Charleston KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5812

Info: 843-797-1045

Email

9494 U.S. Highway 78

Ladson, SC 29456

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
Clean facilities and decent sites. Very muddy with puddles after rain and kinda noisy being so close to a main road and in the flight line of the airport. Location sucks but Campground is well maintained
Sep 05, 2017
overall nice location with easy access to downtown. the place is very rundown and not keot up well. alot of "permanent" run down trailers located there. gives the place a very unwelcoming feel. in fact left early and didnt stay the entire time. cable didnt work, internet was a joke
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Everything about this KOA was subpar, the grass was overgrown, the staff wasn't very helpful, and this KOA could be updated. We happened to camp at campsite C15, which happened to be a deluxe site, the sewer cap was loose and you could smell the sewer from time to time, the metal door to the electrical box was broken as well as the cable connection. Would not camp here again
Sep 05, 2017
Overnight stay, space was a little short for 27ft trailer and full size truck.
Sep 04, 2017
Very wet site, understood that they had heavy rain, but poor drainage. Lots of wild cats climbing on vehicles along with smell of cat urine.
Sep 03, 2017
Only good thing I can say is the staff was friendly. Homeless people wandering the campground. Many car in and out 12 to 3am. They need a gate and a security guard.
Aug 31, 2017
It was a nice place , clean in cabins , we rented a deluxe cabin which was well stocked only issue we had was we had bed bugs. We thought we where getting bit by flies. Nope woke up last night there at midnight with them crawling on us and blood in our beds. So we immediately Left and went to an all night laundromat and washed all our stuff as not to take them home sucks we paid for the night tho
Aug 31, 2017
Very well kept and the office people are sensational.
Aug 30, 2017
Lots of rain got flooded a lot, I was concerned about sewage but other then that the crew was vary accommodating and courteous to our needs. I well probably stay at this campground again.
Aug 30, 2017
Everything was nice and clean. Enjoyed our stay. Only thing that I did not like was that I was charged a $50 deposit and then at check in, I was charged the cabin rate on top of that $50. Totaling over $110 out of my checking account. I still have not received my $50 deposit back. It would make more sense to just charge the difference for stay with the $50 already paid....
Aug 30, 2017
Nice!
Aug 29, 2017
Very enjoyable, staff was very helpful and accommodating. The only thing they need to do better is keep the grass cut.
Aug 28, 2017
Nice and helpful staff. This is our 19th KOA in over 9,000 miles this past 5 weeks. It was very wet and sloppy here and we picked up a lot of ants, so bring your spray with you.
Aug 28, 2017
the place needs to be cleaned up
Aug 28, 2017
We stayed in a 1 room cabin. Very clean. Staff is warm and welcoming, very helpful. Beautiful plants everywhere. Had okra fresh picked from their garden! Will definitely be back!
Aug 28, 2017
This was our first trip on a deluxe site. How wonderful it was...the gas grill was so nice to have plus the campground filled the bottle. The concrete patio was awesome as it had rained heavily before we got there. Deluxe sites are the way we will go!! Plus we got satellite reception too!!
Aug 27, 2017
On arrival, the associate, Fatima, was very friendly and helpful. Fatima asked if I wanted to use my rewards points for my stay. She was very knowledgeable and responsive. She then took us to the two sites available, so we could choose. Another evening and another associate, Abraham, was very knowledgeable and helpful. We wanted to check out a day early, again excellent process, full refund.
Aug 27, 2017
had a very nice stay, enjoyed the campground. nice staff, clean facilities.
Aug 27, 2017
cable connection is VERY bad and been that way for some time. Almost all the sites have standing water when raining
Aug 27, 2017
Very efficient and friendly office staff. Despite the tremendous rain, grounds were kept usable. Love Charleston and this KOA added to our enjoyment.
Aug 27, 2017
The park was not clean or kept up.
Aug 24, 2017
We came for the eclipse and unfortunately the campground was in a very narrow band of torrential thunderstorms at precisely the wrong time but the campground was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Very nice Campground very pleasant and helpful employees very clean convenient two other tourist attractions but not in all the congestion
Aug 24, 2017
I was a bit hesitant when I booked this campground because of some unfavorable reviews. Our experience, however, was quite pleasant. The restrooms were clean, the staff was helpful, and our campsite was small, but fine. And they even handed out eclipse glasses for their guests!
