Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2019
Only problem was fridge wasn't working and ruined gallin of milk and about 20 worth of meat. Wasnt working properly when we got there and didnt realize it till our food spoiled
Jul 11, 2019
It was almost impossible to get through on the phone to get a confirmation of our reservation. We called over and over and over. We drove hours away just praying that they had us down because we didn't get a confirmation. While checking in - the lady at the desk watched the phone ring and ring and cracked a joke that they would hear the message next week. Unfortunate. Baths not cleaned daily!!
Jul 11, 2019
Good place to stay, the rest room are clean and the staff is friendly, some areas need to renovate but ok
Jul 10, 2019
Close to town of Cherokee and surrounding sites/attractions in The SMNP. Large, clean, campground with lots of staff who were helpful and accommodating. Part of a big group and they easily accommodated (60ppl) over very busy over 4th of July week. We had a nice large RV spot right along river and group gathered there in the evenings. Also, group rented various cabins throughout the campground.
Jul 10, 2019
Overall, the campground was nice. Our cabin was very dark (all the way in the back on the mini creek) and smelled funny. The kitchen could have had better basic gadgets - like measuring cups and spoons. The toilet ran unless we adjusted the chain in the take. One of the rooms smelled moldy and on our last day, we were alerted to needing the filter changed. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deluxe cabin had a great view of the river and was spacious enough for the 4 of us. Our granddaughter loved the pool and slide!
Jul 10, 2019
We had a little hiccup in the beginning of our stay, but Rachel went above and beyond to make things right for us. I so appreciated her professionalism and willingness to help us out. Overall a great experience. Thank you!!!
Jul 10, 2019
We totally enjoyed our stay. The kids loves the pool and we love our on the river site. We loved that trash was picked up daily from our campsite and that we saw KOA workers riding around a lot. Great place.
Jul 10, 2019
The shuttle took us to the casino but then failed to pick us up at the agreed upon time. Every phone we could find to call went to voicemail or to the nation wide reservation number. Ended up getting an Uber. So paid KOA and Uber for same trip. Apologized but did not offer any compensation.
Jul 10, 2019
Nice place but the deluxe river cabin kitchen had no bowls to mix, make or store food in. I had no plans to leave the KOA for meals and I would expect a better basic stocking of kitchen essentials. Just one mixing bowl and I wouldn't complain. I had to mix pancake batter in a sauce pan. Took me a couple days to figure that one out. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay and facility.
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
While all the folks working at Cherokee KOA are great, I must say that Priscilla at the front desk was my favorite. She was so nice and helpful and a joy to talk to. The maintenance man Daren was also great.
Jul 10, 2019
Every thing was great!
Jul 10, 2019
Poor management, Nasty bathhouses, Camp Site in desperate need of repair, no security, items stolen from campsite and management could care less. Tons of employees riding around on golf carts, but what they do, I have no idea. SIX employees rode by our site with trash out and never picked it up. Loud campers and employees partying after quiet hours and no answer from the after hours security.
Jul 10, 2019
Good as usual
Jul 10, 2019
My grand son enjoyed the activities. We all enjoy being to get together and enjoy the mountain views and camp fires.
Jul 10, 2019
For the most part our stay exceeded expectations. The pool was okay and the restrooms were acceptable for a holiday week. Parking was a challenge as there was a cabin by us that had 4 cars and a large trailer taking up a great deal of space. Be very careful driving because kids jump out from behind parked cars into the road. Our cabin was clean.
Jul 10, 2019
Extremely disappointed! Slow check in. Excessive amount of bikes blocking check in spots. Bikes and people on road blocking vehicles. No bike paths. Too many people in pools and jumping pad (50+). No enforcement of unit count. Partying/fireworks all hours. Wedding reception with flood of people. Watermelon thrown on vehicle. Too small spot (S290) for $75. Spot was a muddy, trashy mess. Scary place
Jul 10, 2019
Jul 10, 2019
Overall Great. I was disappointed when I called back to make our reservations for labor day that the receptionist was rude. I was quite shocked. I was wanting to book cabin 303 which we had physically seen had a tv & fridge in it, but he kept telling me it did not. I asked if he could please verify that prior to making reservation and he was rude. You could tell he didn't want to do anything extra
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
For the price of your sites I expect better service ex: no toilet paper and soap in bathrooms, sewage connection broke off, wasps problem we had to take care of ourself, computer system down for check in, on a positive note all roads paved and in good shape.
