Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-7784

Info: 828-497-9711

Email

92 KOA Campground Road

Cherokee, NC 28719

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 18, 2017
Great location to camp in the Smokies. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The cell phone service is almost non existent in the valley. They need to upgrade their WIFI modem. I could only get online to email at 6:00am. After 9:00am there was virtually no WIFI service. When I questioned the lack of service, they said that there were 700+ people staying that weekend. That's no excuse.
Oct 18, 2017
All was well except the cable TV. It was so snowy we couldn't use it. This was from 6 of us all on the same row
Oct 18, 2017
Had a great time with your staff,fun fishing tournament.
Oct 18, 2017
Had a good relaxing time. See you next year
Oct 18, 2017
Good camp ground if you have kids, if you donât keep driving. Camp spots are too close and most are facing each other.
Oct 18, 2017
Absolutely loved the camp ground and all the facilities! The cabin we had was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. We especially liked Cheryl who was very nice and helpful! We plan to visit some other campgrounds now that we know what to expect.
Oct 18, 2017
family trip to chill in Cherokee. Had a great time. tad pricey for a campsite, but good
Oct 18, 2017
Everyone was very friendly and accomodating.
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Some paneling in the fence along the primitive campsites would provide a bit of privacy from people fishing. The drainage could be better too, but we did choose the cheaper campsite option. So fair enough. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Oct 17, 2017
Spent a fun time with a group of friends!
Oct 17, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at the KOA Cherokee. The front line person Josh was so knowledgeable about his job and he offered stellar service while checking in. I had read bad reviews on line, but when we arrived until we left we had an amazing restful stay. Thank you so much for the survey. We will try our best to go back and stay again.
Oct 17, 2017
Very nice campground with lots of amenities (which we don't use). Too pricey for what you get. Overall good stay.
Oct 17, 2017
Great as usual! This is our favorite vacation of the year. Our cabin did have ants, but we didn't mention it. It was K300.
Oct 17, 2017
Great.
Oct 17, 2017
The KOA is a beautiful place, unfortunately it was a busy weekend and we ended up behind a rowdy crowd. The cabin we stayed at you can hear the street noise in front and the crowd behind us, not to forget the basketball hoop. I went up to the mountains to get away from the everyday noise and relax and that was a down fall, but it was not the KOA's fault . Everyone there was nice and helpful.
Oct 17, 2017
We stayed in a one room cabin. It was in good shape. The staff was friendly and helped us find our cabin when we arrived. The bathrooms were cleaned regularly, however the staff had trouble keeping up, as it was a busy weekend. There were halloween devocation up, which were cool for kids.
Oct 17, 2017
The staff and cabin was nice. Unfortunately, the WIFI was terrible. Since we had no cell service, we were dependent on wifi to keep in contact with our family. I know this may seem like a small thing, but the website lists wifi as being part of the package. Our cabin was on the "water" but next to the entrance and faced the street. Wish I would have known that ahead of time esp for the $$
Oct 17, 2017
We really enjoyed the campground. Look forward to coming back soon.
Oct 17, 2017
Got quite a hassle about pitching a tent next to our truck camper even though I noted it when making the on line reservation. When a representative called to do a speedy check in a few days before our stay he initially told me tents were not allowed on full hookup sites. I told him I would have to cancel if that was the case. i guess you don't want the full story. Not enough characters left!
Oct 17, 2017
Too many barking dogs. 5 mile per speed limit is crazy because no one obeys it but yet we got stopped because we were going 8 mph. Crazy to charge extra $10 for a reservation. Cabins need wiped down for bugs and spider webs. Too much trash left around area we had to clean up when we got there.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
I actually love this campground, we've been numerous times. This time I made my reservation online and asked for a cabin by the bathhouse I've got cabin k369. That cabin doesn't have running water, has the worst fire pit/grill area that I've ever seen, we almost fell in it several times. It's settings so low to the ground, with the roots around it. With repairs this could be the ideal location.
Oct 17, 2017
