Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2017
We love it there n great place for our kids to play n have fun n staff had been very friendly n helpful.
Aug 09, 2017
Very good stay, however there were some issues. A mess in the men's toilet was there for at least 11 hours. The mattresses in the cabin were not that great. My grandkids wanted to begin camping here every year.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice, friendly management. Very dissapointed however with them saying there's wi-fi. When we arrived on Sat management told us and everyone else the wi-fi was "spotty". I never did find that spot or anyone that had! Was in second site to office. There's NO WI-FI!
Aug 09, 2017
We had a great time!!!
Aug 09, 2017
This KOA was amazing! The RV sites are very spacious and well kept so you don't feel like you are right on top of your neighbors like some other campgrounds. There is always something going on or something to do so you don't even have to leave the campground if you don't want to. Our granddaughters loved the DJ Dance party on Saturday night. The staff was wonderful to deal with and eager to help.
Aug 09, 2017
Unable to reserve specific sites for family group, broken pools/slide, broken vending machines, arcade out of order, broken sewer pipes, dog bit my daughter, dogs running loose thru park, guests reprimanded for riding bikes of differing gender, poor check in customer service, bike/golf cart parking area near pool not accessible by bidirectional traffic, and light required on stroller after dark
Aug 09, 2017
Awful. False advertising no game room no kiddie pool. Rules were not enforced by staff. Especially with quiet time. People were so loud and drunk kept us up. Watched security just drive on by after we complained. Then I was accused of being drunk with my 3 yr old son because I complained to management and I don't even drink. Poorly run. Very upset about the money wasted pool was always closed
Aug 09, 2017
Awful awful. Rude staff and rude campers no rules enforced for quiet time. Waste of money. Pools were always closed and very dirty. Security was a crock of crap. As he was drinking with the campers instead of enforcing quiet time. Complete bullshit
Aug 09, 2017
We came up for the Trout Derby and enjoyed our stay very much . The area was clean and friendly. The only issue or down fall was the cable reception ( all channels where shadowed or too blurry to watch even had a staff member check it ) and on a family note the water slide was not working
Aug 09, 2017
wifi usless cable tv not working Price to high
Aug 09, 2017
The sites were very nice but the pool water was brown and the splash pad area was roped off with caution tape. The night we arrived they had a dance party that was obnoxious and blaring even all the way back against the river. We got in line for food at 8 not realizing that the cafe closed at 8 and the associate leaned out gave a man his food then closed the window before we could walk up.
Aug 09, 2017
Very nice , clean park. The staff was very welcome went above to help make our first time stay awesome . Thank you koa staff we would definitely be back for vacation .
Aug 09, 2017
Upon arrival we were taken to the computer generated campground site number, only to discover it had been taken. After a discussion with one of the supervisors he gave us the option of 4 vacant sites. We choose our site and it was perfect. The bathhouses were comfortable, but needed monitoring more frequently with the volume of people at the campground that weekend, 8/4 - 8/6. Great Experience!
Aug 09, 2017
I didn't like the cabin but might bring my camper back sometime
Aug 09, 2017
Great stay... obviously internet service stink, but thats not what we came for. Jonathan really put the icing on the cake. All the staff was nice, but that fella was so pleasant to chat with. Great thanks to him.
Aug 08, 2017
My family and I have been coming here for the past 5 years. This stay was by far the worst I have ever had with any campground. We stayed in a cabin because we have a 6 baby and needed the microwave. At arrival our microwave was removed and never replaced (or even explained why) and our shower wouldn't drain. Staff was very rude. One told our friend he could not ride his wife's bicycle.
Aug 08, 2017
We have always loved staying at the Cherokee KOA. This year however there didn't seem to be as many activities provided. In addition, the campground was very noisy from vehicles and motorcycles from early morning until late into the night. This was in direct opposition to how we normally experienced the Cherokee KOA.
Aug 08, 2017
After coming to this KOA off and on for over 15 years may not come here again. Lots of times we would reserve 2 and 3 sites TOGETHER along with some cabins. Now the past two years we drive to this location and have confirmed a site that was not reserved and book our vacation only to get there and find we are moved and our site was given to someone else. Pls call for more details I have more.
Aug 08, 2017
Had tent campers behind our cabin with a baby that screamed all night and an alarm clock that went off 8 times with them hitting snooze at 5am. The place was pretty crowded and the staff had difficulty keeping up. Ran out of ice cream etc. overall the staff worked hard and were friendly. They can't possibly help that some folks have zero camp etiquette.
Aug 08, 2017
Our overall stay was fine. Unfortunately on our last night, there was a group of young men at the cabin nextdoor who were drinking and cussing and being loud outside until 3 am. My husband complained to the night security person at 11:30 but he only told them to "keep it down". The next morning there were beer cans, liquor bottles, and trash all over the lawn in front of the cabin.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
nice, clean restrooms and showers, friendly staff
Aug 08, 2017
Donnie was outstanding! He not only helped get us a spot that our camper would actually fit he became our new friend! Very knowledgeable of the area and took time to answer our questions. We have been to several koas and he made this koa our best experience because who he is!!! You are very lucky to have such a dedicated employee. He's invited to CT to stay with us anytime!
Aug 08, 2017
Very nice campground except for the noise at night. Neighbors on one side were hooping and hollering after midnight and on the other side were talking at their table til around 3am. Would have been nice if someone rounded to enforce a quiet time. Other than that the campground and camping sites were very nice.
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was very nice, especially Kevin. The campground is very Kid friendly. Our campsite on the river was wonderful but the rustic cabin we rented was in bad shape for the cost. There were tears in the screens and some electrical issues. For the price the cabins need better upkeep, otherwise our stay was great.
Aug 07, 2017
We enjoyed our visit for 8 days , however in talking to some 9 year regulars think things have changed for the worse and they will not be returning. Pools not clean, cetainly WIFI is extremely poor, and this alone will cause me to reconsider, we need it for business and yours does not meet the needs of me or all others I spoke with
Aug 07, 2017
We have came here for the past 5 years. This year something was different. Staffing had changed and a lot of stuff not like it used to be. Front entrance not done and had been working on it since Memorial Day. That shouldn't take that long. Game room closed. Kiddy pool closed. Mowing wasn't done timely. My lot the grass was too tall. Heard several complaints of not being able to book certain site.
Aug 07, 2017
I loved the spacious campsites and the pools. I wish that people would pay attention to their children. I saw a little toddler wandering down the street, he probably was looking for his campsite.
Aug 07, 2017
Great facility and location. The bathrooms could certainly have been cleaner. Shower floors were very dirty and several toilets were a disgrace but it is a busy site. Obviously, some guests had a hygiene issue! The facility has a grille/restaurant on site but it's hours were very inconsistent (not sticking to advertised hours) so it was very difficult to plan to eat there. When open, food was A
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was great. We weren't happy being next to the dumpster. Changed our site with no fuss. Great location. Clean facilities. The only complaint was the recreation booth. Got misinformation when tubing and had to get out of the water early or go over a waterfall. Other than that, we had a great time there and look forward to staying there in the future.
Aug 07, 2017
Activities for the kids weren't there like years in the past. Pools looked dirty, indoor pool freezing cold, water slide closed. Not the same experience from years past. Definitely tell there is new management, and the changes aren't positive!!
Aug 07, 2017
Sites are a bit tight. The buddy sites are not nearly as roomy as one would expect but it worked for us. Better access to the river for those not on the river sites would be a plus. Also, being able to pick the site you want would give you a 5 star rating and many more return guests.
Aug 07, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was fine. The campground was way too crowded however. There are too many campsites and it feels overly packed and crowded. We were there on a weekend and it was filled. The women's bathroom toilets were all clogged and out of the 4 women's showers, only one worked and Didn't didn't have hot water. They were sold out of tubes for the tubing. Their wifi signal is terrible.
Aug 07, 2017
We had a great time! Booked our next trip before we even left! Can't wait to go back.
Aug 07, 2017
We rented a deluxe cabin for my daughter's 9th birthday. I hadn't been camping in years and never at a KOA property. I was extremely pleased! The cabin was like a tiny house. My family said it was above glamping! The cabin and outside area were very clean. Many items included! Gas grill with propane! The kitchen included dishes, glassware, coffee cups, utensils and more. We loved it!
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
First time camping at a KOA campground. It was real clean . All crew where very friendly. All ways willing to help. Had things going on for the campers. Cherokee KOA is real kid friendly. Had one of the crew to bring ice back when he got change for fire wood. Enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing is can`t reserve exact camp site if it is available when you make reservation. Thanks Steve S.C.
Aug 07, 2017
I have stayed here many times. I was disappointed this time as the customer service seemed to be lacking a bit. I showed up early to meet some friends that were already there and decided to ask about a cabin close to them. I was told it was taken and the person would be there later. I was there 3 days and no one ever showed or stayed in that cabin and I wasn't moved after asking 3 different times.
Aug 07, 2017
Wifi should not be advertised as it doesn't work unless you're literally standing next to the bath house. Overall nice place to stay.
Aug 07, 2017
First time staying here and we loved it.The bath houses were always clean,pets on leases,the other guest were very friendly. Best part was we didn't have to worry about leaving anything outside.Small hiccup when leaving a couple of employees were parked near dumping site making out difficult to dump and leave, which they corrected. We will definitely be coming back.
Aug 07, 2017
My nephews loved it! My only complaint would be water quality in pools/spas. Indoor hot tub water was brown. I have a lot of experience with pools (certified pool operator). Hot tub water with that amount of usage needs drained probably every 4 days, at least weekly. You could barley see the bottom it was so dingy. But not a deal breaker, just a recommendation. Will visit again
Aug 07, 2017
Staff was super friendly and helpful. There were plenty of family friendly and pet friendly amenities/activities, however the actual camp sites were close together with little privacy.
Aug 07, 2017
I wish there was more activities for the kids. Not just tye dye.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
Everyone was very helpful. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Quiet at night. So much fun.
Aug 06, 2017
very disappointed that you can not reserve a certain spot anymore. You can definitely tell management has changed. The cafe was not open all the time, the kiddie pool was broke the whole time, the hot tubs were dirty, the bathrooms were dirty too. We still love the campground because of the location but would like to see it managed better
Aug 06, 2017
our camp site was well shaded but a lot of big tree roots. we tripped and stubbed our toes a lot. and were not able find a smooth spot to to stake down the tents. the owners should spread a load of top soil on site 113
Aug 06, 2017
Great campground. Kids loved it!
Aug 06, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award