Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 29, 2017
Been visiting this KOA for 30+ years,never disappointed
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Cherokee KOA was great! Staff was very nice and helpful. We stayed in a creekside cabin. The cabin was clean and everything was as expected. It was very nice sitting on the porch out by the creek. Even saw a family of otters playing around. There is no verizon cell signal there, but that has nothing to do with the campground. Overall though, we enjoyed the experience. Will go back .
Sep 29, 2017
Overall a good stay. Bathrooms were clean but there was room for improvement. Hair in shower floor for two days (GROSS), back of toilets not clean. Saw no security after hours-- not happy with that. It appeared that anyone could enter the campground unnoticed. Staff for the most part were friendly but several needed a lesson on smiling and customer service.
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
Management is lackluster at best. Selling license to fish without supplying the literature on the rules even though it's under the counter. Shelves missing products when the stock is in back. Complaints of no hot water met with replies of " we haven't had any complaints ". Grass needed cut. Showers in men's bathhouse left I cleaned for 2 days- same soap and cobwebs present for 2 days.
Sep 28, 2017
very nice and clean employees friendly and very helpful
Sep 27, 2017
Overall very positive experience! Bathrooms were cleaner than any campground bathroom I've ever seen. Staff was friendly. Would be great if sites and concrete pads/patios weren't covered with grass clippings and if yardwaste weren't dumped in full view along riverside sites.
Sep 27, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic, clean, and perfect. The campsite itself seemed as though there were a lot of permanent trailers, and was quite full of clutter. The internet also didn't work. I would 100% recommend the deluxe cabin, but I probably wouldn't recommend the rest of the facility.
Sep 27, 2017
Great location, nice cabins, accomodating staff and reasonably priced. Cabins and campsites are very close together. Too close together in my opinion. Visitors should be encouraged to supervise their children much more closely. Many times during our stay children were running around or riding bikes/trikes in the roadways of the campground and not moving out of the way of motorists.
Sep 27, 2017
Very clean. Nice size campsites. But pool needs some maintenance and wifi sucks!
Sep 27, 2017
Great place for a relaxing vacation. My family loves it!
Sep 27, 2017
Great! Excellent service and very nice campground and facilities
Sep 27, 2017
Had a great time.....very nice campground.....only problem was there wifi is very poor....
Sep 27, 2017
Love your camp! Wish I had some grandkids to enjoy it. Location is convenient to what we wanted to visit. My back-in location was a little tight for my 5th wheel. I'll look for a pull thru next time. My wife noted that the restrooms could use a little extra work on cleanliness. Hope the fish is biting next time also.
Sep 26, 2017
It was me and my boyfriend's first time visiting KOA Campground and my first time visiting Cherokee, NC and the mountains. And I have to say it was the most relaxing, stress-free vacation ever!!! We got this cute little cottage that looks over the river (KT 236, to be exact) and it was perfect for the two of us. Very nice staff, very polite and friendly. I will be coming back again next year!!
Sep 26, 2017
We have camped all over Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina and by far and away our stay in a KOA deluxe cabin was the best trip we have ever had. The staff was friendly and helpful and the cabin was adorable and immaculate. There was so much to just at the campground and plenty to do nearby. We LOVED it. Will return soon
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Always enjoy the KOA in Cherokee. Some of the management changes have been a little disappointing, but hope to see them come together and work better as a new team.
Sep 26, 2017
Wonderful campground and exceptional employees. Donnie and Cory were most helpful.
Sep 26, 2017
We evacuated Florida. 2 of our kids left earlier than we did and made it on Thurs night but we didn't. A wonderful worker there provided them, for free, wood and food. I offered to pay her but she said no. She is such a beautiful spirit.
Sep 26, 2017
It was fabulous. The campground exceeded our expectations. Pool and hot tub was perfect. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and very well maintained. Our kids wanted to go tent camping for some odd reason, they are 2 girls age 6 and 9. They have never been tent camping in the past so we wanted to make their first trip,a special memorable trip. We chose KOA and have ZERO regrets.
Sep 26, 2017
The ceiling fan was noisy and only worked on one speed. The light switch didn't always work. I think the cabin should have heat/air for the price.
Sep 25, 2017
No cell service, bad internet, when checking in the lady was very rude because I was 30 minutes early for check in. Camp site was great.
Sep 25, 2017
Beautiful area! Nice campgrounds! Employees could be a little more friendly! North Carolina is famous for hospitality and making people feel welcome, didn't really get that feeling from the employees at this KOA. :(
Sep 25, 2017
There was so much to do at the campground. I only regret not discovering this place when my children were much younger!!!!
Sep 25, 2017
Very nice, clean campground with plenty of things for the kids to do. It was amazing that at 10 pm it was very quiet, will be going back.
