coverage on wifi. Barely got an IP address most of the time.
Oct 23, 2017
The Campground was clean and well cared for. The staff was very helpful. I stayed on a Holliday weekend so it was packed. My kids enjoyed the indoor heated pool. The drive to downtown Cherokee was easy and I did not feel like I was too far from town. No cell service with AT&T or Verizon. No off-air television. Cable TV was OK. Wifi was spotty. Overall I was pleased and will return!
Oct 23, 2017
Wifi is non-existent & Power Infrastructure is over 40 years old with reliability problems. Bathrooms in the bath house are not cleaned routinely and have failing parts. This is a mgmt of growth problem. Spend 1/2 as much on improving their infrastructure vs a new breezeway for the front office - would be better. We have come to this site for 12 years...and now looking elsewhere. Invest right!
Oct 23, 2017
Our only complaint is about the water pressure in the men's restroom/bathhouse. The pressure is extremely low to the point of non-existent.
Oct 23, 2017
This was our first camping experience after 47 years of marriage with our newly acquired trailer. Kind of a prequel for retirement. Other than a few newbie situations, the weekend went well and I can see with a little time we will have fun. I am glad we picked a KOA to do this as the staff was there to smooth out any issues. We will be back.
Oct 23, 2017
Overall we enjoy staying at the Cherokee location, but the WiFi/Internet & Cellular Service has never worked. Weâve stayed there multiple times over the last three years and itâs never worked for more than a coupl of minutes.
Oct 23, 2017
the staff was not friiendly we ask for gas for the grill did not get any had a bad time
Oct 23, 2017
My son and I woke up with big welts on hands face neck and lower legs, after searching and researching it looks and sounds exactly like bed bugs. We shared the full size bed in K259.
Oct 23, 2017
Really nice kind clean campground.
Oct 23, 2017
Restrooms and showers were always clean and very available. It was the week before Halloween and all the family campers etc plus the KOA staff had lots to do for the kids and parents. All seemed to have a great time. Great spot for the KOA. Not too far to go into town for meals and see the sights. Lots to do in the area.
Oct 23, 2017
Great place for family. Great customer service.
Oct 23, 2017
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the resent changes to the office area, it seams to make check in a smoother process. Lots of activities for the kids. Over all just a great place to relax and turn life OFF for the weekend.
Oct 22, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
enjoyed our stay friendly staff just wish they would take the time to blow off the pads after they mow the grass a little messy but we had a broom to sweep it off
Oct 22, 2017
We had a nice campsite with concrete pad. It was great. My son and her husband rented a beautiful cabin on the water. It was new and very nice.
Oct 22, 2017
Guide took us to campsite then said wouldn't fit. Back at store, after long wait, told us couldn't move us. Overheard this happen to two others. Going back to site guides cart was dying and he left us with poor directions to site. Over grown trees scratched up RV. Site very small and included tree stump in front of door and large pile of grass clippings. Will warn everyone not to go here.
Oct 22, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
We have stayed here several times over the past few years. As always a great place to stay
Oct 22, 2017
Beautiful campground
Oct 21, 2017
Great park. Well run. Courteous and helpful staff. The only complaint I have is with the wifi but I know that is very difficult to do in your area.
Oct 21, 2017
Enjoyed our stay... KOA is the best they truly take pride in catering to there guests. This was our 2nd year in a row and plan to return again next year. Only complaint is WIFI is a crap shoot & cable was very unsteady hoping this will be corrected for next years visit; other than that can't think of anything else that needs improving. Carl & Linda Pelinen Lot 195
Oct 21, 2017
Cherokee KOA is one of our very favorite campgrounds. We love the indoor pool, but the exhaust fan at the north end makes a very loud noise and needs to be repaired or replaced.
Oct 21, 2017
All was fine Nice staff. Sites are great But....please get rid of the otters in the trout ponds. Fishing was poor. Ponds were not stocked the whole week we were there
Oct 21, 2017
I would rate a 5 if the Wi-Fi worked all the time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The camp site was clean. We enjoyed our stay.
Oct 21, 2017
Very clean campground and very friendly staff.
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 21, 2017
We enjoy staying at your KOA. The only thing is that next time we will not come during the Halloween holiday. We also would not like a campsite at the end of the row on a main road. Otherwise, it is a wonderful place, and we would definitely recommend it.
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 21, 2017
Wifi rarely worked. I need this since I run a business while on the road. Joann at the Front Desk was extremely âSnarkyâ in her comments to me. I questioned the âcomputerâ selecting my site. I asked if I had choices. I tried to joke with her to lighten up her remarks. She didnât like it and made it clear I was being difficult because I wanted to select a different site. Campground
Oct 21, 2017
Very nice cabin with a creek to the rear of cabin and off to the left. So beautiful! The staff were very helpful. Thank you
Oct 20, 2017
Oct 20, 2017
Perfect!!
Oct 20, 2017
Awesome. WiFi could use some improvement. Otherwise, thank you.
Oct 20, 2017
Staff eager to please, excellent cabin,will be back
Oct 19, 2017
We had a good time; however, we received a campsite at the front entrance right across from the store. There was construction going on at the store, so it was somewhat noisy with the drilling, hammering, sawing, etc. Also with all the campground traffic coming and going it was very noisy. I wish KOA would allow campers to pick their site when making the reservation.
Oct 19, 2017
Check in was easy. Staff was wonderful. Campground was top notch. Amenities for children was great. Couldn't ask for a better experience. Looking forward for our March visit!
Oct 18, 2017
Great location to camp in the Smokies. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The cell phone service is almost non existent in the valley. They need to upgrade their WIFI modem. I could only get online to email at 6:00am. After 9:00am there was virtually no WIFI service. When I questioned the lack of service, they said that there were 700+ people staying that weekend. That's no excuse.
Oct 18, 2017
All was well except the cable TV. It was so snowy we couldn't use it. This was from 6 of us all on the same row
Oct 18, 2017
Had a great time with your staff,fun fishing tournament.
Oct 18, 2017
Had a good relaxing time. See you next year
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award