Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email This Campground

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 16, 2018
The Best service and staff Beautiful and well kept campground
Jun 16, 2018
Nice
Jun 16, 2018
Jun 16, 2018
My husband and I took our 3 grandchildren to Cherokee KOA for 6 days. We stayed in the deluxe cabin. It is a beautiful campground, and plenty of activities for the kids. The cabin was a little cramped for 5, but we didn’t stay in it much. Staff is very helpful and resolves any issues immediately.
Jun 16, 2018
The table at our camp site has fish guts all over it. Staff was not knowledgeable of the area or places to see. Check in staff seemed over worked and under appreciated by management. Our site was next to a major road.
Jun 16, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wish it could have been longer. We'll be back!
Jun 15, 2018
Jun 15, 2018
This stay was better than our last there.Pros- large campground with scenery that’s second to none.Multiple bath houses.Great camp store.2pools.2hot tubs.Fun,friendly activities for the kids.stocked trout ponds.peaceful river. Cons-Campground doesn’t have the welcoming,caring feel like a non corporate ran KOA.hard to get anyone to answer the phone or help if you have an issue.
Jun 15, 2018
Showers are just dirty! For three days I used the same shower and saw the same hair balls on the walls and floor of the shower! So gross!
Jun 15, 2018
Unfriendly staff. Staff ignored dogs that were not on leashes. Large groups, over the limit, on sites. Trashy full timer’s sites. Bob, very unfriendly, escorted us to a site, which we did not like for 3 days Lots of empty sites around us. Bob, the escort, said to back to office and just drove off, leaving us to maneuver our way through the park and then figure out a place to Park our rig.
Jun 14, 2018
We stayed in one of the basic cabins. The cabin was okay but was next to a swamp of sitting water not near the river like we requested. I called and made a reservation and was told it didn't go through so I payed again. After realizing I had been charged twice I called back and the issue was never resolved. I was told to get my money back on my card I would have to cancel my reservation. I than ha
Jun 13, 2018
The cabin was very, very nice. The WiFi is HORRIBLE. at the most we could get connected maybe 2x. Roads in campground need some work. Overall it was a wonderful experience and except for the WiFi (which was important for all of us) we would highly recommend staying there
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
Out door hot not functioning and tubing in the river not available. These were the main activities that I went there for.
Jun 12, 2018
The site was lovely, but the wifi left a lot to be desired!
Jun 12, 2018
Beautiful and well kept up park! Lot's to do. Easy to get around. Staff is amazing.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Cabin smelled really bad. Had no or very little hot water in the shower.
Jun 12, 2018
We've been coming here at least once a year for awhile now, & have enjoyed it. Very nice place! You can tell they keep making improvements. However, this time I was quite disappointed. There's staff everywhere, policing you, & it feel like some of them don't even WANT you there, or care too much if you're happy and comfortable. Also, they keep adding in extra fees and rules for this and that.
Jun 11, 2018
did not bl,ike the camp site. muddy plus to close to a trash can on the other side of fence where people were fishing. Not good
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Rented a 4 person cabin on the river for the weekend. No stove/range in this unit (unfortunately) but it did have a sink, microwave, and mini fridge. Always enjoy the Weber gas grill outside and the private bathroom/shower. Will stay again.
Jun 11, 2018
I haven’t Been in 6 years but before that my family went every summer for 12 years in a row. I know you have rules but the old guy driving around in the golf cart acted like his job was to find something wrong and be irritated. I felt like I was at my grandmas house having to watch everything I do instead of being able to relax with my family. We dropped $1200 or more this week. Never again.
Jun 11, 2018
It has the benefit of a great location for fishing and local activities but it's in need of upgrades to the "older" parts of the campground. The bath house we used also needs to be upgraded too but overall we will keep coming back for the fishing.
Jun 11, 2018
Awesome place to stay.
Jun 11, 2018
We had a bit of bad luck on our way there. Our truck broke down.With the help of some good samaritans,we made it to the camp ground with our camper.The next day the staff there were very helpful with local directions and asistance.We were able to rent a car and enjoy our stay.I am a veteran and I met many other veterans,I enjoyed our conversations.I have nothing but praise for the help we recieved
Jun 11, 2018
Magnificent setting with a very friendly staff. Many great sites for all kinds of campers. Good activities for the kids. The only thing that keeps KOA Cherokee from 5 starts is the poor infrastructure and the woefully inept maintenance staff. Many sites had standing water around the pump and electric box. We couldn't run more than one air conditioner even though we paid for a premium site.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
We appreciate the manager coming on his day off to help accommodate our stay after we chose to come a day early and hoped to not move from one cabin to another. We were able to get settled and let our fun begin! This is a great campground. Hope the kiddie pool gets fixed soon!
Jun 11, 2018
Such a great time!!! The park has made massive improvements over the past few years! All of the workers were so friendly, grounds were clean and had tons of fun activities! Delivering firewood to your site was such a nice touch! Only complaint was the fuzzy cable which was kind of a bummer during the NBA playoffs. Overall we Absolutely loved our stay!
Jun 11, 2018
Best stay at any RV resort so far, except Sat night, kids were out of control riding their bikes around the campground. Not watching for cars. Very dangerous.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
Awesome
Jun 10, 2018
It was one of the best places ever,clean, safe, and great for disabled people,had a wonderful time
Jun 10, 2018
Beautiful place, definitely coming back real soon
Jun 09, 2018
Awesome! Loved all the activities for our grandson!
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 08, 2018
Everyone was friendly and informative. Facilities amazing!
Jun 06, 2018
Its was great the pool hours could of been longer and grass could of been cut.
Jun 05, 2018
We paid extra to lock in our cabin, but we were moved and not notified until checkin. The original cabin we chose was being upgraded. We will go back request same cabin. Great staff!!! Lover being on the river and sleeping with the windows open.
Jun 05, 2018
The stay was good the site was real muddy an the outside pool was broke but we had fun
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
no activities through out week days / out door pool was closed the entire visit , jump pads were closed first day , cable was not working first day then not coming in clear rest of visit, due to weather tubing was closed and island
Jun 04, 2018
We had a great time. Kids enjoyed the inground pool and we all enjoyed the trout fishing. The staff was very helpful to us.
Jun 04, 2018
Will be back had a great time
Jun 03, 2018
Wonderful people great place to stay!!!!!
Jun 03, 2018
We had one bad experience last summer. BUt we had so many other good experiences we came back. Had a very nice experience this time.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award