Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Dirty cabin.
Jul 21, 2019
Absolutely wonderful. Stayed for 5 nights friendly staff. The site was level concrete with a picnic table and fire ring. The bathhouse was clean and well stocked. The pool and hot tub area was clean the kids loved swimming. There is a snack bar with Hunt brothers pizza. they also had tubing with tube rentals. They had kids activity planned for almost every day. Just perfect Thank you
Jul 21, 2019
Very helpful and friendly staff. Can see work to improve Campground.
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Was disappointed that they did not have a dance party, i had to tell staff about a problem with the out door pool ladder sever times still dont know if they fixed it or blocked it off
Jul 20, 2019
Love this KOA!
Jul 20, 2019
Great place for kids and campers looking for a friendly environment. The staff is great as well. Suggestions: the men's bathroom was way too cold two days, but seemed to be corrected later. While that bathroom is clean and well built, I would recommend some sort of an exhaust system as there is most always a smell and the floors are wet and never seem to dry. Thanks for your great hospitality
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Streets and campsites had huge mud holes with lots of water and mud. Drainage problems. Men’s bathroom smelled terrible around toilets and showers. Floor was always wet and muddy. Not enough times during day did they clean it. Shower walls were also mildewed and stained.
Jul 20, 2019
The campground and the cabin we stayed in was beautiful. EVERYTHING we asked the staff about times, locations, directions, procedures was incorrect and contradictory. There’s one staff member who checked us in who was rude any time we needed to speak with her. When we asked a staff member to speak to the owner, we were told (at 1000 am) that “she’s still sleeping” and that we couldn’t.
Jul 20, 2019
Had a great week.plenty of things to do and staff was helpful and nice.will definitely be back.thank you.Kevin Turner.
Jul 20, 2019
False Advertising- No free shuttle as advertised in the KOA catalog, no game room or jumping pad even though they are pictured on their map. Showers and bathrooms were dirty with lots of cobwebs and bugs. Indoor pool was also dirty. The woman that checked us in asked my name & if I wanted to use the credit card on file. No welcome, no description of park or activities. Restaurant only open til 5.
Jul 20, 2019
Nice place to stay. Feel it is expensive for me because I don’t use the amenities here. However, if I had a young family I would definitely stay here. My RV site was awesome! Perfect for me. Plenty of room and I didn’t feel like I was in a can of sardines. Thanks KOA for the space. It is greatly appreciated.
Jul 20, 2019
Dirty bathroom. Same was of hair in shower 24 hours. Same clogged sink. No TP in stall.
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
Jul 20, 2019
We had a great stay we love the campground and enjoyed our time there we will be back
Jul 20, 2019
The grounds were very muddy and some of the roads we could not walk on. Pour internet signal and fuzzy tv stations. Cost was way too much for such a run down campground. Will not be coming back and will not recommend it.
Jul 20, 2019
Loved the park. We see it is kid friendly, no problem with that, but if there was a way to remind parents to have their kids flush the toilet, 2 or three times if need be. Pretty gross with poop stuck in and around the commodes. Otherwise, people were very nice , park itself is very well maintained.
Jul 20, 2019
Great stay.
Jul 20, 2019
The staff were very nice and courteous. However, the campground seems to be neglected. the grass looked as if it had not been cut. some places there was no grass, but lots of mud. We were put on a site that was paved with asphalt but had grass growing in it. the place we had to put our mat was muddy. they still had Christmas decorations up. Uor fire pit had a huge hole beside it. As big and deep.
Jul 19, 2019
Enjoyable but do not recommend being close to the jumping pad. Staff was accommodating to us. Would recommend keeping the store open until 8 p.m. Will come back again. KNoel
Jul 19, 2019
Bathroom clean, friendly staff but the office hours are not consistent. Pool area need to updated and some off the site are not maintain well. Need work.
Jul 19, 2019
Camping in the Trees is great but the management that took over is still not providing things to do. Shops, food etc all closes at 5 or 6 pm, way to early and then ran out of ice cream for the kids. A lot of people I talked with were leaving early because of this. Greg
Jul 19, 2019
Staff not very friendly and when you ask them a question 94 percent of the time you get I don’t know.
Jul 19, 2019
Really nice place but the bathrooms stayed dirty the whole week we were there and no hot water even after my wife said something to management. Most staff was nice except for one lady.
Jul 19, 2019
This is one of our most favorite places to go!! We will go there for years to come.
Jul 19, 2019
I must say that although the campgrounds were not appealing some of the staff members (cowboy) were very friendly and helpful on giving me good directions on how to get out of there, if the phone operator would answer the phones maybe my stay wouldn’t have started so stressful being stuck on the wrong road trying to enter the camp. It would be advisable to make it CLEAR the route in is 74 /441 i
Jul 19, 2019
My cabin was infested with roaches I wasn’t offered another cabin Nothing was done about this problem
Jul 19, 2019
Very good
Jul 14, 2019
We were happy with our stay overall the 4th of July week/weekend. However, as we attempted to call the campground for questions, the phone was almost never answered. We finally got through,were told they all use cell phones and can’t answer when they are with guests.. no land lines? Idk about that Told our deluxe cabin slept 4-6.. nope. Staff was helpful/very nice. WiFi terrible.
