Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 14, 2017
I want to the koa during the passing of Irma and when I got there they had changed me from a electricity free tent site to a 1 bedroom cabin with no extra charge; they even gave me a heater. Everyone there was generous and caring and I had a wonderful time while there.
Sep 14, 2017
I evacuated hurricane Irma with my 90 year old Mother and 95 year old Father to Cherokee KOA. I could not have chosen a better place to evacuate. The staff was always helpful, accommodating, and friendly. Our only concerns were our homes in Florida, aside from that it was enjoyable. Fortunately, we had no damage to our homes and will look back on this with fond memories.
Sep 14, 2017
Cabin was very clean and guest services and maintenance staff were very nice and helpful. Online booking was a breeze. Finding a pet friendly place at the last minute due to Hurricane Irma gave us piece of mind knowing we could keep our dog with us. KOA will be at the top of our favorite places to stay.
Sep 14, 2017
Fantastic KOA! Carol was extremely helpful at check in. Can't wait to return!!
Sep 14, 2017
beautiful place
Sep 14, 2017
Very welcoming and accommodating!! We were evacuating from a hurricane and got there early. They found us a spot that we could stay in without moving the next day when our reservation was actually for!
Sep 13, 2017
When I rented the cottage it said private when we got there we were right by the pool and another cabin was connected to our deck and we were not overlaying the river like it said when I rented . Also no one ever answered the phones, we called numerous times for assistance and never got a pick up or call back. And the cabin bathroom had cobwebs everywhere.
Sep 13, 2017
Nice host but bad wifi service and very dirty bathrooms. Cold hot tub!!!
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
We stayed one night in a cabin. We love the cabin and we love the campground. We have stayed there multiple times and have loved it each time.
Sep 13, 2017
Much improved since my last stay several years ago
Sep 13, 2017
We enjoyed it nice to be on the river and away from electronics. A few issues we had were the fireplace in our deluxe cabin didn't work, light in living room didn't work. There were spiders in the cabin, in the shower and on the bed pillows. Good thing I brought my own pillow. The front porch was full of spider webs we couldn't sit out there on the swing.
Sep 13, 2017
The people working front desks were absolutely horrible rude lazy just down right sucked. I asked to buy fishing license she sent me outside the place outside was closed come back in to same girl sent me to last girl on end she never acknowledeged me for over 5 minutes
Sep 13, 2017
Other than one day raining the entire day, it was a good stay. No complaints.
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
We had an excellent stay at this KOA! My kids are used to tent camping mostly and their response to staying here was " this is like luxury camping." We will definitely be back!
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Our stay was great ! however both my grandsons were bit in the cabin by something ! I hope not bed bugs!! I left a message on Tuesday and have not heard back
Sep 13, 2017
We originally had reservations for Thursday Friday and Saturday called in the Friday before we were supposed to arrive on Thursday and change them to Saturday and Sunday got there on Saturday and somebody had not changed our reservations and they have given or Deluxe cabin away the only thing they had to offer us was the one room cabin with no bathroom nothing we came totally unprepared for this .
Sep 12, 2017
Always enjoy coming to this campground. I am a bit surprised that since you pay a resort fee that you have to bring your own trash to the dumpster. Staff are very friendly, bathrooms always clean. We purchased several bundles of firewood every night, some of it was still green or not dried for it burned very smoky. Brought several other campers in their trailers and they were also pleased!
Sep 12, 2017
Great staff. Very helpful.
Sep 12, 2017
Fun to be outdoors and be free from all the technology! Sometimes a little discomfort is fun!
Sep 12, 2017
It was amazing, everyone was nice and humble, will be coming back soon my girls loved it to they didn't wanna go home!!!
Sep 12, 2017
So great, what a beautiful place!!
Sep 12, 2017
we were running from the storm and we found a spot to stay. The security guards checked us in at night and helped us park and were friendly and made us comfortable. The next day the staff was great and friendly as well. Thank you we shall return, when not running for our lives. Helen
Sep 11, 2017
Almost non-existent internet connectivity; No TV connectivity for 30 hours of our 48 hour reservation; very small "delux cabins"; some sites had no electricity for days (not ours though)...very disappointed in this site.
Sep 11, 2017
Great stay. I will definitely be back! Very dog friendly. Lots of things for families.
Sep 11, 2017
KIA Cherokee is the best!
Sep 11, 2017
Our stay was very nice. We loved it. Every employee was super friendly and hospitable. The cabin was everything and more then we expected. We will definitely be back as soon as possible!!
Sep 11, 2017
Lots of fun things to do for the family!
Sep 11, 2017
The cabin was very nice, and for as many campers as there were on Labor Day weekend, it was still peaceful and quite. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 11, 2017
We enjoyed our stay.
Sep 11, 2017
When we checked in Carol was very nice and helpful. The ceiling fan in our cabin was in a desperate need of dusting. Not something that regular housekeeping could reach. Other wise, the cabin was very clean and nice. Like the shampoo and conditioner disp. in shower. Looking forward to our next stay!
Sep 11, 2017
Price for camping was a little more expensive, no places to eat in Cherokee, except the casino.
Sep 11, 2017
Great stay in a clean cabin and very clean campground. Staff was all nice and helpful
Sep 11, 2017
love it, will stay again next year
Sep 11, 2017
Very nice and clean campground. Paved lots and spacious. We will def come back.
Sep 11, 2017
This beautiful campground is exceptionally well-maintained. The staff is friendly, supportive, and they patrol the grounds during the day, offering assistance to the guests as needed. The only negative to the trip was the fact that there was a motorcycle rally in town. Many bikers were at the campground, revving their motors at all hours of the night (2am and on). This made sleeping impossibl
Sep 11, 2017
Great park. Our site was covered by trees so we weren't able to use satellite. Almost no coverage by Verizon and practically no wifi on our site. The layout of the park was very well planned.
Sep 11, 2017
This cqmpground is incredible !!!! They have everything you would every want for your camping experience and more....it's like a resort! . The staff was fantastic and bent over backward to make your stay awesome. I highly recommend the campground .
Sep 11, 2017
Well run place with lots of helpful staff. On the negative side It's time to get WiFi that works. I don't like booking a cabin "with wifi", only for the wifi to be so bad we couldnt even get connected. Its been that way for years now and that's false advertisment.
Sep 11, 2017
Stayed in a tent, but close to the highway. It wasn't a great spot for tents as the noise of the highway was fairly constant. Other than that, it was a good campground. We will stay again, but next time it will be in our travel trailer.
Sep 11, 2017
Had such a nice time and so glad I can bring my dogs. Thank you for having a fun, safe place to be.
Sep 11, 2017
My site had no grass after a hard rain the area was muddy the picnic table was filthy and some boards were missing and the water Fossett constantly leaked.
Sep 11, 2017
We received the type of site we reserved, but didn't know it was located next to a busy, noisy road - which continues through the night. And, although there were other sites in our selection category open the nights we were there we were placed very close to a dumpster - which meant a steady stream of slamming dumpster doors. Employees might learn more about the sites to choose best one first.
Sep 10, 2017
This was our second stay here. We are already planning another trip. We had two other families with us during this last stay. Two of the families were in cabins and the third brought a camper. We had the best time, and the kids loved riding their bikes around and playing with new friends. The jumpy pillow is a hit for them. We like that this is a clean and family oriented campground.
Sep 10, 2017
Very relaxing, beautiful area, great camp site, and fantastic staff !!!
Sep 09, 2017
This is not a handicapped facility as I was told by the clerk when I called a month earlier to confirm our reservation. Upon check in the young lady still said yes it was handicapped. There were no bars to hold onto in the narrow stalls for either the bathroom or the shower stalls. A few ramps do not make a facility handicap accessible. We left early due to this issue.
Sep 09, 2017
everything was as to be expected,but the cabin was in desperate need of a Good cleaning. Didn't look like it had Ever been dusted.
Sep 09, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award