Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA Reviews

Start camping now with our early season, Spring Cabin Deal and save $25/Night

Book Now
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2020
Disappointing after having such wonderful stays in the past. The premium back in river sites (213 to 220) are a joke,they back up against a low flow branch of the creek and the shore is not accessible because of the man made erosion banks. Definitely not worth the extra $$. These sites also flood with even a slight rain. Our picnic table and fire pit were under water most of the time. Never Again
May 28, 2020
We will definitely stay again. This is one of our favorite mountain spots. One improvement would be to address low spots that puddle and stay wet. There are a number of sites that I would not want to stay in for this reason. Our site however was great.
May 28, 2020
it was great
May 28, 2020
Love this campground I recommend it to 3 people today as my favorite I will be back
May 27, 2020
May 27, 2020
Hard to say much the way thing are now.
May 27, 2020
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only reason I didn’t give a better rating was due to ants and other bugs inside cabin. My suggestion is to spray cabins on a regular schedule.
May 27, 2020
Great time even though covid-19 made things different. We stayed in cabin 238 it needs some work. Toilet paper holder is broken and kept falling off. The faucet in the bathtub was also broken and very loose. It was hard to turn on the shower. There were a lot of dead bugs and spider webs. We could tell it had not been cleaned before we got there. I swept up hair and dirt upon arrival.
May 27, 2020
Great place just not much open for kids yet from coronavirus price per night getting to high
May 27, 2020
You guys are awesome. We love coming to Cherokee! Even with the restrictions everything went smoothly. Thank you!
May 27, 2020
We loved it.
May 27, 2020
Nice stay and very friendly staff. The only noticeable difference from other KOA experiences we’ve had was that our tent site was not clean when we arrived. A large deteriorating watermelon was left by the fire pit and had bugs all over it and candy wrappers were throughout the site.
May 27, 2020
Staff was pleasant. Our site was waaayyy too small. Grass was ridiculousy tall. Holiday weekend so you would think they would have made it look nicer. It had been raining and with everything going on with covid none of amenities were available, which I know is not their fault. Very disappointed overall though.The place looks great on the website but like I said we were very disappointed overall.
May 27, 2020
It was the first time my family had stayed there we actually got a fishing license for 3 days in the last day it poured raining andbmy money wasn't reimbursed but i understand that what i was hoping for was a rain check kept calling customer service could not leave a message and no one picked up...all that money down the drain...not happy.
May 27, 2020
We have stayed here before and LOVED it. This time we were put on a site that had no water. We mentioned it a couple times but nothing was ever done. We also tried to rent a golf cart and were told to come back at 3. When we went back, they had already rented all of the carts. Then we were told to come back at 11 the next day. We went back and were told we couldn’t rent one until 3.
May 27, 2020
We arrived late 8:30 pm but staff were available to escort us to our reserve site. Area was as clean as expected. They observed social distancing, mask in store.
May 27, 2020
May 27, 2020
May 26, 2020
I was disappointed that the campsites weren't cleaned up before we arrived. They looked like they had never been cleaned and given the fact that there has been a pandemic and not many people were staying there before we arrived the campground should have been cleaned up before a big weekend! Also, the pools should have been ready to go once the governor and the chief said they could be used!!
May 26, 2020
Amazing job by the folks at the KOA Cherokee this Memorial Day week with COVID restrictions in place! You were all wonderful and accommodating. We had a wonderful time and the placed looked great! Our cabin was spotless!
May 26, 2020
Buddy site smaller than advised. Felt with amenities closed rates should be reduced. Like check in time. Roads need repair desperately. Store good. Spots need upgrades for flooding issues.
May 26, 2020
It was a pleasant experience from the time we arrived until we left. When we arrived it was raining and they were doing their check-in outdoors due to COVID. After check-in we followed a staff member to our site. After realizing the spot was a bit small for our RV the manager made the call to move us to a larger site. Even though it rain a little each day we enjoyed our stay as always.
May 26, 2020
Even with all the restrictions due to the ongoing pandemic, KOA Cherokee is still one of our favorite locations to relax and spend time with Family. We took a day trip to Gatlinburg on Saturday and reserved a site for our next visit before we left.