Sep 25, 2017
The cabin was really nice! We have stayed at other KOAs and it was nothing like the one we were in. Staff was very friendly and the cabin was clean. If there was more to do in Cherokee we would probably come back, but we saw it all in one weekend. We wished the grill was open and wished they had the mini golf like it states on the website.
Sep 25, 2017
Bathhouse very nice. Check out time way to early, bikes way to expensive, HAVE to fix WiFi. It was non-exsistant.
Sep 25, 2017
The sites are too close. We have kids and a little square to play in is tough. Game room was closed.
Sep 25, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean campgrounds and bath houses, very quiet, nice size lots and concrete pads. Enjoyed it very much! Plan on returning!
Sep 25, 2017
Need better wi fi
Sep 25, 2017
Great location and great campground, but very poor wifi and dirty bathrooms. Both man's showers were growing mushrooms. I saw them in the first day and I was hopping that someone will clean them away. But after 5 days they were still growing Regarding the WIFI, I can understand they are in the mountains and there is a limited bandwith, but the problem was with the routers themselves - on and off
Sep 25, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. We rented a studio cabin for 2 nights and it was very nice.
Sep 25, 2017
First time staying here and it was great! Staff was always so helpful and accomadating. Campground was very nice and bathrooms were kept clean. Plenty of activities to do. Can't wait to visit again!
Sep 25, 2017
We had a wonderful time tent camping. My friend joined me from Atlanta. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The camping sites were clean and we'll maintained. We will definitely recommend it.
Sep 25, 2017
nice clean sites, all worked well, enjoyable for whole family, very friendly staff, very helpful, good info for activities will recommend to friends and will be back when occasion arrives.
Sep 25, 2017
The General Manager, Ms. Joanne made our stay at the Cherokee KOA the best night of our motorcycle trip. Thanks for being understanding.I was the lead of the group of friends and family who were doing a motorcycle ride on The Blue Ridge. GM Joanne, Sheryl and Max worked with my group to provide us lodging and a campfire; exactly what we needed. Great times thanks to you Cherokee KOA!
Sep 25, 2017
The park is ok. Indoor pool and spa water was green which usually indicates algae...so no swimming. Wifi not available during 5 day stay. A real negative. Camping hosts were friendly and the store was well supplied. Some of the sites are very close with direct visibility right into the cabins. Not busy, so spacing of units could be better. Really old unit within 10 feet. Uncomfortable.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
I didn't receive the tent site I purchased on the website which was a deluxe site. I got a regular site but at least it had water and power. During the day, starting at 8:17 am on Saturday morning, chain saws and leaf blowers everywhere with even a trash truck collecting trash. I understand there was a storm two weeks ago BUT COULDN'T YOU WAIT UNTIL DURING THE WEEK! NO QUITE TIME MEANS NO REST
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was great, much better then last year. Disappointed that the outdoor pool was closed. Facilities are nice.
Sep 25, 2017
This was not our first stay at this KOA. Convenient to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park and the folks that work here are friendly and familiar with the area & Carol gave great customer service. However, we were very disappointed in the condition of the pool & hot tub this time. Pool was cloudy, and the hot tub was downright murky. Hate paying amenity fees when can't use either.
Sep 24, 2017
Wi Fi was not good at all. Back at cabin none at all Ants in cabinet
Sep 24, 2017
The campground is in the heart of the beautiful smokey mountains. It is fully paved although some pavement and curbs could use repair. It is apparent that they are working on beautification projects. But overall if you're looking for pure scenery without the glitz this is the place. We will definitely be back !
Sep 24, 2017
I Love this place! I Love the Cherokee Reservation, whitewater rafting and the Train Ride. I have visited this Campground again and again over the years. This Campground should be a "Destination"! The mountain views are incredible.
Sep 24, 2017
We stayed for one night but we got what we were looking for, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Will definitely be coming back!
Sep 23, 2017
We had an excellent stay. The facility was well keep and the staff was very helpful and polite. The restrooms were clean and well keep "looked new". I would recommend two items for the men's restroom and showers, one not enough hooks in the shower cannot hang towel, clothes and other needs on one hook. Second, lights should be in front over the mirrors, currently a shadow is cast on ones face.
Sep 23, 2017
Our stay was amazing! There was plenty for us to right on the campground. The only issue I really had was that certain amenities that were listed on the website and in the paper I received when we arrived were no longer there for example they have removed the putt putt course. Other than that it was a fantastic week. The staff is absolutely amazing and very friendly.
Sep 23, 2017
I've visited this KOA for 20 years and love it. But this visit we had a few issues, one day 3 staff members cut across our campsite at least a dozen times to clean the cabin behind ours. One woman even stopped on our patio to check her phone for a few mintues. Also, while the cabin was amazing the sheet had stray random hairs and felt unclean, and the floors were very dirty. I still love this KOA.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award