Jul 09, 2019
There use to be more activities. The bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. The indoor pool was not at all clean our entire visit. We had to wait in line a long time at the office to purchase items. We still enjoy our time at the KOA, but might consider another campground next time.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Enjoyable location. Nice shaded areas with well maintained concrete pull through pad. Camp store could have been stocked better and had longer hours. Campground is older but in good repair. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy check-in process with plenty of space for a bigger rig. There are tons of things to do in and around Cherokee, NC.
Jul 09, 2019
The campground has changed over the last few years. The quiet hours were changed from 10 to 11 PM and were not enforced. We stayed close to the basketball court, and kids were out there at midnight. Reservations made 6 months prior were not honored. Booked a riverside cabin and was booked into the back creek side cabin. Traffic going by less than 100 away. Not a quiet stay to say the least.
Jul 08, 2019
Wonderful campground!
Jul 08, 2019
Had an issue with our guaranteed site, but the people there were very helpful and made sure all was taken care of. Can't say enough good things about Daren & Priscilla as well as Chris. Daren went above and beyond to make sure our site was taken care of - even after hours. Priscilla is a joy to interact with and Chris came by frequently to see if we needed anything. You have a great crew!
Jul 08, 2019
Darin and Priscilla are the best!!! Darin really took care of us when our site booking got mixed up. Also manager was kind to give us a comp night for the trouble.
Jul 08, 2019
I was in the office at 2:15 to check in and was told that I could not check in until 3, I went back at 3 and was told that my cabin was not ready yet they were still cleaning. After 4 pm my husband was talking to one of the maintenance guys who had seen him outside for quite a long time so he radioed and found out they had not even started on our cabin. I had food go bad waiting.
Jul 08, 2019
Great place to stay my family loves it. The only thing that could use improvement is housekeeping. The bathrooms got stocked and straightened up but not cleaned.
Jul 08, 2019
We had a great time and we will be making this our annual vacation spot for sure! Centrally located and truly have no complaints.
Jul 08, 2019
Had a great time! Staff is much better than years past!
Jul 08, 2019
We stayed at this KOA for 15 night & were satisfied with our stay. The campground had many planned activities for children, as well as many children amenities. If we should vacation in the area again, we would definitely return to this campground.
Jul 08, 2019
Stay was ok place not very clean and I tried to make reservations for next Memorial Day weekend end I was told I had to make a 4 night reservations and had to be Thursday through Monday even though there was no way I could come on that day I am very disappointed in Koa if this is a corporate decision which is what I was told not sure I’ll be back
Jul 08, 2019
It was not as relaxing as some KOA's we are used to. This one had many, many more cabins, which seemed to change the clientele. We encountered several, not so friendly guests that just made the family feel uncomfortable. The pool/waterslide was also closed for 2 of the 3 days we were there due to maintenance issues. I know this is unforeseen, but it was a disappointment for the kids.
Jul 08, 2019
Campground and bath houses were clean
Jul 08, 2019
Very clean and family friendly campground. Large sites and lots of activities to keep us entertained.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
We came in Tues afternoon and was able to set up camp right away. The staff were all very nice (especially Joanne) . We only had one incident that required a little attention, and as soon as I mentioned it, it was dealt with. I will say the bathrooms were always freezing, so make sure you dress for it. This KOA is very nice and very clean. Love it there, didn’t want to leave.
Jul 07, 2019
AWESOME!! Sites were clean, Restrooms/Showers were clean ONLY COMPLAINT - Internet is MUCH BETTER than previous years, but wish it could be even better. Couldn't watch Netflix or Prime at night, buffering too much. And we even have a KING WiFi booster.
Jul 07, 2019
came up to see unto these Hills. We have known of This KOA from previous trips to the area. Visited once. but never stayed. We're glad we did this time
Jul 06, 2019
The staff is wonderful! The cabin had some problems, but the staff repaired them immediately. This KOA has a perfect location, wonderful staff, and great accommodations. Thank you!
Jul 06, 2019
Bed bugs, bathrooms dirty. Campsites muddy.. maintenance staff was very nice
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Been staying in KOA in Cherokee for a while.there has been upgrades to the campground which is great but it has also caused the rates to go up.sorry to say that we want be staying as much as we use to.
Jul 06, 2019
Very clean facilities.. views are amazing and no matter how big your rig is they have a spot for you! We took advantage of the 5.00 shuttle to town to shop and was glad we did t have to try and navigate our RV in the shopping center!!!
Jul 06, 2019
Jul 06, 2019
Friendly staff. Good activities. Very clean. Pool showing it's age.
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.