Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Real nice Wooded campground. Well laid out. The only real problem was that they had young kids working there who knew nothing about camping. I had a couple of camper problems and they had no idea of who in the area could help.
Aug 01, 2017
Did not like that is was attached to a trailer park..poor drainage after rain storms.Some staff really didn't know what they were doing.place needs a complete overhaul
Jul 30, 2017
Park is old and has permanent trailers. Also adjoins an old mobile home park. Sites are mostly dirt. Showers are actually portable event trailers. It's great that current owners want this to be a KOA but this place needs serious upgrades before it meets KOA standards.
Jul 30, 2017
Decent, but the attached mobile home park sharing everything is very unlike the KOA I have stayed in the past. Should not be able to operate as a KOA and a trailer park!
Jul 30, 2017
This was a disappointment. Person on the phone quoted us a tent price of $33 for our 22ft MH since we only needed W/E, but we were charged $40 upon checkout. There was a rotten smelling open dumpster near the main bathrooms which we discovered were out of service, so we had to use these portable bath houses.
Jul 29, 2017
Worst KOA this year. Supposedly they are repairing regular bathrooms. Saw no workers. They have a temp trailer. Filthy. In morning non English speaker used hise on ceiling, walls, then just a broom to wipe off toilets. Children were staffing front desk at night, including a sulken teen girl sitting in a grocery cart by front door. Where were parents/owners?
Jul 28, 2017
The bathrooms and shower houses were closed during our stay. Temporarily facilities were available, but quite dirty and so we chose not to use. Laundry facility is open air and was very dirty. Pool was nice. But overall not what we expected when booking a KOA campground.
Jul 28, 2017
Overall, this seemed like a run-down KOA. The location was less than ideal and cramped. Further, the regular police patrol suggested crime was not infrequent. We did not feel safe. Plus, the bathrooms were being renovated and the mobile units that were brought in were filthy and disgusting. To use the toilet, one had to literally stand in a puddle of water. We would recommend avoiding.
Jul 27, 2017
The bathrooms were being worked on or updated so the had these porta potty style bathrooms that were in poor shape and no clean. Other than that we haf a great time and loved everything else about the Koa. Especially the area for the dogs.
Jul 26, 2017
To small of driveways for new 40' RV with trailer. Need 30ft of sewer hose.
Jul 24, 2017
No problems what so ever.....well facilitated and friendly.
Jul 22, 2017
we had to leave swimming pool twice because other guests came in area smoking and there language and actions made us uncomfortable as our grandchildren were with us .we told your staff about our discomfort but no corrections
Jul 22, 2017
Lot of flooded camp sites A little pricey
Jul 21, 2017
Didn't like having to use passkey numbers for the rest room. Also,pool being used by others in neighborhood not staying there.lots of kids riding thete and home on their bikes.
Jul 20, 2017
The temporary restroom were awful. Smelled horribly and were continuously out of toilet paper. Park definitely does not enforce quiet time at 11. Screen door on cabin was filled with holes, so bugs were free to come and go as they pleased!!
Jul 19, 2017
Great for an overnight or very short stay. Not really a destination stop unless you will not be in the campground much. Sites are very close together. Pool is nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good for sightseeing in Charleston.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff are friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Always eager to make sure you enjoy your stay. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and vegetables. Great Charleston stay!
Jul 19, 2017
AWESOME pool and clean grounds BUT the shower/bathroom and washer and dryer area was being remodeled.
Jul 19, 2017
Staff was very helpful but the issue is a STRONG mold and mildew odors in both the office and the rec room. It was gross.Also cable hookup never worked even after it was fixed by maintenance.
Jul 19, 2017
Very unorganized. I contacted the staff ahead of time to tell then I was going to be arriving after hours. They left a map taped to the door but didn't leave a spot # for me to park my camper. At 1:30am I had to just find a spot and park. Park was not well kept, full of fire ants and lack of trimming and mowing. Not up to koa standards.
Jul 18, 2017
After visiting this campground since I was a child, I am appalled by how overgrown it was, not including the disgusting bathrooms, and how our cabin smelled of cigarettes. The only way I would recommend this location, is if they did a major over haul.
Jul 18, 2017
Friendly staff, plenty of maneuvering throughout site roads for 40' RVs with tow (sites are not very wide but sufficient), pleasant stay, good value for the rate.
Jul 18, 2017
Not standard for what I'm use to. Was given a mud whole of a site, my front legs sank 2" into the ground. Bathroom were closed for repair. Enough said, won't stay there again.
