Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 20, 2018
Awesome facility. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.
Apr 18, 2018
We came back here bc we used to have such great stays here years ago when my children were small. they're grown now and my wife and I decided to take a sabatical to the Smokies and stay here again. As in the past the staff was friendly, very service oriented, facilities very clean and our kabin welcoming at the end of the day. No issues with wifi and even streamed an NHL playoff game. Go Bolts!
Apr 18, 2018
Great Amenities, Great Fishing, Great Campground!! Spacious Camp Sites.
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 18, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
Everything was great, I come here twice a year and love it. However, on this particular stay my cabin had ants all over and even on the bunk bed by the window. I had to spray bug spray to get rid of them daily. The only other issue was the pool was very dirty this time, I could not see bottom of pool because of the water cleanlines. In the past I did not have these issues. I will still return!!
Apr 17, 2018
It was perfect. 10/10.
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
We weren't happy with our stay. We were told our cabin had heat and a TV but it did not and the temperatures got down to freezing. Also we experienced no hot water in the bathrooms.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Great time. We loved movie night. Everyone was so friendly.
Apr 16, 2018
Great place to stay. Very clean and the staff was super nice and very helpful...
Apr 16, 2018
We stay here every year for our guys weekend getaway. We love this campground. The staff are always nice and if there’s a problem they will correct it right away. The only reason I didn’t rate it higher is when I called to get reservations they would not give a military discount over the phone and wanted to argue about it. Never had the problem in the past !!!!
Apr 16, 2018
Great,almost too friendly. Everyone welcoming you or saying hello gets kinda confusing who to reply to.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Great time my fiancee really enjoyed herself it was her first time trout fishing. Just wish the deluxe cabins wasn't so pricey. Would come up there more often if they wasn't with my kids and her kids. But still.overall great time.
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly. The cabin was very nice with a lovely view of the river. Would have liked to have stayed in a deluxe cabin, but there must have been a glitch in the computer system saying they were all booked up when they weren't.
Apr 16, 2018
definitely the worst experience from 10 KOA’s so far. The indoor pool was ‘open’ but looked very dirty and insight you could barely breath because the vents weren’t turned on. They told us the snackbar would be opem until 8PM but closed already at 4, leaving us with 3 hungry children... Also, after several hours our RV site was more like a swamp due to leaking water (from under the grou
Apr 15, 2018
Apr 15, 2018
Apr 12, 2018
Great place to stay
Apr 11, 2018
Beautiful clean park. Friendly staff. Very accommodating when it came to extending our stay. Would definitely stay there again.
Apr 11, 2018
The environment was great and I like the parking space. However, I did not have wifi except the first day. It was very disappointed. I was obliged to go to the town to get wifi.
Apr 10, 2018
Very nice facilities will be back again
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 10, 2018
Very nice friendly atmosphere! Deluxe Cabin was wonderful. Beautiful Place.
Apr 10, 2018
Stayed in one of the deluxe cabins. Very comfortable and perfect for this time of year. Whole park very clean. Everyone friendly and helpful. Only stayed one night this time but would definitely return again for a longer stay.
Apr 09, 2018
I had reservation #631653.000 confirmed. payed one night deposit. when I arrived they had changed my reservation to another location, not on the river. totally dissappointed in KOA service.
Apr 09, 2018
We stay here a couple times a year & have never had any problems. Pros: Bathroom upgrades, wifi signal improved, friendly staff & the new storefront looks great. Cons: Indoor pool now closes at 8 (used to be 9), no age restriction on small hot tub so kids are jumping all over the place, many sites stayed flooded after rain, cost is ridiculous (literally more than beachfront camping).
Apr 09, 2018
I was placed in a creek side cabin when I should of been on the river. I requested 4 different cabins specifically or a river front del cabin due to my child fishing a great deal in the river and he has Aspergers (a form of autism) so he could fish more independ and be more visible to us. On arrival we were placed in cabin 381 . When I requested to be moved "we are full" and she walked off.
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
We could hear mice in the walls/ceiling of the cabin we stayed in. There were also black ants that got into everything. They were inside the cabin when we arrived. Not a big deal, but we had to take extra steps with food. Overall, cabin was clean & worked well for a long weekend with 2 adults/2 kids.
Apr 09, 2018
The staff was not friendly. They always seemed to busy to listen to you. The bathrooms were smelly and dirty. Shower head and knob was broken off. we will not be returning to this campground
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
We were only scheduled to stay 5 days and extended 2 more. The staff was friendly and helpful, the site was clean, along with the restrooms. The indoor pool and hot tub were great on rainy days. The kids had fun riding their bikes and playing at the nice playground. Sites in the front have a little more traffic but we were towards the back and had minimal noise. Love this place, will be back!!
Apr 09, 2018
Tv was blurry,said there was WiFi but not at our cabin,burner on stove barely worked
Apr 09, 2018
This place was awesome for our first time staying great kind employees
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
We enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms were clean and good. Kids enjoyed inflatable. Dog park was nice. Good stay. We will go again.
Apr 08, 2018
We love the Cherokee KOA! Very nice campground & staff!
Apr 08, 2018
Cabin wasn’t ready at 4. The staff offered no discount or compensation for us having to stand around and wait for an hour. Even tho there is fee is WE show up early. No soap in bathrooms for 4 days. Pool was shut down for 2 of the days. Out of essentials at the stores. Also, we had tried to reserve cabin with bathroom but were told none were available. We counted at least 12 that we’re emp
Apr 08, 2018
We had a great time at the Cherokee KOA. Very dog friendly. Bathrooms were very clean. Kids loved the jumping pillow. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I
Apr 08, 2018
Good except for the ants all over the counter tops. Only one shower in the women's bathhouse next to our cabin, had to wait several times..
Apr 08, 2018
This was our 3rd stay with the family. Honestly had no complaints at all. The weather was not the best (cloudy cool rainy) and curtailed some activities, but we still had a pretty good time. Had several interactions with staff. They were helpful, happy & smiling. They were checking bath houses & actively doing things all around. Honestly I was impressed. We will be back! Looking forward to it!
Apr 08, 2018
I was only in the campground for a bit over 14 hours, but I was impressed with the facilities. My campsite was nice (really liked the shelters over picnic tables), space for tent adequate, and shower house clean.
Apr 08, 2018
clean... Friendly and helpful staff... Sites in the small side but nice.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award