Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2017
Enjoyable quiet and relaxing. Beautiful scenery nice staff. Only problem was couldn't seem to get wifi but would definitely stay again
Oct 06, 2017
Thought the cabin was very nice, however a few things need attention. We had no coffee cups, only had 3 spoons, and 3 butter knives. We requested coffee cups and utensils shortly after arriving, had to request again the next morning. Later discovered we didn't have a spatchula to cook eggs. TV reception was really bad, was told a new cable would have to be trenched to fix. WiFi was terrible.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
Overall very good. Restaurant food is okay, but service times are atrocious. My son and I waited an HOUR for breakfast... there were 2 orders ahead of us.
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
This was not peek season, so it was quiet. The park was in excellent condition. I loved the air conditioned kennel concept. I would definitely return.
Oct 05, 2017
Anniversary trip.
Oct 05, 2017
Couldn't ask for a more beautiful area, surrounded by streams and fishing lakes. We had a great site with deluxe fire ring and a covered picnic table. Very enjoyable stay and friendly staff.
Oct 05, 2017
Nice campsites. More amenities than expected. Office closes too early. Internet connection poor at best.
Oct 05, 2017
The campground needs to give better directions to their campground. We did not have GPS like the book said.
Oct 05, 2017
Loved the cabin on the river! Very comfortable! Recommended it to family members and friends!
Oct 05, 2017
The view was beautiful and enjoyed the ponds, but was disappointed in the overall service. Waited quit awhile to have someone take us to our campsite.Poor communication regarding the shuttle service to town, which I required about twice. Poor internet service. Was surprised there was a resort fee. I have never paid a resort fee with any other KOA. Don't understand why this one charges one.
Oct 05, 2017
to expensive
Oct 04, 2017
Everything was wonderful except for the fact that my cabin for the second year in a row had ants all in the kitchen. I stayed in the same cabin both years, #K243. They did come spray for them both years, but it never got rid of them.
Oct 04, 2017
Great experience
Oct 04, 2017
Love the campground, thought someone should have blown the leaves off the site and your reservations need to be site specific. I was very happy with the security at nite and how happy your crew seem to be.
Oct 04, 2017
Cherokee KOA is the best place to camp. The Staff work hard to make the stay enjoyable and helpful. A breath taking 360 degree view. We will be back to visit again.
Oct 04, 2017
Love this place. Have been many times. Very clean and family friendly. Store has so many things you may need - including all items needed to make s'mores! Will be back soon! Gorgeous 1 hour ride over the mountain to Gatlinburg for a fantastic day trip!
Oct 04, 2017
We loved your campground!! Everyone was so nice and helpful...even the other campers. We will be back ð
Oct 04, 2017
Had a great time! The facilities were 1st rate. Kids had a wonderful time fishing and playing around the campground. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to get back to the campground again!
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Considering the shape of the deluxe cabin and the cost of it for 5 nights I would think that KOA would atleast put some cooking utensils not just a 2 and 4 cup sauce pan. No frying pan and asked several times if I could get a larger pot and a frying pan which was a waste of my breath..I have more comments but not enough space to comment. We will reconsider before returning back to your KOA.
Oct 03, 2017
I was not real happy when I arrived at 1:10 pm and told the check in time was 2 pm and that ifI wanted to check in early it would cost me $25. You got lot be kidding
Oct 03, 2017
Cabin was nice. Layout was not the best as far as tv watching is concerned. Disappointed in the location as far as being right on top of another cabin. It wasn't over looking a creek as I thought it was.
Oct 03, 2017
Beautiful place!
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Once I checked in someone escorted me to my cabin as last minute inspection to ensure the accommodations were clean and to answer any questions. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. GREAT view of the river, five feet from my cabin deck! I will definitely be going back!
Oct 03, 2017
Stayed in one of the cabins and in was exactly as reserved. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great facility with lots to do. Looking forward to a longer stay to take advantage of everything there is to offer.
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
It was wonderful and peaceful!!!
Oct 02, 2017
When I arrived I was told my check in time was 3:00 pm as opposed to the 2:00 stated when I booked. The cabin was filthy. It hadn't been cleaned even though that was the reason given for not being able to checkin. The cabin window was broken. The grounds were not kept. The bathrooms were a mess, no hand towels . Floors, walls not clean. Bathroom ceilings are falling down. The Staff was great.
Oct 02, 2017
Super clean Super nice people Very helpful Easy in easy out Tons of amenities Perfect for families with little kids
Oct 02, 2017
Stayed on one of the deluxe sites. Loved the rock patio attached to the cement parking pad and the fire pit with chairs!
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
had to ask for wifi password but it only worked at the office at the other side of the campground (same router name0) kept saying wrong password. We got put in the wrong type of cabin than reserved.
Oct 02, 2017
Great stay great place
Oct 02, 2017
We stay here several times every year. I have been coming to this campground for 30 years and every year it is better and better!
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
This was a disaster of a vacation first of all we get there and they try to charge us double what we were totally pay online then having to argue and him going in the back for 45 minutes before we could get her into our cabin. And he finally agreed to let us have it at the price we booked it for online! No apology or anything! our cabin had no parking we had to walk!
Oct 02, 2017
Our stay was very pleasant. My grand children enjoyed the bounce pillow. I wish there was a easier access to the creek though. The koa staff treated us very nice. And don't forget the fellow campers, they was very kind also. Great surroundings at the koa in Cherokee.
Oct 02, 2017
We have camped here over the past twenty some years. Always enjoy it. We have tent camped, motorhome, and rented the cabins often, and never had an issue. Plan on coming back in three weeks to enjoy the Autumn weather and the season turning of the leaves.
Oct 02, 2017
The showers and bathrooms were dirty on the floors. The grass needed to be cut around many of the cabins. Our fire ring was too deep. It needed sand or more dirt. It took forever to grill. The cabin was clean. Loved the pretty curtains. Comfy mattress. Friendly staff. Great amenities for kids and families. Beautiful property. Plenty to do here. Very close to Cherokee and shopping. Will b back
Oct 02, 2017
We had a great time. We had a tire blow out and the staff at KOA stepped up. Got a ride to our vehicle, got a discount for our troubles, and because my wife didn't have any money for her while I was getting the tire changed, KOA allowed up to use a picture of our debit card to get some food for everyone. We always have a great time, but KOA went above and beyond! Thanks!
Oct 01, 2017
We've been camping here for over 30 years and always enjoy coming to Cherokee. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. We like the views and enjoy some of the hiking trails. We enjoy the trout fishing and watching the elk at different locations. My family and I are already making plans for next years visit.
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
It was a great time. Hope to come next time when all activities are going on and out door pool is open.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award