The cabin we stayed in wasn't really clean. We had to ask that the shower curtain be replaced because it smelled very sour. The floors were dirty, the sofa bed was like sleeping on springs with no cushion whatsoever. The site itself was beautiful, the campground was pretty clean and the girls had fun. its just that the cabin could have been cleaner and the sofa bed mattress a lot better.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
I will never stay again. It was a wonderful campground. However, it was hard to get to, there was NO cellphone service (AT&T), very limited and slow Wi-Fi and the Wi-Fi lacked internet most of the time.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in a cabin on the river and other families joined us in RV's. Parents relaxed and kids were totally happy with plenty of fun things to keep them busy from 8am-11pm. Staff super helpful and friendly. SO TOTALLY KID FRIENDLY that we never even went into town!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
My husband and I always love coming to the KOA in Cherokee, NC. This was our 3rd anniversary trip. We never have a issue when we come. I will say that this trip we asked for the deluxe tent site with the sand bed and bear box but got the one with just water and electric hookup. We did not pay for the delux tent site but were slightly disappointed when we realized we did not get what we asked for
Oct 16, 2017
As always, everything was clean and neat. They were doing some remodeling on the office (which is looking really nice), but we still had easy access in and out. The staff was pleasant, courteous and helpful. It is always a treat staying at this KOA.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Beautiful campground! Would definitely return. Only request is that they put more hooks in the showers or a bench in the ladies showers. Really inconvenient trying to find place to put all your stuff.
Oct 16, 2017
The campground is nice. The workers in the office could be a lot nicer.... The workers driving around in the golf carts were very friendly. The WiFi is an absolute joke which wouldn't be an issue except it is an amenity listed. The wifi didn't even work 90% of the time. The bath houses were clean. We would return.
Oct 16, 2017
We always love coming up for the Trout Tournament. Winning was a nice bonus! The renovations were also nice. My wife loves how the restrooms are ALWAYS clean! lol
Oct 16, 2017
We love to stay here and have made this an annual fall break destination. The only problem I have is with the wifi. We couldn't get a signal with any of our 3 phones or tablets and moved all around the campground tryIng to get a signal. This was frustrating, but won't stop us from coming back. See you again next year.
Oct 16, 2017
This was a long weekend trip for me and my son. Crowded, but otherwise incredible as always!! So very happy to see that JoAnn P. is still in the front office!! She has always gone above and beyond to make our stay awesome!! She is an asset for KOA!
Oct 16, 2017
the campground is great with the exception of the internet and cable TV. I sometimes need consistent internet service to use for my profession and it is unreliable. Also, for the price of $75 per night, I would think the quality of those services would be far geater than what they currently are.
Oct 16, 2017
We have been staying with you guys for 17 years... I those years not much has changed. Still canât make phone calls or text/internet. I now have children that I need to check on. With todayâs technology, it shouldnât be that way. Also, we always get a back spot near the creek. Its always black back there at night. There are NON WORKING street lights and that is a safety hazard.
Oct 16, 2017
Great
Oct 16, 2017
Great!!!!!!
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
People were great very nice and quick with any problem. Cabin was not all that clean when we arrived but a. Dry nice place to stay
Oct 16, 2017
Awesome as always we love it here
Oct 16, 2017
Great cabin at a family friendly campground with tons to see and do all around the area!
Oct 16, 2017
The bathrooms were very nice with clean floors, stalls, and showers. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was large, quiet at night. My only complaint is when it rained, there was drainage. Nowhere for the rain to goâlots of puddles & mud, so even after the rain we couldn't enjoy our firepit area.
Oct 16, 2017
I have stayed here many times and for the first time I didnât feel welcomed. Nobody really said hello, they all seemed to be in a hurry to go somewhere in their golf carts. When we waited for an escort, he took of and left us. With a 5mph speed zone we couldnât keep up. Luckily I knew where the site was. WiFi is non existent, shouldnât advertise as having it or charging for it.
Oct 16, 2017
We spent this past weekend at your campgrounds and it was AMAZING!!! We had the best time. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and the showers and bathrooms are spotless clean. We can't wait to get back to the mountains and to your campgrounds. Thank you again for a wonderful weekend.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award