Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cozy Camping begins with our Winter In The Smokies Deal!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 26, 2019
Was there last October and decided I would not return.. campground was terrible, nasty, awful. Some friends were there this past summer and told us campground under new ownership and great improvements had been made. Decided to give it a try this past weekend and we were impressed. We will be back this October for a Halloween weekend.
Aug 26, 2019
Very pleased with the check in process and the politeness and assistance with the staff. The cabin was very clean upon our arrival. Staff was very friendly and accommodating during our entire stay!!! �
Aug 26, 2019
As always great place and time. Thanks
Aug 26, 2019
Beautiful area and campground. Staff assisted us with the best way to navigate to the area. Wish we could've stayed longer.
Aug 25, 2019
Another pleasant and relaxing stay. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 25, 2019
Great campground. Very clean facilities and grounds are well kept. Only drawback is if you are in a tent with the road noise. Would definitely stay there again, just not in a tent near the road.
Aug 24, 2019
To begin with when I got there they tried to give me a different cabin than what I booked it took a while to get it straightened out. Then our cabin looked like mildew on windows and deck was dirty. Not what I expected your pictures are deceiving on your site. in our cabin was supposed to have dishes and silverware but did not. And drove 12 hours to get there and end up like this.
Aug 24, 2019
Nice Deluxe cabin on the river but had a few small roaches in sink at night,and shower got cold a couple of times but altogether a nice campground with nice employees!
Aug 24, 2019
love it and have already came back Wednesday thru Friday and brought family with us 8/21-8/23
Aug 24, 2019
very relaxing and good fishing love the cabins we were in and would tell everyone we know about our relaxing time in the koa
Aug 23, 2019
Great campground!,nice cabins,lots to do there and everything is close, Joann seemed to be the most help and seemed like she really wanted to,not so much with everyone that we encountered, would recommend this campground.
Aug 23, 2019
Checked in on Thursday-no cable the entire time we stayed (5 days) office personnel seemed like it was an isolated issue, tech that came to check it out said our area was ripped out by another irate camper who also was having the same issues as us. We weren’t offered a solution to the problem. Guess we should have complained louder!!!!! At least could have offered to move to another site.....
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Trouble with internet, no phone service and trouble with tv connection.
Aug 22, 2019
A lot for the kids to do and works were all very friendly.
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
There were a few maintenance items in the cabin that should be addressed - bolts/screws in floor vents sticking up, nails sticking out of trim in doorway, missing bolts/loose arms on patio chairs. The cabin itself was fantastic and the floor plan worked great for my family. Overall, our stay was fantastic.
Aug 22, 2019
Clean campground. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wished cable TV would have been a little better.
Aug 22, 2019
Camping sites and parking pads should be cleaned off prior to checking in. Our site was full of leaves and sticks. Our friends that stayed along the river site had not been swept in a while. Our electric would not support our A/C, however, one of the employees let us borrow an adapter during our stay, in which we returned when we left. Internet and Cable are needing to be updated to be consistent.
Aug 22, 2019
Very polite staff. There were some maintenace issues that need to be addressed (weeding and fencing repairs).
Aug 22, 2019
We enjoyed our stay at the Cherokee KOA. Campground was well kept and quiet during our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. We especially liked our concrete pad at our site. The only reason I didn’t give five stars was due to the cable tv not working at our site.
Aug 22, 2019
Great location, very clean. Your staffers need to abide by the 5 MPH rule; they were often observed speeding. Otherwise great experience
Aug 22, 2019
Great campgroud. Very clean, very well thought out campground layout, and beutiful scenery. The staff are all very curtious and bend over backwards to help you with every need, large or small. I can't say enough good things about this campground. Very highly recommended.
Aug 22, 2019
Nice campground, friendly staff.
Aug 22, 2019
It was wonderful campground! We will stay there again �
Aug 22, 2019
Cable reception was terrible. Camp ground is awesome!!
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Fun as always.