Jul 18, 2017
Everything is run down. Seems like it's mostly permanent campers. Wifi would never work and the only help we got was to call some other number for support.
Jul 17, 2017
We had a great stay!
Jul 17, 2017
Everything was ok They were very helpful when we wanted to extend our stay. I thought they may have given a discount after 7 days. It was a little pricey
Jul 16, 2017
Very nice
Jul 16, 2017
The staff and facilities were wonderful; however, the campsites tend to flood a bit and make everything muddy for days when it rains.
Jul 15, 2017
Gaint water bugs in cabin. Unfriendly staff.
Jul 15, 2017
Great time but we only stayed a short time. Looked like a nice place and will visit again- thanks for the friendly service and I hope the renovations go smoothly.
Jul 14, 2017
A smaller campground. First impression was not very good, entered through a trailer park entrance. However, the staff was courteous. Campground is clean. Plagued by gnats. But that is a problem in the region, not the campground. Some of the sites definitely appear to be permanent residents. Many of these have a significant of weed and grass growth. Did not use the pool. But it appeared clean. Cabl
Jul 14, 2017
Our stay was so wonderful we added on a second night! The cabin was clean and comfortable, the pool was warm and inviting, the grounds were well manicured- truly a wonderful experience! Even with the bathroom being under construction- the comfort stations were nice and clean! We are already planning our next trip back!
Jul 13, 2017
It rained a lot and got our site muddy but when we reported it they came immediately and poured gravel around our site. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only issue was it is connected to a mobile park. And not a very nice mobile park but we had no issues with anyone from the mobile park. We did not have a fire ring but did not use it so felt no need to complain. Pool area was nice.
Jul 13, 2017
This had to be the worst KOA. Upon arrival, checked in and went to site. No water pressure. Went to office, they said water off for outside line break. Could have told us on arrival. Numerous wild cats in park, sitting on our steps. Speed limit 7, most cars 10 -15 MPH. CARS cutting through our site. One car ran over our carpet. Kids running through and playing on site. Personnel not friendly!
Jul 11, 2017
We traveled down for a long weekend, and we picked the Charleston KOA since it had decent reviews. I should have looked elsewhere... First, we requested a shady spot since we were traveling with dogs, and the spot they put us in was under a tree that would have been shady if they had not trimmed ALL the limbs off. Second, when we went to attach our sewer line, the cap was broken off so our line
Jul 10, 2017
Loved the campgroumd, cabin we stayed in was very nice. Will go back.
Jul 10, 2017
very friendly staff, very good at giving directions.
Jul 10, 2017
This wasn't one of my favorite stays. It was fine, but the Mount Pleasant KOA looks a lot nicer.
Jul 10, 2017
Need sites filled with rock or leveled
Jul 10, 2017
We had an amazing time, the staff and environment was very friendly.
Jul 10, 2017
Easy in and out great staff and clean
Jul 10, 2017
Overall, not the same quality as some other KOA I have been to. Air conditioning in cabin was very weak and there were several roaches in cabin. We killed a few, and also woke up with one on bed
Jul 09, 2017
The Charleston KOA is very convenient and affordable. We've stayed at this campground several times and have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the facilities in good condition with many handy amenities.
Jul 08, 2017
Could be such a nice park but seems to be little effort put into the place. Water valves were broken and had to manually turn on, never fixed.grass very long.like I said, has the making to be a nice park. Have stayed in many KOA parks, this wasn't a great one!
Jul 08, 2017
Wonderful campground loved our stay, staff was friendly and helpful. Only thing I didn't like the shower head was terrible with no water pressure. But other than that it was awesome very clean and friendly ppl.
Jul 07, 2017
Good location, fairly quiet, very friendly. Restroom a disgusting mess one nite when I visited just before midnite. Upon my return at 7 AM, it had been completely cleaned up. I was extremely impressed. The people running the facility care. Thank you. td
Jul 06, 2017
Camp Sites still need some work and the bath houses could run better,
Jul 06, 2017
The KOA is shared with a trailer park next door. The entire place is a mud hole. There was no hospitality shown at all. If you did not read your hand held materials you were not aware of anything going on. So far all KOA's that we have stayed at have told us about everything going such as events and where everything is located and such. Bathrooms were clean and the pool was very nice and clean.
Jul 06, 2017
Everything was great, except the Wifi.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy