Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2019
While all the folks working at Cherokee KOA are great, I must say that Priscilla at the front desk was my favorite. She was so nice and helpful and a joy to talk to. The maintenance man Daren was also great.
Jul 10, 2019
Every thing was great!
Jul 10, 2019
Poor management, Nasty bathhouses, Camp Site in desperate need of repair, no security, items stolen from campsite and management could care less. Tons of employees riding around on golf carts, but what they do, I have no idea. SIX employees rode by our site with trash out and never picked it up. Loud campers and employees partying after quiet hours and no answer from the after hours security.
Jul 10, 2019
Good as usual
Jul 10, 2019
My grand son enjoyed the activities. We all enjoy being to get together and enjoy the mountain views and camp fires.
Jul 10, 2019
For the most part our stay exceeded expectations. The pool was okay and the restrooms were acceptable for a holiday week. Parking was a challenge as there was a cabin by us that had 4 cars and a large trailer taking up a great deal of space. Be very careful driving because kids jump out from behind parked cars into the road. Our cabin was clean.
Jul 10, 2019
Extremely disappointed! Slow check in. Excessive amount of bikes blocking check in spots. Bikes and people on road blocking vehicles. No bike paths. Too many people in pools and jumping pad (50+). No enforcement of unit count. Partying/fireworks all hours. Wedding reception with flood of people. Watermelon thrown on vehicle. Too small spot (S290) for $75. Spot was a muddy, trashy mess. Scary place
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Overall Great. I was disappointed when I called back to make our reservations for labor day that the receptionist was rude. I was quite shocked. I was wanting to book cabin 303 which we had physically seen had a tv & fridge in it, but he kept telling me it did not. I asked if he could please verify that prior to making reservation and he was rude. You could tell he didn't want to do anything extra
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
For the price of your sites I expect better service ex: no toilet paper and soap in bathrooms, sewage connection broke off, wasps problem we had to take care of ourself, computer system down for check in, on a positive note all roads paved and in good shape.
Jul 09, 2019
There use to be more activities. The bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. The indoor pool was not at all clean our entire visit. We had to wait in line a long time at the office to purchase items. We still enjoy our time at the KOA, but might consider another campground next time.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Enjoyable location. Nice shaded areas with well maintained concrete pull through pad. Camp store could have been stocked better and had longer hours. Campground is older but in good repair. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy check-in process with plenty of space for a bigger rig. There are tons of things to do in and around Cherokee, NC.
Jul 09, 2019
The campground has changed over the last few years. The quiet hours were changed from 10 to 11 PM and were not enforced. We stayed close to the basketball court, and kids were out there at midnight. Reservations made 6 months prior were not honored. Booked a riverside cabin and was booked into the back creek side cabin. Traffic going by less than 100 away. Not a quiet stay to say the least.
Jul 08, 2019
Wonderful campground!
Jul 08, 2019
Had an issue with our guaranteed site, but the people there were very helpful and made sure all was taken care of. Can't say enough good things about Daren & Priscilla as well as Chris. Daren went above and beyond to make sure our site was taken care of - even after hours. Priscilla is a joy to interact with and Chris came by frequently to see if we needed anything. You have a great crew!
Jul 08, 2019
Darin and Priscilla are the best!!! Darin really took care of us when our site booking got mixed up. Also manager was kind to give us a comp night for the trouble.
Jul 08, 2019
I was in the office at 2:15 to check in and was told that I could not check in until 3, I went back at 3 and was told that my cabin was not ready yet they were still cleaning. After 4 pm my husband was talking to one of the maintenance guys who had seen him outside for quite a long time so he radioed and found out they had not even started on our cabin. I had food go bad waiting.
Jul 08, 2019
Great place to stay my family loves it. The only thing that could use improvement is housekeeping. The bathrooms got stocked and straightened up but not cleaned.
Jul 08, 2019
We had a great time and we will be making this our annual vacation spot for sure! Centrally located and truly have no complaints.
Jul 08, 2019
Had a great time! Staff is much better than years past!
Jul 08, 2019
We stayed at this KOA for 15 night & were satisfied with our stay. The campground had many planned activities for children, as well as many children amenities. If we should vacation in the area again, we would definitely return to this campground.
Jul 08, 2019
Stay was ok place not very clean and I tried to make reservations for next Memorial Day weekend end I was told I had to make a 4 night reservations and had to be Thursday through Monday even though there was no way I could come on that day I am very disappointed in Koa if this is a corporate decision which is what I was told not sure I’ll be back
Jul 08, 2019
It was not as relaxing as some KOA's we are used to. This one had many, many more cabins, which seemed to change the clientele. We encountered several, not so friendly guests that just made the family feel uncomfortable. The pool/waterslide was also closed for 2 of the 3 days we were there due to maintenance issues. I know this is unforeseen, but it was a disappointment for the kids.
Jul 08, 2019
Campground and bath houses were clean
Jul 08, 2019
Very clean and family friendly campground. Large sites and lots of activities to keep us entertained.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
We came in Tues afternoon and was able to set up camp right away. The staff were all very nice (especially Joanne) . We only had one incident that required a little attention, and as soon as I mentioned it, it was dealt with. I will say the bathrooms were always freezing, so make sure you dress for it. This KOA is very nice and very clean. Love it there, didn’t want to leave.
Jul 07, 2019
AWESOME!! Sites were clean, Restrooms/Showers were clean ONLY COMPLAINT - Internet is MUCH BETTER than previous years, but wish it could be even better. Couldn't watch Netflix or Prime at night, buffering too much. And we even have a KING WiFi booster.
Jul 07, 2019
came up to see unto these Hills. We have known of This KOA from previous trips to the area. Visited once. but never stayed. We're glad we did this time
Jul 06, 2019
The staff is wonderful! The cabin had some problems, but the staff repaired them immediately. This KOA has a perfect location, wonderful staff, and great accommodations. Thank you!
Jul 06, 2019
Bed bugs, bathrooms dirty. Campsites muddy.. maintenance staff was very nice
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Been staying in KOA in Cherokee for a while.there has been upgrades to the campground which is great but it has also caused the rates to go up.sorry to say that we want be staying as much as we use to.
Jul 06, 2019
Very clean facilities.. views are amazing and no matter how big your rig is they have a spot for you! We took advantage of the 5.00 shuttle to town to shop and was glad we did t have to try and navigate our RV in the shopping center!!!
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Friendly staff. Good activities. Very clean. Pool showing it's age.
Jul 05, 2019
We love the KOA camp ground. It's so kid friendly and pet friendly. We had a ball tubing!! We brought bikes and it gave our kids a way to travel all over the camp ground!! Loved that there was a dog park. My dogs were able to run and play while getting to see the kids play on the pillow trampoline!! We will definitely be back next summer!!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
The campground was great, unfortunately it rained the first two days we were there making the ground kind of muddy at the campsite. We made the best of bad weather and gave us a good mini-vacation. Thanks for being there. Dale
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 05, 2019
We had a great time and will be looking forward to our next trip to Cherokee!
Jul 05, 2019
Great as always!
Jul 05, 2019
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground. Lots of activities. However the campstore closed at 6PM which was too early considering it takes 15m to go into town for anything. We never had usable cable for entire 8 days and the wifi signal is very poor. The indoor pool water needs a much better filtering and chlorination system. Gotta pick up game on the amenities to charge these prices.
Jul 04, 2019
Beautiful campground with tons to do. My only complaint is RV 36’ towing (they usually add 10’ for tow) was placed in site 229 which at MAX can have 38” backed as far as the stops. Too tight at $90 a night. (I did complain multiple times but too full to move). Next sites 230-234 are really large and nice.
Jul 04, 2019
A lot of work going on. Outdoor pool was closed for half our stay. No internet. Office/store closing at 6 during the summer is just silly.
Jul 04, 2019
We stayed for 5 nights. We had a perfect spot on the river. Thank you to Rachel for upgrading us there!!! Only down fall at this KOA, the cabin did not have AC. If we didn’t bring our dogs it wouldn’t have bothered us since it cools down at night. Beautiful area, nice to see the Elk. Our girls liked this KOA a lot and request to visit again next year, same time since they’ve made camp friend
Jul 04, 2019
I was shocked to be charged an extra $3.50 per night for resort fees that were not indicated on the web site when I booked my reservation. I believe I should have been told when I booked. I know it's not much extra , it the principal.
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at home. Her husband is also awesome with getting you set up and filling propane! We had a slight issue with a cab service to shuttle us to Harrah’s. (No Uber/Lyft Available) Rachel happened to be around while we found a second plan for transportation. After she found out what was going on, she offered to shuttle us to the Casino with no questions asked. We truly couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be returning very soon and I hope you visit KOA of Cherokee!
- JJ Smith on Google
Feb 18, 2020
Great campground. Friendly staff. Lots to do even in the off season. We will be back.
- Stacey Niedentohl on Google
Feb 16, 2020
Was great . Perfect Valentine's weekend.
- Clara willard on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.