Aug 22, 2019
Stayed in basic cabin, everything was good with it, we have stayed at this location numerous times, and we were disappointed that you no longer do the tubing shuttle that we always enjoyed. But other than that we had a good time
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
One of the best KOAs we have been at. Will definitely be back
Aug 22, 2019
Wonderful place to stay
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
I stayed at the Cherokee KOA 26 years ago and the campground is not what is was then. Campground is run down, staff are not the quality of folks that were there previously, people not friendly, tours no longer there. Still a great campground - but not what is was.
Aug 16, 2019
It was okay. Wasn’t impressed. They mowed half out site and left grass clippings everywhere just after we cleaned our site. I have photos.
Aug 15, 2019
With no fault of KOA, the.fishing wasn't all that great. The ponds are usually stock on Friday but the week of our stay the stocking took place on Tuesday therefore when we arrived on Thursday most of the fish had been caught. As usually the Staff where Awesome especially a lady at the front desk by the name of Joann.
Aug 15, 2019
Awesome pool and great wifi
Aug 15, 2019
Friendly staff and very helpful. Superb facility and super clean. Camp store and grill excellent. RV sites and W-Fi also very good. I would have given it 5 stars, BUT they were CONSTANTLY mowing the grass and using weed eaters. Very noisy, everyday including Sunday. Pick a day, round up the staff and cut all the grass in one day between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM.
Aug 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean, friendly staff. Lots of things to do. Loved the indoor pool. Ate the spaghetti dinner and s’mores. The only negative is the price was a little high.
Aug 14, 2019
Please call me concerning my stay, I need to explain what happened concerning my experience,400 characters is not enough. My name is Bruce Wilson phone # 404-932-1322. Please call so I can explain my complaint. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thank You Bruce Wilson
Aug 14, 2019
The restaurant staff closed up early, after s ecifically telling us they would be open until 6:00 p.m. upon arrival at 5:15 p.m. the restaurant was closed, we hadto scramble through our cabinets to find something to eat. wood delivery was shorted . some staff members we ran across were surly, not happy campers. the campsite was great. flat/level /clean.
Aug 14, 2019
This was our first time in a KOA campground. Our cabin was fabulous, exactly what we expected from the website, clean, well-supplied/stocked, and an incredible location right on the river. The staff were friendly, prompt to respond, and knowledgeable. Signage was clear leading to the campground and within the campground.
Aug 14, 2019
Have stayed here several times. Beautiful and convenient to the town of Cherokee. Will definitely return again.
Aug 14, 2019
Rented a cabin for the first time and it was not very clean. Ants,spiders. Toilet dirty, microwave dirty, grill dirty upon arrival but was cleaned right away by friendly staff. Hair on sheets. Dust caked on exhaust fan and ceiling fan. Checked out a night early. Brought ants home with us in our laundry. Indoor pool water was cloudy. Rated a 2 because of very friendly staff member Daren!
Aug 14, 2019
It is a very nice place to stay. But the rates are way too high. I may stay at another place next time that is a little more affordable.
Aug 14, 2019
Great location..friendly staff and nice cabins
Aug 14, 2019
So much to do. Very clean. My husband enjoyed tubing on-site and biking. We had spaghetti and beans for dinner one night that was delicious.
Aug 13, 2019
Tres bien prise electrique exterieur ne fonctionne pas referer a un preposer toujours pas reparer a notre départ lumière intérieure brule bbq tres sale désuet
Aug 13, 2019
Very clean...all staff were great. Grandkids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
The only reason I don’t give a five is because our ceiling fan did not work, and the parking for our cabin wasn’t designated so having an inside cabin, when we came back to the cabin every time we had to search for parking.
Nov 24, 2019
We love this place.. Lots of great options for kids to do at campground, but Cherokee is fun with all the history and so close to Smokey Mountains. We go at least yearly.
- Courtney Blackston on Google
Nov 18, 2019
Loved this place would recommend going especially if you are a koa member you can save with the points you earn from each trip!
- Alicia Deanne on Google
May 01, 2019
Riesiger top gepflegter Campground zu Füßen des Great Smoky Mountains Nationalparks außerhalb des Touristenortes Cherokee; gut erreichbar auch mit größeren RVs, jedoch etwas umständlich zu finden
- Christian on HOLIDAYCHECK

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.