Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 14, 2018
Wonderful staff, beautiful and very clean accommodations, quiet and restful stay, great prices and great proximity to the national park! Thank you very much to everyone there!
Oct 13, 2018
I think they gave us the worst site in a campground very uneven ground big tree growing beside it Roots all over the place cable didn't work just didn't have a good time this time last time I was there with much better but this time was terrible
Oct 13, 2018
Great place to stay. Everyone was very nice. If I had any negatives, it would be the price of the cabins. They seem higher than the rest of the locations.
Oct 13, 2018
Large friendly staff. The KOA store was depleted of commonly used items. We enjoyed our stay.
Oct 12, 2018
Back in July I called by phone to reserve 2 side by side sites. Some how the KOA person on the phone managed to charge my Visa five charges each of $83 +/-. Fortunately I brought a printout of credit card charges which looked strange. At sign in no credit was shown and staff said KOA had not received these payments. After a half a day of jerking me around, the second supervisor fixed it. OK.
Oct 12, 2018
Filthy overall, housekeeping should be fired. Shower houses were decent, but the cabins were dirty, smelled like urine, infested with ants, bad plumbing (had to double flush and drain backed up while showering)... Too bad, great location for the area, worst experience we have ever had at a KOA! Normally stay with our RV, this our 2nd time staying in a cabin, the 1st time at another KOA was better!
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 12, 2018
Been staying there for 20 yrs. Love it there. However the service in the store was terrible. They did not have enough help. Waited in line forever. Had 1 lady waiting on customers. I walked out and went down the road to another store and got my fishing supplies.
Oct 12, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
Oct 11, 2018
It was nice needed a little cleaning and fleshing up .pool and hot tub was not up to par when we got there.outside staff were friendly inside needed more info on area.and should know if pizza is delivered to the park.it is they said not.
Oct 10, 2018
initial reservation had us in a pull through that would not support the toy hauler and tow vehicle, staff was very accommodating in moving in moving to a larger pull through for the weekend
Oct 10, 2018
I was somewhat disappointed in this KOA. After three days the restrooms had not been cleaned or refurbished. The laundry areas were unkept and no change machines worked in entire park.The area is beautiful but many amenities listed on their website were not available nor was there any attempt to appease. One employee Sean went above and beyond to do his share in tending to the customers.
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Oct 10, 2018
Very nice. Clean bathrooms/showers/playground/pool. Friendly staff. Nice area.
Oct 10, 2018
Enjoyed our stay very much, it was a beautiful place,very clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Can’t wait to visit again!
Oct 09, 2018
Cabins are great but mattresses leave a lot to be desired. We have stayed several times for a number of years and if the beds were better we would likely go more. Just can’t deal with back aches from mattresses! Don’t understand why KOA can’t afford to upgrade beds when you guys stayed booked up?
Oct 09, 2018
We have been coming to this KOA for over 30 years. We usually stay in one of the river cabins, but I chose a creek cabin this time and did not realize that “partial kitchen” meant only a microwave and a small refrigerator. We usually cook and that changed our plans somewhat; maybe more detail could be included in the description so others will know. Always love this KOA and will always come ba
Oct 09, 2018
Our stay was great! The biggest drawback is the lack of phone service. The TV/satellite reception is also not very good at all. We did ask that it be looked at, which they did, and it helped a little but still not great. The cabin had 3 lightsbulbs out or missing in the kitchen area, which were replaced upon request. We have enjoyed our stay the past 2 years and will be back in 2019.
Oct 09, 2018
Our favorite KOA!
Oct 09, 2018
We just stayed for a couple of days. It was nice that they took us to our spot and helped us get in correctly. Everyone in the office was courteous.
Oct 09, 2018
Was given site number 298. Got all set up and it had no power. Then had to pack up and move to site 265 which was a back in, and re setup. I was given a 10 % $5 discount for all that trouble and zero apology. Have been there twice this fall but won’t be back !
Oct 09, 2018
Premium tent campsite includes: -Major road 20 ft away -Old barbwired fence adjacent to campsite, very safe -Neighboring campsite 8 ft away -This is worth $60?
Oct 09, 2018
Beautiful campground and very nice people. There was an attendant that took us to our campsite. Loved all the concrete sites and great play area for kids!!!
Oct 09, 2018
Nice campground. Employees were friendly. However we couldn’t watch tv due to cable problems that employees were trying to fix. Also, a lot of campers did not pick up after their pets. Due to the size of the campground, there were a great many number of dogs (which I love) but certain areas the smell of dog urine was overpowering.
Oct 09, 2018
The check in was very slow. The cabin was older and wasn’t clean. The kitchen table was sticky, we didn’t want to eat at the table. The walls were dusty. We left something at the cabin and called to ask them to check for us. We were very willing to pay for its return but no one called back. The location is awesome!
Oct 08, 2018
We really enjoyed staying here for the weekend! WE will return soon with my parents next time!
Oct 08, 2018
We had a great stay. Have been coming there for several years and add to our group each year. This year the only issue we had was the men's bathhouse across from campsite 141 was not cleaned as it should have been. Ladies was no issue. Thanks for all the hard work you all do to keep things going. We love this campground and will return.
Oct 08, 2018
Oct 08, 2018
Nice lots next to a river. Campground was well maintained. Did have issues with the Cable TV for the first few days but got better. Would have liked a little larger pad as we were towing a car and had a 40' bus.
Oct 08, 2018
The staff where not helpful and rude
Oct 08, 2018
The facility was very nice as were the employees. The cabin however was below par compared to other KOA's we have stayed at.
Oct 08, 2018
Very clean, well kept and we loved the Halloween decorations! Will def be coming back to this campground! Our kids had a fantastic time and it’s very family friendly.
Oct 08, 2018
staff very helpful and friendly first couple days had problems with tv reception but they worked diligently and got it fixed. the showers in the bathroom could use a bench and the outside showers could use shelves in the shower. place clean might consider another dumpster in the back of campground overall good experience and coming back again
Oct 08, 2018
Special shout-out to James in maintenance, He help solution a power and cable problem at my site. He was knowledgeable, professional and friendly and willing to go above and beyond to solve both problems quickly and efficiently...
Oct 08, 2018
Bathrooms nasty!date on doors showed last time cleaned 9,26,18
Oct 08, 2018
Terrible customer service. Nasty bathrooms. Never again.
Oct 08, 2018
Great visit, people very friendly, curtious. However, do not have enough staff for both the check-in and the store Stod in line with a couple of items and had to wait for check ins to complete before making my purchases. People behind me were putting there items down and walking out Know body was at the store register.
Oct 08, 2018
Tge cabin was well located but maintenance was very poor. The room had a musty smell and the floors were very dirty. We can may be insist the footwear should not be taken inside. The restroom we're stinking all the time and we did not see anyone clean it during our entire stay this weekend The place has great potential if it was maintained properly.
Oct 08, 2018
Best KOA stay we have had. We will definitely be back!
Oct 08, 2018
Nice park in the Smokies. Lots of stuff for children and grandchildren to do.
Oct 08, 2018
Beautiful campground, only suggestion would be to heat indoor pool.
Oct 08, 2018
We stayed in a cabin. It was basic and really cute. Checked in super late and everything was waiting for us. Had a great time fishing. One lady Working in the store had a bit of an attitude but really no complaints. This was our third stay this year but first in a cabin. The mattresses are super thin so bring a topper or something.
Oct 07, 2018
Good stay, nice campground. Eighty dollars per night is too much, but you would think for that price you could settle in after dark and watch some TV. Not so, the picture in our area (I talked with several other campers) was unwatchable.
Oct 06, 2018
This was the worst day ever we have been coming there for the past 4 years they said they went Under New Management they need to bring back the old management because he's people do not know what they're doing they didn't give us the right cabin that we reserved the Kevin that they put us in was falling apart and they didn't care we will not be back again
Oct 06, 2018
Cable was advertised, but nothing on the screen but snow. Never fixed it the whole time we were there. Bathrooms were dirty. Water for showers was lukewarm and never heated up. Indoor hot tub was not hot, just jetted. Laundry room was dirty but good washers and dryers at a good price. Location was great just outside the national park. It was quiet on the river and clean in the campsite. I
Oct 06, 2018
My first time there and was great . I will be back . Only complaint is the cable was not working on lot 7 and the first night someone told us the cable was out in whole place but it wasn’t. It wasn’t connected on the lot so we had no tv on first night. Beautiful place
Oct 06, 2018
Have stayed here several times and it is always great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals