Carbondale / Crystal River KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 970-963-2341

Info: 970-963-2341

Email

7202 Highway 133

Carbondale, CO 81623

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2017
Staff is extremely kind and very helpful. The campground is beautifully maintained. The river site number 4 was perfect for us! Highly recommend this special campground to everyone!!!
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Cabin was clean and neat and looked over the Crystal River. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 25, 2017
Great camp site and staff
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
This is a wonderful beautiful and cozy campground. Next to Chrystal River and absolutely gorgeous!! Great new concrete large side pads at every site. Nice mountain atmosphere. Central to a lot of spots to go see or just totally relax at the campground and enjoy the stream.
Sep 22, 2017
A wonderful campground. Staff were very hospitable, bathrooms immaculate, location perfect, campsites spacious!
Sep 20, 2017
Nice river access tent site. Great, new shower facilities. phone coverage tricky, to be expected. I found service at the charging station/wash basin. Hot water in outdoor wash basin, always a nice surprise. Out of town, and nice and quiet at night, seems like a respectful crowd is drawn to this one. Came for golf and was a perfect stay for River Valley Ranch. will be back for sure!
Sep 20, 2017
The cabin, the location on the river and the owners/staff were all first class! We enjoyed our first night so much that we stayed a second night to enjoy just being in the campground. We were on the road for over two weeks and the Carbondale/Crystal River cabin was by far the most relaxing place we stayed. Based upon this experience we will plan to stay at more KOA's in the future.
Sep 19, 2017
Excellent location, great staff, great facilities fantastic views.
Sep 19, 2017
Always a wonderful experience! The staff are great and the location is amazing!!
Sep 19, 2017
As far as KOA's go, this is a nice place. Everything looked well kept and the caretakers were nice helpful. The kids loved having a store, hot water and a shower (they're used to digging holes to use the restroom). The only complaints we have are that the road noise is loud and the campsites are very close together. But, that's expected at a KOA.
Sep 19, 2017
Wonderful campground right along the river. Super clean and beautifully maintained. Special thanks to Karen for making it all happen. Erin, the owner, has assembled a great team of caring individuals that made this one of the best KOA experiences.
Sep 18, 2017
Would recommend this great place to anyone
Sep 18, 2017
Very clean and updated
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Love the spot!
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Was a wonderful deluxe patio site next to the river.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
Great location! Great owners! Since no sewer need more showers as the two just aren't enough for all the campers. Also, we saw a honey wagon but were never told about or offered the honey wagon services. If so we could have avoided the shower fiasco.
Sep 17, 2017
Stay in cabin #6 was awesome! The Crystal River rushing along put us to bed so peacefully. Staff were extremely helpful with suggestions for day trips. Penny Springs is just minutes away. Cabin was very clean, grounds are nestled between mountains and river. Thanks especially to Valerie. You are a big asset to this KOA!!
Sep 17, 2017
Very nice dog run area. The staff was friendly and kept things clean and running smoothly. I think, however, only one bath area with two toilets for each sex is inadequate for the number of tent campers possible. We once stayed at a KOA in Cloverdale, CA during a busy weekend and it was terrible - only one bath house for all the tent people and one of the toilets in the men's was plugged.
Sep 17, 2017
Erin Nielsen, the owner, has zero integrity, and is a very condescending person. Stay away. A more detailed review was left on The TripAdvisor.com website.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Here is the situation. This gentleman rented a tent site, departed early and was told if re-rented would get refund. It was not re-rented and thus no refund. Threatened to give bad review if no refund and thus the bad review. Erin was the unfortunate one that had to reiterate the policy and situation. When he did not hear what he wanted to hear, he became vindictive.
Sep 16, 2017
Enjoyed staying at your campground, this was our first trip. The only reason for not highest rating was the lack of full hook-ups. I understand that it may not be possible to offer full hook-up due to the geography of the campground. For an extended stay need to be conservative for gray water storage. However, that said shower facilities were nice and a dump is available.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
It was a last minute stop, and I'm glad we had at least one night at the resort. The staff was friendly, the sites were clean, it was an all-around enjoyable stay. We will be back again, soon!
Sep 13, 2017
Nice campground, clean & close to town. Only problem not big enough shower & bathroom facilities.
Sep 13, 2017
Perfect
Sep 13, 2017
Great campground, friendly staff.
Sep 13, 2017
The Staff at this KOA was able to find a spot for our trailer on very short notice. The campground is in a beautiful area and the Staff is very friendly.
Sep 12, 2017
We had a family gathering there for our Dad's 90th birthday and really enjoyed our time there. Between the family cabins and RV sites you offer a variety of accommodations for all ages. Located in a beautiful area and being right on the Crystal river made for a banner visit. Thank you, hope to see you again.
Sep 12, 2017
Beautiful area. Very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a tent site by the river. Lovely and peaceful. We will come again!
Sep 12, 2017
Beautiful river side campsites. Facilities are clean and well maintained. Will come back again!
Sep 12, 2017
Excellent wish we could of stayed longer.
Sep 11, 2017
great campground and pleasant staff.
Sep 11, 2017
Beautiful campground. Very peaceful setting. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice and clean bathrooms.
Sep 11, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Too many people.. They were rude and there were people cheating the system by having 2 families stay on one lot.. The adults were drinking and letting their toddler kids run amuck and digging around in our cooler and whatnot.. If you want peace and quiet.. Do not go here!!
Sep 09, 2017
Lovely site right along the Crystal River. Spots closer to the highway do get some traffic noise, but are mostly visually shielded by landscaping.Very nice welcome by the woman attendant. Bathroom is brand new and beautiful. Only concern is that the sign to turn is right at the driveway with little lead notice. I couldn't slow down in time to make the turn. Had to circle back-not easy with an RV!
Sep 09, 2017
Great but short stay.
Sep 08, 2017
site #7 at the river. "It don't get no better". Everything was the BEST!. Karin and I have over 35 years of RV-ing. We love this spot and hope to return NEXT YEAR SAME SPOT. Bill
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
River is close by and staff helpful with information. Lots of things to see and do.
Sep 08, 2017
Beautiful location. A little tight for getting a big rig back to the pull through sites, but doable. Would definitely stay again.
Sep 07, 2017
The campground was kept in excellent condition. It was one of the nicest KOA's I've ever stayed in. Would definetly stay there again. Location was great!
Sep 07, 2017
It was great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy