Carlsbad KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Reserve: 800-562-9109

Info: 575-457-2000

Info: 575-457-2000

Email This Campground

2 Manthei Road, Highway 285

Carlsbad, NM 88220

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 23, 2018
May 23, 2018
Sites clean and bathrooms and showers were very clean, staff friendly and helpful.
May 23, 2018
Friendly staff. Convenient location, on US 285. Not as close as we thought to Carlsbad, NM. But, worked for us. 1 hour to Carlsbad Caverns, 1 hour to Roswell. Good Central location. Pull through site was easy to access. Facility was well maintained. Would come back.
May 23, 2018
My second KOA stay. Outstanding - facility and staff was organized, clean, and well maintained.
May 23, 2018
We had a good stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The kitchen delivers some wonderful bbq meals - excellent!
May 23, 2018
Only stayed one night but everything went as expected. Staff was very friendly and very informative. Clean facilities throughout.
May 23, 2018
It was further from Carlsbad than we had thought. But the quality of the campground far surpassed anything else in Carlsbad or White city. We are glad we stayed there.
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
May 22, 2018
18 miles outside of Carlsbad and almost exactly halfway between Carlsbad and Artesia that's the only downside to it if you were thinking like us in "Carlsbad". The grounds are nice and clean. Brantley lake is close by but other than that 18 miles into town and beyond for travel destinations. I'd recommend it especially for those who aren't going sightseeing in town.
May 22, 2018
May 21, 2018
Very friendly staff. The campground is very clean and the sites are very spacious.
May 21, 2018
This is always my favorite campground. Thank you for providing nice, clean restrooms and plenty of room for the kids to play! The staff is friendly and our kids loved getting to paint rocks for Rachel's garden and seeing the moon up close with Starman John.
May 21, 2018
Wonderful park with very nice, grassy, mostly shady dog parks (2). Delicious pizza that can be brought to your site. Didn't have a chance to try the BBQ dinners that was also available. The nicest and most helpful staff. RV sites were so nice and large. We really enjoyed this park and will certainly stay here the next time we are in the area.
May 21, 2018
Nice clean park. Very windy and dusty when we were there. The name is misleading. I imagine a lot of people in the area are there to visit the Carlsbad Caverns. It's about an hours drive to the caverns from the park. The Santa Cruz KOA is about an hour from Santa Cruz. The Monterey KOA is also an hour away. Beware, KOA members.
May 21, 2018
It was only one night for us but everyone and everything was great!
May 20, 2018
Need Better water that you can drink
May 20, 2018
May 20, 2018
Stayed in a pull through. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there on a very windy day, but the staff welcomed us and showed us right to out spot. Only downside was how far we were from the Caverns themselves, but we loved all the wildlife and little bunnies. We had a great time and will probably visit there again.
May 19, 2018
The staff are great very help and friendly. the grounds are very dusty it would help to pave the roads or at lest have a water truck spray a few times a day.
May 19, 2018
The campground is very nice. But if your main interest is Carlsbad Caverns, it’s way too far to drive. WiFi and ATT phone service is also spotty, at best.
May 19, 2018
Nice people, campground clean, great bathrooms but sulphuric smell so bad we didn’t stay for the 2nd night, choose to drive 8 hours to our next stop instead.
May 19, 2018
May 19, 2018
The park was clean and well maintained. The sites are a little close together, but it's not a major issue. The office staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating in every way possible. We would definitely stay there again.
May 19, 2018
Great stay for 3 nights. Nice place with large pull through, clean bathrooms and awesome smoked BBQ dinners we had them twice. Very dusty, K9 camp was ok with the exception of fox tails which is not a good for dogs and should be cleared out. The only big issue was not the fault of the park but caught us off guard was the horrible chemical smell from all of the oil drilling if windy clears it out.
May 19, 2018
Great place, thanks for the nice spot.
May 19, 2018
Sounds like they charge you for weekly rates cause they get more money then giving you a monthly spot. Have a few friends staying there and I found somewhere way cheaper
May 19, 2018
place was nice and clean well kept
May 19, 2018
Good place to stay. Good showers and laundry room. Great food delivered to your RV.
May 18, 2018
May 18, 2018
May 18, 2018
Very clean, family friendly, pet friendly, and the folks operating the place were very nice. Would highly recommend this place. Only draw back is the location is north of Carlsbad and Guadeloupe NP’s through the town. But worth the drive.
May 18, 2018
Many plusses-- long level gravel pull through sites, well maintained pool, accommodating staff, freshly prepared food delivered to site, quiet location, easy access to main road. A little shade or sheltered picnic table would have made it perfect!
May 18, 2018
This KOA is definitely a Diamond in the Rough. It is in a warm, barren, dusty area where they go over & above to make your stay great. Everyone is very nice & helpful. Sites are huge, but could use some big trees for shade-that is probably impossible given the climate. All facilities are clean & well kept.There is a great gathering room with lots of games & toys. Dinner is excellent-priced right.
May 17, 2018
Very exciting stay with the brush fire near camp. Nice staff clean restrooms, I will stay here again.
May 17, 2018
your internet not very strong hard to stay connect need a better signal
May 17, 2018
As with all KOA,s it is a nice park. As with most southern N.M. Parks there is no grass except Carlsbad does have very nice grassy fenced dog runs. A big plus. The rest is a gravel interior with level sites. My only complaint is the park is about 18 miles to the north of town not in Carlsbad. This makes the drive to the caverns about 40 mins longer.
May 16, 2018
May 16, 2018
Nice clean park. We did ask to move to a spot with more shade and were accomadated. Pool was good relief from the heat.
May 16, 2018
If you are traveling in an RV it is the ONLY place to stay in Carlsbad. Staff could not have been nicer. Campground is very clean and well maintained. Would highly recommend.
May 16, 2018
May 16, 2018
A great 2 night stay, very friendly staff and the food was very good
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
Camp grounds were nice. You couldn't ask for better staff members. Very friendly, always working to keep everything clean and their food was amazing. We will go back again soon.
May 15, 2018
Good people and nice place.
May 15, 2018
Everything was great except the horrible smell of sulfur. We stayed two nights and then decided to go somewhere else because the smell was bothersome while trying to sleep. Otherwise, we enjoyed it.
May 14, 2018
Had trouble getting our AC to come on when we first hooked up. The KOA staff was right there to help solve the problem. They moved us to another spot thinking that the problem might be with their electrical box, perhaps a bad breaker. They went above and beyond to help us out!
May 14, 2018
Very enjoyable should have stayed longer felt like home
May 14, 2018
I think it might be useful to have change machines and detergent/softener machines in the laundry room. Otherwise, our stay was perfect!
May 14, 2018
We enjoyed our 1 night stay very much. We were pleasantly surprised to learn we could order some food items and have them delivered to our campsite. We would definitely stay here again.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award