Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 02, 2018
Arrived at 5:00, however our cabin was not available due to house keeping until 7:30. Even with the longwait our deluxe cabin floors, shower, refrigerator and toilet were very dirty! I am not sure what was cleaned! Sheets? On the 2nd day a staff member let them selves in and changed our toilet paper roll? We did not need towels as none had been used! This was while we were out for the day!
Oct 02, 2018
The staff was helpful and friendly. I do wonder why we can't get our GoodSam discount here. Our only issue was, well, two issues: the lights were left on in empty cabins and on Saturday afternoon, our closest restroom near Site 83 was nearly out of paper supplies. Otherwise, it is a lovely location, easy to get to waterfalls, the National Park, museums and shopping. We hope to go back soo
Oct 02, 2018
Stayed week disappointed that the hot tub wasn’t working but everything else well friendly staff in nice place
Oct 02, 2018
KOA is always a wonderful way to go! The facilities are clean and affordable and the campground provides so many fun activities for the family!
Oct 02, 2018
Oct 02, 2018
The prices for the deluxe cabins are high. The cabins were pretty clean. It would be a better option to eliminate the sofa bed and put in another queen bed. They are extremely uncomfortable. Checkout is 11, check in is 3. Thats 4 hours to get cabins cleaned. Not enough staff leads to us waiting an additional 2 hours to check in. The staff is ok but disorganized.
Oct 02, 2018
HAD A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE, WE WILL NOT BE BACK, WE WERE LEFT IN DOWNTOWN CHEROKEE FOR AN OUR AND WE WERE TOLD KOA EOULD COME BACK AND GET US, BUT NEEDLESS TO SAY WE HAD TO GET A CAB AND PAY $ 25.00 TO GET BACK TO OUR CAMP SITE AND TOLD KOA ABOUT IT THEY DID NOT EVEN OFFER TO GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK OR EVEN A FREE NIGHT.. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THE CABINS WERE MOT EVEN KEPT UP LIKE ALL OTHER
Oct 02, 2018
This KOA has it all! We fished, used the pool and hot tub, hiked, and rode bikes on the many paved roads. Our site on the river was huge! Staff members were thoughtful, kind, and accommodating! I 100% recommend this KOA!
Oct 01, 2018
Not as bad as some of the reviews, but nowhere near where it could be. We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It did have air, but the room was horrible damp all the time. Floor was dirty when we checked in.The friends we met had to wait 3+hours plus check in for their cabin and ours had to be "checked on" at 7:30 at night. Seriously? Kids enjoyed activities. Where was putt putt? and game room was closed
Oct 01, 2018
Beautiful campgrounds and cabins! They gave us the wrong cabin the first night when we arrived at 11:30 PM, gave us deluxe instead of premium. It was too late to correct it that night. Switched us the next day and didn’t charge us the difference. :) Bathroom by cabin was dirty and according to the cleaning chart hadn’t been cleaned in 3 days. Overall though it was great! Loved pool and jump pi
Oct 01, 2018
First time staying at a KOA. It was a wonderful experience. The front desk staff were very accommodating and helpful. Joanne and Cody are great. Our deluxe cabin was right on the creek with a beautiful view. It was very peaceful. The Cherokee KOA is a perfect location for exploring the Smokey Mountains, Maggie Valley and of course Cherokee. We will certainly be back.
Oct 01, 2018
Everything was great except I was very disappointed with the bathroms. They were nasty. In the woman's room one of the napkin disposal bag had been on the floor for 3 of the 5 days I was there. The bathrooms also stunk. My husband wouldn't take a shower until he got home. He took a sponge bath instead. I stayed at the KOA in Buffalo Tn. Now those bathroom were clean. Theirs were better then a mote
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Our cabin was the only one that had no screen door and no screens in the window, so we couldn't even enjoy the sound of the creek or the fresh air. Also, I was told that we would receive a 10% military discount on the total for our stay, yet it was only applied to the remaining portion.
Sep 30, 2018
love staying here, the tv was the biggest disappointment very fuzzy and no nbc
Sep 29, 2018
I love my weekend getaways to KOACherokee. A cabin on the river helps me rejuvenate. I think the luxury cabins are awesome! The staff is friendly also. Did not not eat at the food court this time...but it is a nice bonus to have. My son likes being able to fish in river or ponds. Love love love!
Sep 29, 2018
Beautiful campground in lovely setting. Well-kept grounds. Have stayed here before. Cabin did not seem as clean as in past years. Cobwebs in corners of rooms, dusty shades, lights burned out, no grilling utensils, floor swept but needed a good mopping. Cabin upkeep seems to have slacked from past years. Still, we had a great time and hope the housekeeping issues will be resolved soon.
Sep 29, 2018
Beautiful location. Cable only had 7 channels and no news type channel- not even local. No weather type channel either. Wi-fi was intermittent throughout our 4 nite stay. This is reason for four stars. We plan to return ( with our own dish) in future.