May 26, 2020
We were places in a site that was very wet and even when rain stopped and other sites dried out, our site remained a wet mess. I also noticed trash was picked up multiple times on other rows, not ours . The workers did not come down out row often. I would not stay there again.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Could have been a 10 and 5 stars if the grass had been mowed and used a weed eater around our cabin and if COVID-19 had not shut down all the amenities.
May 26, 2020
Great experience clean and friendly place
May 26, 2020
My family stayed at a tent site which was great and we were lucky to get the tent site we did due to our larger tent therefore, we did not use the tent pad. Some of other tent sites would have not worked. I would remove the tent pads as that limits the area where the tent need to be placed and the size of tent that can be placed on the tent pad. Need more rocks on the driveway of the tent sites.
May 26, 2020
This was my first camping experience and I wasn't to fond of the location of our cabin and it took a hot minute to get used to not having plumbing in the same space, however the bathhouse isn't far from the cabins at all. We walked the entire campground and did see other locations that we loved. The staff are super friendly. Over all it was a nice getaway. We will definitely be back.
May 26, 2020
Facilities need work- a lot of broken pavement, weedy, limited access to the river and our site was near a fish cleaning station with a trash can we asked them to empty multiple times due to the smell. I did appreciate their enforcement of Covid hygiene and masking and the staff was nice.
May 26, 2020
The office staff was very snappy and snarky with people, except for Judy. Judy was awesome and she should be put in charge. My cabin was dirty, stained towels, wood trim falling off the walls and laying on the floor.
May 26, 2020
We love this place! We come to her three times a year. The campsite is beautiful and we love all the extra activities that they offer for our girls!
May 26, 2020
Terrible
May 26, 2020
We were told that they were operating at 50% capacity. It looked like 100% when we got there, it was crowded! All cabins and sites around us were occupied. Cabins were dirty; had footprints on the bed of sand and dirt on one of the mattresses. Another family member had to change cabins because their's was infested with bedbugs. They were awaken at 4am because they were biting them.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Great
May 26, 2020
Awesome. The staff did a great job during this Covid garbage. Coming back in July!!!
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
Beautiful and clean and very friendly. A bit high per night. 118.00 a night without pool or hot tub open. But really needed to get away.
May 26, 2020
Everything was great for my first time stay! Need more coffee left tho in the rooms.
May 26, 2020
Very disappointed with our stay. We paid a huge amount of money to stay over memorial weekend on a premium river site that was quite run down and many of the sites were mud holes, fire rings rusted through and falling apart. However, staff was quite amazing and super friendly.
May 26, 2020
May 26, 2020
We booked last minute before Memorial Day weekend and ended up with a wonderful cabin! The large porch and the view of the river was wonderful! Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside was the walk to the bathhouse from the cabin. It wasn’t too bad but farther than I would have liked. Showers could have been cleaner. Overall great experience!
May 26, 2020
wonderful stay. staff was pleasant. paid for a spot large enough for our camper but was a little tight and wouldn't allow us to get our awning out. everything else was fantastic.
May 26, 2020
Rules aren’t enforced - if you state certain rules in clear bold format, but don’t enforce them, makes for a miserable experience. (Quiet hours; large groups). Staff was super friendly. Will have to really consider before coming back with the campers being on top of each other
May 26, 2020
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
May 25, 2020
May 25, 2020
Many of the amenities were closed because of COVID-19 but there was no discount on the nightly rate. Also, the campground wasn’t quite as well maintained as it could have been: sites were very muddy and needed to be mowed and trimmed. Staff was very friendly.
May 25, 2020
We were sold on a “Premium river site” and paid $109 a night plus a “site guarantee fee” and add. child fee (we only had 2 adults and 2 children). We weren’t informed of these extra fees. We were highly disappointed with our site and it’s layout. We also couldn’t see the river, only a retaining wall. There were no chairs or patio as advertised, just concrete pad and old table.
May 21, 2020

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.