Jul 13, 2019
We have always like the cabins by the ponds. This cabin is our favorite with the outside space for the canopy, electric box and the firering is in the perfect place. The site needs some dirt, sand and gravel it was no joy trying to walk in water over our ankles and mud after the rain. Not happy with paying $3.50 a day resort fee for advertised amenities covered in nightly price. I'm out of space.
Jul 13, 2019
Delightful! Cabin was wonderful! Great family place to have a vacation and reunion. ! Area is beautiful.
Jul 12, 2019
Had a problem getting the tube to the river to float. You rent the tubes, so I feel there should be a boundary line of distinction between cabin campsite and thru traffic to river to float. We love your KOA. Been coming for years. Love our grandsons can hang in hammocks or put a pup tent to enjoy that experience. Management Is so much friendlier this year. Appreciate parking bikes by pool. Thanks!
Jul 12, 2019
Very clean cabins,friendly staff, pools were clean,views were spectacular. Everything you need is on site and the fishing was great
Jul 11, 2019
WE ALL HAD A VERY NICE STAY!!
Jul 11, 2019
Only problem was fridge wasn't working and ruined gallin of milk and about 20 worth of meat. Wasnt working properly when we got there and didnt realize it till our food spoiled
Jul 11, 2019
It was almost impossible to get through on the phone to get a confirmation of our reservation. We called over and over and over. We drove hours away just praying that they had us down because we didn't get a confirmation. While checking in - the lady at the desk watched the phone ring and ring and cracked a joke that they would hear the message next week. Unfortunate. Baths not cleaned daily!!
Jul 11, 2019
Good place to stay, the rest room are clean and the staff is friendly, some areas need to renovate but ok
Jul 10, 2019
Close to town of Cherokee and surrounding sites/attractions in The SMNP. Large, clean, campground with lots of staff who were helpful and accommodating. Part of a big group and they easily accommodated (60ppl) over very busy over 4th of July week. We had a nice large RV spot right along river and group gathered there in the evenings. Also, group rented various cabins throughout the campground.
Jul 10, 2019
Overall, the campground was nice. Our cabin was very dark (all the way in the back on the mini creek) and smelled funny. The kitchen could have had better basic gadgets - like measuring cups and spoons. The toilet ran unless we adjusted the chain in the take. One of the rooms smelled moldy and on our last day, we were alerted to needing the filter changed. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deluxe cabin had a great view of the river and was spacious enough for the 4 of us. Our granddaughter loved the pool and slide!
Jul 10, 2019
We had a little hiccup in the beginning of our stay, but Rachel went above and beyond to make things right for us. I so appreciated her professionalism and willingness to help us out. Overall a great experience. Thank you!!!
Jul 10, 2019
We totally enjoyed our stay. The kids loves the pool and we love our on the river site. We loved that trash was picked up daily from our campsite and that we saw KOA workers riding around a lot. Great place.
Jul 10, 2019
The shuttle took us to the casino but then failed to pick us up at the agreed upon time. Every phone we could find to call went to voicemail or to the nation wide reservation number. Ended up getting an Uber. So paid KOA and Uber for same trip. Apologized but did not offer any compensation.
Jul 10, 2019
Nice place but the deluxe river cabin kitchen had no bowls to mix, make or store food in. I had no plans to leave the KOA for meals and I would expect a better basic stocking of kitchen essentials. Just one mixing bowl and I wouldn't complain. I had to mix pancake batter in a sauce pan. Took me a couple days to figure that one out. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay and facility.
Jul 10, 2019
Feb 24, 2020
As it was our first time traveling to KOA of Cherokee, my friends and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the entire stay & experience. The campground is secluded, private, very nice and clean. Rachel and Steve have done an excellent job! Ryn, one of the Reservationists had outstanding hospitality during our entire stay and was able to answer any questions. She truly made our party feel at home. Her husband is also awesome with getting you set up and filling propane! We had a slight issue with a cab service to shuttle us to Harrah’s. (No Uber/Lyft Available) Rachel happened to be around while we found a second plan for transportation. After she found out what was going on, she offered to shuttle us to the Casino with no questions asked. We truly couldn’t have asked for a better experience. We will be returning very soon and I hope you visit KOA of Cherokee!
- JJ Smith on Google
Feb 18, 2020
Great campground. Friendly staff. Lots to do even in the off season. We will be back.
- Stacey Niedentohl on Google
Feb 16, 2020
Was great . Perfect Valentine's weekend.
- Clara willard on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.