Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Cabin's are filling up fast!

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2019
Aug 18, 2019
I stayed at the Cherokee KOA 26 years ago and the campground is not what is was then. Campground is run down, staff are not the quality of folks that were there previously, people not friendly, tours no longer there. Still a great campground - but not what is was.
Aug 16, 2019
It was okay. Wasn’t impressed. They mowed half out site and left grass clippings everywhere just after we cleaned our site. I have photos.
Aug 15, 2019
With no fault of KOA, the.fishing wasn't all that great. The ponds are usually stock on Friday but the week of our stay the stocking took place on Tuesday therefore when we arrived on Thursday most of the fish had been caught. As usually the Staff where Awesome especially a lady at the front desk by the name of Joann.
Aug 15, 2019
Awesome pool and great wifi
Aug 15, 2019
Friendly staff and very helpful. Superb facility and super clean. Camp store and grill excellent. RV sites and W-Fi also very good. I would have given it 5 stars, BUT they were CONSTANTLY mowing the grass and using weed eaters. Very noisy, everyday including Sunday. Pick a day, round up the staff and cut all the grass in one day between 10:00 AM and 2:00 PM.
Aug 15, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean, friendly staff. Lots of things to do. Loved the indoor pool. Ate the spaghetti dinner and s’mores. The only negative is the price was a little high.
Aug 14, 2019
Please call me concerning my stay, I need to explain what happened concerning my experience,400 characters is not enough. My name is Bruce Wilson phone # 404-932-1322. Please call so I can explain my complaint. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thank You Bruce Wilson
Aug 14, 2019
The restaurant staff closed up early, after s ecifically telling us they would be open until 6:00 p.m. upon arrival at 5:15 p.m. the restaurant was closed, we hadto scramble through our cabinets to find something to eat. wood delivery was shorted . some staff members we ran across were surly, not happy campers. the campsite was great. flat/level /clean.
Aug 14, 2019
This was our first time in a KOA campground. Our cabin was fabulous, exactly what we expected from the website, clean, well-supplied/stocked, and an incredible location right on the river. The staff were friendly, prompt to respond, and knowledgeable. Signage was clear leading to the campground and within the campground.
Aug 14, 2019
Have stayed here several times. Beautiful and convenient to the town of Cherokee. Will definitely return again.
Aug 14, 2019
Rented a cabin for the first time and it was not very clean. Ants,spiders. Toilet dirty, microwave dirty, grill dirty upon arrival but was cleaned right away by friendly staff. Hair on sheets. Dust caked on exhaust fan and ceiling fan. Checked out a night early. Brought ants home with us in our laundry. Indoor pool water was cloudy. Rated a 2 because of very friendly staff member Daren!
Aug 14, 2019
It is a very nice place to stay. But the rates are way too high. I may stay at another place next time that is a little more affordable.
Aug 14, 2019
Great location..friendly staff and nice cabins
Aug 14, 2019
So much to do. Very clean. My husband enjoyed tubing on-site and biking. We had spaghetti and beans for dinner one night that was delicious.
Aug 13, 2019
Tres bien prise electrique exterieur ne fonctionne pas referer a un preposer toujours pas reparer a notre départ lumière intérieure brule bbq tres sale désuet
Aug 13, 2019
Very clean...all staff were great. Grandkids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
The only reason I don’t give a five is because our ceiling fan did not work, and the parking for our cabin wasn’t designated so having an inside cabin, when we came back to the cabin every time we had to search for parking.
Aug 13, 2019
Breaker broke on electrical outlet. The maintenance staff repaired very quick. The staff is always nice and helpful.
Aug 13, 2019
Cabin was not ready until 340. After traveling we were tired and just wanted to get unpacked. Everything else about our stay was great. The kids loved it.
Aug 13, 2019
Beautiful location with many great amenities. Our grill was broken, reported it but no one came to fix it.
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
We enjoyed our stay in a rustic cabin at KOA Cherokee.
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Everything was as advertised. There does need to be outdoor showers and shower facilities in indoor pool as there were a lot of people coming straight from creek and getting into hot tubs and pools. These leaves the water looking dirty and a lot of grass and sand in the water. Bath houses appeared clean, in good working order, and well stocked.
Aug 12, 2019
Always love staying here but the grass was not maintained very well this time and needed to be cut.
Aug 12, 2019
First of all...4 days of calling with no luck...have to make reservations on line. Not the friendliness desk people...campstore had lots of stuff but not the essentials . We have been staying here for over 20 years...will not go back. Prices jacked up...rude desk people and the park is in need of maintenance. The cabin our son rented had broken chairs/tables...told them with nothing done. done!
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Very nice campground. Loved the concrete sites.
Aug 11, 2019
Wonderful location and service. Very good location for enjoying the Great Smokey Mountains NP and the Cherokee area. Our family will definitely be back again soon.
Aug 10, 2019
We always enjoy camping there and bringing all of our grandkids.I just wish you would put abench in all the showers for you to lay your stuff on from getting wet.
Aug 09, 2019
Nice campground. Loved pool. Cabin needs repairs. Siding busted and ugly pipes running under steps. Dog hair behind food bowls. And my child found a razor in bunk bed. ��
Aug 09, 2019
We visit every year. We love it. The updated store is nice. Lots of activities for the children this year. Employees were very helpful. Can’t wait for next summer!
Aug 09, 2019
The weather was beautiful and the camping was great. The bathrooms were really clean and so was the campground
Aug 09, 2019
Great cabin stay. Clean, quiet and welcoming park. Very pleasant staff.
Aug 09, 2019
Bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Shower stalls outside doors did not lock. The bathrooms were pretty nasty. The cabins were very close together. There is a tv in the main room with a small bench to sit on, but would have made more sense to have a tv in the bedroom too or instead of in the main room. Staff were a little rude. Pretty area but definitely needs some work.
Aug 08, 2019
Our stay was very nice and relaxing. Love Cherokee KOA.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Very nice campground and very helpful staff
Aug 08, 2019
2nd year staying there for the Talking Trees children's trout tourney. My five year old loved the playground, indoor heated swimming pool, and the ability to safely bicycle around the campground. Stocked trout river in the back and three stocked ponds in front of the campground! We stayed in a basic cabin but noted the bear proof food storage boxes at the tent camping sites. Covered picnic tables
Aug 08, 2019
Awesome time with friends and family
Aug 08, 2019
Had a great time. Nice property, nice friendly people, lots of amenities. Our grandchildren had a great time and plenty to do. Will stay again.
Aug 08, 2019
Cabin was great - there were some ants but not really a problem. Only complaint I would have is check in I think it would be better if cabin renters could check in early if the cabins are ready. Everyone lining up exactly at 3 was ridiculous.
Aug 08, 2019
We had a great time. Loved our huge site. Only issue with it was that there is a need for some type of drainage around the electrical hook up. It rained and that area was standing in water. A suggestion for the store....please post prices for the coffee stand, bait and ice cream products at their locations. We had to go to check out to decide if we wanted to purchase these things or not.
Aug 07, 2019
The 1st camp site they put us in was terrible. You said it was river front. Sorry it was not. It was next to the bounds tent. your kidding me. You should give m e back my money for that in play crossing guard keeping children from hitting their heads crossing between my camper and the 5th wheel. 2nd Internet was also the worst I have ever dealt with. So bad I had to leave to get important emails.
Aug 07, 2019
We have stayed at this KOA many many times and by far it is our favorite. Throughout the years we had noticed it had began to seem rundown and the employees had gotten a bit shady to say the least. Nevertheless you guys are doing a great job improving this and making changes! I was happy to see changes being made! I was disappointed that putt putt was gone and there was no live music or a DJ.
Aug 07, 2019
Great location. We have stayed here several times years past. The sites have developed holes and low spots that collect water as well as a walking hazard when the grass covers the spots. Asphalt drives have potholes that need attention. The Campground overall was clean and the staff were nice.
Aug 07, 2019
Love this place, coming back next year. Unfortunately, the pool was filthy every day. That area definitely needs immediate attention.
Aug 07, 2019
No shade. Grill ran out of certain foods and basically all the ice cream but 2 flavors. Hot tubs did not work. Pools were cloudy and smelled like they had no chlorine. A lot of green mold around pool area. People driving way to fast on bikes after dark with no lights. Grass was not mowed. Very rundown and poorly managed. For $94 a night I expect more. I’ll stick to state parks at half the price.
Aug 07, 2019
We have been coming since 2011 with friends and family. This koa has always provided us the perfect place to make the best memories! The river access, pool, cafe, jump pillow, staff were all 5 stars. A huge thank you to The new manager Rachael and her staff. She is doing a great job making upgrades to an already amazing place. Thanks again for another great vacation. See you again soon!
Aug 22, 2019
Peaceful. Staff very friendly and helpful.
- Russell Tripp on Google