Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Reserve: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 21, 2018
Great time in the mountains. Beautiful campground and very friendly staff. We will be back.
Nov 20, 2018
No heat in bathroom.
Nov 19, 2018
Very nice sites, deluxe cabins, but overpriced. You advertise discounts, but employees don't offer them unless asked, sometimes badgered into giving them. Maybe because they don't know? I think KOA would be better served to forego re-doing a very nice store/office area and passing the savings on. KOA has a lot going for it, but lower prices and employees who offer discounts woud be good.l
Nov 19, 2018
Great Place to stay
Nov 19, 2018
Although the cabins were nice, the bath houses were terrible and did not appear to have been cleaned anytime during our stay. It appears that this campground has been going down hill the past three years in the area of upkeep and maintenance. Hopefully things will get better for next year as my group has been going there for 19 years the same time of the year.
Nov 19, 2018
We really liked the campground but it is a little pricey
Nov 18, 2018
There was no heat and they did not tell me before I came so we bought a heater bc we ask at the office they gave us a little heater and it did not heat cabin enough and there was no heat in bathhouse and no hot water
Nov 17, 2018
We love staying at the KOA Cherokee!! It has stuff for kids. Great fire pits by the cabins. Such a relaxing stay every time we come!!
Nov 17, 2018
We really enjoyed the cabin on the river and my husband liked the fishing pond. We will come again and we have already recommended it to our friends.
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 17, 2018
Nov 16, 2018
Very nice and clean. Could have advertised event better. We didn’t know they were having dancing until we were going to get ice and saw the lights.
Nov 16, 2018
Deluxe cabin was wonderful, right on the river! The staff particularly Billy was so kind and helpful! We are planning our next trip with the kids since there is so much to do there!
Nov 15, 2018
When we pulled in, the first thing one of the staffers said to us was 'welcome home'. This pretty much described the atmosphere. Nice campground, peaceful, set alongside a beautiful clear mountain stream; uncrowded sites, great staff, nice country-type campstore, good wifi and cable - we will definitely be coming back!
Nov 15, 2018
Staff was extremely helpful, place was nice
Nov 14, 2018
Nice facilities/ well maintained / helpful staff/ beautiful property
Nov 14, 2018
did not get campsite in area requested. first site was gravel and bumpy. relocated to concreate site but had raised concreate that I tripped over and fell. reported this to the staff, they did not seem concerned. also took over 6 weeks for someone to call me about accident, I had called campground about once a week. have stayed at your campground in the past and this time was disapointed
Nov 14, 2018
The staff is so friendly! We love staying here. It is a very clean campsite and very well ran.
Nov 14, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
We had a wonderful stay in Cherokee! The surroundings were beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, and our cabin was perfect!
Nov 13, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
Our stay was wonderful and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is cleanliness. The cabin fans need to be cleaned (dusty); fridge had hair in it and needed to be defrosted; dog bowls were dirty; dust on surfaces; the blind (top bunk bed) had mold on it. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will recommend Cherokee KOA to friends and family. Thank you!
Nov 13, 2018
We truly enjoyed our trip to Cherokee NC.... Cabin was ideal ...cozy and clean and of course a beautiful setting! Staff was very friendly and helpful Thanks for the hospitality !
Nov 13, 2018
Joanne in the store was great as usual as was Bo in housekeeping. Bo goes out of his way to make sure he comes by to say hello and see how we are doing?
Nov 13, 2018
Great stay. Great for kids. Only problem we saw were broken doors in bathrooms and showers and bathrooms were pretty dirty or clogged toliets.
Nov 13, 2018
As always had a great time even in 24 degree weather.
Nov 13, 2018
We appreciated the electric heater your office loaned us!
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
I stayed in a river front RV lot. I had friends who stayed in cabins. We asked to be close to one another for convenience - especially since one was handicapped and needed our assistance throughout the stay. However, we were spaced out as far as possible at opposite ends of the campground. The cable reception was poor in the cabins. One bath house was very clean, the other was dirty.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
Spent a lovely but rainy week at this campground. Quiet with friendly staff and guests. Bathroom was clean and showers were mostly hot with some fluctuation in temperature. Laundry room was clean as well. Lots of activities for children.
Nov 12, 2018
Nov 12, 2018
We loved our KOA stay! It was our first time at a KOA but will not be our last. The staff was awesome and the cabin was great.
Nov 12, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at KOA only wish it could have been a longer stay.
Nov 12, 2018
Just needed a place to crash for a night on the way to somewhere else. They had a clean full service site available. Sent a young feller out to help get to, and into, the site, which was a nice touch. Place had amenities out the wazoo and not too many long-term residents, which I appreciate in an RV campground. Shower was cold; otherwise I'd certainly stay there again. I recommend highly.
Nov 11, 2018
Did not enjoy our stay. Had a lot of problems with the cabin and had to be moved to another. Am handicapped and and a veteran and was not pleased at all
Nov 11, 2018
Nov 11, 2018
We’ve stayed here the first weekend in November for the past 3 years and again it was a great getaway, my kids really enjoyed it, the place was kept clean and all of the staff was friendly
Nov 11, 2018
Pool and hot tub water was brown. Bathrooms were filthy. Cabin smelled like wet dog (we do not own a dog) Haunted Island opened an hour late while we stood in the cold and rain, was too dark to see on the path. Roads need work. Fire pit by plaza was never lit. Over priced.
Nov 11, 2018
We always have a wonderful time at the Cherokee KOA. The staff is amazing and so accommodating. My only complaint for our most recent stay would be the high speed traffic by our cabin. It was more than one or two vehicles but that is just the life of high speed, go go go, people from the city. Will be back in the spring!!
Nov 11, 2018
I didn’t get the cabin I wanted, although over the phone they told me I could have it. Then when I asked to get another cabin or at least in the back near the creek or upgrade the front desk rep told me, “no, and that they were all full up.” However, I was there for three nights and they were not.....
Nov 11, 2018
Upon arrival, we checked in late into our cabin. The smell in the cabin was alarming and took a couple hours to get use to, until we stepped back outside the next morning. We didn’t get much help from the office the next day or day after and they never called me to resolve the issue. It would have been a great stay if that cabin didn’t stink so bad!
Nov 11, 2018
Still love this area. The changes in management, housekeeping, maintenance have made me less likely to reccomend it to my friends.
Nov 10, 2018
Nov 10, 2018
Very friendly and helping staff. Especially Billy. Helped us find another cabin to stay in since the cabin we requested was a mud pit due to the rainy weather . He then checked on us throughout our stay. Thank you Billy. We thought it would have been nice for them to give us a free upgrade cabin since no cabins were being used. We love staying here
Nov 09, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved it. The cabin was cozy and right on the river so the views were unbelievable. The one thing I think this campground could work on is the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers. Not sure if they got cleaned at all the entire week we were there. But otherwise it was an awesome experience!
Nov 09, 2018
Not all the bathrooms were being maintained.
Nov 09, 2018
Had the best time ever in Cherokee. Will definitely be back soon in stay in at the KOA. Loved it
Nov 08, 2018
The deluxe cabin was very welcoming and clean. The view with the river off your porch was beautiful. The staff were extremely nice.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals