Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2017
My site had no grass after a hard rain the area was muddy the picnic table was filthy and some boards were missing and the water Fossett constantly leaked.
Sep 11, 2017
We received the type of site we reserved, but didn't know it was located next to a busy, noisy road - which continues through the night. And, although there were other sites in our selection category open the nights we were there we were placed very close to a dumpster - which meant a steady stream of slamming dumpster doors. Employees might learn more about the sites to choose best one first.
Sep 10, 2017
This was our second stay here. We are already planning another trip. We had two other families with us during this last stay. Two of the families were in cabins and the third brought a camper. We had the best time, and the kids loved riding their bikes around and playing with new friends. The jumpy pillow is a hit for them. We like that this is a clean and family oriented campground.
Sep 10, 2017
Very relaxing, beautiful area, great camp site, and fantastic staff !!!
Sep 09, 2017
This is not a handicapped facility as I was told by the clerk when I called a month earlier to confirm our reservation. Upon check in the young lady still said yes it was handicapped. There were no bars to hold onto in the narrow stalls for either the bathroom or the shower stalls. A few ramps do not make a facility handicap accessible. We left early due to this issue.
Sep 09, 2017
everything was as to be expected,but the cabin was in desperate need of a Good cleaning. Didn't look like it had Ever been dusted.
Sep 09, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
The selling point that brought us here was the trout fishing. They were not any. No stocking. Unbelievable. We left early and will not be back.
Sep 08, 2017
This was our second stay at a KOA and both visits were great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean and grounds were maintained. We will seek out a KOA for our next camping trip.
Sep 08, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Would recommend better parking at the back near the river. Also would recommend a bathhouse at the back. Thanks
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Weather was awesome and staff meets all of your needs!
Sep 08, 2017
Excellent staff who went above and beyond!!
Sep 08, 2017
This was our second year staying at the Cherokee KOA. Once again, we had another great experience! Highly recommend!
Sep 08, 2017
Your KOA manager is top notch. I typically stay during the holiday seasons and you can tell she makes sure the place is ran top notch.
Sep 08, 2017
We had to beg to get a drop chord to plug in the rented golf cart from the staff. Every time you went to the front office the staff was either rude or had an excuse as to why they couldn't help. The only time the staff was friendly was the last night and day we were there and the maintenance staff and /firewood guy were awesome the entire time. The managemnt should give those guys a raise.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Cabin wasn't clean when we arrived at 7:30pm also the light didn't work kept cutting off in the first room so we were mostly in the dark I reported it wasn't fixed while we were there screen was ripped on door needs updating bad!!
Sep 08, 2017
No sink to do your dishes in. Internet was in and out as well as cell service(didn't matter to us just giving a heads up). Pool area needs to be powered washed and cleaned. Overall, a good place to stay in the smoky mtns.
Sep 07, 2017
Our extended family of 16 has stayed here for several years. This was the first year that we have had problems. The girl who checked us into the four cabins we had reserved was rude and incompetent. We were not informed that we were no longer allowed to have a campfire in the exact same spot as in previous years until we had gone out and purchased firewood and the children were sitting around it.
Sep 07, 2017
The grounds were clean, but the rest was ridiculous. For it being Labor Day weekend, the amount of people, rules were just completely ignored. Children riding bikes very late at night, no helmets, children driving golf carts, and so much I can't list. Plenty of employees riding around, but doing nothing. Children's safety was the least of their worries.WRONG
Sep 07, 2017
Your staff is very friendly and helpful, and your facilities are well-maintained and clean. Common areas were open and inviting. We were somewhat disappointed when we arrived to see how close together the cabins are. Your website suggests more privacy and more space in nature than is actually the case.
Sep 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay after moving sites to #211. The site was level and across the street from the river. The staff were very professional and friendly, but they seemed to be under staffed most of the time behind the counter.
Sep 07, 2017
the campground was nice. we stayed in the cabins in the front of the campground and were disappointed that we did not have our own fire pit. they did have a gas log "community fire" pit but it just wasn't the same. there was lots to do and the kids had a blast with the banana bikes. the bath house in the back needed a lot of attention as toilets were clogged and water did not stay hot etc.
Sep 07, 2017
We loved the Cherokee KOA campground, but had a terrible campsite #90. We requested to move if a site opened and were told there was "no switching" even though we talked to several people at the campground who switched due to their dislike of their campsite, several sites remained open over the weekend, and we still were unable to move. Dissatisfied in the price we paid for our site.
Sep 07, 2017
On my reservation that i made online i requested to be near or next to family and that didn't happen. Also the two dark hair ladies that was on the golf cart doesn't pay any attention to surroundings while they are driving!!! They about ran kids over multiple times, just rude. I stayed at this location last year and never had any of these issues. Thanks for the not so great memories this year!
Sep 07, 2017
The campground was very crowded and people were constantly coming through our site, but we should have expected that with a holiday weekend. The staff was very nice and helpful and the facilities were clean and well-kept. We would definitely return, but in the off-season when it's quieter. Thank you!
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Unsupervised children everywhere. Paid ahead of time for rapid check in. For the first 30 minutes we didn't have a site, they said our site was given to someone else. Then the put us beside the bouncing pillow. We had other people's children on our site constantly. We left a day early to much stress.
Sep 07, 2017
We enjoyed the stay however, at this day and age, wi-fi is a must. KOA is suppose to be an industry leader. This would not be the case regarding modern technology. There was a grumpy old grey haired lady at the front, not very eager to help. I almost felt bad for asking a question. Joann on the other hand was helpful and courteous. I would hire her in a heartbeat!
Sep 07, 2017
Just another great stay.staff is friendly and knowledgeable
Sep 06, 2017
Very disappointed in the new reservation system not letting you book a year in advance. This is a huge hassle for your long time loyal KOA campers.
Sep 06, 2017
We love this campground! We had a problem with the site power supply and we were very impressed with Ryan, asst. mgr (?). He was so helpful and courteous to us. However, we were extremely disappointed that we couldn't make reservations for Labor Day weekend 2018 while we were there, the policy had changed and we would have to wait several months to reserve & couldn't pick the site we want.
Sep 06, 2017
Our stay was good, but we like to book a year in advance and your system will not allow anymore. We have a group staying on 4 different sites close together and on the same sites every year for several years. This is a very disappointing change and we hope you will reconsider.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Extremely unhappy that we were not able to pick our sites as in the past. We travel with friends, and that helps enhance the experience. Unhappy that we were unable to book our sites next year as we have been able to do in the past. It's one of top reasons that keeps us coming back year after year.
Sep 06, 2017
Has went down hill we have stayed many years and this one was the worse
Sep 06, 2017
Beautiful setting, great staff
Sep 06, 2017
The site (25) was OK but the parking area and the power pedestal both need to be regraded because thre is just too much standing water after a rain. The bath house nearest our site is nice. Please do something about the outfit that handles the grill/restaurant. My brother-in-law ordered a simple breakfast sandwich and after 20 minutes of waiting he learned that it had not even been started.
Sep 06, 2017
The stay was great, campground was awesome, but the lack of cell service and wifi was disappointing, and prevents a perfect rating.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Employees were AMAZING and POLITE. Amenities were clean and nice. One of our favorite places.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
The best campground we visited in the last 8 years. Cherokee will from now on be the only campground we will be camping at. Thank you for helping us make great family memories.
Sep 06, 2017
so much for the kids to do! great place to stay. Will be back!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Congratulations! Your camp is so beautiful. The staff is so helpful and friendly!! I loved all the activities you offered. I cannot wait to comeback!!!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Clean, friendly, and plenty to do while in camp. Will, certainly, return but maybe not on a holiday weekend. 5 stars overall.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award