Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 11, 2017
Nov 08, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Tent sites are next the road leading in and out out some of the RV sites. It was hard to sleep.
Oct 31, 2017
The tent village is located at a VERY poor location. As every vehicle leaves, it drives right next to the Tent Village on gravel road. Lots of diesel engine trucks and noise all night long. My wife and I did not get much sleep.
Oct 30, 2017
Clean bathrooms, great covered area in electric/water tent site. Great bar-b-que delivered to site. Well lite at night.
Oct 24, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
The bathrooms were so big and the showers are magnificently clean! I loved the fact that the showers have an extra little room, so that you can change without feeling like someone might walk in on you. Also the washer and dryers in the laundry room were quite clean as well and very efficient. The hosts offered shelter during the lightning and thunderstorm for any campers who felt unsafe outside.
Oct 19, 2017
No return call for a reservation from a KOA member. Store opens at 9:00 AM way past the time to get on the road so I've, has to b bought elsewhere. Tent area is an afterthought for this and other locations.
Oct 18, 2017
Amazing, this was a great place to camp. The Tent village was a great experience and we had a great time.
Oct 16, 2017
So much fun we stayed two extra nights!
Oct 16, 2017
Better than expected.
Oct 15, 2017
Very nice and clean campground. The bathroom was spotless!
Oct 15, 2017
We enjoyed the facilities of the KOA campground. We are regular campers but this was our first time at a KOA and we loved all the great amenities. We were in a tent site and unfortunately the tent sites are located right next to the only road in and out of the property so we heard trucks all night long coming and going on the loud gravel road.
Oct 10, 2017
Bathrooms were super clean. KOA had cute quirks such as wooden aliens out front and metal sculptures around. You could tell the owners take pride in their campground. Only small issue was we tented and could hear a bunch of traffic at some times.
Oct 09, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Tent side has no boundary to each other. Our assigned tent side has no picnic table. Not recommend for the price.
Sep 26, 2017
Carlsbad KOA was an ok place to stay. We liked what we saw other than the goat head stickers that were all over the tent site. It would be nice if y'all could get rid of the goathead stickers for those that sleep on the ground not to be poked through the tent flooring.
Sep 18, 2017
I enjoy KOAs due to their clean facilities. This KOA was particularly great for their hot food service that was delivered to my tent site! Also, I stayed on a Saturday night and was able to view the moon and Venus from the telescope brought by a NASA engineer.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. A little far to the national park but still a good stay. Also the wifi around the campsite would go in out. Traveling from Georgia to California I needed the wifi for work but found it didn't work when needed. Other than that great stay!
Sep 06, 2017
The Carlsbad KOA made for a fantastic stay. The staff was friendly and helpful! Our campsite was darling and felt secluded even though it was crowded. The bathrooms are large and clean. Our showers were hot and the water pressure was good. I can't say enough good things about this KOA!
Sep 05, 2017
Amazing KOA! The staff were excellent (Spaceman John is THE best!), campsites were clean, and there were lots of bathroom stalls and shower stalls! Not far from sites to see in the area, and if I make my way back out there again, I would 100% stay at this KOA! It was quiet at night and the tent sites had shade during the day which kept my tent cool in the summer heat!
Aug 28, 2017
great stay. clean pool and showers. need more shade in the tent area. nice camp site.
Aug 22, 2017
The Staff was very helpful in providing information regarding Carlsbad Caverns and other local sites. There was a slight possibility of hail that evening and a staff member personally visited our campsite and advised us that the building would be open and cots would be avaialble in the event of dangerous weather. Our safety was their paramount concern and was miuch appreciated.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Great camp site. We loved our stay. Will definitely be back again.
Aug 15, 2017
The barbeque ribs were amazing and the staff super friendly and helpful
Aug 11, 2017
The campsites for tent campers where placed on the road that ever car drives in and out on. So at 1 am when a car drives 5 feet from your head you wake up. And there are plenty of people leaving all night long.Also the tent camping is placed right next to the load building which has big led lights shining right at the tent sites, so it was bright all night.
Aug 10, 2017
Easy checking in. Very clean campgrounds and facilities.
Aug 10, 2017
Really nice facilities and close to lake. Tent sites are close to camp ground entrance and are loud with foot traffic and RVs leaving camp.
Aug 09, 2017
The place is awesome. One thing we were a little upset about is that no one told us that the sprinklers would go off at night and to turn the button off so some of our things got soaked.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
The campground was very clean. We really liked the tent village. Nice restrooms as well.
Aug 07, 2017
Excellent facilities, very clean and well kept, fun and interesting activities as well. They do need to be more careful about putting families with very young children next to adult couples.
Aug 05, 2017
Helpful staff, clean facility and not too crowded. I definitely recommend staying at this location.
Aug 05, 2017
Overall our first experience staying at a KOA was not great. Covered tent site was poorly maintained. Bathrooms/showers were clean. Pool and office closed too early. Carlsbad Caverns located 35+ miles away. KOA should really be named Seven Rivers KOA. This was misleading. In short, it's better to stay in a hotel rather than camping if planning on going to CCNP.
Aug 02, 2017
Better than any hotel
Aug 01, 2017
Clean facilities, friendly staff
Aug 01, 2017
We have stayed at many KOAs and this is the cleanest one yet. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and the staff were extremely friendly. Thanks for making our stay very comfortable.
Jul 29, 2017
Facilities were clean, staff was very friendly. However as a camper, we were extremely disappointed. We have stayed in dozens of campsites across the country and this was the only one that we couldn't sleep at. All of the campsites are in the same small unshaded area directly next to the main gravel road and floodlights for the compound. This is not a campground that caters to campers.
Jul 27, 2017
Staff is clearly good at what they do. Camp barbecue was spot on. Tent site was okay, about what I expected for desert location.
Jul 27, 2017
Fun! Clean! Friendly!
Jul 24, 2017
Love the idea of the tent village. The six sided structure was great for privacy, but some campers tended to ignore the quiet time. Bathrooms were clean and modern and the store had a good selection. Staff was very helpful. Got there at closing time, but they were still busy, but not rushing folks.
Jul 24, 2017
Very clean Bathrooms, and I am talking about the men's, so I can only imagine the women's was just as nice if not nicer. A very friendly staff and very well kept campgrounds!
Jul 22, 2017
I loved the tent village. What a great idea! The game room was fun, but closed a little too early for us. The bathrooms were clean, though the dumpsters were overflowing.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice park. Tent village was great with covered area, electrical and water and a light which helps setting up in the dark.
Jul 13, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay at your campground! It was private (stayed in the divided tent shelter), clean (really nice bathrooms and well-maintained showers), had a well-stocked store and the staff was kind and helpful.
Jul 13, 2017
Clean restrooms and showers. Camp store was well stocked. I would recommend sweeping the cement pads in the tent village covered areas on a regular basis. Staff all very courteous - Thank you!
Jul 13, 2017
The staff is very accommodating and caring! We had a wind storm and had to sleep in the recreation room. The staff made sure everyone was comfortable and supplied us with sheets, pillows. They did not leave our site until everyone was settled and comfortable.
Jul 12, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award