Sep 28, 2018
Everything was absolutely amazing!! We were constantly in awe of the grounds & the service (especially Ryn & Mike!!)
Sep 27, 2018
Water smelled, dirty in restroom, trash to the limit, overcharged, cable terrible and no phone service
Sep 27, 2018
Not bad but not great, bathrooms need more attention.
Sep 27, 2018
Everything went well and pleasant stay!
Sep 27, 2018
Maxes reservation about 2 months prior for a riverfront site and upon arrival was given one that had about a 3 ft section that may have been considered waterfront and was directly next to playground and bounce pad. We are in our 60’s and have no kids. We went back to office and were told computer picks sites at random. We took a site in middle of campground and next morning went back to office
Sep 27, 2018
There wasn't any hot water in the bathroom from Monday until Thursday. When we asked about it, we were told the hot water doesn't get turned on until the end of the week when more campers come. Really, I would think that is very unsanitary. No toilet paper in the men's room. The power went out 11:00am on Saturday and still wasn't on at 5:00pm...we left early. Couldn't handle it without A/C.
Sep 26, 2018
Asked for help on Saturday about 7:00 pm with the cable, no one showed up every thing else was good.
Sep 26, 2018
We stayed right across from the campers that also work at the campground a couple had a lot set up outside the camper with puppies and older dogs the smell during the day was terrible when it was hot. One early evening we started a fire at our campsite to try to mask the smell. The campground was nice but will not stay at that site again.
Sep 26, 2018
Mostly, I chose to bring the coach that way from our home in Balsam Grove because I didn't want to spend $400-plus to stay at the casino after our trip to the Allison Krause concert. I was pleasantly surprised by how well-equipped this campground is. We're not gamblers, but anytime there is a concert at Harrah's, I know where we'll be staying. -- dave
Sep 26, 2018
Nice campground, well managed and maintained and good location. The campground was fairly quiet traffic wise, and felt smaller than it was site wise. The water pressure seemed a little low, but was sufficient.
Sep 26, 2018
Sep 26, 2018
Great campground, clean and quiet. I have been staying here for 15 yrs or so, this was my first time with my family and they loved it. The only sugesstion i have is to paint direction arrows on the roads in the campground to minimize confusion when driving through.
Sep 26, 2018
We have stayed in the Rustic Cabins at this KOA many times and have really enjoyed it. We were very disappointed this time. We stayed in a different area and used a different bath house. We were used to having water at the cabin but this cabin did not. The design of the bathroom was awful. There were no benches to put our clothes on and the men's restroom was muddy. I did not have hot water.
Sep 26, 2018
Great place, very nice people. There is a lot for the kids to do.
Sep 26, 2018
Sep 25, 2018
The Cherokee KOA has a wonderful layout with great amenities and the camp sites are nice as well! However this weekend there was an event that took some of the workers away leaving the grill closed, grass wasn’t cut, etc! Also power went out which was out of there control however they wouldn’t allow bike rentals due to no electricity but it was in the middle of the day!
Sep 24, 2018
Campground advertises limited cable channels. Cable was nonexistent. Resort fee charged but pool and hot tubs dirty. Disappointed in this campground. Disappointed in KOA allowing this to happen over a long period of time. This campground could be a wonderful place
Sep 24, 2018
We enjoyed the pool and the inflatable bounce thing. Also, the staff was very friendly. However, tent camping with the main road on just the other side of the pond was way too loud. Also, there were very noisy neighbors two sites down. Wished quiet hours started earlier. We’d rent a cabin here again, but we won’t be tent camping here anymore in the future.
Sep 24, 2018
Love this campground. Beautiful setting . And the employees are very nice and helpful.
Sep 23, 2018
Had bad water made us sick no tv over priced over rated lied to us several times will never go back it is a dump
Sep 23, 2018
Super pretty camp and well maintained.
Sep 21, 2018
Sep 21, 2018
The cabin was close to a noisy road. There was a $30+ “resort fee” that was not class clear when reserving. It should just be in the cost and shown not hidden from the customer. Very disappointed in this fact.
Sep 19, 2018
Upon arrival we were told a charge of 25.00 was necessary to check in early. Upon Checking in we had to wait almost two hours to have the Air condition unit repaired. The housekeeping person came to clean up after the serviceman. She apologized several times for the poor quality of the house keeping which included Dog hair everywhere. Bathroom nasty commode not cleaned. Not a good experience.
Sep 19, 2018
We had a great time! The staff was super nice, the campground was clean, the store had everything that we forgot to bring, and the mountains we're beautiful!
Sep 19, 2018
Sep 18, 2018
Cabin was great, staff was nice but, when I asked about the area, knowledge was limited. The cafe messed up the breakfast order but, food was okay, prices were great. We would stay again.
Sep 18, 2018
It was very clean friendly. Cabin we had was close to bathroom. Disappointed did not have porch swing or chairs ac/heat but was pleased it had 2 outlets to plug few things and ceiling fan.
Sep 18, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals