Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Info: 575-457-2000

Email

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 11, 2017
Liked the cable and level site, but the bathrooms should be secure and have individual rooms, especially the men's. Check in went smoothly and park is convenient to Rt 285.
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 10, 2017
This the most well kept and cleanest KOA ever. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We like to stay at KOA when we travel because they are always a cut above all other campgrounds but Carlsbad is above all of them. Thanks for a great stay.
Oct 10, 2017
Quiet, RV sites are roomy, personnel were very helpful. The only thing was it was 20 - 25 miles out and away from anything. Good place to get some rest.
Oct 10, 2017
Everything was neat, clean and well cared for.
Oct 10, 2017
The cabin was great! The only complaint I have is we were expecting to order BBQ for dinner. The paper we received at check in said they took there last order at 6:15. We go up to the office to order the food at 5:30 and are told they are not taking any more orders. Very unprofessional to say one thing and then just decide to not take any more orders.
Oct 10, 2017
Bathrooms were super clean. KOA had cute quirks such as wooden aliens out front and metal sculptures around. You could tell the owners take pride in their campground. Only small issue was we tented and could hear a bunch of traffic at some times.
Oct 09, 2017
Best KOA we've used in years! Wish they were all like this!
Oct 09, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay! Nice sites, wonderful folks in the office, Donna was a hoot, and great BBQ. Nice to pull in, late afternoon, and have the option to order BBQ, delivered to your site. We will be back when we visit the area
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 08, 2017
Two adults, Class A motor home, Three night stay. Very nice sites with plenty of green space. Level site with crushed rock. Nothing to see in the towns of Carlsbad or Artesia. The RV park is off the highway far enough, so, no noise. Close to Carlsbad Caverns and the Living Desert attraction. Go to Rattle Snake Springs for a great picnic area...no snakes. Grills, Bathrooms. Tables.
Oct 08, 2017
Very well kept, nice wide drive thru sites. Grass at each site. BBQ dinner was wonderful and delivered to your site.
Oct 08, 2017
Quiet location, large sites, super clean park, very very clean bathrooms. We were there only overnight to go to the Caverns... it was a very easy stay, loads of room, very quick check in...would I stay there again....YES.... Thanks for having a wonderfully clean and spacious park!!! Their tag is "most beautiful park in NM"... I have stayed in others, and it has been the best in NM!
Oct 08, 2017
We came to this KOA in order to visit the UFO museum, the caverns, and the White Sands. The campground itself is very beautiful, well kept, and clean. They have trees and nice grassy areas. The dog park was very nice/large The KOA is in the middle of no where, gas up. The downsides would be that its 2.5 hrs from the sands, and 50 min from the caverns. However, 15 minutes from Carlsbad and Artesia
Oct 08, 2017
This was the nicest and cleanest koa we have ever stayed at. Super friendly staff. Extremely well maintained
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
This was the perfect place to come back to after a terrific day of exploring the Caverns. Your staff were incredibly helpful, kind, and considerate. We had a problem with the television that everyone tried to immediately fix for us, which was appreciated.
Oct 07, 2017
My husband has Alzheimer's and depends on the TV. Our cable didn't work at first but John came right away to check it. He couldn't fix it and got Mickey to help. Mickey was able to get the cable working that same day! Made my husband a happy camper! They showed that they care about others. If we come back that way, we'll stay there again!
Oct 07, 2017
The campground has the potential to be great. The lack of Cable and Wi-Fi were very disappointing. When paying $50.00 a night I expect more from a RV Park
Oct 07, 2017
Large park with wide roads. Sites were wide and more than long enough for our 38' motorhome plus toad. An ok meal can be ordered and delivered to site but cafe closes early evening. Nice laundry room with commercial size w/d. $2.50 or more for wash, ,.25/5 minutes dryer. Firewood $10 a bundle. Easy 15 - 20 min. drive into Carlsbad but Caverns are about 50 minutes away.
Oct 06, 2017
A lot of sand stickers. Surprised they don't use dolimite to get rid of them. And, very disappointed they didn't lower the American flag to honor all those people in Las Vegas. Most everyone in Carlsbad did.
Oct 06, 2017
Nice park. Great BBQ. FYI it is a hour drive to thé cavern.
Oct 06, 2017
Excellent service, good campsites and dog park. Restrooms were good along with cleanliness. Only problem was the width of the parks road way for moving RVs.
Oct 06, 2017
Nice place. Would like shady sites for small campers without awnings.
Oct 05, 2017
We stayed here as they advertised as being the perfect spot to see Carlsbad Caverns, which we did. IT TOOK ONE FULL HOUR TO GET THERE! Two hour round trip is NOT what we signed up for!
Oct 05, 2017
The campground is very nice. It is not very close to main attractions like the Caverns. Very clean restrooms. Friendly staff. The biggest downfall of the campground is the WiFi. It is not good at all unless you want to sit at the office. Doesn't matter that it's free if you can't get on.
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 04, 2017
We loved how clean everything was. It was also quiet. We used the dog park a lot and appreciated how easy it was to have our dogs there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A great place to stay!
Oct 04, 2017
Having a pet, was glad to have grassy area at site, which they all have. Great playground as well for children. Sites not too close together. Very pretty KOA
Oct 04, 2017
Great experience...nice to see what they are doing to make it even better...
Oct 04, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Very friendly, helpful, staff. Best KOA I have ever stayed that was Big Rig friendly, i.e. large pull thru, plenty of space, clean sites. The road around and thru the campground was plenty wide for a big motorhome.
Oct 02, 2017
Stayed two nights. Campsites are long and wide. Restrooms updated and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Wifi at campsite did not work but there is a strong hot spot in the main building so we could keep up with our email and weather reports. Enjoyed the Scaled Quail that live here.
Oct 02, 2017
Came to visit family. The only thing I think is crazy is the visitors must leave at 8. Seriously that sounds so crazy! I'm here visiting my family and leaving at 8 was not what I feel should be. If someone is loud or acting stupid then ask them to leave but not setting a time especially so early as 8. Other than that it was good.
Oct 02, 2017
Nice clean place to stay. Roomie and flat spots.
Oct 02, 2017
Very friendly, huge sides. Clean. Thank you!
Oct 01, 2017
very very nice quite, comfortable cabin really nice , knotty pine
Oct 01, 2017
The campground was very nice & we loved our back in site near the dog park! Facilities we nice as well. My only complaint was early morning exodus from campground. Since weather was cool we had our windows open. Lots of cars/trucks leaving from 4 am on. We could only guess they were working in the area. Nice park and pleasant stay!
Oct 01, 2017
Big spaces and. Wry clean
Oct 01, 2017
Clean, neat campground. Good size sites. Big laundry room and office has change available. Clean, large restrooms. Nice showers. Restaurant that has BBQ dinners and pizza that they will deliver to your site. The provide a local map with attractions listed. A bit of a drive to Carlsbad Caverns but when you see the closer campgrounds you will be happy that you selected the KOA.
Sep 30, 2017
Tent side has no boundary to each other. Our assigned tent side has no picnic table. Not recommend for the price.
Sep 29, 2017
2 night stay to see Carlsbad Caverns. This is a nice, clean park although it is 45 minutes or so from the caves. Camp is host to scaled quail and bunnies that were fun to watch. If WiFi is important to you, go someplace else as it was completely unworkable even though we were supposedly in a spot that was âgood for WiFi.â Cost was on the high end; for that, WiFi should be better.
Sep 28, 2017
Very nice campground. Large lots and nice people. Would stay again
Sep 28, 2017
Nice employees, clean - close to Carlsbad caverns and other sites! Stayed with 7 other coaches - all gathered and ate and socialized together. Would go back!
Sep 27, 2017
Nice laundry facilities,, bathrooms clean, entire campgrounds well maintained and very nice personnel.. wish we could have stayed longer!
Sep 27, 2017
Sep 27, 2017
Hated not to have Wifi at campsite especially the days it was raining because I use it to plan next destination and keep in touch with loved ones .
Sep 27, 2017
Wonderful well kept area. All staff friendly and accommodating. The camp sites were stellar. Will come back and will sing your praises to all.
Sep 26, 2017
Carlsbad KOA was an ok place to stay. We liked what we saw other than the goat head stickers that were all over the tent site. It would be nice if y'all could get rid of the goathead stickers for those that sleep on the ground not to be poked through the tent flooring.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award