Aug 23, 2017
We are two adults and one small dog who stayed for two nights in a full hook-up pull-through in our 35 ft motorhome. Although we did not utilize many of the amenities at this KOA, it met our needs well except for slow WiFi and puddling of water on the sites during heavy rain showers.
Aug 23, 2017
Awlful- I should have paid attention to other bad reviews. We were on E row with about 15 or more residents not campers. The place is a mess and a mud hole ! . The sewer pipes are open and there is a constant cow manure odor. Bathrooms are small and have flushing issues. We will not return.
Aug 23, 2017
Weak wifi
Aug 23, 2017
Nice people in the office. Quiet and well run. So clean!
Aug 22, 2017
Bathrooms were not clean. I had to go to front office to have handsoap container refilled. Paid same price for same cabin in Pigeon Forge but this cabin had broken plastic blinds (used towels for privacy), no TV, or mini fridge, or microwave. Dog run was dirty. Garbage was full. Office/store did not have milk which I consider a necessity for family with kids. Will not return or recommend. ð
Aug 22, 2017
Compared to the KOA Mt Pleasant, this campground was one of the biggest disappointments to date. Not only does it border a shady trailer park, the campground has zero scenery and is mostly muddy and littered with beer cans at campsites. The window unit in our cabin was set as low as possible, but the inside temp never fell below 90. Flies and roaches were everywhere. Would not stay again.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
The grounds/cabin/pool were clean and the staff was friendly, however, there was no programming for kids, no overnight security and the location is poor. Entrance is shared with a poorly kept mobile home park, a wastewater treatment plant is nearby, it's in the flightpath of an airport/military installation in a rough part of town. More of a cheap hotel stay than a camping experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Childrens activities are on Saturday and sunday in the rec hall as advertised. Night security runs after the store closes. There is a fresh water storage facility in view of the park, but no wastewater plant. We do enjoy a number of flyovers from military and commercial aircraft-sometimes glimpse the Boeing Dreamlifter! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Aug 21, 2017
Convenient and friendly. Shady spot and the rates are good. Campgrounds needs updating and loud hwy noise. I will stay there again. Seems like wifi in all koas will not keep up with demand. I would be willing to pay a little more for reliable wifi.
Aug 21, 2017
We had two disappointing occurrences during our stay that I wish to mention. Most important is the fact that the keypad on the lock for the ladies bathroom does not work properly. My wife could not open it even with help and that nearly caused an embarrassing event. According to other guests it's not the first time.
Aug 20, 2017
It needs gravel or concrete sites it floods to much. Facilities need updating and the trailer park is a concern.
Aug 20, 2017
Park very nice but needs flooding issues addressed. Hard rain one afternoon turned many spaces in row c into waterfront property. Otherwise very good.
Aug 19, 2017
Séjour très agréable. La piscine était un peu trop chaude.
Aug 18, 2017
Great stay again in Ladson. Bit hot and rainy. KOA should fix that lol. Staff and facilities outstanding!!!
Aug 17, 2017
Very unfriendly workers. People in pool from outside camp ground. Camper spots need maintained because of flooding.
Aug 17, 2017
We paid extra for the camp site with the fire pit and the swing and it was horrible the grass needed to be cute some of the pavers were missing on the site the firepit was a mess the worse Koa we ever stayed at
Aug 16, 2017
The wi fi was intermittent. The portable shower was less than satisfactory. It was storming and asked for gravel for door area of rv. Nothing was ever done or was I ever approached to let us know that they could not accommodate the request
Aug 15, 2017
Very nice campground in a wonderful location. We will be back
Aug 15, 2017
What a DUMP. The only thing nice was the pool. Why did you put us with long term campers? We were short stay. Clean up this campground KOA!!!!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
This KOA was very pleasant. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and polite. The prices in the store were very low, they did not price gouge. The bathrooms were always very clean. The pool was also very clean, my Grandsons loved swimming in it. I will camp here next time I am in Charleston.
Aug 14, 2017
stayed at site C15, it had a great cement area with BBQ pit and Table n Chairs, but to the back side my slide out was next to neighbors picnic table, and the dump connections was broken and we were advised to use a brick to hold discharge hose in place.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy