Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 25, 2018
The site for the tent was expensive but I decided to go ahead and get it based on other things offered at campground. Disappointed hot tub was cool , awful smell in the shower room at indoor pool, bathhouse was not clean and water wasn't hot. Wood sold to us was so soft we went through 3 bundles in one evening. On the upside staff at the store we're very helpful.
Oct 24, 2018
Bad cable at site and bathrooms dirty all weekend
Oct 24, 2018
The only complaint was the cable reception was terrible everything was great.
Oct 24, 2018
If you having anything to complain about don't stay at this campground. You will not find a better one out there. Remember people you are camping and you are in the outdoors enjoy joy the fresh air and let your problems at home!!! See you in the spring.
Oct 24, 2018
Cable did not work. Was told twice someone would be around to fix it. Our friends cabin was not ready until 3:45. Our friends other cabin was not cleaned well and their cable nor WiFi would work at their cabin. Our site was clean. Like the cement pads but weren’t really lined up with the sewer and water hook-up. Inspite of all this we still enjoyed our stay.
Oct 24, 2018
It was very difficult to speak with someone prior to our arrival. The office staff was not friendly. The rustic cabin was nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very dirty and stinky. The soap was out the entire time we stayed even though we told staff. This campsite has potential to be an amazing camping experience. They just need to out of their communication issues and clean a bit.
Oct 24, 2018
Oct 24, 2018
Beautiful location to just relax and never leave the campground during your stay!
Oct 24, 2018
Despite the rain and cool weather we had a blast. So many thins inside the campground to do. Staff was friendly.
Oct 24, 2018
Cabin 249 was exactly what we were looking for. Requested a river front site and KOA delivered.
Oct 23, 2018
We have been coming there for the Halloween weekend for years and it has been great. But this time was different. The rates have increased, our cable was fuzzy and then quit working, and the bath house was very dirty. I was also disappointed that you are now required to pay to enter the contest! Not sure we will be going back next year!
Oct 23, 2018
This is our second year. Great improvement in the wifi service, tv cable still almost nonexistent, tech came and tried to fix it but he can only do so much but the great wifi allowed me to stream Direct Tv from my tablet to the tv. Aside from that the facilities are great and we will be back next year.
Oct 23, 2018
We have been coming since 2011. Bathroom shower curtain needed some bleach. WIFI is nonexistent at the cabin (240). Cable TV clarity extremely bad. Other than that had a great time. Seems like the Price is creeping to high...………… Thanks,
Oct 23, 2018
Enjoyed our long stay, except for tv reception. It was bad during the entire two and a half weeks.
Oct 23, 2018
The parking pad was covered in mud . Large pothole in street right in front of us creating a large lake on front of our site. Cars driving by splashed water on my vehicle.
Oct 23, 2018
No internet & no TV reception.. complained 3 times & nothing.. cabin also had dirty socks on floor and refrigerator handle was duck taped and freezer could not be used because it was iced over due to not being defrosted.. cabin 389.. Hot water handle was loose & took forever to figure out hot water Asked for a refund to compensate for no internet & tv reception. will be posting to social media
Oct 23, 2018
We come every year for Halloween..and y'all do a great job!! we come with friends and rent the buddy sights and face into each other and have a ball!! The costume contests,pets ect are so much fun. A suggestion is have the costumes closer to trick or treating as getting kids dressed twice is not easy, especially those with make up. The biggest complaint is cost. 860 is crazy!! It may keep us away
Oct 23, 2018
It took several weeks to get anybody to answer phone for a reservation, even after leaving messages without any response. Also went to campground store to make some purchases, ended up leaving merchandise on counter and leaving after 15 minutes of waiting in line that wasn’t going anywhere as it appeared management was more involved in a costume contest. Also the rates are to high.
Oct 23, 2018
We loved our cabin. And enjoyed our stay and our view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again. The only thing that we would have a complaint with is the TV and Internet did not work. But other than that we would enjoy staying again.
Oct 23, 2018
Television cable sucks. Other than that, it was a nice getaway
Oct 23, 2018
Great
Oct 23, 2018
This KOA is worthy of the “resort” designation. Paved roads. Sites are roomy & most are paved with patios. WiFi & Cable TV were excellent. Our stay would have been perfect except for poor communications. We got no info at check-in. So, when the kids started trick or treating we were embarrassed because we knew nothing about it.
Oct 23, 2018
The only reason you got a 3 and 6 is because of the Haunted Island you had for the kids We arrive early and had to pay an extra $20 for nothing. The site was ready, there was nothing that had to be done to it, no reason to pay extra and I am a KOA member. Rediculous. Then on Friday we told someone how filthy the far end women's shower/restroom was and it was never cleaned. GROSS.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
Everything at this KOA was fine. Was put on a tight lot with others available during our stay so would check where they put me next time. Service and Staff was polite and helpful. During the summer it may get a little crowded, the lots are tight but I would definitely return. Would try a cabin next time, some were located on the river which was beautiful.
Oct 23, 2018
Wonderful stay as usual, and staff was friendly. However the grill service was terrible. It took 10-15 minutes to get noticed to take my order and then it took 45 minutes to get our order. everyone who came up to order had the same problem. Would have been different if they were swamped but only a few people were ordering. Food was good but serviced not good at the grill.
Oct 23, 2018
Events are very organized. Staff is wonderful.
Oct 23, 2018
Only real complaint I had was my daughters and I tried to park our bikes up by office for just a minute and while I can appreciate that there is a bike rack about 150 ft away or so, it was full of bikes. Our bikes combined cost is about $3000 so didn’t feel comfortable leaving them anywhere but by office. Had a KOA employee tell me very rudely in my opinion that we needed to park them elsewhere.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
the restaurant and store has the slowest service that I have ever experienced.
Oct 23, 2018
Enjoyed the stay wish we could of rented a golf cart but at 100$ per 24 hrs seemed Ridiculous
Oct 22, 2018
After multiple complaints to the staff by us and others regarding the restrooms, nothing was done about it. Also asked for someone to fix power at our campsite pole which was out, no one ever came after three days. The restrooms we not cleaned, 3 seats I tried to use were broken. Both the mens and womens restrooms smelled of urine. Watched several people walk in and out of bathrooms saying no way
Oct 22, 2018
This is most likely our last year at this campground. The grill and store closed at least one hour before posted hours. The food at the grill was edible but that’s about the most positive comment I can make . Changing trick or treating to only last an hour may have been a mistake , not allowing campers to reserve the same spot before checking out last year was positively a mistake!
Oct 22, 2018
We love staying at this KOA at this time of the year and will definitely return. We did have a couple issues, it took a little over 30 minutes to check, our cabin had a few problems, the bathroom tub needed to be a little cleaner and heater stopped working the last night. Staff was super nice tho. But all in all a great time was had by our family.
Oct 22, 2018
We stay 7-10 nights every April and October and always enjoy our stay. No issues with the hot tub or TV cable this visit and the Wi-Fi was much better this time. Always enjoy dealing with Joann, who works behind the check-in desk, she makes you feel welcome and always has a smile while she helps you with any issue. We'll be making reservations for 2019 very soon.
Oct 22, 2018
This is by far our favorite campground!
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
I got there at 11:00 am told check in wasn't until 3 pm, I rented a cabin. No problem, I had about 9 groups of friends staying in the campground I could visit but I was told for $25 I could check in early? I didn't. I came back at 2:45 pm, was told my cabin wouldn't be ready for another 30 minutes because it was not cleaned. At 3:45 pm... I checked in?? Cabin was beautiful!
Oct 22, 2018
KOA is trying to be something it's not. The real camping experience is gone trying to be "RESORT" oriented. It's a camp ground not a corporation. Prices increase to cover the expense sites "NOT" everyone can afford. Bath houses not clean(ed) like they used too. Not completely organized. If y'all continue on the path you are on it will hurt you. JoAnne the lead is the most caring person there
Oct 22, 2018
We’ve been coming here for 7 years & as of this past year, If you book a stay with a group of people, you’ll have no idea if you’re near one another or not prior to your dates. And.... no matter what time of day, the older bath house toilet smell was unbareable! As for location, views & attractions.... wonderful!
Oct 22, 2018
Enjoyed the stay overall, but disappointed compared to 3 years ago. Indoor swimming pool area was more run down and unkempt. Very bad sewer smell in indoor pool area all week long. Indoor hot tub was cold (as cold as pool) one day. Shower water was often cold to luke warm. Rec room was permanently closed (due to vandalism we were told). Nice campground, but could be better.
Oct 22, 2018
While I did not nave any problem checking in my cousin had a problem with his reservations. He had conformations papers on the cabins he had rented for 10/18/18 through 10/24/18 they had massed up his reservations some how. As for me and my wife we had a grate stay as always for the past years.Thanks B.J.
Oct 22, 2018
Staff and facilities were amazing.
Oct 22, 2018
maintenance is improved since Aug. Still needs to improve, leaks at sites still there. Customer serv. is a little better, store is not staffed, have to wait in check in line.No campground maps, had unreadable copies. said they were out of toner. Also not given C.G. activities, so didn't know kids were trick or treating. Had no candy.
Oct 22, 2018
Everything was as promised except wifi. Could not get it in cabin. Had to go out on porch and try or walk out to road.
Oct 22, 2018
Brought my younger adult sister on a bucket list trip. She has cancer and wanted at least one more trip out of Ohio. The campground and cabin did not disappoint us. Staff was friendly and cabin was clean. Our location on the trout pond was beautiful. We plan on coming back in summer 2019.
Oct 22, 2018
Very disapointed cabin and it's location was not as described in the reservation process. We were unaware the cabin did not have heat therefore we almost froze! It was also suppose to be near the playground and rest room IT WAS NOT. Beware cabins in picture may or maynot be the cabin you get. We also did not have a place to park. We had to park across the street next to the dumptsters.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
Beautiful campground!
Jun 22, 2019
The camp ground is very well taken care of. It's a long drive to a real grocery store though so plan ahead. They also cant sell beer on the Indian Reservation so...plan ahead for that too. The staff changes from time to time because of the live in camper/managers but Sarah and Mel were Awesome!! We were only in for one night and on our motorcycle, Sarah brought us a bundle of firewood and talked to us for a long time! It was so great! We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin which was awesome. It would be pretty small for more than two people, but having a bathroom to use in the unit was fantastic!
- Ted Pilny on Google
Jun 20, 2019
- henry ross on Google
Jun 18, 2019
- Chelsea Richardson on Google