Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Feb 19, 2019
We love this KOA! All of the staff are super friendly here and welcoming. The trout fishing is great too! We always have a nice trout dinner there. Their amenities in the deluxe cabin are wonderful. Everything is there for you! We love the fire pit and patio with the streams right by the cabin. We will be going back!
Feb 19, 2019
Very peaceful..husband loves to fish
Feb 19, 2019
Had a great time with family! Highly Recommend. Had one issue that was fixed promptly and professionally. The kids enjoyed the pool and adults enjoyed the hot tub. Loved the deluxe cabin by the river. Will be back!
Feb 19, 2019
I'm quickly becoming a regular visitor. Can't wait to see the remodeled central office up and running. I hope it will include more food options in the future.
Feb 18, 2019
This place is well maintained and the staff was very friendly. They went above and beyond for my family. Thank You! The campsite was very clean and with plenty space between Rv’s. Very quiet and the river that runs behind the campsite was the cherry on top. I wish I had spent more days at this location, will definitely go back and stay longer next time.
Feb 18, 2019
The new owners are doing a lot of improvements. In time, this will be one of the best KOAs.
Feb 18, 2019
Feb 17, 2019
We spent a night in one of the deluxe cabins, and were blown away by the impeccable state of the cabin. The staff was very friendly and helpful, going out of their to ensure we had a great weekend.
Feb 16, 2019
Except for the fact that our cabin hadn't been cleaned in a while and was loaded with lady bugs, our stay was pretty good.
Feb 16, 2019
The site we were on was very muddy. Luckily my husband has a 4wd truck. There was lots of remodeling going in. Playground kids could not play on swing set due to all slides having splits and I was scared of them getting hurt. Hope this is one of the things that will be updated by summer along with all other remodels.
Feb 16, 2019
Feb 15, 2019
I was overcharged me $68 for a two-night stay and am still waiting to hear back from the campground manager on a refund. The campground uses tankless water heaters so we did not have hot water Friday night because of silt in the lines and low pressure. The internet and cell phone coverage is very poor so our calls Fri.night to get help were not returned. They fixed it Saturday morning. Nice Cabin

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The refund has been issued and hopefully you will see it soon. Refunds do take some time to issue through the bank. If refund does not show soon please feel free to contact me at anytime. The extra amount paid was for the early check in and the late check out fee.But as promised refund was given.
Jan 31, 2019
Well construction was going on, which is good. But the man who delivered the wood to us,didn’t talk to us or say thank you for the $10 dollar tip we gave him.
Jan 30, 2019
Received confirmation of reservation. Double checked to make sure we reserved the Deluxe cabin by the water. Up to 6 people, 1 bunk set, 1 full bed, 1 queen bed. When we checked in we were highly disappointed. We received a cabin with 1 queen and a pull Out couch. Even though there were only 2 of us on this trip. We wanted something bigger this time and ended up with something smaller than usual.
Jan 29, 2019
Jan 28, 2019
We actually enjoyed the campground and all of the amenities, but we ended up bringing bed bugs home from there. I got bit up on my legs while there. We spent a couple of thousand dollars at home replacing our bed, bedframe, clothes, bed bug inspections, bed bug exterminations. I brought this up with the people that run this particular campground, but apparently they don't care.
Jan 28, 2019
I have stayed at other KOA in the past....but this one was not what I remembered. From buildings to landscaping, it all was unkept and dirty. I understand it is winter so maybe that was why. Not sure
Jan 28, 2019
The Kabin we chose and paid for is not what we were placed into (another checking in after us had the same issue), our Kabin did not have a heater, and the floor inside and porch were dirty, patio was littered with food, women's shower was hot for only 2 minutes. The man that checked us in was seemingly having a very bad day, and was even rude to us when we inquired of our issues upon arrival. :(
Jan 27, 2019
I cannot say enough good things about the Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA. The last few years were rocky and guests seemed to be an afterthought, but it seems like Corporate finally realized the gem that is there! Love the new renovations, still love our front desk JoAnn P.!! We are going into our 16th year of being die-hard KOA Kampers!!!
Jan 26, 2019
much better experience this year than last year... some cabin updates, and apparently some other changes at Cherokee KOA made ALL the difference. Thank you!
Jan 25, 2019
Although the office and store were in the middle of construction, the staff were outstanding in customer service. We had a couple of requests and they were there immediately with what we had requested, along with their smiles. The cabin was nice, toasty, comfortable. I would suggest having a suitcase stand or a little table or something to put our stuff on. We used the kitchen chairs and table.
Jan 24, 2019
This KOA is always very welcoming and a great family place to stay.
Jan 24, 2019
Cabin was nice, bath house was clean. Staff was helpful. Will stay again.
Jan 23, 2019
Good time really enjoyed. The teenagers enjoy as well.
Jan 23, 2019
The campground was wonderful. Many areas were under construction due to it being off season and they upgraded us due to that.
Jan 21, 2019
Jan 08, 2019
Always a great place to stay!
Jan 08, 2019
The cabin was super cute. Very clean and even decorated with a Christmas tree-how sweet! It was stocked with most everything we needed for a comfortable evening. The only suggestions would be to provide dish soap/sponge in the kitchen and to please provide more coffee with the Keurig. There was only 1 cup of regular coffee (and there were 2 of us staying), or just have a regular ole coffee pot :)
Jan 07, 2019
Only bad part was hot tub was down and no store due to remodel. Staff was amazing ! So helpful
Jan 07, 2019
As always, it was a fabulous stay. I was a little disappointed that the kamp store was closed but we managed with a quick trip to the store. The staff is always so friendly and helpful and the upkeep at the campground and facilities are impeccable.
Jan 07, 2019
We just came up for one night two days. Cabin was very clean and super nice. Only issue the front door did not want to close properly.
Jan 05, 2019
Lots of rain and a raging Raven Fork river but always have a great time at Christmas here ans the fishing is always good.
Jan 04, 2019
Had several issues. Was put in a dirty cabin. Us ladies and children had to take cold showers. The manager Rachael was the most unprofessional person I have ever dealt with. She got loud, was rude and acted as if the problems were are fault. Then a group rented a camp site next to us and safety issues arose which she didnt want to here. Have been a KOA member for a while now and was ver
Jan 04, 2019
When I made reservation I wasn't told anything about renovations. I asked her opinion on a good spot which ended up being terrible! I have never been so disappointed with a KOA before.
Jan 04, 2019
The camp site was awesome. We were next to the bathrooms and laundry. The pool was just across the playground and they even have a general store and grill. I have already recommended the site to my friends
Jan 03, 2019
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jan 03, 2019
We arrived late and the cabin was ready and the heater on waiting for our arrival. We really enjoyed the indoor heated pool and hot tub. This is our second visit to this KAO while exploring the smoky mountains. We’re already planning a summer trip and we plan on making reservations soon.
Jan 03, 2019
We had a wonderful time!!!
Jan 03, 2019
I have been coming here since 98 and every year seems to be getting a little worse. Employees are hit or miss, some are real nice others are rude. Infrastructure is not like it used to be, needs some remodeling and roads need repairing. Love the location to home and in the summer the activities are great. Work on the little details and this campground can be great again. Another dog park was b grt
Jan 03, 2019
Amazing layout and easy to navigate the camp ground. Glad to see renovations around the camp ground. My wife and I will be back for sure!
Jan 03, 2019
Stayed in cabin 510 this past weekend , I have stayed in this campground and cabins many times and it has always been great but this time was different. In cabin 510 the grill did not work right and was not able to cook my family’s food . The fireplace inside did not work was waken in the middle of the night by the smell of gas. The parking place was standing in water and was not able to get out
Dec 30, 2018
Joanne is very helpful and nice and got us checked in quickly, she also helped me with reservations for the trout tournament in March! Friendly staff, one of the workers gave our dogs a treat when we were out walking. Great place to take the kids and a great place to relax. Always enjoy being there
Dec 30, 2018
Best KOA we have stayed at so far
Dec 29, 2018
Dec 24, 2018
Dec 21, 2018
Nice and quiet...peaceful. Don’t use GPS to get here, not accurate at all. Friendly staff. Store was close due to construction, so disappointed about that.
Dec 18, 2018
Best KOA so far. Bathrooms are always so clean - love that they’re heated during winter. Cabins are clean and comfortable as well (even the dog friendly ones that we stayed in!) Staff are all extremely friendly and welcoming and all were so sweet to our dogs. Couldn’t be happier with our camping experience.
Dec 18, 2018
After booking months in advance for my kids winter birthdays I was reassured multiple times that the pool would be open. After driving three hours my kids were very disappointed that the pool was not open. False advertisement! Ruined birthdays and waste time and money. We won’t be back!
Dec 17, 2018
I absolutely loved staying here!
Dec 15, 2018
we didn't stay there, we had to cancel due to bad weather. emailed them to cancel but they still charged me the full amount. I have emailed them 3 times to get a refund but still haven't had a reply. so as you can see we are not very happy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for the confusion in regards to your cancellation. Please know that we did try to reach you but the phone number that we have on file is a associate of yours. We have issued a refund minus the $10 cancellation fee. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me. Rachel Plaga GM Cherokee KOA
Aug 12, 2019
Had a great stay here, everyone was kind and friendly
- Garry Walsh on Google